Dylan Hotel

3 stars
52 E. 41st St., New York, NY 10017
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
82 reviews
Exellent locations, clean room

Excellent location, room was clean, and the staff was friendly. See full review

  • fernandinho
  • Jun 9, 2014
Nice, convenient hotel

The Dylan is located in the perfect spot if you are stuck in the city for the night (as I was) and... See full review

  • Super Sailor 22
  • Mar 16, 2014
The Dylan Hotel for The Perfect Midtown Manhattan Hotel Location Located in the city's vibrant core in midtown Manhattan, the best of New York City is just outside our front door. We're only a short walk from Grand Central Station, Times Square, Central Park, Rockefeller Center, Empire State, Fifth Avenue Shopping and the great restaurants of Manhattan. Only a few minutes away from New York's Jacob Javits Convention Center Surrounded by excitement. Cradled in comfort. That's what a stay at the Dylan Hotel in New York City is all about.
Dylan's interiors, by Jeffrey Beers, mark a deliberate departure from both the too stark and overly hip designs prevalent in the high-end boutique market, all in the 107 rooms of the hotel. Beers has created a timeless look for the property that redefines opulence for a new age while preserving the landmark-quality architecture of the 1903 Beaux-Arts structure.
The hotel features rich tones like amethyst, jade, emerald, opal and amber. Fabrics are soft and luxurious. The grandeur of the Dylan's public areas is evident from the moment one passes through the entryway.
Please Note: ID or passport and a credit card are required at check in as a guarantee.

Dylan Hotel Rooms

Executive Room
With some of our rooms having 11-foot ceilings, the guest rooms feel more spacious than the average Manhattan hotel room. Warm white and pale-blue walls, deep amethyst and steel-blue carpeting, sapphire taffeta drapes and custom, ebony-stained furniture combine to create a tranquil environment. In addition to the Luxury room amenities the Executive rooms offer coffee makers with complimentary coffee and tea, complimentary USA Today delivered to the room and a welcome amenity upon arrival.
Luxury Room
Each of our rooms offers indulgent comfort and sophisticated luxury. Crisp white bed linens, newly fluffed feather pillows and Italian Carrara marble baths. In room amenities include two-line telephones with dataport, voice mail, D.I.D private line service, and high speed internet access, bathrobes, slippers, work desk area with lamp, in-room safe, refreshment center and more.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA) compliant
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Public areas wheelchair accessible for disabled
Wheelchair accessible elevators

Hotel Map

40.7519 -73.9793
Area served
New York, NY.
Nearby airports
20 miles from Kennedy International Airport, 15 miles from La Guardia International Airport and 25 miles from Newark International Airport.
Area description
Located downtown, main tourist area.

Nearby points of interest

  • Grand Central Station: 0.1 mi
  • NY Public Library: 0.1 mi
  • MetLife Building: 0.2 mi
  • Lord & Taylor: 0.2 mi
  • Pierpont Morgan Library: 0.2 mi
  • Chrysler Building: 0.2 mi
  • Murray Hill: 0.3 mi
  • Bryant Park: 0.3 mi
  • American Academy of Dramatic Arts: 0.3 mi
  • Daily News Building: 0.3 mi
  • Bank of America Tower: 0.3 mi
  • Belasco Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Diamond District: 0.4 mi
  • Town Hall: 0.4 mi
  • Stephen Sondheim Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Grand Central Station: 0.1 mi
  • NY Public Library: 0.1 mi
  • MetLife Building: 0.2 mi
  • Lord & Taylor: 0.2 mi
  • Pierpont Morgan Library: 0.2 mi
  • Chrysler Building: 0.2 mi
  • Murray Hill: 0.3 mi
  • Bryant Park: 0.3 mi
  • American Academy of Dramatic Arts: 0.3 mi
  • Daily News Building: 0.3 mi
  • Bank of America Tower: 0.3 mi
  • Belasco Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Diamond District: 0.4 mi
  • Town Hall: 0.4 mi
  • Stephen Sondheim Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • The King's College: 0.4 mi
  • Saks Fifth Avenue: 0.4 mi
  • Nintendo World Store New Yok: 0.4 mi
  • Ford Foundation Building: 0.4 mi
  • International Building: 0.4 mi
  • Condé Nast Building: 0.4 mi
  • NBC Studios: 0.5 mi
  • Lower Plaza: 0.5 mi
  • Herald Square: 0.5 mi
  • Rockefeller Center: 0.5 mi
  • Theater District: 0.5 mi
  • Cathedral of St. Patrick: 0.5 mi
  • GE Building: 0.5 mi
  • Lyceum Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Macys: 0.5 mi
  • Koreatown, Manhattan: 0.5 mi
  • Ralph Bunche Park: 0.5 mi
  • New Victory Theater: 0.5 mi
  • Nederlander Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Radio City Music Hall: 0.5 mi
  • Cort Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • American Airlines Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Manhattan Mall: 0.5 mi
  • Minskoff Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Ford Center For The Performing Arts: 0.5 mi
  • Foxwoods Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Palace Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Robert Moses Playground: 0.6 mi
  • Taipei Gallery: 0.6 mi
  • Japan Society Gallery: 0.6 mi

Dining

Benjamin Steakhouse
Step in to the warmth and coziness of rich woods, vaulted ceilings and a crackling fireplace to compliment your dining indulgences. This 1903 beaux-arts structure - completely and meticulously restored to its original grandeur - is home to Benjamin Steak House and the Dylan Hotel. Originally built as the Chemist Club lecture hall, generations of family, friends and neighbors have all stopped in to enjoy great food and libations in a warm and cozy atmosphere. Celebrated as one of New York's finest dining rooms - your senses will be fully aroused by our Chef's culinary expertise. Our mezzanine lounge has been a local favorite for intimate gatherings and memorable occasions.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by CheapTickets

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (82)

Ratings and reviews for Dylan Hotel

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
82 out of 82
Amenities:
3.4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
3.8
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.8

85% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Dylan Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Mucca203
Connecticut
Aug 1, 2010

Great Style!

