Rate based on Check-in: Feb 21, 2016 Check-out: Feb 23, 2016

Hotel Pennsylvania

2 stars
View map of 401 7th Avenue, New York, NY 10001

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Hotel Pennsylvania

Overall score

2.6 / 5
5.01.0
162 out of 162
Amenities:
2.5
Cleanliness:
2.9
Hotel staff:
3.1
Comfort:
2.6
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.1

62% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel Pennsylvania

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Annie Bananie
Single
Springfield, Massachusetts
Sep 3, 2013

Alright

It's a great place to stay if you're single and just looking for a place to crash for the night after partying in the streets of New York, I'm sure there were much nicer rooms, but I guess you get what you pay for, lol. Overall I don't really have anything horrible to say, had a great time in the city and that's what I came for

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Single

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

I have no hints, just that it's close to anything and everything you could possibly need

Review of Hotel Pennsylvania

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Heltom
Couples
Minneapolis, MN
Oct 19, 2013

Adequate NYC stay

Room was clean and they said they gave us an upgraded room with more space. There were several plumbing problems which we requested be repaired and had to get after them 3 times before they provided hot water showers and other items. No free internet service is outdated for these times.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Hotel Pennsylvania

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Boots girl
Family
Florida
Dec 11, 2013

Good hotel for NYC

Great location! Old but clean! No bed bugs! Shopping close

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Macys

Review of Hotel Pennsylvania

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Risriss
Family
Columbus, GA
Dec 23, 2013

Christmas present

Ii booked this hotel after reading reviews. This hotel is close to everything. It is right across the street from Penn Station. All of the desk clerks were extremely helpful and kind. Our room was small , but I knew this prior to booking. My major complaint was the air in our room did not work properly. It simply would not cool our room. It was also very dark and we did not have enough outlets. I would like to say that they have a small grocery store located in the lobby. I would stay there again because of the location and super friendly staff. Everyone that I asked gave me excellent directions and we're extremely helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Family

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

The subway is located right beside the hotel. Cheap way to get around.

Review of Hotel Pennsylvania

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Stuckinthecity
Single
Marlboro,NY
Dec 17, 2013

Great location

Great location, front desk was very helpful as I was checking in late.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Single

Review of Hotel Pennsylvania

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
APinheiro07
Couples
Boca Raton, FL
Dec 16, 2013

Great location, Old Rooms

We picked this hotel mainly because of it's location. This hotel was close to everything, most places are walking distance from the hotel. The staff were awesome! However, this is a very old hotel. Our room and bathroom was clean, but everything is super old. Other than that, we this hotel is a great deal!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Hotel Pennsylvania

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
ceicilia09
Family
boston
Jul 6, 2014

overall its good

We stayed for 2 night here. Nice location but the room need more upgraded

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Hotel Pennsylvania

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Miriam the best
Friends
Miami, Florida
Sep 15, 2014

Perfect location

Perfect location and great view of the Empire State, Nothing else, rooms really old, and doesnt have wifi.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of Hotel Pennsylvania

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Weekend traveler1
Family
San Juan, PR
Nov 30, 2014

Good Location

The hotel is only for sleeping. It has excelente location. Although, you can see right away is not a five star hotel. Would stay again, just because of the location and cleanliness. This hotel needs a general makeover desperately.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Family

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Empire State Building is very near. Time Square and Rockerfeller Plaza is about 20-25 min. walking.

Review of Hotel Pennsylvania

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Julie SF
Single
San Francisco, Ca
Dec 5, 2014

Clean and cheap.

Upon arrival I was horrified at the state of my room. It was like staying at a bad motel. It is extremely dated. However it did start to grow on me a little over time and I realized that it wasn't all that bad. The staff were very nice and location was great. So easy to get anywhere from there with Penn station across the street. Im not sure if I would stay here again, I would prefer something a little more modern, but if you are looking for somewhere cheap and clean then its a good choice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Single

Back to menu Return to top