Rate based on Check-in: Apr 21, 2014 Check-out: Apr 22, 2014

Murray Hill East Hotel

3 stars
149 E. 39th St., New York, NY 10016
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
248 reviews
The best for a good nights sleep.

My girlfriend and I had a great experience here! We had been visiting New York to see friends and... See full review

  • Mikey17
  • Apr 10, 2014
Loved it

Great location and easy walk to multiple dining opportunities and sight seeing. Very clean and... See full review

  • Pisca
  • Apr 6, 2014
All-suite hotel close to Grand Central and the Empire State Building
Space is the name of the game at this 14-story Murray Hill hotel. All rooms are suites with full kitchens, so guests have plenty of room to spread out. The hotel has a fitness center and offers free Wi-Fi in the lobby. The location is near the Empire State Building and Grand Central and convenient to Midtown businesses and tourist attractions.
Highlights
  • All-suite hotel with kitchens
  • Quiet Murray Hill location
  • Close to Grand Central and Bryant Park
Location

The hotel is a short walk from Grand Central Terminal, Bryant Park, the Empire State Building and the United Nations. Fifth Avenue is just four blocks away.

Rooms

The 118 rooms are all suites with full kitchens. Microwaves and toasters are available upon request. All suites have dining tables and desks. Junior and one-bedroom suites also have sofa beds. Expect patterned bedspreads and curtains, dark carpeting and upholstered furniture. Rooms have cable TV, and Wi-Fi (fees apply) is available.

Features

Guest can take advantage of free Wi-Fi in the lobby. The fitness center is open daily from 6 a.m. to 10 p.m. The hotel is affiliated with a self-park parking garage around the corner (fees apply).

Dining

Travelers have a wide variety of dining options close to the hotel. The lower level of Grand Central Terminal boasts a large food court with options ranging from Jamaican cuisine to barbecue to specialty cupcakes.

Transportation
  • MTA Subway 4, 5, 6 lines Grand Central - Lexington (0.2 mi/ 0.32 km)
  • Grand Central Terminal (0.3 mi/ 0.5 km)
  • Penn Station (0.9 mi/ 1.5 km)
  • La Guardia Airport
  • Newark Liberty International Airport
  • John F. Kennedy Airport
Attractions
  • Times Square (1.1 mi/ 1.77 km)
  • Rockefeller Center (0.9 mi/ 1.45 km)
  • United Nations (0.6 mi/ 0.97 km)
  • Central Park (1.5 mi/ 2.41 km)
  • Empire State Building (0.6 mi/ 0.97 km)
  • Javits Convention Center (1.6 mi/ 2.57 km)

Murray Hill East Hotel Rooms

One Bedroom Suite
Full One Bedroom Suite with either a king or two double beds, separate living room with a queen sofa bed, fully equipped kitchen, full bathroom, dining table, desk, dresser and cable television.
Studio Suite
Features one king, one queen or two double beds, a fully equipped kitchen, full bathroom, dining table, desk, dresser and cable television.
Junior Suite
Features and L-shaped room with a queen bed in the bedroom and a pull out queen sofa bed in the living room, a fully equipped kitchen, full bathroom, dining table, desk, dresser and cable television.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Dining
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Murray Hill East Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

Hotel Map

40.7493 -73.977
Area served
New York, NY, within walking distance of Grand Central Station
Nearby airports
La Guardia Airport - LGA and John F. Kennedy International Airport -JFK, Newark Liberty Airport EWR
Area description
Located near the Empire State Building, United Nations, Central Park, Theater District, Garment District, Grand Central Terminal and Rockefeller Center.

Nearby points of interest

  • Daily News Building: 0.2 mi
  • Murray Hill: 0.2 mi
  • Chrysler Building: 0.2 mi
  • Pierpont Morgan Library: 0.2 mi
  • Grand Central Station: 0.3 mi
  • MetLife Building: 0.3 mi
  • American Academy of Dramatic Arts: 0.3 mi
  • NY Public Library: 0.3 mi
  • Lord & Taylor: 0.4 mi
  • Ralph Bunche Park: 0.4 mi
  • Tudor City: 0.4 mi
  • Robert Moses Playground: 0.4 mi
  • Century Building: 0.5 mi
  • The King's College: 0.5 mi
  • Bryant Park: 0.5 mi
  • Daily News Building: 0.2 mi
  • Murray Hill: 0.2 mi
  • Chrysler Building: 0.2 mi
  • Pierpont Morgan Library: 0.2 mi
  • Grand Central Station: 0.3 mi
  • MetLife Building: 0.3 mi
  • American Academy of Dramatic Arts: 0.3 mi
  • NY Public Library: 0.3 mi
  • Lord & Taylor: 0.4 mi
  • Ralph Bunche Park: 0.4 mi
  • Tudor City: 0.4 mi
  • Robert Moses Playground: 0.4 mi
  • Century Building: 0.5 mi
  • The King's College: 0.5 mi
  • Bryant Park: 0.5 mi
  • United Nations Headquarters: 0.5 mi
  • Japan Society Gallery: 0.5 mi
  • Chester A. Arthur Home: 0.5 mi
  • East 34th Street Heliport: 0.5 mi
  • Koreatown, Manhattan: 0.5 mi
  • Ford Foundation Building: 0.5 mi
  • Bank of America Tower: 0.6 mi
  • Herald Square: 0.6 mi
  • East Side: 0.6 mi
  • Saks Fifth Avenue: 0.6 mi
  • Belasco Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Diamond District: 0.6 mi
  • International Building: 0.6 mi
  • Town Hall: 0.6 mi
  • Stephen Sondheim Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Nintendo World Store New Yok: 0.6 mi
  • Manhattan Mall: 0.6 mi
  • NBC Studios: 0.6 mi
  • Cathedral of St. Patrick: 0.6 mi
  • Macys: 0.6 mi
  • Condé Nast Building: 0.6 mi
  • Rockefeller Center: 0.7 mi
  • Lower Plaza: 0.7 mi
  • GE Building: 0.7 mi
  • Theater District: 0.7 mi
  • Lyceum Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Citicorp Center: 0.7 mi
  • Radio City Music Hall: 0.7 mi
  • School of Visual Arts: 0.7 mi
  • Nederlander Theatre: 0.7 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1400
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (248)

