Rate based on Check-in: Apr 27, 2014 Check-out: Apr 28, 2014

Holiday Inn NEW YORK CITY-MIDTOWN-57TH ST.

3 stars
440 WEST 57TH STREET, NEW YORK CITY, NY 10019
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.6
out of 5
644 reviews
Great Weekend Visit

Very friendly staff, bartender was awesome!!! Great location. See full review

  • Jada1226
  • Mar 31, 2014
jollys

Arrived we had a room on the 4th floor on the front we could here the traffic but after a day round... See full review

  • Spalady5
  • Mar 17, 2014
Midtown hotel with family-friendly amenities near Central Park
This Holiday Inn is located in west Midtown and boasts amenities not always found in New York three-star hotels. Guests have access to a concierge service, fitness center and outdoor pool open seasonally. The Kids Eat Free program provides complimentary meals at the on-site Gotham Cafe to kids under 12 years old. The hotel is just blocks from Central Park and Lincoln Center and a short walk to Broadway.

 

Highlights
  • Kids under 12 get free meals at the on-site Gotham Cafe
  • Outdoor pool open in the summer
  • Close to Central Park and Lincoln Center

 

Location

Nearby Time Warner Center boasts a variety of restaurants and shops. Central Park, Lincoln Center and Carnegie Hall are several blocks away. Times Square and the Broadway theaters are also easily accessible.

Rooms

The hotel's 597 rooms include amenities such as coffeemakers, hairdryers, irons and ironing boards and free Wi-Fi. Five suites have kitchenettes and mini refrigerators.

Features

The hotel has an outdoor pool that is open Memorial Day through Labor Day. The fitness center is available free of charge on weekdays 6 a.m. to 10 p.m. and weekends 8 a.m. to 4 p.m.

Dining

On-site Gotham Cafe serves breakfast and lunch. The Skyline Lounge lobby bar is open from noon to midnight. Room service is available. Find upscale dining at Time Warner Center, including Per Se by renowned chef Thomas Keller.

Transportation
  • La Guardia Airport (25 minutes)
  • John F. Kennedy International Airport (30 minutes)
  • Newark International Airport (40 minutes)
  • MTA Subway 1, 2; A, C; B, D lines at 59th St - Columbus Circle (1 minute walking)
Attractions
  • Central Park (0.1 mi/ 0.16 km)
  • Columbus Circle (0.4 mi/ 0.64 km)
  • Lincoln Center (0.4 mi/ 0.64 km)
  • Carnegie Hall (0.4 mi/ 0.64 km)
  • Times Square/ Theater District (.8 mi/ 1.29 km)
Business
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Four meeting rooms
  • Fax and copy machine available 24 hours at the front desk
Policies and fees
Valet parking is charged at $27.00 USD.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Amenities

  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Ice machine
Activities
Outdoor pool
Tennis
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Room service
Services
Business center
Maid service
Concierge desk
ATM/Cash machine
In-Room Safe
Shops/Commercial services
Tour desk
Porters
FAX
Gift shop
White board
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Satellite TV
DVD player
Phone with speaker
Desk with lamp
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
In room movies
Temperature control
Ironing board
Bath tub

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Holiday Inn NEW YORK CITY-MIDTOWN-57TH ST. also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5

Hotel Map

40.7687 -73.9875
Nearby airports
LaGuardia, (LGA), 8.00, MI; Newark Liberty International Airport, (EWR), 12.00, MI, E; Kennedy International Airport, (JFK), 15.00, MI, NW;
Area description
Downtown, downtown

