Rate based on Check-in: Aug 10, 2014 Check-out: Aug 11, 2014

Murray Hill East Hotel

3 stars
149 E. 39th St., New York, NY 10016
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
410 reviews
Best stay in NYC ever

Really pleased with everything. It surpassed all my expectations. See full review

  • Fort Wayne moms
  • Jul 17, 2014
Loved this hotel

Like all the other reviewers, this hotel is awesome. It's huge by NYC standards. We stayed in a... See full review

  • Fort Wayne moms
  • Jul 16, 2014
All-suite hotel close to Grand Central and the Empire State Building
Space is the name of the game at this 14-story Murray Hill hotel. All rooms are suites with full kitchens, so guests have plenty of room to spread out. The hotel has a fitness center and offers free Wi-Fi in the lobby. The location is near the Empire State Building and Grand Central and convenient to Midtown businesses and tourist attractions.
Highlights
  • All-suite hotel with kitchens
  • Quiet Murray Hill location
  • Close to Grand Central and Bryant Park
Location

The hotel is a short walk from Grand Central Terminal, Bryant Park, the Empire State Building and the United Nations. Fifth Avenue is just four blocks away.

Rooms

The 118 rooms are all suites with full kitchens. Microwaves and toasters are available upon request. All suites have dining tables and desks. Junior and one-bedroom suites also have sofa beds. Expect patterned bedspreads and curtains, dark carpeting and upholstered furniture. Rooms have cable TV, and Wi-Fi (fees apply) is available.

Features

Guest can take advantage of free Wi-Fi in the lobby. The fitness center is open daily from 6 a.m. to 10 p.m. The hotel is affiliated with a self-park parking garage around the corner (fees apply).

Dining

Travelers have a wide variety of dining options close to the hotel. The lower level of Grand Central Terminal boasts a large food court with options ranging from Jamaican cuisine to barbecue to specialty cupcakes.

Transportation
  • MTA Subway 4, 5, 6 lines Grand Central - Lexington (0.2 mi/ 0.32 km)
  • Grand Central Terminal (0.3 mi/ 0.5 km)
  • Penn Station (0.9 mi/ 1.5 km)
  • La Guardia Airport
  • Newark Liberty International Airport
  • John F. Kennedy Airport
Attractions
  • Times Square (1.1 mi/ 1.77 km)
  • Rockefeller Center (0.9 mi/ 1.45 km)
  • United Nations (0.6 mi/ 0.97 km)
  • Central Park (1.5 mi/ 2.41 km)
  • Empire State Building (0.6 mi/ 0.97 km)
  • Javits Convention Center (1.6 mi/ 2.57 km)

Murray Hill East Hotel Rooms

One Bedroom Suite
Full One Bedroom Suite with either a king or two double beds, separate living room with a queen sofa bed, fully equipped kitchen, full bathroom, dining table, desk, dresser and cable television.
Studio Suite
Features one king, one queen or two double beds, a fully equipped kitchen, full bathroom, dining table, desk, dresser and cable television.
Junior Suite
Features and L-shaped room with a queen bed in the bedroom and a pull out queen sofa bed in the living room, a fully equipped kitchen, full bathroom, dining table, desk, dresser and cable television.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Dining
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Murray Hill East Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

Hotel Map

40.7493 -73.977
Area served
New York, NY, within walking distance of Grand Central Station
Nearby airports
La Guardia Airport - LGA and John F. Kennedy International Airport -JFK, Newark Liberty Airport EWR
Area description
Located near the Empire State Building, United Nations, Central Park, Theater District, Garment District, Grand Central Terminal and Rockefeller Center.

