Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 22, 2014 Check-out: Aug 25, 2014

Hotel Pennsylvania

2 stars
401 7th Avenue, New York, NY 10001
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.5
out of 5
1,337 reviews
nice getaway

I had a very good experience at the hotel and it a nice getaway to bring your family See full review

  • Whitehorse79
  • Apr 15, 2014
Fantastic

A perfect place to stay. Very friend place to have fun. See full review

  • Whitehorse79
  • Mar 19, 2014
The Pennsylvania Hotel New York is located at 33rd Street and 7th Avenue in Manhattan. Catch up on work at the 24-hour business center, which features printers and high-speed internet access, or after a long day at a meeting use your complimentary guest passes to work out at Bally Total Fitness. Located next door to the hotel, it offers up-to-the-minute workout equipment, as well as a swimming pool and spa.

Affordable and within walking distance of various New York tower blocks like the Empire State Building and the vibrant oasis of Madison Square Garden, the Pennsylvania is a smart choice for leisure guests too, with central rooms and a budget price tag.
     
Sometimes known as the Hotel Pennsylvania or Hotel Penn, the accommodations here were opened in 1919 and have had several other names over the years, including the Statler-Hilton Hotel, after the original manager Ellsworth Statler. 
Key facts
  • Over 1,700 guestrooms
  • 90,000 sq. ft. of function space, incl. adjoining Penn Plaza Pavilion
  • 16 function rooms and 3 ballrooms
  • 24-hour business center
  • Conference center on the 6th floor with executive boardroom
  • Catering capabilities
  • Four restaurants
Neighborhood
At the intersection of New York City's main tourist areas, such as the Broadway Theater district and Times Square, why not step out of the grand entrance at the Hotel Pennsylvania, turn to the right or left, and see where the sidewalk takes you? The Chrysler Building and Macy's are close at hand, and it's easy to reach the fashionable Chelsea and West Village neighborhoods from here too.
Hints and tips
Canine enthusiasts should plan a visit to coincide with the Westminster Dog Show, an annual event where dogs are put through their paces at nearby Madison Square Garden. Even better, the hotel itself is dog-friendly and there are no size restrictions, although there is an additional fee for your pet to stay. Make sure you check with the front desk before bringing along your furry friend.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Pennsylvania Rooms

Superior
Penn 5000 1 King Bed-Additional comforts and sensible investment. We have added a few special touches to our Penn 5000 Club rooms for guests who prize value but want a few additional comforts...like a king-sized bed with a pillow-top mattress- an efficien
Superior
Penn 5000 2 Double Beds-Additional comforts and asensible investment. We have added a few special touches to our Penn 5000 Club rooms for guests who prize value but want a few additional comforts...like a king-sized bed with a pillow-top mattress- an effi
Superior
Superior 1 Double Bed - Perfect for single guests- the superior room double has the same amenities as our larger Superior Rooms- including free wi-fi - a hairdryer- iron and ironing board- and complimentary access to our in-house fitness center.
Superior
Superior 2 Double Beds - This room type offers two full beds and more space than a Superior One Full Bed room- it has the same amenities as our larger Superior Rooms- including free wi-fi - a hairdryer- iron and ironing board- and complimentary access t

Amenities

  • WiFi
General
Air conditioned
Pet friendly
Elevators
24 hour security
Activities
Exercise gym
Dining
Coffee shop
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Concierge desk
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Gift shop
News stand
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Television with cable
Radio
AM/FM alarm clock
Hairdryer in room
Fire alarm with light
Iron
Ironing board
Smoke detectors

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hotel Pennsylvania also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5

Hotel Map

40.7499 -73.9906
Nearby airports
La Guardia Airport, (LGA), 12.00, MI, W; Newark Intl Airport, (EWR), 14.00, MI, E; John F. Kennedy Intl Airport, (JFK), 16.00, MI, W;
Area description
City Center

