Rate based on Check-in: Mar 29, 2015 Check-out: Mar 30, 2015

Holiday Inn NEW YORK CITY-MIDTOWN-57TH ST.

3 stars
View map of 440 West 57th Street, New York, NY 10019

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.7
out of 5
711 reviews
Great girls trip!

Staff was attentive and helpful! Great location in midtown so you are right in the middle of all... See full review

  • shannon c.
  • Mar 9, 2015
Great hotel

I think this is a great place to stay while in NYC. See full review

  • Mari.A
  • Mar 2, 2015
Founded in 1952, the Holiday Inn chain has earned a reputation for offering family-friendly hotels, and the Holiday Inn New York City-Midtown-57th Street is no exception. Spacious rooms comfortably host parents and kids alike, and casual dining is available at Gotham Cafe. Head up to the roof for a swim in the pool, which faces the iconic architecture of New York, or make use of modern exercise equipment at the fitness center. Chill at the Skylight Lounge to end your New York days on an evening high note.

Key facts
  • 600 guestrooms
  • 4 conference and event spaces
  • 18 floors
  • Outdoor pool
  • Gym/fitness center
  • Gift shop
  • Restaurant: Gotham Cafe
  • Skylight Lounge
  • Wi-Fi
  • Kids Eat Free
  • ATM
Neighborhood
This high-rise, full-service hotel is nestled in a quiet residential area just a short walk away from the 59th Street/Columbus Circle subway station, from which visitors can go practically anywhere in the city. Because it's tucked away, the hotel offers a tranquil location, but guests can still access some of the best attractions in Midtown Manhattan on foot, including Central Park, Lincoln Center, Carnegie Hall, the Empire State Building, Grand Central Station and the Theater District.
Hints and tips
If you are staying in New York on a budget, the Holiday Inn's - kids eat free- policy ensures that you can afford to dine out minus the pricey Big Apple check.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Amenities

  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Ice machine
Activities
Outdoor pool
Tennis
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Room service
Services
Business center
Maid service
Concierge desk
ATM/Cash machine
In-Room Safe
Shops/Commercial services
Tour desk
Porters
FAX
Gift shop
White board
Parking
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Satellite TV
DVD player
Phone with speaker
Desk with lamp
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
In room movies
Temperature control
Ironing board
Bath tub

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Holiday Inn NEW YORK CITY-MIDTOWN-57TH ST. also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5

Hotel Map

40.7687 -73.9875
Nearby airports
Kennedy International Airport, (JFK), 15.00, MI, NW; Newark Liberty International Airport, (EWR), 12.00, MI, E; LaGuardia, (LGA), 8.00, MI, W;
Area description
Downtown, downtown

Nearby points of interest

  • Lincoln Center: 0.2 mi
  • Time Warner Center: 0.2 mi
  • Studio 54: 0.2 mi
  • Columbus Circle mall: 0.3 mi
  • American Musical and Dramatic Academy: 0.3 mi
  • New York Institute of Technology: 0.3 mi
  • Museum of Arts and Design: 0.3 mi
  • Broadway: 0.3 mi
  • Metropolitan Opera: 0.3 mi
  • Dante Park: 0.3 mi
  • DeWitt Clinton Park: 0.4 mi
  • Wollman Memorial Rink: 0.4 mi
  • Vivian Beaumont Theater: 0.4 mi
  • Lincoln Square: 0.4 mi
  • Roseland: 0.4 mi
  • Lincoln Center: 0.2 mi
  • Time Warner Center: 0.2 mi
  • Studio 54: 0.2 mi
  • Columbus Circle mall: 0.3 mi
  • American Musical and Dramatic Academy: 0.3 mi
  • New York Institute of Technology: 0.3 mi
  • Museum of Arts and Design: 0.3 mi
  • Broadway: 0.3 mi
  • Metropolitan Opera: 0.3 mi
  • Dante Park: 0.3 mi
  • DeWitt Clinton Park: 0.4 mi
  • Wollman Memorial Rink: 0.4 mi
  • Vivian Beaumont Theater: 0.4 mi
  • Lincoln Square: 0.4 mi
  • Roseland: 0.4 mi
  • August Wilson Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • The Juilliard School: 0.4 mi
  • School of American Ballet: 0.4 mi
  • Worldwide Plaza: 0.4 mi
  • Neil Simon Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Gershwin Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Rose Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Carnegie Hall: 0.5 mi
  • Circle in the Square Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • CitySpire Center: 0.5 mi
  • Winter Garden Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Municipal Art Society: 0.5 mi
  • 57th Street: 0.5 mi
  • Eugene O'Neill Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Victorian Gardens, Central Park: 0.5 mi
  • Richard Tucker Square: 0.5 mi
  • Ambassador Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Tuscan Square: 0.6 mi
  • Equitable Center: 0.6 mi
  • Samuel J. Friedman Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Walter Kerr Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Longacre Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Marquis Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Al Hirschfeld Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Ethel Barrymore Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Brooks Atkinson Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Madame Tussauds: 0.6 mi
  • New Amsterdam Theater: 0.6 mi
  • Duffy Square: 0.7 mi
  • Sherman Square: 0.7 mi

Dining

Gotham Cafe
American and Continental breakfast available . Italian and American cuisine available for dinner.
Skylight Lounge
Open Noon until Midnight.
Mercury Bar
Swap stories with the locals where the wine and the talk flow until the early morning hours. Hang out and delight in the true flavor of Old Hells Kitchen. Watch in awe as your sports heroes from the world of baseball, basketball, football, hockey and Euro

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for Holiday Inn NEW YORK CITY-MIDTOWN-57TH ST.

