Rate based on Check-in: Aug 24, 2014 Check-out: Aug 25, 2014

Candlewood Suites NEW YORK CITY- TIMES SQUARE

3 stars
339 W. 39TH STREET, NEW YORK CITY, NY 10018
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
201 reviews
Will stay longer next time

I basically hotel hopped throughout my stay in NYC, landing at Candlewood on the last night. I... See full review

  • GuruStu
  • Jul 14, 2014
Great for a birthday getaway

I was visiting the city for my 25th birthday with my boyfriend andcandlewood suites was a greta... See full review

  • TSJUR
  • Jan 27, 2014
Midtown extended stay hotel with full kitchens near Times Square
Travelers on extended stays and families may especially appreciate the amenities at the The Candlewood Suites New York City Times Square. Fully equipped kitchens offer everything guests need to prepare their own meals. Washing machines and dryers are available for laundry. Business and fitness centers and free Internet access round out the amenities at The Candlewood Suites New York City Times Square. The location close to the Jacob K. Javitz Convention Center and Times Square is convenient for business and leisure travelers.
Highlights
  • Fully equipped kitchens
  • Free in-room high-speed Internet access
  • A few blocks from Times Square and the Jacob K. Javitz Convention Center
Location

The lights and action of Times Square are just a few blocks from the Candlewood Suites New York City Times Square. The famous New York theaters are right in the neighborhood.

Rooms

The 188 studio suites all have fully equipped kitchens with microwaves, refrigerators, dishwashers, stoves, toasters, dishes and pots and pans. Expect light walls, wood furniture and neutral bedding and curtains. In-room amenities at Candlewood Suites New York City Times Square include free Internet access, 32-inch flat-screen TVs and irons with ironing boards. Housekeeping is limited.

 

Features

The Candlewood Suites New York City Times Square has an on-site convenience store, business center and complimentary 24-hour fitness center. The property also offers parking/valet parking at an added charge. Washing machines and dryers are available.

Transportation
  • MTA Subway A, C, E lines at 42 St. - Port Authority
  • Penn Station
  • La Guardia Airport
  • Newark Liberty International Airport
  • John F. Kennedy International Airport
Attractions
  • Times Square
  • Theater District
  • Jacob K. Javits Convention Center
  • Madame Tussauds Wax Museum
  • Ripley's Believe It or Not
  • Bryant Park
Business
  • Business center with copying, faxing, printing, Internet access

Amenities

  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Free local telephone calls
Activities
Golf
Tennis
Services
Business center
Maid service
Guest laundromat
ATM/Cash machine
In-Room Safe
Porters
FAX
Parking
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Satellite TV
DVD player
Microwave
Temperature control
Ironing board

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Candlewood Suites NEW YORK CITY- TIMES SQUARE also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5

Hotel Map

40.7562 -73.9932
Nearby airports
John F. Kennedy International Airport (JFK), (JFK), 18.00, MI;
Area description
Downtown, downtown

Nearby points of interest

  • Port Authority Bus Terminal: 0.1 mi
  • Garment District: 0.2 mi
  • New York Times Building: 0.2 mi
  • Lion Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Nederlander Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Ford Center For The Performing Arts: 0.3 mi
  • Foxwoods Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • American Airlines Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • New Victory Theater: 0.3 mi
  • Ripley’s Believe It or Not! Times Square: 0.3 mi
  • Helen Hayes Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • St. James Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Broadhurst Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Majestic Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • John Golden Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Port Authority Bus Terminal: 0.1 mi
  • Garment District: 0.2 mi
  • New York Times Building: 0.2 mi
  • Lion Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Nederlander Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Ford Center For The Performing Arts: 0.3 mi
  • Foxwoods Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • American Airlines Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • New Victory Theater: 0.3 mi
  • Ripley’s Believe It or Not! Times Square: 0.3 mi
  • Helen Hayes Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • St. James Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Broadhurst Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Majestic Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • John Golden Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Madame Tussauds: 0.3 mi
  • Shubert Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Imperial Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Al Hirschfeld Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Gerald Schoenfeld Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Booth Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Music Box Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Bernard B. Jacobs Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Theater District: 0.4 mi
  • Madison Square Garden: 0.4 mi
  • Condé Nast Building: 0.4 mi
  • Minskoff Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Richard Rodgers Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Lower Plaza: 0.4 mi
  • Lunt-Fontanne Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Macys: 0.4 mi
  • Penn Station: 0.4 mi
  • Stephen Sondheim Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Brooks Atkinson Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Town Hall: 0.4 mi
  • Samuel J. Friedman Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Lyceum Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Ethel Barrymore Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Bank of America Tower: 0.5 mi
  • Palace Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Duffy Square: 0.5 mi
  • Longacre Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Marquis Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Jacob K. Javits Convention Center: 0.5 mi
  • Walter Kerr Theatre: 0.5 mi

