Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 9, 2015 Check-out: May 11, 2015

Park Central New York

4 stars
View map of 870 Seventh Avenue, New York, NY 10019

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
175 reviews
Great staff

The staff was very helpful and very welcoming. We were upgraded to a different room which was very... See full review

  • Ronald A.
  • Apr 22, 2015
Fantastic trip to see my granddaughter perform at Carnegie Hall.

The hotel was great , everyone friendly and helpful. The only down side was having to pay a... See full review

  • Linda S.
  • Apr 17, 2015
Overview
Midtown Manhattan's Park Central Hotel is famous for its illustrious past and current design. Built in 1927, the hotel combines the glamor of 'The Roaring Twenties' with a contemporary feel that was enhanced through a massive renovation in 2013, headed by award-winning firm Jeffrey Beers International.  From the dark-stained milkwork detailing to the geometrically-patterned carpets and tufted fabric headboards, the hotel has quirky attitude and the bathrooms' porcelain tiles arranged in a piano-like pattern give a nod to neighbor Carnegie Hall.  

Ever since it was constructed, the Park Central Hotel in New York has seen many acclaimed guests walk its halls, including First Lady Eleanor Roosevelt, and legendary comic Jackie Gleason. Today, the hotel's 761 rooms and over 15,000 square feet of meeting space accommodate both leisure guests and business people. 
Key Facts
  • 761 guestrooms
  • Ballroom
  • Banquet facilities
  • 15,000 sq. ft meeting space - 15 conference rooms
  • Several small meeting rooms
  • Restaurant
  • Multilingual staff
Neighborhood
Set on 7th Avenue in historic Midtown Manhattan, The Park Central Hotel is surrounded by New York City's theater district; world-famous performance center Carnegie Hall is right across the street and Central Park's tree-lined pathways wind around several landmarks nearby.

Think shopping and look no further than Macy's or Midtown Manhattan's famed 57th Street and 5th Avenue, or take a stroll to stumble across The Museum of Modern Art, Columbus Circle and the Rockefeller and Lincoln Centers.
Park Central New York Rooms

All 761 newly-renovated and plush guest rooms are equipped with 46-inch flat-screen televisions, and the option of internet access (fees apply). Guests will enjoy bath products from C.O. Bigelow, a writing desk, iron and ironing board, safe deposit box and hairdryer supplied in every room.

Hints and tips
If you have a question about the hotel facilities, or you want to book tours during your stay, the multilingual staff at the concierge desk can help. For just a daily facilities charge, you'll receive access to a 24/7 gym, luggage storage, unlimited phone calls, Wi-Fi for up to five devices and a free drink with a Park Kitchen entree.

Try Sara Beth's Central Park South, an eatery just next door, if you're looking for tasty but simple fare.
Policies and Fees
  • The hotel charges an increased mandatory resort fee of $25 plus tax per room and per night.  Amenities included in this fee are: high-speed Wi-Fi access in rooms and public areas, unlimited local, domestic long distance and international calls, luggage storage on arrival and/or departure up until 9 PM, and unlimited use of the 24-hour state-of-the-art fitness centre.
  • Guests must be at least 21 years old to check in.
  • Rollaway bed fee is $75 per day.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Park Central New York Rooms

