Rate based on Check-in: Oct 5, 2014 Check-out: Oct 6, 2014

Murray Hill East Hotel

3 stars
149 E. 39th St., New York, NY 10016
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
304 reviews
A nice comfortable hotel

Murray Hill East Hotel is centrally located in mid- town Manhattan with easy access to most... See full review

  • Love the Big Apple
  • Aug 22, 2014
Excellent

.3 miles from grand central and the cheapest price around. We got upgraded to two king size suites.... See full review

  • Rquinn
  • Aug 18, 2014
All-suite hotel close to Grand Central and the Empire State Building
Space is the name of the game at this 14-story Murray Hill hotel. All rooms are suites with full kitchens, so guests have plenty of room to spread out. The hotel has a fitness center and offers free Wi-Fi in the lobby. The location is near the Empire State Building and Grand Central and convenient to Midtown businesses and tourist attractions.
Highlights
  • All-suite hotel with kitchens
  • Quiet Murray Hill location
  • Close to Grand Central and Bryant Park
Location

The hotel is a short walk from Grand Central Terminal, Bryant Park, the Empire State Building and the United Nations. Fifth Avenue is just four blocks away.

Rooms

The 118 rooms are all suites with full kitchens. Microwaves and toasters are available upon request. All suites have dining tables and desks. Junior and one-bedroom suites also have sofa beds. Expect patterned bedspreads and curtains, dark carpeting and upholstered furniture. Rooms have cable TV, and Wi-Fi (fees apply) is available.

Features

Guest can take advantage of free Wi-Fi in the lobby. The fitness center is open daily from 6 a.m. to 10 p.m. The hotel is affiliated with a self-park parking garage around the corner (fees apply).

Dining

Travelers have a wide variety of dining options close to the hotel. The lower level of Grand Central Terminal boasts a large food court with options ranging from Jamaican cuisine to barbecue to specialty cupcakes.

Transportation
  • MTA Subway 4, 5, 6 lines Grand Central - Lexington (0.2 mi/ 0.32 km)
  • Grand Central Terminal (0.3 mi/ 0.5 km)
  • Penn Station (0.9 mi/ 1.5 km)
  • La Guardia Airport
  • Newark Liberty International Airport
  • John F. Kennedy Airport
Attractions
  • Times Square (1.1 mi/ 1.77 km)
  • Rockefeller Center (0.9 mi/ 1.45 km)
  • United Nations (0.6 mi/ 0.97 km)
  • Central Park (1.5 mi/ 2.41 km)
  • Empire State Building (0.6 mi/ 0.97 km)
  • Javits Convention Center (1.6 mi/ 2.57 km)

Murray Hill East Hotel Rooms

One Bedroom Suite
Full One Bedroom Suite with either a king or two double beds, separate living room with a queen sofa bed, fully equipped kitchen, full bathroom, dining table, desk, dresser and cable television.
Studio Suite
Features one king, one queen or two double beds, a fully equipped kitchen, full bathroom, dining table, desk, dresser and cable television.
Junior Suite
Features and L-shaped room with a queen bed in the bedroom and a pull out queen sofa bed in the living room, a fully equipped kitchen, full bathroom, dining table, desk, dresser and cable television.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Dining
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Murray Hill East Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

Hotel Map

40.7493 -73.977
Area served
New York, NY, within walking distance of Grand Central Station
Nearby airports
La Guardia Airport - LGA and John F. Kennedy International Airport -JFK, Newark Liberty Airport EWR
Area description
Located near the Empire State Building, United Nations, Central Park, Theater District, Garment District, Grand Central Terminal and Rockefeller Center.

Nearby points of interest

  • Daily News Building: 0.2 mi
  • Murray Hill: 0.2 mi
  • Chrysler Building: 0.2 mi
  • Pierpont Morgan Library: 0.2 mi
  • Grand Central Station: 0.3 mi
  • MetLife Building: 0.3 mi
  • American Academy of Dramatic Arts: 0.3 mi
  • NY Public Library: 0.3 mi
  • Lord & Taylor: 0.4 mi
  • Ralph Bunche Park: 0.4 mi
  • Tudor City: 0.4 mi
  • Robert Moses Playground: 0.4 mi
  • Century Building: 0.5 mi
  • The King's College: 0.5 mi
  • Bryant Park: 0.5 mi
  • Daily News Building: 0.2 mi
  • Murray Hill: 0.2 mi
  • Chrysler Building: 0.2 mi
  • Pierpont Morgan Library: 0.2 mi
  • Grand Central Station: 0.3 mi
  • MetLife Building: 0.3 mi
  • American Academy of Dramatic Arts: 0.3 mi
  • NY Public Library: 0.3 mi
  • Lord & Taylor: 0.4 mi
  • Ralph Bunche Park: 0.4 mi
  • Tudor City: 0.4 mi
  • Robert Moses Playground: 0.4 mi
  • Century Building: 0.5 mi
  • The King's College: 0.5 mi
  • Bryant Park: 0.5 mi
  • United Nations Headquarters: 0.5 mi
  • Japan Society Gallery: 0.5 mi
  • Chester A. Arthur Home: 0.5 mi
  • East 34th Street Heliport: 0.5 mi
  • Koreatown, Manhattan: 0.5 mi
  • Ford Foundation Building: 0.5 mi
  • Bank of America Tower: 0.6 mi
  • Herald Square: 0.6 mi
  • East Side: 0.6 mi
  • Saks Fifth Avenue: 0.6 mi
  • Belasco Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Diamond District: 0.6 mi
  • International Building: 0.6 mi
  • Town Hall: 0.6 mi
  • Stephen Sondheim Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Nintendo World Store New Yok: 0.6 mi
  • Manhattan Mall: 0.6 mi
  • NBC Studios: 0.6 mi
  • Cathedral of St. Patrick: 0.6 mi
  • Macys: 0.6 mi
  • Condé Nast Building: 0.6 mi
  • Rockefeller Center: 0.7 mi
  • Lower Plaza: 0.7 mi
  • GE Building: 0.7 mi
  • Theater District: 0.7 mi
  • Lyceum Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Citicorp Center: 0.7 mi
  • Radio City Music Hall: 0.7 mi
  • School of Visual Arts: 0.7 mi
  • Nederlander Theatre: 0.7 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1400
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (304)

