Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 28, 2014 Check-out: Sep 29, 2014

Bentley Hotel

4 stars
500 E. 62nd Street, New York, NY 10021
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.7
out of 5
257 reviews
Great location

Great location with walking distance to most sightseeing places. The room is comfortable and will... See full review

  • Elisha C
  • Sep 9, 2014
Great Stay!

The Bentley Hotel is very nice. The front desk staff is Great. I got up-graded into a Junior Suite.... See full review

  • Sparkling Mike
  • Sep 2, 2014
Chic Upper East Side hotel with glorious rooftop dining
Converted from an office building in 1998, the Bentley Hotel is an elegant mid-sized boutique hotel on New York City?s Upper East Side. In addition to amenities-stocked and non-smoking rooms (several of which look out over the East River), the hotel has 24-hour front desk services, room service, valet laundry and dry cleaning, and daily newspaper delivery available. Guests can grab refreshing breakfast is available at the Lobby Bar. Enjoy panoramic views of the city from the Bentley Hotel's 21st floor restaurant, the Rooftop Restaurant and Bar, which serves Italian American fare at dinner. 
Reasons to stay
  • Rooftop restaurant with skyline views
  • Walk to Central Park
  • Centrally located near shops, dining, and theaters
The Bentley Hotel rooms

There are 197 spacious and non-smoking rooms inside the Bentley Hotel and many have stunning views of the city and East River. Guests can watch pay-per-view movies and cable TV in their rooms on 32-inch LCD flat screen TVs.  A large desk, a two-line phone with data ports and voicemail, a safe, mini bar, and a marble bathroom with Spa Therapy toiletries by Lather are included in each room. Wi-Fi access is available (fees apply). 

Things to do nearby
  • Rockefeller University (0.1 mi/0.2 km)
  • Fifth Avenue (0.8 mi/1.2 km)
  • Central Park (1 mi/ 1.6 km)
  • Museum of Modern Art (1.4 mi/1.9 km)
  • Times Square (2 mi/3.2 km)
  • The Bronx Zoo (10 mi/ 16.1 km) 
Policies and fees
NOTE: Self-parking costs $25.00 + tax per 24 hours.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Bentley Hotel Rooms

Superior
Our Deluxe guestrooms offer either a King Bed or 2 Full Size beds with custom leather headboards, Italian Frette linens and down comforters, luxurious bathrobe and slipper, desk with ample writing space, 32" LCD flat screen television with Cable Channels and On-Demand movies. I-Home I-Pod Docking stations with radio and alarm clock, mini-bar, In-Room safety deposit box, iron and board, umbrella, and individually controlled AC and heater unit. Marble bathroom with raindrop shower head, hairdryer and spa amenities by LATHER. All rooms are non-smoking. Wireless Internet access is available at an additional charge of $14.95 per day.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Pet friendly
Elevators
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Bentley Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5

Hotel Map

40.7601 -73.9583
Area served
New York. "Please note: Guest must be 21 years or older to check in to this property."
Nearby airports
LaGuardia Airport (LGA) Flushing, New York 11371. John F. Kennedy International Airport (JFK) Jamaica, New York 11430. Newark Liberty International Airport (EWR) Newark, New Jersey 07114
Area description
Located on Manhattan's Upper East Side.

