Rate based on Check-in: Jul 27, 2014 Check-out: Jul 28, 2014

InterContinental NEW YORK TIMES SQUARE

4 stars
300 WEST 44TH STREET, NEW YORK CITY, NY 10036
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.4
out of 5
240 reviews
Great place. Great location.

The hotel was literally 20 paces from the train station and across the street from my meeting.... See full review

  • In NYC
  • Jan 31, 2014
Back again

Always stay here when we are in NY and it's a great place ! Location particular great for getting... See full review

  • Mrs Bro
  • Dec 7, 2013
State-of-the-art sophistication at new Midtown Manhattan hotel
Opened in 2010, the grand InterContinental New York Times Square puts visitors in the heart of midtown Manhattan near Times Square, Broadway shows, Rockefeller Center and Fifth Avenue. The 36-floor hotel features stunning views of the Hudson River and cityscape while creating a stylish sanctuary from the crowds. InterContinental trademarks 21st-century sophistication with a brasserie led by celebrity chef Todd English, a 2,000-square-foot fitness center, atmospheric and serene guest rooms and suites, and nearly 10,000 square feet of meeting space.
Highlights
  • Experience top-of-the-line cuisine Ca Va Brasserie, created by celebrity chef Todd English
  • Stay fit at the on-site 2,000-square-foot fitness center, overlooking 44th Street and open 24/7
  • Walk to the best of Manhattan from a midtown location on West 44th Street and Eighth Avenue
Location
InterContinental New York Times Square offers a convenient midtown Manhattan location at West 44th Street and Eighth Avenue. Central Park, Rockefeller Center, Fifth Avenue and Times Square are all within easy walking distance, and a subway station is just two blocks south.
Rooms
At the InterContinental Times Square, find sanctuary at sleekly sophisticated guest rooms, dressed in earth-and-cream tones and state-of-the-art design. All include amenities such as premium cable/satellite TV with pay-per-view movies, a stereo, a minibar, high-speed Internet/Wi-Fi access (fees apply), a two-line cordless phone with voice mail, bathrobes, a hair-dryer, and a safe. All rooms are nonsmoking.
Features
InterContinental New York Times Square presents celebrity chef Todd English, whose Ca Va Brasserie offers a modern twist on the traditional brasserie. The restaurant serves breakfast, lunch and dinner as well as a pre-theatre menu. InterContinental also features a 2,000-square-foot, 24-hour fitness center with views over 44th Street.
Transportation
  • Penn Station (0.8 mi/1.2 km)
  • Grand Central Terminal (1 mi/1.6 km)
  • Statue Cruises, Battery Park (Statue of Liberty/Ellis Island ferry) (5.3 mi/8.6 km)
  • LaGuardia Airport (11.8 mi/18.9 km)
  • Newark Liberty International Airport (15.3 mi/24.6 km)
  • John F. Kennedy International Airport (17.5 mi/28.2 km)
Attractions
  • Times Square (0.3 mi/0.4 km)
  • Rockefeller Center (0.8 mi/1.2 km)
  • Central Park (0.8 mi/1.2 km)
  • Madison Square Garden (0.8 mi/1.2 km)
  • Museum of Modern Art (1 mi/1.6 km)
  • Empire State Building (1.1 mi/1.7 km)
  • Lincoln Center for the Performing Arts (1.2 mi/2 km)
  • American Museum of Natural History (1.7 mi/2.8 km)
  • Metropolitan Museum of Art (2.7 mi/4.4 km)
Business
  • Ten state-of-the-art meeting rooms and four on-site meeting professionals (fees apply)
  • Business center with services ranging from secretarial assistance to cell-phone rental (fees apply)
  • In-room and public-area high-speed Internet/Wi-Fi access (fees apply)

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Ice machine
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Room service
Services
Business center
Maid service
Concierge desk
ATM/Cash machine
Shops/Commercial services
Tour desk
Porters
FAX
Currency exchange
Overhead projector
White board
Cellular telephone rental
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Satellite TV
DVD player
Safe
Phone with speaker
Desk with lamp
Mini bar
Hairdryer in room
Outlet adapters
In room movies
Temperature control
Computer in Room
Ironing board

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed InterContinental NEW YORK TIMES SQUARE also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5

Hotel Map

40.7586 -73.9897
Nearby airports
La Guardia, (LGA), 12.00, MI; Newark, (EWR), 17.00, MI; John F Kennedy International, (JFK), 17.00, MI;
Area description
Downtown, downtown

