Rate based on Check-in: Aug 24, 2014 Check-out: Aug 25, 2014

Holiday Inn NEW YORK CITY-MIDTOWN-57TH ST.

3 stars
440 WEST 57TH STREET, NEW YORK CITY, NY 10019
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.6
out of 5
1,019 reviews
1st time in New York

My first time in New York was wonderful. I was a little worried seeing as I booked my hotel just... See full review

  • Jayasten
  • Jul 21, 2014
Excellent Location

It was our first time in New York City, and we loved it!! the hotel is perfectly located, Central... See full review

  • igforero
  • Jul 15, 2014
Founded in 1952, the Holiday Inn chain has earned a reputation for offering family-friendly hotels, and the Holiday Inn New York City-Midtown-57th Street is no exception. Spacious rooms comfortably host parents and kids alike, and casual dining is available at Gotham Cafe. Head up to the roof for a swim in the pool, which faces the iconic architecture of New York, or make use of modern exercise equipment at the fitness center. Chill at the Skylight Lounge to end your New York days on an evening high note.

Key facts
  • 600 guestrooms
  • 4 conference and event spaces
  • 18 floors
  • Outdoor pool
  • Gym/fitness center
  • Gift shop
  • Restaurant: Gotham Cafe
  • Skylight Lounge
  • Wi-Fi
  • Kids Eat Free
  • ATM
Neighborhood
This high-rise, full-service hotel is nestled in a quiet residential area just a short walk away from the 59th Street/Columbus Circle subway station, from which visitors can go practically anywhere in the city. Because it's tucked away, the hotel offers a tranquil location, but guests can still access some of the best attractions in Midtown Manhattan on foot, including Central Park, Lincoln Center, Carnegie Hall, the Empire State Building, Grand Central Station and the Theater District.
Hints and tips
If you are staying in New York on a budget, the Holiday Inn's - kids eat free- policy ensures that you can afford to dine out minus the pricey Big Apple check.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Amenities

  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Ice machine
Activities
Outdoor pool
Tennis
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Room service
Services
Business center
Maid service
Concierge desk
ATM/Cash machine
In-Room Safe
Shops/Commercial services
Tour desk
Porters
FAX
Gift shop
White board
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Satellite TV
DVD player
Phone with speaker
Desk with lamp
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
In room movies
Temperature control
Ironing board
Bath tub

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Holiday Inn NEW YORK CITY-MIDTOWN-57TH ST. also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5

Hotel Map

40.7687 -73.9875
Nearby airports
LaGuardia, (LGA), 8.00, MI; Newark Liberty International Airport, (EWR), 12.00, MI, E; Kennedy International Airport, (JFK), 15.00, MI, NW;
Area description
Downtown, downtown

Nearby points of interest

  • Lincoln Center: 0.2 mi
  • Time Warner Center: 0.2 mi
  • Studio 54: 0.2 mi
  • Columbus Circle mall: 0.3 mi
  • American Musical and Dramatic Academy: 0.3 mi
  • New York Institute of Technology: 0.3 mi
  • Museum of Arts and Design: 0.3 mi
  • Broadway: 0.3 mi
  • Metropolitan Opera: 0.3 mi
  • Dante Park: 0.3 mi
  • DeWitt Clinton Park: 0.4 mi
  • Wollman Memorial Rink: 0.4 mi
  • Vivian Beaumont Theater: 0.4 mi
  • Lincoln Square: 0.4 mi
  • Roseland: 0.4 mi
  • Lincoln Center: 0.2 mi
  • Time Warner Center: 0.2 mi
  • Studio 54: 0.2 mi
  • Columbus Circle mall: 0.3 mi
  • American Musical and Dramatic Academy: 0.3 mi
  • New York Institute of Technology: 0.3 mi
  • Museum of Arts and Design: 0.3 mi
  • Broadway: 0.3 mi
  • Metropolitan Opera: 0.3 mi
  • Dante Park: 0.3 mi
  • DeWitt Clinton Park: 0.4 mi
  • Wollman Memorial Rink: 0.4 mi
  • Vivian Beaumont Theater: 0.4 mi
  • Lincoln Square: 0.4 mi
  • Roseland: 0.4 mi
  • August Wilson Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • The Juilliard School: 0.4 mi
  • School of American Ballet: 0.4 mi
  • Worldwide Plaza: 0.4 mi
  • Gershwin Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Rose Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Carnegie Hall: 0.5 mi
  • Circle in the Square Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • CitySpire Center: 0.5 mi
  • Winter Garden Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Municipal Art Society: 0.5 mi
  • 57th Street: 0.5 mi
  • Eugene O'Neill Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Victorian Gardens, Central Park: 0.5 mi
  • Richard Tucker Square: 0.5 mi
  • Ambassador Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Tuscan Square: 0.6 mi
  • Equitable Center: 0.6 mi
  • Samuel J. Friedman Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Walter Kerr Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Longacre Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Marquis Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Al Hirschfeld Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Ethel Barrymore Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Brooks Atkinson Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Madame Tussauds: 0.6 mi
  • New Amsterdam Theater: 0.6 mi
  • Duffy Square: 0.7 mi
  • Sherman Square: 0.7 mi
  • Lunt-Fontanne Theatre: 0.7 mi

Dining

Gotham Cafe
American and Continental breakfast available . Italian and American cuisine available for dinner.
Skylight Lounge
Open Noon until Midnight.
Mercury Bar
Swap stories with the locals where the wine and the talk flow until the early morning hours. Hang out and delight in the true flavor of Old Hells Kitchen. Watch in awe as your sports heroes from the world of baseball, basketball, football, hockey and Euro

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (1019)

Ratings and reviews for Holiday Inn NEW YORK CITY-MIDTOWN-57TH ST.

