Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 10, 2014 Check-out: Aug 11, 2014

Hotel Pennsylvania

2 stars
401 7th Avenue, New York, NY 10001
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.5
out of 5
1,337 reviews
nice getaway

I had a very good experience at the hotel and it a nice getaway to bring your family See full review

  • Whitehorse79
  • Apr 15, 2014
Fantastic

A perfect place to stay. Very friend place to have fun. See full review

  • Whitehorse79
  • Mar 19, 2014
The Pennsylvania Hotel New York is located at 33rd Street and 7th Avenue in Manhattan. Catch up on work at the 24-hour business center, which features printers and high-speed internet access, or after a long day at a meeting use your complimentary guest passes to work out at Bally Total Fitness. Located next door to the hotel, it offers up-to-the-minute workout equipment, as well as a swimming pool and spa.

Affordable and within walking distance of various New York tower blocks like the Empire State Building and the vibrant oasis of Madison Square Garden, the Pennsylvania is a smart choice for leisure guests too, with central rooms and a budget price tag.
     
Sometimes known as the Hotel Pennsylvania or Hotel Penn, the accommodations here were opened in 1919 and have had several other names over the years, including the Statler-Hilton Hotel, after the original manager Ellsworth Statler. 
Key facts
  • Over 1,700 guestrooms
  • 90,000 sq. ft. of function space, incl. adjoining Penn Plaza Pavilion
  • 16 function rooms and 3 ballrooms
  • 24-hour business center
  • Conference center on the 6th floor with executive boardroom
  • Catering capabilities
  • Four restaurants
Neighborhood
At the intersection of New York City's main tourist areas, such as the Broadway Theater district and Times Square, why not step out of the grand entrance at the Hotel Pennsylvania, turn to the right or left, and see where the sidewalk takes you? The Chrysler Building and Macy's are close at hand, and it's easy to reach the fashionable Chelsea and West Village neighborhoods from here too.
Hints and tips
Canine enthusiasts should plan a visit to coincide with the Westminster Dog Show, an annual event where dogs are put through their paces at nearby Madison Square Garden. Even better, the hotel itself is dog-friendly and there are no size restrictions, although there is an additional fee for your pet to stay. Make sure you check with the front desk before bringing along your furry friend.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Pennsylvania Rooms

Superior
Penn 5000 1 King Bed-Additional comforts and sensible investment. We have added a few special touches to our Penn 5000 Club rooms for guests who prize value but want a few additional comforts...like a king-sized bed with a pillow-top mattress- an efficien
Superior
Penn 5000 2 Double Beds-Additional comforts and asensible investment. We have added a few special touches to our Penn 5000 Club rooms for guests who prize value but want a few additional comforts...like a king-sized bed with a pillow-top mattress- an effi
Superior
Superior 1 Double Bed - Perfect for single guests- the superior room double has the same amenities as our larger Superior Rooms- including free wi-fi - a hairdryer- iron and ironing board- and complimentary access to our in-house fitness center.
Superior
Superior 2 Double Beds - This room type offers two full beds and more space than a Superior One Full Bed room- it has the same amenities as our larger Superior Rooms- including free wi-fi - a hairdryer- iron and ironing board- and complimentary access t

Amenities

  • WiFi
General
Air conditioned
Pet friendly
Elevators
24 hour security
Activities
Exercise gym
Dining
Coffee shop
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Concierge desk
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Gift shop
News stand
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Television with cable
Radio
AM/FM alarm clock
Hairdryer in room
Fire alarm with light
Iron
Ironing board
Smoke detectors

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hotel Pennsylvania also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5

Hotel Map

40.7499 -73.9906
Nearby airports
La Guardia Airport, (LGA), 12.00, MI, W; Newark Intl Airport, (EWR), 14.00, MI, E; John F. Kennedy Intl Airport, (JFK), 16.00, MI, W;
Area description
City Center

Nearby points of interest

  • Penn Station: 0.1 mi
  • Macys: 0.1 mi
  • Manhattan Mall: 0.1 mi
  • Herald Square: 0.2 mi
  • Madison Square Garden: 0.2 mi
  • Koreatown, Manhattan: 0.3 mi
  • Museum at FIT: 0.3 mi
  • The King's College: 0.3 mi
  • Garment District: 0.3 mi
  • American Academy of Dramatic Arts: 0.4 mi
  • Lord & Taylor: 0.4 mi
  • Nederlander Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Bryant Park: 0.4 mi
  • Limelight Marketplace: 0.4 mi
  • New York Times Building: 0.4 mi
  • Penn Station: 0.1 mi
  • Macys: 0.1 mi
  • Manhattan Mall: 0.1 mi
  • Herald Square: 0.2 mi
  • Madison Square Garden: 0.2 mi
  • Koreatown, Manhattan: 0.3 mi
  • Museum at FIT: 0.3 mi
  • The King's College: 0.3 mi
  • Garment District: 0.3 mi
  • American Academy of Dramatic Arts: 0.4 mi
  • Lord & Taylor: 0.4 mi
  • Nederlander Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Bryant Park: 0.4 mi
  • Limelight Marketplace: 0.4 mi
  • New York Times Building: 0.4 mi
  • Port Authority Bus Terminal: 0.5 mi
  • New Victory Theater: 0.5 mi
  • Ford Center For The Performing Arts: 0.5 mi
  • Pierpont Morgan Library: 0.5 mi
  • Condé Nast Building: 0.5 mi
  • American Airlines Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Foxwoods Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • NY Public Library: 0.5 mi
  • Bank of America Tower: 0.5 mi
  • Stephen Sondheim Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Theater District: 0.5 mi
  • Town Hall: 0.5 mi
  • Lower Plaza: 0.5 mi
  • Murray Hill: 0.6 mi
  • Hughoneill Dry Goods Store: 0.6 mi
  • Helen Hayes Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Majestic Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Belasco Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Broadhurst Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Shubert Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Minskoff Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Flatiron Building: 0.6 mi
  • Bernard B. Jacobs Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • John Golden Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Booth Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Metropolitan Life Insurance Company Tower: 0.6 mi
  • Lyceum Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Union Square - the Flatiron District: 0.6 mi
  • Music Box Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • St. James Theatre: 0.6 mi

