Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Oct 26, 2014 Check-out: Oct 27, 2014

Park Central New York

4 stars
870 Seventh Avenue, New York, NY 10019
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
90 reviews
Our Engagement Trip to NYC

My financee and I arrived on the 11th Sept and stayed until the 16th Sept. We could not fault this... See full review

  • Martial Artist
  • Sep 16, 2014
Great place to stay!

Great hotel, perfect location in midtown. Close to the subway, central park, carnegie hall,... See full review

  • just fly
  • Sep 2, 2014
Overview
Midtown Manhattan's Park Central Hotel is famous for its illustrious past and current design. Built in 1927, the hotel combines the glamor of 'The Roaring Twenties' with a contemporary feel that was enhanced through a massive renovation in 2013, headed by award-winning firm Jeffrey Beers International.  From the dark-stained milkwork detailing to the geometrically-patterned carpets and tufted fabric headboards, the hotel has quirky attitude and the bathrooms' porcelain tiles arranged in a piano-like pattern give a nod to neighbor Carnegie Hall.  

Ever since it was constructed, the Park Central Hotel in New York has seen many acclaimed guests walk its halls, including First Lady Eleanor Roosevelt, and legendary comic Jackie Gleason. Today, the hotel's 761 rooms and over 15,000 square feet of meeting space accommodate both leisure guests and business people. 
Key Facts
  • 761 guestrooms
  • Ballroom
  • Banquet facilities
  • 15,000 sq. ft meeting space - 15 conference rooms
  • Several small meeting rooms
  • Restaurant
  • Multilingual staff
Neighborhood
Set on 7th Avenue in historic Midtown Manhattan, The Park Central Hotel is surrounded by New York City's theater district; world-famous performance center Carnegie Hall is right across the street and Central Park's tree-lined pathways wind around several landmarks nearby.

Think shopping and look no further than Macy's or Midtown Manhattan's famed 57th Street and 5th Avenue, or take a stroll to stumble across The Museum of Modern Art, Columbus Circle and the Rockefeller and Lincoln Centers.
Park Central New York Rooms

All 761 newly-renovated and plush guest rooms are equipped with 46-inch flat-screen televisions, and the option of internet access (fees apply). Guests will enjoy bath products from C.O. Bigelow, a writing desk, iron and ironing board, safe deposit box and hairdryer supplied in every room.

Hints and tips
If you have a question about the hotel facilities, or you want to book tours during your stay, the multilingual staff at the concierge desk can help. For just a daily facilities charge, you'll receive access to a 24/7 gym, luggage storage, unlimited phone calls, Wi-Fi for up to five devices and a free drink with a Park Kitchen entree.

Try Sara Beth's Central Park South, an eatery just next door, if you're looking for tasty but simple fare.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Park Central New York Rooms

