Rate based on Check-in: Feb 21, 2016 Check-out: Feb 23, 2016

Hotel Pennsylvania

2 stars
View map of 401 7th Avenue, New York, NY 10001

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Hotel Pennsylvania

Overall score

2.6 / 5
5.01.0
162 out of 162
Amenities:
2.5
Cleanliness:
2.9
Hotel staff:
3.1
Comfort:
2.6
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.1

62% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel Pennsylvania

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Friends
Buffalo NY
Jun 6, 2011

Just ok...

We came to NYC to shop and have some fun for my birthday. We stayed at this hotel before but this time it was unpleasent. Room was not clean as before.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of Hotel Pennsylvania

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
GMNY
Friends
Ontario, Canada
Aug 26, 2011

First trip to NY

The lobby was beautiful and staff at the front desk were friendly. Room had MOLD and HOLES in the ceiling, the bed sheets were damp because of the A/C and no circulation, the bathroom was hideous. Hotel location was great, 5 min walk to Times Square...would not recommend hotel or be staying there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of Hotel Pennsylvania

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
Sola, Norway
Jul 21, 2010

The Worst Hotel Ever experienced

Thought the Hotel was in a perfect location that was the only good thing about the hotel. It was run down way past time for renovation paint chipping off carpet dirty beyond compare and this is the good stuff about the hotel. It took three rooms before we could get one livable. It felt like the last time they updated the hotel was in 1950 and have not done anything since then. They could not pay me enough to go back to this hotel!! In its current state. Like I said Location was fantastic.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Hotel Pennsylvania

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Tourista
Couples
Texas, USA
Sep 4, 2011

**DO NOT STAY HERE**

My girlfriend and I chose to stay at this hotel for Labor Day weekend. After researching the hotel and reading the reviews, we were understanding that this hotel did not have "Trump Plaza" amenities nor looks but it was in a great location which attracted us. Above all, we never thought that this place would be a health hazard. Once we arrived we were pleased to see the astronomical amount of people that were in the lobby. We immediately felt at ease and said to each other, "wow this place can't be that bad-look at the amount of people here." Additionally, the hotel lobby was attractive and thus put us at ease about staying here. After checking in and witnessing an argument triggered by the unprofessionalism of the concierge, Shila, we were on our way to our rooms. Still dissallusioned. The nightmare began once we stepped out of the 7th floor... The hallways reminded me of the hotel that was featured in the movie "Hostel." Dark, dingy, shabby and the carpet smelled like spoiled milk. Our room was utterly repulsive. The ceiling was water stained in many spots, carpet was musty, the bathroom had multiple hairs on the sink and the room smelled like an old library. If there was such a thing as half of a star rating, I wouldn't even give it that. Forget about unpleasant, this hotel is a health hazard and should be inspected. Do not fall for the slogan....location,location,location.... We left the hotel the same night and stood with some relatives. Our money was lost but our health and sanity was preserved.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Hotel Pennsylvania

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Edgey03
Couples
Salem, OR, USA
Sep 29, 2011

Horrible

First off we ordered a king bedroom and they cause us a full. The window didn't open and it smelt really bad. It is so gross I can't even tell you. The only thing that is at all good about it is the location. I would say its worth paying a little bit more money then to stay at this dump. I would never stay here again! Or let any of my friends or family stay here either.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Schnippers as the best milkshakes!!!

Review of Hotel Pennsylvania

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Majorly dissatisfied customer
Friends
Covina, California
Jun 24, 2010

Hotel Hell

They placed us in a closet and called it our room. There was a major plumbing problem in our tiny bathroom and they tore it down w/o our knowledge and just left us a note saying we needed to ask for a new room. When we did, it seemed like the staff was upset that they had to give us a new room. They said it wasn't their problem and we should take up our issues with[...] We never received any apologies.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of Hotel Pennsylvania

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Mechanicsburg PA
May 28, 2011

Ewwwwwwwwwww

This was hands down the most disgusting hotel I have ever encountered, the ceiling tiles were rotten, wet and falling down. The rooms were smokey and smelled. The bed sheets were so stained I do not even want to know what was left on them. The bathrooms were so dirty, the phone was covered in dirt and didn't work. Plus the air-conditioning didn't work. This was the worst hotel experience I have ever had.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Pennsylvania

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Crawl traveler
Couples
Boston, MA
Jan 7, 2010

Awfull hotel, wouldnt recommend it!!

We had to check out 3 hours later from our check-in. The roof on the 6th floor is falling apart, they gave us a "non smoking" room wich stinked so bad to cigar that was unbareable!! Seriously, for 30 more a night you can get a MUCH better hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Couples

Money-saving tip: Long walk from hotel

Dont buy tickets from scalpers in the madisson square garden, they are all fake!

Review of Hotel Pennsylvania

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
PATTERSON CA
Jan 20, 2011

HOTEL FROM HELL!

DIRTY, SMELL, CRACK WALLS, LONG CHECK IN LINES, PARKING $40 A DAY, PETS IN THE HALL WAY AND RUDE STAFF. IT LOOKS LIKE A PLACE WHERE PEOPLE DO DRUGS AND HAVE SEX FOR MONEY. MOTEL 6 IS CLEANER AND BETTER THAN THIS HOTEL.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Family

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

DOWNTOWN TIME SQUARE!

Review of Hotel Pennsylvania

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Clem
Family
Houston, TX
Aug 4, 2011

really ugly.

Bad Experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Family

Back to menu Return to top