Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 13, 2014 Check-out: Jul 14, 2014

City Club Hotel

4 stars
55 W 44th Street, New York City, NY 10036
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
143 reviews
The absolute best

The City Club Hotel is small elegant establishment with the most polite, helpful, and efficient... See full review

  • the BGS
  • Jul 7, 2014
great location

excellent boutique hotel. in the middle of Times Square close to transportation.polite and... See full review

  • The Chis
  • Jul 7, 2014
Shaping the future of Hospitality in the spirit of the past, the City Club Hotel combines the scale and tradition of a private club with the first rate services and amenities of a modern luxury hotel. Located near the Theater District on vibrant West 44th Street between Fifth and Sixth Avenue and Avenue of the Americas, it offers the neighborhood and city nothing less than an urban cultural oasis for the refined traveler.
Hotelier Jeff Klein has remained ardently committed to preserving the relaxed privacy of the buildings former incarnation as a gentlemens club and private sanctuary for the citys power brokers. Dating from 1904, and nestled on the New York Citys Club Row. The seven-story, 65 room hotels discrete, elegant façade is in harmony with prestigious neighbors like the New York Yacht, Harvard and Penn Clubs. The intimate duplex lobby that incorporates a mezzanine guest lounge furthers the hotels twin themes of discretion and luxury.
The hotels interior designer, Jeffrey Bilhuber, regards the City Club as an important step in the evolution of his New American Classicism, a seductive mix of classic materials and simple forms utilized in a refreshing and inspired manner. The blend of familiar and innovative appeals to modernists and traditionalists alike, creating a continuity of style while nurturing a modern tradition.
Bilhubers emphasis on comfort and luxury is evident in every facet of the hotel, whose handsome guest rooms feature wall coverings simulating hand drawn plaster, Honduran mahogany, Frette bed linens, and down feather beds. The City Club Hotel also offers three Grand Duplex suites, each with their own private terrace. All accommodations contain voluminous chocolate marble and chrome bathrooms offering CO Bigelow bath products.

City Club Hotel Rooms

PETITE - ROOM
A comfortably spacious room with one full-size bed, smothered in feather down bedding. 195 sq. feet. Multi-line phone with voice mail, Complimentary wireless high-speed Internet access. CD/DVD/TV speakers, Frette robes, Bathrooms featuring voluminous chocolate-marble, C.O. Bigelow amenities. Minibar stocked with Dean & DeLuca delicacies.
QUEEN LUXE - ROOM
Airy open room with one queen-size feather down bed. Located on front or side of hotel , some with city views and ultra-suede daybed. 295 square feet. Multi-line phone with voice mail. Complimentary wireless high-speed Internet access. CD/DVD/TV speakers, Frette robes, bathrooms featuring voluminous chocolate-marble, C.O. Bigelow amenities. Minibar stocked with Dean & DeLuca delicacies.
KING LUXE - ROOM
Airy open room with ultra-suede daybed, one king-size feather down bed, located at the front or side of the hotel. Some with city views. 365 square feet. Multi-line phone with voice mail. Complimentary wireless high-speed Internet access. CD/DVD/TV speakers, Frette robes, bathrooms featuring voluminous chocolate-marble, C.O. Bigelow amenities. Minibar stocked with Dean & DeLuca delicacies.
LUXE DOUBLE DOUBLE - ROOM
Airy open room with ultra-suede daybed, two full-size feather down beds, located at the front of the hotel with city views. 365 sq. ft. Multi-line phone with voice mail. Complimentary wireless high-speed Internet access. CD/DVD/TV speakers, Frette robes, bathrooms featuring voluminous chocolate-marble, C.O. Bigelow amenities. Minibar stocked with Dean & DeLuca delicacies.

Amenities

  • Free internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Pet friendly
Elevators
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Doctor on call
Internet
Free internet
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Wheel chair access
Wheelchair accessible elevators
Visual emergency alarm for hearing impaired guest

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed City Club Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Hotel Map

40.7554 -73.9814
Area served
New York City
Nearby airports
LGA, JFK, EWR
Area description
Located on 44th Street between 5th and 6th Avenue in Midtown, steps fromt the theater district and 5th Avenue shopping.

Nearby points of interest

  • Belasco Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Bank of America Tower: 0.1 mi
  • Diamond District: 0.2 mi
  • Town Hall: 0.2 mi
  • Bryant Park: 0.2 mi
  • NY Public Library: 0.2 mi
  • Stephen Sondheim Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Nintendo World Store New Yok: 0.2 mi
  • Lower Plaza: 0.2 mi
  • Condé Nast Building: 0.2 mi
  • Lyceum Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • International Building: 0.2 mi
  • NBC Studios: 0.2 mi
  • Theater District: 0.3 mi
  • GE Building: 0.3 mi
  • Belasco Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Bank of America Tower: 0.1 mi
  • Diamond District: 0.2 mi
  • Town Hall: 0.2 mi
  • Bryant Park: 0.2 mi
  • NY Public Library: 0.2 mi
  • Stephen Sondheim Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Nintendo World Store New Yok: 0.2 mi
  • Lower Plaza: 0.2 mi
  • Condé Nast Building: 0.2 mi
  • Lyceum Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • International Building: 0.2 mi
  • NBC Studios: 0.2 mi
  • Theater District: 0.3 mi
  • GE Building: 0.3 mi
  • Rockefeller Center: 0.3 mi
  • Saks Fifth Avenue: 0.3 mi
  • Cort Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Grand Central Station: 0.3 mi
  • Lord & Taylor: 0.3 mi
  • MetLife Building: 0.3 mi
  • Palace Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Minskoff Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Taipei Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • Radio City Music Hall: 0.3 mi
  • New Victory Theater: 0.3 mi
  • Duffy Square: 0.3 mi
  • American Airlines Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Cathedral of St. Patrick: 0.3 mi
  • Foxwoods Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Ford Center For The Performing Arts: 0.3 mi
  • Bernard B. Jacobs Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Majestic Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Shubert Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Nederlander Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Helen Hayes Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Lunt-Fontanne Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Booth Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Ford Foundation Building: 0.4 mi
  • Music Box Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Broadhurst Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Ethel Barrymore Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Richard Rodgers Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Gerald Schoenfeld Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Brooks Atkinson Theatre: 0.4 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
N/A

