Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Nov 24, 2014 Check-out: Nov 27, 2014

Hotel 17

2 stars
225 East 17th Street, New York, NY 10003
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.7
out of 5
261 reviews
Hotel 17

Marvelous experience. Thanks , hotel l7 staff, especially Chachi and Sayid See full review

  • zionisa
  • Oct 19, 2014
You got what you paid for

Everything is convenient and the location is perfect. But you have to share bathroom with others. See full review

  • Johnzikka
  • Aug 9, 2014
Located next to Union Square and a few blocks from the subway station, this charming Manhattan hotel offers full concierge service and free Wi-Fi. Hotel 17 offers individually decorated rooms with cable TV and daily maid service upon request. Shared bathroom, hairdryers, and ironing facilities are available. The front desk is open at all times to help guests with needs or to offer advice on the city.

As Manhattans best neighborhood city hotel, Hotel 17s fame also appeared in the 1993 Woody Allen film Manhattan Murder Mystery and was the site for the photo shoots in Madonnas Sex book. Fashion magazines, such as GQ, Elle, & Vogue have also favored our hotel setting for fashion shoots.

Hotel 17 Rooms

Single Shared Bath Room
This room features one single (twin) size bed for one person only. Room amenities include free Wi-Fi, hair-dryer, alarm clock, basic cable TV, radio, telephone, and air conditioning. Daily maid service and iron & ironing board are available upon request.The decor and ambiance of the standard rooms are truly European style where all the rooms are private, but the bathrooms and showers are outside in the hallway.
Double Shared Bath Room
This room features one double (full) size bed for one or two persons only. This room equipped with sink and writing desk & chair. Room amenities include free Wi-Fi, hair-dryer, alarm clock, basic cable TV, radio/alarm clock, telephone, and air conditioning. Daily maid service and iron & ironing board are available upon request. The decor and ambiance of the standard rooms are truly European style where all the rooms are private, but the bathrooms and showers are outside in the hallway.
Triple Shared Bath Room
This room features one double (full) bed and one single (twin) bed for one to three persons only. This room equipped with sink and writing desk & chair. Room amenities include free Wi-Fi, hair-dryer, alarm clock, basic cable TV, radio/alarm clock, telephone, and air conditioning. Daily maid service and iron & ironing board are available upon request. The decor and ambiance of the standard rooms are truly European style where all the rooms are private, but the bathrooms and showers are outside in the hallway.

Amenities

  • Free internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Dining
Room service
Services
In-Room Safe
Internet
Free internet
Accessibility
Service dogs allowed
Service animals allowed

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hotel 17 also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.8 out of 5

Hotel Map

40.7347 -73.9846
Area served
New York City.
Nearby airports
La Guardia Airport, JFK Airport, Newark Airport
Area description
Located in a safe and serene neighborhood called Union Square. The hotel is only 3 blocks walking distance to the trendy, artsy and colorful East Village.

Nearby points of interest

  • Stuyvesant Square: 0.1 mi
  • Grammercy Park: 0.2 mi
  • The Players: 0.2 mi
  • National Arts Club: 0.2 mi
  • Union Square Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Second Avenue Kosher Deli: 0.3 mi
  • Union Square Park: 0.3 mi
  • Strand Book Store: 0.4 mi
  • School of Visual Arts: 0.4 mi
  • Veniero's Pasticceria: 0.4 mi
  • Hamilton Fish House: 0.4 mi
  • Flatiron District: 0.4 mi
  • Theodore Roosevelt Birthplace National Historic Site: 0.4 mi
  • Grace Church: 0.4 mi
  • Asser Levy Playground: 0.4 mi
  • Stuyvesant Square: 0.1 mi
  • Grammercy Park: 0.2 mi
  • The Players: 0.2 mi
  • National Arts Club: 0.2 mi
  • Union Square Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Second Avenue Kosher Deli: 0.3 mi
  • Union Square Park: 0.3 mi
  • Strand Book Store: 0.4 mi
  • School of Visual Arts: 0.4 mi
  • Veniero's Pasticceria: 0.4 mi
  • Hamilton Fish House: 0.4 mi
  • Flatiron District: 0.4 mi
  • Theodore Roosevelt Birthplace National Historic Site: 0.4 mi
  • Grace Church: 0.4 mi
  • Asser Levy Playground: 0.4 mi
  • Forbes Magazine Galleries: 0.5 mi
  • Metropolitan Life Insurance Company Tower: 0.5 mi
  • Mechanics and Traders Bank: 0.5 mi
  • Union Square - the Flatiron District: 0.5 mi
  • Peter Cooper Park: 0.5 mi
  • Flatiron Building: 0.5 mi
  • Joseph Papp Public Theater: 0.5 mi
  • Cooper Union Foundation Building: 0.6 mi
  • Ukrainian Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Colonnade Row: 0.6 mi
  • Chester A. Arthur Home: 0.6 mi
  • Church of the Ascension, Episcopal: 0.6 mi
  • Tompkins Square Park: 0.6 mi
  • Merchant's House Museum: 0.6 mi
  • New York University: 0.6 mi
  • Washington Mews: 0.6 mi
  • Museum For African Art: 0.7 mi
  • Brown Building: 0.7 mi
  • Hughoneill Dry Goods Store: 0.7 mi
  • Alphabet City: 0.7 mi
  • Grey Art Gallery: 0.7 mi
  • Washington Arch: 0.7 mi
  • New York Studio School of Drawing, Painting and Sculpture (building): 0.7 mi
  • Jefferson Market Library: 0.7 mi
  • Village East Cinemas: 0.8 mi
  • Limelight Marketplace: 0.8 mi
  • Century Building: 0.8 mi
  • Gay Street: 0.8 mi
  • Provincetown Playhouse: 0.8 mi
  • Northern Dispensary: 0.9 mi

