Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 24, 2014 Check-out: Aug 25, 2014

Hotel Pennsylvania

2 stars
401 7th Avenue, New York, NY 10001
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.5
out of 5
1,340 reviews
Fantastic

We enjoyed our stay. Hotel staff was really nice and even upgraded our room. Fabulous location.... See full review

  • Kountry's Girl
  • Jul 27, 2014
nice getaway

I had a very good experience at the hotel and it a nice getaway to bring your family See full review

  • Whitehorse79
  • Apr 15, 2014
The Pennsylvania Hotel New York is located at 33rd Street and 7th Avenue in Manhattan. Catch up on work at the 24-hour business center, which features printers and high-speed internet access, or after a long day at a meeting use your complimentary guest passes to work out at Bally Total Fitness. Located next door to the hotel, it offers up-to-the-minute workout equipment, as well as a swimming pool and spa.

Affordable and within walking distance of various New York tower blocks like the Empire State Building and the vibrant oasis of Madison Square Garden, the Pennsylvania is a smart choice for leisure guests too, with central rooms and a budget price tag.
     
Sometimes known as the Hotel Pennsylvania or Hotel Penn, the accommodations here were opened in 1919 and have had several other names over the years, including the Statler-Hilton Hotel, after the original manager Ellsworth Statler. 
Key facts
  • Over 1,700 guestrooms
  • 90,000 sq. ft. of function space, incl. adjoining Penn Plaza Pavilion
  • 16 function rooms and 3 ballrooms
  • 24-hour business center
  • Conference center on the 6th floor with executive boardroom
  • Catering capabilities
  • Four restaurants
Neighborhood
At the intersection of New York City's main tourist areas, such as the Broadway Theater district and Times Square, why not step out of the grand entrance at the Hotel Pennsylvania, turn to the right or left, and see where the sidewalk takes you? The Chrysler Building and Macy's are close at hand, and it's easy to reach the fashionable Chelsea and West Village neighborhoods from here too.
Hints and tips
Canine enthusiasts should plan a visit to coincide with the Westminster Dog Show, an annual event where dogs are put through their paces at nearby Madison Square Garden. Even better, the hotel itself is dog-friendly and there are no size restrictions, although there is an additional fee for your pet to stay. Make sure you check with the front desk before bringing along your furry friend.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Pennsylvania Rooms

Superior
Penn 5000 1 King Bed-Additional comforts and sensible investment. We have added a few special touches to our Penn 5000 Club rooms for guests who prize value but want a few additional comforts...like a king-sized bed with a pillow-top mattress- an efficien
Superior
Penn 5000 2 Double Beds-Additional comforts and asensible investment. We have added a few special touches to our Penn 5000 Club rooms for guests who prize value but want a few additional comforts...like a king-sized bed with a pillow-top mattress- an effi
Superior
Superior 1 Double Bed - Perfect for single guests- the superior room double has the same amenities as our larger Superior Rooms- including free wi-fi - a hairdryer- iron and ironing board- and complimentary access to our in-house fitness center.
Superior
Superior 2 Double Beds - This room type offers two full beds and more space than a Superior One Full Bed room- it has the same amenities as our larger Superior Rooms- including free wi-fi - a hairdryer- iron and ironing board- and complimentary access t

Amenities

  • WiFi
General
Air conditioned
Pet friendly
Elevators
24 hour security
Activities
Exercise gym
Dining
Coffee shop
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Concierge desk
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Gift shop
News stand
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Television with cable
Radio
AM/FM alarm clock
Hairdryer in room
Fire alarm with light
Iron
Ironing board
Smoke detectors

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hotel Pennsylvania also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5

Hotel Map

40.7499 -73.9906
Nearby airports
La Guardia Airport, (LGA), 12.00, MI, W; Newark Intl Airport, (EWR), 14.00, MI, E; John F. Kennedy Intl Airport, (JFK), 16.00, MI, W;
Area description
City Center

