Rate based on Check-in: Apr 27, 2014 Check-out: Apr 28, 2014

Crowne Plaza TIMES SQUARE MANHATTAN

4 stars
1605 BROADWAY,AT 49TH STREET, AT 49TH STREET, NEW YORK CITY, NY 10019
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.2
out of 5
383 reviews
The location was excellent

The Crown Plaza Hotel was located in Times Square. It was convenient to great restaurants and... See full review

  • Angela happily retired
  • Feb 23, 2014
Weekend on Broadway

The location was outstanding for walking to the broadway shows and dinner. See full review

  • LDS1
  • Nov 17, 2013
An ideal stay for theater lovers and shoppers in the Big Apple
Benefitting from an $85 million renovation, the Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan has a range of modern amenities and is ideally situated near the shops for anyone wanting to indulge in some shopping. Sleek curves and spacious rooms promote relaxation and entertainment is never far away.  A visit to the world-famous Broadway theaters is a must and first-class shopping on Fifth Avenue is just a stone’s throw from the hotel.  Radio City Music Hall is close by, while Central Park is the ideal spot to wind down with a pleasant stroll.  Add to all of this the hotel’s dining facilities and amenities for a pleasant stay in New York City.
Reasons to stay
  • Close to entertainment venues and Manhattan nightlife
  • Venue for banquets, large dining and cocktail gatherings.  Specialists in wedding planning and can host up to 550 for receptions
  • In-house services at the Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan include foreign currency exchange, ATM, gift shop, front desk, safety deposit box, room service, valet parking 
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan rooms
Rooms at the Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan offer impressive views over the Hudson River, Times Square or the rest of Manhattan. Suites, concierge level rooms, king and double bedded rooms are available.  ADA rooms are designed for easy access and comfort for the disabled. 
Things to do nearby
  • Central Park Zoo (1.2 mi/1.9 km)
  • Central Park (1.3 mi/2.8 km)
  • Metropolitan Museum of Art  (2mi/3.2 km)
  • El Museo Del Barrio (4 mi/6.4 km)
  • General Grant National Memorial (7 mi/11.2 km)

Amenities

General
Pet friendly
Ice machine
Activities
Children's activities
Tennis
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Maid service
Childcare Service
Concierge desk
ATM/Cash machine
In-Room Safe
Shops/Commercial services
Tour desk
Porters
FAX
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Overhead projector
White board
Parking
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Satellite TV
DVD player
Hairdryer in room
Ironing board

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Crowne Plaza TIMES SQUARE MANHATTAN also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Hotel Map

40.7607 -73.9846
Nearby airports
John F Kennedy International Airport, (JFK), 15.30, MI; Newark Liberty International Airport, (EWR), 30.00, MI; LaGuardia International Airport, (LGA), 9.50, MI;
Area description
Downtown, downtown

Nearby points of interest

  • Ambassador Theatre: 0 mi
  • Walter Kerr Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Marquis Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Longacre Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Eugene O'Neill Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Winter Garden Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Ethel Barrymore Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Duffy Square: 0.1 mi
  • Circle in the Square Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Brooks Atkinson Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Samuel J. Friedman Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Palace Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Lunt-Fontanne Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Gershwin Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Cort Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Ambassador Theatre: 0 mi
  • Walter Kerr Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Marquis Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Longacre Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Eugene O'Neill Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Winter Garden Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Ethel Barrymore Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Duffy Square: 0.1 mi
  • Circle in the Square Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Brooks Atkinson Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Samuel J. Friedman Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Palace Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Lunt-Fontanne Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Gershwin Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Cort Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Taipei Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • Richard Rodgers Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Equitable Center: 0.2 mi
  • August Wilson Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Gerald Schoenfeld Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Music Box Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Bernard B. Jacobs Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Booth Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Worldwide Plaza: 0.2 mi
  • Roseland: 0.2 mi
  • Lyceum Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Imperial Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Minskoff Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • John Golden Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • St. James Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Shubert Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Madame Tussauds: 0.2 mi
  • Broadhurst Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Majestic Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Al Hirschfeld Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Helen Hayes Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Paine Webber Art Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • Ripley’s Believe It or Not! Times Square: 0.3 mi
  • Lower Plaza: 0.3 mi
  • New Amsterdam Theater: 0.3 mi
  • Radio City Music Hall: 0.3 mi
  • Theater District: 0.3 mi
  • GE Building: 0.3 mi
  • Diamond District: 0.3 mi
  • Belasco Theatre: 0.3 mi

Dining

Brasserie 1605
One of the few restaurants overlooking Times Square, Brasserie 1605 presents classic American comfort dishes with a unique flair and exquisite quality. Miles away from the typical Times Square chain restaurant offerings, Brasserie 1605 offers a top tier
Ellen's Stardust Diner
Home of the World Famous Singing Waiters. Enjoy some of the best diner food in the city with singing waiters entertainment, good fun for all.
Virgil's BBQ
Virgil's, was the original New York City barbecue restaurant, and has evolved over the years to become a gathering place known for warm service and exceptional barbecued ribs, chicken, brisket, and pork. There is something for everyone at Virgil's, vegeta
La Masseria
Only a few steps away from the hotel, this restauarant specializes in Southern Italy cuisine.
Broadway 49 Bar and Lounge
Broadway 49 Bar & Lounge is the perfect spot for a quiet drink with clients or a pre-show get-together in New York City. Our hotel in Midtown has a smart, sleek lounge that offers classic and contemporary cocktails, seasonal drinks and creative lite fare.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (383)

Ratings and reviews for Crowne Plaza TIMES SQUARE MANHATTAN

Overall score

4.1 / 5
29 out of 383
Amenities:
3.9
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.8
Value:
3.6

86% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Crowne Plaza TIMES SQUARE MANHATTAN

Reviewer score

4
gymboree
Business
Toms River, New Jersery
Sep 16, 2013

Great Pick!!

