Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Mar 8, 2015 Check-out: Mar 9, 2015

Hotel Pennsylvania

2 stars
View map of 401 7th Avenue, New York, NY 10001

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
2.6
out of 5
1,081 reviews
fantastc

I n the middle of mid town great flights everything so close time sq a short walk empire state next... See full review

  • wayne l.
  • Feb 9, 2015
Great Mother/Daughter Trip

The hotel was wonderful, we didn't have any problems checking or with our room. The location was... See full review

  • Diane S.
  • Jan 27, 2015
The Pennsylvania Hotel New York is located at 33rd Street and 7th Avenue in Manhattan. Catch up on work at the 24-hour business center, which features printers and high-speed internet access, or after a long day at a meeting use your complimentary guest passes to work out at Bally Total Fitness. Located next door to the hotel, it offers up-to-the-minute workout equipment, as well as a swimming pool and spa.

Affordable and within walking distance of various New York tower blocks like the Empire State Building and the vibrant oasis of Madison Square Garden, the Pennsylvania is a smart choice for leisure guests too, with central rooms and a budget price tag.
     
Sometimes known as the Hotel Pennsylvania or Hotel Penn, the accommodations here were opened in 1919 and have had several other names over the years, including the Statler-Hilton Hotel, after the original manager Ellsworth Statler. 
Key facts
  • Over 1,700 guestrooms
  • 90,000 sq. ft. of function space, incl. adjoining Penn Plaza Pavilion
  • 16 function rooms and 3 ballrooms
  • 24-hour business center
  • Conference center on the 6th floor with executive boardroom
  • Catering capabilities
  • Four restaurants
Neighborhood
At the intersection of New York City's main tourist areas, such as the Broadway Theater district and Times Square, why not step out of the grand entrance at the Hotel Pennsylvania, turn to the right or left, and see where the sidewalk takes you? The Chrysler Building and Macy's are close at hand, and it's easy to reach the fashionable Chelsea and West Village neighborhoods from here too.
Hints and tips
Canine enthusiasts should plan a visit to coincide with the Westminster Dog Show, an annual event where dogs are put through their paces at nearby Madison Square Garden. Even better, the hotel itself is dog-friendly and there are no size restrictions, although there is an additional fee for your pet to stay. Make sure you check with the front desk before bringing along your furry friend.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Pennsylvania Rooms

Superior
Penn 5000 1 King Bed-Additional comforts and sensible investment. We have added a few special touches to our Penn 5000 Club rooms for guests who prize value but want a few additional comforts...like a king-sized bed with a pillow-top mattress- an efficien
Superior
Penn 5000 2 Double Beds-Additional comforts and asensible investment. We have added a few special touches to our Penn 5000 Club rooms for guests who prize value but want a few additional comforts...like a king-sized bed with a pillow-top mattress- an effi
Superior
Superior 1 Double Bed - Perfect for single guests- the superior room double has the same amenities as our larger Superior Rooms- including free wi-fi - a hairdryer- iron and ironing board- and complimentary access to our in-house fitness center.
Superior
Superior 2 Double Beds - This room type offers two full beds and more space than a Superior One Full Bed room- it has the same amenities as our larger Superior Rooms- including free wi-fi - a hairdryer- iron and ironing board- and complimentary access t

Amenities

  • WiFi
General
Air conditioned
Pet friendly
Elevators
24 hour security
Activities
Exercise gym
Dining
Coffee shop
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Concierge desk
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Gift shop
News stand
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Television with cable
Radio
AM/FM alarm clock
Hairdryer in room
Fire alarm with light
Iron
Ironing board
Smoke detectors

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hotel Pennsylvania also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5

Hotel Map

40.7499 -73.9906
Nearby airports
La Guardia Airport, (LGA), 12.00, MI, W; Newark Intl Airport, (EWR), 14.00, MI, E; John F. Kennedy Intl Airport, (JFK), 16.00, MI, W;
Area description
City Center

Nearby points of interest

  • Penn Station: 0.1 mi
  • Macys: 0.1 mi
  • Manhattan Mall: 0.1 mi
  • Herald Square: 0.2 mi
  • Koreatown, Manhattan: 0.3 mi
  • Museum at FIT: 0.3 mi
  • The King's College: 0.3 mi
  • Garment District: 0.3 mi
  • American Academy of Dramatic Arts: 0.4 mi
  • Lord & Taylor: 0.4 mi
  • Nederlander Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Bryant Park: 0.4 mi
  • Limelight Marketplace: 0.4 mi
  • New York Times Building: 0.4 mi
  • Port Authority Bus Terminal: 0.5 mi
  • Penn Station: 0.1 mi
  • Macys: 0.1 mi
  • Manhattan Mall: 0.1 mi
  • Herald Square: 0.2 mi
  • Koreatown, Manhattan: 0.3 mi
  • Museum at FIT: 0.3 mi
  • The King's College: 0.3 mi
  • Garment District: 0.3 mi
  • American Academy of Dramatic Arts: 0.4 mi
  • Lord & Taylor: 0.4 mi
  • Nederlander Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Bryant Park: 0.4 mi
  • Limelight Marketplace: 0.4 mi
  • New York Times Building: 0.4 mi
  • Port Authority Bus Terminal: 0.5 mi
  • New Victory Theater: 0.5 mi
  • Ford Center For The Performing Arts: 0.5 mi
  • Pierpont Morgan Library: 0.5 mi
  • Condé Nast Building: 0.5 mi
  • American Airlines Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Foxwoods Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • NY Public Library: 0.5 mi
  • Bank of America Tower: 0.5 mi
  • Stephen Sondheim Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Theater District: 0.5 mi
  • Town Hall: 0.5 mi
  • Lower Plaza: 0.5 mi
  • Murray Hill: 0.6 mi
  • Hughoneill Dry Goods Store: 0.6 mi
  • Helen Hayes Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Majestic Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Belasco Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Broadhurst Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Shubert Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Minskoff Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Flatiron Building: 0.6 mi
  • Bernard B. Jacobs Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • John Golden Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Booth Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Metropolitan Life Insurance Company Tower: 0.6 mi
  • Lyceum Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Union Square - the Flatiron District: 0.6 mi
  • Music Box Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • St. James Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Imperial Theatre: 0.6 mi

