Rate based on Check-in: Nov 25, 2014 Check-out: Nov 26, 2014

Holiday Inn NEW YORK CITY-MIDTOWN-57TH ST.

3 stars
440 West 57th Street, New York, NY 10019
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.6
out of 5
676 reviews
1st time in New York

My first time in New York was wonderful. I was a little worried seeing as I booked my hotel just... See full review

  • Jayasten
  • Jul 21, 2014
Excellent Location

It was our first time in New York City, and we loved it!! the hotel is perfectly located, Central... See full review

  • igforero
  • Jul 15, 2014
Founded in 1952, the Holiday Inn chain has earned a reputation for offering family-friendly hotels, and the Holiday Inn New York City-Midtown-57th Street is no exception. Spacious rooms comfortably host parents and kids alike, and casual dining is available at Gotham Cafe. Head up to the roof for a swim in the pool, which faces the iconic architecture of New York, or make use of modern exercise equipment at the fitness center. Chill at the Skylight Lounge to end your New York days on an evening high note.

Key facts
  • 600 guestrooms
  • 4 conference and event spaces
  • 18 floors
  • Outdoor pool
  • Gym/fitness center
  • Gift shop
  • Restaurant: Gotham Cafe
  • Skylight Lounge
  • Wi-Fi
  • Kids Eat Free
  • ATM
Neighborhood
This high-rise, full-service hotel is nestled in a quiet residential area just a short walk away from the 59th Street/Columbus Circle subway station, from which visitors can go practically anywhere in the city. Because it's tucked away, the hotel offers a tranquil location, but guests can still access some of the best attractions in Midtown Manhattan on foot, including Central Park, Lincoln Center, Carnegie Hall, the Empire State Building, Grand Central Station and the Theater District.
Hints and tips
If you are staying in New York on a budget, the Holiday Inn's - kids eat free- policy ensures that you can afford to dine out minus the pricey Big Apple check.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Amenities

  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Free local telephone calls
Ice machine
Activities
Outdoor pool
Tennis
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Room service
Services
Business center
Maid service
Concierge desk
ATM/Cash machine
In-Room Safe
Shops/Commercial services
Tour desk
Porters
FAX
Gift shop
White board
Parking
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Satellite TV
DVD player
Phone with speaker
Desk with lamp
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
In room movies
Temperature control
Ironing board
Bath tub

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Holiday Inn NEW YORK CITY-MIDTOWN-57TH ST. also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5

Hotel Map

40.7687 -73.9875
Nearby airports
Newark Liberty International Airport, (EWR), 12.00, MI, E; Kennedy International Airport, (JFK), 15.00, MI, NW; LaGuardia, (LGA), 8.00, MI, W;
Area description
Downtown, downtown

