Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 17, 2014 Check-out: Aug 18, 2014

Hotel Pennsylvania

2 stars
401 7th Avenue, New York, NY 10001
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.5
out of 5
1,337 reviews
nice getaway

I had a very good experience at the hotel and it a nice getaway to bring your family See full review

  • Whitehorse79
  • Apr 15, 2014
Fantastic

A perfect place to stay. Very friend place to have fun. See full review

  • Whitehorse79
  • Mar 19, 2014
The Pennsylvania Hotel New York is located at 33rd Street and 7th Avenue in Manhattan. Catch up on work at the 24-hour business center, which features printers and high-speed internet access, or after a long day at a meeting use your complimentary guest passes to work out at Bally Total Fitness. Located next door to the hotel, it offers up-to-the-minute workout equipment, as well as a swimming pool and spa.

Affordable and within walking distance of various New York tower blocks like the Empire State Building and the vibrant oasis of Madison Square Garden, the Pennsylvania is a smart choice for leisure guests too, with central rooms and a budget price tag.
     
Sometimes known as the Hotel Pennsylvania or Hotel Penn, the accommodations here were opened in 1919 and have had several other names over the years, including the Statler-Hilton Hotel, after the original manager Ellsworth Statler. 
Key facts
  • Over 1,700 guestrooms
  • 90,000 sq. ft. of function space, incl. adjoining Penn Plaza Pavilion
  • 16 function rooms and 3 ballrooms
  • 24-hour business center
  • Conference center on the 6th floor with executive boardroom
  • Catering capabilities
  • Four restaurants
Neighborhood
At the intersection of New York City's main tourist areas, such as the Broadway Theater district and Times Square, why not step out of the grand entrance at the Hotel Pennsylvania, turn to the right or left, and see where the sidewalk takes you? The Chrysler Building and Macy's are close at hand, and it's easy to reach the fashionable Chelsea and West Village neighborhoods from here too.
Hints and tips
Canine enthusiasts should plan a visit to coincide with the Westminster Dog Show, an annual event where dogs are put through their paces at nearby Madison Square Garden. Even better, the hotel itself is dog-friendly and there are no size restrictions, although there is an additional fee for your pet to stay. Make sure you check with the front desk before bringing along your furry friend.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Pennsylvania Rooms

Superior
Penn 5000 1 King Bed-Additional comforts and sensible investment. We have added a few special touches to our Penn 5000 Club rooms for guests who prize value but want a few additional comforts...like a king-sized bed with a pillow-top mattress- an efficien
Superior
Penn 5000 2 Double Beds-Additional comforts and asensible investment. We have added a few special touches to our Penn 5000 Club rooms for guests who prize value but want a few additional comforts...like a king-sized bed with a pillow-top mattress- an effi
Superior
Superior 1 Double Bed - Perfect for single guests- the superior room double has the same amenities as our larger Superior Rooms- including free wi-fi - a hairdryer- iron and ironing board- and complimentary access to our in-house fitness center.
Superior
Superior 2 Double Beds - This room type offers two full beds and more space than a Superior One Full Bed room- it has the same amenities as our larger Superior Rooms- including free wi-fi - a hairdryer- iron and ironing board- and complimentary access t

Amenities

  • WiFi
General
Air conditioned
Pet friendly
Elevators
24 hour security
Activities
Exercise gym
Dining
Coffee shop
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Concierge desk
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Gift shop
News stand
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Television with cable
Radio
AM/FM alarm clock
Hairdryer in room
Fire alarm with light
Iron
Ironing board
Smoke detectors

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hotel Pennsylvania also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5

Hotel Map

40.7499 -73.9906
Nearby airports
La Guardia Airport, (LGA), 12.00, MI, W; Newark Intl Airport, (EWR), 14.00, MI, E; John F. Kennedy Intl Airport, (JFK), 16.00, MI, W;
Area description
City Center

Nearby points of interest

  • Penn Station: 0.1 mi
  • Macys: 0.1 mi
  • Manhattan Mall: 0.1 mi
  • Herald Square: 0.2 mi
  • Madison Square Garden: 0.2 mi
  • Koreatown, Manhattan: 0.3 mi
  • Museum at FIT: 0.3 mi
  • The King's College: 0.3 mi
  • Garment District: 0.3 mi
  • American Academy of Dramatic Arts: 0.4 mi
  • Lord & Taylor: 0.4 mi
  • Nederlander Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Bryant Park: 0.4 mi
  • Limelight Marketplace: 0.4 mi
  • New York Times Building: 0.4 mi
  • Penn Station: 0.1 mi
  • Macys: 0.1 mi
  • Manhattan Mall: 0.1 mi
  • Herald Square: 0.2 mi
  • Madison Square Garden: 0.2 mi
  • Koreatown, Manhattan: 0.3 mi
  • Museum at FIT: 0.3 mi
  • The King's College: 0.3 mi
  • Garment District: 0.3 mi
  • American Academy of Dramatic Arts: 0.4 mi
  • Lord & Taylor: 0.4 mi
  • Nederlander Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Bryant Park: 0.4 mi
  • Limelight Marketplace: 0.4 mi
  • New York Times Building: 0.4 mi
  • Port Authority Bus Terminal: 0.5 mi
  • New Victory Theater: 0.5 mi
  • Ford Center For The Performing Arts: 0.5 mi
  • Pierpont Morgan Library: 0.5 mi
  • Condé Nast Building: 0.5 mi
  • American Airlines Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Foxwoods Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • NY Public Library: 0.5 mi
  • Bank of America Tower: 0.5 mi
  • Stephen Sondheim Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Theater District: 0.5 mi
  • Town Hall: 0.5 mi
  • Lower Plaza: 0.5 mi
  • Murray Hill: 0.6 mi
  • Hughoneill Dry Goods Store: 0.6 mi
  • Helen Hayes Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Majestic Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Belasco Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Broadhurst Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Shubert Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Minskoff Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Flatiron Building: 0.6 mi
  • Bernard B. Jacobs Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • John Golden Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Booth Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Metropolitan Life Insurance Company Tower: 0.6 mi
  • Lyceum Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Union Square - the Flatiron District: 0.6 mi
  • Music Box Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • St. James Theatre: 0.6 mi

