Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Nov 30, 2014 Check-out: Dec 1, 2014

Hotel Pennsylvania

2 stars
401 7th Avenue, New York, NY 10001
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.5
out of 5
1,024 reviews
great

Great value. Great location. Nice room. Right by penn See full review

  • newyanderson
  • Nov 7, 2014
Great location and good price for New York!

Stayed for 3 nights. Great location and good price for New York! The only odd thing was I had to... See full review

  • odri
  • Aug 29, 2014
The Pennsylvania Hotel New York is located at 33rd Street and 7th Avenue in Manhattan. Catch up on work at the 24-hour business center, which features printers and high-speed internet access, or after a long day at a meeting use your complimentary guest passes to work out at Bally Total Fitness. Located next door to the hotel, it offers up-to-the-minute workout equipment, as well as a swimming pool and spa.

Affordable and within walking distance of various New York tower blocks like the Empire State Building and the vibrant oasis of Madison Square Garden, the Pennsylvania is a smart choice for leisure guests too, with central rooms and a budget price tag.
     
Sometimes known as the Hotel Pennsylvania or Hotel Penn, the accommodations here were opened in 1919 and have had several other names over the years, including the Statler-Hilton Hotel, after the original manager Ellsworth Statler. 
Key facts
  • Over 1,700 guestrooms
  • 90,000 sq. ft. of function space, incl. adjoining Penn Plaza Pavilion
  • 16 function rooms and 3 ballrooms
  • 24-hour business center
  • Conference center on the 6th floor with executive boardroom
  • Catering capabilities
  • Four restaurants
Neighborhood
At the intersection of New York City's main tourist areas, such as the Broadway Theater district and Times Square, why not step out of the grand entrance at the Hotel Pennsylvania, turn to the right or left, and see where the sidewalk takes you? The Chrysler Building and Macy's are close at hand, and it's easy to reach the fashionable Chelsea and West Village neighborhoods from here too.
Hints and tips
Canine enthusiasts should plan a visit to coincide with the Westminster Dog Show, an annual event where dogs are put through their paces at nearby Madison Square Garden. Even better, the hotel itself is dog-friendly and there are no size restrictions, although there is an additional fee for your pet to stay. Make sure you check with the front desk before bringing along your furry friend.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Pennsylvania Rooms

Superior
Penn 5000 1 King Bed-Additional comforts and sensible investment. We have added a few special touches to our Penn 5000 Club rooms for guests who prize value but want a few additional comforts...like a king-sized bed with a pillow-top mattress- an efficien
Superior
Penn 5000 2 Double Beds-Additional comforts and asensible investment. We have added a few special touches to our Penn 5000 Club rooms for guests who prize value but want a few additional comforts...like a king-sized bed with a pillow-top mattress- an effi
Superior
Superior 1 Double Bed - Perfect for single guests- the superior room double has the same amenities as our larger Superior Rooms- including free wi-fi - a hairdryer- iron and ironing board- and complimentary access to our in-house fitness center.
Superior
Superior 2 Double Beds - This room type offers two full beds and more space than a Superior One Full Bed room- it has the same amenities as our larger Superior Rooms- including free wi-fi - a hairdryer- iron and ironing board- and complimentary access t

Amenities

  • WiFi
General
Air conditioned
Pet friendly
Elevators
24 hour security
Activities
Exercise gym
Dining
Coffee shop
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Concierge desk
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Gift shop
News stand
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Television with cable
Radio
AM/FM alarm clock
Hairdryer in room
Fire alarm with light
Iron
Ironing board
Smoke detectors

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hotel Pennsylvania also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5

Hotel Map

40.7499 -73.9906
Nearby airports
La Guardia Airport, (LGA), 12.00, MI, W; Newark Intl Airport, (EWR), 14.00, MI, E; John F. Kennedy Intl Airport, (JFK), 16.00, MI, W;
Area description
City Center

