Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 4, 2014 Check-out: Sep 5, 2014

Hotel 17

2 stars
225 East 17th Street, New York, NY 10003
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.7
out of 5
253 reviews
You got what you paid for

Everything is convenient and the location is perfect. But you have to share bathroom with others. See full review

  • Johnzikka
  • Aug 9, 2014
Great Place

Pretty bare bones but it gets the job done. Felt very safe and was in an amazing area for a great... See full review

  • ferretmann2
  • Jun 20, 2014
Located next to Union Square and a few blocks from the subway station, this charming Manhattan hotel offers full concierge service and free Wi-Fi. Hotel 17 offers individually decorated rooms with cable TV and daily maid service upon request. Shared bathroom, hairdryers, and ironing facilities are available. The front desk is open at all times to help guests with needs or to offer advice on the city. As Manhattans best neighborhood city hotel, Hotel 17s fame also appeared in the 1993 Woody Allen film Manhattan Murder Mystery and was the site for the photo shoots in Madonnas Sex book. Fashion magazines, such as GQ, Elle, & Vogue have also favored our hotel setting for fashion shoots.

Hotel 17 Rooms

Single Shared Bath Room
This room features one single (twin) size bed for one person only. Room amenities include free Wi-Fi, hair-dryer, alarm clock, basic cable TV, radio, telephone, and air conditioning. Daily maid service and iron & ironing board are available upon request.The decor and ambiance of the standard rooms are truly European style where all the rooms are private, but the bathrooms and showers are outside in the hallway.
Double Shared Bath Room
This room features one double (full) size bed for one or two persons only. This room equipped with sink and writing desk & chair. Room amenities include free Wi-Fi, hair-dryer, alarm clock, basic cable TV, radio/alarm clock, telephone, and air conditioning. Daily maid service and iron & ironing board are available upon request. The decor and ambiance of the standard rooms are truly European style where all the rooms are private, but the bathrooms and showers are outside in the hallway.
Triple Shared Bath Room
This room features one double (full) bed and one single (twin) bed for one to three persons only. This room equipped with sink and writing desk & chair. Room amenities include free Wi-Fi, hair-dryer, alarm clock, basic cable TV, radio/alarm clock, telephone, and air conditioning. Daily maid service and iron & ironing board are available upon request. The decor and ambiance of the standard rooms are truly European style where all the rooms are private, but the bathrooms and showers are outside in the hallway.

Amenities

  • Free internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Dining
Room service
Services
In-Room Safe
Internet
Free internet
Accessibility
Service dogs allowed
Service animals allowed

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hotel 17 also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.8 out of 5

Hotel Map

40.7347 -73.9846
Area served
New York City.
Nearby airports
La Guardia Airport, JFK Airport, Newark Airport
Area description
Located in a safe and serene neighborhood called Union Square. The hotel is only 3 blocks walking distance to the trendy, artsy and colorful East Village.

Nearby points of interest

  • Stuyvesant Square: 0.1 mi
  • Grammercy Park: 0.2 mi
  • The Players: 0.2 mi
  • National Arts Club: 0.2 mi
  • Union Square Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Second Avenue Kosher Deli: 0.3 mi
  • Union Square Park: 0.3 mi
  • Strand Book Store: 0.4 mi
  • School of Visual Arts: 0.4 mi
  • Veniero's Pasticceria: 0.4 mi
  • Hamilton Fish House: 0.4 mi
  • Flatiron District: 0.4 mi
  • Theodore Roosevelt Birthplace National Historic Site: 0.4 mi
  • Grace Church: 0.4 mi
  • Asser Levy Playground: 0.4 mi
  • Stuyvesant Square: 0.1 mi
  • Grammercy Park: 0.2 mi
  • The Players: 0.2 mi
  • National Arts Club: 0.2 mi
  • Union Square Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Second Avenue Kosher Deli: 0.3 mi
  • Union Square Park: 0.3 mi
  • Strand Book Store: 0.4 mi
  • School of Visual Arts: 0.4 mi
  • Veniero's Pasticceria: 0.4 mi
  • Hamilton Fish House: 0.4 mi
  • Flatiron District: 0.4 mi
  • Theodore Roosevelt Birthplace National Historic Site: 0.4 mi
  • Grace Church: 0.4 mi
  • Asser Levy Playground: 0.4 mi
  • Forbes Magazine Galleries: 0.5 mi
  • Metropolitan Life Insurance Company Tower: 0.5 mi
  • Mechanics and Traders Bank: 0.5 mi
  • Union Square - the Flatiron District: 0.5 mi
  • Peter Cooper Park: 0.5 mi
  • Flatiron Building: 0.5 mi
  • Joseph Papp Public Theater: 0.5 mi
  • Cooper Union Foundation Building: 0.6 mi
  • Ukrainian Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Colonnade Row: 0.6 mi
  • Chester A. Arthur Home: 0.6 mi
  • Church of the Ascension, Episcopal: 0.6 mi
  • Tompkins Square Park: 0.6 mi
  • Merchant's House Museum: 0.6 mi
  • New York University: 0.6 mi
  • Washington Mews: 0.6 mi
  • Museum For African Art: 0.7 mi
  • Brown Building: 0.7 mi
  • Hughoneill Dry Goods Store: 0.7 mi
  • Alphabet City: 0.7 mi
  • Grey Art Gallery: 0.7 mi
  • Washington Arch: 0.7 mi
  • New York Studio School of Drawing, Painting and Sculpture (building): 0.7 mi
  • Jefferson Market Library: 0.7 mi
  • Village East Cinemas: 0.8 mi
  • Limelight Marketplace: 0.8 mi
  • Century Building: 0.8 mi
  • Gay Street: 0.8 mi
  • Provincetown Playhouse: 0.8 mi
  • Northern Dispensary: 0.9 mi

