Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 23, 2014 Check-out: Dec 24, 2014

Grand Hyatt New York

4 stars
109 East 42nd St, Park Ave at Grand Central, NEW YORK, NY 10017
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
231 reviews
Great hotel

Hotel was great. Room was a little small but still a great deal for the price. Are was great next... See full review

  • Adriana58
  • Oct 20, 2014
Grand Central

This is a no-brainer if you're taking the train into the city. Super convenient, adjoining Grand... See full review

  • JDtele
  • Oct 5, 2014
With more than 1,300 feature-packed rooms and personalized service, the Grand Hyatt New York epitomizes the quality that the Hyatt Hotels Corporation is famed for. Enjoy exquisite farm-to-table fare with Western European panache at the New York Central restaurant, which includes a self-service wine gallery, or grab a quick bite to eat at Market, the 24-hour grab-and-go snack bar in the lobby. Special sculptures designed by artist Jaume Plensa greet you in the lobby of the Grand Hyatt New York, and guests can book a View Room to enjoy the architecture of the city and the tiny cars and people below.
Key facts
  • 1,306 guestrooms
  • 43 suites
  • 60-square-feet of conference/event space
  • Gym
  • Restaurants and cafes: New York Central, Market, The Lounge at New York Central
  • Bureau de change and ATM
  • In-room spa services
  • YogaAway
  • 24-hour fitness complex
  • Valet parking
  • Concierge
Neighborhood
Built on East 42nd Street and well connected to Grand Central Terminal, the Grand Hyatt offers a convenient Midtown East location. Luxury boutiques can be found on nearby Madison Avenue or Fifth Avenue, while the exotic scent of international foods lingers in the air of Times Square's Restaurant Row. Everything from French Le Rivage to Italian Fiorentina and Japanese Oyishi Sushi is available to visitors. All major subway lines are accessible at Grand Central Terminal, so it's easy to plan excursions to Ellis Island and the Statue of Liberty from the Hyatt.
Hints and tips
Find tickets for Broadway musicals, museums and other locations and events throughout the city at the theater and tour desk.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Grand Hyatt New York Rooms

Business Plan
Description not provided
Concierge
For an additional $100, guests receive access to exclusive private floor and Grand Club Lounge service such as continental breakfast, coffee and snacks, as well as evening cocktails. Club lounge is open from Monday to Sunday. 1 King Bed only.
Deluxe
1 King or 2 Double beds
Deluxe
Oversized, corner guestroom with contemporary theme. Features flat panel LCDs, pillow top mattresses. Geneva Sound System iPod docking station, marble showers and June Jacobs bath products.
Standard
Spacious room with contemporary theme featuring flat panel LCDs, pillow top mattresses, Geneva sound system with iPod docking station, marble showers and June Jacobs bath products. As part of the hotel's 2011 $130 million complete renovation, each room f

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Executive level
24 hour security
FEMA approved
Activities
Fitness Center
Exercise gym
Golf
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Continental breakfast
Restaurant
Lounge
Coffee shop
Room service
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Laundry service
Express check in
Express checkout
Childcare Service
Concierge desk
Laundry/Valet services
ATM/Cash machine
Nursery for children
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Barber shop
Barber/Beauty shop
Porters
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Video checkout
Copy service
Currency exchange
Overhead projector
Audio visual equipment
Projector
White board
Conference suite
Computer rental
Easel
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Accessible rooms
Accessible parking
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Cordless phone
Safe
Phone with speaker
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Free newspaper
Heated guest rooms
Hairdryer in room
Outlet adapters
Fire alarm with light
Turndown service
Cribs available
In room movies
Temperature control
Electronic door locks
Iron
Ironing board
International direct dial
Smoke detectors
Sprinklers in rooms
Bath tub

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Grand Hyatt New York also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5

Hotel Map

40.7521 -73.9763
Nearby airports
La Guardia Airport, (LGA), 8.00, MI, E; Newark Intl Airport, (EWR), 17.00, MI, SW; John F. Kennedy Intl Airport, (JFK), 16.20, MI, SE;
Area description
City Center

