Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 24, 2015 Check-out: May 25, 2015

The Roger

4 stars
View map of 131 Madison Avenue, New York, NY 10016

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Roger

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
154 out of 154
Amenities:
3.8
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.6
Comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.5
Value:
4

91% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Roger

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Traveling Empty Nester's
Business
St. Paul, MN
May 5, 2011

Great Experience

The Hotel Roger Williams was a perfect fit for our 3 day visit to NYC. It was easy to find, located close to subways and within walking distance to many sights that we wanted to explore. Check in was flawless, and the room, although small, was tastefully decorated with a "New York" vibe. The bathroom was quite small, but certainly adequate. We spent our 3 days exploring Ground Zero, walking across the Brooklyn Bridge, eating in Chinatown and taking in 2 Broadway shows and a taping for Late Night with David Letterman. In all, a wondeful trip made even better by having an ultra-comfy bed to come back to each night at the Hotel Roger Wiliams.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

Take the self guided audio tour of Ground Zero, complete with personal commentary by survivors. Very moving and a great way to see/hear about what's going on there.

Review of The Roger

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Linda and Christy love Roger!
Business
Seattle
Mar 29, 2011

5 stars and friendly!

My daughter and I arrived Friday night, and were instantly charmed by the doorman, the reception desk staff, and the gorgeous room! Wow, what a great place.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Roger

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Linda and Christy love Roger!
Business
Seattle
Mar 29, 2011

5 stars and friendly!

My daughter and I arrived Friday night, and were instantly charmed by the doorman, the reception desk staff, and the gorgeous room! Wow, what a great place.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Roger

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Arkansas
Mar 25, 2011

Great Hotel, great price

Awesome and extremely nice and helpful staff!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Macy's and other shopping just a few short blocks away

Review of The Roger

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Los angeles
Mar 14, 2011

Cozy, great location

-

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Roger

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Miami FL
Mar 12, 2011

Really better than expected. We'd return

Accompanied my husband for business. We bought a package with flights. This was much better than expected. We requested an upgrade for the room and were given a king. Only complaints - heat was too much so we had to open windows in March in NYC and the bathroom is teeeny tiny. Great location. Pleasant staff. Bright rooms and overall comfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Roger

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
san francisco, ca
Mar 6, 2011

A small gem

I was in town 2 days for business meetings around the Flatiron bldg area. The hotel is within walking distance to both Madison Square and Herald Square area. Many options for a quick bite as well as fine dining. The fact that it's on lower Madison Ave, traffic is never all that congested which makes getting around really easy. Rooms are clean and modern. Wish there's a real table that I can place and work my computer. Bathroom is small but sufficient. Good value.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Korea town - 2 blocks away

Review of The Roger

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
GMLM
Business
Boston, MA
Feb 28, 2011

weekend getaway

good location 2 blocks for the empire state building. A good botique hotel for walking to all the top attractions. Small rooms & bathrooms but it is NYC afterall.. Front desk staff not very knowledge about local routes or transportation.. but a little web surfing and you can figure out what you need.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Roger

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Greene, ME
Feb 22, 2011

The Roger - best of Midtown Manhattan

I was there on business and the location made it easy to get to the accounts I was visiting in the East Village, the Upper West Side & the Upper East Side. It was my third stay at "The Roger" & I plan to return in another 3 to 4 months. I like the hotel for their friendly staff, clean & comfortable rooms & their delicious, although limited dining options.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Just a few blocks away on East 33rd is "2nd Avenue Deli", although not on 2nd Avenue they have some of the best deli offerings in the city. If you're staying a few nights and want an alternative to the hotel's delicious continental breakfast, consider "Penelope" on Lexington Avenue at 30th. The Pumpkin waffles with real maple syrup & the Buttermilk pancakes were over the top!

Review of The Roger

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Washington, DC
Jan 31, 2011

Wea

Hotel is at 31st and Madison, convenient to downtown and midtown. It is an easy walk from Penn Station, where we arrived. From the moment we walked in we were treated SO NICELY. We arrived early and they had a room available to us and allowed us to check in early. The room was beautiful. Small, of course, but much larger than some NYC hotel rooms I've stayed in. It was CLEAN, neat, and nicely decorated. The only negative was that the walls are thin so we could hear the murmur of the television next door. But we didn't care! This place has so much going for it - good location, great rooms, but most importantly, the staff is AMAZING! We were treated so well, it was ridiculous. I was so impressed by the folks there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top