Nearby points of interest

  • Penn Station: 0.1 mi
  • Macys: 0.1 mi
  • Manhattan Mall: 0.1 mi
  • Herald Square: 0.2 mi
  • Madison Square Garden: 0.2 mi
  • Koreatown, Manhattan: 0.3 mi
  • Museum at FIT: 0.3 mi
  • The King's College: 0.3 mi
  • Garment District: 0.3 mi
  • American Academy of Dramatic Arts: 0.4 mi
  • Lord & Taylor: 0.4 mi
  • Nederlander Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Bryant Park: 0.4 mi
  • Limelight Marketplace: 0.4 mi
  • New York Times Building: 0.4 mi
  • Penn Station: 0.1 mi
  • Macys: 0.1 mi
  • Manhattan Mall: 0.1 mi
  • Herald Square: 0.2 mi
  • Madison Square Garden: 0.2 mi
  • Koreatown, Manhattan: 0.3 mi
  • Museum at FIT: 0.3 mi
  • The King's College: 0.3 mi
  • Garment District: 0.3 mi
  • American Academy of Dramatic Arts: 0.4 mi
  • Lord & Taylor: 0.4 mi
  • Nederlander Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Bryant Park: 0.4 mi
  • Limelight Marketplace: 0.4 mi
  • New York Times Building: 0.4 mi
  • Port Authority Bus Terminal: 0.5 mi
  • New Victory Theater: 0.5 mi
  • Ford Center For The Performing Arts: 0.5 mi
  • Pierpont Morgan Library: 0.5 mi
  • Condé Nast Building: 0.5 mi
  • American Airlines Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Foxwoods Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • NY Public Library: 0.5 mi
  • Bank of America Tower: 0.5 mi
  • Stephen Sondheim Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Theater District: 0.5 mi
  • Town Hall: 0.5 mi
  • Lower Plaza: 0.5 mi
  • Murray Hill: 0.6 mi
  • Hughoneill Dry Goods Store: 0.6 mi
  • Helen Hayes Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Majestic Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Belasco Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Broadhurst Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Shubert Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Minskoff Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Flatiron Building: 0.6 mi
  • Bernard B. Jacobs Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • John Golden Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Booth Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Metropolitan Life Insurance Company Tower: 0.6 mi
  • Lyceum Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Union Square - the Flatiron District: 0.6 mi
  • Music Box Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • St. James Theatre: 0.6 mi

Dining

City Perk
24 Hour coffee shop located off lobby with quick service grab-n-go items.
Tim Hortons
Quick service grab-n-go serving coffee - Donuts -Sandwiches - Located outside off the main entrance.
Stout
Irish pub serving Lunch - Dinner - Brunch on weekends - busy with after-work crowd and game nights.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (1337)

Ratings and reviews for Hotel Pennsylvania

Overall score

2.5 / 5
5.01.0
1337 out of 1337
Amenities:
2.4
Room cleanliness:
2.7
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2.5
Location:
4.5
Value:
3

55% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel Pennsylvania

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
mariannego
Montreal, Canada
Jul 5, 2010

Excellent location, big room!

We were traveling one couple and 2 singles and we asked for seperates beds: we god a giant room with 4 beds, view on the 7th avenue, 4th floor! Clean, big room. You need ear plugs to cover the taxi traffic in front of the Penn station.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Hotel Pennsylvania

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
svgh
dallas, tx
Jul 13, 2014

Great vacation in NY

Great location. It was a bit noisy because the room was above the AC units, and it did not make a difference if it was even 17th floor. I reccomend the hotel if you only use it to sleep. Be aware that the internet is not free there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Hotel Pennsylvania

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Toronto, Canada
Apr 24, 2010

The Way To See New York City!

From the moment we arrived at the hotel, we knew we made an excellent choice for our short stay. The staff were very friendly and extremely helpful. Our first impression of our room was questionable...but it was clean and the shower had good pressure. The hotel staff directed us to the best route for shopping. The Hop On Hop Off tour is well worth it...we even discovered where to buy day of broadway tickets without having to wait in the long line ups at Times Square! We will definitely be returning to Hotel Penn for all our future visits!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

Purchase your day of tickets near the South Street Seaport stop on the Hop on Hop off bus route. There is no line and you'll save yourself time to do other NYC stuff!