Nearby points of interest

  • Grand Central Station: 0.1 mi
  • MetLife Building: 0.1 mi
  • Chrysler Building: 0.1 mi
  • Daily News Building: 0.2 mi
  • NY Public Library: 0.3 mi
  • Murray Hill: 0.3 mi
  • Ford Foundation Building: 0.4 mi
  • Lord & Taylor: 0.4 mi
  • Pierpont Morgan Library: 0.4 mi
  • Saks Fifth Avenue: 0.4 mi
  • Ralph Bunche Park: 0.4 mi
  • Japan Society Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • Bryant Park: 0.4 mi
  • American Academy of Dramatic Arts: 0.4 mi
  • International Building: 0.4 mi
  • Grand Central Station: 0.1 mi
  • MetLife Building: 0.1 mi
  • Chrysler Building: 0.1 mi
  • Daily News Building: 0.2 mi
  • NY Public Library: 0.3 mi
  • Murray Hill: 0.3 mi
  • Ford Foundation Building: 0.4 mi
  • Lord & Taylor: 0.4 mi
  • Pierpont Morgan Library: 0.4 mi
  • Saks Fifth Avenue: 0.4 mi
  • Ralph Bunche Park: 0.4 mi
  • Japan Society Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • Bryant Park: 0.4 mi
  • American Academy of Dramatic Arts: 0.4 mi
  • International Building: 0.4 mi
  • Robert Moses Playground: 0.4 mi
  • Diamond District: 0.4 mi
  • Nintendo World Store New Yok: 0.4 mi
  • Cathedral of St. Patrick: 0.5 mi
  • NBC Studios: 0.5 mi
  • Bank of America Tower: 0.5 mi
  • Rockefeller Center: 0.5 mi
  • Belasco Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • United Nations Headquarters: 0.5 mi
  • Tudor City: 0.5 mi
  • East Side: 0.5 mi
  • GE Building: 0.5 mi
  • Town Hall: 0.5 mi
  • Stephen Sondheim Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Citicorp Center: 0.5 mi
  • Radio City Music Hall: 0.5 mi
  • The King's College: 0.6 mi
  • Lever House: 0.6 mi
  • Condé Nast Building: 0.6 mi
  • Paley Park: 0.6 mi
  • Lower Plaza: 0.6 mi
  • Lyceum Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Museum of Modern Art (MOMA): 0.6 mi
  • Cort Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Museum of Television and Radio: 0.6 mi
  • Theater District: 0.6 mi
  • Taipei Gallery: 0.6 mi
  • Herald Square: 0.6 mi
  • Century Building: 0.6 mi
  • Paine Webber Art Gallery: 0.6 mi

Dining

New York Central
New York Central, the new restaurant of Grand Hyatt New York, features a diverse menu inspired by the flavors of Western Europe. Chef Christian Ragano joins New York Central from Chicago's famed NoMi Restaurant. The restaurant features a stunning custom c
Market
24 hour Grab n' Go Market.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
04:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (231)

Ratings and reviews for Grand Hyatt New York

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
231 out of 231
Amenities:
3.9
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.7
Value:
3.8

87% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Grand Hyatt New York

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Paddington Bear
Business
UK.
Jan 14, 2014

Dissappointed

This hotel is SO impersonal and chaotic that you might as well be in Grand Central Station next door. I found the greeting and check in cursory and had I not have booked a Club room, I would have checked out after one night. I did move my room to the correct floor but it took ages for anyone to respond to my request although the guy who eventually organised the move was apologetic. I have stayed in Grand Hyatt Hotels all over the world and this was the worst experience I have ever had. Even the Concierge was disinterested and unhelpful. If you want a central location in New York and almost a complete lack of service, this is for you!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Long walk from hotel

Go to the Meat Packing district where there are lots of Boutiques offering different merchandise than the chain stores. Also has the upmarket shops, eg.,Gucci, Ralph Lauren and most of the big names in retail. The area is compact and easy to get around with lots of cafes and restaurants. Much more if a village atmosphere.

Review of Grand Hyatt New York

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Narumon
Business
London
Feb 15, 2014

We found bed bugs

I was so disappointed to find bed bugs in the room. They bit me all over the body. I went down to the manager to complain and they changed my room with no apologies. They also promised to call a pest control company to spray my luggage, since I was afraid the bugs might have gotten inside. For 3 days they never came. I pointed that out to the manager only to get an annoyed expression. Obviously they were aware but prefer to put the health of the customers at risk in order not to admit they have an infestation problem. I would have never expected that from the Hyatt.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

Highly disappointed

Review of Grand Hyatt New York

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Narumon
Business
London
Feb 15, 2014

BED BUGS galore

Horrible experience. Found a room plenty of bed bugs. Asked the manager to change the room, they seemed to be aware of the problem, but totally indifferent. Shameful for a Hyatt chain hotel. Does the Sanitation Department never visit them? Does Hyatt never train customer service and courtesy? I am very disappointed

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Grand Hyatt New York

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
MJJ Fan James
Business
Columbus, Ohio
Apr 18, 2014

Not so grand

The first room that I went to was slightly dirty until I flipped the duvet cover over and their was blood on the underside. I got a new room that had long blond hair all over the bathroom. I took pictures of both rooms. After getting accusatory looks from the desk, the manager took me to another room. It was acceptable, but not pristine. To top it off I had an early shuttle to the airport and left my gold cross necklace in the room. I only take it off to go to bed. I called and the lost and found department said they would look. After an hour later, I got a call back saying they didn't find it, but the maid hadn't been there. I asked to be contacted after the maid returned, and I never heard from them again, and future voicemails left were never returned. I don't plan a return visit to the NOT SO grand hyatt.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Grand Hyatt New York

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Shanghai Wang
Business
Shanghai, China
May 2, 2012

They didn't even clean my room!