Dining

City Perk
24 Hour coffee shop located off lobby with quick service grab-n-go items.
Tim Hortons
Quick service grab-n-go serving coffee - Donuts -Sandwiches - Located outside off the main entrance.
Stout
Irish pub serving Lunch - Dinner - Brunch on weekends - busy with after-work crowd and game nights.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (1081)

Ratings and reviews for Hotel Pennsylvania

Overall score

2.6 / 5
5.01.0
1081 out of 1081
Amenities:
2.4
Cleanliness:
2.8
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2.6
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.1

58% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel Pennsylvania

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Craigy
Florida, USA
Apr 30, 2012

Good Value

Good value, good location, pleasant staff and clean rooms. Hotel in need of refurbishment but perfectly adequate for a sight-seeing trip to NYC

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Macy's nearby

Review of Hotel Pennsylvania

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Arsenio R.
Business
SAN JUAN
Jan 6, 2015

New York Christmas Vacations

The room acquired 519-A was not very comfortable. There was no table and chair available to sit and review our vacation plan. The ventilation system did not work quite properly, actually we turn it off because the room was unusually warmer even though its was winter outside. The TV and Cable and room heater shared two electric outlet , the three could not be connected at the same time. Not enough outlets for charging cells and tablets in the whole room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Pennsylvania

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Adina L.
Business
N/A
Dec 31, 2014

Family vacation

Great Localization, need to improve the cleaning service. They did not give room services every day of the stay in the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Pennsylvania

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
SAMIA A.
Business
chicago
Dec 31, 2014

First trip to new york

aowsome . it is on the dowtowm . near from Time sure.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Pennsylvania

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Beiyao J.
Business
Cleveland
Dec 29, 2014

awesome trip

It was a pleasant stay for me. the location was great. walking distance to all places I needed to visit. Room is very small but comfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Pennsylvania

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
jonathan p.
Business
East Rutherford
Dec 29, 2014

last minute stay

the check in line for the room was very long and not enough staff members to helps all the customers

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Pennsylvania

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Pottercoot
Business
Herefordshire
Dec 26, 2014

Great location!

I have stayed at the Hotel Pennsylvania several times over the last 10 years and it hasn't changed a bit so as you can imagine it is a bit tired. My last stay was in a Penn 5000 room which supposed to have a king size bed but I had a queen size bed - not a problem as I was travelling alone. The bathroom was very clean but could use some new grout in the tiles. My room was on the 32nd St side of the building so quite quiet. The rooms are quite dark, which may be on purpose, but cleaning the windows & a coat of paint should brighten them up no end. As I've stayed here before I know what I'm getting but am prepared to overlook the negatives as the location suits me when I arrive into Penn Station from Newark and during my stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Brother Jimmy's BBQ 8th Avenue 31st fantastic pulled pork BBQ nachos.

Review of Hotel Pennsylvania

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
jonathan p.
Business
East Rutherford
Dec 21, 2014

last minute stay

the check in line for the room was very long and not enough staff members to helps all the customers

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Pennsylvania

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Leah long legs
Business
Pontypridd Wales UK
Dec 21, 2014

Taking my 7yr old son on a holiday

Loved it & I certainly woukd stay here again .. Loved the hotel loved NYC & love the USA. ❤️

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Pennsylvania

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Rebecca M P
Business
Raquette Lake
Dec 20, 2014

Mother/Daughter Trip to the City!

My mom and I stayed here for three nights in December 2013 right before I flew back to Mexico where I was working at the time. The location is fantastic. Check-in was horrendous. Easily a 90-minute line. The rooms are old, but they are kind of cool because the outer doors look like refrigerator doors from the 1960s. The rug was gross. But whatever! It was a great hotel given the price, and the location couldn't have been better. My mom really liked our room because it had a bathtub. I guess that's common in the US, and I'm just not used to it anymore, but she really liked it (we are both American). The front desk staff were so rude. I asked for help about my shuttle to the airport, and one lady literally refused to help me. When she saw me writing down her name, she ripped her name tag off and stormed away. That was the worst part about our trip. When I stayed in NYC again in July 2014, I would have stayed here again, but it was all booked up.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Pennsylvania

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Andy12
Business
UK
Dec 17, 2014

Great Position

The hotel is very well placed for a good time but the hotel is a bit tired and needs renovation and updating. Internet now $10 per day and slow.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top