Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 28, 2014 Check-out: Sep 29, 2014

Hotel Pennsylvania

2 stars
401 7th Avenue, New York, NY 10001
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.5
out of 5
1,002 reviews
Great location and good price for New York!

Stayed for 3 nights. Great location and good price for New York! The only odd thing was I had to... See full review

  • odri
  • Aug 29, 2014
Hotel Penn

Hotel Pennsylvania is the perfect place to stay for the New York experience. With its location... See full review

  • Traviss
  • Aug 9, 2014
The Pennsylvania Hotel New York is located at 33rd Street and 7th Avenue in Manhattan. Catch up on work at the 24-hour business center, which features printers and high-speed internet access, or after a long day at a meeting use your complimentary guest passes to work out at Bally Total Fitness. Located next door to the hotel, it offers up-to-the-minute workout equipment, as well as a swimming pool and spa.

Affordable and within walking distance of various New York tower blocks like the Empire State Building and the vibrant oasis of Madison Square Garden, the Pennsylvania is a smart choice for leisure guests too, with central rooms and a budget price tag.
     
Sometimes known as the Hotel Pennsylvania or Hotel Penn, the accommodations here were opened in 1919 and have had several other names over the years, including the Statler-Hilton Hotel, after the original manager Ellsworth Statler. 
Key facts
  • Over 1,700 guestrooms
  • 90,000 sq. ft. of function space, incl. adjoining Penn Plaza Pavilion
  • 16 function rooms and 3 ballrooms
  • 24-hour business center
  • Conference center on the 6th floor with executive boardroom
  • Catering capabilities
  • Four restaurants
Neighborhood
At the intersection of New York City's main tourist areas, such as the Broadway Theater district and Times Square, why not step out of the grand entrance at the Hotel Pennsylvania, turn to the right or left, and see where the sidewalk takes you? The Chrysler Building and Macy's are close at hand, and it's easy to reach the fashionable Chelsea and West Village neighborhoods from here too.
Hints and tips
Canine enthusiasts should plan a visit to coincide with the Westminster Dog Show, an annual event where dogs are put through their paces at nearby Madison Square Garden. Even better, the hotel itself is dog-friendly and there are no size restrictions, although there is an additional fee for your pet to stay. Make sure you check with the front desk before bringing along your furry friend.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Pennsylvania Rooms

Superior
Penn 5000 1 King Bed-Additional comforts and sensible investment. We have added a few special touches to our Penn 5000 Club rooms for guests who prize value but want a few additional comforts...like a king-sized bed with a pillow-top mattress- an efficien
Superior
Penn 5000 2 Double Beds-Additional comforts and asensible investment. We have added a few special touches to our Penn 5000 Club rooms for guests who prize value but want a few additional comforts...like a king-sized bed with a pillow-top mattress- an effi
Superior
Superior 1 Double Bed - Perfect for single guests- the superior room double has the same amenities as our larger Superior Rooms- including free wi-fi - a hairdryer- iron and ironing board- and complimentary access to our in-house fitness center.
Superior
Superior 2 Double Beds - This room type offers two full beds and more space than a Superior One Full Bed room- it has the same amenities as our larger Superior Rooms- including free wi-fi - a hairdryer- iron and ironing board- and complimentary access t

Amenities

  • WiFi
General
Air conditioned
Pet friendly
Elevators
24 hour security
Activities
Exercise gym
Dining
Coffee shop
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Concierge desk
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Gift shop
News stand
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Television with cable
Radio
AM/FM alarm clock
Hairdryer in room
Fire alarm with light
Iron
Ironing board
Smoke detectors

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hotel Pennsylvania also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5

Hotel Map

40.7499 -73.9906
Nearby airports
La Guardia Airport, (LGA), 12.00, MI, W; Newark Intl Airport, (EWR), 14.00, MI, E; John F. Kennedy Intl Airport, (JFK), 16.00, MI, W;
Area description
City Center

