Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 31, 2015 Check-out: Jun 1, 2015

Hotel Pennsylvania

2 stars
View map of 401 7th Avenue, New York, NY 10001

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
2.6
out of 5
1,205 reviews
Great wknd getaway

Check in was great friendly staff and slept really well. See full review

  • Jean Paul S.
  • Apr 22, 2015
Hotel Penn

I was anxious about staying here after booking my trip to New York as a package deal - this hotel... See full review

  • Kelly A.
  • Apr 19, 2015

Hotel Pennsylvania Rooms

Superior
Penn 5000 1 King Bed-Additional comforts and sensible investment. We have added a few special touches to our Penn 5000 Club rooms for guests who prize value but want a few additional comforts...like a king-sized bed with a pillow-top mattress- an efficien
Superior
Penn 5000 2 Double Beds-Additional comforts and asensible investment. We have added a few special touches to our Penn 5000 Club rooms for guests who prize value but want a few additional comforts...like a king-sized bed with a pillow-top mattress- an effi
Superior
Superior 1 Double Bed - Perfect for single guests- the superior room double has the same amenities as our larger Superior Rooms- including free wi-fi - a hairdryer- iron and ironing board- and complimentary access to our in-house fitness center.
Superior
Superior 2 Double Beds - This room type offers two full beds and more space than a Superior One Full Bed room- it has the same amenities as our larger Superior Rooms- including free wi-fi - a hairdryer- iron and ironing board- and complimentary access t

Amenities

  • WiFi
General
Air conditioned
Pet friendly
Elevators
24 hour security
Activities
Exercise gym
Dining
Coffee shop
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Concierge desk
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Gift shop
News stand
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Television with cable
Radio
AM/FM alarm clock
Hairdryer in room
Fire alarm with light
Iron
Ironing board
Smoke detectors

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hotel Pennsylvania also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5

Hotel Map

40.7499 -73.9906
Nearby airports
La Guardia Airport, (LGA), 12.00, MI, W; Newark Intl Airport, (EWR), 14.00, MI, E; John F. Kennedy Intl Airport, (JFK), 16.00, MI, W;
Area description
City Center

Nearby points of interest

  • Penn Station: 0.1 mi
  • Macys: 0.1 mi
  • Manhattan Mall: 0.1 mi
  • Herald Square: 0.2 mi
  • Koreatown, Manhattan: 0.3 mi
  • Museum at FIT: 0.3 mi
  • The King's College: 0.3 mi
  • Garment District: 0.3 mi
  • American Academy of Dramatic Arts: 0.4 mi
  • Lord & Taylor: 0.4 mi
  • Nederlander Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Bryant Park: 0.4 mi
  • Limelight Marketplace: 0.4 mi
  • New York Times Building: 0.4 mi
  • Port Authority Bus Terminal: 0.5 mi
  • Penn Station: 0.1 mi
  • Macys: 0.1 mi
  • Manhattan Mall: 0.1 mi
  • Herald Square: 0.2 mi
  • Koreatown, Manhattan: 0.3 mi
  • Museum at FIT: 0.3 mi
  • The King's College: 0.3 mi
  • Garment District: 0.3 mi
  • American Academy of Dramatic Arts: 0.4 mi
  • Lord & Taylor: 0.4 mi
  • Nederlander Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Bryant Park: 0.4 mi
  • Limelight Marketplace: 0.4 mi
  • New York Times Building: 0.4 mi
  • Port Authority Bus Terminal: 0.5 mi
  • New Victory Theater: 0.5 mi
  • Ford Center For The Performing Arts: 0.5 mi
  • Pierpont Morgan Library: 0.5 mi
  • Condé Nast Building: 0.5 mi
  • American Airlines Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Foxwoods Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • NY Public Library: 0.5 mi
  • Bank of America Tower: 0.5 mi
  • Stephen Sondheim Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Theater District: 0.5 mi
  • Town Hall: 0.5 mi
  • Lower Plaza: 0.5 mi
  • Murray Hill: 0.6 mi
  • Hughoneill Dry Goods Store: 0.6 mi
  • Helen Hayes Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Majestic Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Belasco Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Broadhurst Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Shubert Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Minskoff Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Flatiron Building: 0.6 mi
  • Bernard B. Jacobs Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • John Golden Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Booth Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Metropolitan Life Insurance Company Tower: 0.6 mi
  • Lyceum Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Union Square - the Flatiron District: 0.6 mi
  • Music Box Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • St. James Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Imperial Theatre: 0.6 mi

