Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Nov 22, 2014 Check-out: Nov 25, 2014

The Roger

4 stars
131 Madison Avenue, New York, NY 10016
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
132 reviews
Jolly Roger!

I love this cute little hotel! I have stayed here before and will again, The service is top notch.... See full review

  • Summerofjamie
  • May 24, 2014
A nice treat

We tried this hotel at the suggestion of a friend, and were glad we did! We had only one concern,... See full review

  • CLeigh
  • Sep 27, 2013
Luxury Midtown boutique hotel cops a fun attitude
This June, The Roger is unveiling a sophisticated new look after extensive renovations of its public spaces and guest rooms.  Standing at the crossroads of uptown and downtown, the new Roger is a marriage of chic design and old world comfort, while continuing an unyielding commitment to superior service.  The fresh aesthetic of the Roger's new lobby lounge and restaurant is curated by hospitality guru Steven Kamali and designed by the notable Anna Busta.  To update the spacious guest rooms, The Roger tapped Annette Jaffe of MSM.  Roger's new look is characterized by lush custom pieces and applied moldings to naturally compliment the historic building's unique rooms.  Whether for only a night or a week's long stay, The Roger is the modern traveler's home away from home.
Highlights
  • Intimate, boutique feel
  • Chic design complements old-world comfort
  • Select rooms have private, landscaped terraces
  • Breakfast has foods from famous New York purveyors
Rooms

This boutique hotel strives to be different by injecting fun. Individually designed rooms at The Roger are accentuated by distinct furnishings and casted patterns. Bright rooms have white walls with beige carpeting. Bold splashes of color -- lime green, blue, red -- appear on bed skirts, headboards, chairs and ottomans. Beds feature Egyptian cotton sheets with down duvets, accented by colorful quilts. Flat-screen, plasma TVs, free Wi-Fi, iPod docking stations, safes, bathrobes and Aveda bath products are among the amenities. Executive rooms have reading areas and views of Madison Avenue. Garden Terrace rooms boast private, landscaped balconies. One of the many penthouse perks is 24-hour butler service.

Features

Guests may use the 24-hour fitness center at no charge. The Roger offers complimentary overnight shoeshine.

Dining

The Roger serves breakfast as a European-style buffet with selections from gourmet New York purveyors, such as pastries from Balthazar. The buffet serves specialty granola, meats and cheeses, fruit and hot items including sausage, scrambled eggs and oatmeal. The Roger restaurant serves lunch and dinner from noon to midnight Sunday through Thursday. The restaurant stays open until 1 a.m. Fridays and Saturdays. Room service is available during restaurant hours. The mezzanine lounge features a menu of hearty appetizers, salads and small plates, including a fish taco trio and aged goat cheese ravioli.

Transportation
  • MTA Subway 4, 6 lines at 33rd St. - Lexington (0.2 mi/ 0.3 km)
  • Penn Station (0.6 mi/ 1 km)
  • Grand Central Station (0.6 mi/ 1 km)
  • La Guardia Airport
  • Newark Liberty International Airport
  • John F. Kennedy International Airport
Attractions
  • Empire State Building (0.2 mi/ 0.32 km)
  • Macy's Herald Square (0.5 mi/ 0.8 km)
  • Flatiron Building (0.5 mi/ 0.8 km)
  • Madison Square Garden (0.6 mi/ 0.97 km)
  • Javits Convention Center (1.3 mi/ 2.09 km)
Business
  • Conference suite for up to 12 people
  • Free Wi-Fi

The Roger Rooms

Superior Room
Approximately 250 sq. feet. Our exquisite Superior Rooms offer one king size bed or two full size beds with a plasma screen TV and luxury linens.
Classic Room
Approximately 225 sq. feet. Our beautiful Classic Rooms offer one king size bed, plasma screen TV's and luxury linens.

