Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Nov 21, 2014 Check-out: Nov 24, 2014

The Roger

4 stars
131 Madison Avenue, New York, NY 10016
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
132 reviews
Jolly Roger!

I love this cute little hotel! I have stayed here before and will again, The service is top notch.... See full review

  • Summerofjamie
  • May 24, 2014
A nice treat

We tried this hotel at the suggestion of a friend, and were glad we did! We had only one concern,... See full review

  • CLeigh
  • Sep 27, 2013
Luxury Midtown boutique hotel cops a fun attitude
This June, The Roger is unveiling a sophisticated new look after extensive renovations of its public spaces and guest rooms.  Standing at the crossroads of uptown and downtown, the new Roger is a marriage of chic design and old world comfort, while continuing an unyielding commitment to superior service.  The fresh aesthetic of the Roger's new lobby lounge and restaurant is curated by hospitality guru Steven Kamali and designed by the notable Anna Busta.  To update the spacious guest rooms, The Roger tapped Annette Jaffe of MSM.  Roger's new look is characterized by lush custom pieces and applied moldings to naturally compliment the historic building's unique rooms.  Whether for only a night or a week's long stay, The Roger is the modern traveler's home away from home.
Highlights
  • Intimate, boutique feel
  • Chic design complements old-world comfort
  • Select rooms have private, landscaped terraces
  • Breakfast has foods from famous New York purveyors
Rooms

This boutique hotel strives to be different by injecting fun. Individually designed rooms at The Roger are accentuated by distinct furnishings and casted patterns. Bright rooms have white walls with beige carpeting. Bold splashes of color -- lime green, blue, red -- appear on bed skirts, headboards, chairs and ottomans. Beds feature Egyptian cotton sheets with down duvets, accented by colorful quilts. Flat-screen, plasma TVs, free Wi-Fi, iPod docking stations, safes, bathrobes and Aveda bath products are among the amenities. Executive rooms have reading areas and views of Madison Avenue. Garden Terrace rooms boast private, landscaped balconies. One of the many penthouse perks is 24-hour butler service.

Features

Guests may use the 24-hour fitness center at no charge. The Roger offers complimentary overnight shoeshine.

Dining

The Roger serves breakfast as a European-style buffet with selections from gourmet New York purveyors, such as pastries from Balthazar. The buffet serves specialty granola, meats and cheeses, fruit and hot items including sausage, scrambled eggs and oatmeal. The Roger restaurant serves lunch and dinner from noon to midnight Sunday through Thursday. The restaurant stays open until 1 a.m. Fridays and Saturdays. Room service is available during restaurant hours. The mezzanine lounge features a menu of hearty appetizers, salads and small plates, including a fish taco trio and aged goat cheese ravioli.

Transportation
  • MTA Subway 4, 6 lines at 33rd St. - Lexington (0.2 mi/ 0.3 km)
  • Penn Station (0.6 mi/ 1 km)
  • Grand Central Station (0.6 mi/ 1 km)
  • La Guardia Airport
  • Newark Liberty International Airport
  • John F. Kennedy International Airport
Attractions
  • Empire State Building (0.2 mi/ 0.32 km)
  • Macy's Herald Square (0.5 mi/ 0.8 km)
  • Flatiron Building (0.5 mi/ 0.8 km)
  • Madison Square Garden (0.6 mi/ 0.97 km)
  • Javits Convention Center (1.3 mi/ 2.09 km)
Business
  • Conference suite for up to 12 people
  • Free Wi-Fi

The Roger Rooms

Superior Room
Approximately 250 sq. feet. Our exquisite Superior Rooms offer one king size bed or two full size beds with a plasma screen TV and luxury linens.
Classic Room
Approximately 225 sq. feet. Our beautiful Classic Rooms offer one king size bed, plasma screen TV's and luxury linens.

