Murray Hill East Hotel

3 stars
View map of 149 E. 39th St., New York, NY 10016

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Murray Hill East Hotel

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
331 out of 331
Amenities:
3.4
Cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4.1
Comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.1

93% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Murray Hill East Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Chris Traveller
Business
Boston, MA
Sep 4, 2012

City Fun

It was in a good location for a good price and it was just what we needed. Very comfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Murray Hill East Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
LizZielouloves NYC
Business
Uk
Aug 30, 2012

City break with teens

Great location for new York sightseeing. We got to top of the rock,ferry,9/11 memorial and the Yankees stadium easily by subway and walking.room was comfy with 2 big beds for teen boys and a good sofa bed for us. ,kitchen very useful. Good value for money as well.try the local delis for wide range of great food.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Grand central - get a metro card for $ 10 in advance -4 trips on subway.

Review of Murray Hill East Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Pacho
Business
Prague, CR
Aug 20, 2012

Good Hotel, a bit dated.

We book a Jr. Suite as we have a family with 2 kids. Space was good, for NYC standards. Location is very good and Staff is helpful. The hotel is clean and Housekeeping is good. Only issue is that hotel is old and in need of some refurbishing. We had a small kitchennette that was not very inviting, as it was old and dark.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Murray Hill East Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Coyote99
Business
Dallas TX
Aug 18, 2012

First trip to New York

We booked for price and got much more. The staff was GREAT. Thr suite was more than enough space. The kitchen was wonderful. We could walk and site see with no problems. Times square was just a short walk and we enjoyed the sites o the way. LOL the food in Harlem was Great...but go early the cabs were hard to find after a late dinner, but ask the host and they will point out a towncar for you.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Murray Hill East Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Coyote99
Business
Dallas TX
Aug 8, 2012

Nice

The room was one of the larges room I every stayed over in a hotel. The lobby was small but had free Internet. No restroom in the lobby if you plan on sharing the room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Long walk from hotel

Plan all of your entertainment location before you arrive.

Review of Murray Hill East Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
n. dread
Business
indianapolis, IN
Jul 20, 2012

big room for the city

Nice hotel. Spacious room. Decor could use an update.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Murray Hill East Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
New York groupie
Business
Newport News, VA
Jul 15, 2012

New York Getaway

The staff was always pleasant and helpful. The room was very clean and we really enjoyed the 1 bedroom suite. It was great that we didn't have to sit on the bed all of the time. The location was fine, but it was a little involved to get to the other side of town. We would recomend it to anyone planning on a trip to NYC!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

Make sure that you give yourself plenty of time to get to anywhere. If you take a taxi you will be fine, but the subway does take a while.

Review of Murray Hill East Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JADeSantis
Business
Alabama
Jul 13, 2012

Great stay

The hotel was very clean and comfortable. The location was also good. The staff was very friendly and helpful. It was a very enjoyable 2 days.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Short walk to Grand Central and many other sights & restaurants.

Review of Murray Hill East Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
bejamin
Business
las vegas, nv.
Jul 10, 2012

good value

satisfied ; good value; employees helpful; location good

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

bagel shop good deal for breakfast..lunch.....a block further also very good deli and breakfast buffet good seating 2nd floor reasonable pricing, good quality

Review of Murray Hill East Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
speeso
Business
doylestown,pa.
Jul 10, 2012

we had great family getaway

i called to request a room with two beds-said they wernt sure.when we got there they had upgraded us to a 2br 2bath penthouse suite with an exterior brick patio!!the hotel is old but it was clean and in a nice area.i would stay there again

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top