Rate based on Check-in: Jan 3, 2015 Check-out: Jan 6, 2015

Holiday Inn NEW YORK CITY-MIDTOWN-57TH ST.

3 stars
440 West 57th Street, New York, NY 10019
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.6
out of 5
682 reviews
1st time in New York

My first time in New York was wonderful. I was a little worried seeing as I booked my hotel just... See full review

  • Jayasten
  • Jul 21, 2014
Excellent Location

It was our first time in New York City, and we loved it!! the hotel is perfectly located, Central... See full review

  • igforero
  • Jul 15, 2014
Founded in 1952, the Holiday Inn chain has earned a reputation for offering family-friendly hotels, and the Holiday Inn New York City-Midtown-57th Street is no exception. Spacious rooms comfortably host parents and kids alike, and casual dining is available at Gotham Cafe. Head up to the roof for a swim in the pool, which faces the iconic architecture of New York, or make use of modern exercise equipment at the fitness center. Chill at the Skylight Lounge to end your New York days on an evening high note.

Key facts
  • 600 guestrooms
  • 4 conference and event spaces
  • 18 floors
  • Outdoor pool
  • Gym/fitness center
  • Gift shop
  • Restaurant: Gotham Cafe
  • Skylight Lounge
  • Wi-Fi
  • Kids Eat Free
  • ATM
Neighborhood
This high-rise, full-service hotel is nestled in a quiet residential area just a short walk away from the 59th Street/Columbus Circle subway station, from which visitors can go practically anywhere in the city. Because it's tucked away, the hotel offers a tranquil location, but guests can still access some of the best attractions in Midtown Manhattan on foot, including Central Park, Lincoln Center, Carnegie Hall, the Empire State Building, Grand Central Station and the Theater District.
Hints and tips
If you are staying in New York on a budget, the Holiday Inn's - kids eat free- policy ensures that you can afford to dine out minus the pricey Big Apple check.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Amenities

  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Free local telephone calls
Ice machine
Activities
Outdoor pool
Tennis
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Room service
Services
Business center
Maid service
Concierge desk
ATM/Cash machine
In-Room Safe
Shops/Commercial services
Tour desk
Porters
FAX
Gift shop
White board
Parking
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Satellite TV
DVD player
Phone with speaker
Desk with lamp
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
In room movies
Temperature control
Ironing board
Bath tub

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Holiday Inn NEW YORK CITY-MIDTOWN-57TH ST. also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5

Hotel Map

40.7687 -73.9875
Nearby airports
Newark Liberty International Airport, (EWR), 12.00, MI, E; Kennedy International Airport, (JFK), 15.00, MI, NW; LaGuardia, (LGA), 8.00, MI, W;
Area description
Downtown, downtown

Nearby points of interest

  • Lincoln Center: 0.2 mi
  • Time Warner Center: 0.2 mi
  • Studio 54: 0.2 mi
  • Columbus Circle mall: 0.3 mi
  • American Musical and Dramatic Academy: 0.3 mi
  • New York Institute of Technology: 0.3 mi
  • Museum of Arts and Design: 0.3 mi
  • Broadway: 0.3 mi
  • Metropolitan Opera: 0.3 mi
  • Dante Park: 0.3 mi
  • DeWitt Clinton Park: 0.4 mi
  • Wollman Memorial Rink: 0.4 mi
  • Vivian Beaumont Theater: 0.4 mi
  • Lincoln Square: 0.4 mi
  • Roseland: 0.4 mi
  • Lincoln Center: 0.2 mi
  • Time Warner Center: 0.2 mi
  • Studio 54: 0.2 mi
  • Columbus Circle mall: 0.3 mi
  • American Musical and Dramatic Academy: 0.3 mi
  • New York Institute of Technology: 0.3 mi
  • Museum of Arts and Design: 0.3 mi
  • Broadway: 0.3 mi
  • Metropolitan Opera: 0.3 mi
  • Dante Park: 0.3 mi
  • DeWitt Clinton Park: 0.4 mi
  • Wollman Memorial Rink: 0.4 mi
  • Vivian Beaumont Theater: 0.4 mi
  • Lincoln Square: 0.4 mi
  • Roseland: 0.4 mi
  • August Wilson Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • The Juilliard School: 0.4 mi
  • School of American Ballet: 0.4 mi
  • Worldwide Plaza: 0.4 mi
  • Gershwin Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Rose Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Carnegie Hall: 0.5 mi
  • Circle in the Square Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • CitySpire Center: 0.5 mi
  • Winter Garden Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Municipal Art Society: 0.5 mi
  • 57th Street: 0.5 mi
  • Eugene O'Neill Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Victorian Gardens, Central Park: 0.5 mi
  • Richard Tucker Square: 0.5 mi
  • Ambassador Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Tuscan Square: 0.6 mi
  • Equitable Center: 0.6 mi
  • Samuel J. Friedman Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Walter Kerr Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Longacre Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Marquis Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Al Hirschfeld Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Ethel Barrymore Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Brooks Atkinson Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Madame Tussauds: 0.6 mi
  • New Amsterdam Theater: 0.6 mi
  • Duffy Square: 0.7 mi
  • Sherman Square: 0.7 mi
  • Lunt-Fontanne Theatre: 0.7 mi

