Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 31, 2014 Check-out: Sep 3, 2014

Hotel Pennsylvania

2 stars
401 7th Avenue, New York, NY 10001
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.6
out of 5
1,238 reviews
Hotel Penn

Hotel Pennsylvania is the perfect place to stay for the New York experience. With its location... See full review

  • Traviss
  • Aug 9, 2014
Fantastic

We enjoyed our stay. Hotel staff was really nice and even upgraded our room. Fabulous location.... See full review

  • Kountry's Girl
  • Jul 27, 2014
The Pennsylvania Hotel New York is located at 33rd Street and 7th Avenue in Manhattan. Catch up on work at the 24-hour business center, which features printers and high-speed internet access, or after a long day at a meeting use your complimentary guest passes to work out at Bally Total Fitness. Located next door to the hotel, it offers up-to-the-minute workout equipment, as well as a swimming pool and spa.

Affordable and within walking distance of various New York tower blocks like the Empire State Building and the vibrant oasis of Madison Square Garden, the Pennsylvania is a smart choice for leisure guests too, with central rooms and a budget price tag.
     
Sometimes known as the Hotel Pennsylvania or Hotel Penn, the accommodations here were opened in 1919 and have had several other names over the years, including the Statler-Hilton Hotel, after the original manager Ellsworth Statler. 
Key facts
  • Over 1,700 guestrooms
  • 90,000 sq. ft. of function space, incl. adjoining Penn Plaza Pavilion
  • 16 function rooms and 3 ballrooms
  • 24-hour business center
  • Conference center on the 6th floor with executive boardroom
  • Catering capabilities
  • Four restaurants
Neighborhood
At the intersection of New York City's main tourist areas, such as the Broadway Theater district and Times Square, why not step out of the grand entrance at the Hotel Pennsylvania, turn to the right or left, and see where the sidewalk takes you? The Chrysler Building and Macy's are close at hand, and it's easy to reach the fashionable Chelsea and West Village neighborhoods from here too.
Hints and tips
Canine enthusiasts should plan a visit to coincide with the Westminster Dog Show, an annual event where dogs are put through their paces at nearby Madison Square Garden. Even better, the hotel itself is dog-friendly and there are no size restrictions, although there is an additional fee for your pet to stay. Make sure you check with the front desk before bringing along your furry friend.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Pennsylvania Rooms

Superior
Penn 5000 1 King Bed-Additional comforts and sensible investment. We have added a few special touches to our Penn 5000 Club rooms for guests who prize value but want a few additional comforts...like a king-sized bed with a pillow-top mattress- an efficien
Superior
Penn 5000 2 Double Beds-Additional comforts and asensible investment. We have added a few special touches to our Penn 5000 Club rooms for guests who prize value but want a few additional comforts...like a king-sized bed with a pillow-top mattress- an effi
Superior
Superior 1 Double Bed - Perfect for single guests- the superior room double has the same amenities as our larger Superior Rooms- including free wi-fi - a hairdryer- iron and ironing board- and complimentary access to our in-house fitness center.
Superior
Superior 2 Double Beds - This room type offers two full beds and more space than a Superior One Full Bed room- it has the same amenities as our larger Superior Rooms- including free wi-fi - a hairdryer- iron and ironing board- and complimentary access t

Amenities

  • WiFi
General
Air conditioned
Pet friendly
Elevators
24 hour security
Activities
Exercise gym
Dining
Coffee shop
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Concierge desk
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Gift shop
News stand
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Television with cable
Radio
AM/FM alarm clock
Hairdryer in room
Fire alarm with light
Iron
Ironing board
Smoke detectors

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hotel Pennsylvania also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5

Hotel Map

40.7499 -73.9906
Nearby airports
La Guardia Airport, (LGA), 12.00, MI, W; Newark Intl Airport, (EWR), 14.00, MI, E; John F. Kennedy Intl Airport, (JFK), 16.00, MI, W;
Area description
City Center

Nearby points of interest

  • Penn Station: 0.1 mi
  • Macys: 0.1 mi
  • Manhattan Mall: 0.1 mi
  • Herald Square: 0.2 mi
  • Madison Square Garden: 0.2 mi
  • Koreatown, Manhattan: 0.3 mi
  • Museum at FIT: 0.3 mi
  • The King's College: 0.3 mi
  • Garment District: 0.3 mi
  • American Academy of Dramatic Arts: 0.4 mi
  • Lord & Taylor: 0.4 mi
  • Nederlander Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Bryant Park: 0.4 mi
  • Limelight Marketplace: 0.4 mi
  • New York Times Building: 0.4 mi
  • Penn Station: 0.1 mi
  • Macys: 0.1 mi
  • Manhattan Mall: 0.1 mi
  • Herald Square: 0.2 mi
  • Madison Square Garden: 0.2 mi
  • Koreatown, Manhattan: 0.3 mi
  • Museum at FIT: 0.3 mi
  • The King's College: 0.3 mi
  • Garment District: 0.3 mi
  • American Academy of Dramatic Arts: 0.4 mi
  • Lord & Taylor: 0.4 mi
  • Nederlander Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Bryant Park: 0.4 mi
  • Limelight Marketplace: 0.4 mi
  • New York Times Building: 0.4 mi
  • Port Authority Bus Terminal: 0.5 mi
  • New Victory Theater: 0.5 mi
  • Ford Center For The Performing Arts: 0.5 mi
  • Pierpont Morgan Library: 0.5 mi
  • Condé Nast Building: 0.5 mi
  • American Airlines Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Foxwoods Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • NY Public Library: 0.5 mi
  • Bank of America Tower: 0.5 mi
  • Stephen Sondheim Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Theater District: 0.5 mi
  • Town Hall: 0.5 mi
  • Lower Plaza: 0.5 mi
  • Murray Hill: 0.6 mi
  • Hughoneill Dry Goods Store: 0.6 mi
  • Helen Hayes Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Majestic Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Belasco Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Broadhurst Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Shubert Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Minskoff Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Flatiron Building: 0.6 mi
  • Bernard B. Jacobs Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • John Golden Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Booth Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Metropolitan Life Insurance Company Tower: 0.6 mi
  • Lyceum Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Union Square - the Flatiron District: 0.6 mi
  • Music Box Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • St. James Theatre: 0.6 mi

