Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 27, 2014 Check-out: Jul 28, 2014

Bentley Hotel

4 stars
500 E. 62nd Street, New York, NY 10021
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.7
out of 5
366 reviews
City Getaway

This hidden gem in the city is located just off the FDR drive. We came for a weekend and must say... See full review

  • Dan the Man 4
  • Jul 7, 2014
Happiness is a positive surprise

Check in courteous and flawless. Room was upgraded to a Junior suite without asking. Light airy and... See full review

  • poppy M
  • Jun 16, 2014
Chic Upper East Side hotel with glorious rooftop dining
Converted from an office building in 1998, the Bentley Hotel is an elegant mid-sized boutique hotel on New York City?s Upper East Side. In addition to amenities-stocked and non-smoking rooms (several of which look out over the East River), the hotel has 24-hour front desk services, room service, valet laundry and dry cleaning, and daily newspaper delivery available. Guests can grab refreshing breakfast is available at the Lobby Bar. Enjoy panoramic views of the city from the Bentley Hotel's 21st floor restaurant, the Rooftop Restaurant and Bar, which serves Italian American fare at dinner. 
Reasons to stay
  • Rooftop restaurant with skyline views
  • Walk to Central Park
  • Centrally located near shops, dining, and theaters
The Bentley Hotel rooms

There are 197 spacious and non-smoking rooms inside the Bentley Hotel and many have stunning views of the city and East River. Guests can watch pay-per-view movies and cable TV in their rooms on 32-inch LCD flat screen TVs.  A large desk, a two-line phone with data ports and voicemail, a safe, mini bar, and a marble bathroom with Spa Therapy toiletries by Lather are included in each room. Wi-Fi access is available (fees apply). 

Things to do nearby
  • Rockefeller University (0.1 mi/0.2 km)
  • Fifth Avenue (0.8 mi/1.2 km)
  • Central Park (1 mi/ 1.6 km)
  • Museum of Modern Art (1.4 mi/1.9 km)
  • Times Square (2 mi/3.2 km)
  • The Bronx Zoo (10 mi/ 16.1 km) 
Policies and fees
NOTE: Self-parking costs $25.00 + tax per 24 hours.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Bentley Hotel Rooms

Superior
Our Deluxe guestrooms offer either a King Bed or 2 Full Size beds with custom leather headboards, Italian Frette linens and down comforters, luxurious bathrobe and slipper, desk with ample writing space, 32" LCD flat screen television with Cable Channels and On-Demand movies. I-Home I-Pod Docking stations with radio and alarm clock, mini-bar, In-Room safety deposit box, iron and board, umbrella, and individually controlled AC and heater unit. Marble bathroom with raindrop shower head, hairdryer and spa amenities by LATHER. All rooms are non-smoking. Wireless Internet access is available at an additional charge of $14.95 per day.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Pet friendly
Elevators
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Bentley Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5

Hotel Map

40.7601 -73.9583
Area served
New York. "Please note: Guest must be 21 years or older to check in to this property."
Nearby airports
LaGuardia Airport (LGA) Flushing, New York 11371. John F. Kennedy International Airport (JFK) Jamaica, New York 11430. Newark Liberty International Airport (EWR) Newark, New Jersey 07114
Area description
Located on Manhattan's Upper East Side.

