Rate based on Check-in: Apr 20, 2014 Check-out: Apr 21, 2014

Murray Hill East Hotel

3 stars
149 E. 39th St., New York, NY 10016
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
248 reviews
The best for a good nights sleep.

My girlfriend and I had a great experience here! We had been visiting New York to see friends and... See full review

  • Mikey17
  • Apr 10, 2014
Loved it

Great location and easy walk to multiple dining opportunities and sight seeing. Very clean and... See full review

  • Pisca
  • Apr 6, 2014
All-suite hotel close to Grand Central and the Empire State Building
Space is the name of the game at this 14-story Murray Hill hotel. All rooms are suites with full kitchens, so guests have plenty of room to spread out. The hotel has a fitness center and offers free Wi-Fi in the lobby. The location is near the Empire State Building and Grand Central and convenient to Midtown businesses and tourist attractions.
Highlights
  • All-suite hotel with kitchens
  • Quiet Murray Hill location
  • Close to Grand Central and Bryant Park
Location

The hotel is a short walk from Grand Central Terminal, Bryant Park, the Empire State Building and the United Nations. Fifth Avenue is just four blocks away.

Rooms

The 118 rooms are all suites with full kitchens. Microwaves and toasters are available upon request. All suites have dining tables and desks. Junior and one-bedroom suites also have sofa beds. Expect patterned bedspreads and curtains, dark carpeting and upholstered furniture. Rooms have cable TV, and Wi-Fi (fees apply) is available.

Features

Guest can take advantage of free Wi-Fi in the lobby. The fitness center is open daily from 6 a.m. to 10 p.m. The hotel is affiliated with a self-park parking garage around the corner (fees apply).

Dining

Travelers have a wide variety of dining options close to the hotel. The lower level of Grand Central Terminal boasts a large food court with options ranging from Jamaican cuisine to barbecue to specialty cupcakes.

Transportation
  • MTA Subway 4, 5, 6 lines Grand Central - Lexington (0.2 mi/ 0.32 km)
  • Grand Central Terminal (0.3 mi/ 0.5 km)
  • Penn Station (0.9 mi/ 1.5 km)
  • La Guardia Airport
  • Newark Liberty International Airport
  • John F. Kennedy Airport
Attractions
  • Times Square (1.1 mi/ 1.77 km)
  • Rockefeller Center (0.9 mi/ 1.45 km)
  • United Nations (0.6 mi/ 0.97 km)
  • Central Park (1.5 mi/ 2.41 km)
  • Empire State Building (0.6 mi/ 0.97 km)
  • Javits Convention Center (1.6 mi/ 2.57 km)

Murray Hill East Hotel Rooms

One Bedroom Suite
Full One Bedroom Suite with either a king or two double beds, separate living room with a queen sofa bed, fully equipped kitchen, full bathroom, dining table, desk, dresser and cable television.
Studio Suite
Features one king, one queen or two double beds, a fully equipped kitchen, full bathroom, dining table, desk, dresser and cable television.
Junior Suite
Features and L-shaped room with a queen bed in the bedroom and a pull out queen sofa bed in the living room, a fully equipped kitchen, full bathroom, dining table, desk, dresser and cable television.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Dining
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Murray Hill East Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

Hotel Map

40.7493 -73.977
Area served
New York, NY, within walking distance of Grand Central Station
Nearby airports
La Guardia Airport - LGA and John F. Kennedy International Airport -JFK, Newark Liberty Airport EWR
Area description
Located near the Empire State Building, United Nations, Central Park, Theater District, Garment District, Grand Central Terminal and Rockefeller Center.

Nearby points of interest

  • Daily News Building: 0.2 mi
  • Murray Hill: 0.2 mi
  • Chrysler Building: 0.2 mi
  • Pierpont Morgan Library: 0.2 mi
  • Grand Central Station: 0.3 mi
  • MetLife Building: 0.3 mi
  • American Academy of Dramatic Arts: 0.3 mi
  • NY Public Library: 0.3 mi
  • Lord & Taylor: 0.4 mi
  • Ralph Bunche Park: 0.4 mi
  • Tudor City: 0.4 mi
  • Robert Moses Playground: 0.4 mi
  • Century Building: 0.5 mi
  • The King's College: 0.5 mi
  • Bryant Park: 0.5 mi
  • Daily News Building: 0.2 mi
  • Murray Hill: 0.2 mi
  • Chrysler Building: 0.2 mi
  • Pierpont Morgan Library: 0.2 mi
  • Grand Central Station: 0.3 mi
  • MetLife Building: 0.3 mi
  • American Academy of Dramatic Arts: 0.3 mi
  • NY Public Library: 0.3 mi
  • Lord & Taylor: 0.4 mi
  • Ralph Bunche Park: 0.4 mi
  • Tudor City: 0.4 mi
  • Robert Moses Playground: 0.4 mi
  • Century Building: 0.5 mi
  • The King's College: 0.5 mi
  • Bryant Park: 0.5 mi
  • United Nations Headquarters: 0.5 mi
  • Japan Society Gallery: 0.5 mi
  • Chester A. Arthur Home: 0.5 mi
  • East 34th Street Heliport: 0.5 mi
  • Koreatown, Manhattan: 0.5 mi
  • Ford Foundation Building: 0.5 mi
  • Bank of America Tower: 0.6 mi
  • Herald Square: 0.6 mi
  • East Side: 0.6 mi
  • Saks Fifth Avenue: 0.6 mi
  • Belasco Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Diamond District: 0.6 mi
  • International Building: 0.6 mi
  • Town Hall: 0.6 mi
  • Stephen Sondheim Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Nintendo World Store New Yok: 0.6 mi
  • Manhattan Mall: 0.6 mi
  • NBC Studios: 0.6 mi
  • Cathedral of St. Patrick: 0.6 mi
  • Macys: 0.6 mi
  • Condé Nast Building: 0.6 mi
  • Rockefeller Center: 0.7 mi
  • Lower Plaza: 0.7 mi
  • GE Building: 0.7 mi
  • Theater District: 0.7 mi
  • Lyceum Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Citicorp Center: 0.7 mi
  • Radio City Music Hall: 0.7 mi
  • School of Visual Arts: 0.7 mi
  • Nederlander Theatre: 0.7 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1400
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (248)

