Rate based on Check-in: Dec 22, 2014 Check-out: Dec 25, 2014

Holiday Inn NEW YORK CITY-MIDTOWN-57TH ST.

3 stars
440 West 57th Street, New York, NY 10019
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.6
out of 5
682 reviews
1st time in New York

My first time in New York was wonderful. I was a little worried seeing as I booked my hotel just... See full review

  • Jayasten
  • Jul 21, 2014
Excellent Location

It was our first time in New York City, and we loved it!! the hotel is perfectly located, Central... See full review

  • igforero
  • Jul 15, 2014
Founded in 1952, the Holiday Inn chain has earned a reputation for offering family-friendly hotels, and the Holiday Inn New York City-Midtown-57th Street is no exception. Spacious rooms comfortably host parents and kids alike, and casual dining is available at Gotham Cafe. Head up to the roof for a swim in the pool, which faces the iconic architecture of New York, or make use of modern exercise equipment at the fitness center. Chill at the Skylight Lounge to end your New York days on an evening high note.

Key facts
  • 600 guestrooms
  • 4 conference and event spaces
  • 18 floors
  • Outdoor pool
  • Gym/fitness center
  • Gift shop
  • Restaurant: Gotham Cafe
  • Skylight Lounge
  • Wi-Fi
  • Kids Eat Free
  • ATM
Neighborhood
This high-rise, full-service hotel is nestled in a quiet residential area just a short walk away from the 59th Street/Columbus Circle subway station, from which visitors can go practically anywhere in the city. Because it's tucked away, the hotel offers a tranquil location, but guests can still access some of the best attractions in Midtown Manhattan on foot, including Central Park, Lincoln Center, Carnegie Hall, the Empire State Building, Grand Central Station and the Theater District.
Hints and tips
If you are staying in New York on a budget, the Holiday Inn's - kids eat free- policy ensures that you can afford to dine out minus the pricey Big Apple check.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Amenities

  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Free local telephone calls
Ice machine
Activities
Outdoor pool
Tennis
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Room service
Services
Business center
Maid service
Concierge desk
ATM/Cash machine
In-Room Safe
Shops/Commercial services
Tour desk
Porters
FAX
Gift shop
White board
Parking
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Satellite TV
DVD player
Phone with speaker
Desk with lamp
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
In room movies
Temperature control
Ironing board
Bath tub

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Holiday Inn NEW YORK CITY-MIDTOWN-57TH ST. also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5

Hotel Map

40.7687 -73.9875
Nearby airports
Newark Liberty International Airport, (EWR), 12.00, MI, E; Kennedy International Airport, (JFK), 15.00, MI, NW; LaGuardia, (LGA), 8.00, MI, W;
Area description
Downtown, downtown

Nearby points of interest

  • Lincoln Center: 0.2 mi
  • Time Warner Center: 0.2 mi
  • Studio 54: 0.2 mi
  • Columbus Circle mall: 0.3 mi
  • American Musical and Dramatic Academy: 0.3 mi
  • New York Institute of Technology: 0.3 mi
  • Museum of Arts and Design: 0.3 mi
  • Broadway: 0.3 mi
  • Metropolitan Opera: 0.3 mi
  • Dante Park: 0.3 mi
  • DeWitt Clinton Park: 0.4 mi
  • Wollman Memorial Rink: 0.4 mi
  • Vivian Beaumont Theater: 0.4 mi
  • Lincoln Square: 0.4 mi
  • Roseland: 0.4 mi
  • Lincoln Center: 0.2 mi
  • Time Warner Center: 0.2 mi
  • Studio 54: 0.2 mi
  • Columbus Circle mall: 0.3 mi
  • American Musical and Dramatic Academy: 0.3 mi
  • New York Institute of Technology: 0.3 mi
  • Museum of Arts and Design: 0.3 mi
  • Broadway: 0.3 mi
  • Metropolitan Opera: 0.3 mi
  • Dante Park: 0.3 mi
  • DeWitt Clinton Park: 0.4 mi
  • Wollman Memorial Rink: 0.4 mi
  • Vivian Beaumont Theater: 0.4 mi
  • Lincoln Square: 0.4 mi
  • Roseland: 0.4 mi
  • August Wilson Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • The Juilliard School: 0.4 mi
  • School of American Ballet: 0.4 mi
  • Worldwide Plaza: 0.4 mi
  • Gershwin Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Rose Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Carnegie Hall: 0.5 mi
  • Circle in the Square Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • CitySpire Center: 0.5 mi
  • Winter Garden Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Municipal Art Society: 0.5 mi
  • 57th Street: 0.5 mi
  • Eugene O'Neill Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Victorian Gardens, Central Park: 0.5 mi
  • Richard Tucker Square: 0.5 mi
  • Ambassador Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Tuscan Square: 0.6 mi
  • Equitable Center: 0.6 mi
  • Samuel J. Friedman Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Walter Kerr Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Longacre Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Marquis Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Al Hirschfeld Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Ethel Barrymore Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Brooks Atkinson Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Madame Tussauds: 0.6 mi
  • New Amsterdam Theater: 0.6 mi
  • Duffy Square: 0.7 mi
  • Sherman Square: 0.7 mi
  • Lunt-Fontanne Theatre: 0.7 mi

Dining

Gotham Cafe
American and Continental breakfast available . Italian and American cuisine available for dinner.
Skylight Lounge
Open Noon until Midnight.
Mercury Bar
Swap stories with the locals where the wine and the talk flow until the early morning hours. Hang out and delight in the true flavor of Old Hells Kitchen. Watch in awe as your sports heroes from the world of baseball, basketball, football, hockey and Euro

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (682)

Ratings and reviews for Holiday Inn NEW YORK CITY-MIDTOWN-57TH ST.