Premiere Two Queen
Our newly renovated Premier Two Queen rooms are located on higher floors and have exterior facing windows with an average of 300 square feet, 46" Samsung LED Full HD television, Simmons Beautyrest mattresses, iDoc mp3 docking stations, streamlined dark mahogany desk and dresser with integrated velvet cushioned bench and white marble tops. Complimentary ESPN, CNN, Disney Channel, as well as access to all major networks, and pay per view movies on demand offer you all the comforts of home. These rooms are ideal for two people traveling for work or leisure and requiring separate beds, and can comfortably accommodate a maximum of 4 guests. Extra person charges apply.
Superior Double Double
Designed to accommodate up to four guests, each room has Hi Speed internet access and flat screen television with movies on demand and choice of more than 50 channels to unwind with at the end of your day in the big apple. Extra person charges apply for more than 2 persons.
Superior Room
This guest room offers one king bed. Includes dual line telephones, data ports and voicemail, in room fax machine, in room safe, hairdryer, iron/ironing board, pay per view movies and Nintendo. Requests for rooms with 2 beds must be made with the hotel directly.
Concierge King
Each room, located on floors 18 to 25, includes wireless internet access, along with a full bath and 32" flat screen television, with movies on demand and choice of more than 50 channels, for your convenience.
Classic King
Our newly renovated Classic King rooms are an average of 270 square feet and have 46" Samsung LED Full HD televisions, Simmons Beautyrest mattresses, iDoc mp3 docking stations, streamlined dark mahogany desk and dresser with integrated velvet cushioned bench and white marble tops. Complimentary ESPN, CNN, Disney Channel, as well as access to all major networks, and pay per view movies on demand offer you all the comforts of home. These rooms are ideal for one or two people visiting for work or leisure.
Classic Double Double
Our newly renovated Classic Two Double rooms are an average of 285 square feet and have 46" Samsung LED Full HD television, Simmons Beautyrest mattresses, iDoc mp3 docking stations, streamlined dark mahogany desk and dresser with integrated velvet cushioned bench and white marble tops. Complimentary ESPN, CNN, Disney Channel, as well as access to all major networks, and pay per view movies on demand offer you all the comforts of home. These rooms are ideal for two people traveling for work or leisure and requiring separate beds, and can accommodate a maximum of 4 guests. Extra person charges apply.
Premiere King
Our newly renovated Premier King rooms are located on higher floors and have exterior facing windows with an average of 270 square feet, 46" Samsung LED Full HD televisions, Simmons Beautyrest mattresses, iDoc mp3 docking stations, streamlined dark mahogany desk and dresser with integrated velvet cushioned bench and white marble tops. Complimentary ESPN, CNN, Disney Channel, as well as access to all major networks, and pay per view movies on demand offer you all the comforts of home. These rooms are ideal for one or two people visiting for work or leisure.
Deluxe Two Queen
Our newly renovated Deluxe Two Queen rooms are an average of 300 square feet and have 46" Samsung LED Full HD television, Simmons Beautyrest mattresses, iDoc mp3 docking stations, streamlined dark mahogany desk and dresser with integrated velvet cushioned bench and white marble tops. Complimentary ESPN, CNN, Disney Channel, as well as access to all major networks, and pay per view movies on demand offer you all the comforts of home. These rooms are ideal for two people traveling for work or leisure and requiring separate beds, and can comfortably accommodate a maximum of 4 guests. Extra person charges apply.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Fitness Center
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Services
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Hotel Map

40.7648 -73.9814
Area served
New York, NY
Nearby airports
John F Kennedy Airport La Guardia International Airport
Area description
We're close to Central Park, Times Square and Broadway. You can walk to the shops on 57th Street and Fifth Avenue. The Javits Convention Center and other business destinations are close by.

Nearby points of interest

  • Rose Museum: 0.1 mi
  • Carnegie Hall: 0.1 mi
  • CitySpire Center: 0.1 mi
  • Tuscan Square: 0.1 mi
  • 57th Street: 0.1 mi
  • Municipal Art Society: 0.2 mi
  • Roseland: 0.2 mi
  • August Wilson Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Museum of Arts and Design: 0.2 mi
  • Neil Simon Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Equitable Center: 0.2 mi
  • New Amsterdam Theater: 0.2 mi
  • Columbus Circle mall: 0.2 mi
  • Winter Garden Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Gershwin Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Rose Museum: 0.1 mi
  • Carnegie Hall: 0.1 mi
  • CitySpire Center: 0.1 mi
  • Tuscan Square: 0.1 mi
  • 57th Street: 0.1 mi
  • Municipal Art Society: 0.2 mi
  • Roseland: 0.2 mi
  • August Wilson Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Museum of Arts and Design: 0.2 mi
  • Neil Simon Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Equitable Center: 0.2 mi
  • New Amsterdam Theater: 0.2 mi
  • Columbus Circle mall: 0.2 mi
  • Winter Garden Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Gershwin Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Circle in the Square Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • American Craft Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Paine Webber Art Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • Museum of American Folk Art: 0.3 mi
  • CBS Building: 0.3 mi
  • Time Warner Center: 0.3 mi
  • Ambassador Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Lincoln Center: 0.3 mi
  • Broadway: 0.3 mi
  • Museum of Television and Radio: 0.3 mi
  • Victorian Gardens, Central Park: 0.3 mi
  • Taipei Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • Studio 54: 0.3 mi
  • New York Institute of Technology: 0.3 mi
  • Eugene O'Neill Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Walter Kerr Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Worldwide Plaza: 0.4 mi
  • Radio City Music Hall: 0.4 mi
  • Henri Bendel: 0.4 mi
  • Marquis Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Longacre Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • University Club: 0.4 mi
  • Museum of Modern Art (MOMA): 0.4 mi
  • Bergdorf Goodman: 0.4 mi
  • Cort Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Samuel J. Friedman Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Trump Tower: 0.4 mi
  • Ethel Barrymore Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • GE Building: 0.4 mi
  • Duffy Square: 0.4 mi