Premiere Two Queen
Our newly renovated Premier Two Queen rooms are located on higher floors and have exterior facing windows with an average of 300 square feet, 46" Samsung LED Full HD television, Simmons Beautyrest mattresses, iDoc mp3 docking stations, streamlined dark mahogany desk and dresser with integrated velvet cushioned bench and white marble tops. Complimentary ESPN, CNN, Disney Channel, as well as access to all major networks, and pay per view movies on demand offer you all the comforts of home. These rooms are ideal for two people traveling for work or leisure and requiring separate beds, and can comfortably accommodate a maximum of 4 guests. Extra person charges apply.
Superior Double Double
Designed to accommodate up to four guests, each room has Hi Speed internet access and flat screen television with movies on demand and choice of more than 50 channels to unwind with at the end of your day in the big apple. Extra person charges apply for more than 2 persons.
Superior Room
This guest room offers one king bed. Includes dual line telephones, data ports and voicemail, in room fax machine, in room safe, hairdryer, iron/ironing board, pay per view movies and Nintendo. Requests for rooms with 2 beds must be made with the hotel directly.
Classic Double Double
Our newly renovated Classic Two Double rooms are an average of 285 square feet and have 46" Samsung LED Full HD television, Simmons Beautyrest mattresses, iDoc mp3 docking stations, streamlined dark mahogany desk and dresser with integrated velvet cushioned bench and white marble tops. Complimentary ESPN, CNN, Disney Channel, as well as access to all major networks, and pay per view movies on demand offer you all the comforts of home. These rooms are ideal for two people traveling for work or leisure and requiring separate beds, and can accommodate a maximum of 4 guests. Extra person charges apply.
Concierge King
Each room, located on floors 18 to 25, includes wireless internet access, along with a full bath and 32" flat screen television, with movies on demand and choice of more than 50 channels, for your convenience.
Classic King
Our newly renovated Classic King rooms are an average of 270 square feet and have 46" Samsung LED Full HD televisions, Simmons Beautyrest mattresses, iDoc mp3 docking stations, streamlined dark mahogany desk and dresser with integrated velvet cushioned bench and white marble tops. Complimentary ESPN, CNN, Disney Channel, as well as access to all major networks, and pay per view movies on demand offer you all the comforts of home. These rooms are ideal for one or two people visiting for work or leisure.
Premiere King
Our newly renovated Premier King rooms are located on higher floors and have exterior facing windows with an average of 270 square feet, 46" Samsung LED Full HD televisions, Simmons Beautyrest mattresses, iDoc mp3 docking stations, streamlined dark mahogany desk and dresser with integrated velvet cushioned bench and white marble tops. Complimentary ESPN, CNN, Disney Channel, as well as access to all major networks, and pay per view movies on demand offer you all the comforts of home. These rooms are ideal for one or two people visiting for work or leisure.
Deluxe Two Queen
Our newly renovated Deluxe Two Queen rooms are an average of 300 square feet and have 46" Samsung LED Full HD television, Simmons Beautyrest mattresses, iDoc mp3 docking stations, streamlined dark mahogany desk and dresser with integrated velvet cushioned bench and white marble tops. Complimentary ESPN, CNN, Disney Channel, as well as access to all major networks, and pay per view movies on demand offer you all the comforts of home. These rooms are ideal for two people traveling for work or leisure and requiring separate beds, and can comfortably accommodate a maximum of 4 guests. Extra person charges apply.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Fitness Center
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Services
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Park Central New York also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5

Hotel Map

40.7648 -73.9814
Area served
New York, NY
Nearby airports
John F Kennedy Airport La Guardia International Airport
Area description
We're close to Central Park, Times Square and Broadway. You can walk to the shops on 57th Street and Fifth Avenue. The Javits Convention Center and other business destinations are close by.

Nearby points of interest

  • Rose Museum: 0.1 mi
  • Carnegie Hall: 0.1 mi
  • CitySpire Center: 0.1 mi
  • Tuscan Square: 0.1 mi
  • 57th Street: 0.1 mi
  • Municipal Art Society: 0.2 mi
  • Roseland: 0.2 mi
  • August Wilson Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Museum of Arts and Design: 0.2 mi
  • Equitable Center: 0.2 mi
  • New Amsterdam Theater: 0.2 mi
  • Columbus Circle mall: 0.2 mi
  • Winter Garden Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Gershwin Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Circle in the Square Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Rose Museum: 0.1 mi
  • Carnegie Hall: 0.1 mi
  • CitySpire Center: 0.1 mi
  • Tuscan Square: 0.1 mi
  • 57th Street: 0.1 mi
  • Municipal Art Society: 0.2 mi
  • Roseland: 0.2 mi
  • August Wilson Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Museum of Arts and Design: 0.2 mi
  • Equitable Center: 0.2 mi
  • New Amsterdam Theater: 0.2 mi
  • Columbus Circle mall: 0.2 mi
  • Winter Garden Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Gershwin Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Circle in the Square Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • American Craft Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Paine Webber Art Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • Museum of American Folk Art: 0.3 mi
  • CBS Building: 0.3 mi
  • Time Warner Center: 0.3 mi
  • Ambassador Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Lincoln Center: 0.3 mi
  • Broadway: 0.3 mi
  • Museum of Television and Radio: 0.3 mi
  • Victorian Gardens, Central Park: 0.3 mi
  • Taipei Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • Studio 54: 0.3 mi
  • New York Institute of Technology: 0.3 mi
  • Eugene O'Neill Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Walter Kerr Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Worldwide Plaza: 0.4 mi
  • Radio City Music Hall: 0.4 mi
  • Henri Bendel: 0.4 mi
  • Marquis Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Longacre Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • University Club: 0.4 mi
  • Museum of Modern Art (MOMA): 0.4 mi
  • Bergdorf Goodman: 0.4 mi
  • Cort Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Samuel J. Friedman Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Trump Tower: 0.4 mi
  • Ethel Barrymore Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • GE Building: 0.4 mi
  • Duffy Square: 0.4 mi
  • Brooks Atkinson Theatre: 0.4 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (90)

