Murray Hill East Hotel

3 stars
View map of 149 E. 39th St., New York, NY 10016

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Murray Hill East Hotel

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
331 out of 331
Amenities:
3.4
Cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4.1
Comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.1

93% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Murray Hill East Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Gabbijake
Florida, USA
Mar 30, 2012

Individual attention in the Big Apple

From the first contact we had with the doorman to the final contact with a different doorman, our treatment at Murray Hill East was superb! It felt personal but not overwhelming. The suite-style room was great for a grandmother/mother/daughter group. Having the kitchen saved us some money, and the pull-out sofa was actually comfortable as a bed. All the amenities were topnotch

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Sophia's Hispanic cuisine was delicious and very economical and it was just around the corner.

Review of Murray Hill East Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Teteduvin
Business
Philadelphia, PA
Jun 11, 2014

Cabin Fever

This hotel is so out-dated that I felt as if I was staying at a relative's mountain cottage that was built in the 1940s and not renovated since. It was very convenient for me, but also uncomfortable. Adequate if you are solo and on the fly, but I can't recommend it to anyone.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Murray Hill East Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Samesamedog
Business
New Orleans, LA
Jun 10, 2014

Great Location

Great location and staff on the East Side. Would stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Murray Hill East Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
WashingtonDC Traveler
Business
Washington DC
Jun 9, 2014

Murray Hill East Hotel

The Suites at the Murray East Hotel are very spacious and great if you are planning an extended trip in the city. As other reviewers have noted, the decor is a bit dated and the kitchenettes could benefit from an upgrade. Overall this is great for the price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Murray Hill East Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Beagle 11
Business
Northern Virginia
Jun 8, 2014

Wonderful stay

Incredible value for a stay of more than a couple days as full service suites, big rooms, very comfortable and only a few short blocks to Grand Central station. Would HIGHLY recommend.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Murray Hill East Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
just me and my fam
Business
mass
Jun 8, 2014

good location

All in all we enjoyed our stay just a bit irritated in lac of correct information we were given about our room. Great location

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Great location for entertainment

Review of Murray Hill East Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Coolboy
Business
Los angeles,california
Jun 3, 2014

Perfect hotel

If you are looking for a great hotel with great location stop looking and book this hotel now.everything was so good and we were really happy while leaving the hotel

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Murray Hill East Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
SF traveller5
Business
San Francisco, CA
Jun 2, 2014

Ok hotel, decent value

The location was good. The room was pretty old and wasn't properly cleaned. Overall - it was a decent value.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Gemini diner is excellent and deliver promptly.

Review of Murray Hill East Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
CStroyan
Business
Arizona
Jun 2, 2014

Great value

We stayed at this hotel for 3 nights at just $125/night. Given it's location, that was an absolute steal! Comparable hotels in the area were $350+/night. The staff was hit/miss - most were very friendly and helpful but one of the front desks ladies was somewhat rude. The doormen were all nice and helpful. The rooms were very large and comfortable/clean; definitely outdated but very large and cozy. We stayed in a one king room that had a large, separate living room with another pullout bed and large TV, plus a separate kitchen and bathroom. The kitchen was fairly small but had everything you need (fridge, microwave, stove, pots/pans, etc.). Although this was not a "modern" hotel by any means, I would highly recommend it if you get a good deal. Only a few blocks from Grand Central Station, which made getting around the whole city very easy!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

I would highly recommend the new 9/11 museum. It was definitely heartbreaking to see, but a great tribute to all of the victims of the attacks and well worth the money to see. Just a short walk to Grand Central Station and a quick subway trip right down to the memorial.

Review of Murray Hill East Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
BuckyLoki
Business
Philadelphia, PA
Jun 1, 2014

Perfect Location

Near the Grand Central Station. Nice gentle doormen!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Murray Hill East Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Happy Brazilian Mom
Business
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
May 30, 2014

Great Size Apartment

I was surprised by the size of the apartment, with kitchen, great size living room and great size bedroom. The beds were comfort too and the location was great, quiet and at the same time close to restaurants and museums. The only issue was the cleanliness, my apartment kitchen still had trash on the trash can and the refrigerator had a bottle of milk.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Eataly

Back to menu Return to top