Rate based on Check-in: Jul 31, 2014 Check-out: Aug 1, 2014

Holiday Inn NEW YORK CITY-MIDTOWN-57TH ST.

3 stars
440 WEST 57TH STREET, NEW YORK CITY, NY 10019
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.6
out of 5
1,020 reviews
1st time in New York

My first time in New York was wonderful. I was a little worried seeing as I booked my hotel just... See full review

  • Jayasten
  • Jul 21, 2014
Excellent Location

It was our first time in New York City, and we loved it!! the hotel is perfectly located, Central... See full review

  • igforero
  • Jul 15, 2014
Founded in 1952, the Holiday Inn chain has earned a reputation for offering family-friendly hotels, and the Holiday Inn New York City-Midtown-57th Street is no exception. Spacious rooms comfortably host parents and kids alike, and casual dining is available at Gotham Cafe. Head up to the roof for a swim in the pool, which faces the iconic architecture of New York, or make use of modern exercise equipment at the fitness center. Chill at the Skylight Lounge to end your New York days on an evening high note.

Key facts
  • 600 guestrooms
  • 4 conference and event spaces
  • 18 floors
  • Outdoor pool
  • Gym/fitness center
  • Gift shop
  • Restaurant: Gotham Cafe
  • Skylight Lounge
  • Wi-Fi
  • Kids Eat Free
  • ATM
Neighborhood
This high-rise, full-service hotel is nestled in a quiet residential area just a short walk away from the 59th Street/Columbus Circle subway station, from which visitors can go practically anywhere in the city. Because it's tucked away, the hotel offers a tranquil location, but guests can still access some of the best attractions in Midtown Manhattan on foot, including Central Park, Lincoln Center, Carnegie Hall, the Empire State Building, Grand Central Station and the Theater District.
Hints and tips
If you are staying in New York on a budget, the Holiday Inn's - kids eat free- policy ensures that you can afford to dine out minus the pricey Big Apple check.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Amenities

  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Ice machine
Activities
Outdoor pool
Tennis
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Room service
Services
Business center
Maid service
Concierge desk
ATM/Cash machine
In-Room Safe
Shops/Commercial services
Tour desk
Porters
FAX
Gift shop
White board
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Satellite TV
DVD player
Phone with speaker
Desk with lamp
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
In room movies
Temperature control
Ironing board
Bath tub

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Holiday Inn NEW YORK CITY-MIDTOWN-57TH ST. also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5

Hotel Map

40.7687 -73.9875
Nearby airports
LaGuardia, (LGA), 8.00, MI; Newark Liberty International Airport, (EWR), 12.00, MI, E; Kennedy International Airport, (JFK), 15.00, MI, NW;
Area description
Downtown, downtown