Nearby points of interest

  • Mount Vernon Hotel Museum & Garden: 0.1 mi
  • Rockefeller University: 0.2 mi
  • Roosevelt Island Tramway: 0.2 mi
  • Founder's Hall: 0.3 mi
  • Bloomberg Tower: 0.5 mi
  • Citicorp Center: 0.6 mi
  • Park Avenue: 0.7 mi
  • East Side: 0.7 mi
  • Barney's: 0.7 mi
  • Council On Foreign Relations: 0.7 mi
  • Franklin D. Roosevelt Four Freedoms Park: 0.7 mi
  • Lever House: 0.7 mi
  • Asia Society and Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Japan Society Gallery: 0.8 mi
  • John Jay Park: 0.8 mi
  • Mount Vernon Hotel Museum & Garden: 0.1 mi
  • Rockefeller University: 0.2 mi
  • Roosevelt Island Tramway: 0.2 mi
  • Founder's Hall: 0.3 mi
  • Bloomberg Tower: 0.5 mi
  • Citicorp Center: 0.6 mi
  • Park Avenue: 0.7 mi
  • East Side: 0.7 mi
  • Barney's: 0.7 mi
  • Council On Foreign Relations: 0.7 mi
  • Franklin D. Roosevelt Four Freedoms Park: 0.7 mi
  • Lever House: 0.7 mi
  • Asia Society and Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Japan Society Gallery: 0.8 mi
  • John Jay Park: 0.8 mi
  • Harmonie Club: 0.8 mi
  • Sony Building: 0.8 mi
  • Bloomingdale's: 0.8 mi
  • Sony Wonder Technology Lab: 0.8 mi
  • Knickerbocker Club: 0.8 mi
  • Metropolitan Club: 0.8 mi
  • Fifth Avenue: 0.8 mi
  • FAO Schwarz: 0.8 mi
  • Trump Tower: 0.8 mi
  • United Nations Headquarters: 0.9 mi
  • Bergdorf Goodman: 0.9 mi
  • Central Park Zoo: 0.9 mi
  • Paley Park: 0.9 mi
  • Ford Foundation Building: 0.9 mi
  • Frick Collection: 0.9 mi
  • Henri Bendel: 0.9 mi
  • The Frick Collection: 0.9 mi
  • University Club: 0.9 mi
  • Takashimaya: 0.9 mi
  • Whitney Museum of American Art: 0.9 mi
  • Museum of Modern Art (MOMA): 1 mi
  • Cathedral of St. Patrick: 1 mi
  • Ralph Bunche Park: 1 mi
  • Saks Fifth Avenue: 1 mi
  • Robert Moses Playground: 1 mi
  • Chrysler Building: 1 mi
  • Museum of Television and Radio: 1 mi
  • Museum of American Folk Art: 1 mi
  • American Craft Museum: 1.1 mi
  • International Building: 1.1 mi

Dining

Rooftop Restaurant and Lounge
The Rooftop Restaurant and Bar is located on the 21st Floor with magnificent 360 degree views of New York City, serving Italian American cuisine a la carte menu for dinner and a continental buffet breakfast. Hours of operation are: Breakfast: 6:30am - 11:00am Daily Dinner: 5:30pm - 10:00pm Mon-Sat, closed on Sunday Bar: 5:00pm - 12:00am Mon-Sat, closed on Sunday Room Service applies to the times above.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (257)

Ratings and reviews for Bentley Hotel

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
257 out of 257
Amenities:
3.5
Room cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3.8
Value:
3.9

83% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Bentley Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
KRRW
Chicago, IL, USA
Mar 28, 2012

NYC weekend getaway

Great 1st impression. We had a welcome to NYC from very polite hotel staff. He gave us some great restaurant suggestions in close proximity to the hotel. Easy walking distance to everything. 15 minutes to central park. 30 to times square. Everything was right there either by foot or a quick cab ride. Room Service left a lot to be desired ... it's New York! Standards should be higher. Over all, We had a great stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Neely barbecue parlor. *candied bacon starter* so delicious and 2 blocks from the Bentley. Also Ritz diner Delicious! And only 3a blocks. Better value than the toast ans juice you can get at the Bentley for $15.00

Review of Bentley Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
TravelingTeacher
Mount Vernon, NY
Sep 17, 2012

What else do you want?

For a midtown hotel, this is your best bet! It's a few blocks from the subway, has a view of the East River, and is clean and spacious with accomodating staff. The neighborhood is very quiet which is great for sleeping, but lonesome if you're walking the streets at night or looking for a cab. The pillows and bed could use an upgrade as they are a bit hard for my taste, but nonetheless it was a great experience over all. I will definitely keep it in mind for the future.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Serendipity & Dylan's Candy Bar

Review of Bentley Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
squeezed
Australia
Sep 12, 2012

make shift accommodation

This place is put together on a shoe string. I have tried many tmes to submit my remarks/review but each time they reject the words written. So i am down to just what is above.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
1
Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

be careful, check everything out and approve first

Review of Bentley Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
M.V.
Florida
Sep 2, 2012

A place to spend the night

For a hotel that is not so close to anything enjoyable in NY the price was a bit high, for the same price or a little more I could have stayed at the Franklin that is within walking distance to shopping, central park, etc. Had a hard time getting ice in the room, had to walk 2 1/2 blocks in the mornings to get an espresso, 1 block up a steep road to get a hot breakfast for $6.00 while the the hotel sells a cold breakfast for 12.99 and I paid 3.50 for a small can of coke at the lounge by the front desk while a small store a couple of blocks away sells the same can for .99 cents,,,, and WI-FI? Forget about it, you have to pay for that too. The hotels appearance , is out dated, carpets worn and the elevator is extremely slow, thank goodness I wasn't in a rush to get anywhere. Like my title says, it's just a place to spend the night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
2
Review of Bentley Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Manhattan Mama
Michigan
Aug 20, 2012