Dining

Central Market
Central Market, a fine foods grab-and-go, offers guests fresh and flavorful bites from artisanal New York vendors such as North Fork Chips, juices by Red Jacket Orchard, and chocolates by Jacques Torres, New Yorks Mr. Chocolate. In addition, Central Market also serves the best in delicious breakfast pastries, sandwiches, salads, coffee, Nespresso, and other enjoyable treats such as wine and beer to guests at our New York City hotel.
Park Lounge
Park Kitchen features an inviting lounge with two large communal tables, as well as an elegant dining area. Designed by Jeffrey Beers International, this beautifully designed space in the Park Central hotel presents a distillation of both new and traditional cocktail lounge.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
4:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for Park Central New York

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
175 out of 175
Amenities:
3.7
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.9

86% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Park Central New York

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
fernand
Marshall Virginia
Feb 13, 2012

Overated

Our main complaint with our room was the condition of the two upholstered arm chairs. They were worn and dirty, with tears in the fabric. My wife laid a towel on them before sitting down. I refused to sit in them. They should have been thrown out a long time ago. They had visible stains on the arms. The bathroom mirror and sink were dirty. There was a piece of pastry under a chair I moved. I left it in a visible location for the maid, and after she cleaned it was still there. Also, I would expect a four star hotel to have a coffee pot.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Park Central New York

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Claire O.
Business
North Andover
Apr 23, 2015

It was so close to Carnegie Hall, which was the reason why we went to NYC.

The hotel was nice and I would recommend it to my friends. The gentleman who got us a cab was excellent. It was raining and he entertained us while we waited our turn.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Park Central New York

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Ronald A.
Business
N/A
Apr 22, 2015

Great staff

The staff was very helpful and very welcoming. We were upgraded to a different room which was very nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Park Central New York

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Linda S.
Business
N/A
Apr 17, 2015

Fantastic trip to see my granddaughter perform at Carnegie Hall.

The hotel was great , everyone friendly and helpful. The only down side was having to pay a Facilities Fee to cover WiFi, Fitness Center, luggage storage, and phone calls (who uses landlines anymore )

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Park Central New York

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Sherrita M.
Business
Lancaster
Apr 17, 2015

Beautiful weekend getaway!!

This hotel is worth the price!! Location is perfect!! Staff was great. My room was the perfect size just for me. The hotel itself was so beautiful! I'm definitely going to make this my go to hotel on my next trip back to NYC!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Park Central New York

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Margaret S.
Business
N/A
Apr 15, 2015

Glasgow girls loving nyc

Great location for everything, hotel well kept and luxurious. Local fees for staying there not included charged this separately from booking $25 per day. Overall great hotel couldn't get a better one

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Park Central New York

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Amanda S.
Business
N/A
Apr 12, 2015

No wifi

Wifi was not working in the hotel room. I put in a complaint but heard nothing back from management.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Park Central New York

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jacqueline F.
Business
Glasgow
Apr 11, 2015

Family Trip

hotel was good although there was no facilities for refreshments in room (tea coffee water), and pay for view tv expensive, was in city for family trip and enjoyed the time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Park Central New York

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
scott s.
Business
N/A
Apr 10, 2015

Family trip to New york

Perfect location, Starbucks joined to the hotel perfect for my teenage son. Lovely bar area with friendly bar staff. This is definitely a good choice of hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Park Central New York

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Nasri
Business
Austin
Apr 6, 2015

Great location & great facility

Staff was very friendly and responsive. I enjoyed the stay and the neighborhood.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Park Central New York

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Michael C.
Business
Syracuse
Mar 26, 2015

the pc

My wife and I just loved our stay. We'll be back every time we come to NYC

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top