Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 6, 2014 Check-out: Aug 8, 2014

Hotel 17

2 stars
225 East 17th Street, New York, NY 10003
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
377 reviews
Terrific surprise!

I stayed at the Hotel 17 for 5 nights on business. I worked from the hotel about half of each day... See full review

  • Super JE
  • Jun 20, 2014
Great Place

Pretty bare bones but it gets the job done. Felt very safe and was in an amazing area for a great... See full review

  • ferretmann2
  • Jun 20, 2014
Located next to Union Square and a few blocks from the subway station, this charming Manhattan hotel offers full concierge service and free Wi-Fi. Hotel 17 offers individually decorated rooms with cable TV and daily maid service upon request. Shared bathroom, hairdryers, and ironing facilities are available. The front desk is open at all times to help guests with needs or to offer advice on the city. As Manhattans best neighborhood city hotel, Hotel 17s fame also appeared in the 1993 Woody Allen film Manhattan Murder Mystery and was the site for the photo shoots in Madonnas Sex book. Fashion magazines, such as GQ, Elle, & Vogue have also favored our hotel setting for fashion shoots.

Hotel 17 Rooms

Single Shared Bath Room
This room features one single (twin) size bed for one person only. Room amenities include free Wi-Fi, hair-dryer, alarm clock, basic cable TV, radio, telephone, and air conditioning. Daily maid service and iron & ironing board are available upon request.The decor and ambiance of the standard rooms are truly European style where all the rooms are private, but the bathrooms and showers are outside in the hallway.
Double Shared Bath Room
This room features one double (full) size bed for one or two persons only. This room equipped with sink and writing desk & chair. Room amenities include free Wi-Fi, hair-dryer, alarm clock, basic cable TV, radio/alarm clock, telephone, and air conditioning. Daily maid service and iron & ironing board are available upon request. The decor and ambiance of the standard rooms are truly European style where all the rooms are private, but the bathrooms and showers are outside in the hallway.
Triple Shared Bath Room
This room features one double (full) bed and one single (twin) bed for one to three persons only. This room equipped with sink and writing desk & chair. Room amenities include free Wi-Fi, hair-dryer, alarm clock, basic cable TV, radio/alarm clock, telephone, and air conditioning. Daily maid service and iron & ironing board are available upon request. The decor and ambiance of the standard rooms are truly European style where all the rooms are private, but the bathrooms and showers are outside in the hallway.

Amenities

  • Free internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Dining
Room service
Services
In-Room Safe
Internet
Free internet
Accessibility
Service dogs allowed
Service animals allowed

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hotel 17 also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.4 out of 5

Hotel Map

40.7347 -73.9846
Area served
New York City.
Nearby airports
La Guardia Airport, JFK Airport, Newark Airport
Area description
Located in a safe and serene neighborhood called Union Square. The hotel is only 3 blocks walking distance to the trendy, artsy and colorful East Village.

Nearby points of interest

  • Stuyvesant Square: 0.1 mi
  • Grammercy Park: 0.2 mi
  • The Players: 0.2 mi
  • National Arts Club: 0.2 mi
  • Union Square Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Second Avenue Kosher Deli: 0.3 mi
  • Union Square Park: 0.3 mi
  • Strand Book Store: 0.4 mi
  • School of Visual Arts: 0.4 mi
  • Veniero's Pasticceria: 0.4 mi
  • Hamilton Fish House: 0.4 mi
  • Flatiron District: 0.4 mi
  • Theodore Roosevelt Birthplace National Historic Site: 0.4 mi
  • Grace Church: 0.4 mi
  • Asser Levy Playground: 0.4 mi
  • Stuyvesant Square: 0.1 mi
  • Grammercy Park: 0.2 mi
  • The Players: 0.2 mi
  • National Arts Club: 0.2 mi
  • Union Square Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Second Avenue Kosher Deli: 0.3 mi
  • Union Square Park: 0.3 mi
  • Strand Book Store: 0.4 mi
  • School of Visual Arts: 0.4 mi
  • Veniero's Pasticceria: 0.4 mi
  • Hamilton Fish House: 0.4 mi
  • Flatiron District: 0.4 mi
  • Theodore Roosevelt Birthplace National Historic Site: 0.4 mi
  • Grace Church: 0.4 mi
  • Asser Levy Playground: 0.4 mi
  • Forbes Magazine Galleries: 0.5 mi
  • Metropolitan Life Insurance Company Tower: 0.5 mi
  • Mechanics and Traders Bank: 0.5 mi
  • Union Square - the Flatiron District: 0.5 mi
  • Peter Cooper Park: 0.5 mi
  • Flatiron Building: 0.5 mi
  • Joseph Papp Public Theater: 0.5 mi
  • Cooper Union Foundation Building: 0.6 mi
  • Ukrainian Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Colonnade Row: 0.6 mi
  • Chester A. Arthur Home: 0.6 mi
  • Church of the Ascension, Episcopal: 0.6 mi
  • Tompkins Square Park: 0.6 mi
  • Merchant's House Museum: 0.6 mi
  • New York University: 0.6 mi
  • Washington Mews: 0.6 mi
  • Museum For African Art: 0.7 mi
  • Brown Building: 0.7 mi
  • Hughoneill Dry Goods Store: 0.7 mi
  • Alphabet City: 0.7 mi
  • Grey Art Gallery: 0.7 mi
  • Washington Arch: 0.7 mi
  • New York Studio School of Drawing, Painting and Sculpture (building): 0.7 mi
  • Jefferson Market Library: 0.7 mi
  • Village East Cinemas: 0.8 mi
  • Limelight Marketplace: 0.8 mi
  • Century Building: 0.8 mi
  • Gay Street: 0.8 mi
  • Provincetown Playhouse: 0.8 mi
  • Northern Dispensary: 0.9 mi