Nearby points of interest

  • Penn Station: 0.1 mi
  • Macys: 0.1 mi
  • Manhattan Mall: 0.1 mi
  • Herald Square: 0.2 mi
  • Madison Square Garden: 0.2 mi
  • Koreatown, Manhattan: 0.3 mi
  • Museum at FIT: 0.3 mi
  • The King's College: 0.3 mi
  • Garment District: 0.3 mi
  • American Academy of Dramatic Arts: 0.4 mi
  • Lord & Taylor: 0.4 mi
  • Nederlander Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Bryant Park: 0.4 mi
  • Limelight Marketplace: 0.4 mi
  • New York Times Building: 0.4 mi
  • Penn Station: 0.1 mi
  • Macys: 0.1 mi
  • Manhattan Mall: 0.1 mi
  • Herald Square: 0.2 mi
  • Madison Square Garden: 0.2 mi
  • Koreatown, Manhattan: 0.3 mi
  • Museum at FIT: 0.3 mi
  • The King's College: 0.3 mi
  • Garment District: 0.3 mi
  • American Academy of Dramatic Arts: 0.4 mi
  • Lord & Taylor: 0.4 mi
  • Nederlander Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Bryant Park: 0.4 mi
  • Limelight Marketplace: 0.4 mi
  • New York Times Building: 0.4 mi
  • Port Authority Bus Terminal: 0.5 mi
  • New Victory Theater: 0.5 mi
  • Ford Center For The Performing Arts: 0.5 mi
  • Pierpont Morgan Library: 0.5 mi
  • Condé Nast Building: 0.5 mi
  • American Airlines Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Foxwoods Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • NY Public Library: 0.5 mi
  • Bank of America Tower: 0.5 mi
  • Stephen Sondheim Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Theater District: 0.5 mi
  • Town Hall: 0.5 mi
  • Lower Plaza: 0.5 mi
  • Murray Hill: 0.6 mi
  • Hughoneill Dry Goods Store: 0.6 mi
  • Helen Hayes Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Majestic Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Belasco Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Broadhurst Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Shubert Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Minskoff Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Flatiron Building: 0.6 mi
  • Bernard B. Jacobs Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • John Golden Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Booth Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Metropolitan Life Insurance Company Tower: 0.6 mi
  • Lyceum Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Union Square - the Flatiron District: 0.6 mi
  • Music Box Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • St. James Theatre: 0.6 mi

Dining

City Perk
24 Hour coffee shop located off lobby with quick service grab-n-go items.
Tim Hortons
Quick service grab-n-go serving coffee - Donuts -Sandwiches - Located outside off the main entrance.
Stout
Irish pub serving Lunch - Dinner - Brunch on weekends - busy with after-work crowd and game nights.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (1340)

Ratings and reviews for Hotel Pennsylvania

Overall score

2.5 / 5
5.01.0
1340 out of 1340
Amenities:
2.4
Room cleanliness:
2.7
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2.5
Location:
4.5
Value:
3

55% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel Pennsylvania

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Knoxville, TN
May 19, 2007

very old building, not kept up good at all

the hotel was awful, the rooms were in very bad shape, it needs a lot of work, it smelled musky..

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

kmart, macys and old navy were very close.

Review of Hotel Pennsylvania

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
mom extravagant
Business
ny
Mar 7, 2014

business traveler

The hotel is big and very busy. BUT the rooms are outdated and it looks like a cheap motel. For it to be located across from Madison Square Garden it was horrible. There are restaurant located there but not a part of the hotel. BUT it might as well have been the food was horrible and forget the water down drinks. This was a 1 star if that.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Pennsylvania

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Los Angeles, Ca
Feb 28, 2011

NEVER STAY HERE EVER!!!

After being put up in a room with no hot water right behind the LOUD elevator, when we complained they did nothing to compensate but say "sorry" and shove us out. The "manager" even had the audacity to say I can't help you and walk away mid conversation at check out. The security guard came over and said that we would not be charged for the "upgrade" from one double bed to two... but I checked my credit card to find I WAS charged!!!!!!!!!!1 We were there for one night and called around 11PM when we were going to shower to complain about the noise, water, etc. Instead of offering to help us move our bags, offer a discount, a coupon, SOMETHING, they said "if" they had another room they could move us but not without inconveniencing us even FURTHER at this point. they are aweful!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Review of Hotel Pennsylvania

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Mick92
Charlotte
Dec 9, 2013

Good location

Old and rough shape bathrooms out of date door man rude

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Review of Hotel Pennsylvania

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Ione Joe
San Francisco
Feb 26, 2011

Cheap, and old.

