Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 5, 2015 Check-out: Apr 6, 2015

Hotel Pennsylvania

2 stars
View map of 401 7th Avenue, New York, NY 10001

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Hotel Pennsylvania

Overall score

2.6 / 5
5.01.0
1095 out of 1095
Amenities:
2.4
Cleanliness:
2.8
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2.6
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.1

58% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel Pennsylvania

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Dissapointed traveler
Business
Fairfax Va
Jul 27, 2010

Horrible

We were very disappointed with this hotel. The lobby was very nice and clean which leads the visitor to believe the rooms would be at least similar. Sadly this was not the case. Once we arrived on our floor, our first impulse was to get back on the elevator and leave. The floors were dark, dank and smelled. The rooms were so bad we barely slept due to fear of bugs or vermin. We would NOT recommend this to anyone visiting NYC. Wish we would have paid a few dollars more and stayed at the Marriott!!![...]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Pennsylvania

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
London
Oct 9, 2010

terrible, over-priced hotel

queued over one hour to check in [few desks open, slow computers, poor service] dismal small room [described as 'superior double'] with rusty shower, peeling shower tray, very basic bathroom, peeling paint No lounge, restaurant or bar just unpleasant fast-food outlets in lobby Horrible and hugely expensive hotel Only good point was location by Penn station to catch early train to the airport

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

go to Bryant Park to get away from the tacky area around the hotel

Review of Hotel Pennsylvania

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
PATTERSON CA
Jan 20, 2011

HOTEL FROM HELL!

DIRTY, SMELL, CRACK WALLS, LONG CHECK IN LINES, PARKING $40 A DAY, PETS IN THE HALL WAY AND RUDE STAFF. IT LOOKS LIKE A PLACE WHERE PEOPLE DO DRUGS AND HAVE SEX FOR MONEY. MOTEL 6 IS CLEANER AND BETTER THAN THIS HOTEL.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

DOWNTOWN TIME SQUARE!

Review of Hotel Pennsylvania

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
sweet sixteen party
Business
el paso, tx
May 18, 2011

nice people but very ugly

The hotel was in a great location but it was very run down. I'm sure at one time it was a nice place but now its terrible. Old and falling apart.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

It is about ten blocks from times square.

Review of Hotel Pennsylvania

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Mechanicsburg PA
May 28, 2011

Ewwwwwwwwwww

This was hands down the most disgusting hotel I have ever encountered, the ceiling tiles were rotten, wet and falling down. The rooms were smokey and smelled. The bed sheets were so stained I do not even want to know what was left on them. The bathrooms were so dirty, the phone was covered in dirt and didn't work. Plus the air-conditioning didn't work. This was the worst hotel experience I have ever had.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Pennsylvania

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Buffalo NY
Jun 6, 2011

Just ok...

We came to NYC to shop and have some fun for my birthday. We stayed at this hotel before but this time it was unpleasent. Room was not clean as before.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Pennsylvania

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Clem
Business
Houston, TX
Aug 4, 2011

really ugly.

Bad Experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Pennsylvania

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
GMNY
Business
Ontario, Canada
Aug 26, 2011

First trip to NY

The lobby was beautiful and staff at the front desk were friendly. Room had MOLD and HOLES in the ceiling, the bed sheets were damp because of the A/C and no circulation, the bathroom was hideous. Hotel location was great, 5 min walk to Times Square...would not recommend hotel or be staying there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Pennsylvania

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Tourista
Business
Texas, USA
Sep 4, 2011

**DO NOT STAY HERE**

My girlfriend and I chose to stay at this hotel for Labor Day weekend. After researching the hotel and reading the reviews, we were understanding that this hotel did not have "Trump Plaza" amenities nor looks but it was in a great location which attracted us. Above all, we never thought that this place would be a health hazard. Once we arrived we were pleased to see the astronomical amount of people that were in the lobby. We immediately felt at ease and said to each other, "wow this place can't be that bad-look at the amount of people here." Additionally, the hotel lobby was attractive and thus put us at ease about staying here. After checking in and witnessing an argument triggered by the unprofessionalism of the concierge, Shila, we were on our way to our rooms. Still dissallusioned. The nightmare began once we stepped out of the 7th floor... The hallways reminded me of the hotel that was featured in the movie "Hostel." Dark, dingy, shabby and the carpet smelled like spoiled milk. Our room was utterly repulsive. The ceiling was water stained in many spots, carpet was musty, the bathroom had multiple hairs on the sink and the room smelled like an old library. If there was such a thing as half of a star rating, I wouldn't even give it that. Forget about unpleasant, this hotel is a health hazard and should be inspected. Do not fall for the slogan....location,location,location.... We left the hotel the same night and stood with some relatives. Our money was lost but our health and sanity was preserved.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Pennsylvania

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Edgey03
Business
Salem, OR, USA
Sep 29, 2011

Horrible

First off we ordered a king bedroom and they cause us a full. The window didn't open and it smelt really bad. It is so gross I can't even tell you. The only thing that is at all good about it is the location. I would say its worth paying a little bit more money then to stay at this dump. I would never stay here again! Or let any of my friends or family stay here either.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Schnippers as the best milkshakes!!!

Back to menu Return to top