Murray Hill East Hotel

3 stars
View map of 149 E. 39th St., New York, NY 10016

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Murray Hill East Hotel

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
331 out of 331
Amenities:
3.4
Cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4.1
Comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.1

93% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Murray Hill East Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
wv
Jul 25, 2009

Plenty of space

Lots of space for the price in a midtown location. Parking charges at local garages are very high. Better to check that online in advance as well.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Murray Hill East Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
savvy new york traveler
Business
birmingham, alabama
Jul 24, 2009

roomy, uinexpected kitchenette

spacious room(for older new york hotel), convienant to grand central, surprising kitchenette in room. would stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Murray Hill East Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
boopbbt
Business
Andes, new york
Jun 22, 2010

hooray for New York

most of the staff are friendly and efficient so I have been coming to this hotel for three years now about once a month and I'm basically happy with the service.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Murray Hill East Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
boopbbt
Business
andes, new york
Oct 31, 2009

central park

I used to live in New York and have since moved upstate. I try to come once a month to run a race in my beloved Central Park but sometimes it is just too expensive on my fixed income.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Murray Hill East Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Canada
Feb 19, 2011

Convenient location and great price

The hotel is close to the UN Headquarters where I had meetings. It was also close to restaurants and Grand Central Station. Everything you needed was in walking distance. I didn't need to use taxis.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Murray Hill East Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
vespa
Business
washington dc
Feb 21, 2011

not bad...

Ask for the a one king size bed. Tried to check in at 11am, but couldn't. came back in to check in around 8pm. Gave us a 2 bed room PH... Beds were twin size. got a nice fridge and kitchen and balcony.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Murray Hill East Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Torino,Italy
Mar 15, 2011

best position

hotel is aged but comfortable.room is cleaning and bathroom too. position in very nice in manhattan!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Murray Hill East Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Ottawa
Mar 22, 2010

Nice, but no luxury

You can't beat the location-great neighborhood! However, the hotel is tired and the staff seems tired, too. At first glance, it seems you have been put in somebody's grandmother's apt. in the city. Everything is just alittle worn and faded. Believe it or not, it grows on you, though, and begins to feel homey after a few days. It's no luxury hotel-you bring your own bags to your room and the towels are the kind of scratchy kind. All of this could have been overlooked if the front desk had cared one iota about what was going on. (We were originally given a room that was already occupied! When we returned to the front desk, we were told, "No prob.") Internet is expensive and per computer, not per room.(We were with 2 travelers who each had their own laptops and sharing a room. We had to buy internet access for EACH of them. Seems to be unreasonable.) On the plus side, the kitchens are a bonus, and with a little corner store up the street, we were stocked up within hours of arriving. Sure beats room service charges. All in all, a nice hotel, just not a luxury hotel, in a great location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Across the street and up 4 doors is Sammy's Place.Excellent Italian food with a really nice atmosphere.

Review of Murray Hill East Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Park Ave
Business
SE FL
Feb 19, 2010

Roomy

Suite with lots of room. Was told I was being upgraded. However, I had reserved a no-smoking room and this one had 3 ashtrays; fortunately, only a slight smoke odor. Easy walk to United Nations. Short walk to buses to Newark Airport.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Murray Hill East Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
boopbbt
Business
upstate New York
Jun 16, 2009

simple but nice hotel

I would like to have a larger television and also would like to have more cable stations. Program choices are very limited. If you have any kind of problem they are very cooperative and I have requested room changes a couple of times without any problems. Basically I stay at the hotel because I once lived in New York and now I'm living upstate and I come into the city to run in Central Park, see the city again and visit with some old friends.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top