Hotel 17

2 stars
225 East 17th Street, New York, NY 10003
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
289 reviews
You got what you paid for

Everything is convenient and the location is perfect. But you have to share bathroom with others. See full review

  • Johnzikka
  • Aug 9, 2014
Great Place

Pretty bare bones but it gets the job done. Felt very safe and was in an amazing area for a great... See full review

  • ferretmann2
  • Jun 20, 2014
Located next to Union Square and a few blocks from the subway station, this charming Manhattan hotel offers full concierge service and free Wi-Fi. Hotel 17 offers individually decorated rooms with cable TV and daily maid service upon request. Shared bathroom, hairdryers, and ironing facilities are available. The front desk is open at all times to help guests with needs or to offer advice on the city. As Manhattans best neighborhood city hotel, Hotel 17s fame also appeared in the 1993 Woody Allen film Manhattan Murder Mystery and was the site for the photo shoots in Madonnas Sex book. Fashion magazines, such as GQ, Elle, & Vogue have also favored our hotel setting for fashion shoots.

Hotel 17 Rooms

Single Shared Bath Room
This room features one single (twin) size bed for one person only. Room amenities include free Wi-Fi, hair-dryer, alarm clock, basic cable TV, radio, telephone, and air conditioning. Daily maid service and iron & ironing board are available upon request.The decor and ambiance of the standard rooms are truly European style where all the rooms are private, but the bathrooms and showers are outside in the hallway.
Double Shared Bath Room
This room features one double (full) size bed for one or two persons only. This room equipped with sink and writing desk & chair. Room amenities include free Wi-Fi, hair-dryer, alarm clock, basic cable TV, radio/alarm clock, telephone, and air conditioning. Daily maid service and iron & ironing board are available upon request. The decor and ambiance of the standard rooms are truly European style where all the rooms are private, but the bathrooms and showers are outside in the hallway.
Triple Shared Bath Room
This room features one double (full) bed and one single (twin) bed for one to three persons only. This room equipped with sink and writing desk & chair. Room amenities include free Wi-Fi, hair-dryer, alarm clock, basic cable TV, radio/alarm clock, telephone, and air conditioning. Daily maid service and iron & ironing board are available upon request. The decor and ambiance of the standard rooms are truly European style where all the rooms are private, but the bathrooms and showers are outside in the hallway.

Amenities

  • Free internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Dining
Room service
Services
In-Room Safe
Internet
Free internet
Accessibility
Service dogs allowed
Service animals allowed

Hotel Map

40.7347 -73.9846
Area served
New York City.
Nearby airports
La Guardia Airport, JFK Airport, Newark Airport
Area description
Located in a safe and serene neighborhood called Union Square. The hotel is only 3 blocks walking distance to the trendy, artsy and colorful East Village.

Nearby points of interest

  • Stuyvesant Square: 0.1 mi
  • Grammercy Park: 0.2 mi
  • The Players: 0.2 mi
  • National Arts Club: 0.2 mi
  • Union Square Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Second Avenue Kosher Deli: 0.3 mi
  • Union Square Park: 0.3 mi
  • Strand Book Store: 0.4 mi
  • School of Visual Arts: 0.4 mi
  • Veniero's Pasticceria: 0.4 mi
  • Hamilton Fish House: 0.4 mi
  • Flatiron District: 0.4 mi
  • Theodore Roosevelt Birthplace National Historic Site: 0.4 mi
  • Grace Church: 0.4 mi
  • Asser Levy Playground: 0.4 mi
  • Stuyvesant Square: 0.1 mi
  • Grammercy Park: 0.2 mi
  • The Players: 0.2 mi
  • National Arts Club: 0.2 mi
  • Union Square Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Second Avenue Kosher Deli: 0.3 mi
  • Union Square Park: 0.3 mi
  • Strand Book Store: 0.4 mi
  • School of Visual Arts: 0.4 mi
  • Veniero's Pasticceria: 0.4 mi
  • Hamilton Fish House: 0.4 mi
  • Flatiron District: 0.4 mi
  • Theodore Roosevelt Birthplace National Historic Site: 0.4 mi
  • Grace Church: 0.4 mi
  • Asser Levy Playground: 0.4 mi
  • Forbes Magazine Galleries: 0.5 mi
  • Metropolitan Life Insurance Company Tower: 0.5 mi
  • Mechanics and Traders Bank: 0.5 mi
  • Union Square - the Flatiron District: 0.5 mi
  • Peter Cooper Park: 0.5 mi
  • Flatiron Building: 0.5 mi
  • Joseph Papp Public Theater: 0.5 mi
  • Cooper Union Foundation Building: 0.6 mi
  • Ukrainian Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Colonnade Row: 0.6 mi
  • Chester A. Arthur Home: 0.6 mi
  • Church of the Ascension, Episcopal: 0.6 mi
  • Tompkins Square Park: 0.6 mi
  • Merchant's House Museum: 0.6 mi
  • New York University: 0.6 mi
  • Washington Mews: 0.6 mi
  • Museum For African Art: 0.7 mi
  • Brown Building: 0.7 mi
  • Hughoneill Dry Goods Store: 0.7 mi
  • Alphabet City: 0.7 mi
  • Grey Art Gallery: 0.7 mi
  • Washington Arch: 0.7 mi
  • New York Studio School of Drawing, Painting and Sculpture (building): 0.7 mi
  • Jefferson Market Library: 0.7 mi
  • Village East Cinemas: 0.8 mi
  • Limelight Marketplace: 0.8 mi
  • Century Building: 0.8 mi
  • Gay Street: 0.8 mi
  • Provincetown Playhouse: 0.8 mi
  • Northern Dispensary: 0.9 mi