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
682 out of 682
Amenities:
3.5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.3
Value:
3.9

87% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Holiday Inn NEW YORK CITY-MIDTOWN-57TH ST.

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Sep 16, 2008

Very good tourist service

Staff at front desk very friendly, location was ok, very well connected by subway and bus lines. Rooms were clean and with enough space. They helped very much to get tickets for the theater and sports. I recommend this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Long walk from hotel

Times Square, all the theater district and Central Park

Review of Holiday Inn NEW YORK CITY-MIDTOWN-57TH ST.

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Spooner
Dec 26, 2008

good value

We found the Holiday Inn Midtown to be a good value. It was convenient to a couple of different Metro stops, as well as to Central Park. There was a huge Whole Foods grocery in the Times-Warner Center nearby, which allowed our family to have breakfast in our rooms. My only negative comment is that the bathrooms could use a really good scrubbing... the corners were a bit grubby. Not gross, just a bit grimy.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Holiday Inn NEW YORK CITY-MIDTOWN-57TH ST.

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Bexley
Dec 23, 2008

Great Value

Large room and a discounted rate allowed this family of 4 to visit NYC at Christmastime. Within walking distance to theaters and Times Square! Large room allowed for an extra cot. Best value I've found! Definitely will be back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

We walked to FAO Schwartz, Rockefeller Center, Times Square and Theater district. Close to subway access.

Review of Holiday Inn NEW YORK CITY-MIDTOWN-57TH ST.

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Coral Springs
Dec 21, 2008

My review of Holiday Inn NEW YORK CITY-MIDTOWN-57TH ST.

The Mid-town holiday is pretty close to the things that people wanna see,like Rockerfeller Center,Time Square,Shopping,Good Dining.The hotel itself was clean and the staff was very friendly and helpful.The hotels restaurant was very nice and the service was excellent.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

The Hotel is a couple of blocks from Central Park, Columbus Cr,The Plaza,and Trump Towers are not that far away.

Review of Holiday Inn NEW YORK CITY-MIDTOWN-57TH ST.

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Francisco
Jan 1, 2009

A Welcome Home Away from Home

I went to NY with my 16 year old daughter. We. had a very large room, much larger than other hotels we stayed at in NYC, which was very welcome. The only problem was the hallway really stank of smoke, but that was preferable to the room having a bad oder. The staff was always friendly and helpful. We'd definitely stay there again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

There's a terrific breakfast place a half block away on the corner of 57th Street and 9th Avenue.

Review of Holiday Inn NEW YORK CITY-MIDTOWN-57TH ST.

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Dec 9, 2008

Nice front desk service

This hotel was nice, but a little older furnishings. A little too far from the theater dist and shopping area. The front desk service was Tereffic. Our room was ready by the time we go there @ 9:30am and they let us into the room. They also extended our stay until 2:00 without additional charge. Very happy with this feature. Food was so so in the hotel and no one spoke clear english. Over all stay was good, but may go closer to the theater dist another time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Holiday Inn NEW YORK CITY-MIDTOWN-57TH ST.

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Dad of a Columbia University Grad
Business
Billing Missouri
Jun 2, 2009

First class, service and excellence

Service was excellent...Responded to questions authentically. If the person did not have the immediate answer they would find out from the appropriate person not just give you a bogus answer to get rid of you. Room service was impressively on time...that is meal was delivered when promised. Food is also excellent and prepared as requested.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

TAke cabs after 9am in the morning avoid rush hour if possible just walk. Remember you are not obligated to ride in a cab you have hailed...If there is any question about the driver don't get in and if you find the driver unsatisfactory for any reason you have the option of canceling the trip early...pay the fare and then report him by name and number! Some, will cooperate and pick you up on a regular appointment basis...

Review of Holiday Inn NEW YORK CITY-MIDTOWN-57TH ST.

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Christine Beauty Mom !
Business
Houston, TX
Jun 26, 2009

Was Wonderful, the manager is the best !

We are very grateful with the staff for your kindness and hospitality, the manager is the best!!, the location is very good because is close of all interesting places, two blocks to Central Park, four blocks to Times Square, etc. so was fantastic. The non-smoking rooms are the best, clenear,newer, than the smoking rooms, the restaurant is very good too and I enjoyed my stay very much, Thanks a lot !!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Not worry about the safety around is very safe, you can walk to all the places or just take the subway,is half a block away.

Review of Holiday Inn NEW YORK CITY-MIDTOWN-57TH ST.

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Orangeburg, South Carolina
Jun 14, 2010

EXCELLENT STAY

The hotel is located in a quiet residential area with plenty of restaurants within walking distance. Mass transit is very close by, and easily accessible from the hotel. Shopping, museums, and other attractions are

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Avoid the hotel restaurant at all cost! Over-priced, bad food, and extremely poor service.

Review of Holiday Inn NEW YORK CITY-MIDTOWN-57TH ST.

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Memphis, TN
Mar 23, 2010

Unbeatable location for the price

Great location, room size, clean. Only problem was seasonal airconditioning which made the rooms rather warm, however my sister travels with a fan. Next time we book I will make certain to check out the air conditioning....(menopausal women!)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Morning Star Diner, right down the street, great food at reasonable prices. Perfect for breakfast.

Back to menu Return to top