Nearby points of interest

  • Daily News Building: 0.2 mi
  • Murray Hill: 0.2 mi
  • Chrysler Building: 0.2 mi
  • Pierpont Morgan Library: 0.2 mi
  • Grand Central Station: 0.3 mi
  • MetLife Building: 0.3 mi
  • American Academy of Dramatic Arts: 0.3 mi
  • NY Public Library: 0.3 mi
  • Lord & Taylor: 0.4 mi
  • Ralph Bunche Park: 0.4 mi
  • Tudor City: 0.4 mi
  • Robert Moses Playground: 0.4 mi
  • Century Building: 0.5 mi
  • The King's College: 0.5 mi
  • Bryant Park: 0.5 mi
  • Daily News Building: 0.2 mi
  • Murray Hill: 0.2 mi
  • Chrysler Building: 0.2 mi
  • Pierpont Morgan Library: 0.2 mi
  • Grand Central Station: 0.3 mi
  • MetLife Building: 0.3 mi
  • American Academy of Dramatic Arts: 0.3 mi
  • NY Public Library: 0.3 mi
  • Lord & Taylor: 0.4 mi
  • Ralph Bunche Park: 0.4 mi
  • Tudor City: 0.4 mi
  • Robert Moses Playground: 0.4 mi
  • Century Building: 0.5 mi
  • The King's College: 0.5 mi
  • Bryant Park: 0.5 mi
  • United Nations Headquarters: 0.5 mi
  • Japan Society Gallery: 0.5 mi
  • Chester A. Arthur Home: 0.5 mi
  • East 34th Street Heliport: 0.5 mi
  • Koreatown, Manhattan: 0.5 mi
  • Ford Foundation Building: 0.5 mi
  • Bank of America Tower: 0.6 mi
  • Herald Square: 0.6 mi
  • East Side: 0.6 mi
  • Saks Fifth Avenue: 0.6 mi
  • Belasco Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Diamond District: 0.6 mi
  • International Building: 0.6 mi
  • Town Hall: 0.6 mi
  • Stephen Sondheim Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Nintendo World Store New Yok: 0.6 mi
  • Manhattan Mall: 0.6 mi
  • NBC Studios: 0.6 mi
  • Cathedral of St. Patrick: 0.6 mi
  • Macys: 0.6 mi
  • Condé Nast Building: 0.6 mi
  • Rockefeller Center: 0.7 mi
  • Lower Plaza: 0.7 mi
  • GE Building: 0.7 mi
  • Theater District: 0.7 mi
  • Lyceum Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Citicorp Center: 0.7 mi
  • Radio City Music Hall: 0.7 mi
  • School of Visual Arts: 0.7 mi
  • Nederlander Theatre: 0.7 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1400
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (410)

Ratings and reviews for Murray Hill East Hotel

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
410 out of 410
Amenities:
3.3
Room cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.5
Value:
4

93% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Murray Hill East Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Macca1
Sao Paulo - São Paulo, Brazil
Dec 29, 2011

Clean, Comfortable & Central

2 rooms and family of five. Comfortable and centrally located. Kitchenette in rooms was a great feature. Staff were quite good though we received no assistance with our six cases upon arrival which was disappointing and alarming - however the rest of the stay we were treated with courteousy

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Murray Hill East Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
manhattan mum
Clearwater, FL, USA
Dec 27, 2011

Great location, very spacious, and friendly staff.

Relaxing and the staff were very accommodating. Great to have a kitchen and a very large, comfortable room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Murray Hill East Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Ge Ge
Pittsburgh, PA
Dec 22, 2011

Great Hotel

I did not know what to expect from the Murry Hill East Hotel, and am pleasantly surprised how pleasant it was. The suite was clean and spacious, close to restaurants, super markets, cabs, and museums. I t was equivalent of having a spacious apartment in a very safe and beautiful part of New York. I highly recommend this hotel for families. We would not consider staying anywhere else. We definitely lan to return to this hotel next year!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Stack up on great food for the kitchen anywhere on Third or Lexington Ave. It is great to have a snack at night.!