Nearby points of interest

  • Lincoln Center: 0.2 mi
  • Time Warner Center: 0.2 mi
  • Studio 54: 0.2 mi
  • Columbus Circle mall: 0.3 mi
  • American Musical and Dramatic Academy: 0.3 mi
  • New York Institute of Technology: 0.3 mi
  • Museum of Arts and Design: 0.3 mi
  • Broadway: 0.3 mi
  • Metropolitan Opera: 0.3 mi
  • Dante Park: 0.3 mi
  • DeWitt Clinton Park: 0.4 mi
  • Wollman Memorial Rink: 0.4 mi
  • Vivian Beaumont Theater: 0.4 mi
  • Lincoln Square: 0.4 mi
  • Roseland: 0.4 mi
  • Lincoln Center: 0.2 mi
  • Time Warner Center: 0.2 mi
  • Studio 54: 0.2 mi
  • Columbus Circle mall: 0.3 mi
  • American Musical and Dramatic Academy: 0.3 mi
  • New York Institute of Technology: 0.3 mi
  • Museum of Arts and Design: 0.3 mi
  • Broadway: 0.3 mi
  • Metropolitan Opera: 0.3 mi
  • Dante Park: 0.3 mi
  • DeWitt Clinton Park: 0.4 mi
  • Wollman Memorial Rink: 0.4 mi
  • Vivian Beaumont Theater: 0.4 mi
  • Lincoln Square: 0.4 mi
  • Roseland: 0.4 mi
  • August Wilson Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • The Juilliard School: 0.4 mi
  • School of American Ballet: 0.4 mi
  • Worldwide Plaza: 0.4 mi
  • Gershwin Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Rose Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Carnegie Hall: 0.5 mi
  • Circle in the Square Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • CitySpire Center: 0.5 mi
  • Winter Garden Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Municipal Art Society: 0.5 mi
  • 57th Street: 0.5 mi
  • Eugene O'Neill Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Victorian Gardens, Central Park: 0.5 mi
  • Richard Tucker Square: 0.5 mi
  • Ambassador Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Tuscan Square: 0.6 mi
  • Equitable Center: 0.6 mi
  • Samuel J. Friedman Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Walter Kerr Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Longacre Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Marquis Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Al Hirschfeld Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Ethel Barrymore Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Brooks Atkinson Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Madame Tussauds: 0.6 mi
  • New Amsterdam Theater: 0.6 mi
  • Duffy Square: 0.7 mi
  • Sherman Square: 0.7 mi
  • Lunt-Fontanne Theatre: 0.7 mi

Dining

Gotham Cafe
American and Continental breakfast available . Italian and American cuisine available for dinner.
Skylight Lounge
Open Noon until Midnight.
Mercury Bar
Swap stories with the locals where the wine and the talk flow until the early morning hours. Hang out and delight in the true flavor of Old Hells Kitchen. Watch in awe as your sports heroes from the world of baseball, basketball, football, hockey and Euro

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (644)

Ratings and reviews for Holiday Inn NEW YORK CITY-MIDTOWN-57TH ST.

Overall score

3.6 / 5
644 out of 644
Amenities:
3.6
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.3
Value:
3.9

86% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Holiday Inn NEW YORK CITY-MIDTOWN-57TH ST.

Reviewer score

5
All four of us
Sheridan, WY
Mar 27, 2009

A wonderful family vacation

This was our first trip to New York City. We had a wonderful time. The motel has a great location. The bus and subway systems are easy to figure out and are conveniently accessible from the motel. There are several types of eating establishments within a block or two; authentic smaller places and larger restaurants, too. We spent time in each area of the island and saw many attractions while we were there so we were very tired by the time we returned to the motel. It is a quiet area so we liked that. The staff was helpful with directions and tips on attractions. We would definately stay at this motel again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

If you are in a hurry to get some place, take the subway. If you want to see more of the different cultures, take the bus. They are both easy to figure out.

Review of Holiday Inn NEW YORK CITY-MIDTOWN-57TH ST.

Reviewer score

5
Anonymous
Ithaca, NY
Jan 23, 2011

Great NYC Hotel

Great location. Only 10 blocks from Times Square. Fast check in and check out. Very clean rooms and very nice staff!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Times Square theatre district is less than 10 blocks away. Easy walk or cheap taxi ride!

Review of Holiday Inn NEW YORK CITY-MIDTOWN-57TH ST.

Reviewer score

5
Anonymous
Seattle, WA
Jul 26, 2007

Very helpful

Both the Valet and the desk clerk were very helpful in making plans for things to do,

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The restaurant was down the block and around the corner

Review of Holiday Inn NEW YORK CITY-MIDTOWN-57TH ST.

Reviewer score

5
Roscyn/Graduate
Phoenix, AZ
May 21, 2011

Best stay in Hotel!

