Rate based on Check-in: Jul 31, 2014 Check-out: Aug 1, 2014

Hilton Times Square

4 stars
234 West 42nd Street, New York, NY 10036
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.3
out of 5
255 reviews
family vacation

Hotel views were definitely worth it!! Nice and clean room. The only complaint was that the bath... See full review

  • fit mom of three
  • Jul 5, 2014
Brilliant stop over

Spent 24hrs in NYC and the convenience if this hotel was brilliant. Great location. Helpful staff.... See full review

  • Tau66
  • Jul 4, 2014
The sleek, modern facade of this 44-story building makes it a notable Times Square attraction, and many of its 460 rooms look out over vibrant Times Square, the New York City skyline and the Hudson River. Visit Pinnacle Bar in the lobby for coffee, cocktails and other delectable beverages, and enjoy innovative, Zagat-rated fare at Restaurant Above, which overlooks the iconic digital screens and billboards below. Hilton Hotels & Resorts have been wowing guests since 1919, and the Hilton Times Square houses 24-hour business and fitness centers, plus modern event spaces and a freshly revitalized lobby.
Key Facts
  • 460 guestrooms
  • 5,500-square-feet of conference and event space
  • 44 floors
  • Gift shop
  • 24-hour fitness center
  • Restaurants, bar and room service available
  • 24-hour business center
  • Pet friendly policy (charges apply)
Neighborhood
Thanks to its prime location on 42nd Street, between 7th Avenue and 8th Avenue in Midtown Manhattan, the Hilton Times Square immerses guests in the middle of New York's dining, nightlife, entertainment and cultural attractions. Ripley's Believe It Or Not Museum, Madame Tussaud's Wax Museum, Radio City Music Hall and the 24/7 nexus of Times Square are all nearby. Shoppers can give their credit cards a workout by hitting the shops along Fifth Avenue, and cuisine-lovers can dine on Restaurant Row before taking in a musical at one of the Broadway theaters surrounding the hotel.
Hints and tips
Whether you want to see Wicked, The Sound of Music or Phantom of the Opera, check in at the theater ticket desk for help purchasing Broadway tickets.

Early risers should head over to Rockefeller Center at the crack of dawn to watch a live taping of the Today Show.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Amenities

  • WiFi
General
Pet friendly
Activities
Exercise gym
Dining
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Wheel chair access

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hilton Times Square also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5

Hotel Map

40.7566 -73.9882
Nearby airports
La Guardia Airport, (LGA), 9.00, MI, E; John F. Kennedy Intl Airport, (JFK), 18.00, MI, NE; Newark Intl Airport, (EWR), 17.00, MI, W;

Nearby points of interest

  • Ford Center For The Performing Arts: 0 mi
  • Foxwoods Theatre: 0 mi
  • American Airlines Theatre: 0 mi
  • New Victory Theater: 0 mi
  • Nederlander Theatre: 0 mi
  • Helen Hayes Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • New York Times Building: 0.1 mi
  • Majestic Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Theater District: 0.1 mi
  • Broadhurst Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Shubert Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Condé Nast Building: 0.1 mi
  • Minskoff Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • John Golden Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Bernard B. Jacobs Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Ford Center For The Performing Arts: 0 mi
  • Foxwoods Theatre: 0 mi
  • American Airlines Theatre: 0 mi
  • New Victory Theater: 0 mi
  • Nederlander Theatre: 0 mi
  • Helen Hayes Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • New York Times Building: 0.1 mi
  • Majestic Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Theater District: 0.1 mi
  • Broadhurst Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Shubert Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Condé Nast Building: 0.1 mi
  • Minskoff Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • John Golden Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Bernard B. Jacobs Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Booth Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Lower Plaza: 0.1 mi
  • Port Authority Bus Terminal: 0.2 mi
  • Music Box Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Imperial Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • St. James Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Gerald Schoenfeld Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Stephen Sondheim Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Town Hall: 0.2 mi
  • Ripley’s Believe It or Not! Times Square: 0.2 mi
  • Richard Rodgers Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Lyceum Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Madame Tussauds: 0.2 mi
  • Lunt-Fontanne Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Garment District: 0.2 mi
  • Bank of America Tower: 0.2 mi
  • Palace Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Brooks Atkinson Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Belasco Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Duffy Square: 0.3 mi
  • Ethel Barrymore Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Al Hirschfeld Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Samuel J. Friedman Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Bryant Park: 0.3 mi
  • Marquis Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Longacre Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Walter Kerr Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Cort Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Eugene O'Neill Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Lion Theatre: 0.3 mi

Dining

Restaurant
onsite

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (255)

Ratings and reviews for Hilton Times Square

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
255 out of 255
Amenities:
4.1
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.5
Room comfort:
4.5
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.1

97% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hilton Times Square

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
XJIM
Riverside,ca
Oct 1, 2012

Bad Experience

The hotel it self was ok but the staff were very rude and unfriendly. The wait staff in the bar and restaurante watched the baseball game instead of waiting on customers. The concierge could not be bothered answering any questions. I would never stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
1
Review of Hilton Times Square

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Hirv
MI
May 21, 2012

Not a Good Experience

Planned a traditional 5yr Birthday weekend for my 2 grandchildren and my 2 daughters. We found this Hilton very inconvenient based on such a smelly and crowded area. The lobby is located on the 15th floor and the elevators went out often. We had to take the stairs both up and down a couple of times with two small children and Grandma with bad knees...terrible!! Then some security guard yelled at us for using the fire stairs without a guide because of the liability which the hotel didn't provide. This ruined my weekend because of my knee pain from then on. We also requested 2 rooms close together and they couldn't accommodate us. My room key didn't work and had to get maintenance up to fix my door...couldn't check in until 6:00pm. All in all a very bad experience. I will never go back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
1
Value:
1
Review of Hilton Times Square

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
waterloo, iowa
Aug 31, 2009

anniversary

when checking in our room was not ready and was not available till about 6pm...during check=in we was then told we needed to pay a $600.00 deposit. we were also put in a non smoking room and was told that they couldnt put us in a smoking room till the next day because we went threw a third party to book our room..the next day we was then told we couldnt get a smoking room to the following day. then wednsday our anniversary they finally moved our room across the hall same floor our room had to full size beds which was a dissapointment for us on our anniversary and our room was not available till 8pm. this has been very frustated and an inconvenience to us which caused conflict between the 2 of us as a couple because i made the reservations. at times when i would ask when and if our room was ready i would get attitude from staff..i will never ever recommend hilton time square to any of my friends or family members ...my expierence there was horrible and i am not pleased.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of Hilton Times Square

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Muetz
Europe
Jan 2, 2012

in the middle of the theater district

very unfriendly staff. overpriced, especially the breakfast. Buy the breakfast on the street and eat it in your room. very close to Times Square.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Review of Hilton Times Square

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Buford, Georgia
Oct 12, 2009

Nice and good location

My co-worker (another lady and myself) and I went to New York for the weekend. We requested two beds, but could only get a kingsize. We kept requesting a change, but did not get one. I feel like they should have been able to make that change. They didn't seem to make an attempt to change it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

I have stayed further into Times Square at the Crowne Plaza....I like the closer location better.....but the Hilton was fine.

Review of Hilton Times Square

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Mission Viejo, CA
Sep 12, 2010

nice hotel, good location

The room was clean and the service very good. We had an awful trip on a shuttle from the airport. The Bellhop who took us up to our room the first night arranged for a town car for our return trip to the airport. It was cheaper, easier, and a lot more relaxing.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Time-saving tip: Long walk from hotel

Ask about the subway and how to navigate it. Saves time and money. Cabs are great but know where you are going and how far away it is or they will take you the long way and it will cost you. We had a small map and let the cab driver know where were going.

Review of Hilton Times Square

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Long Valley, NJ
Jan 18, 2011

HiltonTimesSquare-good but not exciting

Nice hotel. Nothing about it says "You have arrived", rather it is more functional [tired looking] than anything else. "Lobby" is on the 21st floor. People are very nice, but we were expecting more due to its name. I would say this is more not like a Hilton than others that I've stayed in.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Hilton Times Square

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Scottsdale, AZ
Mar 18, 2011

A decent stay for the price

This Hilton is right smack dab in the middle of the Theater district, so it's a great location. You have to navigate two elevators to get to your room, which is not bad because it does take you away from the commotion on 42nd st. Apart from location, the rooms have the usual Hilton amenities. The minus points are the following - very slow Internet connection for the $14/ a day we had to shell out, very limited counter space in the bathroom for two people to keep their toiletry items, no mirror in room - only one in the bathroom, and small TV screen for the size of the room, also with limited cable access. If these things don't bother you, then you are good to go with a great 35th floor view and lots to do as soon as you step out of the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
1
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Havana Club Cuban restaurant - short 8 minute walk - great food and drinks

Review of Hilton Times Square

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
nc
Dec 30, 2010

NY xmas

Good

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

shopping,dining

Review of Hilton Times Square

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Buford, Georgia
Oct 12, 2009

Nice and good location

My co-worker (another lady and myself) and I went to New York for the weekend. We requested two beds, but could only get a kingsize. We kept requesting a change, but did not get one. I feel like they should have been able to make that change. They didn't seem to make an attempt to change it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

I have stayed further into Times Square at the Crowne Plaza....I like the closer location better.....but the Hilton was fine.

Back to menu Return to top