Rate based on Check-in: Apr 27, 2014 Check-out: Apr 28, 2014

Holiday Inn NEW YORK CITY-MIDTOWN-57TH ST.

3 stars
440 WEST 57TH STREET, NEW YORK CITY, NY 10019
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.6
out of 5
645 reviews
Great Weekend Visit

Very friendly staff, bartender was awesome!!! Great location. See full review

  • Jada1226
  • Mar 31, 2014
jollys

Arrived we had a room on the 4th floor on the front we could here the traffic but after a day round... See full review

  • Spalady5
  • Mar 17, 2014
Midtown hotel with family-friendly amenities near Central Park
This Holiday Inn is located in west Midtown and boasts amenities not always found in New York three-star hotels. Guests have access to a concierge service, fitness center and outdoor pool open seasonally. The Kids Eat Free program provides complimentary meals at the on-site Gotham Cafe to kids under 12 years old. The hotel is just blocks from Central Park and Lincoln Center and a short walk to Broadway.

 

Highlights
  • Kids under 12 get free meals at the on-site Gotham Cafe
  • Outdoor pool open in the summer
  • Close to Central Park and Lincoln Center

 

Location

Nearby Time Warner Center boasts a variety of restaurants and shops. Central Park, Lincoln Center and Carnegie Hall are several blocks away. Times Square and the Broadway theaters are also easily accessible.

Rooms

The hotel's 597 rooms include amenities such as coffeemakers, hairdryers, irons and ironing boards and free Wi-Fi. Five suites have kitchenettes and mini refrigerators.

Features

The hotel has an outdoor pool that is open Memorial Day through Labor Day. The fitness center is available free of charge on weekdays 6 a.m. to 10 p.m. and weekends 8 a.m. to 4 p.m.

Dining

On-site Gotham Cafe serves breakfast and lunch. The Skyline Lounge lobby bar is open from noon to midnight. Room service is available. Find upscale dining at Time Warner Center, including Per Se by renowned chef Thomas Keller.

Transportation
  • La Guardia Airport (25 minutes)
  • John F. Kennedy International Airport (30 minutes)
  • Newark International Airport (40 minutes)
  • MTA Subway 1, 2; A, C; B, D lines at 59th St - Columbus Circle (1 minute walking)
Attractions
  • Central Park (0.1 mi/ 0.16 km)
  • Columbus Circle (0.4 mi/ 0.64 km)
  • Lincoln Center (0.4 mi/ 0.64 km)
  • Carnegie Hall (0.4 mi/ 0.64 km)
  • Times Square/ Theater District (.8 mi/ 1.29 km)
Business
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Four meeting rooms
  • Fax and copy machine available 24 hours at the front desk
Policies and fees
Valet parking is charged at $27.00 USD.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Amenities

  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Ice machine
Activities
Outdoor pool
Tennis
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Room service
Services
Business center
Maid service
Concierge desk
ATM/Cash machine
In-Room Safe
Shops/Commercial services
Tour desk
Porters
FAX
Gift shop
White board
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Satellite TV
DVD player
Phone with speaker
Desk with lamp
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
In room movies
Temperature control
Ironing board
Bath tub

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Holiday Inn NEW YORK CITY-MIDTOWN-57TH ST. also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5

Hotel Map

40.7687 -73.9875
Nearby airports
LaGuardia, (LGA), 8.00, MI; Newark Liberty International Airport, (EWR), 12.00, MI, E; Kennedy International Airport, (JFK), 15.00, MI, NW;
Area description
Downtown, downtown

Nearby points of interest

  • Lincoln Center: 0.2 mi
  • Time Warner Center: 0.2 mi
  • Studio 54: 0.2 mi
  • Columbus Circle mall: 0.3 mi
  • American Musical and Dramatic Academy: 0.3 mi
  • New York Institute of Technology: 0.3 mi
  • Museum of Arts and Design: 0.3 mi
  • Broadway: 0.3 mi
  • Metropolitan Opera: 0.3 mi
  • Dante Park: 0.3 mi
  • DeWitt Clinton Park: 0.4 mi
  • Wollman Memorial Rink: 0.4 mi
  • Vivian Beaumont Theater: 0.4 mi
  • Lincoln Square: 0.4 mi
  • Roseland: 0.4 mi
  • Lincoln Center: 0.2 mi
  • Time Warner Center: 0.2 mi
  • Studio 54: 0.2 mi
  • Columbus Circle mall: 0.3 mi
  • American Musical and Dramatic Academy: 0.3 mi
  • New York Institute of Technology: 0.3 mi
  • Museum of Arts and Design: 0.3 mi
  • Broadway: 0.3 mi
  • Metropolitan Opera: 0.3 mi
  • Dante Park: 0.3 mi
  • DeWitt Clinton Park: 0.4 mi
  • Wollman Memorial Rink: 0.4 mi
  • Vivian Beaumont Theater: 0.4 mi
  • Lincoln Square: 0.4 mi
  • Roseland: 0.4 mi
  • August Wilson Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • The Juilliard School: 0.4 mi
  • School of American Ballet: 0.4 mi
  • Worldwide Plaza: 0.4 mi
  • Gershwin Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Rose Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Carnegie Hall: 0.5 mi
  • Circle in the Square Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • CitySpire Center: 0.5 mi
  • Winter Garden Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Municipal Art Society: 0.5 mi
  • 57th Street: 0.5 mi
  • Eugene O'Neill Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Victorian Gardens, Central Park: 0.5 mi
  • Richard Tucker Square: 0.5 mi
  • Ambassador Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Tuscan Square: 0.6 mi
  • Equitable Center: 0.6 mi
  • Samuel J. Friedman Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Walter Kerr Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Longacre Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Marquis Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Al Hirschfeld Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Ethel Barrymore Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Brooks Atkinson Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Madame Tussauds: 0.6 mi
  • New Amsterdam Theater: 0.6 mi
  • Duffy Square: 0.7 mi
  • Sherman Square: 0.7 mi
  • Lunt-Fontanne Theatre: 0.7 mi