Amenities

  • WiFi
General
Concierge
Activities
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Roger also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5

Hotel Map

40.7459 -73.9843
Area served
Murray Hill
Nearby airports
LGA-LaGuardia Airport JFK
Area description
Madison Square Garden, Empire State Building, Grand Central Station, Times Square, Jacob Javits Center, Penn Station, Macy's, Shopping and dining

Nearby points of interest

  • Koreatown, Manhattan: 0.2 mi
  • The King's College: 0.2 mi
  • American Academy of Dramatic Arts: 0.2 mi
  • Chester A. Arthur Home: 0.2 mi
  • Pierpont Morgan Library: 0.2 mi
  • Murray Hill: 0.3 mi
  • Manhattan Mall: 0.3 mi
  • Herald Square: 0.3 mi
  • Metropolitan Life Insurance Company Tower: 0.4 mi
  • Lord & Taylor: 0.4 mi
  • Macys: 0.4 mi
  • Flatiron Building: 0.4 mi
  • Union Square - the Flatiron District: 0.4 mi
  • School of Visual Arts: 0.5 mi
  • NY Public Library: 0.5 mi
  • Koreatown, Manhattan: 0.2 mi
  • The King's College: 0.2 mi
  • American Academy of Dramatic Arts: 0.2 mi
  • Chester A. Arthur Home: 0.2 mi
  • Pierpont Morgan Library: 0.2 mi
  • Murray Hill: 0.3 mi
  • Manhattan Mall: 0.3 mi
  • Herald Square: 0.3 mi
  • Metropolitan Life Insurance Company Tower: 0.4 mi
  • Lord & Taylor: 0.4 mi
  • Macys: 0.4 mi
  • Flatiron Building: 0.4 mi
  • Union Square - the Flatiron District: 0.4 mi
  • School of Visual Arts: 0.5 mi
  • NY Public Library: 0.5 mi
  • Penn Station: 0.5 mi
  • Museum at FIT: 0.5 mi
  • Flatiron District: 0.5 mi
  • Limelight Marketplace: 0.5 mi
  • Hughoneill Dry Goods Store: 0.5 mi
  • Bryant Park: 0.5 mi
  • Theodore Roosevelt Birthplace National Historic Site: 0.6 mi
  • Grammercy Park: 0.6 mi
  • National Arts Club: 0.6 mi
  • Century Building: 0.6 mi
  • Madison Square Garden: 0.6 mi
  • The Players: 0.6 mi
  • Daily News Building: 0.6 mi
  • Grand Central Station: 0.6 mi
  • Bank of America Tower: 0.6 mi
  • MetLife Building: 0.7 mi
  • Chrysler Building: 0.7 mi
  • Garment District: 0.7 mi
  • East 34th Street Heliport: 0.7 mi
  • Stephen Sondheim Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Condé Nast Building: 0.7 mi
  • Town Hall: 0.7 mi
  • Union Square Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Tudor City: 0.7 mi
  • Nederlander Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Belasco Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Lower Plaza: 0.7 mi
  • New Victory Theater: 0.7 mi
  • Theater District: 0.7 mi
  • Ford Center For The Performing Arts: 0.8 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (132)

Ratings and reviews for The Roger

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
132 out of 132
Amenities:
3.7
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.6
Room comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.4
Value:
4

89% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Roger

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Allen s
Florida, USA
Feb 7, 2012

Great value

Location is great. Staff is very nice. It was very nice to walk to restaurants and shops.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

If you like such i , all you can eat for only 30 dollars.

Review of The Roger

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Summerofjamie
Business
Santa Clarita
May 24, 2014

Jolly Roger!

I love this cute little hotel! I have stayed here before and will again, The service is top notch. The room is great also the food is exceptional in the restaurant. Highly recommend it to anyone.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Great little coffee shop 3 doors down.

