Rate based on Check-in: Apr 28, 2014 Check-out: Apr 29, 2014

Murray Hill East Hotel

3 stars
149 E. 39th St., New York, NY 10016
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
248 reviews
The best for a good nights sleep.

My girlfriend and I had a great experience here! We had been visiting New York to see friends and... See full review

  • Mikey17
  • Apr 10, 2014
Loved it

Great location and easy walk to multiple dining opportunities and sight seeing. Very clean and... See full review

  • Pisca
  • Apr 6, 2014
All-suite hotel close to Grand Central and the Empire State Building
Space is the name of the game at this 14-story Murray Hill hotel. All rooms are suites with full kitchens, so guests have plenty of room to spread out. The hotel has a fitness center and offers free Wi-Fi in the lobby. The location is near the Empire State Building and Grand Central and convenient to Midtown businesses and tourist attractions.
Highlights
  • All-suite hotel with kitchens
  • Quiet Murray Hill location
  • Close to Grand Central and Bryant Park
Location

The hotel is a short walk from Grand Central Terminal, Bryant Park, the Empire State Building and the United Nations. Fifth Avenue is just four blocks away.

Rooms

The 118 rooms are all suites with full kitchens. Microwaves and toasters are available upon request. All suites have dining tables and desks. Junior and one-bedroom suites also have sofa beds. Expect patterned bedspreads and curtains, dark carpeting and upholstered furniture. Rooms have cable TV, and Wi-Fi (fees apply) is available.

Features

Guest can take advantage of free Wi-Fi in the lobby. The fitness center is open daily from 6 a.m. to 10 p.m. The hotel is affiliated with a self-park parking garage around the corner (fees apply).

Dining

Travelers have a wide variety of dining options close to the hotel. The lower level of Grand Central Terminal boasts a large food court with options ranging from Jamaican cuisine to barbecue to specialty cupcakes.

Transportation
  • MTA Subway 4, 5, 6 lines Grand Central - Lexington (0.2 mi/ 0.32 km)
  • Grand Central Terminal (0.3 mi/ 0.5 km)
  • Penn Station (0.9 mi/ 1.5 km)
  • La Guardia Airport
  • Newark Liberty International Airport
  • John F. Kennedy Airport
Attractions
  • Times Square (1.1 mi/ 1.77 km)
  • Rockefeller Center (0.9 mi/ 1.45 km)
  • United Nations (0.6 mi/ 0.97 km)
  • Central Park (1.5 mi/ 2.41 km)
  • Empire State Building (0.6 mi/ 0.97 km)
  • Javits Convention Center (1.6 mi/ 2.57 km)

Murray Hill East Hotel Rooms

One Bedroom Suite
Full One Bedroom Suite with either a king or two double beds, separate living room with a queen sofa bed, fully equipped kitchen, full bathroom, dining table, desk, dresser and cable television.
Studio Suite
Features one king, one queen or two double beds, a fully equipped kitchen, full bathroom, dining table, desk, dresser and cable television.
Junior Suite
Features and L-shaped room with a queen bed in the bedroom and a pull out queen sofa bed in the living room, a fully equipped kitchen, full bathroom, dining table, desk, dresser and cable television.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Dining
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Murray Hill East Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

Hotel Map

40.7493 -73.977
Area served
New York, NY, within walking distance of Grand Central Station
Nearby airports
La Guardia Airport - LGA and John F. Kennedy International Airport -JFK, Newark Liberty Airport EWR
Area description
Located near the Empire State Building, United Nations, Central Park, Theater District, Garment District, Grand Central Terminal and Rockefeller Center.