Nearby points of interest

  • Penn Station: 0.1 mi
  • Macys: 0.1 mi
  • Manhattan Mall: 0.1 mi
  • Herald Square: 0.2 mi
  • Madison Square Garden: 0.2 mi
  • Koreatown, Manhattan: 0.3 mi
  • Museum at FIT: 0.3 mi
  • The King's College: 0.3 mi
  • Garment District: 0.3 mi
  • American Academy of Dramatic Arts: 0.4 mi
  • Lord & Taylor: 0.4 mi
  • Nederlander Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Bryant Park: 0.4 mi
  • Limelight Marketplace: 0.4 mi
  • New York Times Building: 0.4 mi
  • Penn Station: 0.1 mi
  • Macys: 0.1 mi
  • Manhattan Mall: 0.1 mi
  • Herald Square: 0.2 mi
  • Madison Square Garden: 0.2 mi
  • Koreatown, Manhattan: 0.3 mi
  • Museum at FIT: 0.3 mi
  • The King's College: 0.3 mi
  • Garment District: 0.3 mi
  • American Academy of Dramatic Arts: 0.4 mi
  • Lord & Taylor: 0.4 mi
  • Nederlander Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Bryant Park: 0.4 mi
  • Limelight Marketplace: 0.4 mi
  • New York Times Building: 0.4 mi
  • Port Authority Bus Terminal: 0.5 mi
  • New Victory Theater: 0.5 mi
  • Ford Center For The Performing Arts: 0.5 mi
  • Pierpont Morgan Library: 0.5 mi
  • Condé Nast Building: 0.5 mi
  • American Airlines Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Foxwoods Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • NY Public Library: 0.5 mi
  • Bank of America Tower: 0.5 mi
  • Stephen Sondheim Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Theater District: 0.5 mi
  • Town Hall: 0.5 mi
  • Lower Plaza: 0.5 mi
  • Murray Hill: 0.6 mi
  • Hughoneill Dry Goods Store: 0.6 mi
  • Helen Hayes Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Majestic Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Belasco Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Broadhurst Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Shubert Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Minskoff Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Flatiron Building: 0.6 mi
  • Bernard B. Jacobs Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • John Golden Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Booth Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Metropolitan Life Insurance Company Tower: 0.6 mi
  • Lyceum Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Union Square - the Flatiron District: 0.6 mi
  • Music Box Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • St. James Theatre: 0.6 mi

Dining

City Perk
24 Hour coffee shop located off lobby with quick service grab-n-go items.
Tim Hortons
Quick service grab-n-go serving coffee - Donuts -Sandwiches - Located outside off the main entrance.
Stout
Irish pub serving Lunch - Dinner - Brunch on weekends - busy with after-work crowd and game nights.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (1002)

Ratings and reviews for Hotel Pennsylvania

Overall score

2.5 / 5
5.01.0
1002 out of 1002
Amenities:
2.4
Room cleanliness:
2.7
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2.5
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.1

57% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel Pennsylvania

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Craigy
Florida, USA
Apr 30, 2012

Good Value

Good value, good location, pleasant staff and clean rooms. Hotel in need of refurbishment but perfectly adequate for a sight-seeing trip to NYC

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Macy's nearby

Review of Hotel Pennsylvania

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Nayar
Tennessee
Jun 19, 2014

A big NO !

suffocating rooms, Stinking bathrooms, No maintanance.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Review of Hotel Pennsylvania

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Julio Dominguez
Chicago
Jun 17, 2014

BIRTHDAY Getaway

I decided to go to NYC to celebrate my 25th and I had a great experience. The hotel looked awesome when I did my reservations online . When arrived I was shocked, we were literally in from of Madison square garden, on blocks away from time square and Empire State Building. The service was good and efficient. Room was not as comfortable for the price but I guess I went to NYC.... If I ever come back to NYC I would definitely stay here just for its location!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Hotel Pennsylvania

