Rate based on Check-in: Apr 19, 2015 Check-out: Apr 20, 2015

Holiday Inn Express NEW YORK CITY TIMES SQUARE

3 stars
View map of 343 West 39th Street, New York, NY 10018

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Holiday Inn Express NEW YORK CITY TIMES SQUARE

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
160 out of 160
Amenities:
3.7
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.2
Value:
4

93% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Holiday Inn Express NEW YORK CITY TIMES SQUARE

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
South Dakota
Jul 24, 2010

Good value - for New York

Very friendly and helpful front desk. Hotel in a convenient location. Breakfast was good but would have preferred a 6am start time. Compared to other Manhattan Hotels, the price was right. Would certainly recommend to anybody on a budget.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Attended "Memphis" on Broadway. Excellent show!

Review of Holiday Inn Express NEW YORK CITY TIMES SQUARE

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Pevely, MO
Jul 19, 2010

Clean and quiet.

Went to a Broadway show and sight seeing.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Holiday Inn Express NEW YORK CITY TIMES SQUARE

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Virginia
Jul 6, 2010

New York City for 4th of July 2010

Hotel was nice but very crowded...very clean and staff was wonderful! Our only complaint was that the handicap shower fixture had a broken part...we were originally told it would be fixed in a day or so, then that they could not get the part until later. They offered to have us change our room, but each time we were on the way out the door...we had so much to fit in that was scheduled, so we just stayed in the room. [...]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

Check on the airport shuttle a few days in advance of leaving...we waited too long.

Review of Holiday Inn Express NEW YORK CITY TIMES SQUARE

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Cambridge, MA
Jun 24, 2010

reliable name 'Holiday Inn'

T station was close and so it was convenient to go to sightseeing especially Natural History Museum and Metropolitan Museum. And room was very clean!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

I went to see West Side Story and Lion King. This hotel is very close from Broadway.

Review of Holiday Inn Express NEW YORK CITY TIMES SQUARE

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
family girls trip
Business
buenos aires
Jun 22, 2010

good location but really small rooms

I really didn't spend that much time in the hotel, but the time I did spend was OK. The room was very small for 4 people and a lot of luggage. And the location was very good, near Times Square, but at night 39th st. and 8th av. it's not so nice to walk, especially for women alone.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Holiday Inn Express NEW YORK CITY TIMES SQUARE

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
canada
Jun 2, 2010

holiday inn express

the location was not good at all the staff were nice and its dangerous after dark

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
1
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Holiday Inn Express NEW YORK CITY TIMES SQUARE

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
unimportant
Business
Richmond, Va
May 16, 2010

Holiday Inn Express 39th street NYC

This was the worst hotel experience of my life. I have stayed in plenty of different Holiday Inn Express locations, in not-so-nice cities, and have enjoyed great service and accommodations. You would expect nothing less going somewhere as popular as New York City. The staff members were inattentive and rude. Upon arrival, we were told our bags would be "safely" held until check-in. The "safe" place was the middle of the hotel lobby where anyone at any time could have taken our belongings. On check-in, which was supposed to be 3pm, our rooms were not ready. We waited until 4:30pm to receive the key. The following morning, following the way overcrowded breakfast, some family members and friends got on the elevator to return to the room on the 21st floor. The elevator began to act up, proceeding to free fall from the 15th to the 3rd floor. The people on the elevator were then stuck for almost an hour by the time the non-english- speaking maintenance man pried the doors open BETWEEN the 3rd and 4th floors, requiring everyone to JUMP below to safety. Mind you, the only other available elevator was already out of order. SO, WE HAD TO WALK UP 21 FLIGHTS OF STAIRS. The hotel not only was not there to apologize for the incident, we had to seek out management to complain. The hotel manager was NOT working on a weekend, nor did he ever show his face. Thank goodness no one was seriously injured. Upon speaking to the manager, he merely vaguely apologized, promising to take care of the situation, while we never got anything in writing. I can only tell anyone who plans to stay here, it is NOT NEW. It is obviously newly renovated. It is several blocks from Times Square. It is VERY SMALL AND CROWDED. You will be disappointed. And I honestly hope no one has to experience the traumatic elevators, considering the hotel staff was not at all worried about fixing the problem.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Holiday Inn Express NEW YORK CITY TIMES SQUARE

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Colorado
May 13, 2010

Pleasant Surprise

Location was very convenient to trains, restaurants and entertainment. Staff was great. Beds were a bit short, but I'm 6'6", so I run into that alot. I was on the 35th floor, so it was pleasantly quiet being away from street level. I'll definately return!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Holiday Inn Express NEW YORK CITY TIMES SQUARE

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Mpls, MN
May 9, 2010

Great stay

This was a great hotel. The staff was extremely friendly. Very clean, neat, attractive rooms. Rooms a little small. Good location to everything we wanted to see around Times Square and good access to subway. Continental breakfast had a good variety of things to choose from. Free internet access was nice. Only things that make me hesitate to give this 5 stars is the size of the room and the very small area in which to get breakfast (hard with so many people). Otherwise this was a very enjoyable stay and would recommend it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Be careful about what you are really paying for things. There may be a sign on something that says $5 but when it's all said and done it will be $15. There are a lot of "hidden" expenses everywhere when dealing with street vendors and such. Just know what you will actually be paying before you agree to buy.

Review of Holiday Inn Express NEW YORK CITY TIMES SQUARE

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Merritt Island, Florida
May 3, 2010

Holiday Inn Express

loved it! All!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top