Rate based on Check-in: Sep 28, 2014 Check-out: Sep 29, 2014

Holiday Inn NEW YORK CITY-MIDTOWN-57TH ST.

3 stars
440 West 57th Street, New York, NY 10019
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.6
out of 5
669 reviews
1st time in New York

My first time in New York was wonderful. I was a little worried seeing as I booked my hotel just... See full review

  • Jayasten
  • Jul 21, 2014
Excellent Location

It was our first time in New York City, and we loved it!! the hotel is perfectly located, Central... See full review

  • igforero
  • Jul 15, 2014
Founded in 1952, the Holiday Inn chain has earned a reputation for offering family-friendly hotels, and the Holiday Inn New York City-Midtown-57th Street is no exception. Spacious rooms comfortably host parents and kids alike, and casual dining is available at Gotham Cafe. Head up to the roof for a swim in the pool, which faces the iconic architecture of New York, or make use of modern exercise equipment at the fitness center. Chill at the Skylight Lounge to end your New York days on an evening high note.

Key facts
  • 600 guestrooms
  • 4 conference and event spaces
  • 18 floors
  • Outdoor pool
  • Gym/fitness center
  • Gift shop
  • Restaurant: Gotham Cafe
  • Skylight Lounge
  • Wi-Fi
  • Kids Eat Free
  • ATM
Neighborhood
This high-rise, full-service hotel is nestled in a quiet residential area just a short walk away from the 59th Street/Columbus Circle subway station, from which visitors can go practically anywhere in the city. Because it's tucked away, the hotel offers a tranquil location, but guests can still access some of the best attractions in Midtown Manhattan on foot, including Central Park, Lincoln Center, Carnegie Hall, the Empire State Building, Grand Central Station and the Theater District.
Hints and tips
If you are staying in New York on a budget, the Holiday Inn's - kids eat free- policy ensures that you can afford to dine out minus the pricey Big Apple check.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Amenities

  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Free local telephone calls
Ice machine
Activities
Outdoor pool
Tennis
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Room service
Services
Business center
Maid service
Concierge desk
ATM/Cash machine
In-Room Safe
Shops/Commercial services
Tour desk
Porters
FAX
Gift shop
White board
Parking
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Satellite TV
DVD player
Phone with speaker
Desk with lamp
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
In room movies
Temperature control
Ironing board
Bath tub

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Holiday Inn NEW YORK CITY-MIDTOWN-57TH ST. also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5

Hotel Map

40.7687 -73.9875
Nearby airports
Newark Liberty International Airport, (EWR), 12.00, MI, E; Kennedy International Airport, (JFK), 15.00, MI, NW; LaGuardia, (LGA), 8.00, MI, W;
Area description
Downtown, downtown

Nearby points of interest

  • Lincoln Center: 0.2 mi
  • Time Warner Center: 0.2 mi
  • Studio 54: 0.2 mi
  • Columbus Circle mall: 0.3 mi
  • American Musical and Dramatic Academy: 0.3 mi
  • New York Institute of Technology: 0.3 mi
  • Museum of Arts and Design: 0.3 mi
  • Broadway: 0.3 mi
  • Metropolitan Opera: 0.3 mi
  • Dante Park: 0.3 mi
  • DeWitt Clinton Park: 0.4 mi
  • Wollman Memorial Rink: 0.4 mi
  • Vivian Beaumont Theater: 0.4 mi
  • Lincoln Square: 0.4 mi
  • Roseland: 0.4 mi
  • Lincoln Center: 0.2 mi
  • Time Warner Center: 0.2 mi
  • Studio 54: 0.2 mi
  • Columbus Circle mall: 0.3 mi
  • American Musical and Dramatic Academy: 0.3 mi
  • New York Institute of Technology: 0.3 mi
  • Museum of Arts and Design: 0.3 mi
  • Broadway: 0.3 mi
  • Metropolitan Opera: 0.3 mi
  • Dante Park: 0.3 mi
  • DeWitt Clinton Park: 0.4 mi
  • Wollman Memorial Rink: 0.4 mi
  • Vivian Beaumont Theater: 0.4 mi
  • Lincoln Square: 0.4 mi
  • Roseland: 0.4 mi
  • August Wilson Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • The Juilliard School: 0.4 mi
  • School of American Ballet: 0.4 mi
  • Worldwide Plaza: 0.4 mi
  • Gershwin Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Rose Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Carnegie Hall: 0.5 mi
  • Circle in the Square Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • CitySpire Center: 0.5 mi
  • Winter Garden Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Municipal Art Society: 0.5 mi
  • 57th Street: 0.5 mi
  • Eugene O'Neill Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Victorian Gardens, Central Park: 0.5 mi
  • Richard Tucker Square: 0.5 mi
  • Ambassador Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Tuscan Square: 0.6 mi
  • Equitable Center: 0.6 mi
  • Samuel J. Friedman Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Walter Kerr Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Longacre Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Marquis Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Al Hirschfeld Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Ethel Barrymore Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Brooks Atkinson Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Madame Tussauds: 0.6 mi
  • New Amsterdam Theater: 0.6 mi
  • Duffy Square: 0.7 mi
  • Sherman Square: 0.7 mi
  • Lunt-Fontanne Theatre: 0.7 mi

