Rate based on Check-in: Apr 27, 2014 Check-out: Apr 28, 2014

Holiday Inn NEW YORK CITY-MIDTOWN-57TH ST.

3 stars
440 WEST 57TH STREET, NEW YORK CITY, NY 10019
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.6
out of 5
645 reviews
Great Weekend Visit

Very friendly staff, bartender was awesome!!! Great location. See full review

  • Jada1226
  • Mar 31, 2014
jollys

Arrived we had a room on the 4th floor on the front we could here the traffic but after a day round... See full review

  • Spalady5
  • Mar 17, 2014
Midtown hotel with family-friendly amenities near Central Park
This Holiday Inn is located in west Midtown and boasts amenities not always found in New York three-star hotels. Guests have access to a concierge service, fitness center and outdoor pool open seasonally. The Kids Eat Free program provides complimentary meals at the on-site Gotham Cafe to kids under 12 years old. The hotel is just blocks from Central Park and Lincoln Center and a short walk to Broadway.

 

Highlights
  • Kids under 12 get free meals at the on-site Gotham Cafe
  • Outdoor pool open in the summer
  • Close to Central Park and Lincoln Center

 

Location

Nearby Time Warner Center boasts a variety of restaurants and shops. Central Park, Lincoln Center and Carnegie Hall are several blocks away. Times Square and the Broadway theaters are also easily accessible.

Rooms

The hotel's 597 rooms include amenities such as coffeemakers, hairdryers, irons and ironing boards and free Wi-Fi. Five suites have kitchenettes and mini refrigerators.

Features

The hotel has an outdoor pool that is open Memorial Day through Labor Day. The fitness center is available free of charge on weekdays 6 a.m. to 10 p.m. and weekends 8 a.m. to 4 p.m.

Dining

On-site Gotham Cafe serves breakfast and lunch. The Skyline Lounge lobby bar is open from noon to midnight. Room service is available. Find upscale dining at Time Warner Center, including Per Se by renowned chef Thomas Keller.

Transportation
  • La Guardia Airport (25 minutes)
  • John F. Kennedy International Airport (30 minutes)
  • Newark International Airport (40 minutes)
  • MTA Subway 1, 2; A, C; B, D lines at 59th St - Columbus Circle (1 minute walking)
Attractions
  • Central Park (0.1 mi/ 0.16 km)
  • Columbus Circle (0.4 mi/ 0.64 km)
  • Lincoln Center (0.4 mi/ 0.64 km)
  • Carnegie Hall (0.4 mi/ 0.64 km)
  • Times Square/ Theater District (.8 mi/ 1.29 km)
Business
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Four meeting rooms
  • Fax and copy machine available 24 hours at the front desk
Policies and fees
Valet parking is charged at $27.00 USD.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Amenities

  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Ice machine
Activities
Outdoor pool
Tennis
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Room service
Services
Business center
Maid service
Concierge desk
ATM/Cash machine
In-Room Safe
Shops/Commercial services
Tour desk
Porters
FAX
Gift shop
White board
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Satellite TV
DVD player
Phone with speaker
Desk with lamp
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
In room movies
Temperature control
Ironing board
Bath tub

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Holiday Inn NEW YORK CITY-MIDTOWN-57TH ST. also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5

Hotel Map

40.7687 -73.9875
Nearby airports
LaGuardia, (LGA), 8.00, MI; Newark Liberty International Airport, (EWR), 12.00, MI, E; Kennedy International Airport, (JFK), 15.00, MI, NW;
Area description
Downtown, downtown

