Rate based on Check-in: Nov 29, 2014 Check-out: Nov 30, 2014

Murray Hill East Hotel

3 stars
149 E. 39th St., New York, NY 10016
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
315 reviews
Great Hotel

Great hotel in a great location. We were upgraded to a suites with no additional charge. The... See full review

  • steinbem
  • Oct 13, 2014
Great Midtown Hotel

I had to stay overnight in NYC on the fly and booked this hotel the same morning of my stay. The... See full review

  • Makeshift John
  • Oct 2, 2014
All-suite hotel close to Grand Central and the Empire State Building
Space is the name of the game at this 14-story Murray Hill hotel. All rooms are suites with full kitchens, so guests have plenty of room to spread out. The hotel has a fitness center and offers free Wi-Fi in the lobby. The location is near the Empire State Building and Grand Central and convenient to Midtown businesses and tourist attractions.
Highlights
  • All-suite hotel with kitchens
  • Quiet Murray Hill location
  • Close to Grand Central and Bryant Park
Location

The hotel is a short walk from Grand Central Terminal, Bryant Park, the Empire State Building and the United Nations. Fifth Avenue is just four blocks away.

Rooms

The 118 rooms are all suites with full kitchens. Microwaves and toasters are available upon request. All suites have dining tables and desks. Junior and one-bedroom suites also have sofa beds. Expect patterned bedspreads and curtains, dark carpeting and upholstered furniture. Rooms have cable TV, and Wi-Fi (fees apply) is available.

Features

Guest can take advantage of free Wi-Fi in the lobby. The fitness center is open daily from 6 a.m. to 10 p.m. The hotel is affiliated with a self-park parking garage around the corner (fees apply).

Dining

Travelers have a wide variety of dining options close to the hotel. The lower level of Grand Central Terminal boasts a large food court with options ranging from Jamaican cuisine to barbecue to specialty cupcakes.

Transportation
  • MTA Subway 4, 5, 6 lines Grand Central - Lexington (0.2 mi/ 0.32 km)
  • Grand Central Terminal (0.3 mi/ 0.5 km)
  • Penn Station (0.9 mi/ 1.5 km)
  • La Guardia Airport
  • Newark Liberty International Airport
  • John F. Kennedy Airport
Attractions
  • Times Square (1.1 mi/ 1.77 km)
  • Rockefeller Center (0.9 mi/ 1.45 km)
  • United Nations (0.6 mi/ 0.97 km)
  • Central Park (1.5 mi/ 2.41 km)
  • Empire State Building (0.6 mi/ 0.97 km)
  • Javits Convention Center (1.6 mi/ 2.57 km)

Murray Hill East Hotel Rooms

One Bedroom Suite
Full One Bedroom Suite with either a king or two double beds, separate living room with a queen sofa bed, fully equipped kitchen, full bathroom, dining table, desk, dresser and cable television.
Studio Suite
Features one king, one queen or two double beds, a fully equipped kitchen, full bathroom, dining table, desk, dresser and cable television.
Junior Suite
Features and L-shaped room with a queen bed in the bedroom and a pull out queen sofa bed in the living room, a fully equipped kitchen, full bathroom, dining table, desk, dresser and cable television.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Dining
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Murray Hill East Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

Hotel Map

40.7493 -73.977
Area served
New York, NY, within walking distance of Grand Central Station
Nearby airports
La Guardia Airport - LGA and John F. Kennedy International Airport -JFK, Newark Liberty Airport EWR
Area description
Located near the Empire State Building, United Nations, Central Park, Theater District, Garment District, Grand Central Terminal and Rockefeller Center.

Nearby points of interest

  • Daily News Building: 0.2 mi
  • Murray Hill: 0.2 mi
  • Chrysler Building: 0.2 mi
  • Pierpont Morgan Library: 0.2 mi
  • Grand Central Station: 0.3 mi
  • MetLife Building: 0.3 mi
  • American Academy of Dramatic Arts: 0.3 mi
  • NY Public Library: 0.3 mi
  • Lord & Taylor: 0.4 mi
  • Ralph Bunche Park: 0.4 mi
  • Tudor City: 0.4 mi
  • Robert Moses Playground: 0.4 mi
  • Century Building: 0.5 mi
  • The King's College: 0.5 mi
  • Bryant Park: 0.5 mi
  • Daily News Building: 0.2 mi
  • Murray Hill: 0.2 mi
  • Chrysler Building: 0.2 mi
  • Pierpont Morgan Library: 0.2 mi
  • Grand Central Station: 0.3 mi
  • MetLife Building: 0.3 mi
  • American Academy of Dramatic Arts: 0.3 mi
  • NY Public Library: 0.3 mi
  • Lord & Taylor: 0.4 mi
  • Ralph Bunche Park: 0.4 mi
  • Tudor City: 0.4 mi
  • Robert Moses Playground: 0.4 mi
  • Century Building: 0.5 mi
  • The King's College: 0.5 mi
  • Bryant Park: 0.5 mi
  • United Nations Headquarters: 0.5 mi
  • Japan Society Gallery: 0.5 mi
  • Chester A. Arthur Home: 0.5 mi
  • East 34th Street Heliport: 0.5 mi
  • Koreatown, Manhattan: 0.5 mi
  • Ford Foundation Building: 0.5 mi
  • Bank of America Tower: 0.6 mi
  • Herald Square: 0.6 mi
  • East Side: 0.6 mi
  • Saks Fifth Avenue: 0.6 mi
  • Belasco Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Diamond District: 0.6 mi
  • International Building: 0.6 mi
  • Town Hall: 0.6 mi
  • Stephen Sondheim Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Nintendo World Store New Yok: 0.6 mi
  • Manhattan Mall: 0.6 mi
  • NBC Studios: 0.6 mi
  • Cathedral of St. Patrick: 0.6 mi
  • Macys: 0.6 mi
  • Condé Nast Building: 0.6 mi
  • Rockefeller Center: 0.7 mi
  • Lower Plaza: 0.7 mi
  • GE Building: 0.7 mi
  • Theater District: 0.7 mi
  • Lyceum Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Citicorp Center: 0.7 mi
  • Radio City Music Hall: 0.7 mi
  • School of Visual Arts: 0.7 mi
  • Nederlander Theatre: 0.7 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1400
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (315)