Nearby points of interest

  • Penn Station: 0.1 mi
  • Macys: 0.1 mi
  • Manhattan Mall: 0.1 mi
  • Herald Square: 0.2 mi
  • Koreatown, Manhattan: 0.3 mi
  • Museum at FIT: 0.3 mi
  • The King's College: 0.3 mi
  • Garment District: 0.3 mi
  • American Academy of Dramatic Arts: 0.4 mi
  • Lord & Taylor: 0.4 mi
  • Nederlander Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Bryant Park: 0.4 mi
  • Limelight Marketplace: 0.4 mi
  • New York Times Building: 0.4 mi
  • Port Authority Bus Terminal: 0.5 mi
  • Penn Station: 0.1 mi
  • Macys: 0.1 mi
  • Manhattan Mall: 0.1 mi
  • Herald Square: 0.2 mi
  • Koreatown, Manhattan: 0.3 mi
  • Museum at FIT: 0.3 mi
  • The King's College: 0.3 mi
  • Garment District: 0.3 mi
  • American Academy of Dramatic Arts: 0.4 mi
  • Lord & Taylor: 0.4 mi
  • Nederlander Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Bryant Park: 0.4 mi
  • Limelight Marketplace: 0.4 mi
  • New York Times Building: 0.4 mi
  • Port Authority Bus Terminal: 0.5 mi
  • New Victory Theater: 0.5 mi
  • Ford Center For The Performing Arts: 0.5 mi
  • Pierpont Morgan Library: 0.5 mi
  • Condé Nast Building: 0.5 mi
  • American Airlines Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Foxwoods Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • NY Public Library: 0.5 mi
  • Bank of America Tower: 0.5 mi
  • Stephen Sondheim Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Theater District: 0.5 mi
  • Town Hall: 0.5 mi
  • Lower Plaza: 0.5 mi
  • Murray Hill: 0.6 mi
  • Hughoneill Dry Goods Store: 0.6 mi
  • Helen Hayes Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Majestic Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Belasco Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Broadhurst Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Shubert Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Minskoff Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Flatiron Building: 0.6 mi
  • Bernard B. Jacobs Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • John Golden Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Booth Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Metropolitan Life Insurance Company Tower: 0.6 mi
  • Lyceum Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Union Square - the Flatiron District: 0.6 mi
  • Music Box Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • St. James Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Imperial Theatre: 0.6 mi

Dining

City Perk
24 Hour coffee shop located off lobby with quick service grab-n-go items.
Tim Hortons
Quick service grab-n-go serving coffee - Donuts -Sandwiches - Located outside off the main entrance.
Stout
Irish pub serving Lunch - Dinner - Brunch on weekends - busy with after-work crowd and game nights.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (1024)

Ratings and reviews for Hotel Pennsylvania

Overall score

2.5 / 5
5.01.0
1024 out of 1024
Amenities:
2.4
Room cleanliness:
2.7
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2.5
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.1

57% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel Pennsylvania

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Dissapointed traveler
Business
Fairfax Va
Jul 27, 2010

Horrible

We were very disappointed with this hotel. The lobby was very nice and clean which leads the visitor to believe the rooms would be at least similar. Sadly this was not the case. Once we arrived on our floor, our first impulse was to get back on the elevator and leave. The floors were dark, dank and smelled. The rooms were so bad we barely slept due to fear of bugs or vermin. We would NOT recommend this to anyone visiting NYC. Wish we would have paid a few dollars more and stayed at the Marriott!!![...]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Pennsylvania

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
London
Oct 9, 2010

terrible, over-priced hotel

queued over one hour to check in [few desks open, slow computers, poor service] dismal small room [described as 'superior double'] with rusty shower, peeling shower tray, very basic bathroom, peeling paint No lounge, restaurant or bar just unpleasant fast-food outlets in lobby Horrible and hugely expensive hotel Only good point was location by Penn station to catch early train to the airport

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

go to Bryant Park to get away from the tacky area around the hotel

Review of Hotel Pennsylvania

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
PATTERSON CA
Jan 20, 2011

HOTEL FROM HELL!

