Murray Hill East Hotel

3 stars
View map of 149 E. 39th St., New York, NY 10016

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Murray Hill East Hotel

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
331 out of 331
Amenities:
3.4
Cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4.1
Comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.1

93% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Murray Hill East Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Gabbijake
Florida, USA
Mar 30, 2012

Individual attention in the Big Apple

From the first contact we had with the doorman to the final contact with a different doorman, our treatment at Murray Hill East was superb! It felt personal but not overwhelming. The suite-style room was great for a grandmother/mother/daughter group. Having the kitchen saved us some money, and the pull-out sofa was actually comfortable as a bed. All the amenities were topnotch

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Sophia's Hispanic cuisine was delicious and very economical and it was just around the corner.

Review of Murray Hill East Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ChrisCrossX
Business
Nottingham
May 28, 2014

Excellent accommodation for friends or family holiday.

Not a hip modern hotel but the Murray Hill has large rooms, very well equipped kitchen and although slightly dated is clean and well maintained. The staff are friendly, helpful and attentive from front of desk and doormen to cleaning staff. I would be happy to return here.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Scotty's Diner on the corner of 39th and Lexington is excellent for breakfasts as healthy or decadent as you want.

Review of Murray Hill East Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
family trip to NY
Business
Chicago, IL
May 27, 2014

family trip

Traveled with small kids; Very basic hotel but clean and great location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Murray Hill East Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
NareshHerndon
Business
Herndon, VA
May 26, 2014

not ok

not great, rooms not clean, towels are dirty. no free water

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Murray Hill East Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
XXYY1
Business
NY
May 26, 2014

family

Good location. Clean, comfortable but no wifi in the room. kitchen is conveniet for a family.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Murray Hill East Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Kenney couple
Business
Alaska
May 19, 2014

Not Bad, Great Location

We enjoyed ourselves at this hotel. The location was great, the price was moderate, the room was quiet and spacious. Some of the amenities were a bit worn, but not bad. We especially enjoyed the service of the door men, who were extremely helpful and pleasant. We would come back here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Park Avenue Tavern had really great burgers and a very sweet receptionist.

Review of Murray Hill East Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Nollie
Business
England
Apr 30, 2014

Suites ideal for family

On arrival we were allocated a room on the ground floor opposite reception. The rooms on this floor and the basement are very dated and our room had all the noise and traffic from the lobby and reception. We immediately asked for another room and were given one on the fifth floor. This room proved ideal for us as a family of four including two teenagers. Suite was much more modern and spotlessly cleaned everyday and we had plenty of room. The hotel has basic amenities but is in an ideal location and we would definitely recommend the 1 bedroom suites for visiting families.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Murray Hill East Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
DC to NY
Business
Washington, DC
Apr 29, 2014

Good location, good size rooms

Not the fanciest of hotels and definitely a bit dated inside the rooms, but I had a corner suite and it was quite large and the location in Murray Hill is very convenient.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Murray Hill East Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jill38
Business
Akron, Ohio
Apr 28, 2014

April 2014

Great location, room was spacious and staff was extremely friendly. I would recommend to all who want to stay slightly off Times Square. Moderately priced dining very close.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Sam's Italian across the street and Black Shack Burger Joint on Lexington at 38th, both were great and inexpensive.

Review of Murray Hill East Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MandyRo
Business
Albany, NY
Apr 28, 2014

Will return whenever in NYC

Doorman was exquisitely helpful. Location is about 3 blocks from grand central station can't be beat. Parking garage available around the block ($25/day when validated at hotel). Room was really large with kitchenette and pull out couch. Bed wasn't that comfy but not bad. Clean. Moderate price--especially compared to others. Can't be beat really.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Diner right up the street was great for breakfast!

Review of Murray Hill East Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Verizon
Business
Boston, Massachusetts
Apr 28, 2014

We enjoyed our stay.

The room was a good size, very quiet and clean. The beds were comfortable and the bathroom was fine. The location was convenient. just a few minutes walk from Grand Central. The lobby was quite small and there was no dining room. However, there was a kitchenette with the room and there were several cafes and restaurants nearby. All in all, the hotel was perfectly adequate and we enjoyed our stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top