Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Nov 23, 2014 Check-out: Nov 26, 2014

Bentley Hotel

4 stars
500 E. 62nd Street, New York, NY 10021
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.7
out of 5
265 reviews
Love this place. Return customer from this day forward.

I been to this hotel once before maybe 2 years ago so I knew the views are really nice. I contacted... See full review

  • Breezy r
  • Oct 6, 2014
Great location

Great location with walking distance to most sightseeing places. The room is comfortable and will... See full review

  • Elisha C
  • Sep 9, 2014
Chic Upper East Side hotel with glorious rooftop dining
Converted from an office building in 1998, the Bentley Hotel is an elegant mid-sized boutique hotel on New York City?s Upper East Side. In addition to amenities-stocked and non-smoking rooms (several of which look out over the East River), the hotel has 24-hour front desk services, room service, valet laundry and dry cleaning, and daily newspaper delivery available. Guests can grab refreshing breakfast is available at the Lobby Bar. Enjoy panoramic views of the city from the Bentley Hotel's 21st floor restaurant, the Rooftop Restaurant and Bar, which serves Italian American fare at dinner. 
Reasons to stay
  • Rooftop restaurant with skyline views
  • Walk to Central Park
  • Centrally located near shops, dining, and theaters
The Bentley Hotel rooms

There are 197 spacious and non-smoking rooms inside the Bentley Hotel and many have stunning views of the city and East River. Guests can watch pay-per-view movies and cable TV in their rooms on 32-inch LCD flat screen TVs.  A large desk, a two-line phone with data ports and voicemail, a safe, mini bar, and a marble bathroom with Spa Therapy toiletries by Lather are included in each room. Wi-Fi access is available (fees apply). 

Things to do nearby
  • Rockefeller University (0.1 mi/0.2 km)
  • Fifth Avenue (0.8 mi/1.2 km)
  • Central Park (1 mi/ 1.6 km)
  • Museum of Modern Art (1.4 mi/1.9 km)
  • Times Square (2 mi/3.2 km)
  • The Bronx Zoo (10 mi/ 16.1 km) 
Policies and fees
NOTE: Self-parking costs $25.00 + tax per 24 hours.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Bentley Hotel Rooms

Superior
Our Deluxe guestrooms offer either a King Bed or 2 Full Size beds with custom leather headboards, Italian Frette linens and down comforters, luxurious bathrobe and slipper, desk with ample writing space, 32" LCD flat screen television with Cable Channels and On-Demand movies. I-Home I-Pod Docking stations with radio and alarm clock, mini-bar, In-Room safety deposit box, iron and board, umbrella, and individually controlled AC and heater unit. Marble bathroom with raindrop shower head, hairdryer and spa amenities by LATHER. All rooms are non-smoking. Wireless Internet access is available at an additional charge of $14.95 per day.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Pet friendly
Elevators
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Bentley Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5

Hotel Map

40.7601 -73.9583
Area served
New York. "Please note: Guest must be 21 years or older to check in to this property."
Nearby airports
LaGuardia Airport (LGA) Flushing, New York 11371. John F. Kennedy International Airport (JFK) Jamaica, New York 11430. Newark Liberty International Airport (EWR) Newark, New Jersey 07114
Area description
Located on Manhattan's Upper East Side.

