Rate based on Check-in: Jan 25, 2015 Check-out: Jan 28, 2015

Holiday Inn NEW YORK CITY-MIDTOWN-57TH ST.

3 stars
440 West 57th Street, New York, NY 10019
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.6
out of 5
682 reviews
1st time in New York

My first time in New York was wonderful. I was a little worried seeing as I booked my hotel just... See full review

  • Jayasten
  • Jul 21, 2014
Excellent Location

It was our first time in New York City, and we loved it!! the hotel is perfectly located, Central... See full review

  • igforero
  • Jul 15, 2014
Founded in 1952, the Holiday Inn chain has earned a reputation for offering family-friendly hotels, and the Holiday Inn New York City-Midtown-57th Street is no exception. Spacious rooms comfortably host parents and kids alike, and casual dining is available at Gotham Cafe. Head up to the roof for a swim in the pool, which faces the iconic architecture of New York, or make use of modern exercise equipment at the fitness center. Chill at the Skylight Lounge to end your New York days on an evening high note.

Key facts
  • 600 guestrooms
  • 4 conference and event spaces
  • 18 floors
  • Outdoor pool
  • Gym/fitness center
  • Gift shop
  • Restaurant: Gotham Cafe
  • Skylight Lounge
  • Wi-Fi
  • Kids Eat Free
  • ATM
Neighborhood
This high-rise, full-service hotel is nestled in a quiet residential area just a short walk away from the 59th Street/Columbus Circle subway station, from which visitors can go practically anywhere in the city. Because it's tucked away, the hotel offers a tranquil location, but guests can still access some of the best attractions in Midtown Manhattan on foot, including Central Park, Lincoln Center, Carnegie Hall, the Empire State Building, Grand Central Station and the Theater District.
Hints and tips
If you are staying in New York on a budget, the Holiday Inn's - kids eat free- policy ensures that you can afford to dine out minus the pricey Big Apple check.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Amenities

  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Free local telephone calls
Ice machine
Activities
Outdoor pool
Tennis
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Room service
Services
Business center
Maid service
Concierge desk
ATM/Cash machine
In-Room Safe
Shops/Commercial services
Tour desk
Porters
FAX
Gift shop
White board
Parking
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Satellite TV
DVD player
Phone with speaker
Desk with lamp
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
In room movies
Temperature control
Ironing board
Bath tub

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Holiday Inn NEW YORK CITY-MIDTOWN-57TH ST. also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5

Hotel Map

40.7687 -73.9875
Nearby airports
Newark Liberty International Airport, (EWR), 12.00, MI, E; Kennedy International Airport, (JFK), 15.00, MI, NW; LaGuardia, (LGA), 8.00, MI, W;
Area description
Downtown, downtown

Nearby points of interest

  • Lincoln Center: 0.2 mi
  • Time Warner Center: 0.2 mi
  • Studio 54: 0.2 mi
  • Columbus Circle mall: 0.3 mi
  • American Musical and Dramatic Academy: 0.3 mi
  • New York Institute of Technology: 0.3 mi
  • Museum of Arts and Design: 0.3 mi
  • Broadway: 0.3 mi
  • Metropolitan Opera: 0.3 mi
  • Dante Park: 0.3 mi
  • DeWitt Clinton Park: 0.4 mi
  • Wollman Memorial Rink: 0.4 mi
  • Vivian Beaumont Theater: 0.4 mi
  • Lincoln Square: 0.4 mi
  • Roseland: 0.4 mi
  • Lincoln Center: 0.2 mi
  • Time Warner Center: 0.2 mi
  • Studio 54: 0.2 mi
  • Columbus Circle mall: 0.3 mi
  • American Musical and Dramatic Academy: 0.3 mi
  • New York Institute of Technology: 0.3 mi
  • Museum of Arts and Design: 0.3 mi
  • Broadway: 0.3 mi
  • Metropolitan Opera: 0.3 mi
  • Dante Park: 0.3 mi
  • DeWitt Clinton Park: 0.4 mi
  • Wollman Memorial Rink: 0.4 mi
  • Vivian Beaumont Theater: 0.4 mi
  • Lincoln Square: 0.4 mi
  • Roseland: 0.4 mi
  • August Wilson Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • The Juilliard School: 0.4 mi
  • School of American Ballet: 0.4 mi
  • Worldwide Plaza: 0.4 mi
  • Gershwin Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Rose Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Carnegie Hall: 0.5 mi
  • Circle in the Square Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • CitySpire Center: 0.5 mi
  • Winter Garden Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Municipal Art Society: 0.5 mi
  • 57th Street: 0.5 mi
  • Eugene O'Neill Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Victorian Gardens, Central Park: 0.5 mi
  • Richard Tucker Square: 0.5 mi
  • Ambassador Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Tuscan Square: 0.6 mi
  • Equitable Center: 0.6 mi
  • Samuel J. Friedman Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Walter Kerr Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Longacre Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Marquis Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Al Hirschfeld Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Ethel Barrymore Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Brooks Atkinson Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Madame Tussauds: 0.6 mi
  • New Amsterdam Theater: 0.6 mi
  • Duffy Square: 0.7 mi
  • Sherman Square: 0.7 mi
  • Lunt-Fontanne Theatre: 0.7 mi

