Rate based on Check-in: Oct 5, 2014 Check-out: Oct 6, 2014

Holiday Inn NEW YORK CITY-MIDTOWN-57TH ST.

3 stars
440 West 57th Street, New York, NY 10019
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.6
out of 5
669 reviews
1st time in New York

My first time in New York was wonderful. I was a little worried seeing as I booked my hotel just... See full review

  • Jayasten
  • Jul 21, 2014
Excellent Location

It was our first time in New York City, and we loved it!! the hotel is perfectly located, Central... See full review

  • igforero
  • Jul 15, 2014
Founded in 1952, the Holiday Inn chain has earned a reputation for offering family-friendly hotels, and the Holiday Inn New York City-Midtown-57th Street is no exception. Spacious rooms comfortably host parents and kids alike, and casual dining is available at Gotham Cafe. Head up to the roof for a swim in the pool, which faces the iconic architecture of New York, or make use of modern exercise equipment at the fitness center. Chill at the Skylight Lounge to end your New York days on an evening high note.

Key facts
  • 600 guestrooms
  • 4 conference and event spaces
  • 18 floors
  • Outdoor pool
  • Gym/fitness center
  • Gift shop
  • Restaurant: Gotham Cafe
  • Skylight Lounge
  • Wi-Fi
  • Kids Eat Free
  • ATM
Neighborhood
This high-rise, full-service hotel is nestled in a quiet residential area just a short walk away from the 59th Street/Columbus Circle subway station, from which visitors can go practically anywhere in the city. Because it's tucked away, the hotel offers a tranquil location, but guests can still access some of the best attractions in Midtown Manhattan on foot, including Central Park, Lincoln Center, Carnegie Hall, the Empire State Building, Grand Central Station and the Theater District.
Hints and tips
If you are staying in New York on a budget, the Holiday Inn's - kids eat free- policy ensures that you can afford to dine out minus the pricey Big Apple check.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Amenities

  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Free local telephone calls
Ice machine
Activities
Outdoor pool
Tennis
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Room service
Services
Business center
Maid service
Concierge desk
ATM/Cash machine
In-Room Safe
Shops/Commercial services
Tour desk
Porters
FAX
Gift shop
White board
Parking
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Satellite TV
DVD player
Phone with speaker
Desk with lamp
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
In room movies
Temperature control
Ironing board
Bath tub

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Holiday Inn NEW YORK CITY-MIDTOWN-57TH ST. also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5

Hotel Map

40.7687 -73.9875
Nearby airports
Newark Liberty International Airport, (EWR), 12.00, MI, E; Kennedy International Airport, (JFK), 15.00, MI, NW; LaGuardia, (LGA), 8.00, MI, W;
Area description
Downtown, downtown

Nearby points of interest

  • Lincoln Center: 0.2 mi
  • Time Warner Center: 0.2 mi
  • Studio 54: 0.2 mi
  • Columbus Circle mall: 0.3 mi
  • American Musical and Dramatic Academy: 0.3 mi
  • New York Institute of Technology: 0.3 mi
  • Museum of Arts and Design: 0.3 mi
  • Broadway: 0.3 mi
  • Metropolitan Opera: 0.3 mi
  • Dante Park: 0.3 mi
  • DeWitt Clinton Park: 0.4 mi
  • Wollman Memorial Rink: 0.4 mi
  • Vivian Beaumont Theater: 0.4 mi
  • Lincoln Square: 0.4 mi
  • Roseland: 0.4 mi
  • Lincoln Center: 0.2 mi
  • Time Warner Center: 0.2 mi
  • Studio 54: 0.2 mi
  • Columbus Circle mall: 0.3 mi
  • American Musical and Dramatic Academy: 0.3 mi
  • New York Institute of Technology: 0.3 mi
  • Museum of Arts and Design: 0.3 mi
  • Broadway: 0.3 mi
  • Metropolitan Opera: 0.3 mi
  • Dante Park: 0.3 mi
  • DeWitt Clinton Park: 0.4 mi
  • Wollman Memorial Rink: 0.4 mi
  • Vivian Beaumont Theater: 0.4 mi
  • Lincoln Square: 0.4 mi
  • Roseland: 0.4 mi
  • August Wilson Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • The Juilliard School: 0.4 mi
  • School of American Ballet: 0.4 mi
  • Worldwide Plaza: 0.4 mi
  • Gershwin Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Rose Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Carnegie Hall: 0.5 mi
  • Circle in the Square Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • CitySpire Center: 0.5 mi
  • Winter Garden Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Municipal Art Society: 0.5 mi
  • 57th Street: 0.5 mi
  • Eugene O'Neill Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Victorian Gardens, Central Park: 0.5 mi
  • Richard Tucker Square: 0.5 mi
  • Ambassador Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Tuscan Square: 0.6 mi
  • Equitable Center: 0.6 mi
  • Samuel J. Friedman Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Walter Kerr Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Longacre Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Marquis Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Al Hirschfeld Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Ethel Barrymore Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Brooks Atkinson Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Madame Tussauds: 0.6 mi
  • New Amsterdam Theater: 0.6 mi
  • Duffy Square: 0.7 mi
  • Sherman Square: 0.7 mi
  • Lunt-Fontanne Theatre: 0.7 mi