Old and kind of historic. Selling point was the location, and the fact that we were right next to Madison Square Garden to watch the Knicks play. Felt like the next step up from a youth hostel. Bed Bugs were in our room, but they let us change rooms. Good luck.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of Hotel Pennsylvania

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Traveling Friend
Kailua HI
Jul 10, 2010

Not As Advertised

I waited in line for nearly 40 minutes at check in. The hotel looked nice in the lobby. When I got to the front of the line the staff member helping me wasn't too helpful. He had somewhat of an unwillingness to answer my questions. I found out I was accidently double charged, but it was handled after a very long time on hold when I called from my room to fix it. The room was not the same or similar to the pictures and description shown on the site. There was a very large spot of dried urine on the carpet in between the room's door, the closet and bathroom's doors. It didn't look like there was an attempt to try to clean it. The bathroom was in disrepair, everything in there was cracked and dirty. Hair from the last person was still on the sink and the toilet hadn't been cleaned in some time clearly. The door to the bathroom was loud and wouldn't shut. The light in the hallway was dim and most of the lights showing the room numbers on the walls were broken. I did however love the location. It was perfect, right by Penn Station. It's a short walk to restaurants, shops and transportation. I also liked the express check out. We had all of our things in there and explored the city a bit, however when it came time to go back and sleep there we couldn't bring ourselves to stay in such a filthy place. We didn't even bother to try for another room, since we saw some of the cleaning staff's methods for cleaning when walking through the hallway, so we checked in elsewhere. It's the best location period! Unfortunately that isn't enough! If the rooms were actually cleaned I would definately stay there again, even if the place was in disrepair and I didn't get the room I paid for. It would still be a good value for the price, considering it's central location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
1
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Shops are all around, but there are some interesting shops and nightlife in the lower Eastside, which you can get to by taxi in about 20 minutes depending on traffic or by the F route on the subway.

Review of Hotel Pennsylvania

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Costa Rica
May 26, 2010

The only positive is the location

I didn't recommend this hotel, it is not clean, walls were very dirty, bathroom was dirty, they don't clean bathrooms every day. The bed was the worst bed I ever slept at. Staff is really unfriendly, is like they are always mad or angry. It is too expensive for what it offers, I travel to NY a lot, and I won't stay at this hotel again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Macys, Kmart and a lot of stores

Review of Hotel Pennsylvania

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
caboz76
Business
Roma,italy
Oct 6, 2013

SHINING

This is what this hotel remind me of! It is an ugly big hotel, it looks dirty even if the room are not dirty...but are old and run down.... Not my favourite place in NY....

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Pennsylvania

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Orlando, FL
May 11, 2007

Very run down

The Hotel Pennsylvania is in an excellent location but leaves a lot to be desired. Early check-ins are charged to store their luggage in a room reminiscent of a 1950 train station which is probably the last time it was cleaned. The guest room isn't much better. New carpeting but pealing wall paper and mold on the ceilings. The baseboards must have at least an inch of paint on them and that's evident because of all the nicks. This is not a hotel one wants to spend time in.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
2
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Macy's is a block away and Madison Square Garden is across the street.

Review of Hotel Pennsylvania

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
LKMC
Business
London, UK
Feb 28, 2012

Good location but needs a revamp!

This hotel has a great location however it is just very dated and the rooms need re-decorating badly. The comforter on the bed looked like it had'nt been washed for a decade and the carpet was dirty and stained. I also checked into someone elses room when i arrived which then put me on edge for the rest of the trip that someone may walk in on me in the shower! There is also no Wifi in the rooms only in the lobby which you have to enter your credit card details to get, which i would'nt trust. I travelled alone for business and i did'nt feel safe. Oh and you have to queue for an hour to check in!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top