Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Oct 26, 2014 Check-out: Oct 27, 2014

City Club Hotel

4 stars
55 W 44th Street, New York City, NY 10036
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.2
out of 5
116 reviews
great location and staff

I dont normally wtite reviews but I thought this hotel deserved it. Was expecting a very tiny room... See full review

  • matt tanner
  • Oct 17, 2014
What a find!

We liked everything about the hotel. About my only complaint was that our "view" was a fire escape... See full review

  • Ann in Indiana
  • Oct 15, 2014
Shaping the future of Hospitality in the spirit of the past, the City Club Hotel combines the scale and tradition of a private club with the first rate services and amenities of a modern luxury hotel. Located near the Theater District on vibrant West 44th Street between Fifth and Sixth Avenue and Avenue of the Americas, it offers the neighborhood and city nothing less than an urban cultural oasis for the refined traveler.
Hotelier Jeff Klein has remained ardently committed to preserving the relaxed privacy of the buildings former incarnation as a gentlemens club and private sanctuary for the citys power brokers. Dating from 1904, and nestled on the New York Citys Club Row. The seven-story, 65 room hotels discrete, elegant façade is in harmony with prestigious neighbors like the New York Yacht, Harvard and Penn Clubs. The intimate duplex lobby that incorporates a mezzanine guest lounge furthers the hotels twin themes of discretion and luxury.
The hotels interior designer, Jeffrey Bilhuber, regards the City Club as an important step in the evolution of his New American Classicism, a seductive mix of classic materials and simple forms utilized in a refreshing and inspired manner. The blend of familiar and innovative appeals to modernists and traditionalists alike, creating a continuity of style while nurturing a modern tradition.
Bilhubers emphasis on comfort and luxury is evident in every facet of the hotel, whose handsome guest rooms feature wall coverings simulating hand drawn plaster, Honduran mahogany, Frette bed linens, and down feather beds. The City Club Hotel also offers three Grand Duplex suites, each with their own private terrace. All accommodations contain voluminous chocolate marble and chrome bathrooms offering CO Bigelow bath products.

City Club Hotel Rooms

PETITE - ROOM
A comfortably spacious room with one full-size bed, smothered in feather down bedding. 195 sq. feet. Multi-line phone with voice mail, Complimentary wireless high-speed Internet access. CD/DVD/TV speakers, Frette robes, Bathrooms featuring voluminous chocolate-marble, C.O. Bigelow amenities. Minibar stocked with Dean & DeLuca delicacies.
QUEEN LUXE - ROOM
Airy open room with one queen-size feather down bed. Located on front or side of hotel , some with city views and ultra-suede daybed. 295 square feet. Multi-line phone with voice mail. Complimentary wireless high-speed Internet access. CD/DVD/TV speakers, Frette robes, bathrooms featuring voluminous chocolate-marble, C.O. Bigelow amenities. Minibar stocked with Dean & DeLuca delicacies.
KING LUXE - ROOM
Airy open room with ultra-suede daybed, one king-size feather down bed, located at the front or side of the hotel. Some with city views. 365 square feet. Multi-line phone with voice mail. Complimentary wireless high-speed Internet access. CD/DVD/TV speakers, Frette robes, bathrooms featuring voluminous chocolate-marble, C.O. Bigelow amenities. Minibar stocked with Dean & DeLuca delicacies.
LUXE DOUBLE DOUBLE - ROOM
Airy open room with ultra-suede daybed, two full-size feather down beds, located at the front of the hotel with city views. 365 sq. ft. Multi-line phone with voice mail. Complimentary wireless high-speed Internet access. CD/DVD/TV speakers, Frette robes, bathrooms featuring voluminous chocolate-marble, C.O. Bigelow amenities. Minibar stocked with Dean & DeLuca delicacies.

Amenities

  • Free internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Pet friendly
Elevators
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Doctor on call
Internet
Free internet
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Wheel chair access
Wheelchair accessible elevators
Visual emergency alarm for hearing impaired guest

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed City Club Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Hotel Map

40.7554 -73.9814
Area served
New York City
Nearby airports
LGA, JFK, EWR
Area description
Located on 44th Street between 5th and 6th Avenue in Midtown, steps fromt the theater district and 5th Avenue shopping.

Nearby points of interest

  • Belasco Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Bank of America Tower: 0.1 mi
  • Diamond District: 0.2 mi
  • Town Hall: 0.2 mi
  • Bryant Park: 0.2 mi
  • NY Public Library: 0.2 mi
  • Stephen Sondheim Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Nintendo World Store New Yok: 0.2 mi
  • Lower Plaza: 0.2 mi
  • Condé Nast Building: 0.2 mi
  • Lyceum Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • International Building: 0.2 mi
  • NBC Studios: 0.2 mi
  • Theater District: 0.3 mi
  • GE Building: 0.3 mi
  • Belasco Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Bank of America Tower: 0.1 mi
  • Diamond District: 0.2 mi
  • Town Hall: 0.2 mi
  • Bryant Park: 0.2 mi
  • NY Public Library: 0.2 mi
  • Stephen Sondheim Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Nintendo World Store New Yok: 0.2 mi
  • Lower Plaza: 0.2 mi
  • Condé Nast Building: 0.2 mi
  • Lyceum Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • International Building: 0.2 mi
  • NBC Studios: 0.2 mi
  • Theater District: 0.3 mi
  • GE Building: 0.3 mi
  • Rockefeller Center: 0.3 mi
  • Saks Fifth Avenue: 0.3 mi
  • Cort Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Grand Central Station: 0.3 mi
  • Lord & Taylor: 0.3 mi
  • MetLife Building: 0.3 mi
  • Palace Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Minskoff Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Taipei Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • Radio City Music Hall: 0.3 mi
  • New Victory Theater: 0.3 mi
  • Duffy Square: 0.3 mi
  • American Airlines Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Cathedral of St. Patrick: 0.3 mi
  • Foxwoods Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Ford Center For The Performing Arts: 0.3 mi
  • Bernard B. Jacobs Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Majestic Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Shubert Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Nederlander Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Helen Hayes Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Lunt-Fontanne Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Booth Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Ford Foundation Building: 0.4 mi
  • Music Box Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Broadhurst Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Ethel Barrymore Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Richard Rodgers Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Gerald Schoenfeld Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Brooks Atkinson Theatre: 0.4 mi