Dining

No hotel dining.
No hotel dining.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by CheapTickets

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (261)

Ratings and reviews for Hotel 17

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
261 out of 261
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
3.9
Room comfort:
3.6
Location:
4.4
Value:
4.1

87% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel 17

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
poppa ben
Business
enfield ct
Feb 26, 2014

excellent experience

amazed at the cleaniness of the entire place. location perfect for my needs. staff attentive but unobtrusive. wil ldefinitely visit again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel 17

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Aug 10, 2007

Great Place to Stay if you Don't hang in your Room

Hotel 17 was a great place to stay for my family's visit to NYC. We spent very little time in the room because we spent most of our time in Time Square. Although the room was small, it was very clean. The beds were hard, but we were so tired we slept fine. The check-in person, was very nice and helpful. He even had an umbrella that I could borrow for the unexpected rain. The bathroom and shower are located across the hall from the rooms. There was never a wait and the water was hot.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Long walk from hotel

There are three very close places to eat and a Starbucks close by.

Review of Hotel 17

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Agnieszka
Business
Chicago, IL
May 27, 2007

Great place!

I loved hotel 17! The best location! Hotel 17 is on nice, back street. Walking distance to subway, nice bars and restaurants! Very clean and friendly. If I ever go to New York, I will stay in Hotel 17 again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There is a very nice rastaurant, just on corner 17 and 3 st. I don't remember the name, but you can't miss it. Sery good food...and drinks!

Review of Hotel 17

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Rochester, New York
Aug 4, 2010

Great central location and ambiance

Hotel 17 served as a resting point while frequenting major tourist sites. Was able to walk to most major tourist sites. Friendly and helpful staff. Have always stayed at Hotel 17 due to location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

Would not recommend super shuttle. Had several stops to pick up other passengers and delayed arrival time by at least an hour.

Review of Hotel 17

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Raleigh, NC, USA
Nov 14, 2011

what a gem!

Loved this hotel! The old world charm was great! Room was small, had a sink in it, which was nice. Front desk staff was very helpful. A few blocks from Union Square. Will most definitely stay here again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel 17

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
DBurns3
Business
Chicago, IL
Nov 14, 2011

Great Budget Hotel

We didn't spend much time in the hotel but it was perfect for our trip. It's right in the middle of Wall Street/Ground Zero and Times Square/Central park. It was a great middle ground to travel between these two must-see sites. It was a clean room and a great price. We paid $200 per night for a three person hotel room. This was a far better deal than I could find anywhere else. The bathrooms were shared but very clean. I would absolutely recommend the hotel to anyone.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Go to McSorley's Old Ale House! You won't regret. It has a lot of character and great background stories. The staff and people in the bar were absolutely welcoming. Make sure you ask someone to tell you the story behind the chair hanging up behind the bar and the wishbones hanging over the bar. I'll save the surprise for when you visit.

Review of Hotel 17

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Budget traveling father
Business
Delmar, NY, USA
Aug 13, 2012

Awesome value in NYC

I am accustomed to staying in Youth Hostels (even when on professional travel), youth hotels, airbnb houses and the like. I figure I am traveling to see the city, not to hang out in a hotel room. At hotel 17, the room I shared with my wife was adequate in size, had air conditioning, a good television, a sink for washing and brushing, a comfortable bed and all the extra room we need. The bathroom is shared and down the hall. The man checking in as we were leaving obviously didn't do the necessary research to learn that is the idiosyncrasy about Hotel 17. It's not a big deal. We only had to wait a few minutes once for the bathroom which is kept meticulously clean, by the way. If you can't handle the idea of sharing a bathroom, don't come here. If you want a perfectly adequate, clean, quiet, and comfortable hotel in an awesome part of NYC (Union Square, Highline Walkway, etc...), you will like Hotel 17. Small rooms but you should be in NYC to see the city, not hang out in a hotel room, imho.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Good parking garage ($40/24hrs) right around the block on 18th street between 3rd and 2nd. Highline Walkway at the end of 17th Street West, Donut Pub for breakfast, corner of 14th and 7th, Stella's Pizza near the corner of 17th and 9th.

Review of Hotel 17

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Shiki
Business
NJ
Mar 10, 2013

Nice hotel

The hotel looks clean and elegant. We have three people and we get a room with a twin bed and a king size bed, while there is not much spare space. Restrooms are not in the room but they are always available and clean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel 17

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
zhen
Business
Tucson
Sep 3, 2013

lovely and comfortable

i really enjoy the days in NY last weekend. The hotel is very good location. good service and great price!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel 17

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Csquared1998
Business
Texas
Dec 11, 2013

Excellent hotel for the price

It was exactly as it was stated. Usingl the shared bathrooms wasn't that bad; very clean. It was located in a great spot. Would definitely stay there again excellent for the price

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

We are walkers so it was located a couple miles from the World Trade Center and only 2 1/2 to 3 miles from Central Park we never took a taxi we walked each day andsaw all of New York

Back to menu Return to top