Nearby points of interest

  • Mount Vernon Hotel Museum & Garden: 0.1 mi
  • Rockefeller University: 0.2 mi
  • Roosevelt Island Tramway: 0.2 mi
  • Founder's Hall: 0.3 mi
  • Bloomberg Tower: 0.5 mi
  • Citicorp Center: 0.6 mi
  • Park Avenue: 0.7 mi
  • East Side: 0.7 mi
  • Barney's: 0.7 mi
  • Council On Foreign Relations: 0.7 mi
  • Franklin D. Roosevelt Four Freedoms Park: 0.7 mi
  • Lever House: 0.7 mi
  • Asia Society and Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Japan Society Gallery: 0.8 mi
  • John Jay Park: 0.8 mi
  • Mount Vernon Hotel Museum & Garden: 0.1 mi
  • Rockefeller University: 0.2 mi
  • Roosevelt Island Tramway: 0.2 mi
  • Founder's Hall: 0.3 mi
  • Bloomberg Tower: 0.5 mi
  • Citicorp Center: 0.6 mi
  • Park Avenue: 0.7 mi
  • East Side: 0.7 mi
  • Barney's: 0.7 mi
  • Council On Foreign Relations: 0.7 mi
  • Franklin D. Roosevelt Four Freedoms Park: 0.7 mi
  • Lever House: 0.7 mi
  • Asia Society and Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Japan Society Gallery: 0.8 mi
  • John Jay Park: 0.8 mi
  • Harmonie Club: 0.8 mi
  • Sony Building: 0.8 mi
  • Bloomingdale's: 0.8 mi
  • Sony Wonder Technology Lab: 0.8 mi
  • Knickerbocker Club: 0.8 mi
  • Metropolitan Club: 0.8 mi
  • Fifth Avenue: 0.8 mi
  • FAO Schwarz: 0.8 mi
  • Trump Tower: 0.8 mi
  • United Nations Headquarters: 0.9 mi
  • Bergdorf Goodman: 0.9 mi
  • Central Park Zoo: 0.9 mi
  • Paley Park: 0.9 mi
  • Ford Foundation Building: 0.9 mi
  • Frick Collection: 0.9 mi
  • Henri Bendel: 0.9 mi
  • The Frick Collection: 0.9 mi
  • University Club: 0.9 mi
  • Takashimaya: 0.9 mi
  • Whitney Museum of American Art: 0.9 mi
  • Museum of Modern Art (MOMA): 1 mi
  • Cathedral of St. Patrick: 1 mi
  • Ralph Bunche Park: 1 mi
  • Saks Fifth Avenue: 1 mi
  • Robert Moses Playground: 1 mi
  • Chrysler Building: 1 mi
  • Museum of Television and Radio: 1 mi
  • Museum of American Folk Art: 1 mi
  • American Craft Museum: 1.1 mi
  • International Building: 1.1 mi

Dining

Rooftop Restaurant and Lounge
The Rooftop Restaurant and Bar is located on the 21st Floor with magnificent 360 degree views of New York City, serving Italian American cuisine a la carte menu for dinner and a continental buffet breakfast. Hours of operation are: Breakfast: 6:30am - 11:00am Daily Dinner: 5:30pm - 10:00pm Mon-Sat, closed on Sunday Bar: 5:00pm - 12:00am Mon-Sat, closed on Sunday Room Service applies to the times above.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (265)

Ratings and reviews for Bentley Hotel

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
265 out of 265
Amenities:
3.5
Room cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3.8
Value:
3.9

83% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Bentley Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
dwads13
Business
Tampa, FL.
Jun 27, 2012

One of the Worst

The hotel has a great location and the exterior is great but the hotel room is horrendous. I asked for a non-smoking room and the first thing I notice is that the room has a smoky smell. The air conditioning unit didn't even bring the room down below 80, please bear in mind that the temperature in New York is one of the hottest of the year at 96+ degrees. The front desk person sent a facilities person to look at the unit and all they can do is bring a fan. I go down and ask the same front desk person that the room temperature has yet to go down over 24 hours. I asked him about the smell in the room and he informed me that since I booked through a "third party" that it wasn't necessary to inform me about the smoking room. WHAT?!? How about common courtesy to inform the customer? What kind of operation is this hotel? They switch the room after much prodding and he ensures me that the room will be better. Well, they switch me to an interior room, non-smoking, but a smaller bed and STILL a non-working air conditioner. UNBELIEVABLE!!! Absolutely the worst service ever in all the years I have traveled. DO NOT EVER STAY AT THIS HOTEL!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

Madame Tussaud Wax Museum in Times Square was a blast!