Dining

Gotham Cafe
American and Continental breakfast available . Italian and American cuisine available for dinner.
Skylight Lounge
Open Noon until Midnight.
Mercury Bar
Swap stories with the locals where the wine and the talk flow until the early morning hours. Hang out and delight in the true flavor of Old Hells Kitchen. Watch in awe as your sports heroes from the world of baseball, basketball, football, hockey and Euro

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (669)

Ratings and reviews for Holiday Inn NEW YORK CITY-MIDTOWN-57TH ST.

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
669 out of 669
Amenities:
3.6
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.3
Value:
3.9

87% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Holiday Inn NEW YORK CITY-MIDTOWN-57TH ST.

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Washington, DC
Nov 11, 2007

nice place to stay

Finding a hotel in Manhattan can be a challenge, especially if one is trying to be budget-minded, but I found the Holiday Inn Midtown (57th St). The hotel room itself was functional, a little on the smaller side, but one would expect that in Manhattan :) The building is older and one could tell the things in the room were well worn. However, for me it didn't matter so much: as long as things are relatively clean and I have a bed and a shower, it's fine by me. I will say however the staff was very helpful and the service was good. Check-in and check-out was a breeze, the bartenders at the hotel bar were friendly, and room service was timely. The best thing this hotel has going for it is its location. Walkable to a good handful of eateries and restaurants and close to so many of the touristy things people like to do in NYC. If it's wasn't within walking distance, it was a very short cab ride away.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Holiday Inn NEW YORK CITY-MIDTOWN-57TH ST.

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Roscyn/Graduate
Phoenix, AZ
May 21, 2011

Best stay in Hotel!

My family and I were in NYC for my college graduation. We arrived Sunday evening though check-in as 3pm; they have a guaranteed late arrival so our room wasn't given up to others which is always great. :) The room was nicer than expected, clean and spacious enough to fit three people with two beds. They seriously had the best pillow options (soft and firm) and it was like sleeping on clouds. Maids come in every morning to clean up. The towels are reusable so they don't change those everyday like other hotels because they are trying to be energy efficient which is great in my opinion. Our room was on the 10th floor and faced the back of the building so it was really quiet. Location is great because it was close to everything like dining, shopping, Lincoln Center and the 59th Columbus Circle train stop where you can catch the B,D,A,C and 1! On our last day, we asked the Bell-man about getting a taxi to the airport since they don't really have a shuttle service and they asked which airport we were heading to and they provided us with a limo! We were shocked as we were expecting an unmarked black cab or something, so we were ecstatic! :) Overall, I enjoyed my stay and I will return to that hotel the next time I'm in NY. And I will recommend it to anyone who wants a comfortable, affordable place to stay in NYC!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

If you want good food for breakfast, lunch or dinner, try the FLAME diner open 24-hours down 1 block on 9th ave. Turn left when walking away from the hotel towards 9th, it's the last restaurant on the corner of W. 58th St, can't miss it! Best fried chicken ever! As for desert, ask for the 'Africana'- you won't be disappointed with this chocolate concoction.