Dining

No hotel dining.
No hotel dining.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by CheapTickets

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (289)

Ratings and reviews for Hotel 17

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
289 out of 289
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
3.9
Room comfort:
3.5
Location:
4.4
Value:
4.1

89% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel 17

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
ferretmann2
Los Angeles, Ca
Jun 20, 2014

Great Place

Pretty bare bones but it gets the job done. Felt very safe and was in an amazing area for a great price!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Hotel 17

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Super JE
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Jun 20, 2014

Terrific surprise!

I stayed at the Hotel 17 for 5 nights on business. I worked from the hotel about half of each day and late into the night, so I spent considerable time there. Observations: very quiet, very clean, not once did I have to wait on someone to use the shower and the bathroom was always spotless, the staff was friendly and professional, and the Wi-Fi is horrible (bring your hotspots). This is my new place to stay in the city and I love the east village!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

There's a great Thai restaurant 1.5 blocks away and a same day cleaners 1/2 block from the hotel.

Review of Hotel 17

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
GrandR
Texas
Jun 19, 2014

Tiny, Tiny Bed

For the price, you would think that the bed could comfortable accommodate a 6-foot tall person. So, not only was it too short, it was a single bed. The bed was also situated inches from the window-unit air conditioner. The room was clean. I wouldn't stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Review of Hotel 17

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Brenda the trip planner
Los Angeles
Jun 9, 2014

Our prefect get way!

Hotel was extremely clean. The share bathroom experience was great it seem we were the only ones using the them. Very clean. The value was good. I would definitely stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Hotel 17

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
eastcoast rambler
JAX, FL
May 29, 2014

Short NYC stay on the cheap

Perfect budget stay for a few days layover in NYC. I know the neighborhood from having lived in the East Village years ago. It is safe, lots of pedestrians. No breakfast, but plenty of cheap eateries close by. Easy access to subway at Union Square gets you all over Manhattan and Brooklyn and to airport shuttle at Grand Central. 15 minute walk to west village, Washington Square. Room was small, quiet and clean. Adequate for sleeping and changing, not for hanging out. Free WiFi was usually weak, but would sometimes work fine. Shared bath in hallway was satisfactory. I don't know whether hotel can accommodate families. Most guests appeared to be single or with one companion. Staff interactions are perfunctory, not 'warm and fuzzy' which is fine with me. I'll definitely stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

10 minute walk to MUD - breakfast, brunch coffee shop 307 E 9th, off 2nd Ave. Outstanding and interesting menu choices, funky neighborhood vibe.

Review of Hotel 17

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Parent's
San Francisco, CA
May 25, 2014

Perfect location.

Clean, simple but comfortable room. The perfect place to stay if you just need a safe place to sleep and keep your belongings, as you visit and explore Manhatten. Except for the night concierge, whom we met on arrival at 1:30 am, all the staff were friendly and helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Close to NYU, places to eat, transportation.

Review of Hotel 17

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
AndyTs
San Jose
May 13, 2014

Only one elevator

Only one elevator was a pain, especially since we were on the 7th floor.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Hotel 17

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Unica
Business
Berlin, Germany
Mar 31, 2014

Do not stay there unless...

...you don't mind coming home to a cold shower after a day walking in the freezing city! Not only was the shower cold (and yet, I was repeatedly told that there WAS hot water...), but I was there for work and needed wifi but couldn't connect to it from my room. There's no lobby where you can go and use it. The TV had no channel at all during the 6 days I spent there. I was told it was a temporary problem... The heater was off during the day and the room was freezing until about 9 pm, when it then became like a sauna because you can't regulate the temperature. I knew I was going to have to share the floor bathroom but I expected to have a sink in my room; however, I did not have one. So, yes, it is quite cheap, but not *that* cheap. So, I would recommend staying somewhere else if you can spend a few more dollars and want a minimum of comfort. Some of the front desk staff were really nice and helpful, though. Also, location is great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel 17

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Macha
Ny
Mar 17, 2014

Hotel 17

Great location, great price, cold shouldered staff

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Hotel 17

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
FunctionalFather.com
Business
Long Island, NY
Mar 7, 2014

Right price, a little chilly

I've stayed here a number of times - it's a great deal, as long as you're ok with share bathrooms. There is very much an old brownstone feel to it, but nothing too outdated. It definitely tries hard, giving good amount of towels, free shampoo and flat screen TV. The window for the room had an air conditioner in still and it was super cold, so the heat was working over time. I would stay here again, just don't think you're getting a fancy hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top