Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 31, 2015 Check-out: Jun 1, 2015

Hotel Pennsylvania

2 stars
View map of 401 7th Avenue, New York, NY 10001

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Hotel Pennsylvania

Overall score

2.6 / 5
5.01.0
1205 out of 1205
Amenities:
2.4
Cleanliness:
2.8
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2.6
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.1

58% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel Pennsylvania

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
steven d.
Business
N/A
Apr 18, 2015

Successful business trip

Everything was great the hotel location was fantastic the staff was courteous the rooms were clean and it was very quiet I totally enjoyed my experience that wouldn't recommend it to anyone

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Pennsylvania

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Jean Paul S.
Business
New York
Apr 22, 2015

Great wknd getaway

Check in was great friendly staff and slept really well.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Pennsylvania

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Washington, DC
Nov 18, 2007

Location, location, location

Hotel Pennsylvania is my favorite place to stay in NYC because it's a grand old hotel, there's always something interesting going on (last time I was there Chewbacca the Wookie and Spiderman were walking through the lobby), it's right next to everything in midtown, a block from the subway, the last reasonable price in the middle of Manhattan, and it's quiet in the rooms. An unbeatable combination.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Madison Square Garden, Penn Station and Macy's are within a block.

Review of Hotel Pennsylvania

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
KO Travel Lover
Business
Arlington, Virginia
Dec 30, 2013

Overall good experience

The staff was friendly and the room was clean. We didn't spend much time in the hotel since we were there to see the city. Can't beat the location!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Pennsylvania

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
chris wilson
Business
sao paulo, br
Jan 8, 2014

Great Value tha cannot be beat!!

After reading the reviews i was a bit concerned with staying at this hotel, bed bugs, horrible service, unbeleivabky dirty rooms...but everything w as s fine and my girlfriend and i had a great stay!!!! The room was clean but a little old, the bed had a new and comfortable mattress, and the locatio was PERFECT! one criticism i have is that it did take around 25 minutes to check in bit considering it was 15 seconds from penn station we would yave spent more than that commutingto another hotel. If you can afford and are a picky traveler that expects 5 start quality everywhere, don't stay here. But if you are going to nyc to see nyc this is an incredible value that i dont think can be beat!! We we re e litterally in the room to sleep and shower!! We did check for bed bugs when we got in the room to just be sure, i would recommend that based on the reviews but everything was just fine!!! Relax, you will have a great and adorable stay here!!!! :)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Pennsylvania

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
KRSNYC
Business
West Haven, CT
Jan 20, 2014

Second time staying there...

And it completely changed my opinion about the hotel! The check-in person gave us a free upgrade from a regular double bed to a room with 2 double beds. The bathroom still looked very old, but it was clean. The location is definitely great and it is not really noisy because of the streets.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Pennsylvania

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Heather California
Business
California
Jan 17, 2014

Great comfortable stay

I stayed for a week and loved my stay everything is so close by and it's in a great area. Love the food too! Great ppl! And maids are very accommodating

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Statler grill.

Review of Hotel Pennsylvania

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
rocco226
Business
Clinton, NJ
Jan 21, 2014

Good Hotel

Hotel Pennsylvania is a great location at a great price. I would recommend this place for anyone.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Pennsylvania

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Cacareca e Magrela
Business
Coral Springs/florida
Jan 24, 2014

Short trip

Very nice location...right in front of Madison Square Garden...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Pennsylvania

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Singh
Business
Kent
Jan 24, 2014

Hotel Pennsylvania

The amenities are lacking and the room decor and furniture is really put dated. However for me all this was known before I booked and what made up for it was the price and the location. Centrally located in Manhatten and across the road from the main Penn staton from wheer you get off if getting a train from the airport.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Time sqaue is about 10 mins away and is family friendly and lively every day of the week.

Back to menu Return to top