Rate based on Check-in: Aug 24, 2014 Check-out: Aug 25, 2014

Murray Hill East Hotel

3 stars
149 E. 39th St., New York, NY 10016
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
335 reviews
Excellent

.3 miles from grand central and the cheapest price around. We got upgraded to two king size suites.... See full review

  • Rquinn
  • Aug 18, 2014
Best stay in NYC ever

Really pleased with everything. It surpassed all my expectations. See full review

  • Fort Wayne moms
  • Jul 17, 2014
All-suite hotel close to Grand Central and the Empire State Building
Space is the name of the game at this 14-story Murray Hill hotel. All rooms are suites with full kitchens, so guests have plenty of room to spread out. The hotel has a fitness center and offers free Wi-Fi in the lobby. The location is near the Empire State Building and Grand Central and convenient to Midtown businesses and tourist attractions.
Highlights
  • All-suite hotel with kitchens
  • Quiet Murray Hill location
  • Close to Grand Central and Bryant Park
Location

The hotel is a short walk from Grand Central Terminal, Bryant Park, the Empire State Building and the United Nations. Fifth Avenue is just four blocks away.

Rooms

The 118 rooms are all suites with full kitchens. Microwaves and toasters are available upon request. All suites have dining tables and desks. Junior and one-bedroom suites also have sofa beds. Expect patterned bedspreads and curtains, dark carpeting and upholstered furniture. Rooms have cable TV, and Wi-Fi (fees apply) is available.

Features

Guest can take advantage of free Wi-Fi in the lobby. The fitness center is open daily from 6 a.m. to 10 p.m. The hotel is affiliated with a self-park parking garage around the corner (fees apply).

Dining

Travelers have a wide variety of dining options close to the hotel. The lower level of Grand Central Terminal boasts a large food court with options ranging from Jamaican cuisine to barbecue to specialty cupcakes.

Transportation
  • MTA Subway 4, 5, 6 lines Grand Central - Lexington (0.2 mi/ 0.32 km)
  • Grand Central Terminal (0.3 mi/ 0.5 km)
  • Penn Station (0.9 mi/ 1.5 km)
  • La Guardia Airport
  • Newark Liberty International Airport
  • John F. Kennedy Airport
Attractions
  • Times Square (1.1 mi/ 1.77 km)
  • Rockefeller Center (0.9 mi/ 1.45 km)
  • United Nations (0.6 mi/ 0.97 km)
  • Central Park (1.5 mi/ 2.41 km)
  • Empire State Building (0.6 mi/ 0.97 km)
  • Javits Convention Center (1.6 mi/ 2.57 km)

Murray Hill East Hotel Rooms

One Bedroom Suite
Full One Bedroom Suite with either a king or two double beds, separate living room with a queen sofa bed, fully equipped kitchen, full bathroom, dining table, desk, dresser and cable television.
Studio Suite
Features one king, one queen or two double beds, a fully equipped kitchen, full bathroom, dining table, desk, dresser and cable television.
Junior Suite
Features and L-shaped room with a queen bed in the bedroom and a pull out queen sofa bed in the living room, a fully equipped kitchen, full bathroom, dining table, desk, dresser and cable television.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Dining
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Murray Hill East Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

Hotel Map

40.7493 -73.977
Area served
New York, NY, within walking distance of Grand Central Station
Nearby airports
La Guardia Airport - LGA and John F. Kennedy International Airport -JFK, Newark Liberty Airport EWR
Area description
Located near the Empire State Building, United Nations, Central Park, Theater District, Garment District, Grand Central Terminal and Rockefeller Center.

Nearby points of interest

  • Daily News Building: 0.2 mi
  • Murray Hill: 0.2 mi
  • Chrysler Building: 0.2 mi
  • Pierpont Morgan Library: 0.2 mi
  • Grand Central Station: 0.3 mi
  • MetLife Building: 0.3 mi
  • American Academy of Dramatic Arts: 0.3 mi
  • NY Public Library: 0.3 mi
  • Lord & Taylor: 0.4 mi
  • Ralph Bunche Park: 0.4 mi
  • Tudor City: 0.4 mi
  • Robert Moses Playground: 0.4 mi
  • Century Building: 0.5 mi
  • The King's College: 0.5 mi
  • Bryant Park: 0.5 mi
  • Daily News Building: 0.2 mi
  • Murray Hill: 0.2 mi
  • Chrysler Building: 0.2 mi
  • Pierpont Morgan Library: 0.2 mi
  • Grand Central Station: 0.3 mi
  • MetLife Building: 0.3 mi
  • American Academy of Dramatic Arts: 0.3 mi
  • NY Public Library: 0.3 mi
  • Lord & Taylor: 0.4 mi
  • Ralph Bunche Park: 0.4 mi
  • Tudor City: 0.4 mi
  • Robert Moses Playground: 0.4 mi
  • Century Building: 0.5 mi
  • The King's College: 0.5 mi
  • Bryant Park: 0.5 mi
  • United Nations Headquarters: 0.5 mi
  • Japan Society Gallery: 0.5 mi
  • Chester A. Arthur Home: 0.5 mi
  • East 34th Street Heliport: 0.5 mi
  • Koreatown, Manhattan: 0.5 mi
  • Ford Foundation Building: 0.5 mi
  • Bank of America Tower: 0.6 mi
  • Herald Square: 0.6 mi
  • East Side: 0.6 mi
  • Saks Fifth Avenue: 0.6 mi
  • Belasco Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Diamond District: 0.6 mi
  • International Building: 0.6 mi
  • Town Hall: 0.6 mi
  • Stephen Sondheim Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Nintendo World Store New Yok: 0.6 mi
  • Manhattan Mall: 0.6 mi
  • NBC Studios: 0.6 mi
  • Cathedral of St. Patrick: 0.6 mi
  • Macys: 0.6 mi
  • Condé Nast Building: 0.6 mi
  • Rockefeller Center: 0.7 mi
  • Lower Plaza: 0.7 mi
  • GE Building: 0.7 mi
  • Theater District: 0.7 mi
  • Lyceum Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Citicorp Center: 0.7 mi
  • Radio City Music Hall: 0.7 mi
  • School of Visual Arts: 0.7 mi
  • Nederlander Theatre: 0.7 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1400
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (335)

