Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Feb 25, 2016 Check-out: Feb 28, 2016

Hotel 17

2 stars
View map of 225 East 17th Street, New York, NY 10003

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
35 reviews
Cute Affordable Hotel in East Village

Great value for the money. The rooms are tiny, shared showers in the hall, but hey, for way under... See full review

  • Alex S.
  • Dec 30, 2014
GReat location for the price

It was a great deal. Good price and good location. See full review

  • Isaura B.
  • Aug 14, 2015
Located next to Union Square and a few blocks from the subway station, this charming Manhattan hotel offers full concierge service and free Wi-Fi. Hotel 17 offers individually decorated rooms with cable TV and daily maid service upon request. Shared bathroom, hairdryers, and ironing facilities are available. The front desk is open at all times to help guests with needs or to offer advice on the city.

As Manhattans best neighborhood city hotel, Hotel 17s fame also appeared in the 1993 Woody Allen film Manhattan Murder Mystery and was the site for the photo shoots in Madonnas Sex book. Fashion magazines, such as GQ, Elle, & Vogue have also favored our hotel setting for fashion shoots.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hotel 17 also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Hotel Map

40.7347 -73.9846
Area served
New York City.
Nearby airports
La Guardia Airport, JFK Airport, Newark Airport
Area description
Located in a safe and serene neighborhood called Union Square. The hotel is only 3 blocks walking distance to the trendy, artsy and colorful East Village.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by CheapTickets

Ratings and reviews for Hotel 17

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
35 out of 35
Amenities:
3.1
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.1
Comfort:
3.7
Location:
4.4
Value:
4.3

89% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel 17

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
zhen
Single
Tucson
Sep 3, 2013

lovely and comfortable

i really enjoy the days in NY last weekend. The hotel is very good location. good service and great price!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Single

Review of Hotel 17

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Alex S.
Single
Los Angeles
Dec 30, 2014

Cute Affordable Hotel in East Village

Great value for the money. The rooms are tiny, shared showers in the hall, but hey, for way under $100 you're really near Union Square in a great walking and exploring neighborhood. Staff was kind and helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Single

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Rent one of those bikes and dash through The Big Apple like a bike messenger... A thrill ride!

Review of Hotel 17

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
USA
Aug 10, 2007

Great Place to Stay if you Don't hang in your Room

Hotel 17 was a great place to stay for my family's visit to NYC. We spent very little time in the room because we spent most of our time in Time Square. Although the room was small, it was very clean. The beds were hard, but we were so tired we slept fine. The check-in person, was very nice and helpful. He even had an umbrella that I could borrow for the unexpected rain. The bathroom and shower are located across the hall from the rooms. There was never a wait and the water was hot.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Entertainment tip: Long walk from hotel

There are three very close places to eat and a Starbucks close by.

Review of Hotel 17

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Agnieszka
Family
Chicago, IL
May 27, 2007

Great place!

I loved hotel 17! The best location! Hotel 17 is on nice, back street. Walking distance to subway, nice bars and restaurants! Very clean and friendly. If I ever go to New York, I will stay in Hotel 17 again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There is a very nice rastaurant, just on corner 17 and 3 st. I don't remember the name, but you can't miss it. Sery good food...and drinks!

Review of Hotel 17

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
Rochester, New York
Aug 4, 2010

Great central location and ambiance

Hotel 17 served as a resting point while frequenting major tourist sites. Was able to walk to most major tourist sites. Friendly and helpful staff. Have always stayed at Hotel 17 due to location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

Would not recommend super shuttle. Had several stops to pick up other passengers and delayed arrival time by at least an hour.

Review of Hotel 17

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Lulu Lee
Family
Santa Maria, CA, USA
Dec 31, 2011

Great Hotel

Our hotel stay was great. Good value. Clean. Quaint. The staff was friendly and helpful. I would stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

We had breakfast at the Starburst Cafe about two blocks away. Great food. We would eat there again.

Review of Hotel 17

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
epicard
Friends
Philadelphia, PA, USA
Jan 30, 2012

Good cheap hotel

This hotel is a very good deal for small budgets. Shared bathrooms were very clean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of Hotel 17

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Kraigg
Couples
Turkey
Aug 28, 2012

Good deal

Given th eprice and location, I consider it a good deal, if you don't mind the shared bathroom thing. Overall the bathrooms were clean though, can get a little busy in the morning.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

Comedy Cellar, good laugh, 10 times more entertaining and cheaper than musicals...

Review of Hotel 17

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Chalicity
Single
Indiana
Feb 25, 2013

Convenience and Comfort at a low Cost.

Stayed at Hotel 17 because it was close to my weekend Career Fair at Altman building and had Wifi. Walk-able distance to the Union Square subway station (and many restaurants and taverns) made it very convenient, and the staff was super friendly and helpful (even went out of their way to print something for me before my event). No problem with shared bathrooms, and the rooms were quiet and comfortable. I definitely recommend this!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Single

Review of Hotel 17

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Lynne3
Family
Sydney
Jul 29, 2013

Good location

The location is very handy if you want to walk around in city. Front desk is very helpful. Just trouble with the wifi, does not work properly and request to log in all the time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Family

Back to menu Return to top