Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Nov 22, 2014 Check-out: Nov 25, 2014

W New York

4 stars
541 Lexington Avenue, 541 Lexington Avenue, New York, NY 10022
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.7
out of 5
192 reviews
4th July visit

The W hotel was a great experience and will love to stay there next time I am in New York. There's... See full review

  • April Mom
  • Jul 7, 2014
Girls weekend in NYC

Had a wonderful time at the W on Lexington Ave in NYC. This was my second time there and the... See full review

  • Cupcake65
  • Jun 8, 2014
The NYC hotel where Wall Street high-fliers and vacationers rub shoulders
Located in downtown Manhattan, the W New York is an ideal base for visitors eager to see to what New York City has to offer.  It is close to entertainment, tourist hotspots and shopping hubs.  The hotel is also near to Wall Street, making it a favorite port of call for the financial traders eager to celebrate, relax or stay after a hard day’s work.  W New York is the place to be to work off frustrations in its fitness centre, or relax.
Reasons to stay
  • The hotel offers guests a wide range of amenities and services
  • Wide range of restaurants and lounges available for guests 
  • Close proximity to New York's financial centre, tourist hotspots and landmarks
W New York rooms
Guests at the W New York have a choice of 217 rooms spread over 58 floors. The hotel sports hip names for the room grades giving a fresh and contemporary feel.  Guests enjoy rooms graded in a number of unique  ways, with descriptions such as ‘Wonderful’, ‘Spectacular’, ‘Cool’, ‘Wow and ‘Extreme Wow’ commonplace.  A Wonderful Room is spacious, 274 to 351 square feet in size.  Large windows give a great view of the New York skyline.  Visitors will be amazed by the lighting effects in the room, created by the LED light along the headboard wall and metallic wall coverings.  Other features include a 37 inch LCD flat screen TV, and radio complete with iPod docking station.  Guests sleep in a W bed with Egyptian cotton sheets, while the walk-in shower/rain forest has a frosted glass wall.  People staying at the W New York will also have similar comforts in the Spectacular Rooms, sized 338 to 366 square feet.  Visitors can delight themselves with the ultimate indulgence in the Extreme Wow Suite - an impressive 1,058 square feet in size.  The lounge has a 42 inch LCD flat screen TV, multicolored three-seat sofa, dining table for four, as well as a wet bar with a marble top. 
Things to do nearby
  • World Trade Center (0.1 mi/0.2 km)
  • South Street Seaport (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • Theater District (1 mi/1.6 km)
  • Chinatown (1.3 mi/2 km)
  • Statue of Liberty (2.1 mi/3.4 km)

W New York Rooms

Standard
The Amenities listed in this description represent the amenities available in all guest rooms in the hotel

Amenities

Activities
Exercise gym
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Services
Business center
Express check in
Guest laundromat
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Shops/Commercial services
Florist
Parking
Parking
Room
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Mini bar
Hairdryer in room
Iron

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed W New York also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5

Hotel Map

40.756 -73.9724
Area served
City Center
Nearby airports
John F. Kennedy International Airport, (JFK), 32.19, KM; LaGuardia Airport, (LGA), 16.09, KM; Newark Liberty International Airport, (EWR), 25.75, KM;
Area description
Resort, Airport

Nearby points of interest

  • Ford Foundation Building: 0.1 mi
  • Citicorp Center: 0.2 mi
  • Lever House: 0.2 mi
  • Saks Fifth Avenue: 0.3 mi
  • Cathedral of St. Patrick: 0.3 mi
  • Chrysler Building: 0.3 mi
  • MetLife Building: 0.3 mi
  • Grand Central Station: 0.3 mi
  • Paley Park: 0.3 mi
  • Japan Society Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • International Building: 0.4 mi
  • Rockefeller Center: 0.4 mi
  • Sony Building: 0.4 mi
  • NBC Studios: 0.4 mi
  • Museum of Modern Art (MOMA): 0.4 mi
  • Ford Foundation Building: 0.1 mi
  • Citicorp Center: 0.2 mi
  • Lever House: 0.2 mi
  • Saks Fifth Avenue: 0.3 mi
  • Cathedral of St. Patrick: 0.3 mi
  • Chrysler Building: 0.3 mi
  • MetLife Building: 0.3 mi
  • Grand Central Station: 0.3 mi
  • Paley Park: 0.3 mi
  • Japan Society Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • International Building: 0.4 mi
  • Rockefeller Center: 0.4 mi
  • Sony Building: 0.4 mi
  • NBC Studios: 0.4 mi
  • Museum of Modern Art (MOMA): 0.4 mi
  • East Side: 0.4 mi
  • Nintendo World Store New Yok: 0.4 mi
  • Sony Wonder Technology Lab: 0.4 mi
  • GE Building: 0.4 mi
  • University Club: 0.4 mi
  • Radio City Music Hall: 0.4 mi
  • Museum of Television and Radio: 0.4 mi
  • Diamond District: 0.4 mi
  • Daily News Building: 0.5 mi
  • Henri Bendel: 0.5 mi
  • Trump Tower: 0.5 mi
  • Bloomberg Tower: 0.5 mi
  • Ralph Bunche Park: 0.5 mi
  • Museum of American Folk Art: 0.5 mi
  • CBS Building: 0.5 mi
  • American Craft Museum: 0.5 mi
  • United Nations Headquarters: 0.5 mi
  • Paine Webber Art Gallery: 0.5 mi
  • Bergdorf Goodman: 0.5 mi
  • New Amsterdam Theater: 0.5 mi
  • NY Public Library: 0.5 mi
  • Robert Moses Playground: 0.6 mi
  • FAO Schwarz: 0.6 mi
  • Taipei Gallery: 0.6 mi
  • Belasco Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Park Avenue: 0.6 mi
  • Cort Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Barney's: 0.6 mi
  • Harmonie Club: 0.6 mi
  • Fifth Avenue: 0.6 mi