Nearby points of interest

  • Lincoln Center: 0.2 mi
  • Time Warner Center: 0.2 mi
  • Studio 54: 0.2 mi
  • Columbus Circle mall: 0.3 mi
  • American Musical and Dramatic Academy: 0.3 mi
  • New York Institute of Technology: 0.3 mi
  • Museum of Arts and Design: 0.3 mi
  • Broadway: 0.3 mi
  • Metropolitan Opera: 0.3 mi
  • Dante Park: 0.3 mi
  • DeWitt Clinton Park: 0.4 mi
  • Wollman Memorial Rink: 0.4 mi
  • Vivian Beaumont Theater: 0.4 mi
  • Lincoln Square: 0.4 mi
  • Roseland: 0.4 mi
  • Lincoln Center: 0.2 mi
  • Time Warner Center: 0.2 mi
  • Studio 54: 0.2 mi
  • Columbus Circle mall: 0.3 mi
  • American Musical and Dramatic Academy: 0.3 mi
  • New York Institute of Technology: 0.3 mi
  • Museum of Arts and Design: 0.3 mi
  • Broadway: 0.3 mi
  • Metropolitan Opera: 0.3 mi
  • Dante Park: 0.3 mi
  • DeWitt Clinton Park: 0.4 mi
  • Wollman Memorial Rink: 0.4 mi
  • Vivian Beaumont Theater: 0.4 mi
  • Lincoln Square: 0.4 mi
  • Roseland: 0.4 mi
  • August Wilson Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • The Juilliard School: 0.4 mi
  • School of American Ballet: 0.4 mi
  • Worldwide Plaza: 0.4 mi
  • Gershwin Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Rose Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Carnegie Hall: 0.5 mi
  • Circle in the Square Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • CitySpire Center: 0.5 mi
  • Winter Garden Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Municipal Art Society: 0.5 mi
  • 57th Street: 0.5 mi
  • Eugene O'Neill Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Victorian Gardens, Central Park: 0.5 mi
  • Richard Tucker Square: 0.5 mi
  • Ambassador Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Tuscan Square: 0.6 mi
  • Equitable Center: 0.6 mi
  • Samuel J. Friedman Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Walter Kerr Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Longacre Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Marquis Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Al Hirschfeld Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Ethel Barrymore Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Brooks Atkinson Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Madame Tussauds: 0.6 mi
  • New Amsterdam Theater: 0.6 mi
  • Duffy Square: 0.7 mi
  • Sherman Square: 0.7 mi
  • Lunt-Fontanne Theatre: 0.7 mi

Dining

Gotham Cafe
American and Continental breakfast available . Italian and American cuisine available for dinner.
Skylight Lounge
Open Noon until Midnight.
Mercury Bar
Swap stories with the locals where the wine and the talk flow until the early morning hours. Hang out and delight in the true flavor of Old Hells Kitchen. Watch in awe as your sports heroes from the world of baseball, basketball, football, hockey and Euro

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (1020)

Ratings and reviews for Holiday Inn NEW YORK CITY-MIDTOWN-57TH ST.

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
1020 out of 1020
Amenities:
3.6
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4.3
Value:
4

86% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Holiday Inn NEW YORK CITY-MIDTOWN-57TH ST.

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mone29
New York, New York
Apr 28, 2013

Great Stay

I enjoyed my stay there, it was a normal room but the hotel staff was great and handled a certain situation that almost got screwed up fairly well. I commend it and would return again in the future. Thank you for the service.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Holiday Inn NEW YORK CITY-MIDTOWN-57TH ST.

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
firefighterdaddyo
Florida
Apr 22, 2013

big room , very clean

we stayed in this hotel for 3 nights April 18-20, it was very clean and a lot bigger than the other hotel we stayed at last time. Bed was comfortable. we were very pleased. Even though we were across from the hospital, we didn't hear anything at night to keep us awake. The only complaint is that they apparently don't turn the air on in the rooms until a certain time of year. they brought us a box fan which was fine at night, I was leery because I thought we would be hot at night but we were comfortable all 3 nights. Also there was no fridge . All in all we would stay here again. Subway was only a few blocks walking, and the Brooklyn Diner was the best for breakfast. Very close to Central Park.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Brooklyn Diner was great for breakfasts, and their cheesecake was awesome.

Review of Holiday Inn NEW YORK CITY-MIDTOWN-57TH ST.

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Mom of teen girls
Boston
Apr 18, 2013

Pleasant stay

Nice stay. Quieter than some of the other Manhattan hotels, and close to Central Park and Lincoln Center. Bed and pillows were comfortable. The sink area was tight but adequate, but the bathroom lacked any horizontal space whatsoever.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Review of Holiday Inn NEW YORK CITY-MIDTOWN-57TH ST.

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Rose Canadian Traveller
Calgary AB Canada
Apr 16, 2013

Good Experience

Our overall experience was good. The staff were friendly and housekeeping very patient when you not done in your room in the mornings. Room was a nice size and it was clean, although having a bar fridge would have been nice. Bathrooms are a bit small, not sure if all the rooms have the same bathrooms. Located in a good area ... closer to Central Park than to Time square. Value for money considering the prices of hotels right on Time square. Will definitely stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Route 66 ... we had breakfast and brunch there a couple of times and ejoyed it every time ....A matter of fact a stranger recommended Route 66 to us on the one day we wanted to try a different restaurant. The food is simple but fresh and tasty. The service was great

Review of Holiday Inn NEW YORK CITY-MIDTOWN-57TH ST.

