Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 20, 2014 Check-out: Apr 21, 2014

Hotel 17

2 stars
225 East 17th Street, New York, NY 10003
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
235 reviews
excellent experience

amazed at the cleaniness of the entire place. location perfect for my needs. staff attentive but... See full review

  • poppa ben
  • Feb 26, 2014
Excellent hotel for the price

It was exactly as it was stated. Usingl the shared bathrooms wasn't that bad; very clean. It was... See full review

  • Csquared1998
  • Dec 11, 2013
Located next to Union Square and a few blocks from the subway station, this charming Manhattan hotel offers full concierge service and free Wi-Fi. Hotel 17 offers individually decorated rooms with cable TV and daily maid service upon request. Shared bathroom, hairdryers, and ironing facilities are available. The front desk is open at all times to help guests with needs or to offer advice on the city. As Manhattans best neighborhood city hotel, Hotel 17s fame also appeared in the 1993 Woody Allen film Manhattan Murder Mystery and was the site for the photo shoots in Madonnas Sex book. Fashion magazines, such as GQ, Elle, & Vogue have also favored our hotel setting for fashion shoots.

Hotel 17 Rooms

Single Shared Bath Room
This room features one single (twin) size bed for one person only. Room amenities include free Wi-Fi, hair-dryer, alarm clock, basic cable TV, radio, telephone, and air conditioning. Daily maid service and iron & ironing board are available upon request.The decor and ambiance of the standard rooms are truly European style where all the rooms are private, but the bathrooms and showers are outside in the hallway.
Double Shared Bath Room
This room features one double (full) size bed for one or two persons only. This room equipped with sink and writing desk & chair. Room amenities include free Wi-Fi, hair-dryer, alarm clock, basic cable TV, radio/alarm clock, telephone, and air conditioning. Daily maid service and iron & ironing board are available upon request. The decor and ambiance of the standard rooms are truly European style where all the rooms are private, but the bathrooms and showers are outside in the hallway.
Triple Shared Bath Room
This room features one double (full) bed and one single (twin) bed for one to three persons only. This room equipped with sink and writing desk & chair. Room amenities include free Wi-Fi, hair-dryer, alarm clock, basic cable TV, radio/alarm clock, telephone, and air conditioning. Daily maid service and iron & ironing board are available upon request. The decor and ambiance of the standard rooms are truly European style where all the rooms are private, but the bathrooms and showers are outside in the hallway.

Amenities

  • Free internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Dining
Room service
Services
In-Room Safe
Internet
Free internet
Accessibility
Service dogs allowed
Service animals allowed

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hotel 17 also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.8 out of 5

Hotel Map

40.7347 -73.9846
Area served
New York City.
Nearby airports
La Guardia Airport, JFK Airport, Newark Airport
Area description
Located in a safe and serene neighborhood called Union Square. The hotel is only 3 blocks walking distance to the trendy, artsy and colorful East Village.

Nearby points of interest

  • Stuyvesant Square: 0.1 mi
  • Grammercy Park: 0.2 mi
  • The Players: 0.2 mi
  • National Arts Club: 0.2 mi
  • Union Square Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Second Avenue Kosher Deli: 0.3 mi
  • Union Square Park: 0.3 mi
  • Strand Book Store: 0.4 mi
  • School of Visual Arts: 0.4 mi
  • Veniero's Pasticceria: 0.4 mi
  • Hamilton Fish House: 0.4 mi
  • Flatiron District: 0.4 mi
  • Theodore Roosevelt Birthplace National Historic Site: 0.4 mi
  • Grace Church: 0.4 mi
  • Asser Levy Playground: 0.4 mi
  • Stuyvesant Square: 0.1 mi
  • Grammercy Park: 0.2 mi
  • The Players: 0.2 mi
  • National Arts Club: 0.2 mi
  • Union Square Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Second Avenue Kosher Deli: 0.3 mi
  • Union Square Park: 0.3 mi
  • Strand Book Store: 0.4 mi
  • School of Visual Arts: 0.4 mi
  • Veniero's Pasticceria: 0.4 mi
  • Hamilton Fish House: 0.4 mi
  • Flatiron District: 0.4 mi
  • Theodore Roosevelt Birthplace National Historic Site: 0.4 mi
  • Grace Church: 0.4 mi
  • Asser Levy Playground: 0.4 mi
  • Forbes Magazine Galleries: 0.5 mi
  • Metropolitan Life Insurance Company Tower: 0.5 mi
  • Mechanics and Traders Bank: 0.5 mi
  • Union Square - the Flatiron District: 0.5 mi
  • Peter Cooper Park: 0.5 mi
  • Flatiron Building: 0.5 mi
  • Joseph Papp Public Theater: 0.5 mi
  • Cooper Union Foundation Building: 0.6 mi
  • Ukrainian Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Colonnade Row: 0.6 mi
  • Chester A. Arthur Home: 0.6 mi
  • Church of the Ascension, Episcopal: 0.6 mi
  • Tompkins Square Park: 0.6 mi
  • Merchant's House Museum: 0.6 mi
  • New York University: 0.6 mi
  • Washington Mews: 0.6 mi
  • Museum For African Art: 0.7 mi
  • Brown Building: 0.7 mi
  • Hughoneill Dry Goods Store: 0.7 mi
  • Alphabet City: 0.7 mi
  • Grey Art Gallery: 0.7 mi
  • Washington Arch: 0.7 mi
  • New York Studio School of Drawing, Painting and Sculpture (building): 0.7 mi
  • Jefferson Market Library: 0.7 mi
  • Village East Cinemas: 0.8 mi
  • Limelight Marketplace: 0.8 mi
  • Century Building: 0.8 mi
  • Gay Street: 0.8 mi
  • Provincetown Playhouse: 0.8 mi
  • Northern Dispensary: 0.9 mi

Dining

No hotel dining.
No hotel dining.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by CheapTickets

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (235)

Ratings and reviews for Hotel 17

Overall score

3.8 / 5
235 out of 235
Amenities:
2.9
Room cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
3.9
Room comfort:
3.6
Location:
4.4
Value:
4.1

87% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel 17

Reviewer score

5
Anonymous
Business
USA
Jun 20, 2007

We were 2 colleagues ...

