Rate based on Check-in: Jul 31, 2014 Check-out: Aug 1, 2014

Murray Hill East Hotel

3 stars
149 E. 39th St., New York, NY 10016
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
408 reviews
Best stay in NYC ever

Really pleased with everything. It surpassed all my expectations. See full review

  • Fort Wayne moms
  • Jul 17, 2014
Loved this hotel

Like all the other reviewers, this hotel is awesome. It's huge by NYC standards. We stayed in a... See full review

  • Fort Wayne moms
  • Jul 16, 2014
All-suite hotel close to Grand Central and the Empire State Building
Space is the name of the game at this 14-story Murray Hill hotel. All rooms are suites with full kitchens, so guests have plenty of room to spread out. The hotel has a fitness center and offers free Wi-Fi in the lobby. The location is near the Empire State Building and Grand Central and convenient to Midtown businesses and tourist attractions.
Highlights
  • All-suite hotel with kitchens
  • Quiet Murray Hill location
  • Close to Grand Central and Bryant Park
Location

The hotel is a short walk from Grand Central Terminal, Bryant Park, the Empire State Building and the United Nations. Fifth Avenue is just four blocks away.

Rooms

The 118 rooms are all suites with full kitchens. Microwaves and toasters are available upon request. All suites have dining tables and desks. Junior and one-bedroom suites also have sofa beds. Expect patterned bedspreads and curtains, dark carpeting and upholstered furniture. Rooms have cable TV, and Wi-Fi (fees apply) is available.

Features

Guest can take advantage of free Wi-Fi in the lobby. The fitness center is open daily from 6 a.m. to 10 p.m. The hotel is affiliated with a self-park parking garage around the corner (fees apply).

Dining

Travelers have a wide variety of dining options close to the hotel. The lower level of Grand Central Terminal boasts a large food court with options ranging from Jamaican cuisine to barbecue to specialty cupcakes.

Transportation
  • MTA Subway 4, 5, 6 lines Grand Central - Lexington (0.2 mi/ 0.32 km)
  • Grand Central Terminal (0.3 mi/ 0.5 km)
  • Penn Station (0.9 mi/ 1.5 km)
  • La Guardia Airport
  • Newark Liberty International Airport
  • John F. Kennedy Airport
Attractions
  • Times Square (1.1 mi/ 1.77 km)
  • Rockefeller Center (0.9 mi/ 1.45 km)
  • United Nations (0.6 mi/ 0.97 km)
  • Central Park (1.5 mi/ 2.41 km)
  • Empire State Building (0.6 mi/ 0.97 km)
  • Javits Convention Center (1.6 mi/ 2.57 km)

Murray Hill East Hotel Rooms

One Bedroom Suite
Full One Bedroom Suite with either a king or two double beds, separate living room with a queen sofa bed, fully equipped kitchen, full bathroom, dining table, desk, dresser and cable television.
Studio Suite
Features one king, one queen or two double beds, a fully equipped kitchen, full bathroom, dining table, desk, dresser and cable television.
Junior Suite
Features and L-shaped room with a queen bed in the bedroom and a pull out queen sofa bed in the living room, a fully equipped kitchen, full bathroom, dining table, desk, dresser and cable television.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Dining
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Murray Hill East Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

Hotel Map

40.7493 -73.977
Area served
New York, NY, within walking distance of Grand Central Station
Nearby airports
La Guardia Airport - LGA and John F. Kennedy International Airport -JFK, Newark Liberty Airport EWR
Area description
Located near the Empire State Building, United Nations, Central Park, Theater District, Garment District, Grand Central Terminal and Rockefeller Center.

