Rate based on Check-in: Mar 4, 2015 Check-out: Mar 7, 2015

Candlewood Suites NEW YORK CITY- TIMES SQUARE

3 stars
View map of 339 W. 39th Street, New York, NY 10018

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
130 reviews
Great place to stay in New York

This hotel was really close to Times Square and other attractions. Our room was great , kitchenette... See full review

  • Pumas
  • Jan 7, 2015
Perfect

I would recommend this to anyone very clean very updated close to everything in new yirk city clubs... See full review

  • Walter D.
  • Jan 6, 2015
Midtown extended stay hotel with full kitchens near Times Square
Travelers on extended stays and families may especially appreciate the amenities at the The Candlewood Suites New York City Times Square. Fully equipped kitchens offer everything guests need to prepare their own meals. Washing machines and dryers are available for laundry. Business and fitness centers and free Internet access round out the amenities at The Candlewood Suites New York City Times Square. The location close to the Jacob K. Javitz Convention Center and Times Square is convenient for business and leisure travelers.
Highlights
  • Fully equipped kitchens
  • Free in-room high-speed Internet access
  • A few blocks from Times Square and the Jacob K. Javitz Convention Center
Location

The lights and action of Times Square are just a few blocks from the Candlewood Suites New York City Times Square. The famous New York theaters are right in the neighborhood.

Rooms

The 188 studio suites all have fully equipped kitchens with microwaves, refrigerators, dishwashers, stoves, toasters, dishes and pots and pans. Expect light walls, wood furniture and neutral bedding and curtains. In-room amenities at Candlewood Suites New York City Times Square include free Internet access, 32-inch flat-screen TVs and irons with ironing boards. Housekeeping is limited.

 

Features

The Candlewood Suites New York City Times Square has an on-site convenience store, business center and complimentary 24-hour fitness center. The property also offers parking/valet parking at an added charge. Washing machines and dryers are available.

Transportation
  • MTA Subway A, C, E lines at 42 St. - Port Authority
  • Penn Station
  • La Guardia Airport
  • Newark Liberty International Airport
  • John F. Kennedy International Airport
Attractions
  • Times Square
  • Theater District
  • Jacob K. Javits Convention Center
  • Madame Tussauds Wax Museum
  • Ripley's Believe It or Not
  • Bryant Park
Business
  • Business center with copying, faxing, printing, Internet access

Amenities

  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Free local telephone calls
Activities
Golf
Services
Business center
Maid service
Guest laundromat
ATM/Cash machine
In-Room Safe
Porters
FAX
Parking
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Satellite TV
DVD player
Microwave
Cribs available
Temperature control
Ironing board

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Candlewood Suites NEW YORK CITY- TIMES SQUARE also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5

Hotel Map

40.7562 -73.9932
Nearby airports
John F. Kennedy International Airport (JFK), (JFK), 18.00, MI;
Area description
Downtown, downtown

Nearby points of interest

  • Port Authority Bus Terminal: 0.1 mi
  • Garment District: 0.2 mi
  • New York Times Building: 0.2 mi
  • Lion Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Nederlander Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Ford Center For The Performing Arts: 0.3 mi
  • Foxwoods Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • American Airlines Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • New Victory Theater: 0.3 mi
  • Ripley’s Believe It or Not! Times Square: 0.3 mi
  • Helen Hayes Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • St. James Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Broadhurst Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Majestic Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • John Golden Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Port Authority Bus Terminal: 0.1 mi
  • Garment District: 0.2 mi
  • New York Times Building: 0.2 mi
  • Lion Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Nederlander Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Ford Center For The Performing Arts: 0.3 mi
  • Foxwoods Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • American Airlines Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • New Victory Theater: 0.3 mi
  • Ripley’s Believe It or Not! Times Square: 0.3 mi
  • Helen Hayes Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • St. James Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Broadhurst Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Majestic Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • John Golden Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Madame Tussauds: 0.3 mi
  • Shubert Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Imperial Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Al Hirschfeld Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Gerald Schoenfeld Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Booth Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Music Box Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Bernard B. Jacobs Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Theater District: 0.4 mi
  • Condé Nast Building: 0.4 mi
  • Minskoff Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Richard Rodgers Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Lower Plaza: 0.4 mi
  • Lunt-Fontanne Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Macys: 0.4 mi
  • Penn Station: 0.4 mi
  • Stephen Sondheim Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Brooks Atkinson Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Town Hall: 0.4 mi
  • Samuel J. Friedman Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Lyceum Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Ethel Barrymore Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Bank of America Tower: 0.5 mi
  • Palace Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Duffy Square: 0.5 mi
  • Longacre Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Marquis Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Jacob K. Javits Convention Center: 0.5 mi
  • Walter Kerr Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Bryant Park: 0.5 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (130)

Ratings and reviews for Candlewood Suites NEW YORK CITY- TIMES SQUARE

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
130 out of 130
Amenities:
3.8
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.1
Value:
4.1

91% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Candlewood Suites NEW YORK CITY- TIMES SQUARE

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
zonatom
Business
Phoenix, AZ
Dec 3, 2010

Great place - whats not to love about it

From the moment we walked in I felt happy. The person checking me in was super nice and helpful. He pointed over to the little room to the side where there is free coffee/hot chocolate. In the late afternoon they had fresh baked cookies on the counter. The room was very clean, very comfortable - just perfect. The location was as advertised -- just a few blocks walk to everything in the Times Square area. In the ratings I gave them a 5 for dining only because there is a refrigerator, stove, and microwave. They don't really have dining there and in Times Square area I wouldn't be eating in a hotel anyway.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Candlewood Suites NEW YORK CITY- TIMES SQUARE

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
LowrPlz
Business
Kent, ohio
Dec 1, 2010

Great location and nice room!

