Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Mar 3, 2015 Check-out: Mar 5, 2015

Amsterdam Court Hotel

3 stars
View map of 226 W 50TH Street, New York, NY 10019

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.3
out of 5
254 reviews
daughters 16 th bday

It was a great visit location was wonderful for in city See full review

  • Denise1977
  • Feb 17, 2015
One night stay

I stayed in this hotel one night while looking for an apartment in the city. I went and checked in... See full review

  • Jill M.
  • Dec 22, 2014
Intimate boutique hotel near the Broadway shows
The Amsterdam Court Hotel is ideally situated for theater buffs and visitors who want to be in the heart of Times Square. The boutique hotel is across the street from the Gershwin Theater. Other popular attractions, such as Central Park, Fifth Avenue and Rockefeller Center, are a short walk away. At the Amsterdam Court Hotel, guests can grab a bite at the on-site restaurant and relax in beds with Belgian linens and down comforters.
Highlights
  • Complimentary espresso in the lounge
  • Steps from Broadway and across the street from the Gershwin Theater
  • Easy walk to Central Park and Rockefeller Center
Location

This smoke-free hotel is in the heart of the Theater District. Carnegie Hall and the Museum of Modern Art are within walking distance from the Amsterdam Court Hotel. Visitors can walk half a block to Broadway and stroll the street to experience Times Square. Families may appreciate the Ferris wheel in the Toys "R" Us store. For a more luxurious shopping experience, visitors will find stores such as Cartier and Bergdorf Goodman along Fifth Avenue.

Rooms

The 197 rooms at the Amsterdam Court Hotel are decorated in soothing beige tones and have either one double or one queen bed. Beds have Belgian sheets and down comforters. In-room amenities include hairdryers, irons and ironing boards, Internet access (fees apply), safes and complimentary bath products.

Features

Guests can enjoy complimentary espresso in the lounge and pick up a free newspaper in the Amsterdam Court Hotel lobby.

 

Dining

The one-site Natsumi restaurant serves Japanese-Italian fusion cuisine. The Times Square area has hundreds of restaurants to choose from -- everything from diners and delis to four-star eateries. Nearby restaurants include Ruth's Chris Steakhouse, Le Bernardin and Ellen's Stardust Diner.

Transportation
  • MTA Subway A, C, E lines at 50th Street
  • Grand Central Terminal
  • Penn Station
  • La Guardia Airport
  • Newark Liberty International Airport
  • John F. Kennedy International Airport
Attractions
  • Times Square (0.3 mi/ 0.5 km)
  • Rockefeller Center (0.4 mi/ 0.6 km)
  • Carnegie Hall (0.4 mi/ 0.6 km)
  • Museum of Modern Art (0.5 mi/ 0.8 km)
  • Central Park (0.6 mi/ 1 km)
  • Madison Square Garden (0.9 mi/ 1.5 km)
Policies and fees

  • Parking fee is $30 USD per 24 hours with no in and out privileges. There is an extra $10 USD for oversize vehicles.
  • Guests must be at least 21 years old to check in.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Amsterdam Court Hotel Rooms

Standard
Rooms with 1 double bed or 1 queen bed include Internet access - high speed, Cable/satellite TV, Pay movies, CD player, Hypo-allergenic bedding available, Premium bedding, Climate control, Blackout drapes, Air conditioning, Multi-line phone, Voice mail, Refrigerator (on request), Wake-up calls, Housekeeping (daily), Complimentary toiletries, Hair dryer, Shower/tub combination, Electronic/magnetic keys, Clock radio, Desk, Iron/ironing board, Television, Smoking rooms. Rollaway bed is availabel at $ 20 charge.

Amenities

  • WiFi
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Amsterdam Court Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5

Hotel Map

40.7618 -73.985
Area served
New York. "Please note: Guest must be 21 years or older to check in to this property." Parking charges are $30 per 24 hours with no in and out privileges, plus an extra $10 for oversize vehicles.
Nearby airports
Principal Airport:John F Kennedy JFK 25 miles.
Area description
The Amsterdam Court Hotel is conveniently located in the Theater District of Manhattan. The hotel is situated on 50th Street, just a few steps from legendary Broadway, where you will find many, if not all, Broadway shows within walking distance. The Gershwin Theater, for example, is just across the street. In addition, you will be within a few minutes from Times Square, the newly renovated Museum of Modern Art, Rockefeller Center, Central Park, Radio City Music Hall, and 5th Avenue Shopping. The Ed Sullivan Theater, home to the David Letterman Show, is only four blocks from the hotel. There are also a wide variety of restaurants in the immediate neighborhood, inviting you to sample the best New York has to offer.

Nearby points of interest

  • Circle in the Square Theatre: 0 mi
  • Gershwin Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Ambassador Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Eugene O'Neill Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Winter Garden Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Neil Simon Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Walter Kerr Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Longacre Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Marquis Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • August Wilson Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Samuel J. Friedman Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Roseland: 0.1 mi
  • Ethel Barrymore Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Worldwide Plaza: 0.1 mi
  • Brooks Atkinson Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Circle in the Square Theatre: 0 mi
  • Gershwin Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Ambassador Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Eugene O'Neill Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Winter Garden Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Neil Simon Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Walter Kerr Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Longacre Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Marquis Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • August Wilson Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Samuel J. Friedman Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Roseland: 0.1 mi
  • Ethel Barrymore Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Worldwide Plaza: 0.1 mi
  • Brooks Atkinson Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Duffy Square: 0.2 mi
  • Equitable Center: 0.2 mi
  • Lunt-Fontanne Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Palace Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Richard Rodgers Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Cort Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Taipei Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • Gerald Schoenfeld Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Music Box Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Al Hirschfeld Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Imperial Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Madame Tussauds: 0.3 mi
  • Booth Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Bernard B. Jacobs Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • St. James Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • John Golden Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Minskoff Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Ripley’s Believe It or Not! Times Square: 0.3 mi
  • Lyceum Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Shubert Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Paine Webber Art Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • Broadhurst Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Majestic Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • New Amsterdam Theater: 0.3 mi
  • Helen Hayes Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • CBS Building: 0.3 mi
  • CitySpire Center: 0.3 mi
  • Radio City Music Hall: 0.3 mi
  • American Craft Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Tuscan Square: 0.3 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (254)