Dining

Gotham Cafe
American and Continental breakfast available . Italian and American cuisine available for dinner.
Skylight Lounge
Open Noon until Midnight.
Mercury Bar
Swap stories with the locals where the wine and the talk flow until the early morning hours. Hang out and delight in the true flavor of Old Hells Kitchen. Watch in awe as your sports heroes from the world of baseball, basketball, football, hockey and Euro

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (682)

Ratings and reviews for Holiday Inn NEW YORK CITY-MIDTOWN-57TH ST.

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
682 out of 682
Amenities:
3.5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.3
Value:
3.9

87% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Holiday Inn NEW YORK CITY-MIDTOWN-57TH ST.

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
El Paso, TX
Jun 30, 2010

My stay at the Holiday Inn

Everyone at the hotel was very nice and helpful. The bell hops and concierge were extremely helpful. The waiters at the restaurant needed some personality. Maybe that is why there were not many customers dining there. The hallway in which our room was located smelled like there had been a flood. It smelled like mildew and urine. The room was very spacious and clean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Morning Star Diner across the street from the hotel was really good and reasonably priced.

Review of Holiday Inn NEW YORK CITY-MIDTOWN-57TH ST.

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Warren, MI
Jun 27, 2009

Terrible Staff, Great Location

The negatives of this hotel overshadow the positives, so I will start off with the negatives. The bad: First off, floors 3-18 had no water for about 30 hours. This meant that if you went to the restroom before you realized there was no water that there was no way to flush the human waste down the toilet without water pressure. Second issue, guests would discard food trays outside of their rooms in the hallways. These trays would have discarded food on them. The trays would be in the hallways for days at a time. There were two on our floor alone, and one of them we had to walk by every time we went to and from our room. Third issue, after walking by the same discarded tray of rotting food for over 48 hours, the smell started getting to my pregnant wife. So I picked up the tray and took it to the front desk so they could do something with it. I explained to the lady that the tray wasn't mine, and had been sitting in the hall by the elevator for over two days and that the food was starting to rot. Instead of apologizing, the woman at the front desk (where people check in) said, "Why would you bring this to the front desk? What do you want me to do with this? (censored offensive religious reference) What nerve!" Also, when the hotel floors 3-18 lost water, AC, and the ability to evacuate human waste from guest room toilets for about 30 hours most of the staff was rude and deceptive about the reason why and the amount of time to restoration. The staff refused to relocate me and my pregnant wife from the 12th floor to another hotel, and said that I was free to do so at my own expense. However, at the end of the trip they did refund me 50% (of one day) for the 30 hours we were without water, which is a satisfactory solution to me. The hotel also has a noise issue with doors. All of the doors slam so hard that they woke me and my wife up each time someone on our half of the floor entered or exited their room and allowed the door to naturally shut. Pool hours for the hotel were 10am to 6pm. You'd think they would be from maybe noon to midnight. My wife and I weren't able to make use of the pool because of the 6pm closing time. The elevators are slow and crowded as well and sometimes don't always function right. The good: If it wasn't for the horrible handling of the food tray situation and lack of water issue I would have had a very enjoyable stay! The best part of this hotel is the location. There are a LARGE amount of subway lines at the "Columbus Circle" station and you can actually access them from an underground tunnel that's at 57th Street and 8th Avenue (great if it's raining). You can quickly and easily use the subways to go anywhere, including Citi Field, The Bronx Zoo, New Yankee Stadium, Anywhere in Manhattan. Also, you're within short walking distance of Times Square, the Broadway theatres, Restaurant Row, and beautiful Central Park. Although we received generally bad service, there was one very nice young gentleman that manned the front desk at night, he was a gem. The rooms aren't huge, but they aren't small either. The bathrooms are a little small and ours was showing ware, but nothing that was too bad. After all, it's a Holiday Inn, you're not there for a swanky bathroom. The TV's are alright and have lots of local and national channels to keep you entertained. While I had a few negatives listed about the pool above, it actually is a nice facility (just with bad hours). The rooftop pool, located on top the of south tower (perhaps above the 10th or 11th floor) has a great view of Manhattan and New Jersey. The pool facility is well maintained. The room cleaning staff, while they didn't fluently speak English, were very polite and did a great job of cleaning and replenishing the rooms with towels. The lady that took care of the 12th floor noticed we had the "Do Not Disturb" sign because we didn't want room service each day and offered us towels when we came back to our room, whi...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Use the subways and buses! You can get 1 day, 1 week, 14 day, and 30 day unlimited ride cards. You can use these cars on any subway and elevated train line in the MTA system as well as on any local bus. My wife and I ended up spending about $1 per subway ride each, the best money I ever spent!