Dining

Gotham Cafe
American and Continental breakfast available . Italian and American cuisine available for dinner.
Skylight Lounge
Open Noon until Midnight.
Mercury Bar
Swap stories with the locals where the wine and the talk flow until the early morning hours. Hang out and delight in the true flavor of Old Hells Kitchen. Watch in awe as your sports heroes from the world of baseball, basketball, football, hockey and Euro

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (669)

Ratings and reviews for Holiday Inn NEW YORK CITY-MIDTOWN-57TH ST.

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
298 out of 669
Amenities:
3.6
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4.3
Value:
4

86% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Holiday Inn NEW YORK CITY-MIDTOWN-57TH ST.

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Jackie kishia
Ohio
Mar 21, 2012

Poor

The room had no air and in need of updates starting with the beds. Tv is out if date. Was very disappointed. Told my daughter we will never stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
3
Review of Holiday Inn NEW YORK CITY-MIDTOWN-57TH ST.

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Weekend travelers 3
Washington DC
Oct 8, 2012

Customer service and hallways stunk

We had booked a non-smoking room, but the rude staff told us that they had one room left and it was a smoking room, so we could take it or leave. Their service stunk, almost as badly as their hallways.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Review of Holiday Inn NEW YORK CITY-MIDTOWN-57TH ST.

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Orlando, FL
Apr 22, 2009

A horrible start to a great trip ...

This was a last minute get away surprise for my family - they had no idea anything was planned until we arrived at the airport and I told them what was in store. Everyone was obviously very exited. Until ... we arrived at our hotel. The hotel was subpar for a Holiday Inn. The lobby was ok but the rooms are a little run down. On top of that, we were booked in a smoking room from the 1960's(yes it really was so filled with smoke in the hallway we could cut it with a knife) however, our family doesn’t smoke. I didn't ask for a smoking room but for whatever reason the Orbitz rep I placed our order with (by phone) put us in a smoking room. The hotel couldn't do anything to help us as they were totally sold out. I tried calling Orbitz when we got into our room (around mid-night) but they were useless. I spent well over 90 minutes on the phone trying desperately to get moved to another hotel but ultimately failed. I'm so disappointed and unhappy - even weeks later now. Orbitz accounting was supposedly going to call me the Monday after our trip but no one did.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Review of Holiday Inn NEW YORK CITY-MIDTOWN-57TH ST.

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Anaheim, CA
Sep 29, 2010

Disgustingly Disappointing

Under going a major (and much needed) remodel. Wallpaper was peeling in hallway and room exposing mildew. Over charged for no reason and no explanation. Location is not bad, but more out of the way than expected.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Review of Holiday Inn NEW YORK CITY-MIDTOWN-57TH ST.

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Dissatisfied in New York
Iowa
May 21, 2011

Find another hotel

The hotel is old and worn. Everything has dings scratches and has been used well beyond life expectancy. The room is filthy and bathroom tiny. The tub is old and bathroom grout is filthy. I have worked quite a few years in the hotel industry and I am quite surprised that IHG allows this property to keep the Holiday Inn brand name. This place is a disgrace. [...]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Review of Holiday Inn NEW YORK CITY-MIDTOWN-57TH ST.

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Andover, MA
Apr 29, 2010

Hotel room okay, stuff bad

The hotel room was okay. It`s old but still mostly clean. Staff was very rude and unfriendly. Rooms are very noisy due to thin walls. AC was not working. Hotel had no umbrellas available when it was raining cats and dogs.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Review of Holiday Inn NEW YORK CITY-MIDTOWN-57TH ST.

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Charleston, SC
Aug 9, 2010

Holiday Inn-440 W57th st NY a Disaster

This hotel is way over rated and not grandchildren friendly. We had two grandchildren with us on a special trip. The pool was closed first night at 5:30 and the second night at 6pm. We accepted the hotel for swimming upon returning in the evening from visiting NY. This rule does not make sense. They spent a total of under one hour in the pool. Let the pool open til 8-9 pm.Second the black mold on the wall tile grout, in the corner of the bath tub and on the floor at base oftub was not appealing.We also had a telephone issue of not working and it took 3 calls and a personal visit down to the desk to get a new phone. Took over two hours to get a phone exchanged. The staff reaction was disappointing.I have traveled all over the country and this experience was one of the worst. Personally I would not recommend Holiday Inn [...] Our opinion is this hotel should not be used. Holiday Inn is putting no money or very little in this hotel and really needs to do so and not milk the public.For your reference we are not old cranky people seeking anything from you or Holiday Inn. We are the good people who do special trips with our grandchildren and enjoy visiting various places. We have and know what is right and this hotel was not right. We silently just will not use or return and move on.Thank you,arnold blumeyer[@]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Review of Holiday Inn NEW YORK CITY-MIDTOWN-57TH ST.

