Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jun 20, 2015 Check-out: Jun 22, 2015

Sofitel New York

4 stars
View map of 45 West 44TH Street, NEW YORK, NY 10036

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Sofitel New York

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
72 out of 72
Amenities:
4.3
Cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.6
Comfort:
4.6
Location:
4.9
Value:
4.1

94% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Sofitel New York

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Bloomington-Normal, IL
Jun 19, 2007

Perfect experience

The Sofitel was the perfect choice for this mom and her 19 year old daughter's first visit to New York. First the hotel is beautiful and sophiticated. The room was larger than expected and extremely comfortable. The bathroom was spectacular! Excellent, friendly, and helpful service from the front desk, room service and the gift shop. The doorman took a great picture of us! The location allowed us to walk to many points of interest on our very long list. It was a hit all the way around.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

The hotel is a short distance from many pints of interest: Times Square, Grand Central Station, Fifth Avenue shopping, Rockefeller Center, and many quality restaurants. We felt safe walking in any direction.

Review of Sofitel New York

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
London
Sep 1, 2007

Great Stay

The Sofitel proved to be an amazing hotel for my 8 day stay in New York. It's close by to Times Square. Friendly staff and clean, and the rooms are very luxurious.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Go to Bryant Park, sit outside with a cup of coffee and watch the world go by.

Review of Sofitel New York

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Scottsdale, AZ
May 8, 2009

A great location for the price.

We had a pleasureable experience at the Sofitel. It was in a great location and the staff was very freindly and helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Becco's was a great place to eat.

Review of Sofitel New York

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Houston, TX
Jun 17, 2007

Nice and quiet

I took my mom to NY to celebrate her 80th birthday. We both were pleased. The hotel was clean and quiet. The location was good because it was less than two miles from everywhere we wanted to go - restaurants, shopping and shows. Considering the average size of a NY hotel room (very small) the room was large. The bathroom was well-appointed and we liked the updated style of separate shower and tub. The staff was friendly and helpful. I liked the fact that there was a cubby hole in the lobby with three computers and a printer. Free of charge, you could access the Internet and print boarding passes. Although I had read other reviews that it would be difficult for the doorman to hail a cab, we did not find that to be the case. The staff was knowledgeable about the area and offered ideas on shopping areas where we could find bargains. The one problem we had was with our room service the first night. We ordered the lobster bisque and did not like it. I was hesitant but decided to call room service to let them know we didn't like it. They sent someone to get the bowls and credited our bill without any hassle. Also, be aware that the minibar has a sensor on it. When something is removed your are charged but the sensor does not detect if you return something to the bar. I removed a diet Coke and changed my mind. I immediately returned it to the bar and selected a regular Coke. When I noticed that I was charged for two, I contacted the front desk and they told me about the sensor. They removed the second charge without any hassle. I would recommend it to anyone and would stay there again. We got good value for your money.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Sofitel New York

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Arlington, VA
May 22, 2009

Great place to stay

Very clean room. Very comfortable bed. Bathroom is highlight as very large and well designed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Sofitel New York

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
chencho fredini
Business
tx
Nov 16, 2010

new york trip

the hotel was in a great location as it was only a few block away from time square. also it was near the subway so we could go either uptown to central park or downtown to wall st. it was also very fancy and great service however the prices on the food were very $$$$

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

get the city pass worth it because you skip the lines and also it turns out you pay for 4 activities and get 1 free

Review of Sofitel New York

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Bermuda
Aug 2, 2009

Great Hotel

This is the third time we've stayed at this lovely hotel. The location is great for shopping and theaters.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Sofitel New York

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Oklahoma
Oct 17, 2009

Perfect Stay!

I was travelling by myself this time-in New York City to see Broadway shows. The location was perfect! You are on 44th and can come and go right to the theater district and as for shopping - Fifth Avenue is right around the corner. The Hotel is lovely, quiet, well-appointed with a very professional staff. They have splurged on the bedding and you will definately get a great night's sleep...I will definately stay here again on my next New York Broadway adventure!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Sofitel New York

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Old Romantic!!
Business
London
Aug 5, 2011

Sensational!

First class service and experience! Fantastic location with everything going on around. Beautiful room, clean and well presented. Very helpful and friendly staff. The lobby area is a very inviting and scenic attraction. All in all probably one of the nicest places I've had the pleasure of staying at in NY. Thanks for the experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Sofitel New York

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Libby1963
Business
East Yorkshire
Jan 4, 2015

Great hotel.

The Sofitel is a brilliant place all round. The hotel its self is spotlessly clean, the beds are so comfortable with help from a feather mattress topper. The staff cannot not be faulted in anyway. The down side is the food and drink are very pricey with a Bacardi and coke costing $12. The hotel is 2 blocks from time square and 3 blocks from 5th avenue making it the perfect place for most of the attractions that New York as to offer.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Try eating in the deli's, these are canteen style palaces where you buy your food by weight, mostly fresh food and lots of freshly prepared fruit.

Back to menu Return to top