Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 24, 2014 Check-out: Aug 25, 2014

Hotel Pennsylvania

2 stars
401 7th Avenue, New York, NY 10001
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.5
out of 5
1,340 reviews
Fantastic

We enjoyed our stay. Hotel staff was really nice and even upgraded our room. Fabulous location.... See full review

  • Kountry's Girl
  • Jul 27, 2014
nice getaway

I had a very good experience at the hotel and it a nice getaway to bring your family See full review

  • Whitehorse79
  • Apr 15, 2014
The Pennsylvania Hotel New York is located at 33rd Street and 7th Avenue in Manhattan. Catch up on work at the 24-hour business center, which features printers and high-speed internet access, or after a long day at a meeting use your complimentary guest passes to work out at Bally Total Fitness. Located next door to the hotel, it offers up-to-the-minute workout equipment, as well as a swimming pool and spa.

Affordable and within walking distance of various New York tower blocks like the Empire State Building and the vibrant oasis of Madison Square Garden, the Pennsylvania is a smart choice for leisure guests too, with central rooms and a budget price tag.
     
Sometimes known as the Hotel Pennsylvania or Hotel Penn, the accommodations here were opened in 1919 and have had several other names over the years, including the Statler-Hilton Hotel, after the original manager Ellsworth Statler. 
Key facts
  • Over 1,700 guestrooms
  • 90,000 sq. ft. of function space, incl. adjoining Penn Plaza Pavilion
  • 16 function rooms and 3 ballrooms
  • 24-hour business center
  • Conference center on the 6th floor with executive boardroom
  • Catering capabilities
  • Four restaurants
Neighborhood
At the intersection of New York City's main tourist areas, such as the Broadway Theater district and Times Square, why not step out of the grand entrance at the Hotel Pennsylvania, turn to the right or left, and see where the sidewalk takes you? The Chrysler Building and Macy's are close at hand, and it's easy to reach the fashionable Chelsea and West Village neighborhoods from here too.
Hints and tips
Canine enthusiasts should plan a visit to coincide with the Westminster Dog Show, an annual event where dogs are put through their paces at nearby Madison Square Garden. Even better, the hotel itself is dog-friendly and there are no size restrictions, although there is an additional fee for your pet to stay. Make sure you check with the front desk before bringing along your furry friend.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Pennsylvania Rooms

Superior
Penn 5000 1 King Bed-Additional comforts and sensible investment. We have added a few special touches to our Penn 5000 Club rooms for guests who prize value but want a few additional comforts...like a king-sized bed with a pillow-top mattress- an efficien
Superior
Penn 5000 2 Double Beds-Additional comforts and asensible investment. We have added a few special touches to our Penn 5000 Club rooms for guests who prize value but want a few additional comforts...like a king-sized bed with a pillow-top mattress- an effi
Superior
Superior 1 Double Bed - Perfect for single guests- the superior room double has the same amenities as our larger Superior Rooms- including free wi-fi - a hairdryer- iron and ironing board- and complimentary access to our in-house fitness center.
Superior
Superior 2 Double Beds - This room type offers two full beds and more space than a Superior One Full Bed room- it has the same amenities as our larger Superior Rooms- including free wi-fi - a hairdryer- iron and ironing board- and complimentary access t

Amenities

  • WiFi
General
Air conditioned
Pet friendly
Elevators
24 hour security
Activities
Exercise gym
Dining
Coffee shop
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Concierge desk
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Gift shop
News stand
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Television with cable
Radio
AM/FM alarm clock
Hairdryer in room
Fire alarm with light
Iron
Ironing board
Smoke detectors

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hotel Pennsylvania also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5

Hotel Map

40.7499 -73.9906
Nearby airports
La Guardia Airport, (LGA), 12.00, MI, W; Newark Intl Airport, (EWR), 14.00, MI, E; John F. Kennedy Intl Airport, (JFK), 16.00, MI, W;
Area description
City Center

