New York Marriott Marquis

5 stars
1535, Broadway, New York, NY 10036
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.3
out of 5
652 reviews
Great location

One of the best experiences ever. The location is great. Clean rooms and good service. Could not... See full review

  • Kaygeedee
  • Jul 8, 2014
50th Birthday Celebration

This hotel was just what we wanted to celebrate my friend's 50th birthday. Perfect location since... See full review

  • Jartsarahlynn
  • Jun 8, 2014
The New York Marriott Marquis was founded in 1980, and is run as part of the Marriott International Hotel chain. Designed by architect John Portman, the New York hotel boasts the city's only revolving rooftop lounge and restaurant. Every hour, guests can gaze out on a new district of the Big Apple as The View rotates while they dine, taking in sights like the Empire State Building; the Chrysler; the City Spire; and the Intrepid Sea, Air and Space Museum. Spend early mornings with your favorite coffee fix inside the hotel's Starbucks, or pick up casual pre-theater snacks and drinks at the Broadway Lounge before watching a major New York City performance. An on-site beauty shop caters to pampering needs, while the fitness center allows health-focused guests to maintain regiments while on vacation.
Key facts
  • 1,957 guestrooms
  • Rooftop terrace
  • Business center
  • 10,000-square-foot meeting facilities, with 55 conference rooms
  • Fitness center
  • Ballroom
Neighborhood
Located in Times Square at 45th Street and Broadway, a stay at the Marquis sets its guests right inside the heart of the Broadway scene. This globally-recognized intersection in Midtown Manhattan offers some of the world's best gourmet dining, music, film and stage shows. Visit Ripley's Believe It Or Not! for oddities and interactive exhibits, see the celebrity waxworks inside Madame Tussauds, or enjoy evenings at either SWING 46 Jazz and Supper Club or the Victory Theater, all of which are close to the hotel.
Hints and tips
Take advantage of the concierge team -the best way to get the inside scoop regarding current shows, ticket discounts, dining recommendations and directions for getting around New York City.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Non Smoking
General
Air conditioned
Non Smoking
Elevators
Ice machine
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Exercise gym
Steam bath
Horseback riding
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Continental breakfast
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Coffee shop
Room service
Vending machines
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Laundry service
Express check in
Express checkout
Concierge desk
Laundry/Valet services
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Car rental desk
Barber shop
Barber/Beauty shop
FAX
Video checkout
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Drugstore
Florist
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Safe
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Cribs available
In room movies
Sofa bed
Temperature control
Iron
Ironing board

Hotel Map

40.7586 -73.9854
Area served
Midtown Manhattan
Nearby airports
LaGuardia Airport, (LGA), 9.50, MI, W; John F Kennedy International Airport, (JFK), 18.50, MI, NW; Newark Liberty International Airport, (EWR), 16.50, MI, NE;
Area description
City Center, Location Type: City

Nearby points of interest

  • Palace Theatre: 0 mi
  • Lunt-Fontanne Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Duffy Square: 0.1 mi
  • Minskoff Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Lyceum Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Bernard B. Jacobs Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Booth Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Richard Rodgers Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Ethel Barrymore Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Music Box Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Brooks Atkinson Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Shubert Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Gerald Schoenfeld Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Majestic Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Broadhurst Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Palace Theatre: 0 mi
  • Lunt-Fontanne Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Duffy Square: 0.1 mi
  • Minskoff Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Lyceum Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Bernard B. Jacobs Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Booth Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Richard Rodgers Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Ethel Barrymore Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Music Box Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Brooks Atkinson Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Shubert Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Gerald Schoenfeld Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Majestic Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Broadhurst Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Helen Hayes Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • John Golden Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Marquis Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Imperial Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Longacre Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Cort Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Walter Kerr Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Lower Plaza: 0.1 mi
  • Theater District: 0.1 mi
  • Samuel J. Friedman Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • St. James Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Ambassador Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Eugene O'Neill Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Belasco Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Foxwoods Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Town Hall: 0.2 mi
  • American Airlines Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Stephen Sondheim Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Madame Tussauds: 0.2 mi
  • Condé Nast Building: 0.2 mi
  • New Victory Theater: 0.2 mi
  • Ford Center For The Performing Arts: 0.2 mi
  • Ripley’s Believe It or Not! Times Square: 0.2 mi
  • Taipei Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • Al Hirschfeld Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Winter Garden Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Nederlander Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Bank of America Tower: 0.2 mi
  • Circle in the Square Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Diamond District: 0.3 mi