Nearby points of interest

  • Daily News Building: 0.2 mi
  • Murray Hill: 0.2 mi
  • Chrysler Building: 0.2 mi
  • Pierpont Morgan Library: 0.2 mi
  • Grand Central Station: 0.3 mi
  • MetLife Building: 0.3 mi
  • American Academy of Dramatic Arts: 0.3 mi
  • NY Public Library: 0.3 mi
  • Lord & Taylor: 0.4 mi
  • Ralph Bunche Park: 0.4 mi
  • Tudor City: 0.4 mi
  • Robert Moses Playground: 0.4 mi
  • Century Building: 0.5 mi
  • The King's College: 0.5 mi
  • Bryant Park: 0.5 mi
  • Daily News Building: 0.2 mi
  • Murray Hill: 0.2 mi
  • Chrysler Building: 0.2 mi
  • Pierpont Morgan Library: 0.2 mi
  • Grand Central Station: 0.3 mi
  • MetLife Building: 0.3 mi
  • American Academy of Dramatic Arts: 0.3 mi
  • NY Public Library: 0.3 mi
  • Lord & Taylor: 0.4 mi
  • Ralph Bunche Park: 0.4 mi
  • Tudor City: 0.4 mi
  • Robert Moses Playground: 0.4 mi
  • Century Building: 0.5 mi
  • The King's College: 0.5 mi
  • Bryant Park: 0.5 mi
  • United Nations Headquarters: 0.5 mi
  • Japan Society Gallery: 0.5 mi
  • Chester A. Arthur Home: 0.5 mi
  • East 34th Street Heliport: 0.5 mi
  • Koreatown, Manhattan: 0.5 mi
  • Ford Foundation Building: 0.5 mi
  • Bank of America Tower: 0.6 mi
  • Herald Square: 0.6 mi
  • East Side: 0.6 mi
  • Saks Fifth Avenue: 0.6 mi
  • Belasco Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Diamond District: 0.6 mi
  • International Building: 0.6 mi
  • Town Hall: 0.6 mi
  • Stephen Sondheim Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Nintendo World Store New Yok: 0.6 mi
  • Manhattan Mall: 0.6 mi
  • NBC Studios: 0.6 mi
  • Cathedral of St. Patrick: 0.6 mi
  • Macys: 0.6 mi
  • Condé Nast Building: 0.6 mi
  • Rockefeller Center: 0.7 mi
  • Lower Plaza: 0.7 mi
  • GE Building: 0.7 mi
  • Theater District: 0.7 mi
  • Lyceum Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Citicorp Center: 0.7 mi
  • Radio City Music Hall: 0.7 mi
  • School of Visual Arts: 0.7 mi
  • Nederlander Theatre: 0.7 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1400
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (408)

Ratings and reviews for Murray Hill East Hotel

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
408 out of 408
Amenities:
3.3
Room cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.5
Value:
4

93% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Murray Hill East Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
boopbbt
Andes, new york
Jun 22, 2010

hooray for New York

most of the staff are friendly and efficient so I have been coming to this hotel for three years now about once a month and I'm basically happy with the service.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Review of Murray Hill East Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
boopbbt
andes, new york
Oct 31, 2009

central park

I used to live in New York and have since moved upstate. I try to come once a month to run a race in my beloved Central Park but sometimes it is just too expensive on my fixed income.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of Murray Hill East Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Park Ave
Business
SE FL
Feb 19, 2010

Roomy

Suite with lots of room. Was told I was being upgraded. However, I had reserved a no-smoking room and this one had 3 ashtrays; fortunately, only a slight smoke odor. Easy walk to United Nations. Short walk to buses to Newark Airport.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Murray Hill East Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
boopbbt
andes, ny
Apr 8, 2011

back again

come to the city to run races

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of Murray Hill East Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Florida
Dec 15, 2010

Spacious rooms - adequate hotel

Friendly staff but as a business traveler there were certain things missing that I really like. Bathrobes were not available. The heat is old style it is either off or on and it can get very stuffy. Beed was adequate but with old style bedspread - needed the extra blanket that was thank goodness in the room. Had a full kitchen but no coffee was supplied, gas stove and no microwave. All in all it was clean and adequate but nothing special

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Murray Hill East Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Torino,Italy
Mar 15, 2011

best position

hotel is aged but comfortable.room is cleaning and bathroom too. position in very nice in manhattan!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of Murray Hill East Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
boopbbt
andes, new york
Aug 23, 2009

another stay

I use this hotel because once a month I try to run a race in Central Park because I used to live in NYC and now that I am retired I have moved upstate and I miss running races in the park. I would love to come more often but sometimes the price of the room is just TOO expensive!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of Murray Hill East Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Canada
Feb 19, 2011

Convenient location and great price

The hotel is close to the UN Headquarters where I had meetings. It was also close to restaurants and Grand Central Station. Everything you needed was in walking distance. I didn't need to use taxis.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Murray Hill East Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Robreviewer
Palm Springs, CA
Oct 3, 2012

Positive Experience

I chose this hotel because of price and location. I was pleasantly surprised by the value I got for the price. The suite was well laid out and had a nice view. The staff was friendly and helpful. It was not necessary to run air-conditioning as the windows opened easily, and so we were not bothered by excessive noise. The only negative is that, while the maid service did take care to clean the room, the overall appearance of the room needs freshening -- one cannot be certain that he/she is sitting on clean furniture. For example, we spread the bedspread over the couch before utilizing it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Murray Hill East Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
boopbbt
Andes, new york
Jun 22, 2010

hooray for New York

most of the staff are friendly and efficient so I have been coming to this hotel for three years now about once a month and I'm basically happy with the service.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Back to menu Return to top