Rate based on Check-in: Feb 9, 2016 Check-out: Feb 12, 2016

Hotel Pennsylvania

2 stars
View map of 401 7th Avenue, New York, NY 10001

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Hotel Pennsylvania

Overall score

2.6 / 5
5.01.0
162 out of 162
Amenities:
2.5
Cleanliness:
2.9
Hotel staff:
3.1
Comfort:
2.6
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.1

62% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel Pennsylvania

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Craigy
Couples
Florida, USA
Apr 30, 2012

Good Value

Good value, good location, pleasant staff and clean rooms. Hotel in need of refurbishment but perfectly adequate for a sight-seeing trip to NYC

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Macy's nearby

Review of Hotel Pennsylvania

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Feifei
Family
Santa Cruz
Apr 7, 2014

Should be fine

The price is good. Location is very good, convenient to everywhere. Room is reletively old, not that clean. Too many people in the hotel, crowed. If you want to look for a good location with low pice, this is a good choice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Hotel Pennsylvania

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Jas QQ
Family
China
Mar 26, 2014

good place.bad service

the place is good. near empire state building, time square. cannot store luggage for free. need to check in in exactly 3 pm. we need to wait for the front desk to discuss with anither for her new nail style when checking in...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Hotel Pennsylvania

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Guy111
Single
Toronto Canada
Mar 9, 2014

Pennsylvania Hotel

This hotel is located in midtown close to everything. The location and price are fantastic. The cleanliness and amenities are very poor. I love a good value but this place was dirty and in really bad shape. I won't be staying there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Single

Review of Hotel Pennsylvania

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
corinalucia17
Single
New Brunswick, NJ
Feb 21, 2014

great location, modest room

I chose this hotel for its very convenient location next to Penn Station. The room was clean and spacious. They only problem is that they make you pay for wireless, which is annoying and expensive.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Single

Review of Hotel Pennsylvania

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
j.c 77
Couples
Palmdale/Sun Valley
Feb 20, 2014

Good Times

Great location right in the heart of the fashion district a block away from the Empire State Building, Macy's, Penn Station and 15 minutes walking distance to time square well worth it $$$$ would recommend to any one how is making plans on visiting the Big Apple. Service/staff was great

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Hotel Pennsylvania

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Gabilou
Couples
Culpeper, Virginia
Jan 5, 2014

Location worthy

We loved the location. The staff are helpful and nice. Unfortunately, it needs some overall updating. As we just wanted a safe, near-everything place, we got exactly that for our money. We would go back again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

3 blocks away from the Empire State Building, right next to Penn Station, etc.

Review of Hotel Pennsylvania

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Risriss
Family
Columbus, GA
Dec 23, 2013

Christmas present

Ii booked this hotel after reading reviews. This hotel is close to everything. It is right across the street from Penn Station. All of the desk clerks were extremely helpful and kind. Our room was small , but I knew this prior to booking. My major complaint was the air in our room did not work properly. It simply would not cool our room. It was also very dark and we did not have enough outlets. I would like to say that they have a small grocery store located in the lobby. I would stay there again because of the location and super friendly staff. Everyone that I asked gave me excellent directions and we're extremely helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Family

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

The subway is located right beside the hotel. Cheap way to get around.

Review of Hotel Pennsylvania

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jenny1324
Couples
Austin, Texas
Dec 20, 2013

Great hotel!!

The hotel was more than I had expected! I read the reviews before staying there, I was a little worried after reading them but we decided to book anyways due to the price and location. We had a room on the 13th floor and it was very clean, never did I get the ick vibe when I was there. I am a very light sleeper and I slept through the night, surprisingly quiet. The staff was very helpful and friendly. The location was amazing, and I will be staying there again in March. I did not go there with the expectation of the Ritz Carlton and this large extravagant suite in mind, nor was I going to NYC to hang out in my hotel room! We slept and showered there, and for that I give it 5 stars!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Hotel Pennsylvania

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Stuckinthecity
Single
Marlboro,NY
Dec 17, 2013

Great location

Great location, front desk was very helpful as I was checking in late.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Single

Review of Hotel Pennsylvania

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
APinheiro07
Couples
Boca Raton, FL
Dec 16, 2013

Great location, Old Rooms

We picked this hotel mainly because of it's location. This hotel was close to everything, most places are walking distance from the hotel. The staff were awesome! However, this is a very old hotel. Our room and bathroom was clean, but everything is super old. Other than that, we this hotel is a great deal!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Back to menu Return to top