My family and I were in NYC for my college graduation. We arrived Sunday evening though check-in as 3pm; they have a guaranteed late arrival so our room wasn't given up to others which is always great. :) The room was nicer than expected, clean and spacious enough to fit three people with two beds. They seriously had the best pillow options (soft and firm) and it was like sleeping on clouds. Maids come in every morning to clean up. The towels are reusable so they don't change those everyday like other hotels because they are trying to be energy efficient which is great in my opinion. Our room was on the 10th floor and faced the back of the building so it was really quiet. Location is great because it was close to everything like dining, shopping, Lincoln Center and the 59th Columbus Circle train stop where you can catch the B,D,A,C and 1! On our last day, we asked the Bell-man about getting a taxi to the airport since they don't really have a shuttle service and they asked which airport we were heading to and they provided us with a limo! We were shocked as we were expecting an unmarked black cab or something, so we were ecstatic! :) Overall, I enjoyed my stay and I will return to that hotel the next time I'm in NY. And I will recommend it to anyone who wants a comfortable, affordable place to stay in NYC!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

If you want good food for breakfast, lunch or dinner, try the FLAME diner open 24-hours down 1 block on 9th ave. Turn left when walking away from the hotel towards 9th, it's the last restaurant on the corner of W. 58th St, can't miss it! Best fried chicken ever! As for desert, ask for the 'Africana'- you won't be disappointed with this chocolate concoction.

Review of Holiday Inn NEW YORK CITY-MIDTOWN-57TH ST.

Reviewer score

5
Mary Beth Macy's Clown
upstate New York
Jan 28, 2011

Clean,convenient,friendly staff!!!

Went mid-week for a girlfriends getaway. Arrived in the middle of a blizzard. Parked our car in the parking garage right next to entrance of hotel.Front desk staff was great.Room was very large for the three of us.Price was very reasonable.Paid $104.00 w/tax DBL room for a one night stay. Parking for 24 hours was 25.00. Held our luggage for the rest of the second day for only a gratuity.Walking distance from where we needed to go, and near the Metro for other locations. Have stayed in NYC many times. Wish I had found this hotel a lot sooner. Will definitely stay again. Could not beat the price!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Holiday Inn NEW YORK CITY-MIDTOWN-57TH ST.

Reviewer score

5
Johnwuycw
Bethlehem, PA
Mar 13, 2012

Great place to stay in Manhattan

The location of this hotel is convenient, subway is within walking distance. Although the interior of the hotel was a bit old, the service was great with free Wi-Fi access in the room. It is a good choice if you don't want to spend big money in Manhattan.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Holiday Inn NEW YORK CITY-MIDTOWN-57TH ST.

Reviewer score

5
Anonymous
Sycamore
Jun 20, 2008

Close to the Pier

Convenient walk from the pier with luggage. Our handicap accessible room was roomy for the four of us. Ideal location to Central Park, the MET museum and Time Square. We arrived early and checked our baggage at the hotel desk. Tip: Have adults deal with ticket and tour purchases! Overall very comfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Holiday Inn NEW YORK CITY-MIDTOWN-57TH ST.

Reviewer score

5
Anonymous
Sonora
Jun 11, 2008

pleasantly surprised

My main concern was the water pressure in the shower. I had read other surveys that talked about the pressure being low and not adequate for a good shower, that was not the case here. Also, I had heard the rooms were very small, the rooms had plenty of space. The price was very reasonable. I will sstay at this hotel again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Very short walking distance find, central park, shopping, food, entertainment, it's great!

Review of Holiday Inn NEW YORK CITY-MIDTOWN-57TH ST.

Reviewer score

5
Independent filmmaker
Business
New Orleans, LA
Mar 5, 2011

Great hotel, great location!

I couldn't believe what a great price this hotel was- especially for the great location. Easy walk to Central Park, Carnegie Hall, lots of food. Subway stop just a few blocks away. And a direct shot from JFK on the A train. The hotel was very clean. My only warning is- the breakfast at the hotel is restaurant style. VERY pricey, especially for bland food and weak coffee. Stay at this hotel, but go out for food!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Holiday Inn NEW YORK CITY-MIDTOWN-57TH ST.

Reviewer score

5
Loretalola
Business
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Nov 14, 2013

great for business trips

great staff, very clean, spacious rooms, very private and great location

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top