Review of Hotel Pennsylvania

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
New York, NY
Mar 27, 2008

Good Value

Hotle Penn is in a great location about 8 blocks south of Times Square/Theatre District. It is directly across the street from Madison Square Garden & Penn Station. Because our first stay at Hotel Penn was so great we decided to return. Our room, including the bathroom, on the first visit was huge. We had a view out over 7th avenue. It was great. I was checked into a tiny little room with a small bathroom. The view consisted of overlooking the rooftop of the building next door. It was a little disappointing but otherwise it was a great stay. I wish they had internet access in the rooms rather than just in the lobby. We will likely stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Hell's Kitchen on 9th Avenue, just east of Times Square/Theatre Distric has dozens of reasonably priced restaurants.

Review of Hotel Pennsylvania

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MoeTravel
Wadsworth, Ohio
May 15, 2013

Great Deal

We had read mixed reviews about the hotel and so were a little apprehensive about staying here. However, we found the room to be very clean and comfortable. The bathtub was a little questionable, but nothing a pair of shower shoes couldn't fix. Also while some staff members were less than pleasant or helpful it did not put a damper on our experience. Overall, an excellent value for a great location. We will stay here next time we visit.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Hotel Pennsylvania

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Utopians express
Incheon, Korea
Feb 13, 2014

Honeymooners

The front office staff who checked is in was appallingly rude. She threw my debit card, ID and cursed at me when she was supposed to greet me goodbye and to have a great honey moon here in NYC she made us extremely offended by her rude behavior.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Hotel Pennsylvania

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mumsey
Scotland, UK
Jan 13, 2012

Perfect location for all NYC has to offer

We flew into Newark and the train took us to across the street from the hotel. Looking up 7th Avenue we could see Macy's and the lights of Times Square. 10 minutes walk across town and we were outside the Empire State Building. You can get the subway or bus less than a block away which will take you downtown to the 9/11 Memorial or uptown to Central Park and the museums. No need to wait for a taxi after a basketball game at Madison Square Gardens- it's next to the train station! This is the second time I've stayed here and recommend it to anyone who asks.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Don't pay high prices for breakfast at the hotel, lots of diners within a couple of blocks.

Review of Hotel Pennsylvania

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
disturbedrod
Raleigh, NC
Aug 8, 2011

Good location, old buidling

Nothing can beat the location of this hotel, a few blocks from Times Square, just behind the empire state building, across the street of Madison Square Garden, 1 block away from the subway. But people in the check in counter were rude, they have so many guests everyday that they forget to be polite, the hotel is old and lacks of the proper maintenance, and it looks old; the shower was a ride, getting bursts of extremely hot and cold water. But like I said, good location, good price and it did what I was expecting, have a place where to sleep and rest, I wasn't planning on spending my trip to NYC in a hotel room at all.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
4
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Broadway and Times Square, just a few blocks from there, 100% recommended

Review of Hotel Pennsylvania

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
granny lulu
Business
los angeles
Jun 22, 2013

much better than I expected

Quiet, great new bathroom, location across from Madison Square Garden is unsurpassed. I walked everywhere in Manhattan! Staff is efficient and unobtrusive, which is the way I like it. The only issue is that the room I was in needed repainting. I cost-conscious traveler, I only stay in inexpensive hotels. This is now at the top of my list!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Pennsylvania

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MariaogMichael
4400 Kalundborg, Danmark
Oct 1, 2011

Good location

Clean large rooms, friendly staff. The rooms are somewhat worn out, but has everything it needs. The breakfast could have been better, the croissants and bagels were gone already at 8, leaving only danish, and the first few days there was no coffee/cacao. Just opposite the subway and railwaystation. We would be happy to stay at Hotel Pennsylvania again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Century 21 Cheap branded clothes. Very good store. Location close to ground zero.

Back to menu Return to top