We were 2 colleagues attending a conference in Brooklyn. The Hotel is located within 5-10 minute walk from subway station. That was the best part. We did not really care about comfort but nevertheless, we felt that the room was kind of cramped (with a wash basin inside). There was no outside view. Lighting could have been better. No closet space at all. Just space for 4 hangers by the door. A number of channels on TV could not be tuned. Would recommend to business travelers or single people. But definitely not a suitable place for family stay (at least not the room that we got).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel 17

Reviewer score

5
Anonymous
Wabasha
Jun 12, 2008

super

Every aspect exceeded my expectations. I was fine in my Hotel 17 room. Staff was friendly and helpful. I was close to food and the subway. Room and bathrooms were clean and inviting. My next time in NY will be at Hotel 17.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Enjoy the subway nearby and the food.

Review of Hotel 17

Reviewer score

5
Nicholi1
Philadelphia, PA
Jul 15, 2009

Nice Home away from Home

Great Location, and Peaceful Residential Area. Free Street Parking Nearby.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Hotel 17

Reviewer score

5
Anonymous
Business
Baton Rouge, LA
Feb 18, 2008

Very Cozy with a Historical Feel

I really enjoyed the layout and architectural appeal the hotel had! My room was just the right size for myself. The bed was VERY comfortable and I loved the vanity and personal sink! I would have to say that I was a little disappointed that there were no vending machines or refrigerators for someone staying for a few days.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There was a diner right down the street with great food and almost anything you could want with great prices! Everywhere I went I got plenty of food for the purchase price!

Review of Hotel 17

Reviewer score

5
Anonymous
Business
Hinsdale
Oct 19, 2008

Good Value, Good Location

We initially chose this hotel because it was within walking distance of Union Square. It is about 4 blocks away. We did like the fact that we had street view and our block was very quiet. The rooms were very clean and even though we had to share a bathroom it was clean. The elevator worked well and the reception area was very helpful. The only down size I would say is that it was a few blocks to the nearest subway.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Walk to Union Square to buy fruits and vegetables from local farmers. Also, there are plenty of shops near and around Union Square.

Review of Hotel 17

Reviewer score

5
Anonymous
USA
Aug 7, 2007

Great Value for the money

For the money it was superb. Great neighborhood. Clean rooms. The bathroom sharing, was no problem. The bathrooms were very clean and well stocked. We definitely will be staying there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Union Square a short walk away. Many great restaurants to eat at. We ate at this great little diner that you can see from the hotel.

Review of Hotel 17

Reviewer score

5
Anonymous
USA
Apr 26, 2007

A very nice place

This place is in a good neighborhood, in a calm street. The place is like a hold english house, our room was very confortable. Th e man who where here in our first time was very kind and professional. The check-in time was very easy and fast.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
2
Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

The caf? next street has the best breakfast we had during our tour

Review of Hotel 17

Reviewer score

5
Anonymous
NY
Jul 1, 2010

i like it

free internet

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Hotel 17

Reviewer score

5
Anonymous
Dallas
Jun 21, 2008

Nice, clean, comfortable and affordable

Hotel 17 in New York was very clean, neat, comfortable and affordable. The location was really good. The only complaint would be that the air conditioner did not cool really well. It did work well enough though to keep us fairly comfortable at night which were the only times that we were there and so I never reported it to anyone. The rooms were very small but again, clean and comfortable. I was a little concerned about the bathroom being a shared faciility but it worked out just fine. I would not hesitate to stay there again. For the money it was absolutely excellent and I would recommend it to anyone.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Cafe Grammary a half a block away served breakfast, lunch and dinner. The food and service are very good. There was another restaurant on the corner across from the Grammercy. Also there was a Starbucks a few blocks down on the way to the subway.

Review of Hotel 17

Reviewer score

5
Anonymous
Business
Phoenix, AZ
Apr 7, 2008

Convienient location, clean, reasonable rates

After a number of hotels that were far from satisfactory, I found the Hotel 17 to be quite pleasant. The neighborhood is very pretty, across from two parks, and near a major medical center. There are wonderful restaurants within walking distance, and busses are only one block or so away going in either direction. The hotel is well kept and clean, and the staff generally polite and courteous. The room is nicely organized, with a sink in the room, and two bathrooms in the hallway for each hall section. There is a small, tidy, open closet for clothes and suitcases, a desk, chair, bed, and tv, which worked quite well. The phone worked fine, and had voice mail, which is always a plus. The heater worked so well, that I actually had to open the window a crack, so as not to be too hot. Housekeeping was prompt, and my room was always clean, when I returned. Overall, I'd rate the hotel a solid 8 out of ten, and would recommend it to others. For someone on a moderate budget, this hotel is worth the price, in my opinion.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There is a wonderful vegetarian Asian restaurant just a half block from the hotel. Additionally, there is an excellent Middle Eastern place, just three blocks away. By taking the bus in either direction, many other wonderful eateries are available, several that are open late or 24 hours.

Back to menu Return to top