Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Feb 22, 2015 Check-out: Feb 25, 2015

Amsterdam Court Hotel

3 stars
226 W 50TH Street, New York, NY 10019
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.3
out of 5
251 reviews
One night stay

I stayed in this hotel one night while looking for an apartment in the city. I went and checked in... See full review

  • Jill M.
  • Dec 22, 2014
Amazing location

The hotel was a lot nicer than I was expecting, considering the great location and reasonable... See full review

  • Anna 123
  • Apr 15, 2014
Intimate boutique hotel near the Broadway shows
The Amsterdam Court Hotel is ideally situated for theater buffs and visitors who want to be in the heart of Times Square. The boutique hotel is across the street from the Gershwin Theater. Other popular attractions, such as Central Park, Fifth Avenue and Rockefeller Center, are a short walk away. At the Amsterdam Court Hotel, guests can grab a bite at the on-site restaurant and relax in beds with Belgian linens and down comforters.
Highlights
  • Complimentary espresso in the lounge
  • Steps from Broadway and across the street from the Gershwin Theater
  • Easy walk to Central Park and Rockefeller Center
Location

This smoke-free hotel is in the heart of the Theater District. Carnegie Hall and the Museum of Modern Art are within walking distance from the Amsterdam Court Hotel. Visitors can walk half a block to Broadway and stroll the street to experience Times Square. Families may appreciate the Ferris wheel in the Toys "R" Us store. For a more luxurious shopping experience, visitors will find stores such as Cartier and Bergdorf Goodman along Fifth Avenue.

Rooms

The 197 rooms at the Amsterdam Court Hotel are decorated in soothing beige tones and have either one double or one queen bed. Beds have Belgian sheets and down comforters. In-room amenities include hairdryers, irons and ironing boards, Internet access (fees apply), safes and complimentary bath products.

Features

Guests can enjoy complimentary espresso in the lounge and pick up a free newspaper in the Amsterdam Court Hotel lobby.

 

Dining

The one-site Natsumi restaurant serves Japanese-Italian fusion cuisine. The Times Square area has hundreds of restaurants to choose from -- everything from diners and delis to four-star eateries. Nearby restaurants include Ruth's Chris Steakhouse, Le Bernardin and Ellen's Stardust Diner.

Transportation
  • MTA Subway A, C, E lines at 50th Street
  • Grand Central Terminal
  • Penn Station
  • La Guardia Airport
  • Newark Liberty International Airport
  • John F. Kennedy International Airport
Attractions
  • Times Square (0.3 mi/ 0.5 km)
  • Rockefeller Center (0.4 mi/ 0.6 km)
  • Carnegie Hall (0.4 mi/ 0.6 km)
  • Museum of Modern Art (0.5 mi/ 0.8 km)
  • Central Park (0.6 mi/ 1 km)
  • Madison Square Garden (0.9 mi/ 1.5 km)
Policies and fees

  • Parking fee is $30 USD per 24 hours with no in and out privileges. There is an extra $10 USD for oversize vehicles.
  • Guests must be at least 21 years old to check in.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Amsterdam Court Hotel Rooms

Standard
Rooms with 1 double bed or 1 queen bed include Internet access - high speed, Cable/satellite TV, Pay movies, CD player, Hypo-allergenic bedding available, Premium bedding, Climate control, Blackout drapes, Air conditioning, Multi-line phone, Voice mail, Refrigerator (on request), Wake-up calls, Housekeeping (daily), Complimentary toiletries, Hair dryer, Shower/tub combination, Electronic/magnetic keys, Clock radio, Desk, Iron/ironing board, Television, Smoking rooms. Rollaway bed is availabel at $ 20 charge.

Amenities

  • WiFi
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Amsterdam Court Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5

Hotel Map

40.7618 -73.985
Area served
New York. "Please note: Guest must be 21 years or older to check in to this property." Parking charges are $30 per 24 hours with no in and out privileges, plus an extra $10 for oversize vehicles.
Nearby airports
Principal Airport:John F Kennedy JFK 25 miles.
Area description
The Amsterdam Court Hotel is conveniently located in the Theater District of Manhattan. The hotel is situated on 50th Street, just a few steps from legendary Broadway, where you will find many, if not all, Broadway shows within walking distance. The Gershwin Theater, for example, is just across the street. In addition, you will be within a few minutes from Times Square, the newly renovated Museum of Modern Art, Rockefeller Center, Central Park, Radio City Music Hall, and 5th Avenue Shopping. The Ed Sullivan Theater, home to the David Letterman Show, is only four blocks from the hotel. There are also a wide variety of restaurants in the immediate neighborhood, inviting you to sample the best New York has to offer.

