Murray Hill East Hotel

3 stars
View map of 149 E. 39th St., New York, NY 10016

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Murray Hill East Hotel

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
331 out of 331
Amenities:
3.4
Cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4.1
Comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.1

93% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Murray Hill East Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Coolboy
Business
Los angeles,california
Jun 3, 2014

Perfect hotel

If you are looking for a great hotel with great location stop looking and book this hotel now.everything was so good and we were really happy while leaving the hotel

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Murray Hill East Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Ellicott City
May 25, 2008

Friendly staff, large room

My stay at the Murray Hill East Hotel was very satisfying. The staff was friendly, and I was upgraded to a suite...huge by NYC standards. The information sheet on neighborhood historic buildings was a nice touch, and there was a gourmet deli and other good places to eat in close walking distance.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Very nice walking, including a short distance to the UN.

Review of Murray Hill East Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Royal Oak, MI
Feb 17, 2011

Great Stay As Always

I love this hotel and have stayed many times. I find it very clean and homey and having the kitchen and the spacious rooms makes it very special (especially in New York where rooms are generally small.) The staff is nice and the location can't be beat for getting anywhere in Manhattan.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Murray Hill East Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Granger
Jun 16, 2008

spacious accommodations

I was surprised to find myself in a spacious apartment with a large living/dining area, bedroom and kitchen--all separate rooms. The location was very convenient--just a few blocks from Grand Central Station in a real neighborhood with grocery stores, drug stores, and delis. Internet access was not easily available, but I used Kinko's at the corner.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Murray Hill East Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Jose, CA
Jul 13, 2008

great room size

The Murray Hill East Hotel had the best sized rooms compared to other hotels on our trip. Very large... Separate bedroom & kitchen. Great. It was also very quiet, which was much appreciated in New York. The location was great - 3 blocks from Grand Central and the metro, and close to restaurants and shops. Reasonably priced. Very Satisifed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Murray Hill East Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
South Hadley, MA
Sep 4, 2008

Great Location

The Murray Hill East is in a great location, within easy walking distance of Grand Central Station and Fifth Avenue shopping. The room was large, with a very comfortable bed. It was very clean, although it could use some sprucing up, e.g., there were a few stains on the carpet.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Murray Hill East Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
food maven
Business
Key West, FL
Jun 25, 2007

Terrific space for the money

I was looking for an apartment situation in midtown and this perfectly suited my needs. Not terribly modern, but the staff was very friendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

You're in the center of Manhattan - total convenience.

Review of Murray Hill East Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Dec 20, 2008

Great Place to Stay in Manhatten

We were very pleasantly surprized at how nice our stay turned out. This hotel is in a very convenient location. The rooms were clean and comfortable. The staff was great and we would probably stay there again. Our only suggestion for improvement would be to put a small microwave oven in the rooms to heat up leftovers.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The U.N. Headquaters

Review of Murray Hill East Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Rochester, NY
Jun 10, 2007

Extremely convenient

Murray Hill East Suites were a totally pleasant surprise! We didn't know what to expect, having never stayed there before, but we were extremely pleased with the size of the room (included a bedroom, living room with queen-size pull-out bed, and kitchenette), the cleanliness, and particularly the convenient location. We were within very close walking distance to Grand Central Station and the Empire State Building, with a little bit longer walk to Times Square and the Theatre District, but very do-able. The staff members were extremely pleasant and helpful, particularly with getting us a cab and a very busy Friday evening. There are no restaurants in the hotel, but we found a little Irish pub just around the corner. This will definitely be our hotel of choice on our next New York City visit.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

We took taxis on several occasions this trip, as someone in our party wasa unable to walk long distances, and because of the hotels close proximity to so many things, all of our taxi rides were quite inexpensive. We were very pleasantly suprised.

Review of Murray Hill East Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Apr 20, 2008

Nothing Spectacular

We did not spend much time in the room. It was a nice place. We didn't have any issues with anything. The check out process was tedious b/c they are not up to speed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

For the young crowd, there is not much to do but for the older people going to the theater, its fine.

Back to menu Return to top