Nearby points of interest

  • Ripley’s Believe It or Not! Times Square: 0.1 mi
  • St. James Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Madame Tussauds: 0.1 mi
  • John Golden Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Imperial Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Broadhurst Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Al Hirschfeld Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Gerald Schoenfeld Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Helen Hayes Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Majestic Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Shubert Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Music Box Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Booth Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Bernard B. Jacobs Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Richard Rodgers Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Ripley’s Believe It or Not! Times Square: 0.1 mi
  • St. James Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Madame Tussauds: 0.1 mi
  • John Golden Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Imperial Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Broadhurst Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Al Hirschfeld Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Gerald Schoenfeld Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Helen Hayes Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Majestic Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Shubert Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Music Box Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Booth Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Bernard B. Jacobs Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Richard Rodgers Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Port Authority Bus Terminal: 0.2 mi
  • New York Times Building: 0.2 mi
  • Foxwoods Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Ford Center For The Performing Arts: 0.2 mi
  • American Airlines Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • New Victory Theater: 0.2 mi
  • Minskoff Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Lunt-Fontanne Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Brooks Atkinson Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Samuel J. Friedman Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Nederlander Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Ethel Barrymore Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Lion Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Theater District: 0.2 mi
  • Longacre Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Marquis Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Duffy Square: 0.2 mi
  • Walter Kerr Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Palace Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Lower Plaza: 0.3 mi
  • Eugene O'Neill Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Lyceum Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Condé Nast Building: 0.3 mi
  • Worldwide Plaza: 0.3 mi
  • Garment District: 0.3 mi
  • Stephen Sondheim Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Ambassador Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Town Hall: 0.3 mi
  • Circle in the Square Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Cort Theatre: 0.4 mi

Dining

Ca Va Brasserie
The hotels premier dining experience is the mastermind of Chef Todd English. Chef English operates an array of restaurants across the country earning him the reputation as one of the most respected and charismatic chefs in the world. Ca Va is a modern twi
Tocqueville
A secret gem of New Yorkers. This tiny, but very elegant, setting turns out impeccable New American cuisine.
Perry Street
From famed Chef Jean Georges Vongerichten, Perry Street is a discreet fine dining experience with a hint of hip.
A Voce
Set in the glamour of the TIme Warner Center, the menu is an elegant selection of seasonal Italian Continental fare.
44 and Tenth
Blocks away from the hotel, this neighborhood hipster serves New American cuisine to an upbeat crowd of locals. Great for brunch!
Fig & Olive
Casual, but nice retreat from shopping in the Meatpacking District. Creative American cuisine in a fashionably converted warehouse space.
Five Napkin Burger
There's nothing like an amazing burger and this one is a special treat within walking distance of the hotel. There's more to it than just burgers, so go ahead and indulge and have from fries as well! We won't tell!
Izakaya Ten
Don't expect oppulent elegance but do expect a great "locals only" spot for Japanese food and a giant selection of Sake. They are open until 3am, just in case you are still awake.
Buddakhan
Straight out of "Sex and the City", the Japanese cuisine is excellent and the crowd is even more delicious!
Quality Meats
From the famed Smith and Wollensky group, this is a perfect combination of a traditional NY Steakhouse menu but in a large and comfortable setting.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (240)

Ratings and reviews for InterContinental NEW YORK TIMES SQUARE

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
240 out of 240
Amenities:
4.3
Room cleanliness:
4.8
Hotel staff:
4.5
Room comfort:
4.7
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.3

97% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of InterContinental NEW YORK TIMES SQUARE

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ben woodman
Los Angeles, CA, USA
Apr 30, 2012

Good family getaway

Very close to center and walking distance to restaurants.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of InterContinental NEW YORK TIMES SQUARE

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
TexBus.
Business
Washington, DC, USA
Dec 18, 2011

Excellent West Side Business Hotel

Outstanding feature was the gym/health club. Equipment was excellent and plentiful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of InterContinental NEW YORK TIMES SQUARE

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Sha Oddi
Myrtle Beach, SC, USA
Dec 10, 2011

Nice Hotel

I reserved this room last minute (same day) and I only stayed at this hotel for one night. I checked in really late (around 11:30 PM) and for the 7 hours i was at the hotel it was very nice. there was a bar that looked hopping and the room was clean. i didnt see the restaurant. we paid a lot of money but for a last minute reservation it was very nice. i would stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of InterContinental NEW YORK TIMES SQUARE

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Labios 83
Tampa Bay, Florida, USA
Dec 3, 2011

GREAT NEW HOTEL WITH A VERY CONVENIENT LOCATION

Checked in aroung 11 pm. Clerk was very nice and pleasant and upgraded us to a King sized bed room (we had booked two queens because price was lower) on the 19th floor with a view facing the Hudson River and Intrepid Aircraft Carrier museum. Room was a bit lean on floor space, but had a nice TV, a computer terminal (which we didn't use) and a large flatscreen TV. The bed was super comfortable. The bathroom was medium sized, but had a very nice stand up shower with a rainfall shower head as well as a hand held nozzle with a selector valve.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Buy a subway pass that's good for a week and only costs $25. It can take you to most places of interest within Manhattan and it's fast. Subway is a bit dirty compared to the DC Metro, but trains run on time and we never felt unsafe on them. There's a subway station on the same corner this hotel is located (corner of 8th Ave and West 44th Street).