Dining

City Perk
24 Hour coffee shop located off lobby with quick service grab-n-go items.
Tim Hortons
Quick service grab-n-go serving coffee - Donuts -Sandwiches - Located outside off the main entrance.
Stout
Irish pub serving Lunch - Dinner - Brunch on weekends - busy with after-work crowd and game nights.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (1337)

Ratings and reviews for Hotel Pennsylvania

Overall score

2.5 / 5
5.01.0
1337 out of 1337
Amenities:
2.4
Room cleanliness:
2.7
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2.5
Location:
4.5
Value:
3

55% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel Pennsylvania

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
COSTA MESA
May 26, 2008

Best bang for the $$$

Hotel Penn is perfectly located: a couple of blocks from times square, a couple of blocks from the empire state bldg. Plenty of eating opportunities for all tastes and $$$ around the hotel. The room was decent - not the best room I have ever been in, but decent as far as basic amenities go. I definetly recommend this hotel, specially if you are a budget traveler. Let's face, you will not find a better value in Manhattan.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Empire State Building etc

Review of Hotel Pennsylvania

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Cameron Diaz
Florida
Oct 22, 2010

Location, location, location

I stayed at this hotel with my business partner for a week-end and we had a ball. Had been in NYC previously at a much better hotel, but the location made that stay not so good. Whilst this time we hit a winner!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
4
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

We all know the real estate's mantra "Location, location, location" This hotel,while being average in accommodation and amenities, it has one of the best locations in New York, is so close to everything that we did not even get a need to buy Metro tickets, every "must" in NYC is at walking distance. Shopping, dining, wining. Best located hotel at a very affordable rate in NYC.

Review of Hotel Pennsylvania

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Washington, DC
Feb 24, 2008

great location

This hotel is ideal for a short or long holiday in New York. It is located in front of the Madison Square Garden and near all the main touristic attractions . Pennsylvania station is just accross the road. I had a wonderful time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

All the Time Square attractions are nearby.

Review of Hotel Pennsylvania

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
gavlaa81
south wales, uk
Mar 6, 2012

Excellent value for money

hotel was clean, room spacious had everything that i needed for my stay, room cleaners very helpful got you anything that you needed extra, excellent location. no need to spend a fortune on a hotel in new york as you rarely spend anytime in it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Hotel Pennsylvania

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
lya
PBA,FL
Jul 27, 2011

fantastic family getaway

hotel was beautiful,its close to everywhere.best place in NY city.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

best place in NYC:)

Review of Hotel Pennsylvania

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Dean12345
Ireland
Mar 3, 2013

Perfect location

Was a brilliant experience dead centre of everything, straight across the road from MSG!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Hotel Pennsylvania

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
York, PA
Jul 16, 2008

Great Location

The hotel was very clean and the staff was very helpful in suggesting the best way to see as many sights during our visit. The room was well kept although the shower was small but the water pressure in the shower was great. The hotel is in a great location directly across from Penn Station and close the central New York so it is very easy access to get to most of where we wanted to be. I would suggest a more economy priced restaurant on sight, the hotel restuarant was nice but our breakfast there cost more than our dinners out throughout the city.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

If you are coming by train this is the best hotel as far as convenience and they will check your luggage before your room is ready and on your day of departure so you are still free to get out and do things without worrying about your luggage.

Review of Hotel Pennsylvania

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
murrayz
Bristol, UK
Feb 27, 2014

Fantastic sightseeing trip

Have stayed at this hotel before and never had any problems, our room was great, clean&comfy beds, clean shower etc. Hotel is in a central location and is great for a sightseeing trip, we had breakfast every morning at Lindys, which is right on the side of the hotel, good food and staff were lovely....overall would definitely recommend this hotel, great price for an ideal location and will be definitely staying here again....penn station is directly opposite which was great as you can get straight to jfk airport with no problem...Thank you hotel penn for making our stay fantastic, we didn't want to leave.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Hotel Pennsylvania

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Harrisburg, PA
Mar 2, 2008

Hotel Penn

Well, my first trip in new York City in 11 years, and let me tell you the location of this Hotel is GREAT !!!! but the hotel itself could use a facelift, the lobby is goregous, and than when you get upstairs to your room, you find out why long nights in the CITY are what you are going to need to come back to the room to sleep!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Walking up 8th or 7th will get you where you need to go !!!

Review of Hotel Pennsylvania

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
USA
Jan 7, 2008

great location

The Pennsylvania Hotel is a classic in NYC, the room was very big, but needs a reformulation. It's a very good deal for the price we pay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Times Square, Hard Rock Cafe

Back to menu Return to top