Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 4, 2015 Check-out: Jan 5, 2015

NYLO New York City

4 stars
2178 Broadway Avenue, New York, NY 10024
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
215 reviews
Great hotel at a great price

This hotel always meets our expectations from their amenities and high end bathroom products to the... See full review

  • Jeff Blums
  • Dec 8, 2014
UWS Gem

I Travel to NYC every 2 weeks . And I will only stay at Nylo . This is an Upper West Side Gem ! See full review

  • Blonde Kitty
  • Dec 5, 2014
Upper West Side style on Broadway near Central Park, museum and subway

A sophisticated and classic New York City hideaway, NYLO New York City boasts a location on famed Broadway Avenue in the trendy Upper West Side of Manhattan. Guests experience authentic NYC life within walking distance of its best attractions, including the American Museum of Natural History and Central Park, both only a few blocks away. Distinctive guest rooms invite serenity, and some feature private balconies as well as dramatic views of the Hudson River or Central Park. 

Highlights

  • The 14th- and 16th-floor guest-access balconies provide views across the city
  • Serafina Bar and Restaurant

  • Walk to nearby Central Park to experience one of the greatest urban parklands in the world

Location

Experience Manhattan right on Broadway Avenue in the trendy Upper West Side neighborhood. The American Museum of Natural History and Central Park are both within a few blocks, as is the subway station.

Rooms

Serene and contemporary with a touch of trendy, NYLO New York City's atmospheric guest rooms and suites deliver comfort with style. Views might include the Hudson River or Central Park. Choose from standard to deluxe double, with a range of amenities from flat-screen TV and Egyptian cotton bed linens to Wi-Fi (fees apply).

Features

At Serafina Bar and Restaurant, indulge in a burst of Italian flavors in a vibrant setting. Work it off at the 24-hour fitness center, with state-of-the-art cardiovascular and weight equipment. Or retreat to the lofty guest-access balcony zone to relax and take in the city skyline.

Transportation

  • Grand Central Terminal (2.8 mi/4.5 km)
  • Penn Station (2.9 mi/4.7 km)
  • Statue Cruises, Battery Park (Statue of Liberty/Ellis Island ferry) (6.7 mi/7.8 km)
  • LaGuardia Airport (10.5 mi/16.9 km)
  • Newark Liberty International Airport (17.5 mi/28.2 km)
  • John F. Kennedy International Airport (19.5 mi/31.5 km)

Attractions

  • American Museum of Natural History (0.6 mi/1 km)
  • Central Park (0.7 mi/1.1 km)
  • Lincoln Center for the Performing Arts (0.9 mi/1.5 km)
  • Metropolitan Museum of Art (1.6 mi/2.5 km)
  • Times Square (2.1 mi/3.3 km)
  • Museum of Modern Art (2.2 mi/3.6 km)
  • Rockefeller Center (2.4 mi/3.9 km)
  • Madison Square Garden (2.8 mi/4.5 km)
  • Empire State Building (3.1 mi/5 km)

Business

  • A 24-hour business center with Internet access (fees apply)
  • Hotel-wide Wi-Fi (fees apply)

Policies and fees

Please note we accept pets at an additional charge of $40 USD.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