Nearby points of interest

  • Penn Station: 0.1 mi
  • Macys: 0.1 mi
  • Manhattan Mall: 0.1 mi
  • Herald Square: 0.2 mi
  • Madison Square Garden: 0.2 mi
  • Koreatown, Manhattan: 0.3 mi
  • Museum at FIT: 0.3 mi
  • The King's College: 0.3 mi
  • Garment District: 0.3 mi
  • American Academy of Dramatic Arts: 0.4 mi
  • Lord & Taylor: 0.4 mi
  • Nederlander Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Bryant Park: 0.4 mi
  • Limelight Marketplace: 0.4 mi
  • New York Times Building: 0.4 mi
  • Penn Station: 0.1 mi
  • Macys: 0.1 mi
  • Manhattan Mall: 0.1 mi
  • Herald Square: 0.2 mi
  • Madison Square Garden: 0.2 mi
  • Koreatown, Manhattan: 0.3 mi
  • Museum at FIT: 0.3 mi
  • The King's College: 0.3 mi
  • Garment District: 0.3 mi
  • American Academy of Dramatic Arts: 0.4 mi
  • Lord & Taylor: 0.4 mi
  • Nederlander Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Bryant Park: 0.4 mi
  • Limelight Marketplace: 0.4 mi
  • New York Times Building: 0.4 mi
  • Port Authority Bus Terminal: 0.5 mi
  • New Victory Theater: 0.5 mi
  • Ford Center For The Performing Arts: 0.5 mi
  • Pierpont Morgan Library: 0.5 mi
  • Condé Nast Building: 0.5 mi
  • American Airlines Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Foxwoods Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • NY Public Library: 0.5 mi
  • Bank of America Tower: 0.5 mi
  • Stephen Sondheim Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Theater District: 0.5 mi
  • Town Hall: 0.5 mi
  • Lower Plaza: 0.5 mi
  • Murray Hill: 0.6 mi
  • Hughoneill Dry Goods Store: 0.6 mi
  • Helen Hayes Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Majestic Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Belasco Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Broadhurst Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Shubert Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Minskoff Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Flatiron Building: 0.6 mi
  • Bernard B. Jacobs Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • John Golden Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Booth Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Metropolitan Life Insurance Company Tower: 0.6 mi
  • Lyceum Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Union Square - the Flatiron District: 0.6 mi
  • Music Box Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • St. James Theatre: 0.6 mi

Dining

City Perk
24 Hour coffee shop located off lobby with quick service grab-n-go items.
Tim Hortons
Quick service grab-n-go serving coffee - Donuts -Sandwiches - Located outside off the main entrance.
Stout
Irish pub serving Lunch - Dinner - Brunch on weekends - busy with after-work crowd and game nights.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (1340)

Ratings and reviews for Hotel Pennsylvania

Overall score

2.6 / 5
5.01.0
176 out of 1340
Amenities:
2.5
Room cleanliness:
2.9
Hotel staff:
3.2
Room comfort:
2.7
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.3

60% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel Pennsylvania

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
R.A.G.
California
Jul 9, 2014

Staff burnt out

I stayed at the New Yorker about six years ago and had a much better experience at the hotel. Lindy's was the hotel dinner, and they took forever to get us even water. The waiter made up for it though with putting my order on the dinner special (even though it was not). The service workers at the hotel have an attitude like they are really something special and you are just the dumb tourist out of town. A real turn off

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of Hotel Pennsylvania

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Vivien Zhang
Beijing
Jul 5, 2014

great location

The hotel is located in a perfect place. Within one minute from the subway, the hotel is there. The service is average, if you need to store your luggage, u need to pay 5 dollars, plus tips, you could pay up to 7. The room is dark, and a bit noise due to the a/c.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Times Square, port authority, etc.

