Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Nov 2, 2014 Check-out: Nov 3, 2014

Seton Hotel

3 stars
144 East 40th Street, New York, NY 10016
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.5
out of 5
32 reviews
Really affordable cool hip small hotel! Not your average gross franchised hotel!

Seton hotel was a wonderful surprise. The room i had was inexpensive (for nyc) and nicely designed.... See full review

  • Sunya
  • Jan 26, 2014
Nice Rooms

My two day stay at the Seton was very nice. The rooms were clean and staff was very helpful. See full review

  • Rob V Traveller
  • Jun 16, 2014
The SETON HOTEL has just completed an extensive renovation. The hotel staff and management are dedicated to superior customer service consistent with our beautiful new exterior and interior design. We aim to provide our guests with great service and comfort. The courteous front desk staff will attend to your needs and share their city secrets and local favorites- including special discounts and entertainment deal - 24 hours a day. Guests can choose from a variety of rooms- the vast majority of our rooms have new private bathrooms. We also have a unique Economy Option- rooms with a shared bathroom. The rooms are beautiful and share a brand new private bathroom --with 2-3 other rooms--down the hall.

Seton Hotel Rooms

*Shared-Bath Room* DOUBLE 130sft
*Shared-Bath Room* DOUBLE 130sft - 12sqm Bath shared with three rooms on the same floor.
*Premium Room* DOUBLE 150sft - 1
*Premium Room* DOUBLE 150sft - 14sqm A respite for leisure and business travelers.
*Premium Room* KING 300sft - 28s
*Premium Room* KING 300sft - 28sqm A couples retreat to and from the city.
*Premium Room* 2 DBLS 300sft - 2
*Premium Room* 2 DBLS 300sft - 28sqm Comfort and fun for four on a city getaway.
*Executive Suite* KING 450sft -
*Executive Suite* KING 450sft - 42sqm Large room with sitting area with sofa.
*Premium Room* QUEEN 200sft - 19
*Premium Room* QUEEN 200sft - 19sqm Modern furnishings in this urban retreat

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
24 hour security
Activities
Fitness Center
Sauna
Dining
Restaurant
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Laundry service
Concierge desk
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Copy service
Currency exchange
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Indoor parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Safe
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Hairdryer in room
Fire alarm with light
Temperature control
Shower
Dining guide
Iron
Ironing board
International direct dial
Smoke detectors
Sprinklers in rooms

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Seton Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.2 out of 5

Hotel Map

40.7496 -73.9763
Nearby airports
John F. Kennedy International Airport, (JFK), 18.00, MI, NE; La Guardia Airport, (LGA), 8.26, MI, SE; Newark International Airport, (EWR), 17.00, MI, NE;
Area description
City Center

Nearby points of interest

  • Daily News Building: 0.1 mi
  • Chrysler Building: 0.2 mi
  • Murray Hill: 0.2 mi
  • Grand Central Station: 0.2 mi
  • MetLife Building: 0.3 mi
  • Pierpont Morgan Library: 0.3 mi
  • Ralph Bunche Park: 0.3 mi
  • NY Public Library: 0.4 mi
  • Robert Moses Playground: 0.4 mi
  • Tudor City: 0.4 mi
  • American Academy of Dramatic Arts: 0.4 mi
  • Lord & Taylor: 0.4 mi
  • Japan Society Gallery: 0.5 mi
  • Century Building: 0.5 mi
  • United Nations Headquarters: 0.5 mi
  • Daily News Building: 0.1 mi
  • Chrysler Building: 0.2 mi
  • Murray Hill: 0.2 mi
  • Grand Central Station: 0.2 mi
  • MetLife Building: 0.3 mi
  • Pierpont Morgan Library: 0.3 mi
  • Ralph Bunche Park: 0.3 mi
  • NY Public Library: 0.4 mi
  • Robert Moses Playground: 0.4 mi
  • Tudor City: 0.4 mi
  • American Academy of Dramatic Arts: 0.4 mi
  • Lord & Taylor: 0.4 mi
  • Japan Society Gallery: 0.5 mi
  • Century Building: 0.5 mi
  • United Nations Headquarters: 0.5 mi
  • The King's College: 0.5 mi
  • Bryant Park: 0.5 mi
  • Ford Foundation Building: 0.5 mi
  • East Side: 0.5 mi
  • East 34th Street Heliport: 0.5 mi
  • Saks Fifth Avenue: 0.6 mi
  • Bank of America Tower: 0.6 mi
  • Chester A. Arthur Home: 0.6 mi
  • Koreatown, Manhattan: 0.6 mi
  • Diamond District: 0.6 mi
  • International Building: 0.6 mi
  • Herald Square: 0.6 mi
  • Belasco Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Nintendo World Store New Yok: 0.6 mi
  • Cathedral of St. Patrick: 0.6 mi
  • Town Hall: 0.6 mi
  • Stephen Sondheim Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • NBC Studios: 0.6 mi
  • Rockefeller Center: 0.6 mi
  • Condé Nast Building: 0.7 mi
  • Manhattan Mall: 0.7 mi
  • GE Building: 0.7 mi
  • Lower Plaza: 0.7 mi
  • Macys: 0.7 mi
  • Citicorp Center: 0.7 mi
  • Theater District: 0.7 mi
  • Lyceum Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Radio City Music Hall: 0.7 mi
  • Lever House: 0.7 mi
  • Paley Park: 0.7 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by CheapTickets