Review of InterContinental NEW YORK TIMES SQUARE

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
world traveler500
Los Angeles, CA, USA
Nov 26, 2011

Excellent location, good deal, very nice hotel!

Great stay. Staff was helpful and very friendly. Excellent location, right next to subway stairs. Close to lots of attractions, but away from the crowds of Times Square. Our room had a great view of the clock tower. Very quiet inside the hotel - we couldn't hear any noise from the hallway once we were inside our room. Loved the rain shower in the bathroom and the fireplace in the lobby. Didn't get in a work out, but the gym looked nice. Had an internet lounge in the basement, but you had to pay for usage. Overall, it was a very good experience!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of InterContinental NEW YORK TIMES SQUARE

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Eildan
Phoenix, AZ
Nov 22, 2011

Great for the theater

Had a wonderful time at the hotel. Very convenient to Broadway theaters and great restaurants. CaVa, a Todd English restaurant, located in the hotel was delicious and reasonably priced. The subway was literally right outside our door. I would definitely stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of InterContinental NEW YORK TIMES SQUARE

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Atlanta Blues Traveler
Business
Atlanta, GA, USA
Oct 31, 2011

Great hotel

Great location, friendly staff, large room, nice sized bathroom. What more can I say. Would stay there again. Compared to many of the hotel rooms in which I have stayed in NYC, this hotel is a gem. Its a bit noisy, but which room in NYC isnt. Great location for Broadway shows and Times Square. Great jazz club across the street

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of InterContinental NEW YORK TIMES SQUARE

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Rick and Erin
St Paul, MN, USA
Oct 3, 2011

30th wedding anniversary

My wife and I were first time visitors to NYC and we had a blast. The hotel was first rate and right in the middle of all the action in Mid-town. We spent most of our time sight-seeing, but the location of the hotel couldn't have been better if we had taken in a show, as all the theaters were within easy walking distance. We also were subway rookies and had the concierge help educate us in short order to the point that we went all the way from Yankee Stadium to all the downtown and harbor sites with confidence. I would highly recommend this hotel for its location alone. It is very clean, and very new and modern with a nice bathroom and shower. We didn't eat at the hotel or order room service, so not sure of the qualtity or price, but there didn't seem to be any shortage of customers in the restaurant. Staff was friendly and helpful....

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of InterContinental NEW YORK TIMES SQUARE

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Retired Couple
Ontario Canada
Sep 29, 2011

Central Tourist Location in New York

Excellent five night stay at this hotel. As tourists we appreciated the central location - close to many sights and attractions including Broadway, as well as multiple subway lines. The staff was very helpful responding to several requests. For example, we were loaned a high quality umbrella with a simple request that it be returned after use. The room was both well equipped and comfortable. One small issue was that the air conditioning provided lots of cooling, but left the room very damp. Our positive experience was in keeping with the somewhat upmarket pricing for a hotel of this quality.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of InterContinental NEW YORK TIMES SQUARE

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Sigmaone
Santa Monica, CA, USA
Sep 7, 2011

Know what you want out of this location

Because of the hotel location, the room is not large. But it is comfortable. I accidentally touched a bottle of wine and was charged for it when I checked out. A charge was also made because, according to the hotel, I use the hotel phone once. Both charges were removed but it's a waste of time. The staff are friendly but lack organization skills when more than a few guests are waiting to be served. The ability to do things well AND quickly are the reasons why guests want to go back to this type of establishments.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Go visit Birdland. It's 25 ft. from across the hotel. Eat in Shack at least once. It's right around the corner. Walk two blocks west to Clinton/Helll's Kitchen and enjoy the people there. (Oribts made me add an "l" in Helll's Kitchen for fear of being offensive. Amazing time we live in.)

Review of InterContinental NEW YORK TIMES SQUARE

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Sigmaone
Santa Monica, CA, USA
Sep 7, 2011

Know what you want out of this location

Because of the hotel location, the room is not large. But it is comfortable. I accidentally touched a bottle of wine and was charged for it when I checked out. A charge was also made because, according to the hotel, I use the hotel phone once. Both charges were removed but it's a waste of time. The staff are friendly but lack organization skills when more than a few guests are waiting to be served. The ability to do things well AND quickly are the reasons why guests want to go back to this type of establishments.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Go visit Birdland. It's 25 ft. from across the hotel. Eat in Shack at least once. It's right around the corner. Walk two blocks west to Clinton/Helll's Kitchen and enjoy the people there. (Oribts made me add an "l" in Helll's Kitchen for fear of being offensive. Amazing time we live in.)

Back to menu Return to top