Rate based on Check-in: Sep 28, 2014 Check-out: Sep 29, 2014

Travel Inn

3 stars
515 West 42nd Street, New York, NY 10036
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.5
out of 5
231 reviews
Fab hotel in fab location

Had seen other comments so knew/hoped we 'd made the right choice and we had. I cannot recommend... See full review

  • Pooks
  • Sep 7, 2014
Best kept secret in NYC

Been coming to this hotel for over 25 years.and have seen it grow better every year. On the outside... See full review

  • Larry the traveling guy
  • Aug 1, 2014
Midtown Manhattan hotel close to the Jacob K Javits Convention Centre
The Travel Inn Hotel is located in midtown Manhattan close to the Jacob K Javits Convention Center which hosts many trade shows and conventions. The contemporary d�cor gives the hotel a sophisticated ambience. The hotel has a free garage, a swimming pool, a fitness center and tour desk to assist guests in booking tickets. The hotel was built in 1963 and has retained its sense of charm with rooms that have the feel of a more genteel past. The hotel has a business center with meeting room and a private voicemail service. Parking is also available at additional cost.
Reasons to stay
  • Located in midtown Manhattan close to the Jacob K Javits Conference Center and other attractions
  • Good facilities including fitness centre, swimming pool, business center and free garage
  • Comfortable and charming rooms with friendly staff
Travel Inn Hotel rooms
The Travel Inn Hotel has 160 rooms including those with king or double beds and a suite. The décor of the Travel Inn Hotel rooms is contemporary and comfortable. The solid wood furniture in the rooms and the curtains with pelmets have a vintage charm. All the rooms have flat-screen televisions and most have microwaves and refrigerators. Some also have outdoor terraces. The bathrooms have bath tubs, showers and Ecossential amenities. The swimming pool has life guards making it safer for children.
Things to do nearby
  • Jacob J Kavits Convention Centre (0.6 mi/1 km)
  • Lincoln Centre (1.3 mi/2.1 km)
  • Carnegie Hall (1.3 mi/2.1 km)

Travel Inn Rooms

Double
Rooms with 1 double bed include Cable/satellite TV, Video-game console, Pay movies, Air conditioning, Voice mail, Wake-up calls, Housekeeping, Extra towels, linens, Hair dryer, Iron/ironing board, Window opens, Clock radio, Desk.
Double Double
Rooms with 2 double beds include Cable/satellite TV, Video-game console, Pay movies, Air conditioning, Voice mail, Wake-up calls, Housekeeping, Extra towels, linens, Hair dryer, Iron/ironing board, Window opens, Clock radio, Desk.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness Center
Dining
Room service
Services
Conference facilities
Internet
High-speed internet

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Travel Inn also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5

Hotel Map

40.7601 -73.9961
Area served
New York
Nearby airports
JFK Intl Airport, Laguardia, Newark Intl Airport
Area description
Ideally located in Midtown Manhattan, Three short blocks to Jacob K. Javits Convention Center, Minutes to all Broadway and Off Broadway Shows, Accessible to all major shopping areas, Close to Penn Station, Grand Central Station & Port Authority Bus Terminal.

Nearby points of interest

  • Lion Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Port Authority Bus Terminal: 0.4 mi
  • Al Hirschfeld Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Ripley’s Believe It or Not! Times Square: 0.4 mi
  • Madame Tussauds: 0.4 mi
  • Wollman Memorial Rink: 0.4 mi
  • Jacob K. Javits Convention Center: 0.4 mi
  • Intrepid Sea-Air-Space Museum: 0.4 mi
  • New York Times Building: 0.4 mi
  • St. James Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Imperial Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • John Golden Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Broadhurst Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Gerald Schoenfeld Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Worldwide Plaza: 0.5 mi
  • Lion Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Port Authority Bus Terminal: 0.4 mi
  • Al Hirschfeld Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Ripley’s Believe It or Not! Times Square: 0.4 mi
  • Madame Tussauds: 0.4 mi
  • Wollman Memorial Rink: 0.4 mi
  • Jacob K. Javits Convention Center: 0.4 mi
  • Intrepid Sea-Air-Space Museum: 0.4 mi
  • New York Times Building: 0.4 mi
  • St. James Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Imperial Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • John Golden Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Broadhurst Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Gerald Schoenfeld Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Worldwide Plaza: 0.5 mi
  • Garment District: 0.5 mi
  • Helen Hayes Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Music Box Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Majestic Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Shubert Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Richard Rodgers Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Booth Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Samuel J. Friedman Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Foxwoods Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Bernard B. Jacobs Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Ford Center For The Performing Arts: 0.5 mi
  • American Airlines Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Nederlander Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • New York Cruise Terminal-Manhattan Terminal: 0.5 mi
  • New Victory Theater: 0.5 mi
  • Brooks Atkinson Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Lunt-Fontanne Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Ethel Barrymore Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Longacre Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Eugene O'Neill Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Minskoff Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Marquis Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Walter Kerr Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • DeWitt Clinton Park: 0.6 mi
  • Theater District: 0.6 mi
  • Duffy Square: 0.6 mi
  • Ambassador Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Gershwin Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Palace Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Circle in the Square Theatre: 0.6 mi

Dining

None
The property does not have any on-site food and beverage facilities.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1400
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (231)

