Murray Hill East Hotel

3 stars
View map of 149 E. 39th St., New York, NY 10016

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Murray Hill East Hotel

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
331 out of 331
Amenities:
3.4
Cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4.1
Comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.1

93% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Murray Hill East Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Eddie T.
Los Angeles, California
Apr 28, 2012

Perfect Location - Worth it for Price

Although it is a bit pricey for the quality you're getting, you have to realize that you're staying in a great location! Only a few minutes away from Grand Central in Manhattan is money! Stayed here for New Year's. The staff was VERY friendly. Hotel was great!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Murray Hill East Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
NFSHRI
Business
San José, CA USA
Aug 24, 2014

Ordinary dull hotel

This Hotel is located in an old building with uncomfortable beds, and requires major renovation. It's location is O.K. and staff are not that friendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Murray Hill East Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Love the Big Apple
Business
Kensington, CA.
Aug 22, 2014

A nice comfortable hotel

Murray Hill East Hotel is centrally located in mid- town Manhattan with easy access to most attractions in the City. The junior suite was clean, roomy and tidy, and the little kitchen served our needs for breakfast, snacks and drinks. Staff was helpful and responsive.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Murray Hill East Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Garage56
Business
Earth
Aug 22, 2014

Lots of space in NYC

This is probably the biggest hotel room I've had in NY, and for not a ton of money. A little kitchen, sofa, table, it was great. If I was staying for more than a few nights, this would have been even more amazing. Good location a few blocks from Grand Central, and near a ton of great restaurants (though that's true of anywhere in NY, really...). I'd stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Murray Hill East Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
RayZhang
Business
Hamilton, Canada
Aug 21, 2014

A nice place to stay

It is really a nice place to stay. The only thing annoying me was the noise outside due to some road construction.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Murray Hill East Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Rocky One
Business
Vancouver, BC, Canada
Aug 20, 2014

affordable and convenient

First the good. The hotel is only two blocks away from The nonstop express shuttle to and from LaGuardia. $12.50 each way. This is the bargain of the century. From our hotel room to our gate at LaGuardia airport took us a total of 37 minutes Sunday morning. The hotel is fairly conveniently located in Midtown, about a 15 minute walk to Times Square. It lies in the shadows of the Chrysler building to the north and the Empire State building to the south. there is an excellent fast food Cuban deli/Panini Café directly across the street. Nearby third Avenue has lots of small one-off shops and restaurants. The hotel is quite dated with fixtures in dire need of refurbishment. However, the rooms are large and very quiet. The hotel is not particularly tall and it never takes long to call an elevator. The hotel provides only skimpy and cheap towel service and toiletries. I would advise bring your own.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Murray Hill East Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Frank Liu
Business
Santa Clara, California
Aug 19, 2014

Enjoyed the stay

The location is close to many places I wanted to visit: Time Square, UN, Grand Central, Empire State, ... and the price is very affordable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Murray Hill East Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Rquinn
Business
Stamford ct
Aug 18, 2014

Excellent

.3 miles from grand central and the cheapest price around. We got upgraded to two king size suites. Didn't even realize there was a full kitchen until the second morning. Great place to stay

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Murray Hill East Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Dra. Sharon
Business
Maryland
Aug 12, 2014

Stopover in New York City

Great! An excellent value. We didn't utilize the kitchen--which saves a lot of money on meals, but it was well outfitted--much like an extended-stay facility. There was no restaurant/bar, but in NYC that's always just around a corner. The staff was terrific! It's a great value and we would definitely stay there again at that price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Long walk from hotel

Not a really long walk, but you can get from the theatre district/Times Square easily.

Review of Murray Hill East Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Sunshine402492390
Business
Philadelphia, PA
Aug 11, 2014

Average room for one night

There was nothing special about the place, was just conveniently located and I stayed for one night which was okay. The room could have been cleaner but was nothing special.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Murray Hill East Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Tim N.
Business
Clearwater, FL
Aug 4, 2014

Great Location, Very Friendly

This spot was perfect for us. The primary mode of transportation in NYC is walking and this hotel was just a few steps from Grand Central Station, the Chrysler building, and a great variety of nice restaurants.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

We drove into NYC and were able to drop our Avis rental car just a short walk away. No sense in paying for the car and parking charges when so much (including Grand Central) is within walking distance.

Back to menu Return to top