Dining

Gotham Cafe
American and Continental breakfast available . Italian and American cuisine available for dinner.
Skylight Lounge
Open Noon until Midnight.
Mercury Bar
Swap stories with the locals where the wine and the talk flow until the early morning hours. Hang out and delight in the true flavor of Old Hells Kitchen. Watch in awe as your sports heroes from the world of baseball, basketball, football, hockey and Euro

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (645)

Ratings and reviews for Holiday Inn NEW YORK CITY-MIDTOWN-57TH ST.

Overall score

3.7 / 5
291 out of 645
Amenities:
3.6
Room cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4.3
Value:
4

85% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Holiday Inn NEW YORK CITY-MIDTOWN-57TH ST.

Reviewer score

1
Dissatisfied in New York
Iowa
May 21, 2011

Find another hotel

The hotel is old and worn. Everything has dings scratches and has been used well beyond life expectancy. The room is filthy and bathroom tiny. The tub is old and bathroom grout is filthy. I have worked quite a few years in the hotel industry and I am quite surprised that IHG allows this property to keep the Holiday Inn brand name. This place is a disgrace. [...]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Review of Holiday Inn NEW YORK CITY-MIDTOWN-57TH ST.

Reviewer score

1
Jackie kishia
Ohio
Mar 21, 2012

Poor

The room had no air and in need of updates starting with the beds. Tv is out if date. Was very disappointed. Told my daughter we will never stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
3
Review of Holiday Inn NEW YORK CITY-MIDTOWN-57TH ST.

Reviewer score

1
Anonymous
Washington, DC
Jul 11, 2011

Hotel stay

Yes my camera was missing and the morning that I checked out they claimed it was not found. Who ever cleaned that room had to see my camera on the desk. What's up Holiday Inn? I will never stay at another one.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
1
Review of Holiday Inn NEW YORK CITY-MIDTOWN-57TH ST.

Reviewer score

1
Weekend travelers 3
Washington DC
Oct 8, 2012

Customer service and hallways stunk

We had booked a non-smoking room, but the rude staff told us that they had one room left and it was a smoking room, so we could take it or leave. Their service stunk, almost as badly as their hallways.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Review of Holiday Inn NEW YORK CITY-MIDTOWN-57TH ST.

Reviewer score

1
Anonymous
Hotel in New York, NY
May 31, 2011

Really Bad

The location was great - other than that, not much nice to say. The first room we were in (8th floor) had a mouse in it. The hotel didn't see any sense of urgency to take care of the problem. They finally sent a maintenance man who came with only a washcloth; he swiped it back and forth twice under the AC unit in the room and said nothing was there. He didn't even come with a flashlight! We were then told there were no rooms available for us to move to (after we insisted on being moved); they 'found' a room with a single queen bed, so my daughter had to sleep on a roll away cot. In that room the AC did not work, there was mold on the ceiling in the bathroom and the toilet took forever to stop flushing. We were moved the next morning to another room w/2 double beds - in that room, the toilet would not flush and there was mold in the grout in the shower. The bathroom ceiling looked like it was going to fall down (from a previous leak). On our last morning, the keys stopped working and they were never replaced. We had to have someone from the desk let us into the room wih a master key.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

A lot of desirable attractions within a short walk; some a little bit longer of a walk.

Review of Holiday Inn NEW YORK CITY-MIDTOWN-57TH ST.

Reviewer score

1
Anonymous
Andover, MA
Apr 29, 2010

Hotel room okay, stuff bad

The hotel room was okay. It`s old but still mostly clean. Staff was very rude and unfriendly. Rooms are very noisy due to thin walls. AC was not working. Hotel had no umbrellas available when it was raining cats and dogs.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Review of Holiday Inn NEW YORK CITY-MIDTOWN-57TH ST.