Nearby points of interest

  • Daily News Building: 0.2 mi
  • Murray Hill: 0.2 mi
  • Chrysler Building: 0.2 mi
  • Pierpont Morgan Library: 0.2 mi
  • Grand Central Station: 0.3 mi
  • MetLife Building: 0.3 mi
  • American Academy of Dramatic Arts: 0.3 mi
  • NY Public Library: 0.3 mi
  • Lord & Taylor: 0.4 mi
  • Ralph Bunche Park: 0.4 mi
  • Tudor City: 0.4 mi
  • Robert Moses Playground: 0.4 mi
  • Century Building: 0.5 mi
  • The King's College: 0.5 mi
  • Bryant Park: 0.5 mi
  • Daily News Building: 0.2 mi
  • Murray Hill: 0.2 mi
  • Chrysler Building: 0.2 mi
  • Pierpont Morgan Library: 0.2 mi
  • Grand Central Station: 0.3 mi
  • MetLife Building: 0.3 mi
  • American Academy of Dramatic Arts: 0.3 mi
  • NY Public Library: 0.3 mi
  • Lord & Taylor: 0.4 mi
  • Ralph Bunche Park: 0.4 mi
  • Tudor City: 0.4 mi
  • Robert Moses Playground: 0.4 mi
  • Century Building: 0.5 mi
  • The King's College: 0.5 mi
  • Bryant Park: 0.5 mi
  • United Nations Headquarters: 0.5 mi
  • Japan Society Gallery: 0.5 mi
  • Chester A. Arthur Home: 0.5 mi
  • East 34th Street Heliport: 0.5 mi
  • Koreatown, Manhattan: 0.5 mi
  • Ford Foundation Building: 0.5 mi
  • Bank of America Tower: 0.6 mi
  • Herald Square: 0.6 mi
  • East Side: 0.6 mi
  • Saks Fifth Avenue: 0.6 mi
  • Belasco Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Diamond District: 0.6 mi
  • International Building: 0.6 mi
  • Town Hall: 0.6 mi
  • Stephen Sondheim Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Nintendo World Store New Yok: 0.6 mi
  • Manhattan Mall: 0.6 mi
  • NBC Studios: 0.6 mi
  • Cathedral of St. Patrick: 0.6 mi
  • Macys: 0.6 mi
  • Condé Nast Building: 0.6 mi
  • Rockefeller Center: 0.7 mi
  • Lower Plaza: 0.7 mi
  • GE Building: 0.7 mi
  • Theater District: 0.7 mi
  • Lyceum Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Citicorp Center: 0.7 mi
  • Radio City Music Hall: 0.7 mi
  • School of Visual Arts: 0.7 mi
  • Nederlander Theatre: 0.7 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1400
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (248)

Ratings and reviews for Murray Hill East Hotel

Overall score

4 / 5
248 out of 248
Amenities:
3.4
Room cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.1

93% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Murray Hill East Hotel

Reviewer score

5
Gabbijake
Florida, USA
Mar 30, 2012

Individual attention in the Big Apple

From the first contact we had with the doorman to the final contact with a different doorman, our treatment at Murray Hill East was superb! It felt personal but not overwhelming. The suite-style room was great for a grandmother/mother/daughter group. Having the kitchen saved us some money, and the pull-out sofa was actually comfortable as a bed. All the amenities were topnotch

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Sophia's Hispanic cuisine was delicious and very economical and it was just around the corner.

Review of Murray Hill East Hotel

Reviewer score

3
Robreviewer
Palm Springs, CA
Oct 3, 2012

Positive Experience

I chose this hotel because of price and location. I was pleasantly surprised by the value I got for the price. The suite was well laid out and had a nice view. The staff was friendly and helpful. It was not necessary to run air-conditioning as the windows opened easily, and so we were not bothered by excessive noise. The only negative is that, while the maid service did take care to clean the room, the overall appearance of the room needs freshening -- one cannot be certain that he/she is sitting on clean furniture. For example, we spread the bedspread over the couch before utilizing it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Murray Hill East Hotel

Reviewer score

4
susieq13
United Kingdom
Sep 25, 2012

Great Location

Had an upgrade to Penthouse wow, staff were helpful but needed to smile more, great value not far from Grand Central which helped us get our sense of direction, Rooms were large with cooking facilties if needed. A great stay thank you all.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Time-saving tip: In Hotel

Give yourself plenty of time to get to JFK, it took us 2 hours to get to JFK. Give the driver a decent tip as some will not go to JFK, we missed out on our duty frees.

