Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 27, 2014 Check-out: Apr 28, 2014

Ameritania at Times Square

3 stars
230 W. 54th St., New York, NY 10019
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
246 reviews
Super stay

Staff at this hotel are amazing going out of their way to make your stay as enjoyable as possible.... See full review

  • Nades
  • Apr 2, 2014
FANTASTICCCC

has a great expierence at this hotel deff deserves a 5 star, staff was great bar was awesome and... See full review

  • Evelis
  • Mar 17, 2014
Sleek Art Deco chic in midtown Manhattan near best Broadway theatres

Step into the Art Deco era at Ameritania Hotel, with a stylized lobby and atmospheric, sleek guest rooms with marble bathrooms, pay-per-view movies and CD players. The location at Broadway and West 54th Street places visitors to New York City a short walk from Central Park, the Theatre District, Times Square, Rockefeller Plaza and the Museum of Modern Art, plus the subway station. Twist Lounge offers full-service relaxation on-site at Ameritania.

Highlights

                                                                                                                

  • Soothing Art Deco ambience, color-blocked in reds, blacks and creams
  • Twist Lounge, with cocktails, a fireplace and sofas
  • Walk to the best of New York, including Central Park, Broadway shows and MoMA

Location

With a prime location at Broadway and West 54th Street in midtown Manhattan, Ameritania Hotel guests can easily walk to Central Park, MoMA, theatres and Times Square. The subway is only two blocks away.

Rooms

Ameritania Hotel features 219 smoking and nonsmoking guest rooms with sleek style. Each includes cable TV with pay-per-view movies, individual air conditioning, a marble bathroom, a CD player, an alarm clock/radio, a two-line phone with data port and wake-up service, and a hair-dryer. Wi-Fi is available (guests without Wi-Fi capabilities may purchase an access card at the hotel desk) and guests receive a free copy of the Financial Times weekdays. 

Features

The Twist Lounge pairs a full-service bar/lounge with the coziness of a fireplace atmosphere, and dining is plentiful in the area. The Ameritania Hotel also features parking (fees apply), a concierge desk and access to a nearby fitness center (fees apply).

Transportation

  • Grand Central Terminal (1.2 mi/1.9 km)
  • Penn Station (1.4 mi/2.2 km)
  • Statue Cruises, Battery Park (Statue of Liberty/Ellis Island ferry) (6 mi/9.6 km)
  • LaGuardia Airport (12.2 mi/19.6 km)
  • Newark Liberty International Airport (15.7 mi/25.2 km)
  • John F. Kennedy International Airport (17.9 mi/28.8 km)

Attractions

  • Central Park (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • Museum of Modern Art (0.6 mi/1 km)
  • Times Square (0.8 mi/1.3 km)
  • Rockefeller Center (0.8 mi/1.3 km)
  • Lincoln Center for the Performing Arts (1 mi/1.6 km)
  • Madison Square Garden (1.2 mi/2 km)
  • Empire State Building (1.5 mi/2.3 km)
  • American Museum of Natural History (1.5 mi/2.4 km)
  • Metropolitan Museum of Art (2.1 mi/3.5 km)

Policies and fees
Guests must be at least 21 years old to check in.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Ameritania at Times Square Rooms

Standard
A standard room with one double bed or 1 queen bed. Color televisions with remote control, pay-per-view movies. Rollway bed is availabe at $20.00 charge.
Deluxe Double Double
All newly renovated sleek modern furniture and artwork. Our Deluxe Double Double room can accommodate up to 4 guests (adult with child combination.) Guestrooms offer I-Home docking station with AM/PM clock radio and cable television, iron and board and safe in room. Our bathrooms offer designer toiletries and hairdryers.
Deluxe King
All newly renovated sleek modern furniture and artwork. Our Deluxe King room can accommodate up to 2 guests (adult with child combination.) Guestrooms offer I-Home docking station with AM/PM clock radio and cable television, iron and board and safe in room. Our bathrooms offer designer toiletries are hairdryers.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
Internet
High-speed internet
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Ameritania at Times Square also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5

Hotel Map

40.764 -73.9825
Area served
New York, New York. Please note guest must be 21 years old or older to check-in to this hotel.
Nearby airports
New York John F Kennedy International (JFK) 15 MI , New York La Guardia (LGA) 8 MI
Area description
The Ameritania at Times Square is conveniently located in the heart of Mid-town Manhattan at 54th street and the Broadway.