Review of Holiday Inn NEW YORK CITY-MIDTOWN-57TH ST.

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
brooklyn,ny
Aug 15, 2010

weekend stay

we were in and out for other activities. the elevators was not of size. but location was good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Holiday Inn NEW YORK CITY-MIDTOWN-57TH ST.

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Dec 13, 2007

Very friendly

Staff was very friendly and helpful. A little away from a subway when it's cold outside.The late check in at 3:00 is extremely hard for afternoon theatre goers. To take your things to hotel then go to theatre from there, etc is hard. So had to keep small luggage with us until after 3:00 what ever happened to noon if you have afternoon theatre tickets. Tell them to add that.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Very close to Lincoln center, Central park , etc.

Review of Holiday Inn NEW YORK CITY-MIDTOWN-57TH ST.

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Boston, Mass
Oct 11, 2010

Not worth price paid

Overall, not very pleased with price I had to pay. Most especially because toilet wasn't working properly, and we told housekeeping...upon our return, we were told it was fixed; which was not the case. We had to leave quickly for a show, so I couldn't ask to be moved. We only stayed one night, and had to use toilets off the lobby in the morning. Also, plumbing must be very old, because every time an adjacent or upper room turned on shower or flushed toilet, we could hear it...One positive review is that the beds were clean and comfortable...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

Good location to Times Square and broadway theaters...

Review of Holiday Inn NEW YORK CITY-MIDTOWN-57TH ST.

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Gina B
Business
Spokane, WA
Feb 28, 2011

Started off good, but ended bad

I booked this for my son and a friend. He was excited about the located liked the accomodations; however, he found bed bug in his room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Holiday Inn NEW YORK CITY-MIDTOWN-57TH ST.

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
quechee
Business
Chevy Chase, maryland
May 19, 2010

Old Warrior

This hotel is terribly overpriced for those not here on tours. It is dull,and worn. The room was large and clean. The bathroom was small. The hotel needs "new paint"..

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There are a number of good Italian restaurants on 9th ave.

Review of Holiday Inn NEW YORK CITY-MIDTOWN-57TH ST.

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Upstate New York
Jul 8, 2009

Convenient and barely adequate

Very convenient location for our stay. However, I travelled with 3 teens and had reserved a room with two beds, and upon check-in all that was available was a king size bed - this despite a confirmation call earlier in the day. Did not honor the breakfast value - offered us breakfast coupons for a free bagel or muffin. Definitely proof that you get what you pay for, and since this was paid, I felt little recourse. We slept and left in the morning, so it served our very basic needs and thats it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Holiday Inn NEW YORK CITY-MIDTOWN-57TH ST.

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Minnesota
Nov 11, 2010

Great Location / poor hospitality

Went to New York to celebrate twin daughters 16th Birthday.Hotel was situated reasonably within walking distance from most sites. Clean but still going through refacing. That sounds like that has been going on for years. Subway accessible. Hotel staff not kind, friendly or helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Holiday Inn NEW YORK CITY-MIDTOWN-57TH ST.

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
TAffy854
Business
Auburn, NY
Feb 21, 2010

Noisy stay

Visiting NYC for two nights to spend time with our son and daughter-in-law. The room was large and well maintained. We were in a corner room so we though it would be nice and quiet. The plumbing was so loud that every time the water in our room and the room next door was used we woke up. The door closures are too strong and make a loud clunk every time some one's door closed. The regulator on the shower was not working correctly and our showers wavered from hot to cold all in the same five minutes. When we told the desk staff what our experience was at checkout and he was not at all interested in any of our complaints. Will not go there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top