Nearby points of interest

  • Lincoln Center: 0.2 mi
  • Time Warner Center: 0.2 mi
  • Studio 54: 0.2 mi
  • Columbus Circle mall: 0.3 mi
  • American Musical and Dramatic Academy: 0.3 mi
  • New York Institute of Technology: 0.3 mi
  • Museum of Arts and Design: 0.3 mi
  • Broadway: 0.3 mi
  • Metropolitan Opera: 0.3 mi
  • Dante Park: 0.3 mi
  • DeWitt Clinton Park: 0.4 mi
  • Wollman Memorial Rink: 0.4 mi
  • Vivian Beaumont Theater: 0.4 mi
  • Lincoln Square: 0.4 mi
  • Roseland: 0.4 mi
  • Lincoln Center: 0.2 mi
  • Time Warner Center: 0.2 mi
  • Studio 54: 0.2 mi
  • Columbus Circle mall: 0.3 mi
  • American Musical and Dramatic Academy: 0.3 mi
  • New York Institute of Technology: 0.3 mi
  • Museum of Arts and Design: 0.3 mi
  • Broadway: 0.3 mi
  • Metropolitan Opera: 0.3 mi
  • Dante Park: 0.3 mi
  • DeWitt Clinton Park: 0.4 mi
  • Wollman Memorial Rink: 0.4 mi
  • Vivian Beaumont Theater: 0.4 mi
  • Lincoln Square: 0.4 mi
  • Roseland: 0.4 mi
  • August Wilson Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • The Juilliard School: 0.4 mi
  • School of American Ballet: 0.4 mi
  • Worldwide Plaza: 0.4 mi
  • Gershwin Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Rose Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Carnegie Hall: 0.5 mi
  • Circle in the Square Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • CitySpire Center: 0.5 mi
  • Winter Garden Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Municipal Art Society: 0.5 mi
  • 57th Street: 0.5 mi
  • Eugene O'Neill Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Victorian Gardens, Central Park: 0.5 mi
  • Richard Tucker Square: 0.5 mi
  • Ambassador Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Tuscan Square: 0.6 mi
  • Equitable Center: 0.6 mi
  • Samuel J. Friedman Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Walter Kerr Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Longacre Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Marquis Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Al Hirschfeld Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Ethel Barrymore Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Brooks Atkinson Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Madame Tussauds: 0.6 mi
  • New Amsterdam Theater: 0.6 mi
  • Duffy Square: 0.7 mi
  • Sherman Square: 0.7 mi
  • Lunt-Fontanne Theatre: 0.7 mi

Dining

Gotham Cafe
American and Continental breakfast available . Italian and American cuisine available for dinner.
Skylight Lounge
Open Noon until Midnight.
Mercury Bar
Swap stories with the locals where the wine and the talk flow until the early morning hours. Hang out and delight in the true flavor of Old Hells Kitchen. Watch in awe as your sports heroes from the world of baseball, basketball, football, hockey and Euro

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (645)

Ratings and reviews for Holiday Inn NEW YORK CITY-MIDTOWN-57TH ST.

Overall score

3.6 / 5
645 out of 645
Amenities:
3.6
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.3
Value:
4

87% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Holiday Inn NEW YORK CITY-MIDTOWN-57TH ST.

Reviewer score

5
The Bride to be
Washington, DC
Jan 28, 2010

Great!!!!

The view was fantastic! Great clean area outside the hotel - felt safe! The purpose of our trip was to go shopping. We've gone to New York City a couple times but by far this was the best experience! The staff was wonderful, the hotel was great! [...] First time we tried and LOVED it! My picky mother was very impressed and enjoyed her stay!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Patsys!!!Best italain dinning in nyc!

Review of Holiday Inn NEW YORK CITY-MIDTOWN-57TH ST.

Reviewer score

5
Upstate NewYorker
Owego,NY
Oct 18, 2010

Great rate & accommodations

Parking available at hotel, nice accommodations & great price!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Review of Holiday Inn NEW YORK CITY-MIDTOWN-57TH ST.

Reviewer score

5
Double R double L
El Paso, Texas
Jun 22, 2013

Great location!

This hotel looked as though it had been recently renovated; it was clean, modern and spacious. The beds were comfortable and you get a choice of soft or firm pillows. The location was perfect, just a nice walk or a short cab ride to all the important sites yet the hotel was in a quiet residential section of midtown. The staff was friendly, helpful and courteous. I would definitely stay at this hotel again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

When you want a break from Manhattan's high priced restaurants, there are many home-style restaurants within walking distance to the hotel and several will deliver to your room w/o charge.

Review of Holiday Inn NEW YORK CITY-MIDTOWN-57TH ST.

Reviewer score

5
Anonymous
USA
Jun 10, 2007

Great Hotel

We stayed at the Holiday Inn on our first visit to New York City with our family. The staff was so curtesous and helpfull with any of our needs. The pool and video room were a pleasant bonus when we weren't site seeing the kids could just relax. I will definitely be going back to the hotel on our next visit to New York.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

An absolute lovely walk to Rockfeller Center, Central Park and Times Square. The deli around the corner...Fabulous!!!!!