Review of Bentley Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
squeezed
Business
Australia
Sep 12, 2012

make shift accommodation

This place is put together on a shoe string. I have tried many tmes to submit my remarks/review but each time they reject the words written. So i am down to just what is above.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

be careful, check everything out and approve first

Review of Bentley Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Francisco
Dec 3, 2010

Not worth it!

My heater did not work and the hotel would not send anyone t fix it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Bentley Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Ann Arbor
Dec 21, 2008

Disappointing

The Bentley Hotel has potential to be a great, convenient hotel, but it was unfortunately a disappointment. While the lobby was nice, the elevators, hallways, and rooms were older, less clean, and noisy, including street noises. You can see they are trying to update it to be more modern, but it has a way to go. Regarding service, the staff was very slow to respond to all levels of service. The bed was comfortable, and the hotel serves its purpose if you're not going to spend much time there. The location is good for almost any activity, but would be more worth it at a lower cost, all things considered.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

It's a short cab ride, or nice walk to shopping on 5th avenue and Rockefeller Center.

Review of Bentley Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Business Owner, Engineer
Business
New York
Apr 2, 2010

You could die here. Disaster ahead.

I had a serious fall on their wet painted entry floor. Their are no doormen or sufficient staff to offer assistance or monitor and control entry. Absolutely nothing. Keep in mind, their building has 22-floors and is situated between a 24-hour major manhattan gas station and an emergency animal hospital . Despite this, still no one at front door. The front desk staff all did not know what to do and appear to be completely untrained on how to offer assistance. They were clueless. Even the minimum such as a request for a bit of ice will be denied when the injury is serious and swelling. Call your own medic if you need help. Even their restaurant denies having ice or basic ingredients such as skimmilk for tea, etc. Reporting everything afterwards t the manager is also a shocking outcome: the manager argues rather than listens. Here, "arguing" means interrupting in a belligerent manner. He then will tell you it's so he can "understand" what you already told him twice. There are a few other problems that worry me deeply that I cannot detail here. Bottomline: I consider this place a covering-up got something possibly much more dangerous and that for my experience alone, I apparently only encountered the basic clues of it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Bentley Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York
Dec 21, 2010

just awful!!

I have been going to New York for 20 years and the Bentley Hotel was the worst ever! Was 20 degrees and i felt i was in the street, when i asked to change my room because i had no heat they ask me for $80. I left at 4pm. Dont go there, its horrible.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Bentley Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
bwe
Business
Chicago, IL
Sep 29, 2009

Pass on this one

Staff was not attentive. Walls were paper thin and we could hear our neighbors conversations. This was very annoying, especially at 2:00 am. The hotel tested their fire alarm at 8:00 am on Sunday morning - when we asked about the disturbance they stated that it was a planned testing of the alarm system!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Bentley Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Nannypepper
Business
Nashville, Tn.
Feb 9, 2011

Challenges....

Day 1: No hot water Day 2: No hot water, and no washcloths Day 3: Hot water, no washcloths, 1 hr. to get bucket of ice Day 4: No washcloths. The rest of our trip was fabulous!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Not Applicable

TKTS booth at Times Square! Half price theatre tickets on day of performance.

Review of Bentley Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
mr. and mrs. barnes
Business
ANSONIA,CT.
Jan 14, 2010

no restaurant, cold room, dirty

we had worst experience ever the room was cold and dirty it was our 34 annaversary and wanted to stay in and wanted to enjoy the rooftop restaurant but it was not open to us this particular day. we had to change plans and drive somewhere to eat which meant we had to take our car out of the garage and pay again to put car back in. THE WORST

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Bentley Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
NSilva
Business
Boston
Dec 19, 2011

New York Getaway

We had reserved a king sized bedroom which upon arriving found out that they had no available king sized rooms and would need to put me and my wife in a two bed room. We were unable to switch out and were told that booking through third party sites did not specifically get us what we paid for ...? Aside from the front desk seemingly like they didn't have a clue what was going on when checking in us or other guests, the location and price was reasonable for a NYC trip I think.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top