Ratings and reviews for Murray Hill East Hotel

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
48 out of 304
Amenities:
3.4
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.4

98% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Murray Hill East Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
GW Pop
Boston MA
Jul 21, 2009

Good Value

Greta location, clean room though a bit in need of update.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Not far from Smith & Wollinsky's

Review of Murray Hill East Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
DBRaleigh
Raleigh, NC, USA
Feb 20, 2012

Front Desk Folks are Liars

Before I get into the hotel as a whole, I want to speak about customer service. Not only when I made the reservation I requested double beds for myself and another male friend, but I called earlier in the week and got an OK, came in at 11AM to confirm before we officially checked in at 4PM and was given an OK, we then show up to check in and the new front desk person would not provide 2 beds. In fact he said, "You have 2 beds as the sofa pulls out." This is not exactly what we were bargaining for. The room was clean, access was great and the location was perfect for our needs.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Murray Hill East Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Super Cet
Boston
Aug 6, 2013

Average Hotel, cheap

Average hotel, some staff guys were polite, some others less polite.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Review of Murray Hill East Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
lau 12345
midtown ny
Jan 29, 2012

nyc review

Great getaway and reasonably priced Would recommended for families who are visiting nyc

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
3
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

ok

Review of Murray Hill East Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Torino,Italy
Mar 15, 2011

best position

hotel is aged but comfortable.room is cleaning and bathroom too. position in very nice in manhattan!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of Murray Hill East Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
dream merchantt
Edmonton Alberta Canada
May 14, 2013

Awesome Stay

We had a wonderful stay. The staff was friendly, helpful and knowledgeable when questioned about attractions and tourist areas. They were chearful and prompt. The hotel does not offer a ton of amenedies however it has a great location and is clean and quiet. Your here to see New York not the inside of the room(which was great witha good view) I would recommend to anyone that asked.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Wear good shoes, always take a jacket, check into a 'Big Apple Greeter.com for tours, and don't blink, your not gonna wanna miss a thing. Buy a subway metro card, just the 2week unlimited card, you won't be sorry you did.

Review of Murray Hill East Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
raisin
Rochester, NY
Oct 15, 2012

Very nice stay!

My Mom (80 yrs +) and my sisters and I stayed in one of the suits. It had two double beds, a pull out couch and full kitchen. Although we didn't make any meals there, we could have. it was great having room and a nice space to have breakfast and happy hour! I would definitely come back and recommend this hotel to my friends,

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Murray Hill East Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Canton, GA
May 2, 2009

Nice

We did a lot of sightseeing, and found the hotel was a convenient location. It's not a bad walk to Time Square, maybe 15 minutes. The sofa bed needs a new mattress, it was thin & uncomfortable...therefore had to sleep on it un-opened. The Air Conditioner hadn't been turned on yet (in late April), even with the 90 degree weather. Thankfully it cooled down in the evenings when we were in the room. With the provided a fan it was bearable. The shower was great in the Junior Suite! We liked that the hotel was in a quiet neighborhood, yet close to Times Square. With three friends the room was roomy enough. We liked visiting St. Paul's Chapel across the street from Ground Zero. Lots of info. and history. The top of the Rockefeller Center has a great view of the city! It was helpful that they stored our luggage the last day until we needed to leave for the airport. We didn't need amenities, just a very clean comfortable place, so we'd definitely stay at Murray Hill East Hotel again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Zarela's has delicious Mexican food, and about a 12 minute walk. Frontier Restaurant was very close & a nice diner for breakfast or late evening dessert, also there is a very nice supermarket across the street from it with everything you could need, should you decide to cook. Grand Central also has several places to dine, if you need something quick and not fancy.

Review of Murray Hill East Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Samesamedog
New Orleans, LA
Jun 10, 2014

Great Location

Great location and staff on the East Side. Would stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Murray Hill East Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
RayZhang
Hamilton, Canada
Aug 21, 2014

A nice place to stay

It is really a nice place to stay. The only thing annoying me was the noise outside due to some road construction.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Back to menu Return to top