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
MrsB333
Business
Boston, MA
Jun 16, 2014

Great location... and that's it

Front staff was very helpful in helping me change rooms. There was a dead bug on my pillow in the first room I had "upgraded" to. The rooms need a face lift and the carpets need a deep cleanse, didn't take my shoes off the whole time I was there. The location was great, but I wouldn't come back here even though the price is right.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Pennsylvania

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
SEANYC2014
Business
Seattle, WA
Jun 13, 2014

50's Hotel for High Price

Ancient hotel that is in bad need of an update. I suppose it is a 'reasonable' value for NYC but anywhere else in the country for this price you would have a suite. No complementary airline boarding pass printing--you need to pay at the business center which may or may not be operational.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Pennsylvania

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
theatre fan
Business
Los Angeles
Jun 13, 2014

The visit to hades

Avoid this hotel at all costs! Arrive day #1, 11:00 pm; room was not ready; I was told it would take several minutes; took TWO (!) HOURS. Manager was missing from action. Finally got a room which was not what I had asked for, and was a smoking room. (I am allergic to smoke.) Day #2....arrivedback in the evening after a long day. Room was double locked. REgistration desk said security would take care of it; met security at room door; they said the registration desk would take care of it; went up and down THREE times getting the same blame game. Again the manager was missing from action the entire time...operator said the manager had stepped out. Two hours later I got into my room which was NOT Cleaned. Day #3 was even worse...attitude from staff, manager denied any responsibility since she was not there; said she would check into it and get back to me. She never did. Room not cleaned again. Got a manager the day of check out, finally, she said there was always a manager around; and gave me huge attitude when I told her she was wrong. In response to the long wait on the first day, she responded with attitude well "that happens. We are a business" (Not sure what that means, other than there was never an apology any where along the line of these three days of drama.) I have stayed at the hotel for years and never had these problems. it has become dysfunctional Long lines of people were complaining as well of problems. Avoid this hotel, which is unfortunate, given its location

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Pennsylvania

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Studio53
Business
Near Savannah, Ga
Jun 11, 2014

Great Location

Excellent location, good price, clean, quiet room! The only unplanned for issue; wifi is $12.00 a day! whew. unanticipated expense. Otherwise fantastic! Will stay here again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Madison Square Gardens and the train station are VERY close!

Review of Hotel Pennsylvania

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
casanova2014
san jose ca
Jun 6, 2014

found cockroach and a mouse trap in rooms

Arrived there.... staff was not considerate at all... gave us a room on the second night found a cockroack in my bed. Went downstairs to complain at midnight they sent us to a second room... upon inspection we found a mouse trap under the ac. Went again to complain at the lobby and with a rude actitude gave us a third room. My dad and me ended up avoiding the front desk because everytime we stoped there for questions the staf was rude and not helpful at all... good location but definetly will never stay there again

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Review of Hotel Pennsylvania

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
navee
atlanta
Jun 4, 2014

my experience

location of the hotel is awesome.but the staff is not good.they waited me for 15mins at the time of check in and in my room toilet flush is not working ,we went new york for vacation purpose at morning we tried to get ready at that time toilet flush is not worked ,we called to maintenance but they send operator after an hour it is very disguisting .

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

night life in new york is awesome and from this hotel times square is very close.

Review of Hotel Pennsylvania

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
nyrmar
Bayamon, Puerto Rico
Jun 1, 2014

Perfect location

Best hotel location for the price. I took public transportation during my vacation which was excellent.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Hotel Pennsylvania

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Biggeee
Union City, Ca
Jun 1, 2014

Great location

I booked this based on the location, and it was fantastic. I was looking for a place that was clean and safe with easy access to the subways and trains and thats what I got. If you're looking for luxury, then this is not for you. The rooms are very outdated and so is the furniture, but it is clean. I will always stay here in the future whenever I come to NYC.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Penn Station has all the little eating places you need.

Back to menu Return to top