Nearby points of interest

  • Mount Vernon Hotel Museum & Garden: 0.1 mi
  • Rockefeller University: 0.2 mi
  • Roosevelt Island Tramway: 0.2 mi
  • Founder's Hall: 0.3 mi
  • Bloomberg Tower: 0.5 mi
  • Citicorp Center: 0.6 mi
  • Park Avenue: 0.7 mi
  • East Side: 0.7 mi
  • Barney's: 0.7 mi
  • Council On Foreign Relations: 0.7 mi
  • Franklin D. Roosevelt Four Freedoms Park: 0.7 mi
  • Lever House: 0.7 mi
  • Asia Society and Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Japan Society Gallery: 0.8 mi
  • John Jay Park: 0.8 mi
  • Mount Vernon Hotel Museum & Garden: 0.1 mi
  • Rockefeller University: 0.2 mi
  • Roosevelt Island Tramway: 0.2 mi
  • Founder's Hall: 0.3 mi
  • Bloomberg Tower: 0.5 mi
  • Citicorp Center: 0.6 mi
  • Park Avenue: 0.7 mi
  • East Side: 0.7 mi
  • Barney's: 0.7 mi
  • Council On Foreign Relations: 0.7 mi
  • Franklin D. Roosevelt Four Freedoms Park: 0.7 mi
  • Lever House: 0.7 mi
  • Asia Society and Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Japan Society Gallery: 0.8 mi
  • John Jay Park: 0.8 mi
  • Harmonie Club: 0.8 mi
  • Sony Building: 0.8 mi
  • Bloomingdale's: 0.8 mi
  • Sony Wonder Technology Lab: 0.8 mi
  • Knickerbocker Club: 0.8 mi
  • Metropolitan Club: 0.8 mi
  • Fifth Avenue: 0.8 mi
  • FAO Schwarz: 0.8 mi
  • Trump Tower: 0.8 mi
  • United Nations Headquarters: 0.9 mi
  • Bergdorf Goodman: 0.9 mi
  • Central Park Zoo: 0.9 mi
  • Paley Park: 0.9 mi
  • Ford Foundation Building: 0.9 mi
  • Frick Collection: 0.9 mi
  • Henri Bendel: 0.9 mi
  • The Frick Collection: 0.9 mi
  • University Club: 0.9 mi
  • Takashimaya: 0.9 mi
  • Whitney Museum of American Art: 0.9 mi
  • Museum of Modern Art (MOMA): 1 mi
  • Cathedral of St. Patrick: 1 mi
  • Ralph Bunche Park: 1 mi
  • Saks Fifth Avenue: 1 mi
  • Robert Moses Playground: 1 mi
  • Chrysler Building: 1 mi
  • Museum of Television and Radio: 1 mi
  • Museum of American Folk Art: 1 mi
  • American Craft Museum: 1.1 mi
  • International Building: 1.1 mi

Dining

Rooftop Restaurant and Lounge
The Rooftop Restaurant and Bar is located on the 21st Floor with magnificent 360 degree views of New York City, serving Italian American cuisine a la carte menu for dinner and a continental buffet breakfast. Hours of operation are: Breakfast: 6:30am - 11:00am Daily Dinner: 5:30pm - 10:00pm Mon-Sat, closed on Sunday Bar: 5:00pm - 12:00am Mon-Sat, closed on Sunday Room Service applies to the times above.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (366)

Ratings and reviews for Bentley Hotel

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
366 out of 366
Amenities:
3.5
Room cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3.8
Value:
3.9

82% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Bentley Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Arlington,VA
Apr 22, 2009

Staff did try...

I stayed here because it was close to location of wedding I attended. My room was stiflingly hot when I checked in. Radio/clock alarm not plugged in, and iron didn't work. When I called front desk, they did promptly send staff to fix radio, replace iron, and try to deal with the A/C. Room was eventually cooler. Did have a nice view of the East River, and room was fairly spacious, and quiet. First time I stayed here, and as a regular visitor to NY, location seemed a bit out of the way compared to other places I've stayed. Neighborhood was pleasant, but probably wouldn't stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Review of Bentley Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
sweden
Dec 26, 2009

Ups and downs

The best about this hotel was the view from top floor restaurant, but breakfast was lacking. No warm meats or eggs. No freshly baked breads, very basic breakfast for $13.00. Air conditioner in room very noisy, though otherwise room was comfortable, roomy and quite. Worst about this hotel is location, 5 blocks from subway, closest popular department store is also 5 blocks away.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Review of Bentley Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
minneapolis minnesota
Sep 26, 2009

Small room but clean

Gave me room with 2 beds instead of Queen. Had to re pack and move next day. Bar and restaurant was closed for renovations. We should be told that before booking. Second time this has happened to me through orbitz booking.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
1
Value:
1
Review of Bentley Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Fayetteville, NC
Jul 19, 2009

