Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 10, 2015 Check-out: May 11, 2015

Hotel Pennsylvania

2 stars
View map of 401 7th Avenue, New York, NY 10001

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Hotel Pennsylvania

Overall score

2.6 / 5
5.01.0
1117 out of 1117
Amenities:
2.4
Cleanliness:
2.8
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2.6
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.1

58% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel Pennsylvania

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Craigy
Florida, USA
Apr 30, 2012

Good Value

Good value, good location, pleasant staff and clean rooms. Hotel in need of refurbishment but perfectly adequate for a sight-seeing trip to NYC

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Macy's nearby

Review of Hotel Pennsylvania

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
LaChelle B.
Business
N/A
Mar 10, 2015

Awesome

The hotel is an old hotel that has been remodeled, which I love. The bathroom could use some updateding, but besides that I loved it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Pennsylvania

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Allie
Business
N/A
Mar 9, 2015

Clean where it matters, but don't expect too much

Earlier reviews varied wildly, but I needed a place to stay for two nights on less than a week's notice, so this is where I ended up. The hotel was clean where it matters (sheets, bathroom, etc), but a little dusty if you look too closely. Thin walls and it's a large hotel, so people were definitely up and around rather early. The building itself is definitely older - the walls were marked up, the bathroom had chipped floor boards, etc. BUT: it's in an amazing location and an amazing deal. The lobby is lovely and clean, and I had no issues with the staff. I was also only in town for two days and spent nearly all of that time out of the hotel. I would say set your expectations to a niceish private hostel room in any major European city and you'll be fine. If you come in expecting a suburban chain hotel or the Renaissance for $70 a night, you're going to be disappointed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Pennsylvania

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
DallasCouple
Business
N/A
Mar 9, 2015

Trip to New York

Good value. Great location. Big room. Great for catching a train the next day, a quip trip, or a good location!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Pennsylvania

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Wahida H.
Business
N/A
Mar 3, 2015

not good

Room was not cleaned up, too small and dirty,the floor was dirty.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Pennsylvania

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Ahlot
Business
New Canaan
Mar 2, 2015

R & R

I stayed at this hotel before and I would like to try it again. But there is no changes. The place still needs a bad renovation, the check in people are not friendly, amenities are bare minimum.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Pennsylvania

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Dr. Ben Crazy
Business
Twinsburg
Feb 24, 2015

Great location

This is a historic hotel. So don't expect things to be brand new. But the location is amazing, right across from Penn Station and MSG. When in NYC, you have to ask yourself: how much time do you really spend in the room, anyway?? (If you're like me-- it is mostly just to sleep!) So I would say I had a very positive experience with this hotel. It has a lot of character, and again has an amazing location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Pennsylvania

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
compulsiveTraveler
Business
Miami
Feb 18, 2015

Traveler

Place is ok for a short visit. Book your reservation here if location/price are factors to consider on your trip!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Pennsylvania

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
cwms
Business
EVANSTON
Feb 16, 2015

Mistake

Unless you are traveling to NY without any $$ (bad idea), you're going to dislike the experience with this hotel. It's disgusting, dirty, small -- even by NY standards. I could see it for students on a budget or tourists on a serious budget but otherwise, you'll do MUCH better by spending a couple extra bucks --NY has some fantastic hotels and this is closer to a hostile.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Pennsylvania

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Barbie
Business
JOSHUA
Feb 9, 2015

HORRIBLE WEEK

I HAD TO STAY IN NEW YORK FOR ABOUT A WEEK..THIS HOTEL NEEDS MAJOR UPDATING AND FIX UPS...POOR WATER PRESSURE, FILTHY, BATHROOMS ALL RUSTED, CHIPPED PAINT IN TUB,DISCOLORED, RUDE SERVICE

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Pennsylvania

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Barbie
Business
N/A
Feb 9, 2015

Worse Hotel ever stayed at

The staff was rude, the rooms were nasty, bathroom was all rusted, filthy the water had poor pressure, I was there for an event and everyone that stayed at this hotel had the same problem. for a place in such location they need to upgrade and fix!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top