Dining

City Perk
24 Hour coffee shop located off lobby with quick service grab-n-go items.
Tim Hortons
Quick service grab-n-go serving coffee - Donuts -Sandwiches - Located outside off the main entrance.
Stout
Irish pub serving Lunch - Dinner - Brunch on weekends - busy with after-work crowd and game nights.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for Hotel Pennsylvania

Overall score

2.6 / 5
5.01.0
1205 out of 1205
Amenities:
2.4
Cleanliness:
2.8
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2.6
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.1

58% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel Pennsylvania

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
nanice
Business
london, england
Jan 27, 2014

fantastic value and location

Do not believe all the bad reviews on this hotel, just got back room was basic but very clean, fresh towels daily, staff friendly and helpful. This is a basic old hotel but great value for the money. Location is perfect for travel anywhere. I would recommend this hotel, and will be going back next year in warmer weather. Would definitely use this hotel again. Talk to the staff it has a lot of history behind it xx. Brilliant stay x

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

You can walk to all attractions from this hotel

Review of Hotel Pennsylvania

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
murrayz
Business
Bristol, UK
Feb 27, 2014

Fantastic sightseeing trip

Have stayed at this hotel before and never had any problems, our room was great, clean&comfy beds, clean shower etc. Hotel is in a central location and is great for a sightseeing trip, we had breakfast every morning at Lindys, which is right on the side of the hotel, good food and staff were lovely....overall would definitely recommend this hotel, great price for an ideal location and will be definitely staying here again....penn station is directly opposite which was great as you can get straight to jfk airport with no problem...Thank you hotel penn for making our stay fantastic, we didn't want to leave.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Pennsylvania

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Whitehorse79
Business
New York
Mar 19, 2014

Fantastic

A perfect place to stay. Very friend place to have fun.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Pennsylvania

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Whitehorse79
Business
New York
Apr 15, 2014

nice getaway

I had a very good experience at the hotel and it a nice getaway to bring your family

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Pennsylvania

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Washington, DC
Nov 18, 2007

Location, location, location

Hotel Pennsylvania is my favorite place to stay in NYC because it's a grand old hotel, there's always something interesting going on (last time I was there Chewbacca the Wookie and Spiderman were walking through the lobby), it's right next to everything in midtown, a block from the subway, the last reasonable price in the middle of Manhattan, and it's quiet in the rooms. An unbeatable combination.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Madison Square Garden, Penn Station and Macy's are within a block.

Review of Hotel Pennsylvania

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
loli
Business
Miami, FL, USA
Sep 13, 2011

great week

the location was unbeatable!! infront to the madison square garden,just few blocks from time square and broadway shows!! view to the empire state from our window! awesome...higly recommended =)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Pennsylvania

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
magicclown
Business
Syracuse, NY, USA
Oct 21, 2011

Fantastic hotel

I enjoyed my stay at the Pennsylvania Hotel. My room was very nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Pennsylvania

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Mercy 917
Business
Miami, FL, USA
Nov 12, 2011

Old Hotel Charm Great Location

It was a wonderful experience. I was a little afraid after reading some other people's reviews, but once I got to my room I was pleasantly surprise. The hotel has an old charming personality. It was very clean, every day fresh linen was placed in the room. You could not have a better located hotel, its very centrally located, and all subway station are near by and easily located. Great Concierge service, very helpful in helping you find your way around the city. I would definitely stay here again when I return to NYC next Feb.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Make sure you visit the small dept stores around the side streets and on Broadway.

Review of Hotel Pennsylvania

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Johnnyboy7765
Business
Birmingham, AL, USA
Jan 24, 2012

Excellent!!

Perfect location. Great customer service. A pleasure to stay here. Shower was a little small but that was no big deal. A lot of history in this hotel. A great place to stay for the price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Pennsylvania

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
KristineAwrsome84
Business
Boston, MA, USA
Jan 30, 2012

Loved it. Perfect location. Affordable!

Great views, prime location, nice staff. Located across from MSG and blocks from Times and 5th. Happy with everything. Very clean and SUPER affordable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top