Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Oct 5, 2014 Check-out: Oct 6, 2014

Hotel Pennsylvania

2 stars
401 7th Avenue, New York, NY 10001
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.5
out of 5
1,005 reviews
Great location and good price for New York!

Stayed for 3 nights. Great location and good price for New York! The only odd thing was I had to... See full review

  • odri
  • Aug 29, 2014
Hotel Penn

Hotel Pennsylvania is the perfect place to stay for the New York experience. With its location... See full review

  • Traviss
  • Aug 9, 2014
The Pennsylvania Hotel New York is located at 33rd Street and 7th Avenue in Manhattan. Catch up on work at the 24-hour business center, which features printers and high-speed internet access, or after a long day at a meeting use your complimentary guest passes to work out at Bally Total Fitness. Located next door to the hotel, it offers up-to-the-minute workout equipment, as well as a swimming pool and spa.

Affordable and within walking distance of various New York tower blocks like the Empire State Building and the vibrant oasis of Madison Square Garden, the Pennsylvania is a smart choice for leisure guests too, with central rooms and a budget price tag.
     
Sometimes known as the Hotel Pennsylvania or Hotel Penn, the accommodations here were opened in 1919 and have had several other names over the years, including the Statler-Hilton Hotel, after the original manager Ellsworth Statler. 
Key facts
  • Over 1,700 guestrooms
  • 90,000 sq. ft. of function space, incl. adjoining Penn Plaza Pavilion
  • 16 function rooms and 3 ballrooms
  • 24-hour business center
  • Conference center on the 6th floor with executive boardroom
  • Catering capabilities
  • Four restaurants
Neighborhood
At the intersection of New York City's main tourist areas, such as the Broadway Theater district and Times Square, why not step out of the grand entrance at the Hotel Pennsylvania, turn to the right or left, and see where the sidewalk takes you? The Chrysler Building and Macy's are close at hand, and it's easy to reach the fashionable Chelsea and West Village neighborhoods from here too.
Hints and tips
Canine enthusiasts should plan a visit to coincide with the Westminster Dog Show, an annual event where dogs are put through their paces at nearby Madison Square Garden. Even better, the hotel itself is dog-friendly and there are no size restrictions, although there is an additional fee for your pet to stay. Make sure you check with the front desk before bringing along your furry friend.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Pennsylvania Rooms

Superior
Penn 5000 1 King Bed-Additional comforts and sensible investment. We have added a few special touches to our Penn 5000 Club rooms for guests who prize value but want a few additional comforts...like a king-sized bed with a pillow-top mattress- an efficien
Superior
Penn 5000 2 Double Beds-Additional comforts and asensible investment. We have added a few special touches to our Penn 5000 Club rooms for guests who prize value but want a few additional comforts...like a king-sized bed with a pillow-top mattress- an effi
Superior
Superior 1 Double Bed - Perfect for single guests- the superior room double has the same amenities as our larger Superior Rooms- including free wi-fi - a hairdryer- iron and ironing board- and complimentary access to our in-house fitness center.
Superior
Superior 2 Double Beds - This room type offers two full beds and more space than a Superior One Full Bed room- it has the same amenities as our larger Superior Rooms- including free wi-fi - a hairdryer- iron and ironing board- and complimentary access t

Amenities

  • WiFi
General
Air conditioned
Pet friendly
Elevators
24 hour security
Activities
Exercise gym
Dining
Coffee shop
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Concierge desk
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Gift shop
News stand
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Television with cable
Radio
AM/FM alarm clock
Hairdryer in room
Fire alarm with light
Iron
Ironing board
Smoke detectors

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hotel Pennsylvania also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5

Hotel Map

40.7499 -73.9906
Nearby airports
La Guardia Airport, (LGA), 12.00, MI, W; Newark Intl Airport, (EWR), 14.00, MI, E; John F. Kennedy Intl Airport, (JFK), 16.00, MI, W;
Area description
City Center

Nearby points of interest

  • Penn Station: 0.1 mi
  • Macys: 0.1 mi
  • Manhattan Mall: 0.1 mi
  • Herald Square: 0.2 mi
  • Madison Square Garden: 0.2 mi
  • Koreatown, Manhattan: 0.3 mi
  • Museum at FIT: 0.3 mi
  • The King's College: 0.3 mi
  • Garment District: 0.3 mi
  • American Academy of Dramatic Arts: 0.4 mi
  • Lord & Taylor: 0.4 mi
  • Nederlander Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Bryant Park: 0.4 mi
  • Limelight Marketplace: 0.4 mi
  • New York Times Building: 0.4 mi
  • Penn Station: 0.1 mi
  • Macys: 0.1 mi
  • Manhattan Mall: 0.1 mi
  • Herald Square: 0.2 mi
  • Madison Square Garden: 0.2 mi
  • Koreatown, Manhattan: 0.3 mi
  • Museum at FIT: 0.3 mi
  • The King's College: 0.3 mi
  • Garment District: 0.3 mi
  • American Academy of Dramatic Arts: 0.4 mi
  • Lord & Taylor: 0.4 mi
  • Nederlander Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Bryant Park: 0.4 mi
  • Limelight Marketplace: 0.4 mi
  • New York Times Building: 0.4 mi
  • Port Authority Bus Terminal: 0.5 mi
  • New Victory Theater: 0.5 mi
  • Ford Center For The Performing Arts: 0.5 mi
  • Pierpont Morgan Library: 0.5 mi
  • Condé Nast Building: 0.5 mi
  • American Airlines Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Foxwoods Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • NY Public Library: 0.5 mi
  • Bank of America Tower: 0.5 mi
  • Stephen Sondheim Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Theater District: 0.5 mi
  • Town Hall: 0.5 mi
  • Lower Plaza: 0.5 mi
  • Murray Hill: 0.6 mi
  • Hughoneill Dry Goods Store: 0.6 mi
  • Helen Hayes Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Majestic Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Belasco Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Broadhurst Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Shubert Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Minskoff Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Flatiron Building: 0.6 mi
  • Bernard B. Jacobs Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • John Golden Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Booth Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Metropolitan Life Insurance Company Tower: 0.6 mi
  • Lyceum Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Union Square - the Flatiron District: 0.6 mi
  • Music Box Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • St. James Theatre: 0.6 mi

