Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 3, 2014 Check-out: Aug 4, 2014

Sofitel New York

4 stars
45 West 44TH Street, NEW YORK, NY 10036
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.4
out of 5
110 reviews
Perfect hotel stay!

I tried really hard to fine something I didn't like at Sofitel New York and I couldn't think of... See full review

  • newyorkminute
  • Mar 10, 2014
Top class for value and service

The hotel is very warm and welcoming. The accommodation is 5*, large room with lovely comfortable... See full review

  • Andrew75
  • Mar 5, 2014
Spirit of New York and Paris triumphs at midtown Manhattan hotel

Indulge in the spirit of classic New York and Paris at the midtown Manhattan Sofitel New York, right off Fifth Avenue. Thirty stories of contemporary-style glass and limestone make a landmark statement, and sophisticated, soft-edge guest rooms offer the comforts of home. Each includes a flat-screen TV, a Bose radio, a marble bathroom, a feather SoBed and a fully stocked minibar. Four-diamond service continues at the French-influenced restaurant and bar, Gaby, open from early morning until well past midnight at Sofitel.

Highlights

  • Paris- and New York-infused guest room with a Bose radio, a flat-screen TV and a feather SoBed
  • The flavors of France in an Art-Deco-inspired setting at Gaby, the on-site restaurant and bar
  • Walk to the best of Manhattan from a midtown location at Fifth Avenue

Location

Walk to the best of New York from Sofitel and its midtown Manhattan location on West 44th Street, just off Fifth Avenue. Times Square, Broadway, Rockefeller Center, Grand Central Terminal and even the Empire State Building are nearby, and a subway station is several blocks away.

Rooms

The inviting guest rooms and suites at Sofitel present tailored sophistication, upscale amenities and soft-edge decor touches that recall both the comforts of home and the style of Paris and New York. Each includes a flat-screen cable/satellite TV with pay-per-view channels, a Bose radio, a feather SoBed, a two-line phone with voice mail, a marble bathroom with both a bathtub and a shower, a fully stocked minibar, and high-speed Internet/Wi-Fi access (fees apply). Suites feature a separate living room, and the Prestige Suite includes a 300-square-foot private terrace. 

Features

Experience an Art-Deco-inspired setting paired with fine French-influenced dining at Gaby, the restaurant and bar at Sofitel, open from early morning until after midnight. Room service is available around the clock. A fitness center is also on the property.

Transportation

  • Grand Central Terminal (0.6 mi/1 km)
  • Penn Station (1.1 mi/1.7 km)
  • Statue Cruises, Battery Park (Statue of Liberty/Ellis Island ferry) (5.9 mi/9.5 km)
  • LaGuardia Airport (11.4 mi/18.3 km)
  • Newark Liberty International Airport (15.6 mi/25.1 km)
  • John F. Kennedy International Airport (17.1 mi/27.6 km)

Attractions

  • Times Square (0.3 mi/0.4 km)
  • Rockefeller Center (0.6 mi/1 km)
  • Museum of Modern Art (0.7 mi/1.2 km)
  • Empire State Building (0.7 mi/1.2 km)
  • Central Park (1 mi/1.6 km)
  • Madison Square Garden (1.1 mi/1.7 km)
  • Lincoln Center for the Performing Arts (1.9 mi/3.1 km)

Business

  • Elegant Grand Ballroom, seating up to 200 guests, plus eight additional meeting rooms (fees apply)
  • In-room high-speed Internet/Wi-Fi access (fees apply)

Policies and Fees
Free accomodation and breakfast for one child under 12 years old sharing parents' room (with space for a crib, rollaway bed or by using existing bedding) having breakfast as a family. No club access.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Sofitel New York Rooms