Dining

The View Restaurant & Lounge
This restaurant's menu includes savory flavors and exquisite spices as guests enjoy The View from the heart of Times Square. All menus are prepared with the freshest of New York ingredients for an exceptional dining experience.
Broadway Lounge
Overlooking Times Square, the Broadway Lounge offers exciting dinner menus, snacks, appetizers and drinks to fit the schedule of those looking for pre- or post-theatre fare, or a vibrant atmosphere for watching the game or relaxing with friends.
Crossroads American Kitchen & Bar
Starting with a breakfast buffet and a la carte favorites and moving into fresh ground Angus beef burgers, soups, salads and more for lunch and New York modern classics served for dinner, the Crossroads serves tantalizing favorites for every appetite.
Starbucks®
Quick and easy, the tasty favorites of Starbucks® are served all day long featuring everything from gourmet coffee and tea to pastries and quick snacks.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
04:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (652)

Ratings and reviews for New York Marriott Marquis

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
652 out of 652
Amenities:
4.2
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
4.5
Location:
4.9
Value:
3.9

95% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of New York Marriott Marquis

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Native NYer
Amherst, New Hampshire
Aug 8, 2012

Wonderful stay!

Excellent! Great location, nice room with a view and delicious food. We arrived early and a room was available which was nice since we had a long trip and were tired.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Tickets, Tickets for cheap tickets

Review of New York Marriott Marquis

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
dave super eater
South Texas
Aug 8, 2012

I love ny vacation

Fantastic! In the heart of Time Square. Beautiful!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Broadway Shows are all around

Review of New York Marriott Marquis

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
grambear
chicago illinois
Aug 7, 2012

excellent for our trip

amenities,location,and comfort were perfect,the staff was outstanding,but our room needed cleaned better.it was a little expensive,but overall excellent pricing was a little steep.location was perfect for going to the plays and musicals overall we would defintly stay in the marriott again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Getting a markdown ticket is not always the best way to go. Usualy they only have the worst seats left. Staying close to the hotel cuts down on cab costs.

Review of New York Marriott Marquis

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Linn
Rochester, New York
Aug 6, 2012

Pedestrian Times Square Marriott

Checked in late (guaranteed) but did not have requested room available until the next day...which was a hassle. New room faced the river so the view was good. Concierge was helpful getting to/from JFK using E train and Airtrain--- very convenient. Hotel was very busy--lots and lots of people (as expected)---location was the key to staying here---so 2 older children could move around on their own. Will stay in a quieter, more private place, less pedestrian, next time we visit.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Use the E Train (at 8th Ave and 44th) and AirTrain to get to/from JFK---convenient, only $7.25 per person (one way).

Review of New York Marriott Marquis

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
dave super eater
South Texas
Aug 6, 2012

I Love NY Wonderful NYC Vacation

I have stayed at 4 other hotels near Time Square when I visit NYC the past couple of years. This is the best & prettiest hotel. It's in the heart of Time Square. All the Broadway Shows & lots of great eating nearby. It's safe & family friendly. Rooms are spacious and beautiful for NYC. Rooms were quiet.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

We would eat breakfast @ Fresh & Company on 6th Ave. every weekday morning. It was a great deli serving organic fresh food. Their service was fantastic & prices were very reasonable. It was a block away from The Marriott. Enjoyed Jrs.-best cheesecake in the world, which was right across the street from the Marriott. Also, there was a great bagel shop, Time Square Bagel, across the street where the locals go. For chinese food, Ruby Foo's Restaurant, clean & not salty, 1 block away. For a great shopping experience, Macy's Herald Square is close by.