Amenities

  • WiFi
General
Concierge
Activities
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Roger also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5

Hotel Map

40.7459 -73.9843
Area served
Murray Hill
Nearby airports
LGA-LaGuardia Airport JFK
Area description
Madison Square Garden, Empire State Building, Grand Central Station, Times Square, Jacob Javits Center, Penn Station, Macy's, Shopping and dining

Nearby points of interest

  • Koreatown, Manhattan: 0.2 mi
  • The King's College: 0.2 mi
  • American Academy of Dramatic Arts: 0.2 mi
  • Chester A. Arthur Home: 0.2 mi
  • Pierpont Morgan Library: 0.2 mi
  • Murray Hill: 0.3 mi
  • Manhattan Mall: 0.3 mi
  • Herald Square: 0.3 mi
  • Metropolitan Life Insurance Company Tower: 0.4 mi
  • Lord & Taylor: 0.4 mi
  • Macys: 0.4 mi
  • Flatiron Building: 0.4 mi
  • Union Square - the Flatiron District: 0.4 mi
  • School of Visual Arts: 0.5 mi
  • NY Public Library: 0.5 mi
  • Koreatown, Manhattan: 0.2 mi
  • The King's College: 0.2 mi
  • American Academy of Dramatic Arts: 0.2 mi
  • Chester A. Arthur Home: 0.2 mi
  • Pierpont Morgan Library: 0.2 mi
  • Murray Hill: 0.3 mi
  • Manhattan Mall: 0.3 mi
  • Herald Square: 0.3 mi
  • Metropolitan Life Insurance Company Tower: 0.4 mi
  • Lord & Taylor: 0.4 mi
  • Macys: 0.4 mi
  • Flatiron Building: 0.4 mi
  • Union Square - the Flatiron District: 0.4 mi
  • School of Visual Arts: 0.5 mi
  • NY Public Library: 0.5 mi
  • Penn Station: 0.5 mi
  • Museum at FIT: 0.5 mi
  • Flatiron District: 0.5 mi
  • Limelight Marketplace: 0.5 mi
  • Hughoneill Dry Goods Store: 0.5 mi
  • Bryant Park: 0.5 mi
  • Theodore Roosevelt Birthplace National Historic Site: 0.6 mi
  • Grammercy Park: 0.6 mi
  • National Arts Club: 0.6 mi
  • Century Building: 0.6 mi
  • Madison Square Garden: 0.6 mi
  • The Players: 0.6 mi
  • Daily News Building: 0.6 mi
  • Grand Central Station: 0.6 mi
  • Bank of America Tower: 0.6 mi
  • MetLife Building: 0.7 mi
  • Chrysler Building: 0.7 mi
  • Garment District: 0.7 mi
  • East 34th Street Heliport: 0.7 mi
  • Stephen Sondheim Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Condé Nast Building: 0.7 mi
  • Town Hall: 0.7 mi
  • Union Square Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Tudor City: 0.7 mi
  • Nederlander Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Belasco Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Lower Plaza: 0.7 mi
  • New Victory Theater: 0.7 mi
  • Theater District: 0.7 mi
  • Ford Center For The Performing Arts: 0.8 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (132)

Ratings and reviews for The Roger

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
132 out of 132
Amenities:
3.7
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.6
Room comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.4
Value:
4

89% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Roger

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Ireland
Nov 12, 2010

Great location, but room too warm

The only complaint is that the room was much too warm. The air conditioning was switched off for the winter and the street was too noisy to leave the window open at night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Roger

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Grand Rapids, MI
Nov 12, 2010

Traveled alone to NY for the first time.