Suite 1 Kg bed Dlx City S
SKYSCRAPER SUITE - 1 King Bed, Separate Living Room, Floors 22-29, Chrysler View.. 650 sq ft / 60 m², Flatscreen TV, Bose radio, feather SoBed, 2 telephone lines, safe, minibar, iron, marble bath, hairdryer, separate bath and shower, Comp WiFi, sofabed
Suite 1 Kg bed Sup
PRESTIGE SUITE - 1 King Bed, Separate Living Room, Terrace from 500sq ft, 24th floor.. 650 sq ft / 60 m² featuring terraces from 500sq ft . Flatscreen TV, Bose radio, feather SoBed, 2 telephone lines, safe, minibar, iron, marble bath, hair dryer, separa
JrSuite 1 Qn bed
Luxury Suite - 1 king bed and Sofabed. Floors 2 2-29. High floor, view guaranteed.. 650 sq ft / 60 m², Flatscreen TV, Bose radio, feather SoBed, 2 telephone lines, safe, minibar, iron, marble bath, hairdryer, separate bath and shower, Comp WIFI, sofabed
1 Kg bed Dlx
LUXURY ROOM - 1 King Bed, Floors 3-29.. 400 sq ft / 37 m². Flatscreen TV, Bose radio, feather SoBed, 2 phone lines, safe, minibar, iron, marble bath, hairdryer, separate bath & shower, complimentary WIFI, rollaway upon request by contacting the hotel($5
1 Qn bed Sup
SUPERIOR ROOM - 1 Queen Bed, Floors 15-29.. 350 sq ft / 32.5 m². Flatscreen TV, Bose radio, feather SoBed, 2 phone lines, safe, minibar, iron, marble bath, hair dryer, separate bath & shower, complimentary WIFI, rollaway upon request by contacting the h
JrSuite 1 Kg bed
EXECUTIVE SUITE - 1 King Bed, Separate Living Room. 650 sq ft / 60 m², Flatscreen TVs, Bose radio, feather SoBed, 2 telephone lines, safe, minibar, iron, marble bath, hairdryer, separate bath and shower, Comp WIFI. No sofabed available. Rollaway availab
1 Qn bed Clc
CLASSIC ROOM - 1 Queen Bed, Floors 3-14.. 350 sq ft / 32.5 m². Flatscreen TV, Bose radio, feather SoBed, 2 phone lines, safe, minibar, iron, marble bath, hairdryer, separate bath & shower,complimentary WIFI, Max one rollaway per room subject to hotel co

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Pet friendly
Elevators
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Express checkout
Concierge desk
Security
Wake-up service
Multilingual
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Porters
Currency exchange
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Indoor parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Satellite TV
Safe
AM/FM alarm clock
Hairdryer in room
Cribs available
Shower
Iron
Sprinklers in rooms
Bath tub

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Sofitel New York also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5

Hotel Map

40.7558 -73.9818
Nearby airports
JFK, (JFK), 41.60, KM, NW; EWR, (EWR), 43.20, KM, NE;
Area description
Downtown