DIRTY, SMELL, CRACK WALLS, LONG CHECK IN LINES, PARKING $40 A DAY, PETS IN THE HALL WAY AND RUDE STAFF. IT LOOKS LIKE A PLACE WHERE PEOPLE DO DRUGS AND HAVE SEX FOR MONEY. MOTEL 6 IS CLEANER AND BETTER THAN THIS HOTEL.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

DOWNTOWN TIME SQUARE!

Review of Hotel Pennsylvania

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
sweet sixteen party
Business
el paso, tx
May 18, 2011

nice people but very ugly

The hotel was in a great location but it was very run down. I'm sure at one time it was a nice place but now its terrible. Old and falling apart.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

It is about ten blocks from times square.

Review of Hotel Pennsylvania

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Mechanicsburg PA
May 28, 2011

Ewwwwwwwwwww

This was hands down the most disgusting hotel I have ever encountered, the ceiling tiles were rotten, wet and falling down. The rooms were smokey and smelled. The bed sheets were so stained I do not even want to know what was left on them. The bathrooms were so dirty, the phone was covered in dirt and didn't work. Plus the air-conditioning didn't work. This was the worst hotel experience I have ever had.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Pennsylvania

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Buffalo NY
Jun 6, 2011

Just ok...

We came to NYC to shop and have some fun for my birthday. We stayed at this hotel before but this time it was unpleasent. Room was not clean as before.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Pennsylvania

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Clem
Business
Houston, TX
Aug 4, 2011

really ugly.

Bad Experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Pennsylvania

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
GMNY
Business
Ontario, Canada
Aug 26, 2011

First trip to NY

The lobby was beautiful and staff at the front desk were friendly. Room had MOLD and HOLES in the ceiling, the bed sheets were damp because of the A/C and no circulation, the bathroom was hideous. Hotel location was great, 5 min walk to Times Square...would not recommend hotel or be staying there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Pennsylvania

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Tourista
Business
Texas, USA
Sep 4, 2011

**DO NOT STAY HERE**

My girlfriend and I chose to stay at this hotel for Labor Day weekend. After researching the hotel and reading the reviews, we were understanding that this hotel did not have "Trump Plaza" amenities nor looks but it was in a great location which attracted us. Above all, we never thought that this place would be a health hazard. Once we arrived we were pleased to see the astronomical amount of people that were in the lobby. We immediately felt at ease and said to each other, "wow this place can't be that bad-look at the amount of people here." Additionally, the hotel lobby was attractive and thus put us at ease about staying here. After checking in and witnessing an argument triggered by the unprofessionalism of the concierge, Shila, we were on our way to our rooms. Still dissallusioned. The nightmare began once we stepped out of the 7th floor... The hallways reminded me of the hotel that was featured in the movie "Hostel." Dark, dingy, shabby and the carpet smelled like spoiled milk. Our room was utterly repulsive. The ceiling was water stained in many spots, carpet was musty, the bathroom had multiple hairs on the sink and the room smelled like an old library. If there was such a thing as half of a star rating, I wouldn't even give it that. Forget about unpleasant, this hotel is a health hazard and should be inspected. Do not fall for the slogan....location,location,location.... We left the hotel the same night and stood with some relatives. Our money was lost but our health and sanity was preserved.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Pennsylvania

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Edgey03
Business
Salem, OR, USA
Sep 29, 2011

Horrible

First off we ordered a king bedroom and they cause us a full. The window didn't open and it smelt really bad. It is so gross I can't even tell you. The only thing that is at all good about it is the location. I would say its worth paying a little bit more money then to stay at this dump. I would never stay here again! Or let any of my friends or family stay here either.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Schnippers as the best milkshakes!!!

Back to menu Return to top