Review of Holiday Inn NEW YORK CITY-MIDTOWN-57TH ST.

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Johnwuycw
Bethlehem, PA
Mar 13, 2012

Great place to stay in Manhattan

The location of this hotel is convenient, subway is within walking distance. Although the interior of the hotel was a bit old, the service was great with free Wi-Fi access in the room. It is a good choice if you don't want to spend big money in Manhattan.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Holiday Inn NEW YORK CITY-MIDTOWN-57TH ST.

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Denver, CO
Mar 12, 2008

Nice experience

While at the Holiday Inn we found the staff very helpful as we tried to find our way around NYC. The room was very comfortable and it was always clean. The location was good for what we wanted to see and do while there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

D J Reynolds

Review of Holiday Inn NEW YORK CITY-MIDTOWN-57TH ST.

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Winnsboro
Nov 15, 2008

Just Fine

The bad reviews must be from people who spend a lot of time in the room or expect white glove service and affordable prices. The room was very clean, the bed was comfy the hotel staff was friendly, the location was great, and yes the bathroom was smaller but not excessively so. The room was much larger than the last hotel I stayed in in NYC that was more expensive. My only complaint would be that I couldn't get the room cooled off enough - but I was in NYC to enjoy the city - so we were only in the room to change clothes, bathe and sleep! I didn't even bother calling the front desk about it! If you're looking for a well located, decent room and a nice bar/lounge, go here you won't be disappointed. If you're looking for 5 star pampering, go elsewhere! I would definitely stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

There are also attractions within walking distance.

Review of Holiday Inn NEW YORK CITY-MIDTOWN-57TH ST.

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Loretalola
Business
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Nov 14, 2013

great for business trips

great staff, very clean, spacious rooms, very private and great location

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Holiday Inn NEW YORK CITY-MIDTOWN-57TH ST.

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Long Beach CA.
Jan 20, 2011

"Affordable, quiet, clean"

Great place will definitely will stay there again, housekeeping service could have been better but overall it was nice, quiet neighborhood walking distance to times square and central park. Good restaurants and convinient stores very close as well. The kids loved it as well. Very satisfied =)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

BEST HAMBURGERS EVER!! SHAKE SHAKE ITS A MUST HAVE!!

Review of Holiday Inn NEW YORK CITY-MIDTOWN-57TH ST.

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Well Traveled Student
Ithaca, New York
Jun 4, 2012

Concierge made the entire stay!

Great location, right next to H Kitchen. The staff was super friendly and helpful. AMAZING concierge!!! Domingo was soo nice and answered any and all questions, booked car service and event tickets, provided above and beyond customer service with a delightful demeanor!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

H Kitchen has some of the best restaurants in the city. Becco was amazing italian food, but a little pricey. Room Service was great for Thai food.

Review of Holiday Inn NEW YORK CITY-MIDTOWN-57TH ST.

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
mrgiggles
chicago
Mar 2, 2012

great place for the price

didnt have any issues staying here. u do get what you pay for. it is not a fancy hotel just a good place to leave ur bags and enjoy the city.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Holiday Inn NEW YORK CITY-MIDTOWN-57TH ST.

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
sweetea
Wyoming, USA
Apr 2, 2012

Budget choice without a budget feel; highly recommended

Traveling for personal reasons (site-seeing and shopping), my friend and I were delighted with this hotel. The location is just 2 or 3 blocks from 59th St/Columbus subway station, which made it easy to get everywhere in the city. It's also close enough to walk to Times Square if you'd rather. There's plenty of shopping nearby. This is one of the few hotels in Manhattan that offered two double beds for the same price as one bed. The moment my friend and I walked in, the staff and owner of Holiday Inn NEW YORK CITY-MIDTOWN-57TH ST. were offering their assistance. Everyone was attentive, kind, helpful and professional. The rooms were clean and nicely appointed with coffee makers and hairdryers. Been home for a week with NO SIGNS of bedbugs -- the rooms were very clean. I'd been concerned about the city in general in that regard and had no problems. ABSOLUTELY would stay here again or recommend for friends, family or professional travel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Just 2 or 3 blocks from a main subway station; $29 gets you unlimited rides for a week.

Back to menu Return to top