Ratings and reviews for Travel Inn

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
231 out of 231
Amenities:
3.2
Room cleanliness:
3.8
Hotel staff:
3.6
Room comfort:
3.4
Location:
4.3
Value:
3.9

86% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Travel Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
bakenator
massachusetts
Apr 21, 2012

convenient

good nyc value, roomy clean enough walk to times square

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of Travel Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
olomildara
miami florida
Sep 9, 2014

location is good.

over all it was ok. However a purse was stolen from our room. I purchased 9 purses at Canal street and 1 was missing. let them know they told me it was impossible.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

hotel is in great location

Review of Travel Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
LinLake
South Hero, Vermont
Sep 7, 2014

New York night

We booked this hotel because we needed a room close by the cruise terminal. It could not have been better. We were a 15 minute walk from Penn Station and a 17 minute walk from the cruise terminal! we were a short walk from the Heartand Brewery, an excellent restaurant with wonderful entrees, yummy beers and knowledgeable waitstaff! The room was comfortable and overlooked a huge pool. We would definitely stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Great brew restaurant with fabulous special entrees and wonderful waitstaff!

Review of Travel Inn

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Julie from Towson
Towson, MD
Sep 7, 2014

No Longer Has Free Parking - Extremely Disappointed!

We have stayed at The Travel Inn MANY times and have recommended it to many friends. Our favorite feature is the free parking - the only hotel in Manhattan, in fact. Well, they are no longer unique - on our last visit they informed us (when we arrived at 1am after a long drive in torrential rains) that they now charge $30/night extra for parking. When we explained that we were unaware they changed this policy and that that played a huge factor in choosing them, they were unapologetic. We turned around and left, spending 30 minutes finding free street parking and getting back to our room at 2am. We will not stay here again after this experience and unfriendly service.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Review of Travel Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Pooks
Manchester, England
Sep 7, 2014

Fab hotel in fab location

Had seen other comments so knew/hoped we 'd made the right choice and we had. I cannot recommend this hotel highly enough for a stay in NY. Ignore the comments you may see about the shower/bathroom - its perfectly adequate and loads of hot water so what more do you want? Nice big comfy bed. The addition of the fridge in the room made it perfect. The pool is lovely when you're tired hot and achey after a days sightseeing and if you're lucky enough with the weather which we were in late Aug) the chance to lie in the sun and just relax is heavenly! Great that its a walk away from the madness of the Times Square crowds but close enough to pop there in the evening. Great subway location and don't listen to anyone berating the subway - it's fab. we hopped on and off all over the place and a weekly metro ticket is a steal! Great Hotel, Great Holiday! Loving NY and want to come back soon :)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Do all the usual but also "go off-piste" and see the real NY - recommend Union Square, Eataly, the High Line, Williamsburg (see Manhatten from the othe side)

Review of Travel Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Midwestern New Yorker
Minneapolis, MN
Aug 23, 2014

Good value

There was nothing special about the hotel itself, but given it's location it was a great value. The room was fine and the staff was helpful. Close to subway.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Short/medium walk to a good bagel shop.

Review of Travel Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
PaMomto2
Phila, PA
Aug 22, 2014

Great Location, Good Value

We were only staying one night, and I got a great deal. Located right near the theatre district, lots of restaurants close by, short walk to pretty much anywhere. Best way to get here if walking....go up 42nd street, right past 10th ave. It took us a couple of times going out of our way to figure that out. But really, for the money, it's a nice place to stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Check out the drink specials during the off hours. $5 maragaritas, $3 beer on tap and $4 glasses of wine at various places.

Review of Travel Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mom from Montreal
Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Aug 13, 2014

Great hotel, perfect location & great staff!

This hotel is in a perfect location just a couple of blocks from Times Square. There's also a great coffee shop right next door. The staff is friendly, the rooms are always clean (no bed bugs in all the years we've been staying here) and the price is fair. Definitely recommend it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

This hotel offers safe indoor parking for a small fee. Leave your car there and walk to Times Square where you have many options for dining, shopping, etc.

Review of Travel Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Module
Business
New Zealand
Aug 8, 2014

Unbeatable for the price

I stayed here for 6 nights while I was exhibiting at a tradeshow. For the price you pay, you can't beat the location and the room size. Sure, the decor in the rooms are a little dated and the bathrooms are small, but the double room was big enough for a colleague and myself to stay in. We had a minor rodent issue but it was dealt with by the hotel staff. I would stay here again, for sure.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Within walking distance to Times Square.

Review of Travel Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Maroonsbaseball
Michigan
Aug 8, 2014

Great spot in New York City

A retro feel makes this hotel unique. A throwback to the old travel motels of the 60s except in the heart of New York City and with a staff that looks after your every need. Rooms are quiet and clean. Outdoor pool is a touch you fine almost no where in NYC. Parking on site with easy in and out. Two I is from the Lincoln Tunnel. Four blocks to the subway A steal.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Close to subway, Times Square, Broadway, Grand Central Station etc

Review of Travel Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Mellymel78
Manassas, va
Aug 4, 2014

Average room, no frills

This is an average hotel with no extra frills. Parking is not free any longer ($20/day) and the check-in time was different than what was listed on the website. The staff was friendly, and the room was clean. The bathroom is tiny and the room itself is not very large. It is in walking distance to Times Square, and if you're not spending a lot of time in the room then it serves its purpose especially when it's a lot cheaper than competing hotels.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Back to menu Return to top