Review of Holiday Inn NEW YORK CITY-MIDTOWN-57TH ST.

Reviewer score

5
Anonymous
USA
Aug 31, 2008

Clean and Friendly

The Holiday Inn Midtown Manhattan 57th street was a very clean and comfortable hotel. Our stay was from Aug.25 for six nights. Check in was only seconds, our room with 2 double beds was large, and clean. Beds were very comfortable, sheets and towels were changed daily. One of the few hotel in Manhattan with a pool, this one oudoor on the 10th floor. The staff were very friendly and helpful. Location is great, steps fron subway, and a 10 minute walk to Broadway,and Central Park.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Times Square, Broaday Theatres, Macy'S,

Review of Holiday Inn NEW YORK CITY-MIDTOWN-57TH ST.

Reviewer score

5
eflynn23
Business
Ohio
Aug 15, 2012

Great!

Loved it! It was great! Would definitely reccommend to a friend!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Holiday Inn NEW YORK CITY-MIDTOWN-57TH ST.

Reviewer score

5
Winnie - the mom
Boston, MA
Aug 12, 2009

This is 5-star hotel at a 2-star price!!

This was a mini weekend "getaway" to celebrate my daughter's sweet 16 Birthday with two of her friends! On my last day there, I woke early and headed up to the hotel's gorgeous roof-top pool to relax a bit & enjoy the friendly staff & atmosphere while my 16 year old daughter & friends were still sleeping(typical!!)My intention was to check-out when they woke up.I suddenly got a bit restless & wanted to do some shopping (being the shopping addict I am), I decided to venture off for an hour to shop while the girls went to on a site seeing tour.I told them to meet me back at the pool, I would check us out and be at the pool when they returned. Not a good idea to leave on my part! Being my 1st time in NYC even though the hotel was located in the heart of everything, I got so lost! NYC is so overwhelming that I got disoriented and lost my sense of direction.Each time I walked to the next block, I mistakenly thought I was close.By the time I realized I had better just get a cab, my brain was literally fried!! And I was just nervous and a mess. When My daughter returned to the hotel and called to tell me her key was would not work. I knew it was deactivated because we were way beyond check-out time. I told her to stay there in lobby and wait for me. I finally found my way back to the hotel and was very shaken up as I had been walking and lost for 3 hours! I explain all this because of the unforgetable and kind way the hotel Manager handled the situation. He told me no worries and had front desk activate my keys so that I could retrieve my belongings and check out of the hotel. he was very understanding and kind and did not charge me for the very late check-out which he clearly could have done. His understanding in which he handled the situation really put me at ease and helped me as he could see I was clearly upset and distraught. I feel he went above and beyond to try to accomodate me when it was my fault for not checking out on time and the policy is clearly written for every hotel guest to abide by.I wish all hotels everywhere were as kind as the Hotel Manager at this Holiday Inn.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Entertainment tip: Not Applicable

A must have is a GPS or some sort of understandable map route in hand and readily available when walking NYC!!!

Review of Holiday Inn NEW YORK CITY-MIDTOWN-57TH ST.

Reviewer score

5
Anonymous
Minneapolis, MN
Jun 20, 2007

Comfortable Place to Crash

This hotel was very comfortable and was a great location for us. We had four people in the room and it worked out fine for space. The bathroom had a separate vanity area, etc. The beds and pillows slept well and the air conditioning worked great. The hotel was very quiet and the price was the best that we could find in NYC. We would stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

If you want a quick meal one night, there's a great old Irish Pub across the stree and down one block.

Review of Holiday Inn NEW YORK CITY-MIDTOWN-57TH ST.

Reviewer score

5
Anonymous
Chicago, IL
Mar 5, 2008

A great value in Midtown

I was upgraded to a room with two single beds, which was by far the largest room I have had in NYC. The hotel staff was friendly, and I checked in and out without a problem. The location was only a block west of the heart of midtown, and I was close to the subway. Since I like to lift weights, I was very pleasantly surprised to learn that a full gym was located in the hotel, and was free to use. The hotel looks a bit dated, and the elevators are frequently packed, but I thouroughly enjoyed my stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Holiday Inn NEW YORK CITY-MIDTOWN-57TH ST.

Reviewer score

5
lejay
tampa bay
Aug 2, 2012

Great stay

The hotel was very nice. Clean and right where we wanted to be (location)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Back to menu Return to top