Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Nov 23, 2014 Check-out: Nov 24, 2014

New York Marriott Marquis

5 stars
1535, Broadway, New York, NY 10036
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.3
out of 5
427 reviews
Access

The location of the hotel made it perfect for us to walk to almost anything we wanted to see or do. See full review

  • grandpa6
  • Aug 19, 2014
Stiil a Great Weekend

Hotel is located in the heart of the theatre district. Easy walk to all theatres. Pedestrian... See full review

  • Theatre snob
  • Aug 8, 2014
The New York Marriott Marquis was founded in 1980, and is run as part of the Marriott International Hotel chain. Designed by architect John Portman, the New York hotel boasts the city's only revolving rooftop lounge and restaurant. Every hour, guests can gaze out on a new district of the Big Apple as The View rotates while they dine, taking in sights like the Empire State Building; the Chrysler; the City Spire; and the Intrepid Sea, Air and Space Museum. Spend early mornings with your favorite coffee fix inside the hotel's Starbucks, or pick up casual pre-theater snacks and drinks at the Broadway Lounge before watching a major New York City performance. An on-site beauty shop caters to pampering needs, while the fitness center allows health-focused guests to maintain regiments while on vacation.
Key facts
  • 1,957 guestrooms
  • Rooftop terrace
  • Business center
  • 10,000-square-foot meeting facilities, with 55 conference rooms
  • Fitness center
  • Ballroom
Neighborhood
Located in Times Square at 45th Street and Broadway, a stay at the Marquis sets its guests right inside the heart of the Broadway scene. This globally-recognized intersection in Midtown Manhattan offers some of the world's best gourmet dining, music, film and stage shows. Visit Ripley's Believe It Or Not! for oddities and interactive exhibits, see the celebrity waxworks inside Madame Tussauds, or enjoy evenings at either SWING 46 Jazz and Supper Club or the Victory Theater, all of which are close to the hotel.
Hints and tips
Take advantage of the concierge team -the best way to get the inside scoop regarding current shows, ticket discounts, dining recommendations and directions for getting around New York City.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Non Smoking
General
Air conditioned
Non Smoking
Elevators
Ice machine
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Exercise gym
Steam bath
Horseback riding
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Continental breakfast
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Coffee shop
Room service
Vending machines
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Laundry service
Express check in
Express checkout
Concierge desk
Laundry/Valet services
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Car rental desk
Barber shop
Barber/Beauty shop
FAX
Video checkout
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Drugstore
Florist
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Safe
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Cribs available
In room movies
Sofa bed
Temperature control
Iron
Ironing board

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed New York Marriott Marquis also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

Hotel Map

40.7586 -73.9854
Area served
Midtown Manhattan
Nearby airports
LaGuardia Airport, (LGA), 9.50, MI, W; John F Kennedy International Airport, (JFK), 18.50, MI, NW; Newark Liberty International Airport, (EWR), 16.50, MI, NE;
Area description
City Center, Location Type: City

Nearby points of interest

  • Palace Theatre: 0 mi
  • Lunt-Fontanne Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Duffy Square: 0.1 mi
  • Minskoff Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Lyceum Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Bernard B. Jacobs Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Booth Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Richard Rodgers Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Ethel Barrymore Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Music Box Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Brooks Atkinson Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Shubert Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Gerald Schoenfeld Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Majestic Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Broadhurst Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Palace Theatre: 0 mi
  • Lunt-Fontanne Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Duffy Square: 0.1 mi
  • Minskoff Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Lyceum Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Bernard B. Jacobs Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Booth Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Richard Rodgers Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Ethel Barrymore Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Music Box Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Brooks Atkinson Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Shubert Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Gerald Schoenfeld Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Majestic Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Broadhurst Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Helen Hayes Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • John Golden Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Marquis Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Imperial Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Longacre Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Cort Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Walter Kerr Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Lower Plaza: 0.1 mi
  • Theater District: 0.1 mi
  • Samuel J. Friedman Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • St. James Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Ambassador Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Eugene O'Neill Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Belasco Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Foxwoods Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Town Hall: 0.2 mi
  • American Airlines Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Stephen Sondheim Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Madame Tussauds: 0.2 mi
  • Condé Nast Building: 0.2 mi
  • New Victory Theater: 0.2 mi
  • Ford Center For The Performing Arts: 0.2 mi
  • Ripley’s Believe It or Not! Times Square: 0.2 mi
  • Taipei Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • Al Hirschfeld Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Winter Garden Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Nederlander Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Bank of America Tower: 0.2 mi
  • Circle in the Square Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Diamond District: 0.3 mi

Dining

The View Restaurant & Lounge
This restaurant's menu includes savory flavors and exquisite spices as guests enjoy The View from the heart of Times Square. All menus are prepared with the freshest of New York ingredients for an exceptional dining experience.
Broadway Lounge
Overlooking Times Square, the Broadway Lounge offers exciting dinner menus, snacks, appetizers and drinks to fit the schedule of those looking for pre- or post-theatre fare, or a vibrant atmosphere for watching the game or relaxing with friends.
Crossroads American Kitchen & Bar
Starting with a breakfast buffet and a la carte favorites and moving into fresh ground Angus beef burgers, soups, salads and more for lunch and New York modern classics served for dinner, the Crossroads serves tantalizing favorites for every appetite.
Starbucks®
Newly renovated Starbucks. Quick and easy, the tasty favorites of Starbucks® are served all day long featuring everything from gourmet coffee and tea to pastries and quick snacks.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
04:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (427)

