Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 6, 2015 Check-out: Jan 9, 2015

Hotel Pennsylvania

2 stars
401 7th Avenue, New York, NY 10001
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.5
out of 5
1,037 reviews
great

Great value. Great location. Nice room. Right by penn See full review

  • newyanderson
  • Nov 7, 2014
Great location and good price for New York!

Stayed for 3 nights. Great location and good price for New York! The only odd thing was I had to... See full review

  • odri
  • Aug 29, 2014
The Pennsylvania Hotel New York is located at 33rd Street and 7th Avenue in Manhattan. Catch up on work at the 24-hour business center, which features printers and high-speed internet access, or after a long day at a meeting use your complimentary guest passes to work out at Bally Total Fitness. Located next door to the hotel, it offers up-to-the-minute workout equipment, as well as a swimming pool and spa.

Affordable and within walking distance of various New York tower blocks like the Empire State Building and the vibrant oasis of Madison Square Garden, the Pennsylvania is a smart choice for leisure guests too, with central rooms and a budget price tag.
     
Sometimes known as the Hotel Pennsylvania or Hotel Penn, the accommodations here were opened in 1919 and have had several other names over the years, including the Statler-Hilton Hotel, after the original manager Ellsworth Statler. 
Key facts
  • Over 1,700 guestrooms
  • 90,000 sq. ft. of function space, incl. adjoining Penn Plaza Pavilion
  • 16 function rooms and 3 ballrooms
  • 24-hour business center
  • Conference center on the 6th floor with executive boardroom
  • Catering capabilities
  • Four restaurants
Neighborhood
At the intersection of New York City's main tourist areas, such as the Broadway Theater district and Times Square, why not step out of the grand entrance at the Hotel Pennsylvania, turn to the right or left, and see where the sidewalk takes you? The Chrysler Building and Macy's are close at hand, and it's easy to reach the fashionable Chelsea and West Village neighborhoods from here too.
Hints and tips
Canine enthusiasts should plan a visit to coincide with the Westminster Dog Show, an annual event where dogs are put through their paces at nearby Madison Square Garden. Even better, the hotel itself is dog-friendly and there are no size restrictions, although there is an additional fee for your pet to stay. Make sure you check with the front desk before bringing along your furry friend.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Pennsylvania Rooms

Superior
Penn 5000 1 King Bed-Additional comforts and sensible investment. We have added a few special touches to our Penn 5000 Club rooms for guests who prize value but want a few additional comforts...like a king-sized bed with a pillow-top mattress- an efficien
Superior
Penn 5000 2 Double Beds-Additional comforts and asensible investment. We have added a few special touches to our Penn 5000 Club rooms for guests who prize value but want a few additional comforts...like a king-sized bed with a pillow-top mattress- an effi
Superior
Superior 1 Double Bed - Perfect for single guests- the superior room double has the same amenities as our larger Superior Rooms- including free wi-fi - a hairdryer- iron and ironing board- and complimentary access to our in-house fitness center.
Superior
Superior 2 Double Beds - This room type offers two full beds and more space than a Superior One Full Bed room- it has the same amenities as our larger Superior Rooms- including free wi-fi - a hairdryer- iron and ironing board- and complimentary access t

Amenities

  • WiFi
General
Air conditioned
Pet friendly
Elevators
24 hour security
Activities
Exercise gym
Dining
Coffee shop
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Concierge desk
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Gift shop
News stand
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Television with cable
Radio
AM/FM alarm clock
Hairdryer in room
Fire alarm with light
Iron
Ironing board
Smoke detectors

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hotel Pennsylvania also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5

Hotel Map

40.7499 -73.9906
Nearby airports
La Guardia Airport, (LGA), 12.00, MI, W; Newark Intl Airport, (EWR), 14.00, MI, E; John F. Kennedy Intl Airport, (JFK), 16.00, MI, W;
Area description
City Center

Nearby points of interest

  • Penn Station: 0.1 mi
  • Macys: 0.1 mi
  • Manhattan Mall: 0.1 mi
  • Herald Square: 0.2 mi
  • Koreatown, Manhattan: 0.3 mi
  • Museum at FIT: 0.3 mi
  • The King's College: 0.3 mi
  • Garment District: 0.3 mi
  • American Academy of Dramatic Arts: 0.4 mi
  • Lord & Taylor: 0.4 mi
  • Nederlander Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Bryant Park: 0.4 mi
  • Limelight Marketplace: 0.4 mi
  • New York Times Building: 0.4 mi
  • Port Authority Bus Terminal: 0.5 mi
  • Penn Station: 0.1 mi
  • Macys: 0.1 mi
  • Manhattan Mall: 0.1 mi
  • Herald Square: 0.2 mi
  • Koreatown, Manhattan: 0.3 mi
  • Museum at FIT: 0.3 mi
  • The King's College: 0.3 mi
  • Garment District: 0.3 mi
  • American Academy of Dramatic Arts: 0.4 mi
  • Lord & Taylor: 0.4 mi
  • Nederlander Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Bryant Park: 0.4 mi
  • Limelight Marketplace: 0.4 mi
  • New York Times Building: 0.4 mi
  • Port Authority Bus Terminal: 0.5 mi
  • New Victory Theater: 0.5 mi
  • Ford Center For The Performing Arts: 0.5 mi
  • Pierpont Morgan Library: 0.5 mi
  • Condé Nast Building: 0.5 mi
  • American Airlines Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Foxwoods Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • NY Public Library: 0.5 mi
  • Bank of America Tower: 0.5 mi
  • Stephen Sondheim Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Theater District: 0.5 mi
  • Town Hall: 0.5 mi
  • Lower Plaza: 0.5 mi
  • Murray Hill: 0.6 mi
  • Hughoneill Dry Goods Store: 0.6 mi
  • Helen Hayes Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Majestic Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Belasco Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Broadhurst Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Shubert Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Minskoff Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Flatiron Building: 0.6 mi
  • Bernard B. Jacobs Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • John Golden Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Booth Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Metropolitan Life Insurance Company Tower: 0.6 mi
  • Lyceum Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Union Square - the Flatiron District: 0.6 mi
  • Music Box Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • St. James Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Imperial Theatre: 0.6 mi