Dining

Gotham Cafe
American and Continental breakfast available . Italian and American cuisine available for dinner.
Skylight Lounge
Open Noon until Midnight.
Mercury Bar
Swap stories with the locals where the wine and the talk flow until the early morning hours. Hang out and delight in the true flavor of Old Hells Kitchen. Watch in awe as your sports heroes from the world of baseball, basketball, football, hockey and Euro

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (682)

Ratings and reviews for Holiday Inn NEW YORK CITY-MIDTOWN-57TH ST.

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
682 out of 682
Amenities:
3.5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.3
Value:
3.9

87% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Holiday Inn NEW YORK CITY-MIDTOWN-57TH ST.

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Domenic
Business
Pittsburgh, PA
Mar 13, 2008

Highly Convenient and Accessible Location

The Holiday Inn was very accessible to a great deal of NYC's best attractions, e.g., the museums, Soho, and St. Patrick's Cathedral. The hotel staff was friendly, but a bit lackadaisical when it came to cleaning the rooms. Nonetheless, overall it was a great place to stay and I'd enthusiastically recommend to anyone looking for a solid place to stay in NYC.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Holiday Inn NEW YORK CITY-MIDTOWN-57TH ST.

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
May 28, 2007

very friendly and clean

I found this to be very friendly and excellent service. The mattress could have been a little firmer due to my back problem, but all in all ok. I would definitely stay here again, in fact my next trip in to Ny- midtown I plan on staying here. This hotel was centrally located for all we had to do. The only bad thing was the internet service it had an icon to get your airline boarding passes,(it cost me 4.00) but after you put your money in you couldn't get any airline boarding passes because it is not a secure network. So you lost out on the $$ you put in the computer. I saw other people do the same but to no availble, it just takes your money with no results.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

The museums and catching the sightseeing tour bus was just a shortwalk. The different style and choices of restaurants are just a stone throw. If you decide to dine at your hotel the prices are very reasonable.Their Value4(2 eggs, homefries, bacon, toast and juice) breakfast is perfect for a mere 5.95.

Review of Holiday Inn NEW YORK CITY-MIDTOWN-57TH ST.

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Durham/Raleigh, NC
Sep 7, 2007

Great Overnight

This Holiday Inn was great for my overnight trip to New York. The front desk folks were wonderful and friendly!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Holiday Inn NEW YORK CITY-MIDTOWN-57TH ST.

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Denver, CO
Jun 11, 2007

A nice room, good food ...

A nice room, good food that is all expected.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

All the theater you could possibly want and Central Park, too.

Review of Holiday Inn NEW YORK CITY-MIDTOWN-57TH ST.

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Pittsburgh, PA
Jul 26, 2007

great place

The Holiday Inn on west 57th st in N.Y.C. was wonderful. It was only 3 blockes from Central Park plus not too far a walk from times square and broadway. The room was clean and comfortable. Staff was pleasant.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Holiday Inn NEW YORK CITY-MIDTOWN-57TH ST.