First Time in New York

The staff at the front desk was friendly when we came to check in, although the doorman who grabbed our bag out of the town car, was not very friendly and I was put off a bit by the way he came and grabbed our bag. Our room was OK, clean, a comfortable bed. but a bit small and no refrigerator. When we asked at the desk if we could get one( my sister did have one in her room), we were told they would check into it and never got back with us. We choose this hotel to be near my nephew's apartment, however it was a long walk to the subway, and we seemed to do more in lower Manhattan than this area. The breakfast served at the hotel was very overpriced for a continental breakfast. It would have been better if they had coffee pots in the room. All in all it was OK, nothing special. If somebody is looking for a hotel near Central Park it is OK

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Review of Bentley Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Austinite in NYC
Austin, TX
Aug 20, 2012

Towels, breakfast, and trash

We had some weird occurrences during our stay. Our shower broke and we couldn't get the water to turn off. No big deal, but they said they'd have it fixed by noon and when we returned around 3:30pm in desperate need of a nap - they were just returning to work on it. Then we noticed that housekeeping took all our towels but didn't replace them with new ones. We kept noticing how stingy they were with towels. I'm fine reusing towels, just not washcloths. We paid $12 (each) for their continental breakfast one morning and I was so shocked with the lack of food. A few cereals, bagels and croissants, orange juice and coffee - $12 really? And no milk for the cereal. Then when I went to pack up my stuff to head home, I noticed I was missing caps to 3 different items. Housekeeping had been throwing away the caps to my shaving cream, my hair mousse and my razor. That was by far the weirdest occurrence. I ended up having to throw away those items for fear that they'd cause a mess in my luggage. I give the hotel a 3 because the location was good, the door guys were friendly and the price is fair - but we will probably not be staying here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Review of Bentley Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Young Grandad
UK
Aug 19, 2012

Ideal for shopping midtown NY

The (king size bed) room on the 20th floor was really 'out of this wortd'---- the view across the river to Roosevelt Island was really beautiful in the early morning and late evening. We booked a 'delux' 2xbed queen size but asked for a couble king size. We have stayed before at the Bentley and would certainly recomend this hotel. The limo to the airport was 'good' value --cheaper than a Yellow Cab.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Walk straight up 62nd St. from York to 3rd or Lexington for all the shopping or take the 4 or 6 subway downtown dor even more shops. ( get a $20 metro card) savesall the hassel of finding money and queing for tickets

Review of Bentley Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
The frequentfly traveler
Savannah
Aug 14, 2012

A comfortable stay

The hotel was in an excellent location-in Manhattan but not in the midst of chaos. (what I like). There were a couple of issues, but staff corrected them immediately. Lastly, my room had an excellent view of the the Brooklyn Bridge and mid-downtown Manhattan. Overall, an excellent experience and comfortable stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

Pre-purchase what you want to do. This was the best thing you can do because it provides an agenda for you and your family and excludes the hassle from the "hustlers" who sells everything on the streets.

Review of Bentley Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Gr8 travels
Denver, Colorado
Aug 13, 2012

Just okay

Clean and just walking distance from great shopping Thr pics were a little deceiving -- I was expecting a lot more. It wasnt completely horrible, though. Staff was great!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Don't leave without visiting serendipity 3 and their famous frozen hot chocolate!!

Review of Bentley Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
rsquared
Hillsborough, nc
Aug 6, 2012

Be Very Careful

The hotel arrangements were ok; nothing fancy but then the bill was reasonable The part that was distressing was the double charge on the stay with pending charges that showed up after my stay. The bill was paid in advance though Cheap Tickets. While the hotel seemed to understand that the room was paid for well in advance, they still pre-charged my credit card the full amount of the stay, doubling the bill. A phone call to Bentley had assurances that the charges would be removed at some point. I now need to keep an eye on it to see if this really happens. Go somewhere else!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Review of Bentley Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
PortieMom
Atlanta, GA
Jul 16, 2012

I like this place

The Bentley is an inconveniently located hotel, being right off the FDR, and 6 blocks from the nearest subway station. That said, this is the second time I have stayed there, and I will be back. The Lobby may be small, the fitness facility tiny, and the elevators and hallways may need a new carpet, but the rooms are way above average size for a hotel at this price range in NYC, and if you get lucky enough to get a room with a view of the bridge, it's a real treat. The beds are good, the water pressure in the shower impressive, and the decor impersonally pleasing. This is a 3 star hotel, but I find it above average value for the price, so I gave it a personal 4 star rating.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Back to menu Return to top