We arrived very early in the morning and the bellman was happy to take our bags and hold them for us until we could check in. The staff was very nice and also allowed us to check in a few hours early. The room was clean and very nice. The kichenette was a huge plus because it allowed us to bring some food from home and cook a few nights to save some money. The hotel is located in a great area, only a few mins walk to times square, its near the restaraunt row so there are many good places to eat nearby and there are some nicely priced small places to stop in and grab a quick bite right on the same block. We had a great time and would deffinatly stay in the candlewood suites again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There are many smaller restaruants nearby, just search for them. the restaraunts in times square are very expensive and many of themjust serev food you can get anywhere. We did go to a place called brazil brazil on restauraunt row that was excellent. Good food, nice atmosphere. Decent prices. Have an open mind and try new things!

Review of Candlewood Suites NEW YORK CITY- TIMES SQUARE

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
pleased Nana
Business
Shelby, NC
Nov 22, 2010

Great birthday celebration

I have stayed in NY several times and this was the best accomodation of all. First of all, every staff member was so friendly and accomodating! It was my granddaughter's 13th birthday celebration weekend, but she had a broken foot and was on crutches. They gave us a wonderful room on the 26th floor with great views of the city. Great location, near restaurants, loved the beds and pillows, very clean!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

It turned out that we were 1/2 block from the Hell's Kitchen flea market and going there was a neat shopping experience--best prices for hats, scarves, jewelry, and vintage items. A ten minute walk and you would be in Times Square and anything you wanted!

Review of Candlewood Suites NEW YORK CITY- TIMES SQUARE

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Chris the "BUNN" guy
Business
Las Vegas, NV
Nov 19, 2010

NYC

First time in NYC since I was a kid and it was certainly a different experience. I attended a trade show at the Javits Center and this location was ideal. The room was quiet and very comfortable. The hotel was easy to navigate in and out and to the Javits. I liked to local flare around the property as well. Bummed that I did not get a chance to go to Rudy's (local dive) but will next year.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Great location for trade show exibitors or attendees. It is a short walk to the Javits which cuts down on cab fares. (no offense cabbies but I'm on a budget)

Review of Candlewood Suites NEW YORK CITY- TIMES SQUARE

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Baltimore
Oct 29, 2010

Basic & Clean

Easy location

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Candlewood Suites NEW YORK CITY- TIMES SQUARE

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
St. Louis, MO
Oct 21, 2010

Roomy and Clean

The room was roomy. While the bathroom was roomy enough the vanity was too tiny. Be aware that housekeeping does not come everyday. Temp controls worked well and the coffee maker, fridge, and microwave were nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Candlewood Suites NEW YORK CITY- TIMES SQUARE

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Fort Worth, TX
Oct 17, 2010

Down and out in New York City

The hotel was an "extended Stay hotel" which [...] failed to mention which means there was no maid service. If you wanted ice, you had to call down to the desk and they would go next door and get it, the same with towels. It was not close to anything, there was no place to eat in this area

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Candlewood Suites NEW YORK CITY- TIMES SQUARE

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Palos Verdes , CA
Oct 12, 2010

Great location for the price.

Convienent location for getting around the City. Not many restaurants within walking distance but cabs are easy if you have previously made your choice.Had a great time seeing the City.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Have a plan with names and addresses of all restaurants and places you want to go. We also took a City Tour with a guide. That was very good.

Review of Candlewood Suites NEW YORK CITY- TIMES SQUARE

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
indianapolis indiana
Oct 4, 2010

candlewood

the room was equiped with full kitchen which was nice

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
2
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Candlewood Suites NEW YORK CITY- TIMES SQUARE

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anniversary Trip Couple
Business
Minneapolis, MN
Sep 26, 2010

Great location to Broadway & subways

We stayed at the hotel for a week and were pleased with the room. The kitchnette was great for having snacks and a quick bite to eat before starting out the day or wrapping up the evening. It was a little small, but then again it was in NYC, so we weren't expecting a "normal" sized room anyways. The closet was extremely small and you had to pratically climb over the reclining chair to get into one side of the bed. The staff was great though; friendly and always accomodating. We liked not having the maid service everyday; we didn't have to worry about our belongings as much and could always call for clean towels whenever we needed them during the week.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Don't buy your Broadway show tickets in advance. Get your tickets at TKTS the day of the show. The tickets we purchased at TKTS were by far better seats and half the price we paid for the tickets we bought prior to our trip. While the line is long, it moves fast; anly takes about 20-30mins to get through the line.

Back to menu Return to top