Ratings and reviews for Murray Hill East Hotel

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
335 out of 335
Amenities:
3.4
Room cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.4
Value:
4.1

93% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Murray Hill East Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Linda Anderson
Business
Royal Oak, Michigan
Jun 18, 2012

Always a Great Stay!!

I have stayed many times at this hotel and always have an enjoyable stay. The rooms are very clean and spacious which is a find in New York where rooms are generally small. The full kitchen is an added bonus and the location can't be topped for getting anywhere in Manhattan.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Sam's Place right across the street for fabulous and authentic Italian. Reasonably priced and great ambiance!

Review of Murray Hill East Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
steviegia
Business
Warner Robins, Ga
Jun 18, 2012

Convenient Manhatten Location

I went to NYC for a one week class and the hotel was conveniently located at Lexington and 39th on the east side. The rooms were spacious and well laid out with a great little kitchen, outfitted with pots, pans, and silverware. It would have been nice to be able to enjoy these features, but the air conditioning was inoperative for the first half of our stay....and it was hot and stuffy inside. A cool shower might have helped, but the bathtub would not drain... so a shower required that you slosh around in water up to your ankles. Although I never received a message on the room phone, the message light irritatingly blinked indicating that I had three messages for the duration of our stay, even after twice requesting that this be addressed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Murray Hill East Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
pdxjohn
portland or
Jun 17, 2012

1st time in new york

very well maintained hotel. my room was well kept and a good size. the staff was friendly. the location was handy and convenient to things such as empire state building and grand central station. i would stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Murray Hill East Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Eddie T.
Los Angeles, California
Apr 28, 2012

Perfect Location - Worth it for Price

Although it is a bit pricey for the quality you're getting, you have to realize that you're staying in a great location! Only a few minutes away from Grand Central in Manhattan is money! Stayed here for New Year's. The staff was VERY friendly. Hotel was great!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Murray Hill East Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Gabbijake
Florida, USA
Mar 30, 2012

Individual attention in the Big Apple

From the first contact we had with the doorman to the final contact with a different doorman, our treatment at Murray Hill East was superb! It felt personal but not overwhelming. The suite-style room was great for a grandmother/mother/daughter group. Having the kitchen saved us some money, and the pull-out sofa was actually comfortable as a bed. All the amenities were topnotch

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Sophia's Hispanic cuisine was delicious and very economical and it was just around the corner.

Review of Murray Hill East Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
jaa928
Cleveland, OH, USA
Mar 26, 2012

Affordable family base camp

It was neither the cheapest nor most expensive, but the kitchen and access to Grand Central Station gave us what we needed at a reasonable price in Manhattan. There was no onsite parking or loading zone for that matter, so check-in/check-out might be difficult for someone with small children. I trusted my teens to hang out in the lobby while I went around the block to park on 3rd Ave. My second bed was a pullout couch that was more comfortable when in couch mode. Another traveler pointed out that none of the doors to the hallway close slowly and we accidentally allowed ours to slam shut loudly more than once.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Nirvana Indian restaurant was on Lexington around the corner. Lamb Vindaloo was spicy but very good.

Review of Murray Hill East Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
barbaraboop
andes, ny
Feb 23, 2012

helpful front desk staff

I've been coming here for 4 years now and I like having the ability to cook in the room and since they put in the flat screen televisions I am much happier when I am in my room at night. Just wish the prices would be more consistent and a little bit cheaper!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of Murray Hill East Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
DBRaleigh
Raleigh, NC, USA
Feb 20, 2012

Front Desk Folks are Liars

Before I get into the hotel as a whole, I want to speak about customer service. Not only when I made the reservation I requested double beds for myself and another male friend, but I called earlier in the week and got an OK, came in at 11AM to confirm before we officially checked in at 4PM and was given an OK, we then show up to check in and the new front desk person would not provide 2 beds. In fact he said, "You have 2 beds as the sofa pulls out." This is not exactly what we were bargaining for. The room was clean, access was great and the location was perfect for our needs.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Murray Hill East Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
AmyKaye
Waltham, MA, USA
Feb 3, 2012

Weekend Getaway

Great hotel and location. Doorman and staff were great. Worried about bedbugs in NY but the hotel was very clean

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Murray Hill East Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
VoyagedeFilles
Montreal, Quebec
Jan 31, 2012

Large room with complete kitchen

We were very pleased by the space (large bedroom, living room combined with dining room, full bathroom and kitchen) and the staff. The rooms were very clean. We will come back and share the space with another couple to save money. Also ideal when you don't mind cooking to save a bit on restaurants bills.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Grocery, liquor store, Grand Central, etc.

Back to menu Return to top