Nearby points of interest

  • Belasco Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Bank of America Tower: 0.1 mi
  • Diamond District: 0.1 mi
  • Town Hall: 0.2 mi
  • Stephen Sondheim Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Bryant Park: 0.2 mi
  • Lower Plaza: 0.2 mi
  • Nintendo World Store New Yok: 0.2 mi
  • Lyceum Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Condé Nast Building: 0.2 mi
  • NY Public Library: 0.2 mi
  • International Building: 0.2 mi
  • NBC Studios: 0.2 mi
  • Theater District: 0.2 mi
  • Cort Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Belasco Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Bank of America Tower: 0.1 mi
  • Diamond District: 0.1 mi
  • Town Hall: 0.2 mi
  • Stephen Sondheim Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Bryant Park: 0.2 mi
  • Lower Plaza: 0.2 mi
  • Nintendo World Store New Yok: 0.2 mi
  • Lyceum Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Condé Nast Building: 0.2 mi
  • NY Public Library: 0.2 mi
  • International Building: 0.2 mi
  • NBC Studios: 0.2 mi
  • Theater District: 0.2 mi
  • Cort Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • GE Building: 0.3 mi
  • Rockefeller Center: 0.3 mi
  • Palace Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Minskoff Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Saks Fifth Avenue: 0.3 mi
  • Taipei Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • Duffy Square: 0.3 mi
  • Radio City Music Hall: 0.3 mi
  • Lord & Taylor: 0.3 mi
  • New Victory Theater: 0.3 mi
  • American Airlines Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Grand Central Station: 0.3 mi
  • MetLife Building: 0.3 mi
  • Foxwoods Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Bernard B. Jacobs Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Ford Center For The Performing Arts: 0.3 mi
  • Shubert Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Majestic Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Lunt-Fontanne Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Helen Hayes Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Booth Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Nederlander Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Music Box Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Cathedral of St. Patrick: 0.3 mi
  • Broadhurst Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Ethel Barrymore Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Richard Rodgers Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Brooks Atkinson Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Gerald Schoenfeld Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • John Golden Theatre: 0.4 mi

Dining

GABY RESTAURANT
Gaby Restaurant is the Art Deco-inspired restaurant at our NYC midtown hotel featuring delicious, contemporary French cuisine. Enjoy a taste of France at our modern midtown New York City hotel restaurant, located in the heart of the Theatre District.
GABY BAR
Contemporary New York bar.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (110)

Ratings and reviews for Sofitel New York

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
110 out of 110
Amenities:
4.3
Room cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.7
Room comfort:
4.6
Location:
4.9
Value:
4.2

95% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Sofitel New York

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Syracuse, NY
Jan 18, 2010

the Perfect Four Star Hotel

We chose the hotel due to its closeness to the theatre where we went on Saturday evening. It was a great location for the theatre, but also for shopping on Fifth Avenue, etc. We ended up having two breakfast meals (Sat. and Sun.) at the restaurant at the hotel - Gaby's, and the two meals were exquisite, but pricey. As indicated above, we had a problem with the air conditioning in the room. WE checked in to the hotel late Friday evening - about 11:00 pm. When we turned the AC down to cool the room, the air unit in the ceiling began to make a humming noise that got louder over time. At about 12 midnite, the security officer came to our room to investigate our complaint, and after confirming the problem, got an engineer to come up to fix the problem. It got fixed about 12:30 am. The hotel staff was very compassionate the next morning, when I asked them to check out the unit when we went out of the hotel for the day -for shopping,etc. Everything was checked out and the problem was solved. The hotel staff was prepared to move us if necessary, but they were most accommodating. The security person who visited our room Friday nite, stopped by at breakfast in the Hotel Saturday morning, to see how the evening turned out on Friday.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

If you can, make reservations in advance of your stay, at this hotel, or any other as well. It is very difficult to find specific restaurant accommodations the day or two before you might like them, and so, you often have to settle for something else. If you don't care about specifics, then pot luck is fine. In New York, however, even pot luck is not a very good way to have a meal- particularly for what the cost of a meal at a nice restaurant will be.

Review of Sofitel New York

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
A and M
Denver, Co
Jan 8, 2010

Great getaway!

Everything in New York was within walking distance, it was amazing! The hotel was very friendly and immaculate!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Time Square was 2-3 blocks away with greath shopping

Review of Sofitel New York

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Chicago, IL
Dec 19, 2009

My new hotel of choice for trips to NYC

This was a birthday gift for mom to see Jersey Boys. I knew the location would be fabulous but was blown away by the hotel! The best hotel value I have ever experienced in all of my trips to NYC. Reasonable price and FANTASTIC service and amenities. This is my new hotel of choice for trips to NYC. I will also look to the Sofitel chain for other trips. I am picky about my hotels and this one exceeded all expectations (cleanliness, service, accommodations, room size, location). Easy walk to 5th Ave shopping, Times Square, Grand Central terminal (which will get you anywhere else in the city).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Sofitel New York