Dining

db bistro moderne
db bistro moderne,from award-winning chef Daniel Boulud, is situated in the hotel lobby. The eatery serves its sought after French-American fare for breakfast, lunch and dinner, whilst also providing room service to hotel guests.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
0300
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by CheapTickets

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (143)

Ratings and reviews for City Club Hotel

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
143 out of 143
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.5
Room comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.2

92% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of City Club Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Kind of Picky
La Veta, CO
Mar 19, 2013

Great location

This is charming small intimate hotel. You won't bump into people or have to wait for an elevator as in larger NYC hotels. I spent 3 nights there. It is in an excellent location in midtown for shopping, museums and the theater district. Room 407 is unbelievably small with minimal closet space ( nowhere to hang a long coat except over the back of the only chair); The wallpaper looked as if it needed replacing. The first night I noticed a few holes in the linens, and towels were thin and worn. The A/C (required at all times) was noisy and constantly woke you up. The bed was very comfortable but not the pillows (large and lumpy). With that said, I would stay here again. All staff were friendly, always greeting you with a smile. The bathroom was large and well equipped. The hotel is quiet and you do not hear noise from neighboring rooms. As an extra bonus, warm chocolate chip cookies were delivered to your room nightly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of City Club Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jane in New York
Business
London
Jan 9, 2013

Business trip

I like this hotel which is well placed in NYC. I stayed there in 2009 and again 2013. In 2009 I had to change rooms twice (no window in one room and an aircon machine outside the door of the other. On this occasion the room had a noisy ventilator shaft outside the door and inside the room the patio door fitting was broken and it was very cold and the heater was extremely noisy. The staff were helpful but it does spoil a trip that one looks forward to. The hotel rooms do need some refurbishment. I would recommend the hotel to a friend but only to take the king rooms.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of City Club Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Debbyk
Michigan
Dec 28, 2012

nice hotel

It's comfortable. Great location with 5min walk to the time square!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of City Club Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anne Oman
Washington, D.C.
Dec 20, 2012

friendly helpful staff, central location

My daughter and I had booked a "petite" room, but the courteous people at the front desk instantly upgraded us to one with a queen bed, which was charming with a cozy but modern look, muted colors and soft lighting. Later, they turned down our bed and there were two warm chocolate chip cookies left for us. We were right around the corner from Rockefeller Center and fifth Avenue. Radio city was just a few blocks in the other direction. I also appreciated that they kept my bag for a few hours after we checked out so we could shop and see a show. The staff made everything easy and pleasant- and it was very affordable for Manhattan!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of City Club Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
ProHistorian
Annapolis, MD
Dec 17, 2012

Stellar for the price

We have stayed in a variety of places near City Club including a rather famous one right next door. City Club blows them all away for comfort and cleanliness. We did the queen suite and it was nicely sized with a large modern bathroom repleat with a pair of big comfy bathrobes. The carpets were perhaps a bit older, as was the cork flooring in the bath, but again, clean and comfortable (especially the cork!). The staff were all young but I ALWAYS saw two on duty and though experience wise they were not on par with a conceirge, they were cheerful, helpful and friendly. For the price, City Club is a winner in our book!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of City Club Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Duane H
Business
Boston, MA
Dec 14, 2012

Perfect location, hard bed

The hotel was nice enough. Staff were friendly and helpful. The room was larger than what I expected for a "petite". There were two queen beds in the room and both had rather hard mattresses. The A/C-heater console near the window, while operational, was ghetto-old.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of City Club Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Oracle Ken
Business
NJ
Dec 11, 2012

The staff couldn't have been nicer

I stayed just one night at the CC, but I will be back to stay again. The staff was professional, helpful, and left me with nothing but smiles.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of City Club Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Auntie Clause
Los Angeles, CA
Nov 25, 2012

Family meet up.

My husband and I traveled to New York for a quick get away and to meet my nephew who is going to school there. The hotel is perfectly located to shops, Times Square, Bryant Park and other New York highlights. i have been to New York several times, but it had been at least 5 years since the last time I was there. The room was small, but I'm not surprised. The bathroom was nice although I thought the inclusion of a bidet was unnecessary. Every evening there were 2 cookies left by the staff which was a nice touch.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Macy's day parade right at the corner.

Review of City Club Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Wakez
Business
Boston, MA
Oct 11, 2012

Charming hotel

Outstanding and helpful staff, lovely room with a terrace and a perfect location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of City Club Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
MCW11
Boston, Massachusetts
Sep 18, 2012

Last minute booking

Booked this hotel last minute and was very surprised at the low price. This hotel had everything I could have wanted in a great location

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Back to menu Return to top