Dining

Tir Na Nog
Irish hospitality is the foundation of the Tir na nÓg Irish pub group of restaurants but then Artisans spend months creating the atmosphere and decor of an Irish pub and knowledgeable and friendly service staff are hired. A global wine list and extensive

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (201)

Ratings and reviews for Candlewood Suites NEW YORK CITY- TIMES SQUARE

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
201 out of 201
Amenities:
3.8
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.1
Value:
4.1

91% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Candlewood Suites NEW YORK CITY- TIMES SQUARE

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
luebcheck
camdenton mo
Oct 26, 2009

5 day in the big apple and it was great

hotel was very clean and roomy

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of Candlewood Suites NEW YORK CITY- TIMES SQUARE

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
TSJUR
Washington, DC
Jan 27, 2014

Great for a birthday getaway

I was visiting the city for my 25th birthday with my boyfriend andcandlewood suites was a greta pick for a hotel. The hotel was clean, the staff was friendly and the room was a great size. The hotel was conveniently located only a block from the port authority, so it was easy to get to from my bus into the city. All in all, great experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Candlewood Suites NEW YORK CITY- TIMES SQUARE

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Bill & Chris
Dolgeville, NY
Apr 25, 2010

Mets vs Atlanta

Nice location between train stations and near many sights! Would stay there again and reccomend to our friends.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Time-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

to each of NYC's train stations.

Review of Candlewood Suites NEW YORK CITY- TIMES SQUARE

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
new mina
Lincoln, NE
Nov 13, 2009

great one night stay

very clean room with decent kitchen appliances, but can hear everything if some folks talk on the hall..

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Candlewood Suites NEW YORK CITY- TIMES SQUARE

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Bob WVSOM
Sandstone, WV
Jul 17, 2010

Great room, great staff, great location!

Just a couple minutes walk from Times Square and a one minute walk to the Subway. The staff are simply FANTASTIC and always helpful. Rooms are much larger than the standard NYC hotel room, and having the kitchenette is wonderful. Comes stocked with all appliances and utensils you will need (microwave, stove, large fridge, coffee pot, toaster, pots, pans, dishes, iron and board). Maid service is just once a week - but I love that - I like being able to leave my stuff... work papers etc out and not worrying about them be moved. But if you desire - you can have the room cleaned any additional time you want - just let the front desk know. Exercise room is nice, and I like being able to do my own laundry which you can do here. T he place was spotless. Common areas are immaculate, and a perfectly clean room. I make several trips a year to NYC and will definitely stay here again. Right now I think this is the best kept hotel secret closs to Times Square - I'm sure the word will get out and it will be come more difficult to obtain a reservation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Candlewood Suites NEW YORK CITY- TIMES SQUARE

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
grafton, ma
Mar 11, 2011

Nice stay

very comfortable and was allowed late check out.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Candlewood Suites NEW YORK CITY- TIMES SQUARE

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Olney, Maryland
Jul 13, 2010

Candlewood Suites Times Square

Absolutely loved this hotel! We stay in New York fairly frequently (at least a couple of times a year), and have stayed all over town. This room was clean and spacious. The hotel was really convenient. Although I would have loved a coffee maker in the room, I was fine with free coffee in the lobby.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Candlewood Suites NEW YORK CITY- TIMES SQUARE

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Murrieta, CA
Mar 14, 2011

Getaway Vacation

This hotel isn't in Times Square, but it is close enough to everything. Plus the subway is a short walk. The hotel has everything you need, comfortable bed, fully stocked kitchenette, and very, very clean. The staff was excellent and extremely helpful for a NY first timer. Perfect place for a getaway vacation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Times Square and the subway are a five minute walk from the hotel. From here, you can get to anywhere in Manhattan.

Review of Candlewood Suites NEW YORK CITY- TIMES SQUARE

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Emmzied
Ireland
Oct 8, 2013

Can not fault hotel.

As the title says I can not find fault with this hotel. Excellent value for money, spotlessly clean, and fantastic location. Our room was ready before the 3pm check in, we got welcome packs on arrival which included water, crisps, sweets and chocolate. Fresh towels were provided within minutes of being requested. Staff were extremely efficient, friendly and helpful. I'm only home a few days and I have already recommened the candlewood suites to loads of people. If I'm lucky enough to return to NYC again I will definitely stay here!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

We walked the highline on this trip and really enjoyed it. We picked up a picnic in Chelsea market and walked south to north. Well worth doing.

Review of Candlewood Suites NEW YORK CITY- TIMES SQUARE

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
grafton, ma
Mar 11, 2011

Nice stay

very comfortable and was allowed late check out.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top