Ratings and reviews for Murray Hill East Hotel

Overall score

4 / 5
248 out of 248
Amenities:
3.4
Room cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.1

93% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Murray Hill East Hotel

Reviewer score

5
LizZielouloves NYC
Uk
Aug 30, 2012

City break with teens

Great location for new York sightseeing. We got to top of the rock,ferry,9/11 memorial and the Yankees stadium easily by subway and walking.room was comfy with 2 big beds for teen boys and a good sofa bed for us. ,kitchen very useful. Good value for money as well.try the local delis for wide range of great food.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Grand central - get a metro card for $ 10 in advance -4 trips on subway.

Review of Murray Hill East Hotel

Reviewer score

5
TravelMad
Business
Washington DC
Feb 28, 2010

Excellent in every way

Large, well appointed rooms with kitchenettes, clean, tasteful decor. Wireless service was adequate. Staff were friendly and informative. Highly recommended.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Murray Hill East Hotel

Reviewer score

5
pdxjohn
portland or
Jun 17, 2012

1st time in new york

very well maintained hotel. my room was well kept and a good size. the staff was friendly. the location was handy and convenient to things such as empire state building and grand central station. i would stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Murray Hill East Hotel

Reviewer score

5
Anonymous
Baldwinsville, NY
Aug 5, 2008

Great find!

Our room, a double, was perfect for two people. It was nice to be able to make our own coffee & tea in the morning, and have a fridge & stove. Our friends, 4 people from Italy, had a suite with a bigger kitchen including a table for 4. All 6 of us were very impressed with the hotel. Staff were friendly, knowledgeable and helpful. We found it easy to find nearby places to eat, shop or just grab a coffee (Dunkin' Donuts, Starbucks). All of us agreed that we will stay at Murray Hill East next time we're in NYC.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Murray Hill East Hotel

Reviewer score

5
Anonymous
USA
Sep 25, 2007

Just Like Home

The Murray Hill is one GREAT hotel. We loved the location; it was very quiet at night with no sounds of traffic or horns honking. It is very conveniently located near Grand Central, which makes hopping on a subway very easy. There are plenty of places to grab a bite to eat. The room was more than adequate and the kitchen was just the greatest idea. There were three of us and we had plenty of room. I am looking forward to my next trip to New York City and I definitely plan on staying at the Murray Hill Hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Murray Hill East Hotel

Reviewer score

5
food maven
Key West, FL
Jun 25, 2007

Terrific space for the money

I was looking for an apartment situation in midtown and this perfectly suited my needs. Not terribly modern, but the staff was very friendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

You're in the center of Manhattan - total convenience.

Review of Murray Hill East Hotel

Reviewer score

5
Anonymous
Business
London
Jan 17, 2011

Excellent value for money

Great location in Manhattan, only 3 blocks from Grand Central. Lots of restaurants, bars, as you walk out of the hotel. More importantly, close to the UN where my business is. Hotel staff are very friendly, and the rooms are fit for a king - complete with kitchenette, cette, tea-making facility, wireless, ironing board, etc. The price was a steal.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Murray Hill East Hotel

Reviewer score

5
Anonymous
Dallas, TX
Apr 29, 2007

Good Value for Cost

Nice location and clean. No amentities other than the fitness center. But given that very little time was spent in the hotel except to sleep, it was a very nice place for the money.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of Murray Hill East Hotel

Reviewer score

5
Big Dover
Los Angeles, California
Jun 12, 2013

Gigantic Room For Little Money

I loved this place! I was a little worried about this hotel until I checked in. What a great place to stay. The room was huge, one of the largest rooms I have ever stayed in. It was a little dated but who cares, the space was phenominal. I think this is the best value in NYC. Good location nice staff and I have nothing but good things to say about this place. It is a very nice 3 star hotel maybe a low 4 star. I will stay here from now on for every trip to New York.. GREAT GREAT GREAT

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Entertainment tip: Long walk from hotel

See The Book of Mormon! It was my favorite Broadway show ever. One of the funniest shows ever! Do not miss it. It is sold out all the time. However, if you go to the box office, about 2 hours before the show. They have a few seats but always good ones.

Review of Murray Hill East Hotel

Reviewer score

5
Anonymous
San Jose, CA
Jul 13, 2008

great room size

The Murray Hill East Hotel had the best sized rooms compared to other hotels on our trip. Very large... Separate bedroom & kitchen. Great. It was also very quiet, which was much appreciated in New York. The location was great - 3 blocks from Grand Central and the metro, and close to restaurants and shops. Reasonably priced. Very Satisifed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Back to menu Return to top