Dining

City Perk
24 Hour coffee shop located off lobby with quick service grab-n-go items.
Tim Hortons
Quick service grab-n-go serving coffee - Donuts -Sandwiches - Located outside off the main entrance.
Stout
Irish pub serving Lunch - Dinner - Brunch on weekends - busy with after-work crowd and game nights.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (1337)

Ratings and reviews for Hotel Pennsylvania

Overall score

2.5 / 5
5.01.0
1337 out of 1337
Amenities:
2.4
Room cleanliness:
2.7
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2.5
Location:
4.5
Value:
3

55% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel Pennsylvania

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Craigy
Florida, USA
Apr 30, 2012

Good Value

Good value, good location, pleasant staff and clean rooms. Hotel in need of refurbishment but perfectly adequate for a sight-seeing trip to NYC

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Macy's nearby

Review of Hotel Pennsylvania

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
theatre fan
Business
The Bay Area
Apr 28, 2014

Penguin in NYC

Always a great location. Always lots of visitors.m great value and location. Statler Grill is uneven. Try. The calamari . Martinis great . Bar tenders always great

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Subway at front of hotel; Penn Station across the street

Review of Hotel Pennsylvania

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Althea The Cat
Boston, MA, USA
Apr 28, 2014

Great Location, Average Hotel

The location of this hotel is great - directly across the street from Penn Station/Madison Square Garden. The hotel itself is outdated & tired, but it's clean enough and comfortable enough. My room was surprisingly quiet for a hotel in NYC. If you don't require a luxury hotel, then this place is fine.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Hotel Pennsylvania

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Whitehorse79
Business
New York
Apr 15, 2014

nice getaway

I had a very good experience at the hotel and it a nice getaway to bring your family

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Pennsylvania

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Baha mama
Business
Bah Nas
Apr 7, 2014

Disappointed

I always stay at this hotel ,last year I was so disappointed they give me a room with the lights shining directly in ny bed could not sleep for 2 nights,they claim hotel was full ,on my last night they change my room BUT when I receive my credit card statement it showed I was charge for the room I moved too . I called and Email the hotel but get no response .YOU OWE ME GUYS !!! I just visit again on Tuesday but was unable to see the supervisor ,spoke with F.D. clerk.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Find everything u need between 34th and 39th.wear comfortable shoes ,prepare to walk.

Review of Hotel Pennsylvania

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
GopherMa
Toronto, Ontario
Apr 7, 2014

At the Penn

We reserved two rooms online, however, when we arrived at the hotel we were told that they only had one reservation. I produced the paperwork and the front desk person was still insisting that there was no booking. We asked to speak to a manager and it took him another 15 minutes to come back to us and tell us that the manager was very busy. We finally saw a manager when we told the staff person we were going to complain about him. Alfredo was very helpful and took very good care of us following that experience. However, we experienced difficulty again when we were checking out with our car. The directions are that we are to call the Bell Captain 30 minutes prior to pick up of the car. We waited 5 minutes short of an hour for our car. The price that we pay for parking in NYC is astronomical and we ended up paying extra. Both the Bell Captain and the manager on duty told us that they could do nothing to assist as the car is given to a third party. I think there should be a significant discount for those who drive into NYC and have no choice but to park at a hotel. I must commend Alfredo and Carmen on the manner in which we were treated but I was not impressed with the way in which Daniel and Andrew handled the issue with the car. The proximity of the hotel to MSG was great. I would probably stay again if I was attending events at MSG due to the fact that it is directly across the street.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Review of Hotel Pennsylvania

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Feifei
Santa Cruz
Apr 7, 2014

Should be fine

The price is good. Location is very good, convenient to everywhere. Room is reletively old, not that clean. Too many people in the hotel, crowed. If you want to look for a good location with low pice, this is a good choice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Hotel Pennsylvania

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Carly Monroe
Business
New York , New York
Apr 6, 2014

Ok experience

I stayed for few days in week nice location staff was nice got ill pricey over weekend for type of room and amenities

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Pennsylvania

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Linda M
Business
Phila
Apr 5, 2014

Great location

I have stayed a few times at this hotel. the location is great, I get off the train at penn station, drop off my bags and go. very convenient, however , also very old. needs some updates, but it is sort off clean and okay. For the amount of people it accommodates, it is run pretty efficiently.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Pennsylvania

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
hrsec1ret
Business
Mechanicsburg PA
Apr 4, 2014

NYC Business Trip

Good Hotel at a great value, Great location in NYC.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Pennsylvania

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Carly Monroe
New York , New York
Apr 4, 2014

Ok

I stayed for few days was nice location got really pricey over the weekend for the type of room and amenities

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Back to menu Return to top