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (32)

Ratings and reviews for Seton Hotel

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
32 out of 32
Amenities:
3.1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
3.7
Location:
4.3
Value:
3.8

84% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Seton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
波士顿麻萨诸塞州美国
Apr 21, 2012

good

at night we went into the hotel,it is easy to find it.And the stuff is nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Seton Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
sleepy doc 67576
Business
cherry hill
Sep 30, 2014

weekend getaway

was ok, maid service did not clean room, old fashion key was quaint

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Seton Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Fairfax, VA
Sep 30, 2014

3 day weekend in NYC

I go to New York at least 4 times a year and am fairly used to small rooms. The Seton gave me what was probably the smallest room I've stayed in, with the least storage space. It was bare bones, but bearable for a weekend. There are many better options out there though, and I probably wouldn't come back. They were especially bullish on their cancelation policy when my girlfriend tried to change our reservations, which added to our displeasure. She ended up having to leave New York a day early to start her new job, instead of us getting to change our stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Seton Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
NY TX Traveler
Business
San Antonio, TX
Aug 11, 2014

Pretty good

Good place to stay if you're looking to save on your trip to NYC. Don't expect anything fancy, but they do what they have very nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Seton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Rob V Traveller
Business
Reston, VA
Jun 16, 2014

Nice Rooms

My two day stay at the Seton was very nice. The rooms were clean and staff was very helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Very close to Subway

Review of Seton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Sunya
Business
Midwest
Jan 26, 2014

Really affordable cool hip small hotel! Not your average gross franchised hotel!

Seton hotel was a wonderful surprise. The room i had was inexpensive (for nyc) and nicely designed. I liked the fact that they gave slippers and a robe. I thought the interior design of my room was really well done with interesting artwork (large Catcher in the Rye poster) also lots of very interesting artwork in the community room (large colored prints or drawings of exotic birds) they were excellently rendered and unique high quality drawings. I always prefer hotels that use natural materials in their interiors and Seton hotel uses wood and some stone. Location was perfect right next to Grand Central. Also the have a nice mirror and sink in the room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

Stay in a hotel with a shared bathroom and save yourself money. These small boutique hotels are super cool in their interior design and you feel like your staying somewhere special and unique. Seton hotel fits this description. Also stay in a hotel near a major subway line and make life easier on yourself to get around quickly. Also those big franchised hotels are super gross and have no unique character, artwork or good design. The small boutique hotels have a personality of their own and they are much nicer to stay in.

Review of Seton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
AnastasiaB
Business
Chicago, IL
Nov 5, 2013

Great affordable option in NYC

I was pleasantly surprised by Seton Hotel. Tucked away on the east side of Manhattan, the hotel is situated in a quieter area (the closest subway station is the Grand Central station). The room was very neat and tidy, the staff was exceptional, and overall I would definitely come back to this place. One suggestion, I wish there was a continental breakfast.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Seton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Kendy Kane Designer
Business
Westerly,RI
Oct 31, 2013

Spacious rooms in a central location

The newly renovated rooms were spacious for New York City with modern amenities and free wi-fi.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Seton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Auntie T
Business
Milwaukee, WI
Oct 9, 2013

Great spot!

Stayed with my sister on a long, rather hot NYC weekend. The room was comfortable, the bathroom and shower great, slept well on the bed. We had the air conditioner on all the time, so I can't comment on noise. The staff was super helpful and friendly, they took care of special requests and helped us out with some unexpected errands. The housekeeping staff was also very friendly, polite and cheerful. With the little NYC elevator we came across them often, no problem. They have a lounge and coffee machine, which was a nice touch. Good place to relax with morning coffee while my sister was still sleeping. Also, the Seton is located just a few blocks from Grand Central terminal which was super for us, we went EVERYWHERE! And Zucker's bagels is on the way, yummy NYC bagel breakfast!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

Buy a 5 day MetroCard - good for subway/train and bus. Make's it really easy and cost effective if you are planning to move around a bunch. And use the Google map phone app to find the stations, simple.

Review of Seton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Business Traveling Jane
Business
Ashburn, VA
Aug 16, 2013

Definitely trying it out again next time. Great value!

I loved my room. Not sure they're all like that tho as it's a boutique and each room's different. It was small, but cozy and comfortably decorated with smart pullout working station. The shower was nice, hot, and had strong stream. Only complaints were there's no gym on site. You'd have to pay a $25 "discounted" fee to use the NYSC gym not too far away. That didn't really bother as much as one of the staff who was rude and acted like it was a bother if I'd any questions or requests. I'd definitely come back again, but crossing my fingers that I won't run into "her" again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Seton Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Mick P
Business
Minneapolis, mn
May 20, 2013

Nice starting point

They have a great starting location, convenient to Grand Central Station for most modes of transport. Room was fine, clean and well kept. The only negative was the busy, noisy street nearby

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top