Rate based on Check-in: Feb 21, 2016 Check-out: Feb 23, 2016

Hotel Pennsylvania

2 stars
View map of 401 7th Avenue, New York, NY 10001

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
2.6
out of 5
162 reviews
Successful business trip

Everything was great the hotel location was fantastic the staff was courteous the rooms were clean... See full review

  • steven d.
  • Apr 18, 2015
excellent business trip

everything was excellent ,the location was close to everything, the staff was very helpful,the room... See full review

  • steven d.
  • Apr 14, 2015

Experience the best of midtown at the Hotel Pennsylvania New York. Don't let the hotel's grand lobby fool you; the hotel strives to create a quiet and comfortable experience for their guests. The decor is modern with unique historic accents that date back to the building's opening in 1919. It can be hard to find accommodations that are truly pet friendly, but the hotel staff loves their canine guests. During the Westminster Dog Show, the hotel offers a slew of dog amenities like grooming and fitness areas, an on-site relieving area and the city's biggest indoor dog spa.

Highlights

Good food is integral in any getaway, so enjoy five on-site dining options. The Statler Grill offers specialty meals like juicy New York steaks and the freshest in seafood. Book a reservation early because people from all over New York City flock to the doors of this iconic restaurant. City Perk offers quick options to guests who are short on time but want something delicious to refuel with. Wet your whistle with a hot cup of joe or quell your rumbling belly with an on-the-go snack before heading out for some fast-paced New York sightseeing. Keep the family happy with legendary NYC hot dog's at Nathan's or beloved Tim Horton's pastries.

Policies

NOTE: Property has no on-site indoor pool or gym but offers  free passes to Bally’s Total Fitness right next door.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hotel Pennsylvania also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5

Hotel Map

40.7499 -73.9906
Nearby airports
La Guardia Airport, (LGA), 12.00, MI, W; Newark Intl Airport, (EWR), 14.00, MI, E; John F. Kennedy Intl Airport, (JFK), 16.00, MI, W;
Area description
City Center

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for Hotel Pennsylvania

Overall score

3.1 / 5
5.01.0
24 out of 162
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3.3
Hotel staff:
3.6
Comfort:
3.3
Location:
4.8
Value:
3.8

75% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel Pennsylvania

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
BBBB
Single
N/A
Oct 7, 2015

Room interior shameful

Very disappointed in the rooms interior. The walls was gashed, black marks throughout. The bedding was old and the carpet dis colored bathroom peeling etc. Businesses should not be greedy for a dollar amount and let human beings rent a room in disrecptful conditions.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Single

Review of Hotel Pennsylvania

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
steven d.
Single
N/A
Apr 21, 2015

excellent trip

everything was excellent, service, rooms, location, comfort, the security was very nice, rooms where clean and quiet

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Single

Review of Hotel Pennsylvania

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Reginald r.
Single
houston
Apr 6, 2015

nice

The towels was fresh and clean. It was an amazing comfort. It had a great 1950's feel. I felt like a mobster or a gangster in that time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Single

Review of Hotel Pennsylvania

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Jermaine H.
Single
N/A
Mar 19, 2015

good

it was a good hotel cheap near everything not the best looking hotel but gets the job done

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Single

Review of Hotel Pennsylvania

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Valette M.
Single
N/A
Mar 13, 2015

not to bad, but not great.

The location was great. The room was visually clean, but I didn't trust the sanitizing of the bathroom tub, floor, and toilet. The bed was comfortable. The tv was very old. And though WiFi was supposed to be in my package, I didn't get any. And my phone or tablet would not work well when in the room. The cleaning people were very friendly, as we're the front desk people. I would go back to that hotel though if I could get a better room. Like I said the location was great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Single

Review of Hotel Pennsylvania

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Julie SF
Single
San Francisco, Ca
Dec 5, 2014

Clean and cheap.

Upon arrival I was horrified at the state of my room. It was like staying at a bad motel. It is extremely dated. However it did start to grow on me a little over time and I realized that it wasn't all that bad. The staff were very nice and location was great. So easy to get anywhere from there with Penn station across the street. Im not sure if I would stay here again, I would prefer something a little more modern, but if you are looking for somewhere cheap and clean then its a good choice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Single

Review of Hotel Pennsylvania

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Monique2014
Single
Switzerland
May 17, 2014

Something to consider

I read the reviews and I was aware not to expect a lot on the rooms confort. The bathroom was clean, towels changed. The room wasn't soo clean, it had an old staff air. But the bed comfortable. The location is really fantastic, with Empire State 2 blocks away. The hotel also located near Penn Station. I wouldn't recommend for a romantic holiday. But it's very ok if you want to visit NY. I would like to come back just because of the location. A minus - you have to pay if you want your luggage kept - 5 $/luggage.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Single

Review of Hotel Pennsylvania

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Guy111
Single
Toronto Canada
Mar 9, 2014

Pennsylvania Hotel

This hotel is located in midtown close to everything. The location and price are fantastic. The cleanliness and amenities are very poor. I love a good value but this place was dirty and in really bad shape. I won't be staying there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Single

Review of Hotel Pennsylvania

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
corinalucia17
Single
New Brunswick, NJ
Feb 21, 2014

great location, modest room

I chose this hotel for its very convenient location next to Penn Station. The room was clean and spacious. They only problem is that they make you pay for wireless, which is annoying and expensive.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Single

Review of Hotel Pennsylvania

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Stuckinthecity
Single
Marlboro,NY
Dec 17, 2013

Great location

Great location, front desk was very helpful as I was checking in late.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Single

Back to menu Return to top