Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Mar 29, 2015 Check-out: Apr 1, 2015

Ameritania at Times Square

3 stars
View map of 230 W. 54th St., New York, NY 10019

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
295 reviews
very comfortable

Had a fabulous 4 night stay at this hotel to celebrate my sons 21st. Door staff very helpful &... See full review

  • Elizabeth F.
  • Mar 9, 2015
Great value

Always have a great stay at the Ameritania. Friendly staff, great rooms! The locations is perfect... See full review

  • FrankB
  • Mar 3, 2015

Unlike many of the hotels in Midtown Manhattan, the Ameritania at Times Square isn't part of a huge chain. Since 1990, this non-smoking, boutique hotel has been offering personalized contemporary accommodations, and the gorgeous lobby features mahogany paneling, sparkling chandeliers, terrazzo marble floors, a fireplace and a lounge that stakes its reputation on its fine martinis. From the Beaux Arts exterior to the indulgent bath soaps by C.O. Bigelow in each room, the Ameritania offers all-around sophistication.

Key facts
  • 219 guestrooms
  • Lounge
  • Gym
  • Wi-Fi (fees may apply)
  • Off-site parking nearby (charges apply)
  • Complimentary bath products by C.O. Bigelow

Neighborhood

With its location on West 54th Street, Ameritania at Times Square is a smoke-free hotel that is close to some of the most notable attractions in Midtown Manhattan. To the north, you'll find Columbus Circle and the exceptional restaurants of the Time-Warner Center. To the east, there's Radio City Music Hall and first-rate shopping along legendary Fifth Avenue. Head west to immerse yourself in the quirky, trendy vibe of Hell's Kitchen. And where nighttime entertainment is concerned, the hotel is on the same block as the Ed Sullivan Theater, home of The Late Show with David Letterman.

Hints and tips
Get pampered with massages and pedicures at Jenunesse spa, just a short walk away.

Draw the blackout curtains to transform your room into a tranquil space after a day spent exploring the bustle of New York.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Ameritania at Times Square Rooms

Standard
A standard room with one double bed or 1 queen bed. Room is non-smoking. Color televisions with remote control, pay-per-view movies. Rollway bed is available at $20.00 charge.
Deluxe Double Double
All newly renovated sleek modern furniture and artwork. Our Deluxe Double Double room can accommodate up to 4 guests (adult with child combination.) Room is non-smoking. Guestrooms offer I-Home docking station with AM/PM clock radio and cable television, iron and board and safe in room. Our bathrooms offer designer toiletries and hairdryers.
Deluxe King
All newly renovated sleek modern furniture and artwork. Our Deluxe King room can accommodate up to 2 guests (adult with child combination.) Room is non-smoking. Guestrooms offer I-Home docking station with AM/PM clock radio and cable television, iron and board and safe in room. Our bathrooms offer designer toiletries are hairdryers.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Internet
High-speed internet
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Ameritania at Times Square also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5

Hotel Map

40.764 -73.9825
Area served
New York, New York. Please note guest must be 21 years old or older to check-in to this hotel.
Nearby airports
New York John F Kennedy International (JFK) 15 MI , New York La Guardia (LGA) 8 MI
Area description
The Ameritania at Times Square is conveniently located in the heart of Mid-town Manhattan at 54th street and the Broadway.

Nearby points of interest

  • Roseland: 0.1 mi
  • August Wilson Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Neil Simon Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • CitySpire Center: 0.1 mi
  • Carnegie Hall: 0.2 mi
  • Rose Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Equitable Center: 0.2 mi
  • Gershwin Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Winter Garden Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Circle in the Square Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Tuscan Square: 0.2 mi
  • 57th Street: 0.2 mi
  • Municipal Art Society: 0.2 mi
  • New Amsterdam Theater: 0.2 mi
  • Ambassador Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Roseland: 0.1 mi
  • August Wilson Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Neil Simon Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • CitySpire Center: 0.1 mi
  • Carnegie Hall: 0.2 mi
  • Rose Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Equitable Center: 0.2 mi
  • Gershwin Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Winter Garden Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Circle in the Square Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Tuscan Square: 0.2 mi
  • 57th Street: 0.2 mi
  • Municipal Art Society: 0.2 mi
  • New Amsterdam Theater: 0.2 mi
  • Ambassador Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Museum of Arts and Design: 0.2 mi
  • Paine Webber Art Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • Eugene O'Neill Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • American Craft Museum: 0.3 mi
  • CBS Building: 0.3 mi
  • Columbus Circle mall: 0.3 mi
  • Museum of American Folk Art: 0.3 mi
  • Taipei Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • Walter Kerr Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Worldwide Plaza: 0.3 mi
  • Longacre Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Marquis Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Museum of Television and Radio: 0.3 mi
  • Time Warner Center: 0.3 mi
  • Samuel J. Friedman Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Cort Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Ethel Barrymore Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Radio City Music Hall: 0.3 mi
  • Duffy Square: 0.3 mi
  • Brooks Atkinson Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Lincoln Center: 0.4 mi
  • Broadway: 0.4 mi
  • Palace Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Lunt-Fontanne Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • GE Building: 0.4 mi
  • Studio 54: 0.4 mi
  • Museum of Modern Art (MOMA): 0.4 mi
  • New York Institute of Technology: 0.4 mi
  • University Club: 0.4 mi
  • Richard Rodgers Theatre: 0.4 mi