Dining

City Perk
24 Hour coffee shop located off lobby with quick service grab-n-go items.
Tim Hortons
Quick service grab-n-go serving coffee - Donuts -Sandwiches - Located outside off the main entrance.
Stout
Irish pub serving Lunch - Dinner - Brunch on weekends - busy with after-work crowd and game nights.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (1238)

Ratings and reviews for Hotel Pennsylvania

Overall score

2.6 / 5
5.01.0
1238 out of 1238
Amenities:
2.4
Room cleanliness:
2.8
Hotel staff:
2.9
Room comfort:
2.5
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.1

60% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel Pennsylvania

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Utopians express
Incheon, Korea
Feb 13, 2014

Honeymooners

The front office staff who checked is in was appallingly rude. She threw my debit card, ID and cursed at me when she was supposed to greet me goodbye and to have a great honey moon here in NYC she made us extremely offended by her rude behavior.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Hotel Pennsylvania

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Cacareca e Magrela
Coral Springs/florida
Jan 24, 2014

Short trip

Very nice location...right in front of Madison Square Garden...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of Hotel Pennsylvania

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Singh
Kent
Jan 24, 2014

Hotel Pennsylvania

The amenities are lacking and the room decor and furniture is really put dated. However for me all this was known before I booked and what made up for it was the price and the location. Centrally located in Manhatten and across the road from the main Penn staton from wheer you get off if getting a train from the airport.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
4
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Time sqaue is about 10 mins away and is family friendly and lively every day of the week.

Review of Hotel Pennsylvania

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
rocco226
Clinton, NJ
Jan 21, 2014

Good Hotel

Hotel Pennsylvania is a great location at a great price. I would recommend this place for anyone.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Hotel Pennsylvania

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
KRSNYC
West Haven, CT
Jan 20, 2014

Second time staying there...

And it completely changed my opinion about the hotel! The check-in person gave us a free upgrade from a regular double bed to a room with 2 double beds. The bathroom still looked very old, but it was clean. The location is definitely great and it is not really noisy because of the streets.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Hotel Pennsylvania

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Heather California
California
Jan 17, 2014

Great comfortable stay

I stayed for a week and loved my stay everything is so close by and it's in a great area. Love the food too! Great ppl! And maids are very accommodating

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Statler grill.

Review of Hotel Pennsylvania

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
chris wilson
sao paulo, br
Jan 8, 2014

Great Value tha cannot be beat!!

After reading the reviews i was a bit concerned with staying at this hotel, bed bugs, horrible service, unbeleivabky dirty rooms...but everything w as s fine and my girlfriend and i had a great stay!!!! The room was clean but a little old, the bed had a new and comfortable mattress, and the locatio was PERFECT! one criticism i have is that it did take around 25 minutes to check in bit considering it was 15 seconds from penn station we would yave spent more than that commutingto another hotel. If you can afford and are a picky traveler that expects 5 start quality everywhere, don't stay here. But if you are going to nyc to see nyc this is an incredible value that i dont think can be beat!! We we re e litterally in the room to sleep and shower!! We did check for bed bugs when we got in the room to just be sure, i would recommend that based on the reviews but everything was just fine!!! Relax, you will have a great and adorable stay here!!!! :)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Hotel Pennsylvania

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
KO Travel Lover
Arlington, Virginia
Dec 30, 2013

Overall good experience

The staff was friendly and the room was clean. We didn't spend much time in the hotel since we were there to see the city. Can't beat the location!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Hotel Pennsylvania

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jess K
Long Island, NY
Dec 23, 2013

Nice and Convenient

It was close enough to Penn Station and main attractions and well kept.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Hotel Pennsylvania

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jenny1324
Austin, Texas
Dec 20, 2013

Great hotel!!

The hotel was more than I had expected! I read the reviews before staying there, I was a little worried after reading them but we decided to book anyways due to the price and location. We had a room on the 13th floor and it was very clean, never did I get the ick vibe when I was there. I am a very light sleeper and I slept through the night, surprisingly quiet. The staff was very helpful and friendly. The location was amazing, and I will be staying there again in March. I did not go there with the expectation of the Ritz Carlton and this large extravagant suite in mind, nor was I going to NYC to hang out in my hotel room! We slept and showered there, and for that I give it 5 stars!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Back to menu Return to top