Dining

db bistro moderne
db bistro moderne,from award-winning chef Daniel Boulud, is situated in the hotel lobby. The eatery serves its sought after French-American fare for breakfast, lunch and dinner, whilst also providing room service to hotel guests.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
N/A

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
0300
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by CheapTickets

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (116)

Ratings and reviews for City Club Hotel

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
116 out of 116
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.5
Room comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.2

94% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of City Club Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Bladerunner11
Business
Minneapolis, MN
Jun 9, 2014

Great location

We enjoyed having a quiet room in a busy area of the city. Our view was a brick wall, but the quiet was worth the trade-off. Loved the chocolate chip cookie night cap! Comfy bed, great robes/supplies; dim lighting in bathroom. The location was great -- walking distance to many destinations. Staff was friendly and responsive.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of City Club Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Dennis Adriana
Business
Chihuahua, Mexico
May 29, 2014

Best working time ever

Had a few meetings near times square a day after memorial day so we took a couple of days to do some sight seeing and shopping, had an awesome time in NY, the hotel is in the best location, everything you need to do or see is right there, very clean, excellent service and staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Osteria al Doge is just one block from City Club hotel on 44th between 6th and 7th street, pretty good italian food, great service and good prices.

Review of City Club Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
FedeDream
Business
Italy
May 25, 2014

Good Stuff!

Good Location, nice and clean room,shower working well, good price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of City Club Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Denise Osborne
Business
Charlotte, NC
Apr 16, 2014

Unbelievable location...Awesome staff!

Great location...friendly staff...restaurant was way too expensive but diner down the street did the trick!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of City Club Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
AmandaM
Business
Toronto, Canada
Apr 9, 2014

Lovely stay

I really enjoyed the service and was impressed and surprised by the free welcome cookies. Room was really nice with lovely work desk and window - I got lucky with a free upgrade though (I was originally supposed to be in a "petite" so it's hard for me to say what I would have thought, had I not been in a better room). I love the size and charm of this hotel though. Feels more New York-y compared to the larger ones. Appreciated that the room was updated and clean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Just a block over you can get a few options for quick cheap eats that are healthy and it's right near Bryant Park and the gorgeous public library.

Review of City Club Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
The Senachie
Business
Florence AZ
Apr 8, 2014

Nice surprise

Excellent small hotel with a great loxation if this is qa first time visit to NY. Will use the Cury Club again

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Great resturant just a short walk from hotel The Flame 24 h0ur service nice portions and hgood servic bakue for yje ares

Review of City Club Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Love Shoes
Business
Roxboro NC
Apr 1, 2014

Great location,

We were allowed to check in early and received a free room upgrade. The queen room was larger than expected and the bathroom was larger and better than expected. The shower was to die for, roomy with excellent water pressure. The staff was helpful and courteous. We were within easy walking distance of the theaters restaurants, shopping and Central Park. I would certainly stay here again. Enjoyed the hotel restaurant very much.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of City Club Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
sonrisa412
Business
Pittsburgh
Jan 1, 2014

Comfort, clean and cookies!

My experience at this hotel was great. The room was clean and neat. The shower products were great and there were chocolate chip cookies on a plate sitting on the bed with a welcome card.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of City Club Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
The Perez
Business
San Juan, PR
Dec 13, 2013

Superb Hotel!!!

My wife and I have stayed in 7 or 8 different hotels in NYC through the past 20 years. This was our first time at the City Club and we agreed that it's the best that we have seen so far. The location is perfect, but what makes this hotel stand out is the cleanliness and the excellent service. Everyone at the hotel is ready to help you in any matter with a big smile. I'm particularly grateful to Mr. John Carroll at front desk who helped me out with a small request to make our visit very pleasant.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Not Applicable

Plan your dining activities ahead of time. You will find the Zaggat book in your hotel room with reviews and price points of every hotel in town. It's a very useful tool.

Review of City Club Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Expat1
Business
Dallas, TX
Dec 6, 2013

EXCELLENT BUT ONLY IF...!!!

I had stayed at the City Club Hotel before and was very impressed--great location, excellent service. This time I was given the single room I had actually reserved on line, and it was TINY--literally not even enough room for a chair, let alone a desk. That's the reason for the low mark for room comfort--I expect small single rooms but this would make even European singles look large. For one night in a pinch, maybe--but not for an extended stay. I held out for 2 nights, then upgraded to a still modest but at least comfortable room for the rest of my stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top