We are former New Yorkers and return to the city often for short, weekend visits. This was our first stay at the Dylan and we will definitely return. We are world travelers who have stayed in a ton of hotels and we highly recommend this hotel. First, the location was very convenient for us. Since you are one block from Grand Central, you can easily hop on the subway. This is a much nicer location than the Marriott, Radisson, Double-Tree, etc that are all in the area of Lex and 49th street. There are fewer tourists milling about and it's a much nicer and quieter block to be on. There is valet parking. The cost was the same as the garage around the corner ($45 + tax for one night) but it was great to have the valet service. Staff was nice. A drink at the Benjamin downstairs was enjoyable. Room was small but very well-designed. Bathroom was lovely. Our window was on an interior side -- meaning there was a building across the way, not a view of the street. While not picturesque, it was very quiet. Right down the street, there's the Library Hotel which has a nice-looking street level bar (didn't go there) and also a fabulous roof-top bar, which we did go to. Only minor problems of the stay -- tap water wasn't cold and our smoke alarm battery started to go in the middle of the night causing it to chirp. They tended to the alarm within minutes. They said they would fix the water problem.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

If you have never been to Grand Central Station, it's a block away. Check out the food hall on the ground floor, the Transit Museum Gift Shop, and the downstairs food court if you need a quick meal. And, of course, don't forget to look up at the ceiling. The tiny black square in the corner is the last remnant of what it looked like before they cleaned it up years ago.

Review of Dylan Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Not Provided
Nov 11, 2009

Clean modern comfortable hotel,

Clean modern comfortable hotel, well located close to 5th Ave and Grand Central station. I didnt eat in the hotel but they seem to have a good restaurant. There are plenty of options to eat close to the hotel. There also seems to be good bus services to the airports which are convenient to the hotel - I used the bus service to Newark - which left from about 100 metres down the street. I would stay at this hotel again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
No rating
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Dylan Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Texas Joe
Texas
Nov 4, 2009

Dylan was a dissapointment

There was a construction project right outside our window and the noise was horrible right up until one oclock in the morning. The staff should have offered us a room off the street but they only wanted to let us know that the construction was not their fault. This is a terrible lapse of management, the hotel was not full at all and it says that management is not at all attendent to guests. We will never stay at the Dylan again. We have traveled to NYC often over the last 12 years and intend to continue doing so but have learned a hard lesson on relying on the hotel management to be aware of the local conditions.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Pershing Square is a nice friendly restaurant.

Review of Dylan Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
NJTravel
Bridgewater, NJ
Oct 30, 2009

Great Midtown Location

Love the location- Lots of noise though with construction outside all night long. Rooms are adequately sized but not glamorous- may just be their "style".

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Take the subway instead of a cab.

Review of Dylan Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
NYC family traveler
Texas
Oct 21, 2009

Great location for the price

The rooms are small but adequate. The service was good. My TV had issues but they corrected them. Heating was quiet. European style accessories.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
1
Value:
2
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

NY Library near by...buses to museums very accessible.

Review of Dylan Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Philip
Not Provided
Aug 26, 2009

Good location... 2 min walk to

Good location... 2 min walk to Grand Central train/subway. Very modern hotel, good facilities and great service. Reasonably priced for Manhattan.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
No rating
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Dylan Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MooboyNYC
PA
Aug 16, 2009

Spacious room, nice staff, but...

Friendly and helpful staff, spacious rooms with high ceilings, and complementary Internet access made this a pleasant stay for us. The hotel has an interesting history a nice motif, and lots of good ideas, but falls short on the details, though most of the details didn't affect us much. The bathroom was large, but the marble bathroom floor was dangerously slippery, both when dry and wet. The phones didn't work (had cell), the smoke alarm was chirping (they removed it), the iron didn't work, knobs on furniture were loose, only one bar of soap (we could deal), only two pillows (they provided more on request), one towel hanger missing.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of Dylan Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Lyndall
Not Provided
Jul 24, 2009

We found all the reception staff

We found all the reception staff very helpful and courteous. The dining room staff were excellent the first day and slack the next. Liked the room but the bathroom was cramped.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
No rating
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Dylan Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Jo-anne
Not Provided
Jul 24, 2009

Was great & central to the subway

Was great & central to the subway system. Quiet & good sized room on 14th floor. If only one managable discomfort was the bed, very soft & no bedboards available at the hotel. Would next time contact hotel to prearrange one (borrow from another hotel). Would stay there again!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
No rating
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Dylan Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Lynn D.
Chicago, IL
Jul 20, 2009

Great Experience, Great Location

After Orbitz booking, I checked at other sites & was a little worried about this hotel. I had read bad reviews about the AC not working in the summer. Turns out it was only in the lobby. I shouldn't have worried! Each room had individual controls. Service people were great & helpful. Location was superb! From Grand Central Station, you have many, many options of different trains, so transportation was great. Also, the stop for buses going directly to JFK & LaGuardia are only 1/2 blk away. We had a fabulous time & found the hotel to be lovely. Not too fancy, but who wants to stay in the hotel if you go to NYC? We will stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Back to menu Return to top