Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Feb 13, 2016 Check-out: Feb 15, 2016

The Westin New York at Times Square

4 stars
View map of 270 West 43rd Street, 270 West 43rd Street, New York, NY 10036

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Westin New York at Times Square

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
39 out of 39
Amenities:
4.3
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
4.5
Location:
4.7
Value:
4

87% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Westin New York at Times Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
Pittsburgh, PA
Jul 12, 2009

Great spot for Broadway

Rooms were clean and comfortable. Location is ideal for Times Square and Broadway Shows.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

The Hop-on Hop-off bus passes available through Grayline tours was an excellent way to get around the city, stop and see the sights.

Review of The Westin New York at Times Square

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
emania
Family
Ft. Lauderdale, FL
Jun 23, 2009

Nice but Not the Marquis

We had asked for adjoining rooms since we had two children. The Hotel stated that they never got that request. I had never stayed at this hotel before and probably wouldn't stay there again. For the price it was not what I expected. I have stayed at the Mariott Marquis for a little more and get 10 times what I payed for in location and overall accessibility. I don't think the Westin does enough to keep all the street peddlers away from their doors. I was constantly barraged with street salesmen peddling their snake-oil trying to hand flyers out to my 15 year old.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Family

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

If you plan on seeing the Museums and the Empire state building and the Statue of Liberty there is a "New York Pass" for like $79 and it is much smarter than buying tix for every attraction. This gets you into just about everything...so you save some money there and you save time not sitting in the 45 min lines to buy the tix.

Review of The Westin New York at Times Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
Ontario Canada
May 12, 2009

New York Trip

Great location,clean and safe.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of The Westin New York at Times Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Friends
Virginia
May 11, 2009

Good Location

Girls Weekend Away! Good location to Times Square and the subway. Staff was helpful but I tired of tipping everytime. About five blocks from Restaurant Row.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Friends

Time-saving tip: In Hotel

You need to learn the backway of getting in and out or you will spend a lot of time getting to and from your room (Escalator from ground to first floor then to second floor then elevator.)HINT: There is an elevator to the right of the doorman's desk, this will take you to the second floor then off the elevator to the right to the other set of elevators that will take you to your room.

Review of The Westin New York at Times Square

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Houston, TX
May 10, 2009

Never recommended

Horrible experience, lack of communication between front desk staff and concierge

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Long walk from hotel

Times Square

Review of The Westin New York at Times Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
black barbie
Couples
Houston, TX
Jan 3, 2009

nice atmosphere

nice but housekeeping only once during a 5 day stay

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

restaraunt downstairs. times square 2 blocks down

Review of The Westin New York at Times Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
black barbie
Couples
Henderson, NV
Dec 27, 2008

Great Location

The Westin Times Square could not be in a better spot!! A short block to Times Square and you are at the heart of New York. We had a great view of the East River from our 8th Ave corner room, which was brilliant. The room was pleasant, but smallish, but this was to be expected. You could see Columbus Circle, 15 or so blocks away, which was a great sign that you could easily get to Central Park. The area felt secure enough, although 8th Ave is a little dodgy at night. Would highly recommend anyone to stay here.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

At the heart of the Theatre District.

Review of The Westin New York at Times Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Phillies 4Ever
Couples
Miami, FL
Jan 28, 2008

Great Location

As a hotel worker myself I was very impressed with the friendlness of the staff. They were very efficient and helpful. The hotel was right in the heart of the theater district and an easy walk when visiting The View. The only complaint was the outside of the toilet was EXTREEMLY dirty however the rest of the room was clean. The bed was the most comfortable bed I've ever slept in and the hallways were quite. I would recommend this hotel but I should have called housekeeping about the toilet

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Penn Station was 10 blocks. Tony's Family Style Rest has good food and large portions.

Review of The Westin New York at Times Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
Fort Lauderdale, FL
Jul 15, 2007

Awesome Hotel!!

The Westin in Time Square helped make our trip the best trip my family has ever taken. Everthing was right there. EVERYTHING!! The rooms were beautiful, clean, large, comfortable, and everyone in my family had a great view( We had more than one room). This is the only place I'll ever stay when I visit New York again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

This hotel was adjacent to a theater, and Starbucks. Very close by were all sorts of restaurants, Banks & ATMs, News Stand, the Subway station, and all kinds of entertainment. This is a absolute GREAT place to stay!!

Back to menu Return to top