Ratings and reviews for Park Central New York

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
90 out of 90
Amenities:
3.6
Room cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.8

81% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Park Central New York

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
fernand
Marshall Virginia
Feb 13, 2012

Overated

Our main complaint with our room was the condition of the two upholstered arm chairs. They were worn and dirty, with tears in the fabric. My wife laid a towel on them before sitting down. I refused to sit in them. They should have been thrown out a long time ago. They had visible stains on the arms. The bathroom mirror and sink were dirty. There was a piece of pastry under a chair I moved. I left it in a visible location for the maid, and after she cleaned it was still there. Also, I would expect a four star hotel to have a coffee pot.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Park Central New York

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Bestest wife ever
Illinois
Sep 22, 2014

Surprise birthday getaway

It was good, clean, bed and pillows were very comfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Park Central New York

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Martial Artist
London
Sep 16, 2014

Our Engagement Trip to NYC

My financee and I arrived on the 11th Sept and stayed until the 16th Sept. We could not fault this hotel, the staff or the facilities they were outstanding. The hotel is located close to all the sites we wanted to visit, Central Park, 5th & 6th Avenue, and all the must see tourist spots. Do watch out for the street hustles when you get to 42nd street the monks and the guys selling rap CDs are not to be trusted. Other than that the hotel location is perfect, we are returning to this hotel with 6 others

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Always walk in NYC you see and experience more

Review of Park Central New York

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Rajenyd
new delhi, india
Sep 15, 2014

Not the best stay

Not a very well kept room. lnconvenience of ltd lifts & not working. Restaurant had very few options

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Review of Park Central New York

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
MFiori
Chicago
Sep 7, 2014

Trying to be a 4 star hotel, but really only a 2

I have been to NYC so many times and have never had an issue with a hotel until this trip. Could not check into our room until 4pm. Had to call 4 times to see if anything was available early because no one wanted to deal with me so they kept putting me in vmail. When we finally got to the room there was no fridge or water of any sort. They had a small store in the hotel for water, etc. but closed early. So you'd have to go out to a store for anything you need. Only had 2 very small elevators so there was almost always a line to get up or down. Have never waited longer for elevators like at this place. Won't be going back to this one again. Bottom line... This hotel had almost no amenities that a 3-4 star has, except the price!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Review of Park Central New York

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
c fox
bolton
Sep 3, 2014

the holiday was great the hotel not so

I may has well have gone in to a premier inn are cheap motel I am sure it could have been better as the room was is small and not very clean and it was

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Review of Park Central New York

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Emi mom of 3
Ny
Sep 2, 2014

Family getaway

It was not what I expected, overpriced. Would not book again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
5
Location:
1
Value:
1
Review of Park Central New York

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
just fly
Saint Paul
Sep 2, 2014

Great place to stay!

Great hotel, perfect location in midtown. Close to the subway, central park, carnegie hall, theaters, oh my. The only issue was the length of time it took us to check our bags at the luggage desk, since we had a late night flight, and wanted to explore the city. A very small issue. It doesn't get any better than Park Central New York. This is our new, New York Hotel

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

In the heart of everything!

Review of Park Central New York

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
sactennisbum
Sacramento, Ca
Sep 1, 2014

Park Central New York Hotel

Our stay was great! All the staff was very helpful and knew there information. I would definitely stay here again because it is close to everything...restaurants, Central Park and Times Square... and we got a great deal. The room was great, we were even allowed to check in early, well before the 4:00 check in time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Angelo's...try the Ravioli with the Creamy Pistachio sauce...to die for!!! So good :)

Review of Park Central New York

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
GerryG
Chicagi,Il
Sep 1, 2014

Great hotel, great staff

We stayed at Park Central for two nights. We loved everything. The staff is really nice and helpful. We will be back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Park Central New York

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Uzi does It
Chicago , Illinois
Aug 13, 2014

Great hotel close to Times Square

This was my second time staying there and it was great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Short walk to Times Square

Back to menu Return to top