Nearby points of interest

  • Roseland: 0.1 mi
  • August Wilson Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • CitySpire Center: 0.1 mi
  • Carnegie Hall: 0.2 mi
  • Rose Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Equitable Center: 0.2 mi
  • Gershwin Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Winter Garden Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Circle in the Square Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Tuscan Square: 0.2 mi
  • 57th Street: 0.2 mi
  • Municipal Art Society: 0.2 mi
  • New Amsterdam Theater: 0.2 mi
  • Ambassador Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Museum of Arts and Design: 0.2 mi
  • Roseland: 0.1 mi
  • August Wilson Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • CitySpire Center: 0.1 mi
  • Carnegie Hall: 0.2 mi
  • Rose Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Equitable Center: 0.2 mi
  • Gershwin Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Winter Garden Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Circle in the Square Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Tuscan Square: 0.2 mi
  • 57th Street: 0.2 mi
  • Municipal Art Society: 0.2 mi
  • New Amsterdam Theater: 0.2 mi
  • Ambassador Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Museum of Arts and Design: 0.2 mi
  • Paine Webber Art Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • Eugene O'Neill Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • American Craft Museum: 0.3 mi
  • CBS Building: 0.3 mi
  • Columbus Circle mall: 0.3 mi
  • Museum of American Folk Art: 0.3 mi
  • Taipei Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • Walter Kerr Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Worldwide Plaza: 0.3 mi
  • Longacre Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Marquis Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Museum of Television and Radio: 0.3 mi
  • Time Warner Center: 0.3 mi
  • Samuel J. Friedman Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Cort Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Ethel Barrymore Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Radio City Music Hall: 0.3 mi
  • Duffy Square: 0.3 mi
  • Brooks Atkinson Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Lincoln Center: 0.4 mi
  • Broadway: 0.4 mi
  • Palace Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Lunt-Fontanne Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • GE Building: 0.4 mi
  • Studio 54: 0.4 mi
  • Museum of Modern Art (MOMA): 0.4 mi
  • New York Institute of Technology: 0.4 mi
  • University Club: 0.4 mi
  • Richard Rodgers Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Henri Bendel: 0.4 mi

Dining

Twist Lounge
Trendy bar lounge located in the lobby, open from 5 PM to 1 AM.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (246)

Ratings and reviews for Ameritania at Times Square

Overall score

3.9 / 5
87 out of 246
Amenities:
3.4
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.1

92% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Ameritania at Times Square

Reviewer score

3
Beccandy
Manchester, UK
Apr 4, 2014

Nice Hotel

The location is good, just a short walk to Times Square and Central Park. The subway station is not too far away either, about 4 blocks so 10 minutes walk. It was a bit rowdy outside on our first night as the hotel is situated next to a nightclub and the road was busy and noisy too although we did get used to it. The bedroom is a good enough size for two people and the bathroom had a decent shower. There were no tea and coffee making facilities which was a shame. We had a look at the breakfast that was on offer but decided not to go for it as it was a bit expensive for cereal, toast and cakes. The staff were pleasant and the doormen helped us with instructions on how to get back to the airport. The d├ęcor was modern and minimalist and facilities such as a hairdryer and umbrella were available. Overall a nice hotel but next time we would probably stay somewhere closer to a subway station.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Ameritania at Times Square

Reviewer score

4
musicmax
NC
Mar 17, 2014

Perfect Location, Tiny Room, Limited Amenities

An outstanding location that is between Times Square and Columbus Circle & Lincoln Center, without being as crowded and noisy as either. It is literally next door to the David Letterman show theater. Short walks to Met Opera, Jazz @ Lincoln Center, Restaurant Row, Theater District, and 5th Ave. shopping destinations such as Saks, BG, Tiffany, etc. Go one block north one block west and you're at the the original SoupMan made famous on Seinfeld too. Subway stops for BDENQR are 2 blocks away; 1 and C are three blocks away. Room is TINY - there is a bed, two small nightstands (without drawers), one set of two drawers with a soft top (i.e. can't be used as a desk), and a huge floor-standing mirror that's pretty useless because you can't stand in front of it and see how your outfit looks because there's no room between it and the bed (I'm slender and I had to turn sideways to walk next to the bed). The room appeared to have been recently renovated. Clean, and everything worked. So: no chairs, no desk, no mini-fridge. Mini ironing board with iron. Small closet with ample quality hangers. Lamps are underpowered, so room was dark except late afternoon getting sun's reflection off the glass building across the street. Bathroom is good size. Shower has "half door" and choice of either straight-down rainfall head or hand-held. HVAC is controlled by thermostat. Hotel has a lounge with bar. No business center. They offer to print your boarding pass if you email it to their front desk. I stacked a couple of discounts so two nights came in just under three hundred.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
5
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Flute Midtown, a speakeasy-style bar that hosts the famous "Club Wit's End" jazz/swing-dance parties the last Saturday of every month, is 300 feet away at 205 W 54th.