Ratings and reviews for Amsterdam Court Hotel

Overall score

3.3 / 5
5.01.0
254 out of 254
Amenities:
2.9
Cleanliness:
3.7
Hotel staff:
3.8
Comfort:
3.2
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.6

75% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Amsterdam Court Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Bobbiliz
London, UK
Apr 14, 2012

New York break

Hotel amersterdam court was clean friendly and in the perfect location Although the room was small it was fine for our needs The staff were very helpful as they were the first time we stayed I would stay at the Amsterdam court again definitely

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Such a choice don't always go to the same place as there are many eaterys at good prices

Review of Amsterdam Court Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
can't wait to go again
Business
yorkshire england
Nov 22, 2013

ritz without the price

no room service one day lost it one point, the room looked well used, lived in and comfortable. when we walked in I thought we were in the wrong hotel, far to good for the price we paid. the staff were so helpfull finding me some specilist shops & printing out the details. location 2mins. from two diferent subway stations, so easy to get to anywere in N.Y. 5mins from times sq. winner. would I recommed this hotel Oooo Yessss!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

'subway' 4 doors away dunkin doughnuts @ metro entrance A deli 1min round the corner (breakfast, dinner, tea & supper)

Review of Amsterdam Court Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
ESJSS
Business
Houston
Nov 17, 2013

Just the two of us

Honestly, we came to experience the city of New York. It was Awsome! We did not have any problems with the room during our four night stay. The bathroom smelled and looked bleachy clean. We stayed in the non-smoking section so that was beneficial. My suggestion is for the hotel to update their televisions and make the Wifi service free.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Not Applicable

Take the E Subway to Chelsia Market. The food their is great!

Review of Amsterdam Court Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
The Burtons
Business
Austin, TX, USA
Nov 12, 2013

Old facility with perfect location

Can't ask for a better location - the hotel is close to the subway and all major attractions. We were extremely pleased with that. However, it is an older facility. We had a couple issue for the first couple of nights. We had a room on the 7th floor, and the water was going to cycles of super hot and super cold when we taking a shower. So it was not pleasant. Therefore, the friendly staff switched us to another room on the 6th floor. The new room is just as cozy, but we had a big bulky 19 inch old style TV - not a big deal and the shower was great! They do not have central heating/cooling system so the old style heating unit can be nosy if you are a light sleeper - be aware! The site says that the wifi internet was free. When we got there, they said the internet is $10 per day. Luckily, I print out my reservation to show them so they honored the free internet for us.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Amsterdam Court Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
new jerseyan1
Business
New Jersey
Nov 10, 2013

Average

Good for the money. Would not go there for extended stay, but for 1-2 nights it is good enough.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Amsterdam Court Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Sucram11
Business
Lexington, KY
Nov 5, 2013

Meh

The hotel room was tiny. We got "upgraded" to a King bed which was nice but no iron in the room, the shower temperature was very inconsistent, no fan in the bathroom to help with foggy mirrors. The shower curtain moved constantly. I wasn't the least impressed. But hey, I had a place to lay my head.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Amsterdam Court Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Littlelady
Business
England
Nov 3, 2013

Sightseeing trip

The Amsterdam Hotel is in a great location for all our sightseeing trips and for all the shops. The hotel itself was fine as were most of the staff although one of the night porters was rude on occasions.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Amsterdam Court Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
RayPRQ
Business
St Louis, MO, USA
Oct 28, 2013

Almost a luxury boutique in a great location

The location (Midtown West, near Times Square) is great, and the room (small, but this is standard for Manhattan prices) was decent. The closet was smartly built around the bed, and there was the seemingly rare (these days) shelf to hold toiletries in the bathroom. But other details like a closet drawer that did not slide out but instead could only slam open and shut and a flat screen TV that was set atop a cheap office supply looking nightstand made the overall feel of the room not-quite excellent. I also arrived early (11 AM-12 Noon) and saw at least 6 other guests waiting to depart, but was told that not a single room was available for an early check-in. I found that impossible to believe but did not feel like arguing the point.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: In Hotel

There is only one small elevator, so bypass it and use the stairs - the stairwell wraps around the elevator well.

Review of Amsterdam Court Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
French girl in NYC
Business
France
Oct 15, 2013

4 day week-end

This hotel is placed right in the heart of the theater district, which is way awesome. The rooms are a bit small, but very clean and the bed was amazingly comfortable. The staff was pleasant and helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Amsterdam Court Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
one of the superdads
Business
minneapolis, mn
Sep 24, 2013

good stay, great location

Perfect location to take in all the excitement possible in the big city. Would recommend to anyone wanting to stay near times square. Helpful staff and clean room

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Dont tell mama -piano bar

Review of Amsterdam Court Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Dinaker
Business
MPLS MN
Sep 3, 2013

Not as expected

Not as expected - Room is to small - Windows not working - no scenic from window - not worth its rate

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top