Ratings and reviews for Murray Hill East Hotel

Overall score

4 / 5
248 out of 248
Amenities:
3.4
Room cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.1

93% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Murray Hill East Hotel

Reviewer score

3
boopbbt
andes, ny
Apr 8, 2011

back again

come to the city to run races

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of Murray Hill East Hotel

Reviewer score

3
boopbbt
andes, new york
Oct 31, 2009

central park

I used to live in New York and have since moved upstate. I try to come once a month to run a race in my beloved Central Park but sometimes it is just too expensive on my fixed income.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of Murray Hill East Hotel

Reviewer score

3
jaa928
Cleveland, OH, USA
Mar 26, 2012

Affordable family base camp

It was neither the cheapest nor most expensive, but the kitchen and access to Grand Central Station gave us what we needed at a reasonable price in Manhattan. There was no onsite parking or loading zone for that matter, so check-in/check-out might be difficult for someone with small children. I trusted my teens to hang out in the lobby while I went around the block to park on 3rd Ave. My second bed was a pullout couch that was more comfortable when in couch mode. Another traveler pointed out that none of the doors to the hallway close slowly and we accidentally allowed ours to slam shut loudly more than once.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Nirvana Indian restaurant was on Lexington around the corner. Lamb Vindaloo was spicy but very good.

Review of Murray Hill East Hotel

Reviewer score

3
boopbbt
andes, new york
Aug 23, 2009

another stay

I use this hotel because once a month I try to run a race in Central Park because I used to live in NYC and now that I am retired I have moved upstate and I miss running races in the park. I would love to come more often but sometimes the price of the room is just TOO expensive!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of Murray Hill East Hotel

Reviewer score

4
Former NYers
Princeton, NJ
Feb 23, 2010

It's all about perspective

As former New Yorkers, we were enjoying a weekend revisiting our old stomping grounds and a concert at Madison Square Garden. Front of house staff was attentive. Discount parking around the corner truly was discount ($25 per day, less for a partial day). This is an older, former residence hotel, so every room has a kitchen. At first glance, the room doesn't look luxurious. It's not that kind of hotel. After a few minutes I realized that my room was bigger than many studio apartments I had seen in NYC, with 4 big windows that open to let fresh air and lots of sun in. Table, chairs, sofa, desk, TV, bed, dresser, 2 closets--if you're up and about, it's a perfect pied a terre. You won't be pampered, but is that what you came to NYC for? Everything was clean, safe walking neighborhood (we walked to the hotel from Madison Square Garden 34th/7th)and could have walked 2 blocks to Grand Central to get anywhere by subway. Abundant cabs (even one waiting outside the hotel at checkout). We would return again for the bargain accomodations.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of Murray Hill East Hotel

Reviewer score

4
dream merchantt
Edmonton Alberta Canada
May 14, 2013

Awesome Stay

We had a wonderful stay. The staff was friendly, helpful and knowledgeable when questioned about attractions and tourist areas. They were chearful and prompt. The hotel does not offer a ton of amenedies however it has a great location and is clean and quiet. Your here to see New York not the inside of the room(which was great witha good view) I would recommend to anyone that asked.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Wear good shoes, always take a jacket, check into a 'Big Apple Greeter.com for tours, and don't blink, your not gonna wanna miss a thing. Buy a subway metro card, just the 2week unlimited card, you won't be sorry you did.

Review of Murray Hill East Hotel

Reviewer score

4
Anonymous
Upstate NY
Mar 28, 2011

Good location, not a bad stay

Nice stay, but only one bed. Sofa pull out in the room but the pull out is not comfy. Kitchen was an unexpected surprise and great value for the money - although we did not use it. Amenities scored low because of having to pay for wireless internet (having to pay for internet is ridiculous to me).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Pretty short walk to Grand Central.

Review of Murray Hill East Hotel

Reviewer score

4
n. dread
indianapolis, IN
Jul 20, 2012

big room for the city

Nice hotel. Spacious room. Decor could use an update.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Murray Hill East Hotel

Reviewer score

4
Stephanie C.
Garden grove, California
Feb 19, 2014

Good little get away

This hotel was really nice and they were really understanding with the check in and check out. The hotel was a little old fashioned, but Its not like we stayed in the hotel all day. It was close enough to time square, so it was more convenient to walk instead of taking a lot of cabs. The only negative thing was that there was no microwave in the kitchen and you had to pay almost $10 for wifi a night. Otherwise, great location and great staff! Not to mention great price! I would definitely stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Walk everywhere and make use of the subway! That way you can avoid paying for cabs. Plus there's so much to see everywhere you walk, that you will not even realize how far you have walked.

Review of Murray Hill East Hotel

Reviewer score

4
Weekly New Yorker
Business
New York, NY
May 13, 2009

Still My Favorite New York Stay

I am up to six visits to this hotel, and I am very satisfied with each stay. I consider it my home away from home - and I'm away from home alot!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Excellent Wine Shop around the corner on Lexington. Great variety and knowledgeable staff.

Back to menu Return to top