Dining

No hotel dining.
No hotel dining.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by CheapTickets

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (377)

Ratings and reviews for Hotel 17

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
377 out of 377
Amenities:
2.9
Room cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3.6
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.2

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel 17

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Chicago
Jul 4, 2008

Location + Value = Best Kept Secret

I love the Hotel 17. It used to be a flea bag hotel (see Woody Allen's Manhattan Murder Mystery), but it has been lovingly restored into an affordable Euro-style hotel for budget travelers. The location just steps from Union Square and the East Village is phenomenal. Sure, the rooms are impossibly small and you have to share bathrooms, but how much time are you planning on spending in your hotel room anyway? It's New York for Pete's sake!! I really can't recommend this hotel enough although it's not for people who like to stretch out.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Hotel 17

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Jun 20, 2007

We were 2 colleagues ...

We were 2 colleagues attending a conference in Brooklyn. The Hotel is located within 5-10 minute walk from subway station. That was the best part. We did not really care about comfort but nevertheless, we felt that the room was kind of cramped (with a wash basin inside). There was no outside view. Lighting could have been better. No closet space at all. Just space for 4 hangers by the door. A number of channels on TV could not be tuned. Would recommend to business travelers or single people. But definitely not a suitable place for family stay (at least not the room that we got).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel 17

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Madison, WI
Apr 17, 2008

Good for a couple on a Budget

We had a very pleasant experience at Hotel 17. We read many other reviews of this hotel before we went on our trip so we knew what to expect. The hotel was in a great location and in a quiet neighbohrood. The hotel room itself wasn't luxurious, but it has everything you need for a trip to NYC. We didn't expect to spend much time in the room, so the hotel definitely served a purpose as a place to keep our belongings, bathe, and sleep. The shared bathrooms weren't a problem at all and the staff kept them very clean. Overall, the hotel is a great pick for a couple or a single person on a budget. Its very close to the subway and has everything you need if you're a person on the go and won't be spending a lot of time in the room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Union Square is less than a half mile from the hotel. It's a great place to meet people and relax. The subway is right there with many different trains.

Review of Hotel 17

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Wabasha
Jun 12, 2008

super

Every aspect exceeded my expectations. I was fine in my Hotel 17 room. Staff was friendly and helpful. I was close to food and the subway. Room and bathrooms were clean and inviting. My next time in NY will be at Hotel 17.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Enjoy the subway nearby and the food.

Review of Hotel 17

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Nicholi1
Philadelphia, PA
Jul 15, 2009

Nice Home away from Home

Great Location, and Peaceful Residential Area. Free Street Parking Nearby.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Hotel 17

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Baton Rouge, LA
Feb 18, 2008

Very Cozy with a Historical Feel

I really enjoyed the layout and architectural appeal the hotel had! My room was just the right size for myself. The bed was VERY comfortable and I loved the vanity and personal sink! I would have to say that I was a little disappointed that there were no vending machines or refrigerators for someone staying for a few days.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There was a diner right down the street with great food and almost anything you could want with great prices! Everywhere I went I got plenty of food for the purchase price!

Review of Hotel 17

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
florida
Jul 23, 2011

Classy abode

Everything was clean comfortable & extremely well priced.Would be nice to have a microwave in room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Many restaurants within a short walk.

Review of Hotel 17

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Hinsdale
Oct 19, 2008

Good Value, Good Location

We initially chose this hotel because it was within walking distance of Union Square. It is about 4 blocks away. We did like the fact that we had street view and our block was very quiet. The rooms were very clean and even though we had to share a bathroom it was clean. The elevator worked well and the reception area was very helpful. The only down size I would say is that it was a few blocks to the nearest subway.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Walk to Union Square to buy fruits and vegetables from local farmers. Also, there are plenty of shops near and around Union Square.

Review of Hotel 17

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
San Carlos
Sep 14, 2008

Affordable base for NYC adventures

I found this an excellent value for the money and I'm glad I didn't let the shared bathroom setup scare me away. The bathrooms were perfectly clean and acceptable, as was my room. Sometimes I would hear TV or radio noise in the hallway, but my room was always quiet. A/C worked great. The hotel is in a safe residential neighborhood; I felt fine returning home alone late at night on foot.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

The Whole Foods at Union Square just a few blocks away is open until 11pm. Its takeout bar was a healthy, not-so-expensive option for a relaxed late dinner after a day of exploring. There is a nice dining area upstairs with a view of the square and city lights.

Review of Hotel 17

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
USA
Aug 7, 2007

Great Value for the money

For the money it was superb. Great neighborhood. Clean rooms. The bathroom sharing, was no problem. The bathrooms were very clean and well stocked. We definitely will be staying there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Union Square a short walk away. Many great restaurants to eat at. We ate at this great little diner that you can see from the hotel.

Back to menu Return to top