Rate based on Check-in: Sep 18, 2014 Check-out: Sep 20, 2014

Murray Hill East Hotel

3 stars
149 E. 39th St., New York, NY 10016
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
304 reviews
A nice comfortable hotel

Murray Hill East Hotel is centrally located in mid- town Manhattan with easy access to most... See full review

  • Love the Big Apple
  • Aug 22, 2014
Excellent

.3 miles from grand central and the cheapest price around. We got upgraded to two king size suites.... See full review

  • Rquinn
  • Aug 18, 2014
All-suite hotel close to Grand Central and the Empire State Building
Space is the name of the game at this 14-story Murray Hill hotel. All rooms are suites with full kitchens, so guests have plenty of room to spread out. The hotel has a fitness center and offers free Wi-Fi in the lobby. The location is near the Empire State Building and Grand Central and convenient to Midtown businesses and tourist attractions.
Highlights
  • All-suite hotel with kitchens
  • Quiet Murray Hill location
  • Close to Grand Central and Bryant Park
Location

The hotel is a short walk from Grand Central Terminal, Bryant Park, the Empire State Building and the United Nations. Fifth Avenue is just four blocks away.

Rooms

The 118 rooms are all suites with full kitchens. Microwaves and toasters are available upon request. All suites have dining tables and desks. Junior and one-bedroom suites also have sofa beds. Expect patterned bedspreads and curtains, dark carpeting and upholstered furniture. Rooms have cable TV, and Wi-Fi (fees apply) is available.

Features

Guest can take advantage of free Wi-Fi in the lobby. The fitness center is open daily from 6 a.m. to 10 p.m. The hotel is affiliated with a self-park parking garage around the corner (fees apply).

Dining

Travelers have a wide variety of dining options close to the hotel. The lower level of Grand Central Terminal boasts a large food court with options ranging from Jamaican cuisine to barbecue to specialty cupcakes.

Transportation
  • MTA Subway 4, 5, 6 lines Grand Central - Lexington (0.2 mi/ 0.32 km)
  • Grand Central Terminal (0.3 mi/ 0.5 km)
  • Penn Station (0.9 mi/ 1.5 km)
  • La Guardia Airport
  • Newark Liberty International Airport
  • John F. Kennedy Airport
Attractions
  • Times Square (1.1 mi/ 1.77 km)
  • Rockefeller Center (0.9 mi/ 1.45 km)
  • United Nations (0.6 mi/ 0.97 km)
  • Central Park (1.5 mi/ 2.41 km)
  • Empire State Building (0.6 mi/ 0.97 km)
  • Javits Convention Center (1.6 mi/ 2.57 km)

Murray Hill East Hotel Rooms

One Bedroom Suite
Full One Bedroom Suite with either a king or two double beds, separate living room with a queen sofa bed, fully equipped kitchen, full bathroom, dining table, desk, dresser and cable television.
Studio Suite
Features one king, one queen or two double beds, a fully equipped kitchen, full bathroom, dining table, desk, dresser and cable television.
Junior Suite
Features and L-shaped room with a queen bed in the bedroom and a pull out queen sofa bed in the living room, a fully equipped kitchen, full bathroom, dining table, desk, dresser and cable television.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Dining
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Murray Hill East Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

Hotel Map

40.7493 -73.977
Area served
New York, NY, within walking distance of Grand Central Station
Nearby airports
La Guardia Airport - LGA and John F. Kennedy International Airport -JFK, Newark Liberty Airport EWR
Area description
Located near the Empire State Building, United Nations, Central Park, Theater District, Garment District, Grand Central Terminal and Rockefeller Center.

Nearby points of interest

  • Daily News Building: 0.2 mi
  • Murray Hill: 0.2 mi
  • Chrysler Building: 0.2 mi
  • Pierpont Morgan Library: 0.2 mi
  • Grand Central Station: 0.3 mi
  • MetLife Building: 0.3 mi
  • American Academy of Dramatic Arts: 0.3 mi
  • NY Public Library: 0.3 mi
  • Lord & Taylor: 0.4 mi
  • Ralph Bunche Park: 0.4 mi
  • Tudor City: 0.4 mi
  • Robert Moses Playground: 0.4 mi
  • Century Building: 0.5 mi
  • The King's College: 0.5 mi
  • Bryant Park: 0.5 mi
  • Daily News Building: 0.2 mi
  • Murray Hill: 0.2 mi
  • Chrysler Building: 0.2 mi
  • Pierpont Morgan Library: 0.2 mi
  • Grand Central Station: 0.3 mi
  • MetLife Building: 0.3 mi
  • American Academy of Dramatic Arts: 0.3 mi
  • NY Public Library: 0.3 mi
  • Lord & Taylor: 0.4 mi
  • Ralph Bunche Park: 0.4 mi
  • Tudor City: 0.4 mi
  • Robert Moses Playground: 0.4 mi
  • Century Building: 0.5 mi
  • The King's College: 0.5 mi
  • Bryant Park: 0.5 mi
  • United Nations Headquarters: 0.5 mi
  • Japan Society Gallery: 0.5 mi
  • Chester A. Arthur Home: 0.5 mi
  • East 34th Street Heliport: 0.5 mi
  • Koreatown, Manhattan: 0.5 mi
  • Ford Foundation Building: 0.5 mi
  • Bank of America Tower: 0.6 mi
  • Herald Square: 0.6 mi
  • East Side: 0.6 mi
  • Saks Fifth Avenue: 0.6 mi
  • Belasco Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Diamond District: 0.6 mi
  • International Building: 0.6 mi
  • Town Hall: 0.6 mi
  • Stephen Sondheim Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Nintendo World Store New Yok: 0.6 mi
  • Manhattan Mall: 0.6 mi
  • NBC Studios: 0.6 mi
  • Cathedral of St. Patrick: 0.6 mi
  • Macys: 0.6 mi
  • Condé Nast Building: 0.6 mi
  • Rockefeller Center: 0.7 mi
  • Lower Plaza: 0.7 mi
  • GE Building: 0.7 mi
  • Theater District: 0.7 mi
  • Lyceum Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Citicorp Center: 0.7 mi
  • Radio City Music Hall: 0.7 mi
  • School of Visual Arts: 0.7 mi
  • Nederlander Theatre: 0.7 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1400
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (304)