Review of New York Marriott Marquis

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mike Texas
Texas
Aug 1, 2012

Family Vacation

Good overall NYC experience. I would use this hotel again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

John's Pizzeria on 44th St is great value for $$.

Review of New York Marriott Marquis

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
joealtus
Texas
Jul 27, 2012

Nice Hotel, nice location, terrible elevators

The hotel is in a great spot in Times Square and has great access to the Broadway shows. The concierge was very helpful, and our room had a great view of Times Square. The blackout curtains let us turn of the view completely when our day was over. The only downside to the hotel was the terrible elevators. They were slow, overly crowded, and just unpleasant to use. You type in your floor number at the elevator lobby and the keypad directs you to the elevator to use. That will be the only elevator car that goes to your floor. Unfortunately, when it's busy, it will assign 6-8 floors per elevator car. Well if each of those parties had 3-4 people, there's no way everyone will get to use that car. We often had 2 or 3 groups that couldn't make it on the elevator because it was too crowded. Of course, that also meant there was 2-3 floors we stopped at that were completely unnecessary since those persons never made it on. Just a terrible system.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of New York Marriott Marquis

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Whirlyblades
Raleigh, NC
Jul 22, 2012

Nothing Special...

For the price, I really expected more. While the hotel itself was very nice...the room was ordinary. I upgraded the room to an Executive King. The best part of this room was that it was located on the west side and we had a nice view looking out towards the Hudson River although we were only on the 16th floor. It has 48. The room itself was nothing better than a Hampton Inn...in any city. And considering we spent very little time in the room, because of so much to do in NY, should have stayed in a less expensive place. As far as the location, that was awesome. Smack dab in the middle of Time Square so you are centrally located and makes it easy to get to any part of the city. However, the best places were not in Time Square. So adventure outside of Time Square to eat. So with hindsight being 20/20, I would not stay here..but choose a place close to Time Square, but not in it and for less money.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Circle Line Tour was worth the money as you get to see Manhattan, Statue of Liberty, Brooklyn, Queens and Harlem from the water. Great trip...get there early and sit on the left (port) side of the boat. Plan your adventures...we have a friend from the city and they helped us set up our trips so we didn't back track and waste time. It is a huge city with a lot to see, but if you have a good plan, you can get a lot done.

Review of New York Marriott Marquis

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Mexican Pathologist
Mexico City
Jul 17, 2012

A week in NY

Excellent location, 2 blocks from subway station and all in-Broadway shows. We had a room with view over Times Square: unforgettable for kids (and me). We take breakfast in hotel (if you don't eat so much, menu is better over buffet -$31) or at Junior across the street in the south exit of the hotel. If I return to NYC, I'll chose again this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of New York Marriott Marquis

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Jl Baby Boomer
New York City
Jul 17, 2012

Fabulous trip

My daughter & I traveled to the NYC Marriott for a summer vacation. The check in was very speedy. There was an employee stationed right there at the line. The room was huge.Very clean. I've stayed in some very small places before. Bed was very comfortable. We asked for a small refrigerator, & it arrived quickly. Room service was speedy, & food was excellent. I wish internet had been included. We ate in the Crossroads restaurant on the 8th floor-very good. However, the buffet in the View was not what we thought. The food choices here were weird-chicken thighs in a sauce-very mediocre. Not worth the $37.00 a piece for the buffet. Stick with ordering from the menu at the View restaurant. Location is fabulous-near all the Broadway theaters. We saw Evita & loved it, went to Empire State Building, 911 memorial, bike riding in Central Park, took ferry to Liberty island, shopped in Soho. Stay at the Marriott Marquis-it was wonderful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Back to menu Return to top