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Chicago, IL
Dec 19, 2009

My new hotel of choice for trips to NYC

This was a birthday gift for mom to see Jersey Boys. I knew the location would be fabulous but was blown away by the hotel! The best hotel value I have ever experienced in all of my trips to NYC. Reasonable price and FANTASTIC service and amenities. This is my new hotel of choice for trips to NYC. I will also look to the Sofitel chain for other trips. I am picky about my hotels and this one exceeded all expectations (cleanliness, service, accommodations, room size, location). Easy walk to 5th Ave shopping, Times Square, Grand Central terminal (which will get you anywhere else in the city).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Sofitel New York

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
FEROS VAZQUEZ
CELAYA, MEXICO.
Dec 7, 2009

GREAT LOCATION, GREAT HOTEL.

GREAT LOCATION !!!!!!!!!!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

MAMMA MIA

Review of Sofitel New York

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
FEROS VAZQUEZ
CELAYA, MEXICO.
Dec 7, 2009

GREAT LOCATION, GREAT HOTEL.

GREAT LOCATION !!!!!!!!!!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

MAMMA MIA

Review of Sofitel New York

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
NRH
UK
Dec 7, 2009

Sofitel NYC

Good location for shopping/ restaurants

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Sofitel New York

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
NRH
UK
Dec 7, 2009

Sofitel NYC

Good location for shopping/ restaurants

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Sofitel New York

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Chicago, IL
Oct 28, 2009

Bad news , good news

Upon arrival we were stunned by the elegance in the foyer and check-in areas. Then we got to the room and quickly became disappointed. BAD NEWS: Not only was the room "ordinary" and tiny, our view of a lovely New York brick wall was enough to ruin my whole trip before it started. The room did not have a dvd player and the cable tv service made me want to throw the remote out the window ( and into our beautiful brick wall across the way) Room service was ridiculously overpriced, and no pool or hot tub that I could find. GOOD NEWS: Location was about the only good thing to report. Times square was like 4 blocks away and all the theaters where within walking distance. The service staff were also OK...not GREAT, just OK. Don't take anything out of the mini bar, as soon as you remove it, you will be charged (sensors or something) I took a few things out to put personal items in and I got charged even though I didnt eat or drink the items. Save your money and stay somewhere else or spend just as much and stay somewhere with a view. Not worth the price of a room here folks!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
1
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

If you are planning on seeing a Broadway theater show, purchase tickets before you arrive in New York. Most shows are sold out weeks in advance and day of ticket prices (if your lucky enough to get them) are the most expensive price no matter the seat or section.

Review of Sofitel New York

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Chicago, IL
Oct 28, 2009

Bad news , good news

Upon arrival we were stunned by the elegance in the foyer and check-in areas. Then we got to the room and quickly became disappointed. BAD NEWS: Not only was the room "ordinary" and tiny, our view of a lovely New York brick wall was enough to ruin my whole trip before it started. The room did not have a dvd player and the cable tv service made me want to throw the remote out the window ( and into our beautiful brick wall across the way) Room service was ridiculously overpriced, and no pool or hot tub that I could find. GOOD NEWS: Location was about the only good thing to report. Times square was like 4 blocks away and all the theaters where within walking distance. The service staff were also OK...not GREAT, just OK. Don't take anything out of the mini bar, as soon as you remove it, you will be charged (sensors or something) I took a few things out to put personal items in and I got charged even though I didnt eat or drink the items. Save your money and stay somewhere else or spend just as much and stay somewhere with a view. Not worth the price of a room here folks!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
1
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

If you are planning on seeing a Broadway theater show, purchase tickets before you arrive in New York. Most shows are sold out weeks in advance and day of ticket prices (if your lucky enough to get them) are the most expensive price no matter the seat or section.

Back to menu Return to top