Rate based on Check-in: May 29, 2015 Check-out: May 30, 2015

Holiday Inn NEW YORK CITY-MIDTOWN-57TH ST.

3 stars
View map of 440 West 57th Street, New York, NY 10019

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Holiday Inn NEW YORK CITY-MIDTOWN-57TH ST.

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
787 out of 787
Amenities:
3.6
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4.3
Value:
4

87% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Holiday Inn NEW YORK CITY-MIDTOWN-57TH ST.

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Dec 13, 2007

Very friendly

Staff was very friendly and helpful. A little away from a subway when it's cold outside.The late check in at 3:00 is extremely hard for afternoon theatre goers. To take your things to hotel then go to theatre from there, etc is hard. So had to keep small luggage with us until after 3:00 what ever happened to noon if you have afternoon theatre tickets. Tell them to add that.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Very close to Lincoln center, Central park , etc.

Review of Holiday Inn NEW YORK CITY-MIDTOWN-57TH ST.

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Boston, Mass
Oct 11, 2010

Not worth price paid

Overall, not very pleased with price I had to pay. Most especially because toilet wasn't working properly, and we told housekeeping...upon our return, we were told it was fixed; which was not the case. We had to leave quickly for a show, so I couldn't ask to be moved. We only stayed one night, and had to use toilets off the lobby in the morning. Also, plumbing must be very old, because every time an adjacent or upper room turned on shower or flushed toilet, we could hear it...One positive review is that the beds were clean and comfortable...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

Good location to Times Square and broadway theaters...

Review of Holiday Inn NEW YORK CITY-MIDTOWN-57TH ST.

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Gina B
Business
Spokane, WA
Feb 28, 2011

Started off good, but ended bad

I booked this for my son and a friend. He was excited about the located liked the accomodations; however, he found bed bug in his room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Holiday Inn NEW YORK CITY-MIDTOWN-57TH ST.

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
quechee
Business
Chevy Chase, maryland
May 19, 2010

Old Warrior

This hotel is terribly overpriced for those not here on tours. It is dull,and worn. The room was large and clean. The bathroom was small. The hotel needs "new paint"..

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There are a number of good Italian restaurants on 9th ave.

Review of Holiday Inn NEW YORK CITY-MIDTOWN-57TH ST.

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Upstate New York
Jul 8, 2009

Convenient and barely adequate

Very convenient location for our stay. However, I travelled with 3 teens and had reserved a room with two beds, and upon check-in all that was available was a king size bed - this despite a confirmation call earlier in the day. Did not honor the breakfast value - offered us breakfast coupons for a free bagel or muffin. Definitely proof that you get what you pay for, and since this was paid, I felt little recourse. We slept and left in the morning, so it served our very basic needs and thats it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Holiday Inn NEW YORK CITY-MIDTOWN-57TH ST.

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Minnesota
Nov 11, 2010

Great Location / poor hospitality

Went to New York to celebrate twin daughters 16th Birthday.Hotel was situated reasonably within walking distance from most sites. Clean but still going through refacing. That sounds like that has been going on for years. Subway accessible. Hotel staff not kind, friendly or helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Holiday Inn NEW YORK CITY-MIDTOWN-57TH ST.

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
TAffy854
Business
Auburn, NY
Feb 21, 2010

Noisy stay

Visiting NYC for two nights to spend time with our son and daughter-in-law. The room was large and well maintained. We were in a corner room so we though it would be nice and quiet. The plumbing was so loud that every time the water in our room and the room next door was used we woke up. The door closures are too strong and make a loud clunk every time some one's door closed. The regulator on the shower was not working correctly and our showers wavered from hot to cold all in the same five minutes. When we told the desk staff what our experience was at checkout and he was not at all interested in any of our complaints. Will not go there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Holiday Inn NEW YORK CITY-MIDTOWN-57TH ST.

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
CT
Jul 6, 2009

Great pool, terrible bathroom

The room at this hotel was large for NYC and the room itself was clean. The bathroom, on the other hand, left a lot to be desired. There was an issue with the wall next to the shower - it must get very wet and it had expanded pulling off the wallpaper as it expanded. The cold water leaked more water than it allowed to come out of the faucet and we had to wrap a towel around the handle. Mildew was present in many cracks in the bathroom as well. The rooftop pool almost made us forget the bathroom issues. It is clean, has nice lounge chairs and we had a great time up there. The location is great and parking convenient. Overall a good place to stay, just the bathroom holds me back from giving it a better rating.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Holiday Inn NEW YORK CITY-MIDTOWN-57TH ST.

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
newn york new york
Apr 22, 2009

unbeatable locastion for the prices

did lot of walking hotel had no ac

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

ruby tuesday was very freindly and great foood

Review of Holiday Inn NEW YORK CITY-MIDTOWN-57TH ST.

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago
Apr 22, 2009

Only if I had to save money.

Convient location but not the kind of spot you want to hang out at. Everything was ala 1960's-- not trendy but old and worn. High 60's outside and high 70's in the room. A/C not on for the season (mid-April). Two night stay and had to change rooms three times -- ask for non-smoker with two beds and got smoker with king. Moved to another room next day -- nothing else available. No sooner than my head kit the pillow in next room next day than they moved me again. Free food coupons to appease me but food was terrible.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Short trip to Central Park and touristy places. Location safe. Don't plan on spending much time in room. Bar was terrible too.

Back to menu Return to top