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
DC
Jul 8, 2011

The Bad and The Ugly

The hotel was ok I guess. I was there one night and I checked out the next morning to go on a cruise. I had left my digital camera in the room and by the time I noticed it was missing I was already sailing at sea. I contacted them as soon as I got back to ask about my camera and no one had seen it. This really made me mad and I will never stay at another Holiday Inn Hotel again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

No helpful hints if they want to stay at this Holiday Inn that's on them. The room looked nothing like the advertised picture.

Review of Holiday Inn NEW YORK CITY-MIDTOWN-57TH ST.

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
chicgourmand
San Antonio
Jul 6, 2013

Worst Hotel Stay of My Life

Checked in to find a maintenance/housekeeping worker in our room. He was unable to provide an explanation for why he was in the room, but said it was ready for us. We noticed a very foul, musty odor with an overlaying chemical smell immediately and saw that the windows were open, the carpet was damp and the t.v. did not work. The hotel was sold out, so our room was changed to the only other room available in the entire hotel with two double beds, which was due to be renovated beginning the next morning, so we were told we would have to move to a new room the second night of our stay. The desk manager was apologetic about the situation and he promised us he would take 50% off our first night’s charge and assured us that we was on duty until 7a.m. and would block a very nice renovated room for us on an upper floor and we should be able to move in first thing in the morning. The second room was definitely due for renovation: There was black mold spotted all over the bathroom ceiling, the toilet didn’t flush easily, the wallpaper was stained and peeling and the carpet had spots. We went out to eat and returned to our new room around 11:00 pm. As soon as we got off the elevator to our floor, we were hit by an extremely strong, pungent, skunky odor that seemed very likely to be marijuana smoke. The smell was so strong that it permeated our bathroom area and the area around the door to our room. My husband called the Front Desk and spoke to the manager who assured him he’d send security up to investigate. The smell didn’t subside for several hours and my daughter and I had difficulty breathing due to our asthma, so we didn’t get much sleep. After a mostly sleepless night, we were awakened around 7:30 a.m. by sounds of banging and sanding from the renovation work happening in other rooms on either side of ours. We tried to ignore the noise and get a little bit more sleep, but at 9:00 a.m., a front desk clerk called our room and said we needed to move out so the renovations could begin in our room. It was fairly intrusive to be woken at 9:00 a.m., especially after such a rough night and awakening earlier from the construction noise. The clerk didn't know anything about what the manager promised the night before and was very unhelpful and told us no rooms were ready yet and that we’d have to get out of the room and leave our luggage with the hotel staff until a room was available in the afternoon. She also said she couldn’t guarantee whether we would get a newly remodeled room – she said the hotel was sold out so we’d have to get whatever was available. After the experience we had the night before, it was only reasonable to expect that we would be taken care of by the staff. We spent the next 2 hours being treated extremely disrespectfully by argumentative hotel staff members, including the general manager, who refused to resolve the situation they created. All we wanted was to move into a clean room before we left for the day so we wouldn't return to a similar situation that night. It was not our fault the hotel was overbooked, and it was absurd how badly we were treated. It got to the point that we ended up booking a room at the Hilton at 1335 Avenue of the Americas, which had a beautiful clean room available immediately and friendly courteous staff to help us during our stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Review of Holiday Inn NEW YORK CITY-MIDTOWN-57TH ST.

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
youknowwhoiam
Great state
May 26, 2009

Front desk receptionist needs training!

I'll start off by saying the hotel location is unbeatable. With that being said however, the staff at the front desk particularly this woman named [...] was horrible. Unfriendly and downright a [*] this eastern european woman with a thick accent and even a thicker skull made people wait in line over 20 minutes just to check out while she was pretending to be busy behind the counter and flirting with some male guests.The rooms especially to the outside (twords the road) are very very noisy, but if you go higher( meaning from the 14th floor up!) the noise tends to fade out. You hear all the NY morning traffic with the lovely cabbies resting on the horn, so i'd strongly advise either a high up top room or a inside the court view one.TV remote did not work, on several rooms apparently as they had ran out of working ones. Bathrooms are really really small.Overall i'd say great location, but i personally would not trade that for a friendly service and working devices, especially since current economic times are making great hotels be very comptetitive with some big chain ones, such as this one.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
1
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Morning star restaurant has some delicious breakfast at a really friendly budget.

Back to menu Return to top