Rate based on Check-in: Feb 21, 2016 Check-out: Feb 22, 2016

Holiday Inn NEW YORK CITY-MIDTOWN-57TH ST.

3 stars
View map of 440 West 57th Street, New York, NY 10019

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Holiday Inn NEW YORK CITY-MIDTOWN-57TH ST.

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
88 out of 88
Amenities:
3.6
Cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4.1
Comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.5
Value:
4

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Holiday Inn NEW YORK CITY-MIDTOWN-57TH ST.

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
fun in nyc with family
Family
NYC
Apr 26, 2012

3 days in NYC

Location close to subway and central park. Employee at the information desk gave us some great ideas of things to do with young children. He was very helpful with directions and how to get around the area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

central park

Review of Holiday Inn NEW YORK CITY-MIDTOWN-57TH ST.

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
Bellingham, MA
Jul 7, 2009

It was a great family hotel

We have never stayed in NY. We loved it and the Hotel was in a great location. You could walk to Central Park and many other attractions and restaurants.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Get fast pass for Statue of Liberty, etc. The lines are very long!

Review of Holiday Inn NEW YORK CITY-MIDTOWN-57TH ST.

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
Parkersburg, WV
Jul 4, 2009

Great location; Great price

This hotel is in a great location...close to the subway, Central Park, and Times Square. We booked a smoking room, and that is exactly what we got (probably the only hotel left in America where you can actually smoke inside). The room was clean and spacious, the beds were comfortable, overall a very nice place to spend the weekend.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Do not be afraid to take the subway to Coney Island. It is approx. 30 min on the Q train. I had a great time.

Review of Holiday Inn NEW YORK CITY-MIDTOWN-57TH ST.

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Donna -- Ballet Mom
Family
Atlanta, GA
Jun 23, 2009

Fantastic hotel and great, great service

I brought my daughter up for the School of American Ballet, and I cannot say enough good things about the staff. They were always there to help. The front desk and concierge were both wonderful and a huge help. It was my first trip to New York and they made sure I found my way around. And the location was perfect. We were able to actually walk to Lincoln Center to check my daughter in for the summer. We only had breakfast there in the morning, but it was definitely reasonably priced and the food and service were both great. I definitely know where to stay the next time I go to New York. Thanks for a wonderful stay!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Holiday Inn NEW YORK CITY-MIDTOWN-57TH ST.

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
rey5
Friends
Houston TX
Jun 6, 2009

good location

provided a comfortable stay. Staff were friendly, security in place. Nice place to come back to.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of Holiday Inn NEW YORK CITY-MIDTOWN-57TH ST.

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
Los Angeles, CA
Jun 1, 2009

Great Location

Great Location. Walking distance to subway to everywhere. Very close to Central Park. Bus and subway were very convenient to location. Only problem we had was the coffee maker did not work, but the hotel gave us vouchers for free continental breakfast, and the next day replaced the coffee maker.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Holiday Inn NEW YORK CITY-MIDTOWN-57TH ST.

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Single
Washington, DC
Jun 1, 2009

Great for first-timer

Close enough to Central Park and Times Square to walk and feel safe. Customer service on check-in was great. Didn't use concierge or dining facilities. Elevators and restrooms were a bit old, but worked okay. Noise was from slamming doors and noisy people in the hallways (very thin walls). Outside noise was not a problem at all. Great hotel for my first visit to the Big Apple.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Single

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Times Square was bustling well into the late hours. At only about a 15 minute walk or short cab ride, it was well worth staying out late.

Review of Holiday Inn NEW YORK CITY-MIDTOWN-57TH ST.

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Adventure Junkie
Friends
Washington State
May 27, 2009

Great Location Great Trip

This location is great for spending time in Manhattan. We were able to walk to Times Square, Broadway and Central Park easily. We were also pleasantly surprised at how comfortable and relatively quiet our room was.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Friends

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Depending on your fitness level we were able to walk almost everywhere we wanted. Making this hotel a great location.

Review of Holiday Inn NEW YORK CITY-MIDTOWN-57TH ST.

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
youknowwhoiam
Family
Great state
May 26, 2009

Front desk receptionist needs training!

I'll start off by saying the hotel location is unbeatable. With that being said however, the staff at the front desk particularly this woman named [...] was horrible. Unfriendly and downright a [*] this eastern european woman with a thick accent and even a thicker skull made people wait in line over 20 minutes just to check out while she was pretending to be busy behind the counter and flirting with some male guests.The rooms especially to the outside (twords the road) are very very noisy, but if you go higher( meaning from the 14th floor up!) the noise tends to fade out. You hear all the NY morning traffic with the lovely cabbies resting on the horn, so i'd strongly advise either a high up top room or a inside the court view one.TV remote did not work, on several rooms apparently as they had ran out of working ones. Bathrooms are really really small.Overall i'd say great location, but i personally would not trade that for a friendly service and working devices, especially since current economic times are making great hotels be very comptetitive with some big chain ones, such as this one.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Family

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Morning star restaurant has some delicious breakfast at a really friendly budget.

Review of Holiday Inn NEW YORK CITY-MIDTOWN-57TH ST.

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Illinois
May 4, 2009

Very nice stay.

Great location, great price, room very large and clean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Holiday Inn NEW YORK CITY-MIDTOWN-57TH ST.

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
Calhoun Georgia
May 4, 2009

great location

We were very pleased with the location and overall the rooms were average but clean and adequate. The staff was nice and cordial but not as informed about the local area as I would have liked. We were looking for a show one day and the concierge highly recommedned a "family show" adn dinner package. The dinner was great, but the show called Gazillion Bubbles was a ridiculous experience my teens nicknamed "Broadway Barney", appropriate only for very young children. I had to assume the concierge was getting a kickback or had a friend in it. Also the wireless internet did not work most of the time and they did not seem to know who to call about it. Otherwise I would stay there again and be glad to pay the price for the 2 adjoining rooms we had!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Broadway , timesquare ,shopping and plenty of good places to eat are within reasonable walking distance

Back to menu Return to top