Nearby points of interest

  • Circle in the Square Theatre: 0 mi
  • Gershwin Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Ambassador Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Eugene O'Neill Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Winter Garden Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Neil Simon Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Walter Kerr Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Longacre Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Marquis Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • August Wilson Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Samuel J. Friedman Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Roseland: 0.1 mi
  • Ethel Barrymore Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Worldwide Plaza: 0.1 mi
  • Brooks Atkinson Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Circle in the Square Theatre: 0 mi
  • Gershwin Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Ambassador Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Eugene O'Neill Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Winter Garden Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Neil Simon Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Walter Kerr Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Longacre Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Marquis Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • August Wilson Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Samuel J. Friedman Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Roseland: 0.1 mi
  • Ethel Barrymore Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Worldwide Plaza: 0.1 mi
  • Brooks Atkinson Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Duffy Square: 0.2 mi
  • Equitable Center: 0.2 mi
  • Lunt-Fontanne Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Palace Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Richard Rodgers Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Cort Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Taipei Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • Gerald Schoenfeld Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Music Box Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Al Hirschfeld Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Imperial Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Madame Tussauds: 0.3 mi
  • Booth Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Bernard B. Jacobs Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • St. James Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • John Golden Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Minskoff Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Ripley’s Believe It or Not! Times Square: 0.3 mi
  • Lyceum Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Shubert Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Paine Webber Art Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • Broadhurst Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Majestic Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • New Amsterdam Theater: 0.3 mi
  • Helen Hayes Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • CBS Building: 0.3 mi
  • CitySpire Center: 0.3 mi
  • Radio City Music Hall: 0.3 mi
  • American Craft Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Tuscan Square: 0.3 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (251)

Ratings and reviews for Amsterdam Court Hotel

Overall score

3.3 / 5
5.01.0
251 out of 251
Amenities:
2.9
Cleanliness:
3.7
Hotel staff:
3.8
Comfort:
3.2
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.6

76% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Amsterdam Court Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Bobbiliz
London, UK
Apr 14, 2012

New York break

Hotel amersterdam court was clean friendly and in the perfect location Although the room was small it was fine for our needs The staff were very helpful as they were the first time we stayed I would stay at the Amsterdam court again definitely

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Such a choice don't always go to the same place as there are many eaterys at good prices

Review of Amsterdam Court Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Sucram11
Business
Lexington, KY
Nov 5, 2013

Meh

The hotel room was tiny. We got "upgraded" to a King bed which was nice but no iron in the room, the shower temperature was very inconsistent, no fan in the bathroom to help with foggy mirrors. The shower curtain moved constantly. I wasn't the least impressed. But hey, I had a place to lay my head.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Amsterdam Court Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Littlelady
Business
England
Nov 3, 2013

Sightseeing trip

The Amsterdam Hotel is in a great location for all our sightseeing trips and for all the shops. The hotel itself was fine as were most of the staff although one of the night porters was rude on occasions.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Amsterdam Court Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
RayPRQ
Business
St Louis, MO, USA
Oct 28, 2013

Almost a luxury boutique in a great location

The location (Midtown West, near Times Square) is great, and the room (small, but this is standard for Manhattan prices) was decent. The closet was smartly built around the bed, and there was the seemingly rare (these days) shelf to hold toiletries in the bathroom. But other details like a closet drawer that did not slide out but instead could only slam open and shut and a flat screen TV that was set atop a cheap office supply looking nightstand made the overall feel of the room not-quite excellent. I also arrived early (11 AM-12 Noon) and saw at least 6 other guests waiting to depart, but was told that not a single room was available for an early check-in. I found that impossible to believe but did not feel like arguing the point.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: In Hotel

There is only one small elevator, so bypass it and use the stairs - the stairwell wraps around the elevator well.

Review of Amsterdam Court Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
French girl in NYC
Business
France
Oct 15, 2013

4 day week-end

This hotel is placed right in the heart of the theater district, which is way awesome. The rooms are a bit small, but very clean and the bed was amazingly comfortable. The staff was pleasant and helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Amsterdam Court Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
one of the superdads
Business
minneapolis, mn
Sep 24, 2013

good stay, great location

Perfect location to take in all the excitement possible in the big city. Would recommend to anyone wanting to stay near times square. Helpful staff and clean room

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Dont tell mama -piano bar

Review of Amsterdam Court Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Dinaker
Business
MPLS MN
Sep 3, 2013

Not as expected

Not as expected - Room is to small - Windows not working - no scenic from window - not worth its rate

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Amsterdam Court Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Wanderlust
Business
San Mateo Califonia
Aug 27, 2013

Great Location

Nice little boutique hotel located one block away from Times Square!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Attractions a just a short block from hotel include: Rockefeller Center Times Square Empire State Building Grand Central Theater District

Review of Amsterdam Court Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
my experience
Business
Little Rock AR
Aug 15, 2013

my four night stay at Amsterdam Court Hotel

The Staff was very friendly,amenities were few, location was great. The room very clean, the beds were too hard and very uncomfortable. I could not bathe on the first nite of stay ,asked for wash cloths three times until I finally gave up. The next morning I received wash clothes to bathe. This Hotel could be a five star if a little more convience was directed toward the customers, I could not have a key to my room because they said no keys was working, I asked for a refrigator for that night because the wait time for getting someone to let me in and out of my room was long and by giving me a refrigator could have help with my in and out of my room that evening. I asked for it just until the key worked the next day but they said the charge would be 30$ although I was inconvience and had paid for my stay of four nights.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

New York is a great place to visit

Review of Amsterdam Court Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Kiyana
Business
Seattle, Washington
Aug 7, 2013

Nice Hotel

The room was very clean and orderly, but a bit small. The staff was nice and helpful with answering any questions I had about my stay. I really liked the location of the hotel, very close to alot of attractions, including Times Square. Overall I can't complain, I enjoyed my stay!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Very close to Time Squares.

Review of Amsterdam Court Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Educational vacation
Business
Vallejo , California
Aug 4, 2013

perfect little hotel

staff was excellent, rooms are clean perfect location, location was a time saver

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

close to everything specially the hop on hop off bus

Back to menu Return to top