Review of Murray Hill East Hotel

Reviewer score

4
Yossarian
Business
Phoenix, Az
Sep 21, 2012

Great size room for the city

This is perfect for a family vacation in the city. Large rooms and 2 minutes from Grand Central.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Murray Hill East Hotel

Reviewer score

3
jm LDN
UK
Sep 15, 2012

Great location

The Hotel was situated in Midtown which was great as Grand Central Station was just a few minutes away to get either uptown or downtown. The decor and funishings are in need of a dire refurb and they need to get rid of the mice as well !!! we had to move rooms because of the mice problem - they just wanted to put mice traps down and leave it at that, but after some discussion they gave us a room change. NOT AN IDEAL SITUATION REALLY....

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Murray Hill East Hotel

Reviewer score

4
pierreyves
australia
Sep 12, 2012

comfortable accommodation

Not the newest hotel I have ever been to but comfortable enough. I knew that the wifi in the rooms was not free in the rooms when I booked but was free in the quite small lobby area. I would recommend to the hotel that they include the wifi in the rooms even if this increases the hotel rate by $7 per night. If you are booking a hotel in New York no one is likely to notice this small increase. If asked about what was in the area the staff were knowledgable. I would have thought that they could take it upon themselves to mention that there was for example a large supermarket not far away and reliable laundry services close by. Given these are self catering apartments, I would have thought that most patrons would appreciate.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Larger supermarket with cheaper prices and larger range. Only found this on the last day of a week long stay. From Hotel walk down 39th towards HSBC and turn right before crossing the road. It's about 50m

Review of Murray Hill East Hotel

Reviewer score

3
Barmashter
Puerto Rico
Sep 11, 2012

very centric

its appearance is somewhat dated, its location is very central, friendly staff, the kitchenette is a plus. helps you to save on some breakfast and dinner, if the journey is long as I did. Sure i will stay at this hotel again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Grand Central is 5 mins walking distance!

Review of Murray Hill East Hotel

Reviewer score

3
felixcattus
Business
Marlton NJ
Sep 6, 2012

Perfect for the price

It's obvious this used to be an apartment complex with rooms as large as a one-bedroom apartment. My room had a full kitchen w/ fridge, stove, cabinets, a family room, 2 TVs (one in the bedroom and one in the family room) and a full closet. For the price I paid, it was certainly more space than I expected. The room had a smell though and the shower was a little like taking a shower at my grandmom's. Definitely a great place if you just need a cheap place to crash in NYC for the night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Murray Hill East Hotel

Reviewer score

4
Chris Traveller
Boston, MA
Sep 4, 2012

City Fun

It was in a good location for a good price and it was just what we needed. Very comfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of Murray Hill East Hotel

Reviewer score

5
LizZielouloves NYC
Uk
Aug 30, 2012

City break with teens

Great location for new York sightseeing. We got to top of the rock,ferry,9/11 memorial and the Yankees stadium easily by subway and walking.room was comfy with 2 big beds for teen boys and a good sofa bed for us. ,kitchen very useful. Good value for money as well.try the local delis for wide range of great food.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Grand central - get a metro card for $ 10 in advance -4 trips on subway.

Review of Murray Hill East Hotel

Reviewer score

4
Pacho
Prague, CR
Aug 20, 2012

Good Hotel, a bit dated.

We book a Jr. Suite as we have a family with 2 kids. Space was good, for NYC standards. Location is very good and Staff is helpful. The hotel is clean and Housekeeping is good. Only issue is that hotel is old and in need of some refurbishing. We had a small kitchennette that was not very inviting, as it was old and dark.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Back to menu Return to top