The Bentley Hotel

The best things about the Bentley: it is very affordable (much more so than most New York hotels). It was very close to our destination (what we were in NYC to do). The staff were very friendly and helpful, especially the doormen and bellhops. The beds were nice and firm and the Frette linens felt good. There were plenty of pillows (too many). The downside: the hallways are ridiculously dark. Almost as if they are lit by a couple of candles. I don't understand the point of this. It's almost impossible to read your room number on the plaque next to the door! The lobby is pretty dark too, although not as bad as the hallways and elevators (where we noticed other guests were having trouble reading the floor numbers). The showers are European style, with only half glass, so a lot of water can end up on the floor. Also, you can't adjust for water temperature and pressure separately, so if you want a hot shower the force of the water is ridiculously overpowering and the tub doesn't drain fast enough. I was standing in 2 inches of water at the end of each shower. Noise from adjoining rooms can be heard sometimes - maybe the walls are too thin, or poor insulation? But fortunately you can turn up the air conditioning to full blast and that drowns out most of the noise. It would be nice if you could go up to the top floor and enjoy the view without having to dine in the restaurant, but it doesn't appear you can.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Avoid the Ritz Diner except for the homemade lemonade, which is excellent, and the after dinner mints.

Review of Bentley Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Stan the travelling man
Boca Raton, FL
Aug 6, 2011

Walking distance from my destination

Slept well in quiet hotel with beautiful view of 59th Street Bridge

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Review of Bentley Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
SSbarber
Birmingham Alabama
Jul 13, 2012

Anniversary Trip

On the night we got there, we had to call for ice 4 times before it was brought. Apparently the ice machine was in the basement.... Whomever designed the tub needs to rethink it...the shower had a half glass door so half of the shower was open the entire time. The floor got soaked each time a shower was taken. We had to call for extra towels on 3 different days due to not enough being left in the room...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Review of Bentley Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Casey2710
Washington, DC
Apr 27, 2013

Condition of Room

Dissappointed with room. Needs a serious refresh. Large water spots on ceiling from an obvious previous leak. Panel on HVAC fell off. Re: amenities. Dingy towels. In-room safe did not work and had to call for assistance. Could not figure out how to operate the overly complicated radio. All Staff members were great and belong in a 4 star hotel, which the Bentley is not.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Review of Bentley Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Arlington,VA
Apr 22, 2009

Staff did try...

I stayed here because it was close to location of wedding I attended. My room was stiflingly hot when I checked in. Radio/clock alarm not plugged in, and iron didn't work. When I called front desk, they did promptly send staff to fix radio, replace iron, and try to deal with the A/C. Room was eventually cooler. Did have a nice view of the East River, and room was fairly spacious, and quiet. First time I stayed here, and as a regular visitor to NY, location seemed a bit out of the way compared to other places I've stayed. Neighborhood was pleasant, but probably wouldn't stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Review of Bentley Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Hamden, CT
Mar 1, 2011

"An average hotel"

We went shopping, went out to eat, went to clubs and attractions. Yes I wish the hotel walls were better. The walls were very thin and were heard a lot of commotion one night. The hotel bathroom is kind of small. I wish the bathroom had a jacuzzi tub. The water was kind of cold one day and the heater opening was broken. Postives of the hotel is a great location to go anywhere in New York. The staff was friendly. The hotel is pretty and has a nice bar on the 231st floor. I have been to better hotels.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

Madame Tassuds, Ripleys Believe or Not Museum and Madsion Square Gardeb arent far.

Review of Bentley Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Westfield, NJ
May 9, 2010

Great quiet place

Room was quiet which surprised me considering the proximity to the FDR. Nice view of the East River. Convenient spot - easy to get in and out. Easy to get a taxi. Parking under the hotel (with a gas station no less - a rarity in NY!) at a very reasonable price for hotel guests. Friendly staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Back to menu Return to top