If you are like me and like to have it all in once location this hotel is great. The hotel is connected to the AMA seminar building, making it very easy to get there in the morning when I am staying in NYC for seminars. Plus the hotel has a great gym. It is very convenient to not have to take the extra travel time to get to these locations and instead have more time to enjoy myself in the city. Also the staff has always been very helpful and friendly and the rooms are very comfy.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Crowne Plaza TIMES SQUARE MANHATTAN

Reviewer score

3
max czora
Business
grand island new york
Dec 18, 2012

disappointed is not the word

room was not clean. front desk was rude. the line to check in was long. Toilet backed up. parking was another 51.00. I was promised a view of times square, well it was barely a view. the shower was either very very hot. of cold cold cold. The people at the luggage handling were excellent. I was never told I would have to pay for parkint. actually I was told I could not park untill I told them I was a guest. Very very rude. too bad. I could have been nice. NOT

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Crowne Plaza TIMES SQUARE MANHATTAN

Reviewer score

3
Eltu
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Aug 25, 2012

Great staff, great location, average hotel.

Very nice and helpful staff. The concierge service is amazing. That was for the staff. The price tag is high for this very average hotel. My bathtub was very worn out. Not all rooms have a good view despite what they're advertising for. This hotel is ok. Just ok. Great staff, great location, average hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Tao's restaurant. Asian fusion food. Great food, beautiful place.

Review of Crowne Plaza TIMES SQUARE MANHATTAN

Reviewer score

4
DavidnDallas
Business
Dallas, Texas
May 21, 2012

Good room great location

Second time I have stayed there in the last month. Great service and location. Room was very comfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Great places to walk to for fun and people watching.

Review of Crowne Plaza TIMES SQUARE MANHATTAN

Reviewer score

4
DavidnDallas
Business
Dallas, Texas
Apr 3, 2012

Noisy construction work all night

Hotel was fine but building under construction nearby with heavy equipment that I could hear on the 37th floor kept me awake almost all night. They finally stopped working at 7am on Saturday morning. Guests need to be made aware of that before room is assigned.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Lots of things to do. Great food and people watching.

Review of Crowne Plaza TIMES SQUARE MANHATTAN

Reviewer score

4
UkePlayer
Business
Burlington, VT
Feb 10, 2012

Terrific Location!

The Crowne Plaza is a fine hotel in a terrific location. If you want to be in the heart of the city, you cannot do better than this. The corner room I had boasted terrific views of the city. I do have a couple of ways to make the stay better: 1) The faucet in the shower is weird, and it takes an unusually long time for the hot water to get there. The shower is fine once it heats up though. 2) The bedding consists of a comforter wrapped in several sheets. That's great because all is clean, but not so good for temperature control. If I had the comforter on I was too hot, with just a sheet I was too cold...tough to sleep. 3) This one is tough to change, but being in Times Square you receive a fair amount of street noise even on the 24th floor. Bring ear plugs!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Hit Starbucks for breakfast. It's less than half the cost of the hotel restaurant, and the food is fresh and good.

Review of Crowne Plaza TIMES SQUARE MANHATTAN

Reviewer score

5
ttsep1
Business
burgh
Jan 27, 2012

Great Hotel

Great hotel- Great location. Great staff. Stay here

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Crowne Plaza TIMES SQUARE MANHATTAN

Reviewer score

5
MikoInBangor
Business
Bangor, ME, USA
Jan 23, 2012

Great Experience, Love this Hotel

The value was impressive considering the location. Exceptional room, but also exceptional staff from the front desk to the bar. The front desk upgraded my room to concierge level to accommodate my early arrival for no charge. I got a corner room with curved window on the 44th floor overlooking the city. When an inebriated Dane sat in my chair in the bar area while I visited the rest room, the waiter quickly came over to offer assistance (and to call security if I liked, as he told me later). After the drunk left, I ordered another drink, but the waiter brought it "on the house." My room was always immaculate and I never saw the cleaning crew at all. They snuck in and out, keeping my room in order. I love this hotel, right in the theatre district, one short block from TCKTS.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Not Applicable

Wait until the line goes down for theatre tickets. I have found that most shows that go on sale were still available after the line went down at the TCKTS booth.

Review of Crowne Plaza TIMES SQUARE MANHATTAN

Reviewer score

4
jtntct
Business
nh
Dec 26, 2011

Holiday trip

It was nice, good location, the front desk said they would get us a cot for the room but it never arrived.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Crowne Plaza TIMES SQUARE MANHATTAN

Reviewer score

4
FGall
Business
Toronto, Ontario
Dec 5, 2011

The Big Apple

The hotel is located in the heart of New York city on Broadway where all the action is. Staff members were great, rooms were clean & best of all very spacious which is not common for midtown Manhattan.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

If you want to save money, try to dine at restaurants off of Broadway & Time Square area. Prices are much higher in this area compared to one or two streets over.

Back to menu Return to top