Review of Ameritania at Times Square

Reviewer score

3
Gary41
Belfast
Mar 13, 2014

Get what you pay for.

Took my wife to New York for her 40th birthday, booked the Ameritania due to its location and price all seemed great when we booked in but when we went to the bedroom all was not great at all. We were at the back of the hotel looking at a brick wall below us was a rubbish tip that belonged to the bar next door there was also a kitchen fan on the roof of the bar that was turned on at 09:00 and off at 23:00 so we got woken in the morning to a loud humming noise and had to fall asleep to the same sound, asked to get moved but the room they were moving us to was no bigger than a box room. So if I was going back to New York I would pay the extra money to stay at a better place so as the saying goes you always get what you pay for.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

At the corner of the street there is a great cafe that sells the greatest apple crumble cheese cake.

Review of Ameritania at Times Square

Reviewer score

4
matt2332
Wales, United Kingdom
Feb 28, 2014

Great hotel for the price

Brilliant hotel for the price, location was perfect about 5minutes walk away from times square and about the same for central park.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Ameritania at Times Square

Reviewer score

4
RoyJ
UK
Feb 21, 2014

Excellent location

Staff are excellent and very helpful. Did not eat at the hotel although that seemed reasonably priced for breakfast. Rooms were good size. It maybe a cultural thing, but I found it strange that the room had 2 double beds but no drawers for clothes. The hanging space was adequate for 4 nights, but only 2 very shallow drawers in the bathroom and no other drawer space. Location is what makes this place so good, just around the corner from Times 'Square', a great deli just up the same street and good eating places in Times Square and in side roads.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Book tickets to show beforehand. On the door prices is exceptionally expensive.

Review of Ameritania at Times Square

Reviewer score

5
kkkkkkkk
Glendale, Az
Feb 20, 2014

New York Trip

We arrived about 5 hrs early the bellman took our bags they were stored for free. We then came back at 2pm an hour before check in. Due to the room not being ready we were given free breakfast during our stay, free WIFI, and 2 cupcakes. The room was better than the 4 star we were staying at before coming here. The staff was really friendly and answered any questions we had. We were within 3 blocks of where we wanted to be located. The subway was only a block away. The room was spacious and clean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Ameritania at Times Square

Reviewer score

5
Mystic
UK
Jan 31, 2014

Amazing hotel, location doesn't get any better

Chose this hotel due to location and price for our anniversary trip to New York. Delighted to receive a complimentray bottle of champagne, upgrade to a Kingsize room and free breakfast for our entire stay. Breakfast was continental style-bagels were delicious!! Crystal on reception was an absolute star and she could not help us enough. Door staff were also very friendly and arranged our return journey to JFK for us. This hotel is in a fantastic location and very comfortable. Easy to find Top of the Rock, Empire State, Saks, Macys, Century 21 & Bloomingdales. Central Park is just a 7 minute walk away. We will definately be returning in the future!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Serafina Italian restaurant across the road - great food, staff out of this world! Starbucks has free WIFI. Mcgee's Irish bar in W55th is also great, also has free WIFI

Review of Ameritania at Times Square

Reviewer score

5
mikey3
leeds uk
Jan 30, 2014

would go back again

wonderful place ideal location friendly staff and recommended it to my friends. Michael Ricketts

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Ameritania at Times Square

Reviewer score

4
Timmyyyyyy
Ridgefield Park, NJ
Jan 27, 2014

Weekend Visit

Spent time with a friend that I hadn't seen in a long time. The room was great and was very comfortable. Staff was very nice and over all experience was great. Great price too! Would definitely stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Check out Barcelona Bar around the corner. Very funny and fun experience. All of their specialty shots come with a song and something that the drinker has to do. A lot of fun

Review of Ameritania at Times Square

Reviewer score

5
JUCY
UK
Jan 18, 2014

The Perfect Christmas

Where do I start? The location was amazing! Only a 5 minute walk from the heart of Times Square. The room was spotless and comfy. The staff were polite and very helpful with any questions/requests we had. We're already planning round 2!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Back to menu Return to top