Dining

Twist Lounge
Trendy bar lounge located in the lobby, open from 5 PM to 1 AM.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for Ameritania at Times Square

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
101 out of 295
Amenities:
3.5
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.2

93% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Ameritania at Times Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Olivia B.
Business
Little Elm
Mar 11, 2015

Great location and nice hotel

The hotel was really nice and the location was great. Easy walk to Times Square and Central Park as well as Radio City Music Hall. The hotel itself was very clean with nice d├ęcor. The front door staff was friendly. Only complaint is that when I wanted to print a boarding pass, they told me they did not have a business center or computer I could use and they were also not very customer service oriented in their response either. Offering no other solution and not overtly rude but also not very apologetic for not being able to accommodate. I would give the front desk staff an average rating for lack of customer service. However, I would definitely return and recommend to a friend.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Ameritania at Times Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Cara F.
Business
N/A
Mar 9, 2015

Awesome hotel

The ameritania was a great hotel. Very pretty and modern. The rooms were small but very sheeck and cozy. It's definitely a place where couples would have a good time. I was there in business but still felt incredibly comfortable in my room. The only reason I gave it 4/5 stars is because I asked for my last day refund bc my business trip was shortened and I had to return home, so I felt like they could have refunded me for the last day at least, but other than that awesome hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Ameritania at Times Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
amy s.
Business
N/A
Feb 20, 2015

Great location and friendly staff

We stayed at this hotel for 4 nights as a couple. The staff from the minute we arrived were so friendly and honestly would do anything to make your stay more enjoyable. The room was an ample size for new york with a safe, iron, hairdryer, tv with cable, toiletries and full length mirror. it was the perfect location 5 minutes from 5th avenue shops, central park and to the main part of times square. we would definitely stay here again

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Ameritania at Times Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Gary K.
Business
Fresno
Feb 18, 2015

Annual NY Visit

Very comfortable stay. Great location and friendly service from those we had contact with. Already have reservations to stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Ameritania at Times Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
samantha w.
Business
N/A
Jan 20, 2015

40th birthday trip

The hotel was so central, if you turned right out of the hotel you were on broadway and the David letterman theatre was in front of you! Times square was a few minutes walk away. The room was lovely all but a bit tight but good views onto broadway. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful on reception on giving information and Jeff was helpful on concierge. As it was my birthday the hotel gave a bottle of bubbly on arrival. All in all a fantastic trip.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Times square just a short walk from the hotel.

Review of Ameritania at Times Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
momt
Business
Monroe
Jan 17, 2015

Excelent

Best hotel for the price and super friendly. Great location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Ameritania at Times Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Goldya
Business
Shenzhen
Jan 9, 2015

Awesome 2 night stay

So at first my room has a frozen pipe so there is no heat in this cold winter. however, the staffs are very nice and deal with the problem immediately. Our room got upgrade to the deluxe king size room. It is a wonderful time to stay here. It is on the 54th st and very convenient!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Totto ramen on the 52nd street (2 blocks down the hotel) Subway stops are very close.

Review of Ameritania at Times Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Akolpakovs
Business
Riga
Jan 6, 2015

Christmas holiday

Location is perfect. Couple of blocks from Times Square, Columbus Circle, Central park. There are plenty of subway stops in the area. Rooms were a bit small, but we did not mind, because we needed a clean and cozy place to sleep.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Carnegie deli. Go hungry. Get a Woody Allen and a pickle )

Review of Ameritania at Times Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Smashink
Business
N/A
Dec 16, 2014

Great Location! Awesome staff!

Loved this hotel! It was my husband and mine's first trip to NYC and we couldn't have picked a better location! Centrally located between Times Square and Central Park! The great staff helped us with the subways and the station was conveniently located a short .1 mile walk from the hotel! We fell in love with Three Monkeys, the bar next to the hotel. Great craft beer and the disco fries were amazing! The room was modern and the bed was VERY comfortable! The shower was perfect with the rain shower head and we didn't have to share a bathroom with any other guests! The room made us feel like we were in NYC...it was very swanky! Can't wait to make a return trip and stay at the Ameritania again!! Applause to the wonderful experience we had this weekend!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Ameritania at Times Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Kris Z M
Business
Miami
Nov 22, 2014

Ameritania NYC

Hotel was very nice and central, we loved the fact that we were just a block away from Times Square and a few minutes walking distance from Central Park. Space inside the rooms is tight, but the rooms are modern and nice. Didn't like the fact that they charge for wifi. Other than all that, it was great!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Melt Shop. Delicious for casual lunch.

Back to menu Return to top