Review of Hotel Pennsylvania

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Tamer Selim
Cairo, Egypt
Apr 1, 2014

Great location, dirty hotel

I stayed there one night and couldn't stay any longer! The only good thing about the hotel is its location.. anything else is awful.. Room smelled so bad and was dirty, checking in took around 30 mins, the window in the room was broken..

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Review of Hotel Pennsylvania

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
dog tierd traveler
Denver, Colorado
Mar 28, 2014

Pennsylvania Hotel

The location was great and the staff was very helpful. The room needs renovation but all I needed was a place to sleep and that was fine.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of Hotel Pennsylvania

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Micheal R
Dublin, Ireland.
Mar 17, 2014

Basic hotel but good location.

I stayed in this hotel for four (4) days in March 2014. Due to a long cue and insufficient reception staff, check-in took about 45 minutes - not a pleasant experience after a long international flight. Room decor and furnishings were dated and very basic. Wifi internet is available but costs an extra US$11 per day. Available dining facilities are basic. On a positive note, the hotel location is excellent with easy access to public transport and shopping outlets.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Review of Hotel Pennsylvania

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Guy111
Toronto Canada
Mar 9, 2014

Pennsylvania Hotel

This hotel is located in midtown close to everything. The location and price are fantastic. The cleanliness and amenities are very poor. I love a good value but this place was dirty and in really bad shape. I won't be staying there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Hotel Pennsylvania

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
B77W
Brisbane, Australia
Mar 6, 2014

Short visit in New York

Stay hotel for 2 nights. Room was small, no amennity, very good location. However, hotel is old and it is hard to look for your room becauase each flooor has got 99 rooms. I think for single person, this hotel is value to stay. I paid less than USD 100 per night so l will come back to stay next time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Macy is only one block away.

Review of Hotel Pennsylvania

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
csc99
ft lauderdale, fl
Feb 26, 2014

Good surprise

Overall very good. Great location close to Macy's, across from Penn Station, subways, buses to all airports and the train to NJ, too. Generally, found the staff helpful, friendly (with exception of one of the front desk persons, but another apologized for her). Room was great with good size (unlike some of the really small ones in Tines Square) with good heat, large TV, refrigerator! and maid service. They were always vacuuming, cleaning the halls. This was obviously once a very grand hotel. Mostly tourists now. Could use some updating and renovations. Lots of places to eat, shop, even get Chinese massage two blocks away. This is not Park Avenue, or the Waldorf (but even the Waldorf isn't the Waldorf anymore) and frankly, liked my stay here more than the Waldorf and this is 3-500/night cheaper.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Take the airport bus from LGA for $13, and avoid the taxi line--dropped right in front of hotel. Bus on corner to take you back to LGA or JFK or to DC for cheap. Took Supershuttle to Newark for 25 (didn't want to deal with lots of luggage on train), but even cheaper and faster.

Review of Hotel Pennsylvania

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
corinalucia17
New Brunswick, NJ
Feb 21, 2014

great location, modest room

I chose this hotel for its very convenient location next to Penn Station. The room was clean and spacious. They only problem is that they make you pay for wireless, which is annoying and expensive.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Hotel Pennsylvania

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Paul De
Los Angeles, California
Feb 13, 2014

Close but not so accomodating

When I checked in my first night-Sat.2/8...& I had previously asked for a Non-Smoking Room- I got a smoking Room & my sinuses went crazy! Couldn't breathe when I called the front desk, & then they changed me to another room which was non-smoking. Great! Except, now, I couldnt hear the TV & wanted to know where the CC (Closed Caption) standard on all TV's since 1980s. That night the Fire Alarm went off (battery was dead) @ of course, 4am in the morning. I called the front desk & the young lady said we don't show you in the room, you're suppose to be in 1101. Surprise! I was never told that I would be moving or even where I was suppose to go. Imagine my surpirse! Finally I got a perfect room w/non-smoking & "cc" on the TV....I was happy & now my stay was over. Thank you very much!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Bell Captain was very knowledgeable about the City & was very helpful. Thank you!

Back to menu Return to top