Ratings and reviews for Murray Hill East Hotel

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
315 out of 315
Amenities:
3.4
Room cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.4
Value:
4.1

93% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Murray Hill East Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
jmfmnyc
Business
Los Angeles
Nov 23, 2014

Convenient Mid-Town location

This hotel is in a location convenient to mid-town businesses and Grand Central Station. When I arrived I realized it had formerly been an apartment building. In fact, I had friends that had lived there when I lived in NYC. The rooms are larger than normal hotel rooms, with a full kitchen and microwaves available upon request. There is a workout room and guest laundry facilities . There is Starbucks, Dunkin' Donuts and a true NYC bagel shop with a block of the hotel. There are wonderful restaurants in a reasonable proximity and reasonably priced on Third Avenue. It is an alternative to the very high priced name brand hotels in NYC.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Murray Hill East Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Eva from TN
Business
Nashville, TN
Nov 21, 2014

Great convenient hotel in Manhattan

It was terrific. No complaints - convenient, liked the kitchen which I did not expect, lots of room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Murray Hill East Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Chi and Dave
Business
Pennsylvania
Nov 15, 2014

Nice Hotel good location

We got a free upgrade and enjoyed the Suite at the 12th floor with huge balcony. Very good located near crysler building and Crand central station

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Murray Hill East Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
UmassMom
Business
Washington, DC Metro
Nov 15, 2014

Our Home Away from Home

We like this hotel because it is quite near the places we go in NYC and the rates are reasonable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There are several restaurants, both inexpensive and more expensive a short walk to Lexington or Third Avenue.

Review of Murray Hill East Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Weekender10172014
Business
Buffalo, NY
Oct 20, 2014

Murray Hill Suites

Room had pervasive odor of cigarette smoke. This was sold as a non-smoking room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Murray Hill East Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
steinbem
Business
Torringtron, ct
Oct 13, 2014

Great Hotel

Great hotel in a great location. We were upgraded to a suites with no additional charge. The amenities were fabulous.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Murray Hill East Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Happy from Hampshire
Business
Hampshire, UK
Oct 6, 2014

Murray Hill East Hotel was a great find

I find it's always a bit hit and miss trawling through reviews before making a decision where to stay but, overall the reviews for this hotel were fairly favorable - so we took the plunge - and we weren't disappointed. If you're after modern, glitzy rooms then maybe not the place for you but if you're after a friendly, comfortable, clean, value for money stay in a central position then it's excellent. The hotel is within easy walking distance of many of New York's famous sights. A couple of blocks from Grand Central Station and a couple more to the Empire State Building. When we arrived Santa on reception couldn't have been more helpful. We were upgraded to a Junior Suite, without asking, which was very spacious with a separate kitchenette. Okay, the decor was a bit dated but we were more than happy with it. However, being in a central position in a city that never sleeps........means outside noise all the time. Despite double glazing and being on the 9th floor it was quite noisy. As we were there for 5 nights and I struggled to sleep the first night I went down to see Santa on Reception to see if we could move to a different room at the back. She couldn't have been more helpful and told us to leave our packed cases in the middle of the room and she'd arrange to have them moved to another room when one became available later that day. True to her word we returned from our day out to find we'd been moved to a room overlooking the courtyard....surprisingly enough on a lower floor but definitely a lot less noise which meant better sleep. The room was smaller than the previous one but newly refurbished and still plenty big enough with a separate kitchenette. We wouldn't hesitate to go back to the Murray Hill East Hotel again - great staff, great position and great value for an expensive city like New York.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

If you're going to buy food for breakfasts/snacks etc..... go down to 3rd Avenue (turn left out of hotel and first right). Better choice than corner convenience stores - more like a supermarkets here.

Review of Murray Hill East Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
JT just happy to be in NO
Business
Oak Hill, WV
Oct 3, 2014

Great location

Very good overall stay, mainly due to location. Fairly clean, adequate amenities, good staff, air conditioner loud ,roll out bed not comfortable. Would stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Scotty's was great place for breakfast. Also Grand Central Station is just a couple blocks away.

Review of Murray Hill East Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Makeshift John
Business
Upstate NY
Oct 2, 2014

Great Midtown Hotel

I had to stay overnight in NYC on the fly and booked this hotel the same morning of my stay. The only off-putting thing about it to me was that they still use the physical key as opposed to a room card, but that's just me. I guess I'm not old fashioned. The room itself was great. It was clean, had a nice little kitchen area, living room area, great channel selection on the TV, etc. You can walk right out to great restaurants and bars in the area. I will for sure choose this location the next time I need to stay in NYC.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Junction. Great specials each day of the week. Right on the corner of 39th and Lexington.

Review of Murray Hill East Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
chula EA
Business
east aurora,ny
Sep 22, 2014

Good weekend in spite of crowds.

Lots of activists in town and UN useless meetings but weekend was still enjoyable. Great suite, friendly and helpful staff and reasonably priced.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Great latin food at Havana Centrale 46th between 6th and 7th aves. Music sometimes .

Back to menu Return to top