Dining

Whiskey Blue
Experience nightlife in the city that never sleeps at one of its iconic lounges. With a vibrant and energetic ambiance, Gerber Group's hotspot, Whiskey Blue, is a modern take on Gotham’s swanky cocktail lounge—now featuring a small bites menu.
W Café/Oasis Bar
Our W Café is the perfect pit stop to pick up your morning coffee and nutrients while reading your daily paper. At night, cozy up to the zinc-topped Oasis Bar and quench your spirit. Sip Flirtinis. People-watch in the adjoining Living Room.
Heartbeat
Savor fresh ingredients and bold flavors from around the world with a focus on balance and freshness. Hang out in our upbeat and elevated atmosphere, featuring a menu with classic dishes and new favorites designed to entice and satisfy.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (192)

Ratings and reviews for W New York

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
192 out of 192
Amenities:
3.8
Room cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
3.6
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.6

76% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of W New York

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
mGebby
Business
Boston, MA
Oct 15, 2014

good location

Great staff, great location. Rooms were a little small but had nice modern decor. Loved the shampoo!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of W New York

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
fraud hunter
Business
dc
Oct 15, 2014

Can do much better

The W is in a great location, has a good gym and public spaces. The bathrooms are tiny; the service on the room was not good. And the room itself was small even by NY standards and laid out in an awkward way. Everything is extra, $3-4 for a cup of coffee in the lobby in the morning. The staff was friendly although only the people outside were friendly. There seem to be a fair number of people walking around without any specific function.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of W New York

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
One Time NYC Visitor
Business
Kansas City
Oct 13, 2014

Great location, but a tad overpriced

The location was fantastic as far as being near everything we intended to be visiting. I understand that hotel rooms in NYC are super small and pricey. I actually thought our room felt larger than I had anticipated, so that was nice. The lobby and bar/lounge area were impressive and swanky. I enjoyed that part a lot. The Bliss products were also great. My only complaints were that there wasn't another blanket option (the comforter was too warm and there was no coverlet or lighter blanket in a closet) and the walls and trim were dirty. For over $350/night, I expect that someone could have easily taken a rag to the noticeably dirty areas.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of W New York

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Cecilia D
Business
Washington, DC
Oct 6, 2014

Fun ambiance, good location

I stayed at the W while attending a conference this weekend. Overall it was a great place to stay, convenient to everything. The atmosphere downstairs is fun and it was very lively all weekend. My only complaint is that there was no coffee maker in the room and that a simple cup of coffee was very expensive in the lobby. I also got a great deal by booking in advance .

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of W New York

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Relufero Tweet
Business
Mexico City, Mexico
Sep 18, 2014

Good place to stay at

It´s a great place to stay at. The location is fantastic and the response to guest requirements are fast. The only thing that does not meet the W standard is the bathroom: too little and too squeezed. Room cleanliness, although not bad, could be improved. I would recommend it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Topaz Thai, in W 56th Street between Americas and 5th Ave. One of the best Thai restaurants I´ve ever tried. Every time I go to NY I eat there at least once.

Review of W New York

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Katerose14
Business
Chicago, IL
Sep 3, 2014

Typical Midtown NYC Hotel

The hotel was nice, offered all the amenities. We were apparently upgraded to a larger room, thank goodness because it was decent sized (by NYC standards) but the bathroom was super tiny so I can't imagine what the one we originally booked would have been like. Other than that it was exactly as I expected. Clean. Modern. Full Service.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Check out the Food Tours of New York, we did the Original Greenwich Village one and it was a highlight of our trip.

Review of W New York

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ss1188
Business
Asheville, NC
Jul 8, 2014

Aunt/niece getaway

Our room was the'Spectacular'. Plenty of room for two people. The Bliss bath products are great. Snacks in the room are ridiculously expensive, so we didn't eat them. The hotel staff was steller, always happy to help. The person that checked us in made my 10 year old niece feel special when presenting her with a cuddly teddy bear. We walked to Time Square from the hotel and the Subway was a half block away. Food and beverages were pricy. I'd stay there again!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of W New York

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
April Mom
Business
Philadelphia
Jul 7, 2014

4th July visit

The W hotel was a great experience and will love to stay there next time I am in New York. There's only 1 thing which was a little surprising that they did not have coffee tea in the room since we are so used to having that the 1st thing we get up. But the staff the hotel and the room was just fantastic!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Eately is a great place to eat with many different options but always crowded so be [re[ared for a long wait.

Review of W New York

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
ramiller111
Business
Chicago
Jun 15, 2014

Not the same W service

Like W Hotels a lot and they usually have great service and beautiful locations. This time things weren't so smooth. Started at check-in where they had no way to look up my SPG number. (Ended up going to my room, finding an old email with it and going back to the front desk to provide it for them...) Annoyances continued later that night when I called Whatever/Whenever for a wake-up call and the phone just rang and rang and rang. Tried three times; no one ever picked up. Had to use the alarm on my cell phone... pretty bush-league for a W.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of W New York

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Claustrophobic
Business
Pa
Jun 15, 2014

Very small

Match box size rooms . Very expensive for the price over rated

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top