Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Feb 21, 2016 Check-out: Feb 22, 2016

Grand Hyatt New York

4 stars
View map of 109 East 42nd St, Park Ave at Grand Central, NEW YORK, NY 10017

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
30 reviews
Post Cruise

Hotel staff very accomadating and courteous. Room very clean, comfortable, and spacious. Best and... See full review

  • Gilbert R.
  • Sep 22, 2015
Great Place and Location

I had a great trip. The staff was great. They held my bags for the time I needed them too. The food... See full review

  • Christina V.
  • May 1, 2015

The Grand Hyatt New York welcomes guests with its fabulous suites and artful atmosphere. Located in Midtown Manhattan, this sophisticated hotel features in-room spa services, grand ballrooms and state-of-the-art reception venues. Business professionals have access to more than 60,000 square feet of meeting space and top-notch equipment for conferences. The hotel boasts 1,300 modern guest rooms and suites with lavish amenities, hypoallergenic bedding, dual-line phones, oversize desks and designer bath products. Some rooms feature a parlor, spacious work areas, air purifying machines and flat-screen HDTVs. The hotel was built in 1919 and modernized over the years. Today, it features a sleek, metropolitan atmosphere that reflects the New York spirit.

Highlights

This luxury hotel offers guests access to a 24-hour fitness center, featuring brand name fitness equipment, free weights and built-in TVs for your convenience and entertainment. At New York Central Bar and Kitchen, you can enjoy a glass of wine or a cocktail. For exquisitely crafted drinks, head over to The Lounge at New York Central. Guests can find snacks and gourmet foods at the Market, a shopping venue located in the lobby of Grand Hyatt. Nearby attractions include the United Nations headquarters, Central Park, Times Square and Grand Central Terminal. The hotel offers easy access to buses and subways, making it easy to explore the city at any time.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Grand Hyatt New York also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Hotel Map

40.7521 -73.9763
Nearby airports
La Guardia Airport, (LGA), 8.00, MI, E; Newark Intl Airport, (EWR), 17.00, MI, SW; John F. Kennedy Intl Airport, (JFK), 16.20, MI, SE;
Area description
City Center

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
04:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for Grand Hyatt New York

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
30 out of 30
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.5
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.9

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Grand Hyatt New York

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Steven A.
Friends
N/A
Feb 10, 2015

Good staff

Lack good art on walls. Food at market place reasonably priced.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Friends

Dining tip: In Hotel

Take a trip when it is warmer. Bad press, Media hype, has shaded the New York experience. It is my opinion the city is a friendly place.

Review of Grand Hyatt New York

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
black barbie
Couples
USA
Jan 2, 2009

Great Location

The Grand Hyatt has a Grand Entrance, but once you get to your room, big disappointment...small room, no comfort seating area, no counter space in the bathroom, no personality.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Couples

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

1. Next to Grand central station, central to all attractions. 2. 41ST & Lexington - great breakfast at this Metro location.

Review of Grand Hyatt New York

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Mumu
Friends
Tempe
Feb 9, 2015

New York trip

I have never heard it cost money to get hot water for drinking. The room wont be cleaned even we call it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of Grand Hyatt New York

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
matera
Family
delray,florida
Oct 5, 2011

I am a Gold Hyatt member since 1983

thr hotel is on remodelation, so is right to be as it is now. The room cleanliness is defficient, the bath tub we had to clean it before using it. they forgot to put toilet paper and we had to call twice. This is really different, Hyatt was always a very clean and nice place to stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Family

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

lack of yellow cabs, if it is rainning

Review of Grand Hyatt New York

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Rikke
Family
Grand Hyatt, new York
May 2, 2011

Fine hotel but expensive service

The hotel is located very central, it's nice and the rooms are nice and clean. We got an ok price [...] But I must say that every extra service is way too expensive: Internet is plus 10 dollars per day, the so-called "market" at the hotel has restaurant-prices but rude service. And the restaurant charge you for tips without telling you (my Danish parents payed 20% tip for their breakfast because they did not see that it was included in their bill - and nobody told them).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Grand Hyatt New York

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
basics14
Single
Chicago
Oct 10, 2010

Not enough for the money

I can't believe this had a 4 star rating. It was average at beat,smelled like smoke and had a tiny bathroom. Jack hammers in the morning and the cleaning lady came in twice and finally I got out to let her come in and 3 hourds later still dirty. I had to leave again. Not even close to what I am used to. It was more like a Holiday Inn. The lobby makes you think the room will be special. One good thing is it is close to Grand Central so transporatation is easy.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Single

Review of Grand Hyatt New York

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Bay Area traveler 1
Couples
San Francisco
Feb 19, 2014

Amazing

Goregous.. Loved our stay. We highly recommend this hotel to anyone. Remodeled and trendy.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Grand Hyatt New York

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Reany Beany
Family
Gasport, New York
Jul 28, 2014

Great Mother Daughter Weekend

We had a wonderful time, very comfortable, I would only have one bad thing to add..the shower handle came off and landed on my foot in room 1644, left a good bruise but otherwise everything was excellent.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Wear comfortable shoes.

Review of Grand Hyatt New York

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
1115Lisa
Single
Rochester, Ny
Nov 21, 2014

Wow! What a reunion.

Walking into the lobby was spectacular. Many staff members were readily seen and helpful. They were polite, but not fake. Check-in and -out were quick and easy. My room was comfortable. Thank you.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Single

Time-saving tip: In Hotel

Get a taxi back to the airport. It cost more but took less time and stress than Airlink shuttle from the airport to the hotel.

Review of Grand Hyatt New York

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ana m
Family
Ft. myers, Florida
Dec 1, 2014

Family weekend

We went for thanksgiving weekend hotel was very clean and close to shops and subways walking distance to attractions

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Lots of places to shop

Back to menu Return to top