Ratings and reviews for New York Marriott Marquis

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
220 out of 427
Amenities:
4.2
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
4.5
Location:
4.9
Value:
3.9

97% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of New York Marriott Marquis

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
CentralParker
Business
Honolulu, Hawaii
Sep 2, 2014

Great Location, Times Square View

Great central location and views in Times Sq. Rm. Room was clean and well kept. Be aware this is a large hotel in busy Times Sq. As such, elevators will be packed and chaotic during peak times. Hotel has 14+ elevators, but expect some waits and busy cars. Otherwise very comfortable and unexpectedly quiet. Easy walking distance to 5th Ave., Rockefeller Ctr., subways, 42nd St. and Broadway. Sidewalks always busy, so be prepared to move.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: In Hotel

Be ready for busy elevators. Does not use traditional up/down buttons. Punch in your desired floor on keypads instead and a display will direct you to an elevator car (e.g. A, B, C, etc.). Busy at peak times. Allow extra time if you're in a rush.

Review of New York Marriott Marquis

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Swainer55
Business
Chippenham, UK
Sep 2, 2014

Perfect location

Good hotel, great service from reception staff, room had a good view and of a good size for my family of 4. Very clean standard in the room and throughout the hotel, didn't use the hotel restaurants as they were a bit pricey for me. Would recommend for exploring New York.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of New York Marriott Marquis

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
skyaroha
Business
michigan
Sep 1, 2014

mom and daughter shopping trip

Great location for Broadway shows. Hotel was clean and it was easy to get to our room. The shopping nearby was either for little kids or adults and I have a tween so I think the Soho area would of been better. When booking the hotel I also purchased the explorer cards and I would never recommend that. That part was terrible. What they do is give you a voucher and then give you a list of addresses to take that voucher in order to pick up the card that you then have to redeem for the actual tickets. The address they gave me on 46th and 7th didnt exist anymore. I was then sent all over the city by the people on the corners and when I called the number included in my voucher it just rang with no answering service or any further infornation. After two hours of going from one location to the next we gave up and I am out 180.00 and after reading the fine print i found these passes are non refundable so needless to say do not purchase the advance attraction bus tickets. This review won't let me list the names but the bus company has the blue buses and the initials are cs. The bus company is associated with the cards cityyssights and they were the ones that sent me all over the city because they didnt want to deal with me since they dont get commission off the city pass tickets.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Do not purchase cityyssights bus tours or the new york city pass card in advance.

Review of New York Marriott Marquis

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
javierca
Business
Hollywood, Florida
Jul 10, 2014

Family little vacation

It was a great experience right from our check in & check out. They accommodated our requests, friendly staff, clean room and the location was amazing, exactly what we were looking for, in the heart of Manhattan/Times Square! We are coming back for sure.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Excellent

Review of New York Marriott Marquis

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
H. Lynn
Business
Clarkston, MI
Jul 7, 2014

Fun family getaway

We had a fabulous time in NYC with our hotel right in the center of it all. The kids loved the glass elevators. It was clean and beautiful. Be careful though at the restaurant: NO free refills on pop. At $5 apiece it was expensive. Unfortunately we were not told this.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of New York Marriott Marquis

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Hunton Crew
Business
Birmingham, AL
Jul 7, 2014

Great location! Walking distance to everything including subways

Great views, location and experience. Staff was always helpful with directions and advice. Would definitely stay there again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of New York Marriott Marquis

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Calgarian in NYC
Business
Calgary , Canada
Jul 6, 2014

Family vacation in Times Square New York City

Stayed during the 4th of July week for 7 days in a room at the 36 floor with 2 doubles . Bed are big enough for 2 adults. This room also had a sofa bed in addition. Basic room amenities. No fridge. Had to ask for one. Promptly delivered . Room is spacious for 4 adults. On location restaurants are $$$. 5 minute walk to many restaurants . Location is perfect for and very central fit all the main sights in New York City. Very close to the Times Square Subway hub for easy access to where you are headed . You are paying for the location. The hotel amenities are between 3 and 4 star

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Juniors restaurant is just across the street and there is John's pizza within 3 minutes for some good food.

Review of New York Marriott Marquis

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
msvba864
Business
Greenville,sc
Jun 26, 2014

Broadway NYC

Great location to Broadway, clean rooms, cool elevators and great view at the top.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of New York Marriott Marquis

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
NANA1952
Business
Pittsburgh pa
Jun 16, 2014

grandaughters 13th birthday trip

The hotel is very convienent to Time Square. The room was comfortable, clean. The employees were friendly and helpful when asking questions. The only issue I had was with being charged for wifi. When I questioned the $16 charge they stated I would of had to enter my name & room number to be charged. Myself and grandaughter did not enter that data, when using our smart phone the Marriott site came up and we gained access that way. There was no offer to adjust the charge for 2 days.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of New York Marriott Marquis

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
caggleman
Business
Ireland
Apr 28, 2014

Great Hotel

This hotel has the perfect location, you walk out the front door onto Times Square - If you are looking to be right in the heart of the action & near all of the attractions this is the hotel for you, - Staff were very helpful, especially on the tour desk - room had a times square view which was great, the only fault was that the pull out sofa bed which very uncomfortable - food in the restaurants was very good but quite expensive - overall a great stay & I would highly recommend this hotel!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top