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
1019 out of 1019
Amenities:
3.6
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4.3
Value:
4

86% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Holiday Inn NEW YORK CITY-MIDTOWN-57TH ST.

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Boston, Mass
Oct 11, 2010

Not worth price paid

Overall, not very pleased with price I had to pay. Most especially because toilet wasn't working properly, and we told housekeeping...upon our return, we were told it was fixed; which was not the case. We had to leave quickly for a show, so I couldn't ask to be moved. We only stayed one night, and had to use toilets off the lobby in the morning. Also, plumbing must be very old, because every time an adjacent or upper room turned on shower or flushed toilet, we could hear it...One positive review is that the beds were clean and comfortable...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
2
Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

Good location to Times Square and broadway theaters...

Review of Holiday Inn NEW YORK CITY-MIDTOWN-57TH ST.

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Dec 13, 2007

Very friendly

Staff was very friendly and helpful. A little away from a subway when it's cold outside.The late check in at 3:00 is extremely hard for afternoon theatre goers. To take your things to hotel then go to theatre from there, etc is hard. So had to keep small luggage with us until after 3:00 what ever happened to noon if you have afternoon theatre tickets. Tell them to add that.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Very close to Lincoln center, Central park , etc.

Review of Holiday Inn NEW YORK CITY-MIDTOWN-57TH ST.

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
TAffy854
Auburn, NY
Feb 21, 2010

Noisy stay

Visiting NYC for two nights to spend time with our son and daughter-in-law. The room was large and well maintained. We were in a corner room so we though it would be nice and quiet. The plumbing was so loud that every time the water in our room and the room next door was used we woke up. The door closures are too strong and make a loud clunk every time some one's door closed. The regulator on the shower was not working correctly and our showers wavered from hot to cold all in the same five minutes. When we told the desk staff what our experience was at checkout and he was not at all interested in any of our complaints. Will not go there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
2
Review of Holiday Inn NEW YORK CITY-MIDTOWN-57TH ST.

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
brooklyn,ny
Aug 15, 2010

weekend stay

we were in and out for other activities. the elevators was not of size. but location was good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Review of Holiday Inn NEW YORK CITY-MIDTOWN-57TH ST.

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Upstate New York
Jul 8, 2009

Convenient and barely adequate

Very convenient location for our stay. However, I travelled with 3 teens and had reserved a room with two beds, and upon check-in all that was available was a king size bed - this despite a confirmation call earlier in the day. Did not honor the breakfast value - offered us breakfast coupons for a free bagel or muffin. Definitely proof that you get what you pay for, and since this was paid, I felt little recourse. We slept and left in the morning, so it served our very basic needs and thats it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Holiday Inn NEW YORK CITY-MIDTOWN-57TH ST.

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Omaha
Nov 16, 2008

Very Slow Service

The location was not bad if you dont want to be in the middle of crazy times square. The rooms are good sized and clean but nothing special as it is just a Holiday Inn. The bell service was decent upon arrival but upon departure, we waited for 30 minutes at which point we had to lug our bags down on our own. We dont mind and usually carry our own luggage; however, at this particular hotel, the elevator is tiny and makes it tough to get all your luggage in one shot. The food was not good at the hotel bar or restaraunt nor was room service. The food arrived cold after a 45 minute wait for room service. On top of everything else, 15% gratuity was added to everything whether you were buying a single beer from the bar or a whole order, no matter how many people were with you. Overall this was a below average stay for us and we have enjoyed staying in the busier areas of nyc alot more in the past.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

It is a less than $7 cab to most areas in times square.

Review of Holiday Inn NEW YORK CITY-MIDTOWN-57TH ST.

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
San Jose, Costa Rica
Jan 1, 2010

average,hotel

I do not come to this hotel again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Review of Holiday Inn NEW YORK CITY-MIDTOWN-57TH ST.

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
quechee
Chevy Chase, maryland
May 19, 2010

Old Warrior

This hotel is terribly overpriced for those not here on tours. It is dull,and worn. The room was large and clean. The bathroom was small. The hotel needs "new paint"..

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There are a number of good Italian restaurants on 9th ave.

Review of Holiday Inn NEW YORK CITY-MIDTOWN-57TH ST.

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Kansas City, MO
Jul 22, 2007

Grandson visit to New York City

This trip was a Special trip for our Grandson who will soon turn 13 years old. The location of the hotel was fine. We were able to walk to most of the activities that we chose to do. Lots of construction on the front, which does not make a Hotel look very appealing. I know that this has to take place in order to look better in the future. The lobby of the Hotel was not appealing at all. We were VERY DISSATTIFIED with the time the pool was open for enjoyment. We were NOT told when we checked in that the pool would close early on Saturday for a SPECIAL POOL PARTY. We chose that particular hotel so our Grandson could swim the one evening we didn't have an activity planned for him. Then when we got back to the Hotel we were told it was closed for a SPECIAL POOL PARTY. Our literature in the room told us it would be open. We complained about it and were told the Manager of the Hotel had the Special Party. We thought that was in bad taste for the customers who chose to stay in that Hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Review of Holiday Inn NEW YORK CITY-MIDTOWN-57TH ST.

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
crowns68
Fayetteville NC
Apr 11, 2010

POOR! DIRTY!!

good location. Not that noisy at night as I thought for NYC. Parking was next door in garage. Cost was not bad to park. $75 for 5 days. Not bad for NYC, just make sure you get ticket stamped from hotel before leaving. That is where the god stops. DIRTY!! Poor quality. Rugs were gross, OLD shower and tub. thin plastic toliet seat. NO a/c when we first arrives and the temps were upper 80's. Was told the ac wasn't turned on until end of April.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Short walk tyo subways. USED a lot. Great point to get around.

Back to menu Return to top