NYLO New York City Rooms

NYLO Deluxe King
Offering 340 square feet of oversized and contemporary elegance. Amenities include; Pure bathroom amenities, in-room safes large enough for a laptop, a NYLO NYTE mattress with Luxury 100% combed cotton triple sheeting, wood flooring and feather free. Complimentary water on arrival. In-room Wolfgang Puck coffee.
NYLO Panoramic Deluxe
Showcasing 300 square feet of space, with private outdoor balcony and sit-out. Located on floors 14 and 15, offering amazing Central Park, Hudson River, or Upper West Side views. Upgrade yourself to something special! Amenities include; Pure bathroom amenities, in-room safes large enough for a laptop, a NYLO NYTE mattress with Luxury 100% combed cotton triple sheeting, wood flooring and feather free. Complimentary water on arrival. In-room Wolfgang Puck coffee. Daily Newspaper delivered to your door.
NYLO Deluxe Queen Queen Suite
With 450 square feet of space. An amazing option for family or friends traveling together. Your home away from home! Suite amenities include; Pure bathroom amenities, in-room safes large enough for a laptop, two queen beds with Luxury 100% combed cotton triple sheeting, wood flooring and feather free. Complimentary water on arrival. In-room Wolfgang Puck coffee. Daily Newspaper delivered to your door
Lifestyle Loft
450 square feet with private outdoor balcony and a sitout - located on floors 14 through 16, offering breathtaking Central Park, Hudson River or Upper West Side views. Amenities include; Signature turn down service, Pure bathroom amenities, in-room safes large enough for a laptop, a NYLO NYTE mattress with Luxury 100% combed cotton triple sheeting, wood flooring and feather free. Complimentary water on arrival. In-room Wolfgang Puck coffee, Daily Newspaper delivered to your door. Ideal for a romantic weekend escapade or weekday getaways far from the maddening midtown crowd. The ideal location for a proposal or celebrate a special occasion - the rest will be history!
NYLO New York
Boasting 240 square-feet of contemporary elegance, combined with Upper West Side charm and tranquility - there's nothing "Standard" about these rooms. Perfect for NYC getaways or getting work done, you'll find all the comforts of home and more at NYLO New York City. 1 Queen Bed or 1 King Bed. Includes: Original Artwork from Local Emerging Artists, Flat-Screen TVs with HD Programming, NYLO NYTE Mattresses on Platform Beds, 100% Combed Cotton Triple Sheeting, High-Speed Wireless Internet ($14.10, inclusive of tax), In-Room Safe, Pure Bathroom Amenities, Complimentary Water on Arrival, Wolfgang Puck Coffee, Coffee Brewer / Tea Maker, Wood Flooring, Feather-Free Furnishings, Suede Drapery, Italian Bathrooms, Cambridge Towels, Terrycloth Bathrobes (by request), Daily Newspaper Delivery.
NYLO Superior
With 260 square-feet of comfortable modern design, our Superior Rooms offer a choice of King or Queen-size beds. Step off our cheery, sunlit hallways into these spacious rooms for an Upper West Side retreat like no other. Includes: Original Artwork from Local Emerging Artists, Flat-Screen TVs with HD Programming, NYLO NYTE Mattresses on Platform Beds, 100% Combed Cotton Triple Sheeting, High-Speed Wireless Internet ($14.10, inclusive of tax), In-Room Safe, Pure Bathroom Amenities, Complimentary Water on Arrival, Wolfgang Puck Coffee, Coffee Brewer / Tea Maker, Wood Flooring, Feather-Free Furnishings, Suede Drapery, Italian Bathrooms, Cambridge Towels, Terrycloth Bathrobes (by request), Daily Newspaper Delivery.
Deluxe Double Double
280 square-feet of space make our Deluxe Double Double Rooms ideal for family and friends traveling together. Each room accommodates up to 4 people, with 2 Double Beds. Includes: Original Artwork from Local Emerging Artists, Flat-Screen TVs with HD Programming, NYLO NYTE Mattresses on Platform Beds, 100% Combed Cotton Triple Sheeting, High-Speed Wireless Internet ($14.10, inclusive of tax), In-Room Safe, Pure Bathroom Amenities, Complimentary Water on Arrival, Wolfgang Puck Coffee, Coffee Brewer / Tea Maker, Wood Flooring, Feather-Free Furnishings, Suede Drapery, Italian Bathrooms, Cambridge Towels, Terrycloth Bathrobes (by request), Daily Newspaper Delivery.

Amenities

  • WiFi
General
Concierge
Pet friendly
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Dining
Restaurant
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Hotel Map

40.7825 -73.9807
Area served
New York.
Nearby airports
La Guardia Airport Newark Airport JFK Airport
Area description
The NYLO New York City offers a location in Manhattan's prestigious Upper West Side. At the corner of Broadway and West 77th Street, the hotel is just two blocks from Central Park and the Museum of Natural History. La Guardia Airport is nine miles from this hotel.

Dining

Serafina
Vibrant frescos grace the walls while the pizza oven and its aroma is the center of attraction. Offering delicious Northern Italian cuisine, Serafina Upper West prepares fresh pastas, pizzas, seafood and meats. Choose from lunch or dinner ad dine in or take-out. Friendly destination for everyone craving a fabulous Italian meal.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (215)

Ratings and reviews for NYLO New York City

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
215 out of 215
Amenities:
3.7
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.4
Value:
4

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of NYLO New York City

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
FuTravel
Business
SF, CA
Nov 25, 2012

Thanksgiving in NY

Tiny room, very clean but older (spider web in window). great location, perfect as a place to sleep.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of NYLO New York City

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Hellin
Business
Maui Hawaii
Oct 31, 2012

Sandy came along too

I had the experience to stay during SANDY able to extend without problems..Of course the rate changed however they were beyond helpful with finding my way through it all.. Kept me informed throughout the whole storm and felt very safe

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of NYLO New York City

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Nesha
Business
boston
Oct 3, 2012

WOW GOT A REALLY GOOD BANG FOR MY BUCK. MY BIRTHDAY WEEKEND.