My room wasn't not cleaned for the second day of my stay. They promised to have the manager to call me the next day morning. No body did. I went to the lobby mentioned it to the manager. He didn't do anything to me.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Grand Hyatt New York

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
CHARLES MONT
Business
NY,NY
Oct 3, 2013

HORRIBLE HORRIBLE HORRIBLE HORRIBLE --WORST EXPERIENCE OF MY LIFE

THIS WAS BY FAR THE WORST EXPERIENCE OF MY LIFE FROM CHECKING IN THERE WAS NO ONE AT THE FRONT DESK AND WHEN SOMEONE 15MINS SHOWED UP HE WAS RUDE AND OBNOXIOUS THEN CHECKED US INTO THE WRONG ROOM , WHICH WHEN I CALLED THE FRONT DESK WE CALLED 3X TIMES BEFORE ANY ANSWERED , LONG AND SHORT EVERYONE I SPOKE TO INCLUDING THE MNGR WHO TRIED TO NOT SPEAK WITH US AS WE HEARD THEM SPEAKING BEHIND A DOOR 2FT AWAY SAYING THAT HE WASNT AVAILABLE .I INSISTED ON SPEAKING TO HIM AND SHOULDNT OF BOTHERED BECAUSE THE HORRIBLE EXPERIENCE CONTINUED. I WOULD NEVER RECCOMMEND ANYONE HAVING A PET STAY THERE ......NEVER EVER EVER AGAIN

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Grand Hyatt New York

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
East Bay, California
Oct 15, 2010

Dirty Rooms & Extra Charges

My boyfriend and I went away for a weekend in NY and decided to stay at the Grand Hyatt because it was rated 4 stars and close to a lot of attractions. The hotel was nice and so were the guest services however our room was disgusting! The bathroom looked like it had not been cleaned in a long time...there was shaven hair embedded into the shower floor and in the cracks along with mold (we had to wear flip flops). The bathroom vanity on the wall was dirty with water rings and dust. The glasses they provided had dried food bits in them and there was a huge hole in the wall that was very poorly patched up. The delux room was super small but that was expected since it is New York after all. The hotel was booked at 102% capacity so there was no way to switch to a different room. Not to mention the lady who checked us in told us that upon arrival and kind of laughed at the fact that some reservations were going to be turned away due to over-booking. We paid nearly $900 for two nights (Thurs-Fri) and feel like we should have stayed at a 2 star hotel because that's what we got. To top it all off I get home and check my bank account to find an additional fee of $716 that was charged to my account. According to the Hyatt it was a mistake and now I have to wait 2-5 business days to get a refund. This place is a joke and we wish we would've stayed elsewhere...maybe it was just bad luck for us?! New York City was awesome but our hotel...not so much!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Empire State Building, Times Square, 5th Ave, Rockefeller Center, Central Park & Grand Central Station all within walking distance!

Review of Grand Hyatt New York

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Juan, PR
Jul 30, 2011

Nightmare at Grand Hyat NYC

Terrible experience!!! One pretty expensive blouse was stolen from our room. It was on a laundry bag and someone looked inside it and took it. The staff couldn't care less about it and made nothing to resolve the incident. Also, the water heater broke down and when it was fixed, it came back like chocolate. The staff didn't make the guests aware of this situation and many of us took a shower under this condition.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Grand Hyatt New York

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
ikamy
Business
chiberia
Apr 28, 2014

the Hyatt NOT so Grand

We stayed at this hotel because of its proximity to the sights and train. The stay was short, and it was OK overall. The bed was awful, it sunk in the middle and felt like a ton of people had slept in it. Next trip to New York, we will not stay at the Grand Hyatt.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Grand Hyatt New York

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Ziortza
Business
Spain
Apr 29, 2014

Dissapointing staying

I stayed for five nights. The second day I told them i could not sleep because i had had a severe back surgery and the mattress Was too soft. The recepcionist suggested me to either sleep on the floor or buy muselina a wooden board to put under my mattress. On the third day I asked to speak to a manager and he told me to not worry and that by the afternoon i would have a board under my mattress. I went back to the hotel ant talked to the housekeeping to see why they have not done anything yet. They repliedthey knew nothing but would soon call me back. Two hours later i called again, had to explain everything over and finally I Was sent a new matress which Was far better. The thing is that I had to sleep very badly for 3 days due to incompetence and negligence.They actually had new mattresses in stock. When I díd the check out the receptionist dared to tell me that I had had at léast two nights of good sleep.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top