I dont travel alone very often and had never been to NYC. The room was perfect, the staff was professional and I felt very safe.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Roger

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Boston
Nov 9, 2010

good deal

Bottom line -- I would stay there again. Lots of positives -- clean, attractive, comfortable, free wifi... A few negatives -- noisy (I did not have loud neighbors, so it was not a problem, but if you did...), poor temperature control ( I gave up and shut the system off), and several lights were not functioning, but enough were. It's a good choice for the neighborhood.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Roger

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Daytona Beach Florida
Nov 3, 2010

A real find in the heart of Manhattan

The Hotel Roger Williams was a perfect fit for us. Clean, friendly staff and location was excellent. Walking distance to Empire State Building, Macy's, subway station and much more. We even walked to Times Square, twice, a bit farther but sure beats public transportation and is good exercise. Room was a tad small but more than adequate for our needs, who stays in their room in NYC! Will definitely stay there again when we go back to NYC and hope it is soon.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Roger

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Long island
Oct 31, 2010

Small and efficient

We were there for a night. The rooms could have been a bit larger, and they could of had a DVD player, stereo system, larger bathrooms. This is a very mediocre hotel with a very friendly, service oriented staff. That makes up for the lackmof amenities, I suppose.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Roger

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
mzlibrary
Business
Boston, MA
Oct 25, 2010

Best Customer Service in New York

My second stay at the Hotel Roger Williams and I wasn't disappointed. Eclectic, fresh, clean, bright and friendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Roger

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
mamma mia 10
Business
Atlanta, GA
Oct 12, 2010

Perfect location, great service, clean!

The staff was very friendly, helpful and knowledgeable about the area. The rooms are clean, spacious and uncluttered. The Roger is within walking distance of the Empire State Building and Times Square. Subway stops going uptown and downtown are less than a block away. It is the perfect location to explore Central Park, midtown, and even Soho and Chinatown (via the subway).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Bagels and coffee are everywhere you look -- cheap and delicious breakfasts within a half a block of wherever you are staying and wherever you are going!

Review of The Roger

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Washington
Oct 10, 2010

Nice Hotel but Watch for Service Fees

Overall nice hotel in a great location in NYC. Everything withing walking distance. WARNING: I had booked my stay through [...] but when I arrived they wanted to charge me a extra "service fee" that was not included with my[...] fees and not disclosed prior to my purchase.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Roger

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
jenjin
Business
san antonio
Oct 7, 2010

perfect

expensive but worth it. lovely room, comfy bed, clean. noisy air conditioner but kept it off. would stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Roger

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Veteran NYC visitor/jazz hound
Business
West Lafayette, IN
Oct 4, 2010

Stylish Simplicity!

I've stayed in many of the large chain hotels while travelling on business and am tired to death of the feeling like I gave my money to a 'conference machine' hotel (indifferent service, overly worn rooms, w/expensive rates). The "Roger" was a breath of fresh air, feeling more like some of the small hotels I've stayed at in Europe: stylish + functional, with an attentive and helpful staff. The rooms were clean, the bathroom was well appointed (rainforest showerhead, AVEDA, etc), and a lovely shoji screen window shade system. The best feature, for me, however was the breakfast buffet. A fresh, healthy, and diverse array of foods, including awesome cannele pastry from the famous Balthazar bakery, and a skilled barista awaits you in the morning. For $18, you could eat a late morning breakfast that will satisfy you until your mid-afternoon espresso break, allowing you to skip lunch! I wanted a hotel that would be a reasonable walk up to Times Square (15 mins), 5th Ave shopping, the Jazz Standard, and near the subway (33rd & Lex stop is only 2 mins away), and The Roger fit that bill perfectly. It's also near the Empire St bldg for those who desire. Don't fear leaving the big name chains behind, you'll be pleasantly surprised.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

The Jazz Standard and it's companion restaurant, Blue Smoke, are less than a 10-minute walk from The Roger. Award winning barbeque (featuring Memphis, Kansas City, AND Texas style ribs) plus terrific jazz bookings in a great room for jazz. You can eat at the resto and then go downstairs for jazz, or combine dinner and jazz during a set in the club. I'd recommend placing a reservation for a table in the club when you go to hear jazz, by the way. Great food tips: the Barbeque Mussels are terrific, as are the large, rough cut Sweet Potato plank fries. Yes, the ribs rock, too. Microbrews on tap, great bourbon/whisky list, etc, etc, etc. !!

Back to menu Return to top