Dining

City Perk
24 Hour coffee shop located off lobby with quick service grab-n-go items.
Tim Hortons
Quick service grab-n-go serving coffee - Donuts -Sandwiches - Located outside off the main entrance.
Stout
Irish pub serving Lunch - Dinner - Brunch on weekends - busy with after-work crowd and game nights.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (1005)

Ratings and reviews for Hotel Pennsylvania

Overall score

2.5 / 5
5.01.0
1005 out of 1005
Amenities:
2.4
Room cleanliness:
2.7
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2.5
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.1

57% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel Pennsylvania

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
SFitzQ
Atlanta
Nov 26, 2011

Great Trip!

My husband and I wanted to go to New York and celebrate our 1st anniversary but like many young couples we are on a budget. This hotel was very cheap to stay at and was perfect for us. The room were very old but clean so that was not a big deal (we were only in it to sleep). The location was the BEST!!!! When we got off the train at Penn Station and it was litterally across the street. Times Square was 10 blocks away...it was just perfect. The hotel staff was very nice and had us checked in fast. And we could check our bags early so that we could go tour the city! Overall I would recommend this hotel for anyone on a budget!!!! We would go back!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Hotel Pennsylvania

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
j.c 77
Palmdale/Sun Valley
Feb 20, 2014

Good Times

Great location right in the heart of the fashion district a block away from the Empire State Building, Macy's, Penn Station and 15 minutes walking distance to time square well worth it $$$$ would recommend to any one how is making plans on visiting the Big Apple. Service/staff was great

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of Hotel Pennsylvania

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jay I heart NY
Columbus OH
Apr 8, 2013

this is New York

This is an old well used hotel, It is clean, compact and an international melting pot. If you require a plush spa like hotel-SPEND the big bucks and stay at one, if you are on a budget and want easy acccess to touristville USA-then this is a bargain for you.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Hotel Pennsylvania

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
csc99
ft lauderdale, fl
Feb 26, 2014

Good surprise

Overall very good. Great location close to Macy's, across from Penn Station, subways, buses to all airports and the train to NJ, too. Generally, found the staff helpful, friendly (with exception of one of the front desk persons, but another apologized for her). Room was great with good size (unlike some of the really small ones in Tines Square) with good heat, large TV, refrigerator! and maid service. They were always vacuuming, cleaning the halls. This was obviously once a very grand hotel. Mostly tourists now. Could use some updating and renovations. Lots of places to eat, shop, even get Chinese massage two blocks away. This is not Park Avenue, or the Waldorf (but even the Waldorf isn't the Waldorf anymore) and frankly, liked my stay here more than the Waldorf and this is 3-500/night cheaper.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Take the airport bus from LGA for $13, and avoid the taxi line--dropped right in front of hotel. Bus on corner to take you back to LGA or JFK or to DC for cheap. Took Supershuttle to Newark for 25 (didn't want to deal with lots of luggage on train), but even cheaper and faster.

Review of Hotel Pennsylvania

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Heather California
California
Jan 17, 2014

Great comfortable stay

I stayed for a week and loved my stay everything is so close by and it's in a great area. Love the food too! Great ppl! And maids are very accommodating

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Statler grill.

Review of Hotel Pennsylvania

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mdogan
istanbul, turkey
Jan 20, 2013

Mdogan

Low price, middle comfort, super location. There may be a rafrigirator or microwave in the rooms..

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Hotel Pennsylvania

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
USA
Mar 31, 2008

Great Location

The location was fabulous. I would walk right across the street to Penn station to catch the subway to any destination in Manhattan.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Lindy's is the restaurant next door. It is way too expensive for the food you get.

Review of Hotel Pennsylvania

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
murrayz
Bristol, UK
Feb 27, 2012

Great sightseeing trip

Hotel is in great location, room was clean and beds comfy. The only thing wrong was the time we waited to check-in to our hotel room..1 hour! Dont know if that was just a one off and we happened to arrive at a real busy time but there were only 3 members of staff to deal with a huge queue of people waiting plus some people with queries for hotel staff didnt wait in queue and and walked straight up to the desk, so the hotel staff would then serve them instead of asking them to wait with the rest of us,,so annoying!!..but on a good note, we had the best view out of our hotel window..the Empire State building.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Hotel Pennsylvania

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Orfeo
Business
Taos, NM, USA
Mar 21, 2014

For the practical traveler

This is my regular Manhattan hotel: VERY economical, great central location, just a minute from the nearest subway, and a clean room with a comfortable bed and pillow, strong water pressure for the shower. (Internet is not free.) Why pay double (or triple) in Manhattan for something more luxurious if you're planning to be out and about all day and only need a comfortable place where you can collapse at night?

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Pennsylvania

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
rocco226
Clinton, NJ
Jan 21, 2014

Good Hotel

Hotel Pennsylvania is a great location at a great price. I would recommend this place for anyone.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Back to menu Return to top