Reviewer score

1
chicgourmand
San Antonio
Jul 6, 2013

Worst Hotel Stay of My Life

Checked in to find a maintenance/housekeeping worker in our room. He was unable to provide an explanation for why he was in the room, but said it was ready for us. We noticed a very foul, musty odor with an overlaying chemical smell immediately and saw that the windows were open, the carpet was damp and the t.v. did not work. The hotel was sold out, so our room was changed to the only other room available in the entire hotel with two double beds, which was due to be renovated beginning the next morning, so we were told we would have to move to a new room the second night of our stay. The desk manager was apologetic about the situation and he promised us he would take 50% off our first night’s charge and assured us that we was on duty until 7a.m. and would block a very nice renovated room for us on an upper floor and we should be able to move in first thing in the morning. The second room was definitely due for renovation: There was black mold spotted all over the bathroom ceiling, the toilet didn’t flush easily, the wallpaper was stained and peeling and the carpet had spots. We went out to eat and returned to our new room around 11:00 pm. As soon as we got off the elevator to our floor, we were hit by an extremely strong, pungent, skunky odor that seemed very likely to be marijuana smoke. The smell was so strong that it permeated our bathroom area and the area around the door to our room. My husband called the Front Desk and spoke to the manager who assured him he’d send security up to investigate. The smell didn’t subside for several hours and my daughter and I had difficulty breathing due to our asthma, so we didn’t get much sleep. After a mostly sleepless night, we were awakened around 7:30 a.m. by sounds of banging and sanding from the renovation work happening in other rooms on either side of ours. We tried to ignore the noise and get a little bit more sleep, but at 9:00 a.m., a front desk clerk called our room and said we needed to move out so the renovations could begin in our room. It was fairly intrusive to be woken at 9:00 a.m., especially after such a rough night and awakening earlier from the construction noise. The clerk didn't know anything about what the manager promised the night before and was very unhelpful and told us no rooms were ready yet and that we’d have to get out of the room and leave our luggage with the hotel staff until a room was available in the afternoon. She also said she couldn’t guarantee whether we would get a newly remodeled room – she said the hotel was sold out so we’d have to get whatever was available. After the experience we had the night before, it was only reasonable to expect that we would be taken care of by the staff. We spent the next 2 hours being treated extremely disrespectfully by argumentative hotel staff members, including the general manager, who refused to resolve the situation they created. All we wanted was to move into a clean room before we left for the day so we wouldn't return to a similar situation that night. It was not our fault the hotel was overbooked, and it was absurd how badly we were treated. It got to the point that we ended up booking a room at the Hilton at 1335 Avenue of the Americas, which had a beautiful clean room available immediately and friendly courteous staff to help us during our stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Review of Holiday Inn NEW YORK CITY-MIDTOWN-57TH ST.

Reviewer score

1
Anonymous
Orlando, FL
Apr 22, 2009

A horrible start to a great trip ...

This was a last minute get away surprise for my family - they had no idea anything was planned until we arrived at the airport and I told them what was in store. Everyone was obviously very exited. Until ... we arrived at our hotel. The hotel was subpar for a Holiday Inn. The lobby was ok but the rooms are a little run down. On top of that, we were booked in a smoking room from the 1960's(yes it really was so filled with smoke in the hallway we could cut it with a knife) however, our family doesn’t smoke. I didn't ask for a smoking room but for whatever reason the Orbitz rep I placed our order with (by phone) put us in a smoking room. The hotel couldn't do anything to help us as they were totally sold out. I tried calling Orbitz when we got into our room (around mid-night) but they were useless. I spent well over 90 minutes on the phone trying desperately to get moved to another hotel but ultimately failed. I'm so disappointed and unhappy - even weeks later now. Orbitz accounting was supposedly going to call me the Monday after our trip but no one did.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Review of Holiday Inn NEW YORK CITY-MIDTOWN-57TH ST.

Reviewer score

1
Anonymous
DC
Jul 8, 2011

The Bad and The Ugly

The hotel was ok I guess. I was there one night and I checked out the next morning to go on a cruise. I had left my digital camera in the room and by the time I noticed it was missing I was already sailing at sea. I contacted them as soon as I got back to ask about my camera and no one had seen it. This really made me mad and I will never stay at another Holiday Inn Hotel again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

No helpful hints if they want to stay at this Holiday Inn that's on them. The room looked nothing like the advertised picture.

Review of Holiday Inn NEW YORK CITY-MIDTOWN-57TH ST.

Reviewer score

1
youknowwhoiam
Great state
May 26, 2009

Front desk receptionist needs training!

I'll start off by saying the hotel location is unbeatable. With that being said however, the staff at the front desk particularly this woman named [...] was horrible. Unfriendly and downright a [*] this eastern european woman with a thick accent and even a thicker skull made people wait in line over 20 minutes just to check out while she was pretending to be busy behind the counter and flirting with some male guests.The rooms especially to the outside (twords the road) are very very noisy, but if you go higher( meaning from the 14th floor up!) the noise tends to fade out. You hear all the NY morning traffic with the lovely cabbies resting on the horn, so i'd strongly advise either a high up top room or a inside the court view one.TV remote did not work, on several rooms apparently as they had ran out of working ones. Bathrooms are really really small.Overall i'd say great location, but i personally would not trade that for a friendly service and working devices, especially since current economic times are making great hotels be very comptetitive with some big chain ones, such as this one.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
1
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Morning star restaurant has some delicious breakfast at a really friendly budget.

Back to menu Return to top