Review of Murray Hill East Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Cottofan
Dallas, TX, USA
Dec 20, 2011

Decent

Over all the place is big bigger then what you would expect from a NYC hotel it is outdated and needs a update to the rooms but you will be surprised at how big it is close by to FED EX and a UPS store and there are some eatery's and CVS and Wal-Greens near by like a block away I would like to see the place cleaned up and the Elevator is slow but I did not stay in the room as I was there for an event I really used it to sleep but the place is way bigger and I have stayed in NYC 3 times now and that was the biggest hotel room I have stayed in but the place needs a update but not bad and they cleaned the rooms everyday while I was there if you stay go to Wharfs bar near by good prices

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Wharfs sports bar

Review of Murray Hill East Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
barbaraboop
andes, ny
Dec 20, 2011

bboop

I think the front desk is very efficient and some of the staff are just a little bit more helpful than the others but they all seem to care. The newer televisions are great but there still are too few channels to pick from.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of Murray Hill East Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
The Doughtys
Pontefract, West Yorkshire, UK
Dec 9, 2011

Family Getaway

Overall the hotel was well worth the money paid (£140 per night), we were a bit nervous after reading reviews of old furniture, wallpaper dropping off walls,etc but the room was extremely comfortable, clean and more than adequate. We had a room with a view of the Empire State and the were within 10 minutes walk of Times Square. Would definitely stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

2 minute walk to Grand Central, then shuttle to Times Square. Purchase Metro weekly ticket at $29 - bargain

Review of Murray Hill East Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Hagar
Amherst Junction, WI, USA
Oct 20, 2011

Very Satisfied!

We really enjoyed the location! Three blocks from Grand Central. Wonderful deli on the way called DelMonico's. Bathroom tiny but clean and remodeled. Room was larger than most hotel rooms. Didn't use the kitchen, but it would be convenient for families. Probably won't return to New York, but would definitely stay here again if we did!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Murray Hill East Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Los Angeles, CA, USA
Sep 27, 2011

Nice and Comfortable

We were on the 7th floor. We had a 1- bedroom suite to sleep 3 people. It had a fully equipped kitchen too. It was very nice and comfortable. Good sized, and we didn't have to ask for anything. All the staff were very helpful and made our little trip very pleasant. We stayed for 3 nights. The only thing that was missing was an in-house restaurant. The nearest diner is half a block away but they do deliver. Overall it was great and I would stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
3
Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

Bring good walking shoes because you will do a lot of walking. The subway is hot and humid and requires a lot of going up and down stairs. Another thing to be prepared for is they charge top dollar for everything in Manhattan! For the Empire State Bldg, it cost $22.00 per person to go up. And if you plan on visiting Ground Zero, you have to get a pass a day in advance. You can only get a pass by going on the internet and downloading one and printing it out. And it must be at least 24 hours in advance. You cannot get one and visit the same day. I also heard they are going to start charging for that too!

Review of Murray Hill East Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Los Angeles, CA, USA
Sep 27, 2011

Nice and Comfortable

We were on the 7th floor. We had a 1- bedroom suite to sleep 3 people. It had a fully equipped kitchen too. It was very nice and comfortable. Good sized, and we didn't have to ask for anything. All the staff were very helpful and made our little trip very pleasant. We stayed for 3 nights. The only thing that was missing was an in-house restaurant. The nearest diner is half a block away but they do deliver. Overall it was great and I would stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
3
Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

Bring good walking shoes because you will do a lot of walking. The subway is hot and humid and requires a lot of going up and down stairs. Another thing to be prepared for is they charge top dollar for everything in Manhattan! For the Empire State Bldg, it cost $22.00 per person to go up. And if you plan on visiting Ground Zero, you have to get a pass a day in advance. You can only get a pass by going on the internet and downloading one and printing it out. And it must be at least 24 hours in advance. You cannot get one and visit the same day. I also heard they are going to start charging for that too!

Review of Murray Hill East Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Ljubljana
Jul 30, 2011

It was ok

We were traveling on our own without travel agency and we stayed at Murray Hill Hotel just for one night. + Location, equipment, staff - no free wireless in room But as I said before, we stayed at this location just for one night so we can not judge it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Back to menu Return to top