Nearby points of interest

  • Lincoln Center: 0.2 mi
  • Time Warner Center: 0.2 mi
  • Studio 54: 0.2 mi
  • Columbus Circle mall: 0.3 mi
  • American Musical and Dramatic Academy: 0.3 mi
  • New York Institute of Technology: 0.3 mi
  • Museum of Arts and Design: 0.3 mi
  • Broadway: 0.3 mi
  • Metropolitan Opera: 0.3 mi
  • Dante Park: 0.3 mi
  • DeWitt Clinton Park: 0.4 mi
  • Wollman Memorial Rink: 0.4 mi
  • Vivian Beaumont Theater: 0.4 mi
  • Lincoln Square: 0.4 mi
  • Roseland: 0.4 mi
  • Lincoln Center: 0.2 mi
  • Time Warner Center: 0.2 mi
  • Studio 54: 0.2 mi
  • Columbus Circle mall: 0.3 mi
  • American Musical and Dramatic Academy: 0.3 mi
  • New York Institute of Technology: 0.3 mi
  • Museum of Arts and Design: 0.3 mi
  • Broadway: 0.3 mi
  • Metropolitan Opera: 0.3 mi
  • Dante Park: 0.3 mi
  • DeWitt Clinton Park: 0.4 mi
  • Wollman Memorial Rink: 0.4 mi
  • Vivian Beaumont Theater: 0.4 mi
  • Lincoln Square: 0.4 mi
  • Roseland: 0.4 mi
  • August Wilson Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • The Juilliard School: 0.4 mi
  • School of American Ballet: 0.4 mi
  • Worldwide Plaza: 0.4 mi
  • Gershwin Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Rose Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Carnegie Hall: 0.5 mi
  • Circle in the Square Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • CitySpire Center: 0.5 mi
  • Winter Garden Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Municipal Art Society: 0.5 mi
  • 57th Street: 0.5 mi
  • Eugene O'Neill Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Victorian Gardens, Central Park: 0.5 mi
  • Richard Tucker Square: 0.5 mi
  • Ambassador Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Tuscan Square: 0.6 mi
  • Equitable Center: 0.6 mi
  • Samuel J. Friedman Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Walter Kerr Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Longacre Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Marquis Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Al Hirschfeld Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Ethel Barrymore Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Brooks Atkinson Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Madame Tussauds: 0.6 mi
  • New Amsterdam Theater: 0.6 mi
  • Duffy Square: 0.7 mi
  • Sherman Square: 0.7 mi
  • Lunt-Fontanne Theatre: 0.7 mi

Dining

Gotham Cafe
American and Continental breakfast available . Italian and American cuisine available for dinner.
Skylight Lounge
Open Noon until Midnight.
Mercury Bar
Swap stories with the locals where the wine and the talk flow until the early morning hours. Hang out and delight in the true flavor of Old Hells Kitchen. Watch in awe as your sports heroes from the world of baseball, basketball, football, hockey and Euro

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (676)

Ratings and reviews for Holiday Inn NEW YORK CITY-MIDTOWN-57TH ST.

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
676 out of 676
Amenities:
3.5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.3
Value:
3.9

87% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Holiday Inn NEW YORK CITY-MIDTOWN-57TH ST.

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
quechee
Business
Chevy Chase, maryland
May 19, 2010

Old Warrior

This hotel is terribly overpriced for those not here on tours. It is dull,and worn. The room was large and clean. The bathroom was small. The hotel needs "new paint"..

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There are a number of good Italian restaurants on 9th ave.

Review of Holiday Inn NEW YORK CITY-MIDTOWN-57TH ST.

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Upstate New York
Jul 8, 2009

Convenient and barely adequate

Very convenient location for our stay. However, I travelled with 3 teens and had reserved a room with two beds, and upon check-in all that was available was a king size bed - this despite a confirmation call earlier in the day. Did not honor the breakfast value - offered us breakfast coupons for a free bagel or muffin. Definitely proof that you get what you pay for, and since this was paid, I felt little recourse. We slept and left in the morning, so it served our very basic needs and thats it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Holiday Inn NEW YORK CITY-MIDTOWN-57TH ST.

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Minnesota
Nov 11, 2010

Great Location / poor hospitality

Went to New York to celebrate twin daughters 16th Birthday.Hotel was situated reasonably within walking distance from most sites. Clean but still going through refacing. That sounds like that has been going on for years. Subway accessible. Hotel staff not kind, friendly or helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Holiday Inn NEW YORK CITY-MIDTOWN-57TH ST.

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
TAffy854
Business
Auburn, NY
Feb 21, 2010

Noisy stay

Visiting NYC for two nights to spend time with our son and daughter-in-law. The room was large and well maintained. We were in a corner room so we though it would be nice and quiet. The plumbing was so loud that every time the water in our room and the room next door was used we woke up. The door closures are too strong and make a loud clunk every time some one's door closed. The regulator on the shower was not working correctly and our showers wavered from hot to cold all in the same five minutes. When we told the desk staff what our experience was at checkout and he was not at all interested in any of our complaints. Will not go there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Holiday Inn NEW YORK CITY-MIDTOWN-57TH ST.