Dining

City Perk
24 Hour coffee shop located off lobby with quick service grab-n-go items.
Tim Hortons
Quick service grab-n-go serving coffee - Donuts -Sandwiches - Located outside off the main entrance.
Stout
Irish pub serving Lunch - Dinner - Brunch on weekends - busy with after-work crowd and game nights.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (1037)

Ratings and reviews for Hotel Pennsylvania

Overall score

2.5 / 5
5.01.0
1037 out of 1037
Amenities:
2.4
Room cleanliness:
2.7
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2.5
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.1

57% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel Pennsylvania

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Filipao
Business
Durham, Carolina del Norte, EEUU
Oct 26, 2011

Massive

Massive Hotel, plenty of people!!! zero customer service!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Pennsylvania

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Disgusted in KC
Business
Kansas City
Nov 17, 2011

Mold in the Shower

This hotel was disgusting and I believe unsafe. The lobby looked nice enough; however the room(s) were another story. In all the rooms we were in (a total of 3) they all had mold on the ceiling. I don't mind an old room; however, I believe this hotel may be unsafe due to their mold issue. The cleaning ladies all wore masks...cannot be a good thing. Although a good location next to MSG, a little more money for your heath's sake is worth it!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Pennsylvania

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Ricardo H
Business
Louisville, KY
Nov 21, 2011

Worst hotel experience ever!

Shower ran constatntly and could not be turned off. After letting front desk know in the afternoon, we returned at midnight to a flooded bathroom floor and no repair. Had to move rooms at that point to a room that was a smoking room with furniture from my college dorm room. Beat up, no clock, and pitiful for a premium rate we paid. Also learned that we overpaid on by over $100.00 per night frm the rate at the desk of $119.00.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Pennsylvania

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Ron69
Business
Ireland
Nov 21, 2011

Family break

Great location but the rooms are simply terrible, they are dirty and haven't been revamped in 20 years, the bath was all cracked and plaster was falling from the ceiling - not good and will not be back!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Pennsylvania

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
gotiger69
Business
Sydney, Australia
Nov 20, 2011

Lobby and location only highlight of hotel

The room was filthy- carpets were rarely vacuumed, the bedspread was stained, the bathroom had paint peeling off in the shower and on the walls. Fixtures in the bathroom were rusty. The mattress was old and flat. The room could have really done with some updating- was very disappointed. Worst room I have ever stayed in.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Stardust Diner on 51st and Broadway was great. Staff sing while they take your order . Very fun and entertaining!

Review of Hotel Pennsylvania

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Raalte
Business
Canada
Nov 22, 2011

Big disappointment

The only good thing about hotel Pennsylvania is its location in the midle of Manhattan, right opposite of the Madison Square Garden. The hotel itself is from the 1950. When you enter, the foyer and reception area look good, however if you then take the elevator to the rooms, its a disaster. The corridors, rooms, breakfast lounge, fitness room are all dirty, there is no paint on the walls and the rooms are really small and old fashion. The rooms have no working airconditioning and you can not control the heating. In the mornings we woke up because of construction on the floor above us. The wake-up telephone service does not work and they do not really seem tocare either. Overall, I would not advise anybody to stay in this hotel, for sure i am never going back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Search for the small restaurants, they are there and good. May take a 20 minute walk, but it is worth it.

Review of Hotel Pennsylvania

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Janie701
Business
North Carolina
Nov 27, 2011

The walls were paper thin; heard ever word; dingy; paint peeling everywhere;

The lobby is beautiful, but the line to check in was extremely long and it was ever time I walked by. The help with events was very good and the staff was most helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Nate's in the 300 block of 7th avenue was great. The water taxi "hop on, hop off" was worth the small amount of $25 per person.

Review of Hotel Pennsylvania

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Unhappy Black Friday Stay
Business
Queens, New York
Nov 28, 2011

Hotel Penn #Fail

This place is in a prime location but the rooms are nasty, mildew on walls, no fridge, extremely small, very old TV with poor reception. I recommend this place only if you plan to spend as lilttle time as possible in the actual hotel!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Great location for shopping!

Review of Hotel Pennsylvania

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Khalil
Business
Orange County, CA
Dec 11, 2011

Bad experience

My reservation was for superior room, with hairdryer and a pressing board. Ended up in a room without any of the amenities, literally falling apart, cracks in the walls, etc. Bathroom so dirty that I did not take take a shower in this filthy place, with chicken hall size room. When I called the front desk to complain, the lady answered that this is their quality room!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Pennsylvania

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
MMM56
Business
Miami, FL
Dec 7, 2011

Disappointing Stay

I was very disappointed. Room was not well-maintained (lamps dusty, the bathroom sink was loose), old carpeting, odor.. The worst thing was that I could not even shower - turned on the hot water faucet and had scalding water, but when the cold water was turned on then the water would be freezing - apparently the water would stop.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top