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
scandianvianbiker
Torrington CT
Apr 15, 2013

Awesome hotel

We had a good time in NYC thanks to Holiday Inn! The room was nice and clean and the beds were very comfortable:)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

The Mean Fiddler

Review of Holiday Inn NEW YORK CITY-MIDTOWN-57TH ST.

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Disappointed from Upstate
Business
New York Sate
Apr 15, 2013

Overbooked

We booked our rooms several days ahead, 2 rooms with 2 double beds for a party of unrelated people who would not be sharing beds. When we arrived, however, we were told that there were no rooms available except a single suite, with a double bed in one room and a pull-out double-bed sofa in the adjoining room. We received no refund of our money. At our insistence, they squashed in 2 cots. They were not apologetic and offered no explanation and nothing to make up for our inconvenience except a $5 coupon for breakfast. The manager was rude. We will not stay there every again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Holiday Inn NEW YORK CITY-MIDTOWN-57TH ST.

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Weekend blitz traveler
Birmingham, AL, USA
Apr 15, 2013

Spacious accommodations

Wonderful location for access to weekend events. The room was surprisingly large compared to other places we have stayed. Clean and comfortable. Helpful staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Holiday Inn NEW YORK CITY-MIDTOWN-57TH ST.

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Fun In NYC With Friends
Boston
Apr 11, 2013

Girls Weekend

Spacious room but the room felt incredibly stuffy. The air wasn't working.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Review of Holiday Inn NEW YORK CITY-MIDTOWN-57TH ST.

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
In control mom
Baltimore, MD
Apr 9, 2013

Quick trip to NYC

Brief stay for a quick NYC weekend birthday celebration. Location was well within walking distance to all the Times Square and Broadway attractions. Surrounding streets felt safe when walking with quick taxi access. Hotel staff were very accommodating of early arrival and late departure graciously storing luggage. Only drawback to the room was the few outlets available as we had multiple electronics that needed charging.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Ellen's Stardust Diner wonderful atmosphere with performing wait staff, but wait for food was very long with entrees luke warm upon receipt. Glad we went but once was definitely enough.

Review of Holiday Inn NEW YORK CITY-MIDTOWN-57TH ST.

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Travel All The Time 88
New York
Apr 7, 2013

Where Do I Start

About the rooms. Peeling wall paper. No ability to control the room temp other than on or off. Carpet is obviously 20+ years old and don't let the staff fool you about the renovations. There is no way they plan on spending that kind of money to update the hotel. Plus the construction starts at 8 AM. I didn't appreciate the window washing rig outside my room while they were drilling into the concrete walls. The dampers that keep the doors from slamming in the guest rooms are worn out so get ready to be woken up throughout the night since the bars don't close until 4 AM. The doors are paper thin so the yelling voices of cleaning staff in the hallway are very pronounced at 7 in the morning. Also, you get harassed by housekeeping in the mornings if you don't want your room cleaned. Quote "If I don't clean your room I don't get paid". Let's now talk about the Skylight lounge. Ownership should tell the bartending staff that they should pay more attention the customers rather than playing with their smart phones. The food that is served is slow to your table and good luck on getting it warm. The food obviously is all frozen. Pigs in a blank, yuck! Salmon burger, yuck! Gotham burger, yuck! They even gave me a miniature bottle of Mayo that had been opened and used by another customer then put back in stock. Gotham café does not have a great breakfast and you constantly have to flag down the staff to get any attention. Not staying here again especially at such a high price! InterContinental Hotels Group should revoke this locations license on the Holiday Inn name.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Back to menu Return to top