Review of The Roger

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
CLeigh
Business
Raleigh, NC
Sep 27, 2013

A nice treat

We tried this hotel at the suggestion of a friend, and were glad we did! We had only one concern, which the hotel promptly addressed: we had reserved a deluxe king room; when we checked in, we were given a very small room with a double bed that filled most of the room. We returned to the check-in desk and explained the problem, and were given a new room. This room, with a king bed, was delightful--spacious, comfortable, and very clean and attractive. The bath has very nice toiletries and was also very clean. The hotel lobby is quite stylish and attractive. We loved the location--less than two blocks to a subway stop for the 6 line. We felt safe I. The neighborhood at night and had some good meals nearby. We will look forward to going again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Roger

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ghenrow
Business
Philly
Feb 18, 2013

Roger Hotel

The Staff at the Hotel are professional but warm and very helpful. The facilities are very good and the individual rooms are nicely appointed and bathrooms and rooms are spotless. The only problem we had was that the room was very warm (77F) and we were unable to get the thermostat to adjust the temperature. The hotel breakfast buffet was lovely and the staff was very attentive. Would definitely stay at the hotel again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Restaraunt names: Artisanal (french) at 2 Park Ave (32nd street) Ny, Ny --wonderful cheese cave --great food, fondue, and cheese and wine. Also can purchase cheese from their selections for carry out.

Review of The Roger

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
LOST
Business
Gibraltar
Dec 13, 2012

girls getaway

great location - away from the hustle and bustle of Broadway although very near entertainment area and walking distance to upper, lower, east and west Manhattan; rooms are clean and beds very comfy, however not much room to manoeuvre and not much hanging space. Rooms could do with more lighting! otherwise a super hotel; this is the 2nd time I've stayed at The Roger;

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Roger

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Rana
Business
Mexico City
Nov 20, 2012

Great hotel

You get what you pay. Nice clean hotel friendly staff

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Roger

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
The2ofUs
Business
Cambridge, MA
Sep 25, 2012

Comfortable European Style Hotel

My husband and I had the best night's sleep in months. The bed was comfy, the room clean, the amenities adequate. The room was small, but very quiet. We looked out onto an air shaft, something I don't mind because one can leave the shades open while dressing and at night it was very dark-- excellent for sleeping late! The staff was friendly, and with the exception of getting stuck in the elevator for about 10 minutes, everything was fine. We did not try the restaurant, but ate at an excellent restaurant (The Silk Road) about 10 minutes away and had a glass of wine at the Italian restaurant across the street. The hotel is close enough to mid-town, theaters, Central Park, and Times Square if you like to walk. It's also close to the subway; we ex-New Yorkers travel everywhere on foot or by subway.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Silk Road

Review of The Roger

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Big City Girl Lindy
Business
Indiana
Aug 20, 2012

Girls weekend in the Big Apple

The Roger was a nice, quiet retreat in Murray Hill. The hotel is within walking distance of many neighborhoods, shopping, broadway and restaurants. As an ex-New Yorker I appreciate the gentrification of the area, as well as the updates to the facility itself. The Lobby is hip, the room was comfortable, clean and quiet. The only negative is that the bathroom was tiny....modern, clean, but barely big enough for one person to stand in. The staff was very helpful but was understaffed when we were checking out on Sunday morning. Overall, we enjoyed our stay and would consider staying again if the price is right.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Moran Library...a few blocks away from the hotel. An insider's initmate museum.

Review of The Roger

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
diveski
Business
syracuse
Aug 15, 2012

Fantastic family getaway

Great staff, nice room with a very comfortable bed. Always have enjoyed this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Roger

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Sleepy Canadian
Business
Montreal
Jul 30, 2012

Classy little hotel

Very comfortable and stylish 15 floor building. our room had a little terrace and a nice view of the empire state building. For the price we paid, I never had anything else than a window on a brick wall! On the down side, the doors seem very slim; we could hear conversations from the room across the hall. On the plus side, the staff was great. When the kids (read hipsters) across the hall got too loud, we only had to make a quick call to the desk and it was over.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

You're at the right place for korean, but if you crave anything else, go eat in chelsea! 10-20 minute walk, much better food for a fraction of the price.

Review of The Roger

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JRob1
Business
Chicago
Jul 2, 2012

Weekend Night in NYC

Great staff, great ambiance. Rooms have been recently renovated and are a definite upgrade. At this point, the Roger is a bit of a secret Gem

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top