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
CT
Jul 6, 2009

Great pool, terrible bathroom

The room at this hotel was large for NYC and the room itself was clean. The bathroom, on the other hand, left a lot to be desired. There was an issue with the wall next to the shower - it must get very wet and it had expanded pulling off the wallpaper as it expanded. The cold water leaked more water than it allowed to come out of the faucet and we had to wrap a towel around the handle. Mildew was present in many cracks in the bathroom as well. The rooftop pool almost made us forget the bathroom issues. It is clean, has nice lounge chairs and we had a great time up there. The location is great and parking convenient. Overall a good place to stay, just the bathroom holds me back from giving it a better rating.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Holiday Inn NEW YORK CITY-MIDTOWN-57TH ST.

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
newn york new york
Apr 22, 2009

unbeatable locastion for the prices

did lot of walking hotel had no ac

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

ruby tuesday was very freindly and great foood

Review of Holiday Inn NEW YORK CITY-MIDTOWN-57TH ST.

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago
Apr 22, 2009

Only if I had to save money.

Convient location but not the kind of spot you want to hang out at. Everything was ala 1960's-- not trendy but old and worn. High 60's outside and high 70's in the room. A/C not on for the season (mid-April). Two night stay and had to change rooms three times -- ask for non-smoker with two beds and got smoker with king. Moved to another room next day -- nothing else available. No sooner than my head kit the pillow in next room next day than they moved me again. Free food coupons to appease me but food was terrible.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Short trip to Central Park and touristy places. Location safe. Don't plan on spending much time in room. Bar was terrible too.

Review of Holiday Inn NEW YORK CITY-MIDTOWN-57TH ST.

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Queensland Australia
Mar 26, 2010

Good Location

Good location however staff were not friendly. Would suggest not to utilize the Valet Parking as the attendants put a couple of dents on the car and blamed us. They were also very rude and arrogant. TV would lose channels and reception every 20 seconds however the hotel staff did change us to another room where the TV worked. The sound of flushing toilets could be heard all night. Would not suggest to go to this hotel unless you like bad service or are use to [*]!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

If you are looking at doing the Brooklyn Buss Tour Loop than I would allow more time than is estimated. Estimated time was 1.5 hours and actually took 2.5 hours. However best Pizza I have ever tasted was on this tour!

Review of Holiday Inn NEW YORK CITY-MIDTOWN-57TH ST.

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Albinoboddah
Business
Albuquerque
Jul 27, 2011

Not the best experience

The air conditioner was leaking all over the carpet during a record breaking heat wave and causing a terrible odor in the room. We called the front desk but no one answered so we went to the front desk and explained the problem. No apology or offer to move us, the attendant just said "ok, I'll send nsurance and housekeeping." Maintenance eventually came but housekeeping never did. We had to stay in the smelly room the entire week we were there. A day later, we called housekeeping for more soap and toilet paper, they came hours later with tooth paste and tooth brushes. We didn't get what we asked for until the next day when the housekeeper came in.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Don't eat near broadway or times square. Eating in the little family owned businesses is cheaper, better service and better food.

Review of Holiday Inn NEW YORK CITY-MIDTOWN-57TH ST.

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Kansas City, MO
Jul 22, 2007

Grandson visit to New York City

This trip was a Special trip for our Grandson who will soon turn 13 years old. The location of the hotel was fine. We were able to walk to most of the activities that we chose to do. Lots of construction on the front, which does not make a Hotel look very appealing. I know that this has to take place in order to look better in the future. The lobby of the Hotel was not appealing at all. We were VERY DISSATTIFIED with the time the pool was open for enjoyment. We were NOT told when we checked in that the pool would close early on Saturday for a SPECIAL POOL PARTY. We chose that particular hotel so our Grandson could swim the one evening we didn't have an activity planned for him. Then when we got back to the Hotel we were told it was closed for a SPECIAL POOL PARTY. Our literature in the room told us it would be open. We complained about it and were told the Manager of the Hotel had the Special Party. We thought that was in bad taste for the customers who chose to stay in that Hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top