Ratings and reviews for Murray Hill East Hotel

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
304 out of 304
Amenities:
3.4
Room cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.4
Value:
4.1

93% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Murray Hill East Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Big Dover
Los Angeles, California
Jun 12, 2013

Gigantic Room For Little Money

I loved this place! I was a little worried about this hotel until I checked in. What a great place to stay. The room was huge, one of the largest rooms I have ever stayed in. It was a little dated but who cares, the space was phenominal. I think this is the best value in NYC. Good location nice staff and I have nothing but good things to say about this place. It is a very nice 3 star hotel maybe a low 4 star. I will stay here from now on for every trip to New York.. GREAT GREAT GREAT

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Entertainment tip: Long walk from hotel

See The Book of Mormon! It was my favorite Broadway show ever. One of the funniest shows ever! Do not miss it. It is sold out all the time. However, if you go to the box office, about 2 hours before the show. They have a few seats but always good ones.

Review of Murray Hill East Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Seattle
Feb 22, 2011

Fabulous!

Hotel is located in a terrific place (Midtown, close to subways, great for walking everywhere), superb (clean, spacious, re-done), staff is wonderful, and the price is quite reasonable. This is our 2nd time there, and will go again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Murray Hill East Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
The Viv
New York, NY
Aug 5, 2013

Great hotel

I received an upgrade when i checked in, so i had a large suite with a kitchen. Very clean and comfortable. I would definitely stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Very close to Grand Central where there is shopping, great restaurants and transportation to just about anywhere in the city.

Review of Murray Hill East Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
USA
Dec 20, 2008

Great Place to Stay in Manhatten

We were very pleasantly surprized at how nice our stay turned out. This hotel is in a very convenient location. The rooms were clean and comfortable. The staff was great and we would probably stay there again. Our only suggestion for improvement would be to put a small microwave oven in the rooms to heat up leftovers.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The U.N. Headquaters

Review of Murray Hill East Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Denver, CO
Aug 4, 2007

Very Convenient

The Murray Hills East was a perfect hotel. The staff was friendly and the rooms were clean and very spacious. The kitchenette was a great thing to have to keep left overs or just to keep your favorite beverage cold. Location was excellent; walking distance to Grand Central and Times Square. Along with some bagel shops and other convenient stores. In all it was a really nice place to stay and I would stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Murray Hill East Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
food maven
Key West, FL
Jun 25, 2007

Terrific space for the money

I was looking for an apartment situation in midtown and this perfectly suited my needs. Not terribly modern, but the staff was very friendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

You're in the center of Manhattan - total convenience.

Review of Murray Hill East Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Linda Anderson
Business
Royal Oak, Michigan
Jun 18, 2012

Always a Great Stay!!

I have stayed many times at this hotel and always have an enjoyable stay. The rooms are very clean and spacious which is a find in New York where rooms are generally small. The full kitchen is an added bonus and the location can't be topped for getting anywhere in Manhattan.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Sam's Place right across the street for fabulous and authentic Italian. Reasonably priced and great ambiance!

Review of Murray Hill East Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
South Bend, IN
May 21, 2007

Very Convient Location!

The Murray Hill East is always comfortable, large clean rooms with kitchen facilities. I love the location, very convenient, it's in a decent neighborhood and only two blocks from Airport Shuttles every 15 minutes, 24 hour drugstore and grocery, hair salon, lots of cafe's and upscale diners and only three blocks from Grand Central and all Subways. However if traffic noise keeps you awake at night get something above the fourth floor. I always stay on the third floor and sleep fine but I used to live in the city. I've stayed here twice and will stay at Murray Hill East again next year!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Airport Shuttles only two blocks away. Grand Central and all Subways only three blocks away. 24 hour drug store and groceries 2-3 blocks away, hair salon and upscale diners 1-to-2 blocks away. The neighborhood is decent and you're close enough to see the top of Empire State Building.

Review of Murray Hill East Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Dallas, TX
Apr 29, 2007

Good Value for Cost

Nice location and clean. No amentities other than the fitness center. But given that very little time was spent in the hotel except to sleep, it was a very nice place for the money.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of Murray Hill East Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Michigan
Mar 3, 2009

Great hotel!

I love this hotel! I have stayed many times for different lengths of time. The location is great and I like the spacious rooms. Having a kitchen is a nice convenience. Grand Central is so close with access in every direction. The rooms are very clean and I find the staff nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Back to menu Return to top