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
50 out of 711
Amenities:
3.5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4.2
Value:
4

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Holiday Inn NEW YORK CITY-MIDTOWN-57TH ST.

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
cmcq
Business
N/A
Mar 10, 2015

ok

at $86/night, was good price for location and room

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Holiday Inn NEW YORK CITY-MIDTOWN-57TH ST.

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Monica G.
Business
N/A
Feb 23, 2015

Okay

It was an okay experience. A good price for a hotel in New York at that location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Holiday Inn NEW YORK CITY-MIDTOWN-57TH ST.

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
kaltt
Business
RIYADH
Jan 24, 2015

alone

breakfast not good left is very old staff is ok hotel in general is ok

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Holiday Inn NEW YORK CITY-MIDTOWN-57TH ST.

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Bugman
Business
Edgerton wisconsin
Nov 15, 2014

Great location

The staff was excellent and very helpful . They held my bags early and even after checkout because my flight wasn't till late allowing me to vist more without carrying my bag. I'm a pest control business owner and the room was pest free. Better than my sanfransisco trip.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Close to all

Review of Holiday Inn NEW YORK CITY-MIDTOWN-57TH ST.

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Chicagoloopchic
Business
Chicago
Nov 3, 2014

Great stay! Geat location!

Loved it. The staff was very accomadating when I arrived really early, well before check in & the same when I needed an extended check out time for a late night flight. I've stayed here a few times before & glad I returned. It's walking distance to everything and two blocks from Central Park & Columbus Circle A, C, E trains. The restaurant was convenient and room service was always delivered w/in a half hour! Never had a bad meal. Reasonably priced as well. I can't wait to go back and this continues to be my first "go to" when I head to NYC. My only complaint was the heat was on SUPER HIGH throughout the hotel & it was almost overwhelming at times. The room got hot (even with both windows wide open) by 10am and was hard to even get ready. Must be the time of year, changing from warm to cold temps, however its was def off the charts hot and apparently out of their control. I overheard more than a few guests complaining about it. Otherwise, an excellent stay and trip!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

Take the train or walk!! Save your money on cabs! This is closer than you think to much of the main places to visit. The subway...can't beat it! NY Transit is the best for getting anywhere in a flash.

Review of Holiday Inn NEW YORK CITY-MIDTOWN-57TH ST.

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Gwtraveler
Business
Tampa
Sep 28, 2014

Great Location but that is all

The location is excellent. But from poor lobby staff to a non working toilet to a missing ice machine to slow elevators to dirty staircases this is not a hotel to enjoy. It will suffice for a quick roughing it overnight stay but that's about all it's worth. If a nice hotel is important to your stay near Times Square....keep looking for one.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Go to Caroline's comedy club.

Review of Holiday Inn NEW YORK CITY-MIDTOWN-57TH ST.

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
The Crusader
Business
Ithaca, New York
Jul 26, 2014

Solo travelling

I visit NYC several times a year, frequently for 1-2 days. This hotel has a very good location as is close to everything in Manhattan, but not in the middle of the big "noise". Close to several nice family restaurants and Central Park. Easy check in and out and offers an average, but filling, breakfast buffet. It has 3 elevators, but when there is an avalanche of tourists it may take awhile to squeeze into them to go up or down.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Very close to Central Park!

Review of Holiday Inn NEW YORK CITY-MIDTOWN-57TH ST.

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Jayasten
Business
Atlanta
Jul 21, 2014

1st time in New York

My first time in New York was wonderful. I was a little worried seeing as I booked my hotel just one day before my trip, but the holiday inn definitely impressed me. When I first walked in I actually made a comment to the concierge in regards to how pleasantly surprised I was. I was looking to not spend a ton of money, and I know when you got cheap usually you get what you pay for. This hotel was very nice in a great area, only a block from Central Park. My room although small, was well maintained very clean and I had a great view. The only somewhat bad comment I can make on this hotel review is like I said I had a great view but my balcony door was duct taped shut so I was not able to go outside and enjoy it. All in all it was a great experience, and I'm definitely staying here again when I come back to New York.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The corner is a great burger spot we can customize your hamburgers.

Review of Holiday Inn NEW YORK CITY-MIDTOWN-57TH ST.

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
grad visitor
Business
los angeles, CA
Apr 17, 2014

great for short stay

if you're here for a short stay then they will have all you need. the staff was very helpful in providing transportation information and such. other than that, it was a pretty normal ordinary hotel but the people made the stay enjoyable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Holiday Inn NEW YORK CITY-MIDTOWN-57TH ST.

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Frequent NYC visitor 16
Business
NJ
Mar 27, 2014

Very Large Room

Had room w/ King bed, exceptionally large for NYC. And with sink/vanity outside bath/toilet area would be good for sharing.Location used to be pretty far off beaten path, but with development in area now fine. Few blocks from many subway lines that converge at Columbus circle. Large rooftop swimming pool would be great for families in summer-unusual in NYC. Attentive friendly staff. I was there off-season and got good rate and no crowds, not sure how would be when full and busy. Very large complex with 2 connected bldgs.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Diner at 9th and 57th has great early dinner specials. Small friendly place-excellent value.

Back to menu Return to top