I am one of those people who are big on reading reviews to kinda get an idea on a place. So my birthday weeknd, 9/21, my boyfriend and I stayed at this hotel. I stumble upon this as we were heading to New York from Boston from this site. I must say the price I paid, 331$ for 2 nights, was something serious... I thought it was a joke but the stay was way beyond worth it. First the bellmen were super friendly and reccommended places to go out. The rooms are small but the setup takes away from that. I loved the bathroom because it was very modern looking and the shower has glass doors instead of a shower curtain. I just hate for any shower cutain to touch me. Also, i felt the rug was just a little dirty. i JUST SAY GO STAY THERE AND EXPERIENCE IT FOR YOURSELF YOU WILL NOT BE MAD AT ALL.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

We did not eat at the hotel but found a chinese spot if i can remember the name is Chin Lee and its on 66th, but the food was AMAZING!

Review of NYLO New York City

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
HankW
Business
Atlanta
Sep 28, 2012

Good spot.

Great location for good restaurants and a great jazz club (78 Below). Room was ok, even though our windows overlooked the air shaft. If you want a view, ask early. Slow elevators. One helpful concierge and one who didn't seem to care and misdirected us to the Lower East Side instead of Williamsburg.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of NYLO New York City

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Matt WA
Business
Seattle
Sep 20, 2012

Good location but tech challenged

On the Ave Hotel bills itself as a "tech-savvy" luxury hotel, but there were several issues that force me to disagree. First, wireless internet is available, but it's an extra $14 a day. For the rates this place asks, it ought to be included. Second, while the room had a flat panel TV, it was connected to a shaky, analog signal. The audio would pop or drop out occasionally, and there was visual interference on several channels. Also, standard cable channels such as ESPN, ESPN2, and Discovery were missing. In their place, there were a Dish Network welcome screen and two extra instances of FoxNews. The one positive nod to technology in the room was a clock radio with an iPod dock, which I appreciated. Technology issues aside, the room was comfortable, but very small. Realistically, it's only enough space to lie in the bed. There was a desk, but there was barely room for a chair between it and the foot of the bed. If you actually needed to do any kind of work, this would be unacceptable. The lack of space extended to the closet/wardrobe. The space meant to hang a suit or jacket was taken up by the ironing board, and it wasn't big enough for both. Basically, you had to balance the ironing board behind the door and hope it wouldn't fall out when you opened it. Otherwise, the room was nice. The bed was comfortable, and the interior design was modern and attractive. I suspect the experience with a "Deluxe" room would be even better. If I needed to stay in the Upper West Side again, I would not rule out this hotel. It has a great location in easy walking distance of plenty of shops and restaurants. Plus the nearby subway stations provides easy access to other parts of the city. That said, the full rate for a standard room wasn't a good deal. I would look for an upgraded room at a discount if staying again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of NYLO New York City

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
travelin fan
Business
nj
Sep 2, 2012

Disappointed

Great location, friendly staff, kid friendly, nice lobby. Quiet location for NY room. Rooms showing age and not what we would have expected based on star rating and reviews. Carpet dirty, cheap furniture that was worn / chipped, mildew on ceiling & walls, curtain track was black with either mildew or dirt. Bathroom had holes in areas of walls, needed grout, cheapest shower head I've seen in long time. Definitely NOT up to par for rating it was given on website. Would not stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Shake Shack -- kids loved it and easy walk to central park / Museum of Natural History

Review of NYLO New York City

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Karla with a K
Business
Houston, Tx
Aug 13, 2012

Family friendly

Awsome hotel. Staff was very nice. Very clean rooms. Would defenitely go back with the kids. Loved it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of NYLO New York City

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
SparkleDc
Business
Washington dc
Jul 16, 2012

It was a nice place for the weekend

Everything was really nice. The room was a little small but everything else was perfect. When you visit NYC you shouldn't be in the room a lot anyway so it was cool. Overall great

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of NYLO New York City

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Wish I Could Travel Daily
Business
Cleveland, Ohio
Jul 13, 2012

I Really Liked This Place

The hotel was very nice. The room was small but not for Manhattan. The neighborhood was great, not too crowded like Times Square. I booked last minute and got great rates. I will definitely look to stay here again when in NYC.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Book Last Minute

Review of NYLO New York City

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
NYC Gr8t White
Business
Soho NYC
Jun 19, 2012

On The Avenue Experience

Location was perfect. Close proximity to Central Park. Near Mass transit & shopping. Great Lobby space friendly & helpful staff. Priced decently. Clean Rooms. No views but over all a great solid bang for your buck !

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Sera Fina Upper Westside is a great Dining Experience. Excellent Ambiance & Superp food and service.

Back to menu Return to top