Dining

No hotel dining.
No hotel dining.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by CheapTickets

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (253)

Ratings and reviews for Hotel 17

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
253 out of 253
Amenities:
2.9
Room cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
3.9
Room comfort:
3.5
Location:
4.4
Value:
4.1

87% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel 17

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Chicago
Jul 4, 2008

Location + Value = Best Kept Secret

I love the Hotel 17. It used to be a flea bag hotel (see Woody Allen's Manhattan Murder Mystery), but it has been lovingly restored into an affordable Euro-style hotel for budget travelers. The location just steps from Union Square and the East Village is phenomenal. Sure, the rooms are impossibly small and you have to share bathrooms, but how much time are you planning on spending in your hotel room anyway? It's New York for Pete's sake!! I really can't recommend this hotel enough although it's not for people who like to stretch out.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Hotel 17

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Ju Ei
USA
Jul 25, 2007

great location

It's very close to the subway station which was nice. The hotel had an overall antique-ish feel to it, which was pretty cool. The room was small, but we were lucky and got the room with the private bathroom, which made up for it. The room was very clean and had pretty much everything you would need at a normal hotel room. I'd stay there again on my next visit to NYC.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

There's the DSW, Filene's Basement, Virgin Records, a movie theater, Forever 21, Max Brenner! (great for breakfast/brunch), Duane Reade, a park, and more near the hotel at a walking distance!

Review of Hotel 17

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Madison, WI
Apr 17, 2008

Good for a couple on a Budget

We had a very pleasant experience at Hotel 17. We read many other reviews of this hotel before we went on our trip so we knew what to expect. The hotel was in a great location and in a quiet neighbohrood. The hotel room itself wasn't luxurious, but it has everything you need for a trip to NYC. We didn't expect to spend much time in the room, so the hotel definitely served a purpose as a place to keep our belongings, bathe, and sleep. The shared bathrooms weren't a problem at all and the staff kept them very clean. Overall, the hotel is a great pick for a couple or a single person on a budget. Its very close to the subway and has everything you need if you're a person on the go and won't be spending a lot of time in the room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Union Square is less than a half mile from the hotel. It's a great place to meet people and relax. The subway is right there with many different trains.

Review of Hotel 17

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Richmond, VA
Apr 21, 2007

Excellent European Style Hotel in NYC

If you can get used to the idea of two shared bathrooms per floor and no business or fitness center, then this place excels in all other areas. No restaurant either. The restaurant shouldn't be an issue as there is excellent dining within walking distance. Just head over to Union Square. This was my second visit and the shared bathrooms were just fine. The hotel was near full, I never had to wait and the guests on my floor were very considerate. I stayed four nights. Great water pressure in the showers too. Plus, you do have a sink in your room. As for business center, expect dial-up internet service. I wish they would offer secure wireless or alternative better access. I found a reasonable i-net cafe within two blocks. And, as for fitness center, expect to pay alot for cabs if you don't want to walk alot. Did much walking and didn't need more of a work-out after each day. Will definitely use this place again. I stayed other places and paid significantly more for less overall comfort.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel 17

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
florida
Jul 23, 2011

Classy abode

Everything was clean comfortable & extremely well priced.Would be nice to have a microwave in room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Many restaurants within a short walk.

Review of Hotel 17

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
San Carlos
Sep 14, 2008

Affordable base for NYC adventures

I found this an excellent value for the money and I'm glad I didn't let the shared bathroom setup scare me away. The bathrooms were perfectly clean and acceptable, as was my room. Sometimes I would hear TV or radio noise in the hallway, but my room was always quiet. A/C worked great. The hotel is in a safe residential neighborhood; I felt fine returning home alone late at night on foot.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

The Whole Foods at Union Square just a few blocks away is open until 11pm. Its takeout bar was a healthy, not-so-expensive option for a relaxed late dinner after a day of exploring. There is a nice dining area upstairs with a view of the square and city lights.

Review of Hotel 17

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Nicholi1
Philadelphia, PA
Jul 15, 2009

Nice Home away from Home

Great Location, and Peaceful Residential Area. Free Street Parking Nearby.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Hotel 17

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
USA
Sep 29, 2008

Great Location

Hoel is euro-style with shared bathrooms that re kept immaculate. Our room had a small noisy air conditioner that had to be kept on all the time so the room was even close to comfortable. Room was tiny - but what do you expect in NYC.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

You can find any kind of food cheap in this neighborhood

Review of Hotel 17

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
USA
Oct 22, 2008

A great buy for NYC

We stayed at the Hotel 17 for the first time recently and were extremely satisfied. The location was good - near Union Square and the subway - the rooms clean, and the staff helpful. We didn't even mind sharing the bath. It reminded us of previous trips to Europe.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

There's a popular city park just a few blocks from the hotel.

Review of Hotel 17

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
USA
Oct 21, 2008

My review of Hotel 17

The hotel was very friendly and answered our questions promptly. The staff was dedicated to us having a good time in NYC and told us about restaurants and attractions in the area, how to get to the subway, how to find a bus stop, etc. I would definetely recommend this hotel to anyone who is looking for a friendly, budget hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Gramacery Cafe was a short walk the food was plentiful and very reasonable.

Back to menu Return to top