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Donna -- Ballet Mom
Business
Atlanta, GA
Jun 23, 2009

Fantastic hotel and great, great service

I brought my daughter up for the School of American Ballet, and I cannot say enough good things about the staff. They were always there to help. The front desk and concierge were both wonderful and a huge help. It was my first trip to New York and they made sure I found my way around. And the location was perfect. We were able to actually walk to Lincoln Center to check my daughter in for the summer. We only had breakfast there in the morning, but it was definitely reasonably priced and the food and service were both great. I definitely know where to stay the next time I go to New York. Thanks for a wonderful stay!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Holiday Inn NEW YORK CITY-MIDTOWN-57TH ST.

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
London
Apr 30, 2010

Fantastic!

The hotel was located in a fantastic location in NYC (57th street). Walking distance from central park, broadway, times square, even the rockafella centre. There was a subway station just down the road, and lots of diners to eat breakfast in (if you're not eating at the hotel, which we didn't, so I can't comment on food!). The staff were so lovely and helpful, the rooms were tidy, and the maid was more than happy to provide us with extra coffee & creamers every day (we had a room of four girls sharing with two double beds). The location is the best part of this hotel, and we got a great price as it was part of a package deal (averaged around £60 a night PP). Not to mention they let us have a fourth person stay in our room for free (max four in a two double bedded room) as she joined our trip at the last minute. I think it was $25 a night for an extra bed if needed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

times square, central park, restaurants, shopping on 5th!

Review of Holiday Inn NEW YORK CITY-MIDTOWN-57TH ST.

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago,IL
Jul 9, 2010

Cheap Mini Vacation

We stayed for 4 days and 3 nights and it was very affordable. The 3 of us were all over 18 but it was a family vacation and we were first time visitors to NYC. We were there to explore as much of the city as possible. The Hotel was good walking distance to Times Square. The rooftop pool was perfect to cool off in hot weather and get a good tan. We are non smokers and were worried about having a smoking room but the room service was excellent and the maids cleaned and changed are sheets, towels, and trash everyday. The beds were really comfomtable. We didn't smell any smoke at all!!! The only downsides were that there was no free breakfast and prices at the cafe were over are budget. However, there was a Walgreens and mini food shop just down the street that sold breakfast and snacks at great prices. There are also many restaurants a few blocks away. I defineately recommend that you check out the concierge desk in the front. We went to the desk a day before checkout to request a taxi which is a good deal because $45 covered taxi and taxes and tip as well but to our surprise the taxi was a limo which is a great deal for larger families. I would recommend bringing comfortable walking shoes. I would also suggest first time visitors walking everywhere around times square,taking a greyline sightseeing tour which includes seeing the statue of liberty from a boat and the rockefellar building observation deck; visiting the wax museum, and taking a horse or bike carriage through central park. Bring A Camera!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Check out street vendors and small shops around Times Square for great deals on souvenirs.

Review of Holiday Inn NEW YORK CITY-MIDTOWN-57TH ST.

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Mado
Business
Washington, DC
Dec 28, 2010

Clean and very well located hotel

This hotel was the best deal ever ! It is located at the heart of Manhattan, couple of blocks away from most attraction sites (such as broadway, empire state building, central park....). The rooms are clean and the staffs are really helpful and friendly. I definitely recommend anyone who is looking for a well located hotel at a reasonable place to stay at Holiday Inn Midtown 57th Street :-)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

If you are craving for typical Italian food, "Puttanesca" is a good and friendly place to try. The price range is reasonable and the place is 5 minutes walk from the hotel.

Review of Holiday Inn NEW YORK CITY-MIDTOWN-57TH ST.

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Long Beach CA.
Jan 20, 2011

"Affordable, quiet, clean"

Great place will definitely will stay there again, housekeeping service could have been better but overall it was nice, quiet neighborhood walking distance to times square and central park. Good restaurants and convinient stores very close as well. The kids loved it as well. Very satisfied =)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

BEST HAMBURGERS EVER!! SHAKE SHAKE ITS A MUST HAVE!!

Back to menu Return to top